View Full Version : Elias Melkersen

dastardly8
05-01-2022, 12:09 PM
Only seen him on YouTube but looks good , only 19 but 4.5 year deal , certainly looks like he can score goals.

05-01-2022, 12:11 PM
Welcome Hoff…the sale of Napapijri clothing will go through the roof

05-01-2022, 12:16 PM
It’s going to be some race to the mirror between him and SA

05-01-2022, 12:21 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/hibernian-sign-fk-bod%C3%B8-glimt-forward-elias-melkersen

Shaun Maloney sensibly pointing out he will need time to adapt to a different football environment so I hope everyone remembers this and allows him space to settle into the club.

Souter96Mac
05-01-2022, 12:22 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/hibernian-sign-fk-bod%C3%B8-glimt-forward-elias-melkersen

Shaun Maloney sensibly pointing out he will need time to adapt to a different football environment so I hope everyone remembers this and allows him space to settle into the club.

If he doesn't score a goal a game, and a hattrick again Hearts then I'm raging

05-01-2022, 12:25 PM
Looks like the love child of Jason Cummings and Scott Allan

05-01-2022, 12:25 PM
If he doesn't score a goal a game, and a hattrick again Hearts then I'm raging

I know you are kidding but there will be a few in our support who will think like that. Anyway let’s hope he does well and it turns into a great piece of business for us

05-01-2022, 12:27 PM
I know you are kidding but there will be a few in our support who will think like that. Anyway let’s hope he does well and it turns into a great piece of business for us

The kind of fee that’s being talked about is huge for us so will definitely raise expectations. Clearly a longer game with the length of contract but expect to see him in the team pretty soon with the type of money we’ve spent.

05-01-2022, 12:33 PM
Interesting Hibs themselves have described it as a significant undisclosed fee.

On paper and by the comments by Norwegian reporters, journalists and fans it looks like we have a very good young player with bags of potential.

His goal scoring stats and highlight reel late impressive to say the least. Even though the standard was the second division it will at least be on par with the Scottish championship and if an 18 year old scored that many goals in that many games everyone would be raving about him and wanting him.

The fee and contract clearly shows a lot of faith in the him from the board.

I just hope fans are realistic though. He’s moved country, new style of play, never played at this level and not played a huge amount of games.

Give him time to adapt and settled - it might take a while. Some might expect too much too soon based on fee, reports and contract.

Anyway, welcome The Hoff and all the best.

Any songs for him yet?

Lendo
05-01-2022, 12:43 PM
Have the Daily Record linked him with a move to Celtic yet?

PH91
05-01-2022, 12:46 PM

On paper and by the comments by Norwegian reporters, journalists and fans it looks like we have a very good young player with bags of potential.

His goal scoring stats and highlight reel late impressive to say the least. Even though the standard was the second division it will at least be on par with the Scottish championship and if an 18 year old scored that many goals in that many games everyone would be raving about him and wanting him.

I just hope fans are realistic though. He’s moved country, new style of play, never played at this level and not played a huge amount of games.

Give him time to adapt and settled - it might take a while. Some might expect too much too soon based on fee, reports and contract.

Any songs for him yet?

https://youtu.be/ckCwBAhz4oc

He's alright
He's Norwegian
He scores goals, Elias Melkerson
We are Hibs,
We're gona win
Because you just can't stop Elias Melkerson

@block 7 you are welcome :greengrin

Silversand
05-01-2022, 12:48 PM
Any songs for him yet?

This before kick off?

https://youtu.be/CdKVX45wYeQ

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

05-01-2022, 12:51 PM
Not content with signing players with double barreled names, now we are signing players from teams with double barreled names.......

05-01-2022, 12:52 PM
I've clearly missed the Hoff chat - where is that coming from?

mixumatosis
Shouldn't have any trouble with the artificial surfaces at Livi, Kilmarnock etc as and when we need to play on them.

HibsGW

Elias Hoff Melkerson

05-01-2022, 12:54 PM
Elias Hoff Melkerson
Ah, thank you.... :thumbsup:

05-01-2022, 12:54 PM

Full name is Elias Hoff Melkersen – the Hibs Twitter/official site stuff just called him Elias Melkersen.

Comms intern out! :grr:

05-01-2022, 01:00 PM

Any songs for him yet?

Take on Melk (take on Melk)
Take Melk on (take on Melk)
He'll be gone
In a year or two

05-01-2022, 01:01 PM
With the Hoff middle name there surely needs to be a song to the Baywatch theme.

That haircut deserves it. Dreamboat.

05-01-2022, 01:01 PM
He'll be gone
In a year or two
I hope he is - with substantial transfer fee coming our way.....

05-01-2022, 01:02 PM
Have the Daily Record linked him with a move to Celtic yet?

We don't play Celtic for another 12 days, so it'll be at least another 2 days before that happens. :greengrin

05-01-2022, 01:05 PM
With the Hoff middle name there surely needs to be a song to the Baywatch theme.

Or
https://youtu.be/PJQVlVHsFF8

05-01-2022, 01:08 PM
Really excited by this, huge commitment from both parties - that tells its own story. Welcome, David.

PeckythePenguin
05-01-2022, 01:17 PM
Feed the Hoff and he will score

05-01-2022, 01:17 PM

Hope his t-shirts sell better than Porteous's "Do we look happy" ones.

https://i.ibb.co/d7gNMT0/images.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)
html load image (https://imgbb.com/)

05-01-2022, 01:24 PM
Its a big punt for Hibs is this, it sounds like we have paid around the £400,000 mark for young Elias which is probably every penny and more of our earnings from the League cup semi and final and then some. I doubt we see his immediate future as bedding in with the under 20s for 6 months, not for that amount of money.

If its of any relevance our dealings with Norway have been pretty positive up until now, Svein Mathisen and Isak Refvik did pretty well here back in the day with Refvik becoming a bit of cult figure and of course Niklas Gunnarsson playing a part in 2016. It doesn't seem that Norwegians have much bother fitting into Scottish / British fitba.

If the lad turns out to be what Hibs hope, with a 4.5 year contract and a big ( for us ) transfer fee paid there's no way the likes of Aston Villa will be snapping him up for relative peanuts two years from now.

