View Full Version : I wonder how Jack Ross is feeling….
06-01-2022, 11:46 AM
After a disastrous summer transfer window, a few days into the January one, we have a new striker and midfielder signed and in all likelihood, a defender too.
Is this Ben and his new crew taking charge when the old crew should have?
06-01-2022, 11:51 AM
He'll have known signings were going to happen in January and be gutted that results didn't see him through to the window. That's football. He'll be a wealthy man which will probably soften the blow.
06-01-2022, 11:53 AM
I think Tait and Mueller able to join as well.
I still think Ross was hard done by given the players available
06-01-2022, 11:53 AM
After a disastrous summer transfer window, a few days into the January one, we have a new striker and midfielder signed and in all likelihood, a defender too.
He might be much like us fans and be keen to see how these new signings get on.
I’m looking forward to seeing the new faces but we don’t know for certain that they’re going to be a hit 🤞
06-01-2022, 11:54 AM
Probably a bit frustrated, but everyone involved could've done better, him included. Just one of those things
06-01-2022, 11:58 AM
The whole thing was a bit weird. You'd think, given that they sacked Mathie for the awful transfer window, that this would've taken the heat, and blame, off of Ross a bit. Ruthless stuff.
Still, things are looking good at the moment, and that's all that really matters.
06-01-2022, 11:58 AM
For me the signings of Melkersen, Henderson and Clarke wouldn’t bother me as they would likely have joined if he was still in charge.
But I would be raging that Maloney could benefit from Tait and Mueller who he signed in the summer but due to different reasons he couldn’t get them.
Those 5 players could, and it’s a big could, completely transform our team.
06-01-2022, 12:03 PM
I think Jack Ross’s problem was the football played by his teams were seldom at high excitement levels.
They were competent and produced results more times than not, but were never going to get fans flooding back to Easter Road.
I think Ron Gordon’s vision is for high energy , high entertainment spectacles and if we loose a few it is acceptable as long as the games are attractive.
06-01-2022, 12:14 PM
Given the emphasis, on many of the club’s communications, on ‘attack minded football’ I think it’s pretty clear Jack lost his job for more than just a run of bad results. I liked him, gave his all for the club and will probably go onto be successful elsewhere. He wasn’t helped by injuries but those performances against St Johnstone and Hearts were some of the most woeful displays of a Hibs team I’ve ever watched. Those results, combined with some eye bleeding football sealed his fate. An unlikely victory in the cup final would clearly have been an unwanted stay of execution that Ron didn’t want to take a risk on. Irrespective of whether Jack remained in place until after the window I just don’t think he had the vision or confidence to play a brand of football that the powers that be at Hibs are looking for.
Torto7
06-01-2022, 01:20 PM
He was shafted by the crap window and then the covid postponements exposed that lack of depth.
Although as much as I thought it was brutal on him at the time the style of play was always going to be a contentious point going forward with JR.
Daydreamer
06-01-2022, 01:45 PM
For me the signings of Melkersen, Henderson and Clarke wouldn’t bother me as they would likely have joined if he was still in charge.
But I would be raging that Maloney could benefit from Tait and Mueller who he signed in the summer but due to different reasons he couldn’t get them.
Aye to the bottom 6 and relegation battle next season.
Never been so underwhelmed in any transfer window ever...
Hibiza
06-01-2022, 01:49 PM
I think Jack Ross’s problem was the football played by his teams were seldom at high excitement levels.
They were competent and produced results more times than not, but were never going to get fans flooding back to Easter Road.
I think Ron Gordon’s vision is for high energy , high entertainment spectacles and if we loose a few it is acceptable as long as the games are attractive.
Have my doubts if these players would have signed for Ross . No motivation.
06-01-2022, 01:51 PM
I honestly don't know why people call it a disastrous summer transfer window. The fact is Jack Ross wasn't able to get the best out of the squad.
06-01-2022, 01:52 PM
Who cares what he's feeling.
I know what I was feeling about him when he was in charge.
Move along.
06-01-2022, 01:54 PM
:fishin: surely.
GreenGray
06-01-2022, 01:57 PM
I think Henderson is a Maloney signing.
GreenGray
06-01-2022, 01:58 PM
I honestly don't know why people call it a disastrous summer transfer window. The fact is Jack Ross wasn't able to get the best out of the squad.
Because it was a disastrous summer window? We were scrambling around at midnight trying to sign St Mirren players.
He’ll feel really hard done by I’d imagine. The fact is though it wasn’t just the results that cost him his job, it was the dwindling numbers in the stadium and the fact that so many fans didn’t want him in the job. Everyone seems more energised now so whether or not you agreed with his sacking it’s done now and time to look forward to the rest of the season.
Massively let down I would guess?
