View Full Version : SPFL games in England
05-01-2022, 09:11 PM
Scottish football chiefs will consider moving games to England if restrictions limiting the number of fans to 500 remain in place.
The SFA and SPFL Joint Response Group have warned the Scottish Government that restrictions on matchday attendances, sparked by a surge in Omicron infections, are costing clubs £1.5million to £2m a week.
And despite the announcement of an additional £5m in emergency funding for sport in Scotland by First Minister Nicola Sturgeon, football authorities are still pressing for details on how much money will go to football and when the cash will be paid.
With just 500 supporters permitted at outdoor events from Boxing Day, Premiership clubs opted to bring the three-week winter break forward by a week in the hope the season would resume in front of full houses. Despite the promise of a review to the current guidelines on January 17 cash-strapped clubs are now chasing the JRG for answers.
And Sportsmail understands all options, including staging games in England, will come under discussion if the Scottish Government fail to deliver emergency relief in the coming days.
Vowing to distribute cash 'where it is needed most' the First Minister said on Wednesday: 'We are working with Sportscotland and as quickly as possible with, for example, ice hockey and basketball clubs, as well as football, rugby and horse racing to determine fully the financial impact the current measures are having.
'Following that, we will then get the money to clubs as quickly as possible. For some sports, there will be the ability to recoup these losses as events start to be rescheduled, hopefully in the not-too-distant future, but for others that will be more difficult so we need to make sure we get the money where it is needed most.'
With almost a month to go until the Six Nations kicks off, Scottish Rugby still expect to face England at a packed Murrayfield in the Championship opener - despite talk of moving games south.
There have been no discussions, at any level within the SRU, about moving the February 5 Calcutta Cup clash to Newcastle's St James' Park - or any other stadium south of the border - in a bid to beat restrictions on crowd numbers.
The SPFL Premiership is scheduled to resume on January 17 when Celtic are due to host Hibernian, with Rangers travelling to Aberdeen 24 hours later - one of five games from a card which was rescheduled from December 29.
Asked if supporters should buy tickets for major events such as football games or the forthcoming Six Nations, the First Minister refused to offer any assurances saying: 'There are many things I really wish I had over the course of this pandemic and one of them is a crystal ball to be able to see into the future with certainty. I don't say that to be facetious.
'It is really difficult, particularly at this stage of a wave of the virus, to be certain about the future. That's why we need to monitor things on a closer-time basis.
We have right throughout had very good discussions with the SRU (Scottish Rugby Union) about matches at Murrayfield. They have been very constructive at working with us to enable games to go ahead. I know how important clarity is for those who cater for big sporting events and not least matches at Murrayfield, so that's very much in our minds as we take decisions.
'I hope very much we won't have to go beyond January 17 with these restrictions. All of us, including myself, want to be able to cheer Scotland on at Murrayfield in the Six Nations.
'But I don't do anybody any good if I try to give certainty ahead of our ability to do that. We will continue to use the data and the evidence and reach the judgments to get that clarity as soon as possible.
'I certainly do very firmly hope that these matches will go ahead, and will go ahead to crowds of supporters.'
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/sportsnews/article-10372699/Scottish-football-chiefs-set-discuss-STAGING-games-England-allow-fans-attend.html
05-01-2022, 09:14 PM
Absolute tosh. No quotes, just "Sportsmail understands". Not a chance this is in the offing.
He's here!
05-01-2022, 09:15 PM
Thousands of Scottish football and rugby fans flocking into England to watch matches due to crowds being restricted here. How absurd would that look for the Scottish government?
I find it hard to believe Sturgeon won't relax the restrictions before it comes to that.
05-01-2022, 09:17 PM
Thousands of Scottish football and rugby fans flocking into England to watch matches due to crowds being restricted here. How absurd would that look for the Scottish government?
I find it hard to believe Sturgeon won't relax the restrictions before it comes to that?
It won't come to that. It's havers.
Be class for us English based fans 😁.
He's here!
05-01-2022, 09:21 PM
It won't come to that. It's havers.
Suspect you're right re the football but there's some substance to the Six Nations games being moved rather than another year of no crowds.
05-01-2022, 09:23 PM
Suspect you're right re the football but there's some substance to the Six Nations games being moved rather than another year of no crowds.