Oh .............. And I dare anybody to slag Ron Gordon for not getting the cheque book out now.

05-01-2022, 01:25 PM

When does he get his Kit?

05-01-2022, 01:30 PM
He'll be gone
In a year or two

...and at 10 times the fee we paid for him😉

05-01-2022, 01:36 PM
Welcome Hoff…the sale of Napapijri clothing will go through the roof

Why? They are Italian 🤣

05-01-2022, 01:37 PM
:singing:“We’ve got Melkersen,
Super Melkersen,
I just don’t think you understand,
He’s Shaun Maloney’s man,
Better than Haaland,
We’ve got Super Melkerson”:singing:

05-01-2022, 01:40 PM
Signing with a view to Nisbet moving on in the summer perhaps?

05-01-2022, 01:42 PM

He's alright
He's Norwegian
He scores goals, he's Elias Melkerson
We are Hibs,
We're gona win

Quality [emoji736][emoji736][emoji106][emoji106]

05-01-2022, 01:50 PM
Welcome to the greatest club in world football Elias.

05-01-2022, 02:03 PM

Other fans stand in the darkness
Afraid to admit their team is ***** ( Scottish word for jobby )

When they see Hoff in a Hibs strip
They know that a cuffings in sight

So Hibs fans wont worry
Its gonna' be alright

Coz when you see Hoffs in the Hibs team
Your keeper will skitter in fright.

Ah'll get ma coat :greengrin

05-01-2022, 02:09 PM
Other fans stand in the darkness
Afraid to admit their team is ***** ( Scottish word for jobby )

When they see Hoff in a Hibs strip
They know that a cuffings in sight

So Hibs fans wont worry
Its gonna' be alright

Coz when you see Hoffs in the Hibs team
Your keeper will skitter in fright.

Ah'll get ma coat :greengrin

Don't worry, I'd gotten your coat for you after the first few lines. And not in that way.

05-01-2022, 02:20 PM

He's alright
He's Norwegian
We are Hibs,
We're gona win

I like that a lot 😊

05-01-2022, 02:25 PM

He's alright
He's Norwegian
We are Hibs,
We're gona win

Winner

05-01-2022, 02:30 PM
Welcome to the Hibees Elias

05-01-2022, 02:34 PM
Looks very capable.
Cant wait to see him in action.

05-01-2022, 02:38 PM
Don't worry, I'd gotten your coat for you after the first few lines. And not in that way.

:boo hoo:

leith lynx
05-01-2022, 02:38 PM
Its a big punt for Hibs is this, it sounds like we have paid around the £400,000 mark for young Elias which is probably every penny and more of our earnings from the League cup semi and final and then some. I doubt we see his immediate future as bedding in with the under 20s for 6 months, not for that amount of money.

If its of any relevance our dealings with Norway have been pretty positive up until now, Svein Mathisen and Isak Refvik did pretty well here back in the day with Refvik becoming a bit of cult figure and of course Niklas Gunnarsson playing a part in 2016. It doesn't seem that Norwegians have much bother fitting into Scottish / British fitba.

If the lad turns out to be what Hibs hope, with a 4.5 year contract and a big ( for us ) transfer fee paid there's no way the likes of Aston Villa will be snapping him up for relative peanuts two years from now.

Oh .............. And I dare anybody to slag Ron Gordon for not getting the cheque book out now.

Isak Refvik was a great wee player!...well done Ron and good luck Elais, first thing, get the work permit sorted oot!

05-01-2022, 02:40 PM
Few more articles and pictures on the main hibs website

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

05-01-2022, 02:40 PM
Welcome to Hibs Melkersen and I hope you settle in to the city quickly.

This is a signing that excites me as he is a complete unknown, with what looks like a lot of potential but I hope some posters on here don't post after his first game if he ain't scored a hat-trick away to Celtic if he makes his debut 😁

Will definitely need time to settle but looks like he knows where the back of the net is.

05-01-2022, 02:42 PM
Interview up on the website

05-01-2022, 02:42 PM
Hibs TV said it was a 3 a half year deal 🤔

05-01-2022, 02:44 PM
Hibs TV said it was a 3 a half year deal 🤔

Noticed that as well. Guy said it twice during the interview. Either he's wrong or the article on the main site is.

05-01-2022, 02:48 PM
Noticed that as well. Guy said it twice during the interview. Either he's wrong or the article on the main site is.I'd imagine 2026 will be correct

05-01-2022, 02:48 PM

I don't think anyone ever seriously slagged Ron off for not getting the cheque book out.

Good Post otherwise

05-01-2022, 02:50 PM
He does a lot of 'thumbs up' gestures, doesn't he?

05-01-2022, 02:51 PM

I know it's a disgrace. Why can't he just give the middle finger 🖕🏼😂

05-01-2022, 03:04 PM

:greengrin:greengrin

I saw Mathiesen and Refvik play for Hibs and they looked like good players; but Mathiesen played twice for us and Refvik five times. I think "did pretty well here" and "a bit of a cult figure" is stretching it a bit. :wink:

05-01-2022, 03:06 PM
:greengrin:greengrin

I saw Mathiesen and Refvik play for Hibs and they looked like good players; but Mathiesen played twice for us and Refvik five times. I think "did pretty well here" and "a bit of a cult figure" is stretching it a bit. :wink:
They were prevented from playing for us IIRC and we wanted to keep them. They may have been with us a short time but they did do well for us.

05-01-2022, 03:15 PM
They were prevented from playing for us IIRC and we wanted to keep them. They may have been with us a short time but they did do well for us.

I remember it well (it was to do with work permits)and I think they may well have been really good players for us. However, without wishing to split hairs, I still think it's difficult to claim someone did well for us when they've only played five (or even two) games. :greengrin

HibsGW
05-01-2022, 03:15 PM
Our 34, give him the ball and he’ll score every time
Si senor
Pass the ball to Hoff and he will score
There’s something that the Hibs want you to know
The best in the world is Hoffinho

MKHIBEE
05-01-2022, 03:20 PM
Feed the Hoff!