06-01-2022, 02:06 PM
Don’t like to see anyone losing their job
Speaking for myself no way was I paying £28-£33 x 2 to watch JR’s boring brand of safety first football
Under Maloney if things go to plan I might even consider renewing two Gold Season Tickets
Rumble de Thump
06-01-2022, 02:12 PM
He should have been getting much better performances and results from what he had available this season.
06-01-2022, 02:18 PM
The semi final kind of ironically proved to be the final nail for Jack. It showed that there was a tune to be gotten out of that squad and Maloney has shown that to be the case too.
I don’t think he can have any complaints.
06-01-2022, 02:20 PM
I think Henderson is a Maloney signing.
Henderson said in hit interview with Hibs we first made contact when we had no manager so he wanted to wait and see.
But as soon as he heard Maloney was announced he wanted it done.
He’s full of praise for Maloney anyway which is a good thing.
06-01-2022, 02:25 PM
Henderson said in hit interview with Hibs we first made contact when we had no manager so he wanted to wait and see.
But as soon as he heard Maloney was announced he wanted it done.
He’s full of praise for Maloney anyway which is a good thing.
I think he mentioned it was the same night as he scored against Betis which was the same day we got rid of JR
06-01-2022, 02:54 PM
Is this a joke?
06-01-2022, 03:12 PM
:slipper:
delbert
06-01-2022, 04:12 PM
Who cares what he's feeling.
I know what I was feeling about him when he was in charge.
Move along.
This, but even more so. However he is feeling, it won’t be as bad as how the fans felt last year watching us capitulate to a very very ordinary St Johnstone side in a cup final where he set the team up not to lose, his favourite formation by far, and yet again got it utterly wrong, a guiser and glad we have moved on from him.
06-01-2022, 05:03 PM
Because it was a disastrous summer window? We were scrambling around at midnight trying to sign St Mirren players.
That was indeed last minute but he only became available late on (so we are told) but we secured most of our signings very early. It's the managers fault we didn't have cover for certain positions (just as Heckingbottom didn't bring in a defensive midfielder). Our considered approach to recruitment since Craig and then Mathie were involved gradually improved the squad and was much better than what preceded it.
Hibiza
06-01-2022, 05:07 PM
Who cares how Jack Ross is feeling ( we've all lost jobs ) sat on his hands for months dishing up drab football.
06-01-2022, 05:11 PM
Who cares how Jack Ross is feeling ( we've all lost jobs ) sat on his hands for months dishing up drab football.
Thats not true. By all accounts worked extremely hard to turn things around despite brutal luck, injuries and an awful transfer window.
06-01-2022, 05:58 PM
Ha ha , away back to keek back ya roaster
06-01-2022, 06:10 PM
Thats not true. By all accounts worked extremely hard to turn things around despite brutal luck, injuries and an awful transfer window.
Unfortunate circumstances and poor support conspired against JR but Hibs were always a stepping stone for him. If he had built on his success of last season, he'd have been away in the summer (if not before). Instead he'll likely be remembered for failing to capitalise on amazing opportunities to bring silverware to Hibs.
06-01-2022, 06:12 PM
Unfortunate circumstances and poor support conspired against JR but Hibs were always a stepping stone for him. If he had built on his success of last season, he'd have been away in the summer (if not before). Instead he'll likely be remembered for failing to capitalise on amazing opportunities to bring silverware to Hibs.
Was nothing to suggest he wasn't 100% commited to Hibs.
06-01-2022, 06:15 PM
Hibs are a stepping stone for anyone on the playing/management staff. Always have been and difficult to see it changing. I’d be concerned if anyone involved wasn’t trying to better themselves.
06-01-2022, 06:15 PM
I think/thought that Ross and Hibs were a long term project. I thought he'd be here a few years more. I think we've gone back to the model of Hibs being a stepping stone for a new young manager with the appointment of Maloney. If he does well next season he'll be off especially if Celtic come calling.
06-01-2022, 06:35 PM
Wish him well but he will be feeling 'what might have been' and that's down to his conservative approach to games, especially the semis and finals we could have won. If anything, once he reflects on his time with Sunderland and now Hibs, he might adapt his playing style and be more aggressive and attack minded. With both clubs he's now had 'what could have been' - playing 'safe' got little reward ultimately.
Good manager in the making if he adapts and identifies that areas of the pitch, particularly midfield, need creative spark and energy.
You can see already that the new manager has real enthusiasm which will filter into the squad. Not only that, he's won titles and cups as a player, played at the highest level domestically and internationally, which commands respect from the dressing room - you just know that when he talks, players will listen and take it in because of what he achieved.
06-01-2022, 06:40 PM
And why many were sad to see him go. He was professional in everything he did.