The article says the SRU hasn't discussed this. Is there a source elsewhere saying it's a possibility?
05-01-2022, 09:27 PM
The article says the SRU hasn't discussed this. Is there a source elsewhere saying it's a possibility?
There was a Welsh RU guy on bbc news earlier saying they can’t afford to lose £13-£15 million again and needs must if they have to move them.
05-01-2022, 09:31 PM
Just rubbish on so many levels. No chance.
05-01-2022, 09:36 PM
I find it hard to believe Sturgeon won't relax the restrictions before it comes to that.Would it not look far worse than " absurd " for London govt to have fans travelling into England for sports events while there are restrictions on such events in Belgium , Netherlands , Austria etc as well as Scotland ? Whatever decisions Scottish govt make in coming days / weeks about sports events , hopefully they won`t be influenced by what decisions are being made in London . Anyway this is Holy Ground stuff .
05-01-2022, 09:37 PM
I hope the SRU do consider it. No point for football clubs as most fans have paid for an ST and will be paying admittance whether allowed to attend or not. Just get the grounds back open. There is massive amounts of contact between people in the community so a few open air events won't make much difference and may actually make the mental health of the nation improve.
mayo hibee
05-01-2022, 09:39 PM
This is just the clubs using the media to try to pressure the government. Absolutely no chance this actually happens.
05-01-2022, 09:40 PM
Hibs Hearts being moved to Shielfield Berwick 😂
05-01-2022, 09:40 PM
Won’t happen for football although I’d love a wee jolly to the Stadium of Light for Hibs v Hearts :greengrin: Much more of a possibility for the rugger.
Would be class, holds about 50k, what crowd do you reckon would be there?
30k?+ I reckon few locals would buy a ticket too.
davhibby
05-01-2022, 10:19 PM
Report in the Record saying the JRG have told clubs to expect full houses from the 17th.
mixumatosis
05-01-2022, 10:39 PM
The Daily Mail ? Russian sailors ? Mikey Forrester ?
He's here!
05-01-2022, 10:49 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/rugby-union/59867675
Ian McGeechan also calling for the SRU to follow suit.
05-01-2022, 11:13 PM
It's a believable bluff from the Rugby bodies, presumably to pressure their respective governments into allowing crowds, as really, a full house in Edinburgh seems less risky than tens of thousands trekking to somewhere in England and back.
As for football, no chance. Where are they going to find all the required stadiums that aren't being used? You could maybe pull off a couple games, but even a whole fixture round seems impossible, and would probably lose the clubs with smaller supports money. Never mind the fast collapsing rail timetables making moving large numbers of people a tricky prospect.
I suspect the crowd restrictions will be lifted, as long as there is enough available emergency service support to cover games, but as said things like cancelled trains, buses and the like will become the mitigating factor. Perhaps a ban on away fans to avoid adding more pressure to the system?
05-01-2022, 11:20 PM
I find it hard to believe Sturgeon won't relax the restrictions before it comes to that.
I find it hard to believe “Sturgeon” will base her decision making on some absolute drivel in the daily mail in any way whatsoever.
Do posts that aren’t actually words from posters qualify as the most ridiculous thing on hibs.net this year/ever?
05-01-2022, 11:38 PM
Hello, is that Andy Burnham?
Yes
Hi Andy, it's the SPFL here. Celtic are due to play the Rangurz next Sunday and we wonder if you and Greater Manchester police would be able to accommodate 50,000 knuckle draggers for the day?
Click.
Ring ring, ring ring.
Hello, Andy Burnham.
Hi Andy it's us again.
What!
What about Hibs v Hearts then?
OK maybe ... what security did you need last time they played each other with a crowd outside of Edinburgh.
Well, it was two lines of police checking tickets and a final line of stewards on the approaches to Hampden with a couple of helicopters and 20 mounted policemen in reserve.
Click.
06-01-2022, 08:47 AM
No surprise about the source of this pish or the repost. So the the authorities want to move games due to no crowds being allowed in costing clubs? So move Ross County V St Johnstone, a game that would barely get 2000 people in, to somewhere in England to get even less of an attendance but with massively increased costs. Aye, sounds like a good plan
Steven79
06-01-2022, 08:49 AM
No surprise about the source of this pish or the repost. So the the authorities want to move games due to no crowds being allowed in costing clubs? So move Ross County V St Johnstone, a game that would barely get 2000 people in, to somewhere in England to get even less of an attendance but with massively increased costs. Aye, sounds like a good plan
It will never happen and even on the off chance that it did then it would only be Old Firm home games and possibly the Edinburgh Derby.