05-01-2022, 03:37 PM
Can we just call him Phil?

05-01-2022, 03:39 PM
Can we just call him Phil?
Only if you want to incur the fury of the hordes of women falling at his feet.

05-01-2022, 03:44 PM
Only if you want to incur the fury of the hordes of women falling at his feet.

I think it won’t take him long to Bed In

05-01-2022, 03:45 PM
Probably covered elsewhere but when was the last time we spent £400k or more? Assuming that's accurate

Doidge was rumoured to be £350k but can't remember us spending anything similar to that for a while

05-01-2022, 03:48 PM
Decided to buy a ticket for the Celtic game. This boy is scoring on his debut, assisted by Mueller.

05-01-2022, 03:52 PM
Decided to buy a ticket for the Celtic game. This boy is scoring on his debut, assisted by Mueller.

Do you think we’ll get in

05-01-2022, 03:56 PM

Even if you get i do you think you'll be able to see anything?

05-01-2022, 04:01 PM
Even if you get i do you think you'll be able to see anything?

I’ve got unrestricted view tickets😀
Had a discussion with SDG on the coronavirus thread re this. Had a look at the papers online, and both SS and DR saying restrictions end at midnight on Monday 17th Jan

05-01-2022, 04:07 PM

:thumbsup::aok::thumbsup::aok:

05-01-2022, 04:10 PM
Apparently Maloney called Melkersen on Xmas Eve at home to tell him he wanted him. I like that.

K-Zazu
05-01-2022, 04:11 PM
Probably covered elsewhere but when was the last time we spent £400k or more? Assuming that's accurate

Doidge was rumoured to be £350k but can't remember us spending anything similar to that for a while

Nisbet?

05-01-2022, 04:14 PM
I'm trying to work out who is winning in the "leaderboard" in the background of this pic

https://d3tepru76oevpi.cloudfront.net/production/_galleryImage/media_415947_158915_compressed.jpg

05-01-2022, 04:15 PM

Yeah, I do now.

05-01-2022, 04:17 PM
I'm trying to work out who is winning in the "leaderboard" in the background of this pic

https://d3tepru76oevpi.cloudfront.net/production/_galleryImage/media_415947_158915_compressed.jpg

Daniel Mackay?

05-01-2022, 04:23 PM
Apparently Maloney called Melkersen on Xmas Eve at home to tell him he wanted him. I like that.

We've all made that sort of phone call before.

Hibiza
05-01-2022, 04:24 PM
Welcome Elias ,

05-01-2022, 04:25 PM

05-01-2022, 04:28 PM

😂😂

Hannah_hfc
05-01-2022, 04:29 PM

Given that Christmas Eve in Norway is the equivalent of Christmas Day here, I hope his family were fairly forgiving about it [emoji28]

In seriousness, it’s good to hear managers calling players directly. It probably happens more often than what we hear about but it’s a nice touch.

Steven79
05-01-2022, 04:37 PM

05-01-2022, 04:41 PM
So it sounds like we have been tracking him for a few months, before Maloney came on board?

05-01-2022, 04:59 PM
So it sounds like we have been tracking him for a few months, before Maloney came on board?

Yep sounds like it

Sounds like he was identified by Ian Gordon

05-01-2022, 05:08 PM

He said that we first approached him "months ago".

A Jack Ross signing or purely the recruitment team?

05-01-2022, 05:10 PM
I like how he just came right out with ‘goals’ when asked what we can expect from him. Usually just get the standard ‘I’ll give a hundred percent’ type answer. But he’s here to score goals, think he actually reiterated that point so doesn’t seem to lack confidence.

05-01-2022, 05:11 PM
Only seen him on YouTube but looks good , only 19 but 4.5 year deal , certainly looks like he can score goals.

He won’t get as much space or time in the SPL but certainly looks promising - he’s at the right place to develop.

05-01-2022, 05:12 PM

Northernhibee is obviously quite literally moist with anticipation at the big Norwegians entrance :agree:

05-01-2022, 05:14 PM
Northernhibee is obviously quite literally moist with anticipation at the big Norwegians entrance :agree:

:agree: Engorged with excitement.

05-01-2022, 05:15 PM
Apparently burning his boat as wee speak

05-01-2022, 05:21 PM

Who's that wee guy in the Green ?

Prof. Shaggy
05-01-2022, 05:44 PM
Acknowledging the land of his birth:

Melkerson is gonna score,
Maybe two, maybe more,
He's playing for the hibees...
(repeat - many times - faster each time)

https://youtu.be/kLp_Hh6DKWc

I have my coat already.

hibby rae
05-01-2022, 05:50 PM

Nisbet would have been around the same had we got him the first time of trying. Not sure what the final fee was though.

De La Cruz was more, amd other than that, Keith Wright and Pat McGinlay are the others I can think of.

hibby rae
05-01-2022, 05:51 PM
It’s going to be some race to the mirror between him and SA

As one of the old boys in the team I'm expecting Scotty to take him under his wing and teach him in the ways of good hair management.

Lendo
05-01-2022, 05:54 PM
Any interviews with him up on the Twitter or YouTube? Being a Norwegian teenager I can only assume his English is better than mine.

05-01-2022, 05:58 PM

He’ll fancy himself in the Nordic strength section surely.

Crunchie

Any songs for him yet?
:top marks I concur

As one of the old boys in the team I'm expecting Scotty to take him under his wing and teach him in the ways of good hair management.

Is there a danger Newell could get hair envy?

Possibly one of the reasons there’s been rumours of him moving on? No inside info, just speculating.

05-01-2022, 05:59 PM
Acknowledging the land of his birth:

Maybe two, maybe more,
He's playing for the hibees...
(repeat - many times - faster each time)

https://youtu.be/kLp_Hh6DKWc

I have my coat already.

That's actually quite good. Pretty catchy and easy so it could work.

mixumatosis
05-01-2022, 05:59 PM

Me ? The 13th Duke of Wimbim, here, at a big Norwegian's entrance ? With my reputation ?