06-01-2022, 06:41 PM
And why many were sad to see him go. He was professional in everything he did.
Listening to Ewan Henderson interview, we were in for him when Ross was manager
06-01-2022, 07:14 PM
Jack Ross had his chance imo, the football on show was dire and the apathy towards his team and the fans voting with their feet was his downfall ultimately.
Nothing against him, wish him all the best but he can have no complaints despite the narrative spin in the media.
06-01-2022, 07:35 PM
Jack Ross had his chance imo, the football on show was dire and the apathy towards his team and the fans voting with their feet was his downfall ultimately.
Nothing against him, wish him all the best but he can have no complaints despite the narrative spin in the media.
The football on show was not dire. This has become the .net narrative. It wasn't Tony Mowbrays first season, but it wasn't dire. Dire was Butcher, Fenlon, Calderwood, Yogi after his good run etc. Ross had many great games and brilliant footballing performances. 18 times his Hibs side scored at least 3 goals in a game.
06-01-2022, 07:43 PM
The football on show was not dire. This has become the .net narrative. It wasn't Tony Mowbrays first season, but it wasn't dire. Dire was Butcher, Fenlon, Calderwood, Yogi after his good run etc. Ross had many great games and brilliant footballing performances. 18 times his Hibs side scored at least 3 goals in a game.
The problem is that when we were bad, we were catastrophically bad. The sort of result that you can only get away with a few times before your card is marked.
I am surprised Ross isn’t now at killie
06-01-2022, 07:51 PM
Listening to Ewan Henderson interview, we were in for him when Ross was manager
He said the first we spoke to him was the night he scored against Betis. That’s the same day as we got rid of JR
06-01-2022, 07:53 PM
It was dire and I’m quite capable of making my own mind up. We played the same way whether we won, lost or drew and it was boring, sideways possession football and frankly, it was not for me.
You might see it differently and I’ll respect that but for me, it was not the style and tempo I want to see offered up.
06-01-2022, 07:59 PM
It was dire and I’m quite capable of making my own mind up. We played the same way whether we won, lost or drew and it was boring, sideways possession football and frankly, it was not for me.
You might see it differently and I’ll respect that but for me, it was not the style and tempo I want to see offered up.
Of course you are quite capable of making up your own mind. Who said otherwise? Might not have been for you but dire is just not true IMO.
Most teams play the same way win lose or draw. Maloney will.
The problem is that when we were bad, we were catastrophically bad. The sort of result that you can only get away with a few times before your card is marked.
Was it? The men I listed all had far, far worse results and performances than Ross. I'd say maybe 5/6 cetastrophically poor performances in 2 years? Really very standard for a Hibs manager.
06-01-2022, 07:59 PM
He said the first we spoke to him was the night he scored against Betis. That’s the same day as we got rid of JR
We just didn’t decide on the morning JR was dismissed, that we were interested in EH
06-01-2022, 08:01 PM
We just didn’t decide on the morning JR was dismissed, that we were interested in EH
I get that however seems strange the first time we speak to him was the same day we got rid of the guy who wanted him
07-01-2022, 12:19 AM
I am surprised Ross isn’t now at killie
Can't commute to Kilmarnock.
heid the baw
07-01-2022, 02:02 AM
If anything, once he reflects on his time with Sunderland and now Hibs, he might adapt his playing style and be more aggressive and attack minded. With both clubs he's now had 'what could have been' - playing 'safe' got little reward ultimately
I recently watched an interview with Ange Postecoglou where he was basically saying he simply can't coach a defensive slow build up style, doesn't know how to do it. I think that is true of many managers, they have a set style and whilst they might tweak it, they are pretty much incapable of learning a whole new approach. If Jack Ross finds a team where stability and safety are the first priority, then he'll do fine. I think the expectations at Sunderland and Hibs were higher and I'm not convinced he would have turned this season around. He would not have got us relegated, but we would have been bottom 6
Slim Shady
07-01-2022, 06:29 AM
Was dire for me as well, and looking at our piss poor attendances I think a good number of fans agree. It wasn’t just this season. We were dire in the season and managed to finished 3rd, narrowly above an Aberdeen side who failed to score a goal in 9/10 consecutive games.
Gloucester Hibs
07-01-2022, 07:05 AM
Was dire for me as well, and looking at our piss poor attendances I think a good number of fans agree. It wasn’t just this season. We were dire in the season and managed to finished 3rd, narrowly above an Aberdeen side who failed to score a goal in 9/10 consecutive games.
List the better seasons we’ve had than last season in the past, say, 30 years? There won’t be many. To downplay our achievements last season is nonsense IMO.