I hardly doubt that Ross County v St Johnstone would draw the crowds to and from Carlisle...
06-01-2022, 08:52 AM
I thought full houses were returning on the 17 th of January or is there talk of us having to incrementally increase them over a period of time
No chance Scottish Government would
Sanction Scottish Games being played in England
06-01-2022, 08:53 AM
It will never happen and even on the off chance that it did then it would only be Old Firm home games and possibly the Edinburgh Derby.
I hardly doubt that Ross County v St Johnstone would draw the crowds to and from Carlisle...
Yeah, I agree. Never happen. No way the police would agree to OF or Hibs v hearts being played in England.
06-01-2022, 08:55 AM
I thought full houses were returning on the 17 th of January or is there talk of us having to incrementally increase them over a period of time
No chance Scottish Government would
Sanction Scottish Games being played in England
Do they have to sanction it? If the SPFL decided to move a fixture to US- or Ireland would the Government be involved?
Not that I’m saying the English would be happy to accept the games but I don’t think the Government have any say.
06-01-2022, 08:55 AM
Which is the whole point of the article / threat. Simply to force Sturgeon to change the rules.
06-01-2022, 09:07 AM
Do they have to sanction it? If the SPFL decided to move a fixture to US- or Ireland would the Government be involved?
Not that I’m saying the English would be happy to accept the games but I don’t think the Government have any say.
Just assumed with the movement of such large crowds it could be construed as Public Health risk and they could pass some sort of quick emergency legislation to scupper it But maybe I am wrong
06-01-2022, 09:10 AM
April 1st a bit early this year.
06-01-2022, 09:11 AM
06-01-2022, 09:29 AM
Report in the Record saying the JRG have told clubs to expect full houses from the 17th.
If the period ends at midnight on the 17th, as is often the case with these rulings, will our game at Celtic be nudged back?
06-01-2022, 09:30 AM
If the period ends at midnight on the 17th, as is often the case with these rulings, will our game at Celtic be nudged back?
No because midnight on the 17th (00:00) is before the game at 19:45 on the 17th.
06-01-2022, 09:53 AM
What a great idea? It could fix the economy in a couple of games!
50,000 fans travelling to Engerland for a game of football, the cost in travel alone would be near to £500,000???
Surely the money would be better of being kept in our pockets and just cancel games!!!
What a great idea? It could fix the economy in a couple of games!
50,000 fans travelling to Engerland for a game of football, the cost in travel alone would be near to £500,000???
Surely the money would be better of being kept in our pockets and just cancel games!!!
You can't keep cancelling games forever or the season will never finish.
I reckon games have to start back on 17th with or without fans? Would you rather it was played in England or behind closed doors? For example.
06-01-2022, 10:19 AM
It would never happen but 30K+ at a Hibs v Hearts game at St James Park and a trip to Newcastle for the day and night would be a cracking trip.
06-01-2022, 10:21 AM
You can't keep cancelling games forever or the season will never finish.
I reckon games have to start back on 17th with or without fans? Would you rather it was played in England or behind closed doors? For example.
But it we were told not to cross the border for New Year gigs, so I guess there would be a lot of finger wagging if games were relocated down south.
It would never happen but 30K+ at a Hibs v Hearts game at St James Park and a trip to Newcastle for the day and night would be a cracking trip.
Newcastle on a night out is superb was there last summer for magic weekend.
Still the same as 10+ years ago. I reckon one of the best nights out had in England and been to a fair few places.
But it we were told not to cross the border for New Year gigs, so I guess there would be a lot of finger wagging if games were relocated down south.
I know it's never going to happen but sounds fun in my head 😁.
06-01-2022, 08:47 PM
Newcastle on a night out is superb was there last summer for magic weekend.
I believe so, but I can’t remember….
Absolutely no danger of any games being moved down, as much as I’d love it.
Don’t fancy the chances of the derby taking place in front of a full crowd though.