Well, as long as one of us scores...

hibby rae
05-01-2022, 06:04 PM

Possibly one of the reasons there’s been rumours of him moving on? No inside info, just speculating.

I would hope not, they just need to sit Newell down and let him know this is the best place for him. They can point out the horror of what it must be like getting hair advice from Robbie Neilson instead, or if you sink really low, Paul McGowan.

Juniper Greens
05-01-2022, 06:05 PM
Nisbet would have been around the same had we got him the first time of trying. Not sure what the final fee was though.

De La Cruz was more, amd other than that, Keith Wright and Pat McGinlay are the others I can think of.

With the %age of all the add ons that there have been (with more to come), SJM was effectively a multi million pound signing. That's certainly what we will end up having paid St Mirren for him

hibby rae
05-01-2022, 06:12 PM
With the %age of all the add ons that there have been (with more to come), SJM was effectively a multi million pound signing. That's certainly what we will end up having paid St Mirren for him

30% of whatever we make according to a 2017 BBC article where Forest offered £750,000 :rolleyes::rolleyes: Even Tom English would have scoffed at that!

05-01-2022, 06:13 PM

Did Martin mcintosh not sign for around £350k also.

Juniper Greens
05-01-2022, 06:16 PM
30% of whatever we make according to a 2017 BBC article where Forest offered £750,000 :rolleyes::rolleyes: Even Tom English would have scoffed at that!

Yeah, my rough running total is
150k from 2015
30% of 2.75m when we sold him
30% of 1m when villa were promoted
30% of 1m when villa stayed up
30% of around 500k in various other add ons relating to appearances and caps etc

Well on the way to 2m so far.

05-01-2022, 06:27 PM
Interesting to read that the academy director at FK Bodo/Glimt was academy manager at Norwich whilst Ben Kensell was there. Can certainly put two and two together with that one. I wonder how involved our recruitment analysts were.

05-01-2022, 06:37 PM
He said that we first approached him "months ago".

A Jack Ross signing or purely the recruitment team?

A Maloney signing, he'd have been given the opportunity to say no to it.

05-01-2022, 06:45 PM
Seems a very confident lad.

Comes across very mature and his English is incredible for such a young age and never living abroad before.

05-01-2022, 06:49 PM
Seems a very confident lad.

Comes across very mature and his English is incredible for such a young age and never living abroad before.

It isn't uncommon in the Nordics. I was over in Sweden on a placement a few years ago and almost everyone spoke it fluently, including the kids.

05-01-2022, 07:09 PM
https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/video/7771
Here’s his interview for anyone who hasn’t seen it.

05-01-2022, 07:26 PM

I doubt Joe is concerned. His hair game is exceptional.

Feed McGraw
05-01-2022, 07:26 PM

Oh .............. And I dare anybody to slag Ron Gordon for not getting the cheque book out now.You make a good point NN, I think Norwegians fit in here just fine but Svien & Isak only played ten games between them ! There was something about them though and it was an interesting wee episode in Hibs history.

05-01-2022, 07:31 PM
A wee story about Isak Refvik seen he's been mentioned 😀

When he came to Hibs he didn't bring any kit with him, that's another story but I'm a bit hazy about exactly what happened! Anyway he was sent with a coach or director (I can't remember which) up town to the sports shops to get boots. Alas because he was small and so were his feet obviously none of the regular sports shops had a pair of adult boots that fitted. In desperation they ended up in Jenners where the assistant, after measuring his feet yet again, suggested the children's department. And that is where he got his boots!

05-01-2022, 07:31 PM

what - in a Maria Carey kinda way?

05-01-2022, 07:34 PM
https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/video/7771
Here’s his interview for anyone who hasn’t seen it.

Seems very confident and has that dispassionate Nordic vibe about him. Hopefully translates into being an ice cold finisher on the park.

Very excited by this signing.

05-01-2022, 07:36 PM
Have the Daily Record linked him with a move to Celtic yet?Always wanted to play for rangers until he found out they are the now defunct Glasgow rangers, now he always wanted to play for sevco, kamberi told him all about them.

Lendo
05-01-2022, 07:43 PM
With beautiful 90’s hair like that is the Boy Band label that gets chucked around on here still a bad thing?

Cat Stanton
05-01-2022, 08:15 PM
Who's that wee guy in the Green ?

Not sure, but he looks very, very small. Or am I having a Fr. Ted moment?

Lendo
05-01-2022, 08:19 PM

Maloney will only work with staff that are smaller than him.

05-01-2022, 08:42 PM

Our new signing also seems to have mastered levitation. Useful in the air :agree:

05-01-2022, 08:50 PM
Can't wait to see him in a Hibs shirt and have a new fresh option up top, what we have been crying out for let's hope he hits the ground running :aok:

05-01-2022, 09:23 PM
Other teams will try to downplay this as he’s not played in the top division in Norway but make no mistake about it, this is a very exciting signing.

He turned 19 a couple of days ago. That means he scored 23 in 37 as an 18 year old in Norway’s championship equivalent for a mid table team.

Put it this way - If Celtic had an 18 year old who was loaned out to Dunfermline and he scored 23 in 37 everyone would be raving about him. He would have huge offers from England already. They create a bigger fuss about Dembele who has hardly kicked a ball.

I would put a guess that the Norwegian championship is at very least the same standard as ours.

This lad looks the real deal.

05-01-2022, 09:35 PM
Other teams will try to downplay this as he’s not played in the top division in Norway but make no mistake about it, this is a very exciting signing.

He turned 19 a couple of days ago. That means he scored 23 in 37 as an 18 year old in Norway’s championship equivalent for a mid table team. Exciting signing for us.

Put it this way - If Celtic had an 18 year old who was loaned out to Dunfermline and he scored 23 in 37 everyone would be raving about him. He would have huge offers from England already. They create a bigger fuss about Dembele who has hardly kicked a ball.

I would put a guess that the Norwegian championship is at very least the same standard as ours.

This lad looks the real deal.

Celtic fans and the media are raving about them signing the 18 year-old lad Kenny who has scored 11 in 33 for Sligo. Probably pretty similar standard of football.