07-01-2022, 07:29 AM
List the better seasons we’ve had than last season in the past, say, 30 years? There won’t be many. To downplay our achievements last season is nonsense IMO.
Spot on. People thinking Jack Ross football was dire have very short memories. It wasn’t that long ago we had the industrial football of Terry Butcher.
07-01-2022, 07:30 AM
Was dire for me as well, and looking at our piss poor attendances I think a good number of fans agree. It wasn’t just this season. We were dire in the season and managed to finished 3rd, narrowly above an Aberdeen side who failed to score a goal in 9/10 consecutive games.Narrowly above Aberdeen?
We finished 7 points above them
Or 3 games minimum
You have your opinion but no need to make stuff up
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
07-01-2022, 08:00 AM
We were better than Aberdeen. Beat them to sequre 3rd. Nothing to do with them being poor. We were the 3rd best side. Absolutely nothing dire about our league performance last season.
Its really sad people cannot give credit where it is due.
Or we'd already contacted Maloney and he'd given the green light to contact Henderson. He said when he was told Maloney was to be the manager he jumped at the chance, which suggests he knew about his appointment before it was announced.
07-01-2022, 09:14 AM
Jack Ross is what I call - a safe pair of hands manager - and his teams style of play echoed that ethos. It was a style that initially got success but ultimately didn't meet our or the owners aspirations.
If Jack is looking back to his time at ER maybe he'll be reconsidering a philosophy that was more cautious than expansive. Although I'm sure it's one that'll see him reappointed to a job with a lower profile club
07-01-2022, 09:49 AM
Of course you are quite capable of making up your own mind. Who said otherwise? Might not have been for you but dire is just not true IMO.
Most teams play the same way win lose or draw. Maloney will.
Was it? The men I listed all had far, far worse results and performances than Ross. I'd say maybe 5/6 cetastrophically poor performances in 2 years? Really very standard for a Hibs manager.
Wholeheartedly disagree with you. Under Ross when we were good we tended to be very good but when we were bad it was every bit as bad as the end days of Butcher, getting scudded 3-0 off of Livi when it could have been more and we didn't look like scoring all day, scudded off of Ross County, losing 2-0 to Livi without a shot on target all game at theirs, the cup final, the semi final against Hearts, the semi final against St Johnstone, many of the games in his last run with us - all absolutely atrocious with no attacking thread and awful at the back (despite having a back four or five who, quite frankly, I think are one of the best in the league).
There were good times, but fans don't forget the embarrasing defeats and there were too many of them. I like Jack and I hope he finds a good role soon but he just had too many negative comments on his report card in the end.
07-01-2022, 10:25 AM
Wholeheartedly disagree with you. Under Ross when we were good we tended to be very good but when we were bad it was every bit as bad as the end days of Butcher, getting scudded 3-0 off of Livi when it could have been more and we didn't look like scoring all day, scudded off of Ross County, losing 2-0 to Livi without a shot on target all game at theirs, the cup final, the semi final against Hearts, the semi final against St Johnstone, many of the games in his last run with us - all absolutely atrocious with no attacking thread and awful at the back (despite having a back four or five who, quite frankly, I think are one of the best in the league).
There were good times, but fans don't forget the embarrasing defeats and there were too many of them. I like Jack and I hope he finds a good role soon but he just had too many negative comments on his report card in the end.
That's simply not true about the semi final against St Johnstone. You can't say we had no attacking threat that day - we should have been three up at halftime.
07-01-2022, 10:27 AM
That's simply not true about the semi final against St Johnstone. You can't say we had no attacking threat that day - we should have been three up at halftime.
If you can't turn possession in the final third into goals then you are in effect, toothless. We should have been up - and we weren't.
07-01-2022, 10:30 AM
St Johnstone and Hearts semi are laughable ones to say we got scudded and had no threat. We utterly battered st johnstone for the first 30 minutes. He got his initial tactics spot on. If Murphy scores his easy chance, we probably win well.
Hearts we hit the bar with a pen. Score that, one of our best ever derby wins.
Yes, others were dreadful.
Why don't fans forget embarrassing defeats? Do you just think about them all the time and never forgive? Because we'd be as well packing up now if thats the case.
Mowbray got scudded 3-0 off Livi at home. Got absolutely blasted in 3 derbies in 1 season, losing 12 goals. Hes on his way to the premier league as a manager right now, for the 2nd time. It happens to everyone.
07-01-2022, 10:31 AM
If you can't turn possession in the final third into goals then you are in effect, toothless. We should have been up - and we weren't.
Jack Rosses job isn't to score from 5 yards out. His job is to coach the team to get into those positions. He did that.
07-01-2022, 10:33 AM
Jack Rosses job isn't to score from 5 yards out. His job is to coach the team to get into those positions. He did that.