05-01-2022, 10:01 PM
Yep sounds like it

Sounds like he was identified by Ian Gordon

He sanctioned the approach but our recruitment analysts do the scouting

05-01-2022, 10:04 PM
He sanctioned the approach but our recruitment analysts do the scouting

👍

05-01-2022, 10:07 PM

Off to Dundee to get hair coaching from James McPake?

05-01-2022, 10:47 PM
You make a good point NN, I think Norwegians fit in here just fine but Svien & Isak only played ten games between them ! There was something about them though and it was an interesting wee episode in Hibs history.

As you ( and another poster further back ) point out, they played very few games in the end, but I do recall the fans getting quite excited about wee Isak, such a shame they couldn't stay ... if I recall correctly it was something to do with them not being full internationals or something like that, which screwed up their work permit applications.

By the way .... Rest in peace Svien ... it was only when I was checking how you spelled his name that I was reminded that he had passed away a while back.

norhfc
06-01-2022, 05:46 AM
Norwegian footballers are well trained and very well disciplined. This guy will give it 100% and I’m very excited about this signing. Maybe not a sudden impact but next season I think we,ll see the benefit of paying cash for a very promising youngster.

ruthven_raiders
06-01-2022, 06:22 AM
As you ( and another poster further back ) point out, they played very few games in the end, but I do recall the fans getting quite excited about wee Isak, such a shame they couldn't stay ... if I recall correctly it was something to do with them not being full internationals or something like that, which screwed up their work permit applications.

By the way .... Rest in peace Svien ... it was only when I was checking how you spelled his name that I was reminded that he had passed away a while back.

10 years since Svein passed, he did play a few times for Norway. RIP Svein.

06-01-2022, 07:58 AM
How long is the deal? In the interview, the reporter talks twice about a three and a half year deal, which if my maths is correct is until Summer 2025. 'You Can Expect Goals!' - Elias Melkersen | HibsTV (hibernianfc.co.uk) (https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/video/7771)

Yet elsewhere, it's until Summer 2026 and talk of a four and a half year deal.

Which is it?

06-01-2022, 08:12 AM
How long is the deal? In the interview, the reporter talks twice about a three and a half year deal, which if my maths is correct is until Summer 2025. 'You Can Expect Goals!' - Elias Melkersen | HibsTV (hibernianfc.co.uk) (https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/video/7771)

Yet elsewhere, it's until Summer 2026 and talk of a four and a half year deal.

Which is it?

I don’t know the answer but I’d expect it to be 4.5 years after such a significant outlay.

06-01-2022, 03:53 PM
He's got an eye for the goal for sure.

06-01-2022, 06:09 PM
You make a good point NN, I think Norwegians fit in here just fine but Svien & Isak only played ten games between them ! There was something about them though and it was an interesting wee episode in Hibs history.

Their debut v Morton in a LC QF 2nd leg (at a time when Morton were very good opponents) and Isak got the winner and my scarf! Red tape was the reason for them not staying, they were exciting signings.

Here he is in the bath afterwards and also checking in to the NB with his big mucker.

https://i.ibb.co/42z79Yt/1-CE93-AA9-2-C61-4489-B548-F7-E4-A1-D652-A8.jpg (https://ibb.co/G9y0Btp)

https://i.ibb.co/WxD1z54/DA209-C61-DE46-4-EAA-8-A68-D61-E9-D0909-E7.jpg (https://ibb.co/6nv5tw7)

06-01-2022, 06:12 PM
Their debut v Morton in a LC QF 2nd leg (at a time when Morton were very good opponents) and Isak got the winner and my scarf! Red tape was the reason for them not staying, they were exciting signings.

Here he is in the bath afterwards and also checking in to the NB with his big mucker.

https://i.ibb.co/42z79Yt/1-CE93-AA9-2-C61-4489-B548-F7-E4-A1-D652-A8.jpg (https://ibb.co/G9y0Btp)

https://i.ibb.co/WxD1z54/DA209-C61-DE46-4-EAA-8-A68-D61-E9-D0909-E7.jpg (https://ibb.co/6nv5tw7)

Great pictures.:aok: Remember this well. As a kid they seemed so exotic:greengrin

06-01-2022, 06:13 PM
Great pictures.:aok: Remember this well. As a kid they seemed so exotic:greengrin

06-01-2022, 08:39 PM
He's got an eye for the goal for sure.

He played 30 games in all competitions last season, didn’t score in the 1st 6 and got 18 goals in the other 24 matches, 4 of which were penalties.

06-01-2022, 08:42 PM
Welcome Elias!

An exciting signing and a much needed one as we do need more competition - and cover - for places up front!

06-01-2022, 10:27 PM
the three musketeers

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/271138300_4589762594456099_35794668831518351_n.jpg ?_nc_cat=102&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=kf57xTNueFgAX8-3Oue&tn=5m7pnQZ1SlTC4D2w&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT-u6kyN30bURaIGrod9Q4bKEMcFOXAvGCfUZMzRGbdZLw&oe=61DD4F03

06-01-2022, 10:34 PM
But technically there was 4 of them.

Must mean there’s another to be added 😉

06-01-2022, 10:46 PM
And perhaps surprisingly not the first Elias to sign for us…

Welcome!

07-01-2022, 09:26 AM
Any songs for him yet?

To the tune of She's electric...

He's Norwegian,
He plays for the hibs at the Weekend
And we think he's ****ing brilliant,
It's Melkerson

07-01-2022, 10:01 AM
Hibs say he's fine
Hibs say he's great
Elias Melkersen
He came from Norway

Hibs say he's good
Hibs say he's grand
Elias Melkersen
Is better than Haaland

And it's plan to see
He's the star Hibee

TheGreyLantern
07-01-2022, 10:34 AM
My my my Elias
Why why why Elias

hibeejeebies
07-01-2022, 06:21 PM
To the tune of She's electric...

He's Norwegian,
He plays for the hibs at the Weekend
And we think he's ****ing brilliant,
It's Melkerson

👌🏼

18-01-2022, 10:53 PM
Bit annoying.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/elias-melkersen-work-permit-wait-goes-on-with-forward-set-to-miss-more-hibs-games-3532407

Elias Melkersen work permit wait goes on with forward set to miss more Hibs games

Elias Melkersen could have to wait nearly a month to make his Hibs bow, with the Easter Road side still waiting for the player’s work permit.