His job is to get the team scoring more goals than the other team.
He did that reasonably well, but in the last few months with us, he didn't. Or are we going for the Ian Cathro "If you remove the goalposts" sort of chat here?
St.Kristopher
07-01-2022, 11:14 AM
I backed Ross for a long time, and his record was up there with the best.
But teams around us found us out. If you were to draw a line of how we tried to get forward, it went the same direction most of the time and then back again. It was such a frustrating watch teams sat back and then press when we inevitably did exactly what they knew we would again and again.
Latterly this one-dimensional play was not only found out defensively by our opponents, but they also worked the press that resulted in our CB coming wide to counter, creating space in the box.
The teams we performed against did not try to play us but instead played their own game. Only then did our tactics work. Then we could sometimes look like world-beaters. It was apparent we needed to change something to get some more variety. At the time, I gave grace to Ross as I thought it was the personnel available.
However, Maloney, even in his first couple of games, has two defenders really deep on either side of the GK, instantly drawing an opposition press. Allowing us options through the middle and wide, creating space and variety in our attacks. Our wing-backs are wider, and our midfielders seemed to be taking more of a risk and looking to play forward.
I liked Ross and wanted him to do well, but Livingston, was the end of the road in my view, the right decision. We had the team to win that and many more games, but we didn’t.
Finally, while it wasn't Butcher like or some our other poor team's style of play. Those team's were rank. The squad we had under Ross had talent with some of the best attacking players outside the OF and DF if you look at the stats. Yet while our build up play was technically good and probably anorachs could point out how well drilled we were; for the basic fan it was a horrible watch, even when we won. Which I think ultimately lost him his job.
Hector Mudflap
07-01-2022, 11:49 AM
I backed Ross for a long time, and his record was up there with the best.
Those team's were rank. The squad we had under Ross had talent with some of the best attacking players outside the OF and DF if you look at the stats. Yet while our build up play was technically good and probably anorachs could point out how well drilled we were; for the basic fan it was a horrible watch, even when we won. Which I think ultimately lost him his job.
That whole post was very well put.
It was boring to watch- I do not think I am in the minority with that view. There was not one fixture I could look at and say "3 points in the bag" even last season. We played the same game with more or less the same emergency action of the last 15 mins if plan A wasn't working. The lowering crowds were proof that most people found it boring, pedestrian, mind numbing (or a myriad of other adjectives I have seen written -and not just this site). There was very little or no excitement.
I'm just going to put some people on Ignore so that I don't have to keep wondering if they are in some way related to Jack. We don't need to debate his record. It's in the past - we move on. He got us a third and some "almost medals" but ultimately it was failure from my point of view. I never felt we ever went down fighting and that is what often hurt the most.
07-01-2022, 11:53 AM
That whole post was very well put.
It was boring to watch- I do not think I am in the minority with that view. There was not one fixture I could look at and say "3 points in the bag" even last season. We played the same game with more or less the same emergency action of the last 15 mins if plan A wasn't working. The lowering crowds were proof that most people found it boring, pedestrian, mind numbing (or a myriad of other adjectives I have seen written -and not just this site). There was very little or no excitement.
I'm just going to put some people on Ignore so that I don't have to keep wondering if they are in some way related to Jack. We don't need to debate his record. It's in the past - we move on. He got us a third and some "almost medals" but ultimately it was failure from my point of view. I never felt we ever went down fighting and that is what often hurt the most.
I thought that the Sunderland fans had been really harsh on him but ultimately have come to see their point of view very well. He's the sort of manager who has to keep on winning because the style of football puts very little credit in the goodwill bank for supporters.
07-01-2022, 12:08 PM
His job is to get the team scoring more goals than the other team.
He did that reasonably well, but in the last few months with us, he didn't. Or are we going for the Ian Cathro "If you remove the goalposts" sort of chat here?
No, we're speaking about a one off match that you brought up. He 100% set his team up properly vs st johnstone in that semi. His job, like any manager, is to prepare the team and give them the best chance. The players score the goals.
Do you think St Johnstones plan was ''let hibs miss sitters for 30 minutes then score from a corner''?
07-01-2022, 12:34 PM
As much as I had to accept that the case for Jack Ross' defence was wearing very thin when he did get the shove, I do believe he was desperately unlucky in the 'big games' overall, which people enjoyed pointing out as his failings. Including the Hearts and St Johnstone Semis as above.
I really like the first impressions I'm getting under Shaun Maloney but hopefully our fans don't take getting to these 'big games' so many times over a couple of seasons for granted.
07-01-2022, 12:39 PM
No, we're speaking about a one off match that you brought up. He 100% set his team up properly vs st johnstone in that semi. His job, like any manager, is to prepare the team and give them the best chance. The players score the goals.