The 19-year-old was in the stands at Celtic Park to watch his new team-mates return to Scottish Premiership action on Monday night but the Norwegian may have to wait until January 29 to get a taste of the action for himself.

The Evening News understands that there is a slim chance Melkersen will get the all clear before Hibs travel to Motherwell on Wednesday January 26 but it is far more likely that the former Bodø/Glimt forward won’t be in contention until closer to the end of the month.

Many players joining teams in Scotland from overseas rely on the UK Government’s Exemptions Panel to grant them a Governing Body Endorsement, or GBE, if they do not meet the criteria for a work permit. Decisions to award a GBE are scored on a points-based system which considers the player’s international profile in terms of appearances for their country; the quality of the selling club, and the number of club appearances the player has accrued.

Scottish clubs have often benefited from the Exemptions Panel to secure work permits for overseas players and the Scottish Professional Football League (SPFL) made a strong case to the UK Government to maintain the panel in the aftermath of Brexit.

1875Sean
18-01-2022, 11:13 PM
Bit annoying.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/elias-melkersen-work-permit-wait-goes-on-with-forward-set-to-miss-more-hibs-games-3532407

Elias Melkersen work permit wait goes on with forward set to miss more Hibs games

Elias Melkersen could have to wait nearly a month to make his Hibs bow, with the Easter Road side still waiting for the player’s work permit.

The 19-year-old was in the stands at Celtic Park to watch his new team-mates return to Scottish Premiership action on Monday night but the Norwegian may have to wait until January 29 to get a taste of the action for himself.

The Evening News understands that there is a slim chance Melkersen will get the all clear before Hibs travel to Motherwell on Wednesday January 26 but it is far more likely that the former Bodø/Glimt forward won’t be in contention until closer to the end of the month.

Many players joining teams in Scotland from overseas rely on the UK Government’s Exemptions Panel to grant them a Governing Body Endorsement, or GBE, if they do not meet the criteria for a work permit. Decisions to award a GBE are scored on a points-based system which considers the player’s international profile in terms of appearances for their country; the quality of the selling club, and the number of club appearances the player has accrued.

Scottish clubs have often benefited from the Exemptions Panel to secure work permits for overseas players and the Scottish Professional Football League (SPFL) made a strong case to the UK Government to maintain the panel in the aftermath of Brexit.

What a joke considering Celtic got the Japanese players in

18-01-2022, 11:22 PM
What a joke considering Celtic got the Japanese players in

Maybe easier cause they were all capped at full international level? Just guessing though.

1875Sean
18-01-2022, 11:25 PM
Maybe easier cause they were all capped at full international level? Just guessing though.

Incorrect the midfielder hatate hasn’t been capped for the full national team

19-01-2022, 12:10 AM
well thats absolutely DELETED isnt is

19-01-2022, 12:20 AM
How come there’s no other player who’s required a work permit taken as long as this lads?

19-01-2022, 12:21 AM
Bit annoying.

So did it continue or not?

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-and-hibs-still-able-to-recruit-overseas-players-after-visa-u-turn-3484646

19-01-2022, 12:24 AM
How come there’s no other player who’s required a work permit taken as long as this lads?

Didn't Brexit really only kick in on 1/1/22 so not sure on how many of these transfer have happened?

No doubt his WP will be rejected on 31/01/22 and we wont have time to get a replacement

tonyrougier123
19-01-2022, 01:34 AM
The melky boy kid is strong and tough.
All the hibee fans can’t get enough.
He plays a one two,he goes clean through.
He’s our star striker from a Norway toon.
Na na na na na na na na hey hey hey melky boy!

Victor
19-01-2022, 02:56 AM
This is a ludicrous situation. Considering how many foreign nationals are currently playing in the UK, why are Hibs the only club that appears to be having a problem? Maybe if he said he was catering a Downing Street party he would have got in quicker.

19-01-2022, 05:26 AM
Frustrating. At least he's training.

Henderson2Del
19-01-2022, 05:37 AM
If he doesn’t have a ‘work’ permit how is he allowed at east mains to train as that is him turning up at his work at his main place of employment?

19-01-2022, 06:31 AM
Didn't Brexit really only kick in on 1/1/22 so not sure on how many of these transfer have happened?

No doubt his WP will be rejected on 31/01/22 and we wont have time to get a replacement

We've already paid for him, so we must be confident.

19-01-2022, 07:00 AM
If he doesn’t have a ‘work’ permit how is he allowed at east mains to train as that is him turning up at his work at his main place of employment?

Yes it's an interesting one. I'd imagine that turning up for training is part of his terms of employment so I'm not sure how that's happening without a work permit.

19-01-2022, 07:01 AM
Has he actually been training?

Don't mind seeing him in any training clips bar some promotional tweets with new signings etc

19-01-2022, 07:08 AM
Has he actually been training?

Don't mind seeing him in any training clips bar some promotional tweets with new signings etc

Did he play part of the bounce game last week?

19-01-2022, 07:30 AM
Maybe training but unpaid?

19-01-2022, 07:43 AM
He’ll have arrived on a temporary skilled worker visa and is allowed to continue working while waiting on his permanent work permit as long as the application was submitted before his initial visa expired.

19-01-2022, 08:51 AM
He’ll have arrived on a temporary skilled worker visa and is allowed to continue working while waiting on his permanent work permit as long as the application was submitted before his initial visa expired.Working would include playing games though surely?

Unless we can't register with SFA or whatever until he has perm WP?

19-01-2022, 08:53 AM
Working would include playing games though surely?

Unless we can't register with SFA or whatever until he has perm WP?

Answered your own question I think.

There are two layers to it – the basic UK law that applies to any foreign worker to allow him to work/be paid, and the football-specific rules on registering players to allow him to play in games.

G15 Hibs
19-01-2022, 09:19 AM

Wasn't there some kind of delay in Omeonga playing his first game for Livingston after signing due to a similar issue? I can't remember the ins and outs of it, but I'm sure there was something.

19-01-2022, 09:50 AM
Wasn't there some kind of delay in Omeonga playing his first game for Livingston after signing due to a similar issue? I can't remember the ins and outs of it, but I'm sure there was something.

Think that was International Clearance between two associations.

G15 Hibs
19-01-2022, 10:07 AM
Think that was International Clearance between two associations.

Thanks. I was too lazy to look it up.

19-01-2022, 10:36 AM
So is this anything to do with Brexit?

19-01-2022, 10:40 AM

Norway aren't the EU either.

19-01-2022, 10:41 AM
No

19-01-2022, 10:42 AM
Norway aren't the EU either.

No

Therefore, what is the issue?

19-01-2022, 10:46 AM
Norway aren't in the EU but are in EFTA, which includes the right to work for EFTA-country citizens in EU countries and vice versa.

I've no idea whether the current hold-up is a direct result whatever post-Brexit system was put in place or is just generic admin stuff. However, the fact that he needs a work permit at all is a direct result of Brexit.

hhibs
19-01-2022, 10:49 AM
Norway aren't in the EU but are in EFTA, which includes the right to work for EFTA-country citizens in EU countries and vice versa.

I've no idea whether the current hold-up is a direct result whatever post-Brexit system was put in place or is just generic admin stuff. However, the fact that he needs a work permit at all is a direct result of Brexit.

Exactly, thanks .

19-01-2022, 10:51 AM
Shame this delay has happened as could have done with him getting up to speed sooner rather than later

19-01-2022, 11:17 AM
Hibs sign a player from Norway basically our distant neighbours. No work permit ready, celtic buy Japanese footballers.. Get the visa straight away....

Hmm....

19-01-2022, 11:22 AM
Hibs sign a player from Norway basically our distant neighbours. No work permit ready, celtic buy Japanese footballers.. Get the visa straight away....

Hmm....

2 of Celtic's guys are Japanese internationals. All 3 played in the J-league.

Melkerson doesn't play in the top league.

From memory, that can be an issue for work permits.

hhibs
19-01-2022, 11:25 AM
Are Celtic's guys Japanese internationals?

One of them is not.

19-01-2022, 11:30 AM
One of them is not.

I edited my post :greengrin

They all played in the J League, though.

Victor
19-01-2022, 11:37 AM
2 of Celtic's guys are Japanese internationals. All 3 played in the J-league.

Melkerson doesn't play in the top league.

From memory, that can be an issue for work permits.

There must be more to it than being an international. Am I right in thinking that the professional rugby union teams in Scotland employ players from Australia, South Africa etc, none of whom play for their home nations? Is it some SFA rule that is preventing this? As far as I can see Melkersen ticks all the boxes for obtaining a work permit i.e he has a job offer and won’t be claiming any health or employment benefits.

19-01-2022, 11:40 AM
There must be more to it than being an international. Am I right in thinking that the professional rugby union teams in Scotland employ players from Australia, South Africa etc, none of whom play for their home nations? Is it some SFA rule that is preventing this? As far as I can see Melkersen ticks all the boxes for obtaining a work permit i.e he has a job offer and won’t be claiming any health or employment benefits.

Here are the SFA requirements

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/media/7508/the-scottish-fa-2020-21-gbe-mens-criteria.pdf

No, I haven't read them :greengrin

Victor
19-01-2022, 12:09 PM
Here are the SFA requirements

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/media/7508/the-scottish-fa-2020-21-gbe-mens-criteria.pdf

No, I haven't read them :greengrin

I think that explains everything! They are still probably trying to work if he is eligible!!

19-01-2022, 12:13 PM
Jim Farry isn't back at the sfa is he? :greengrin

19-01-2022, 12:43 PM
I am confident that the SFA bigwigs are currently working their way through all the small print to find a reason that a work permit can be denied.

Latapy'sVolley
19-01-2022, 01:45 PM
Patrick McPartlin reporting we've had a bit of a breakthrough and the permit is to be fast-tracked

19-01-2022, 01:54 PM
Patrick McPartlin reporting we've had a bit of a breakthrough and the permit is to be fast-tracked

Just been on twitter:

https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin

Lendo
19-01-2022, 01:55 PM
I am confident that the SFA bigwigs are currently working their way through all the small print to find a reason that a work permit can be denied.

Does the work permit have anything to do with the SFA? Surely this is something that’s granted by the UK government/Home Office?

19-01-2022, 01:59 PM
Patrick McPartlin saying we’ve got a bit of success and the work permit is now being fast tracked.

There’s an “outside chance” he’ll be available for Thursday.

19-01-2022, 02:15 PM
Patrick McPartlin saying we’ve got a bit of success and the work permit is now being fast tracked.

There’s an “outside chance” he’ll be available for Thursday.
Yesssssssssssss what I wanted to hear

19-01-2022, 02:20 PM
Does the work permit have anything to do with the SFA? Surely this is something that’s granted by the UK government/Home Office?

The SFA need to grant a "governing body endorsement" (see above).

I am guessing that this is required before a work permit is granted.

19-01-2022, 02:48 PM
Yesssssssssssss what I wanted to hear

Good news if true. An exciting signing on paper.

19-01-2022, 02:48 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/shaun-maloney-provides-update-on-elias-melkerson

19-01-2022, 05:10 PM
Patrick McPartlin

“ I could have misinterpreted some of the rules so apologies if any of this is incorrect (and please shout up if you notice anything I’ve got wrong). But I *think* this is more or less why the process has taken longer for Melkersen than it did Ideguchi, Hatate & Maeda. Melkersen’s work permit situation…

As I understand it Hibs need a governing body exemption (GBE) from UK govt to secure a work permit. GBEs are granted using a points system based on player’s international profile, club appearances, & selling club’s reputation. As far as the points system is concerned, the more international caps & club appearances a player has, & the more successful their club, the more points a player accrues. It’s a more complex situation with Melkersen on all three fronts.

Bodø/Glimt are reigning Norway champions but have only won the Eliteserien & the Norwegian Cup twice each. They were relegated as recently as 2016.