Do you think St Johnstones plan was ''let hibs miss sitters for 30 minutes then score from a corner''?
No. But they scored more goals than us and got through.
The manager/head coach is responsible for picking the team, training and getting them mentally and physically and prepared to win a game of football. If our players panicked in the final third and didn't manage to put the ball in the net, then it is a shared responsibility at best, the manager does not get absolved for that.
What happens on the pitch on a match day is a reflection of the training and preparation that has taken place. We hadn't fully prepared enough to win that game of football.
07-01-2022, 12:45 PM
No. But they scored more goals than us and got through.
The manager/head coach is responsible for picking the team, training and getting them mentally and physically and prepared to win a game of football. If our players panicked in the final third and didn't manage to put the ball in the net, then it is a shared responsibility at best, the manager does not get absolved for that.
What happens on the pitch on a match day is a reflection of the training and preparation that has taken place. We hadn't fully prepared enough to win that game of football.
So in a 1 off match, luck can never play a part?
07-01-2022, 12:46 PM
I was against sacking Ross, but I’m a hibs fan not a Jack Ross fan. If I’m being honest I don’t really care how he’s feeling, I wish him well in his next job. Time to move on.
St.Kristopher
07-01-2022, 12:47 PM
Yes I think that was very much St Johnstone’s plan. Davidson knew how we played and had the players to snuff out our tactics. At end of the match they managed 8 shots on target to our 2. Even if we won that game it was a terrible watch. Davidson was one of the first to understand how to counter Jack’s tactics, others followed.
07-01-2022, 12:49 PM
So in a 1 off match, luck can never play a part?
Luck can always play a part but rarely is the absolute decisive factor, you can influence your own luck very much. But what you've done is picked one match from quite a number I'd mentioned and if you put every single one of those down to "luck" then you're wrong.
07-01-2022, 12:51 PM
Yes I think that was very much St Johnstone’s plan. Davidson knew how we played and had the players to snuff out our tactics. At end of the match they managed 8 shots on target to our 2. Even if we won that game it was a terrible watch. Davidson was one of the first to understand how to counter Jack’s tactics, others followed.
The first 30 minutes was absolutely brilliant football by Hibs. They were extremely lucky. We did the woodwork twice didn't we? Cant really say they planned that at all. Goal sadly totally changed this and we were awful.
Davidson certainly didn't have Ross figured out this season.
GreenGray
07-01-2022, 12:51 PM
That was indeed last minute but he only became available late on (so we are told) but we secured most of our signings very early. It's the managers fault we didn't have cover for certain positions (just as Heckingbottom didn't bring in a defensive midfielder). Our considered approach to recruitment since Craig and then Mathie were involved gradually improved the squad and was much better than what preceded it.
So you think the summer window was acceptable? There’s a reason Mathie lost his job. We needed a centre back and a striker we got them eventually, but on loan and both clearly inadequate as they have now both been released back to their clubs early.
07-01-2022, 12:52 PM
Luck can always play a part but rarely is the absolute decisive factor, you can influence your own luck very much. But what you've done is picked one match from quite a number I'd mentioned and if you put every single one of those down to "luck" then you're wrong.
No, I actually mentioned more than 1 of the matches you mentioned.
Glad we're agreed luck played its part.
07-01-2022, 12:54 PM
No, I actually mentioned more than 1 of the matches you mentioned.
Glad we're agreed luck played its part.
Glad one of us can see that it wasn't anything close to his eventual departure from his club, but his own failings.
In so many ways, luck is for losers.
07-01-2022, 01:00 PM
Glad one of us can see that it wasn't anything close to his eventual departure from his club, but his own failings.
:agree: It wasn’t bad luck we missed those chances against St Johnstone, it was bad finishing. Obviously bad finishing isn’t the managers fault but he carries the can.
07-01-2022, 01:00 PM
Na, I have no problems admitting his faults. He wasn't at fault for how the team was set up. The final 60 minutes? Certainly has blame to take.
Luck isn't for losers. Nonsense edgy quote that is. Over a lifetime, luck doesn't keep one down. Over 90 minutes, it certainly plays a part.
Or maybe, say, over the 38 games where we were miles better than St Johnstone.
07-01-2022, 01:04 PM
Na, I have no problems admitting his faults. He wasn't at fault for how the team was set up. The final 60 minutes? Certainly has blame to take.
Luck isn't for losers. Nonsense edgy quote that is. Over a lifetime, luck doesn't keep one down. Over 90 minutes, it certainly plays a part.
Or maybe, say, over the 38 games where we were miles better than St Johnstone.
If luck is a big part of things then it's a good thing we got rid of Jack Ross because in the last few months he was extremely "unlucky" and his "bad luck" was costing the team. We had another sixty minutes after that first half hour spell to change our "luck" and affect the outcome of the game and we didn't.
I defended him up to very late but he had every opportunity to change things about and look to get us out of our slump and he didn't. It's the head coach/managers role to take responsibility for that and to change things if needed and he couldn't.
07-01-2022, 01:12 PM
If luck is a big part of things then it's a good thing we got rid of Jack Ross because in the last few months he was extremely "unlucky" and his "bad luck" was costing the team. We had another sixty minutes after that first half hour spell to change our "luck" and affect the outcome of the game and we didn't.
I defended him up to very late but he had every opportunity to change things about and look to get us out of our slump and he didn't. It's the head coach/managers role to take responsibility for that and to change things if needed and he couldn't.
I've said nothing about his slump. I'm speaking purely about one match, which you brought up.
I've already said it was right for him to go. That doesn't stop me being objective about the many positive things he done.
Spudster
07-01-2022, 01:14 PM
Davidson certainly didn't have Ross figured out this season.
Only took a dodgy pen and two red cards to finally beat them!
07-01-2022, 01:17 PM
I've said nothing about his slump. I'm speaking purely about one match, which you brought up.
I've already said it was right for him to go. That doesn't stop me being objective about the many positive things he done.
Yeah, and I've said before that his win percentage overall was good, there were high points and we had some very good games too.
I'm really not sure what the argument is that you're trying to pick?
07-01-2022, 01:19 PM
No, it just took 2 good performances. Much the better side both times.
Yeah, and I've said before that his win percentage overall was good, there were high points and we had some very good games too.
I'm really not sure what the argument is that you're trying to pick?
Not trying to pick any argument.
07-01-2022, 01:58 PM
Are you just ignoring the two disallowed goals ? We absolutely Dominated that last game throughout
Spudster
07-01-2022, 02:11 PM
Are you just ignoring the two disallowed goals ? We absolutely Dominated that last game throughout
We did. Just pointing out that in both games it was against 10 men which makes a big difference IMO.
07-01-2022, 02:12 PM
We did. Just pointing out that in both games it was against 10 men which makes a big difference IMO.
The boy got sent off with 15 minutes to go in the home game. Really didn't make much difference.
07-01-2022, 04:07 PM
Were people "voting with their feet" with Ross or was it due to Covid? One man and his dog were there for Maloney's debut against Aberdeen. Admittedly an expensive time of year just after a cup final. I'd be surprised to see crowds rise much now Ross is gone though.
07-01-2022, 04:11 PM
Were people "voting with their feet" with Ross or was it due to Covid? One man and his dog were there for Maloney's debut against Aberdeen. Admittedly an expensive time of year just after a cup final. I'd be surprised to see crowds rise much now Ross is gone though.
The big concern is that it's much easier to lose a regular customer than to get one to come back once they're out of the habit. Think we'll need a strong and attractive second half of the season.
07-01-2022, 04:14 PM
The reasons for people not attending has been done to death.
What we were watching was definitely stopping folk from going. Not the only reason, but definitely a reason.
Crowds won’t come back overnight.
07-01-2022, 04:16 PM
Christmas and New Year celebrations were a huge mitigating factor in our crowd levels given the risk of COVID infection pre-celebrations, with the poor performances under Ross not helping matters. I think a lot of fans will have thought the Celtic final was enough of a fix for that period. It’ll come back up now we are coming through COVID and Omicron isn’t as bad as we feared a month ago, as well as rising excitement under Maloney.
Ultimately though, until we do away with complimentary UK coverage Hibs TV for ST holders, the crowds will continue to be suppressed.
07-01-2022, 04:42 PM
Fans were told by the government NOT to attend football matches a few days before the Aberdeen game.
joebakerforever
07-01-2022, 04:52 PM
Christmas and New Year celebrations were a huge mitigating factor in our crowd levels given the risk of COVID infection pre-celebrations, with the poor performances under Ross not helping matters. I think a lot of fans will have thought the Celtic final was enough of a fix for that period. It’ll come back up now we are coming through COVID and Omicron isn’t as bad as we feared a month ago, as well as rising excitement under Maloney.
Ultimately though, until we do away with complimentary UK coverage Hibs TV for ST holders, the crowds will continue to be suppressed.
Not every ST holder is able to attend for various reasons, including COVID.
Given they have already paid up & Hibs have their money banked, it's not complimentary!
If the Hibs TV option was withdrawn, there will be some us who would think twice about renewing our ST in future, if the current circumstances prevail.
07-01-2022, 04:57 PM
Only 1 of our group of 6 attended the Aberdeen game, all absentees were covid related (either isolating or staying away due to Christmas coming up).
07-01-2022, 05:10 PM
Agree. Mathie, Ross (and Dempster to an extent) were focussed on long term / take the emotion out of things / winning more than not is good enough type stuff.
All fine but doesn't get the players up for the big games and doesn't keep fickle fans on side through a bad patch.
Onwards and upwards I hope.
:agree: It wasn’t bad luck we missed those chances against St Johnstone, it was bad finishing. Obviously bad finishing isn’t the managers fault but he carries the can.
Exactly, "once a player are over the white line there is nothing the manager can do", old football adage and true today.
loanheadhibby
07-01-2022, 07:16 PM
I agree with you 're his commitment but you have to concede it was a tough watch under JR on many occasions.
Especially at Easter Road.
loanheadhibby
07-01-2022, 07:23 PM
You are completely exaggerating our first half performance v St Johnstone.
Yes we were well on top for half an hour but didn't create much other than Murphy's chance.
To say we battered them is inaccurate.
07-01-2022, 07:46 PM
Yes we were well on top for half an hour but didn't create much other than Murphy's chance.
To say we battered them is inaccurate.
It’s not really. I just had a quick look at the BBC match report which states that we “in truth, could have booked a return trip to Hampden by half time”.
We didn’t take our chances, and completely collapsed after half time - but we did have an enough opportunities to have a commanding lead before we went behind.
07-01-2022, 07:48 PM
To say we battered them is inaccurate.Didn't we hit the post too?
07-01-2022, 07:50 PM
I agree with you 're his commitment but you have to concede it was a tough watch under JR on many occasions.
If it wasn't for Covid I reckon he would have still been in a job.
Last match before suspension was pumped from Hearts - no time to recover in the next game or two for months.
Then we had to sit on TV and watch both they Semi Finals and the Scottish Cup final. It was always going to be hard to encourage fans back to the ground after them.
There was no feelgood feeling about finishing 3rd either as we didn't get to sit and watch us finish there.
We had the Semi at Hampden against the huns, yes. But unless we win the final under Jack fans aren't going to return until at least the now suspended Edinburgh Derby.
07-01-2022, 07:52 PM
Didn't we hit the post too?
Lets be honest, nobody really remembers because nobody was there and all we see is a 3-0 loss in a national Semi of a comp' we are favourites to win.
07-01-2022, 08:00 PM
If it wasn't for Covid I reckon he would have still been in a job.
Last match before suspension was pumped from Hearts - no time to recover in the next game or two for months.
Then we had to sit on TV and watch both they Semi Finals and the Scottish Cup final. It was always going to be hard to encourage fans back to the ground after them.
There was no feelgood feeling about finishing 3rd either as we didn't get to sit and watch us finish there.
We had the Semi at Hampden against the huns, yes. But unless we win the final under Jack fans aren't going to return until at least the now suspended Edinburgh Derby.
I actually thought empty stadiums helped him (certainly at ER although the away crowds might have been happier). The crowd would have been going nuts at some of the home performances and results. Saw it this season against Dundee Utd, which was near the start of the run that got him the sack. The crowd lost patience really, really quickly that day.
Think there was a degree of positivity about finishing third but the cup final killed that.
07-01-2022, 08:04 PM
I actually thought empty stadiums helped him (certainly at ER although the away crowds might have been happier). The crowd would have been going nuts at some of the home performances and results. Saw it this season against Dundee Utd, which was near the start of the run that got him the sack. The crowd lost patience really, really quickly that day.
Think there was a degree of positivity about finishing third but the cup final killed that.
If we attended last season home and away and watched in person us finishing 3rd very easily I think it would have kept fans on board imo but see what you are saying.
Even back at the start of the run, it was universally acknowledged on here how tough it was going to be because of the games, covid and the squad we have. That quickly changed because Jack had very little goodwill in the bank because the good work he done was mainly in front of nobody. Yes we watched on the TV but it is 100% less intense and I'm happy when we win on TV but buzzing when I walk away from a win.
It might not make sense to many, but does me :greengrin
07-01-2022, 08:33 PM
No different from any other Hibs manager, including the good ones. Lennon had as many awful games to watch as Ross and an even worse record vs St Johnstone.
07-01-2022, 08:57 PM
No different from any other Hibs manager, including the good ones. Lennon had as many awful games to watch as Ross and an even worse record vs St Johnstone.
Will be a tough watch under Maloney at times too. Inevitable on our budget. Every manager in my lifetime has had brutal spells.
07-01-2022, 09:00 PM
Will be a tough watch under Maloney at times too. Inevitable on our budget. Every manager in my lifetime has had brutal spells.
Yep, fully agree. You'd actually struggle to name any manager who hasn't had some dreadful runs of form and performance, even the very best ones.