On top of that Melkersen has only made 39 senior apps, virtually all in 2nd/3rd tier. Has 12 caps but all at U17, U18 & U20 level.

People asking why situation with Celtic’s Japanese signings is different…

Maeda: 100 apps in Japanese & Portuguese top flight; 16 U23 & 2 full caps. Yokohama F Marinos one of Japan’s most successful clubs.

Hatate: 62 apps in J1 League, 31 U23 caps & Kawasaki Frontale historically v successful.

Ideguchi: 127 apps in J1 League, 15 caps for Japan (plus 8 at U19 & U23) & Gamba Osaka also one of Japan’s most successful teams.

As far as I can see, the main difference is that the Celtic players had accrued more points, making the work permit process a bit more straightforward. I could have misinterpreted some of the rules so apologies if any of this is incorrect (and please shout up if you notice anything I’ve got wrong). But I *think* this is more or less why the process has taken longer for Melkersen than it did Ideguchi, Hatate & Maeda.“

19-01-2022, 05:32 PM
Patrick McPartlin

“ I could have misinterpreted some of the rules so apologies if any of this is incorrect (and please shout up if you notice anything I’ve got wrong). But I *think* this is more or less why the process has taken longer for Melkersen than it did Ideguchi, Hatate & Maeda. Melkersen’s work permit situation…

As I understand it Hibs need a governing body exemption (GBE) from UK govt to secure a work permit. GBEs are granted using a points system based on player’s international profile, club appearances, & selling club’s reputation. As far as the points system is concerned, the more international caps & club appearances a player has, & the more successful their club, the more points a player accrues. It’s a more complex situation with Melkersen on all three fronts.

Bodø/Glimt are reigning Norway champions but have only won the Eliteserien & the Norwegian Cup twice each. They were relegated as recently as 2016.

On top of that Melkersen has only made 39 senior apps, virtually all in 2nd/3rd tier. Has 12 caps but all at U17, U18 & U20 level.

People asking why situation with Celtic’s Japanese signings is different…

Maeda: 100 apps in Japanese & Portuguese top flight; 16 U23 & 2 full caps. Yokohama F Marinos one of Japan’s most successful clubs.

Hatate: 62 apps in J1 League, 31 U23 caps & Kawasaki Frontale historically v successful.

Ideguchi: 127 apps in J1 League, 15 caps for Japan (plus 8 at U19 & U23) & Gamba Osaka also one of Japan’s most successful teams.

As far as I can see, the main difference is that the Celtic players had accrued more points, making the work permit process a bit more straightforward. I could have misinterpreted some of the rules so apologies if any of this is incorrect (and please shout up if you notice anything I’ve got wrong). But I *think* this is more or less why the process has taken longer for Melkersen than it did Ideguchi, Hatate & Maeda.“

I appreciate his explanation, but it still doesn't make sense why it would take longer to me. It's a points system. Surely it's just a case of allocating how many points each application would merit. I'm sure it's not some complex math equation.

19-01-2022, 05:43 PM
I appreciate his explanation, but it still doesn't make sense why it would take longer to me. It's a points system. Surely it's just a case of allocating how many points each application would merit. I'm sure it's not some complex math equation.

The Japanese players were possibly lined up earlier than ours?

19-01-2022, 05:46 PM

Think Elias said Hibs agreed to sign him on Christmas Eve

19-01-2022, 05:50 PM

The Japanese players were announced by Celtic on the 31st of December and are also full internationals.

Celtic had more time and the players meet more criteria.

19-01-2022, 05:52 PM
The Japanese players were announced by Celtic on the 31st of December and are also full internationals.

Celtic had more time and the players meet more criteria.

Chances are the deal was agreed in principle well before then, so the process may have been started.

19-01-2022, 06:34 PM

Agreed - either Melkerson has enough points or he doesn't. It's irrelevant if the three Celtc players have more points.

19-01-2022, 06:34 PM
Chances are the deal was agreed in principle well before then, so the process may have been started.

I don’t think you can apply for a work permit until you are in the country.

19-01-2022, 06:54 PM
Agreed - either Melkerson has enough points or he doesn't. It's irrelevant if the three Celtc players have more points.

If he we're applying for an exemption it suggests to me he doesn't have enough points which is why it is taking longer.

19-01-2022, 06:57 PM

It isn't just about the points.

If he hasn't the required number, it can go to a panel. See sections 44 onwards of the link I posted.

19-01-2022, 06:59 PM
If he we're applying for an exemption it suggests to me he doesn't have enough points which is why it is taking longer.

You’d have thought we’d have looked into this before signing him

19-01-2022, 07:01 PM

The previous regime would have.

19-01-2022, 07:06 PM

Is there anything to suggest we didn't?

19-01-2022, 07:07 PM
Is there anything to suggest we didn't?

See crops post above

19-01-2022, 07:09 PM
Here’s the system, need a Philadelphia lawyer to work it out :confused:

19-01-2022, 07:15 PM
See crops post above

I've not seen anything to suggest the club haven't prepared for this or am I being daft?

19-01-2022, 07:18 PM
The previous regime would have.

Mathie certainly would have but Gordon Jnr?

19-01-2022, 07:31 PM
Mathie certainly would have but Gordon Jnr?

Am joking mate.

19-01-2022, 07:32 PM
I've not seen anything to suggest the club haven't prepared for this or am I being daft?

All I was saying is there are a lot of hoops to go through, and not straight forward to get Elias in

19-01-2022, 08:24 PM
All I was saying is there are a lot of hoops to go through, and not straight forward to get Elias in

No worries. I wasn't sure if the club had been caught cold with something they didn't account for.

19-01-2022, 08:32 PM
I don’t think you can apply for a work permit until you are in the country.We applied for my missus one from overseas

Might be different for sportsmen

19-01-2022, 09:10 PM
We applied for my missus one from overseas

Might be different for sportsmen

Rules must have changed . I made enquiries for work permit for friend of a friend and got told they had to be in country to start the procedure. That’s was 5 or 6 years ago.

19-01-2022, 09:25 PM
So will he be able to play tomorrow night or not? :confused:

19-01-2022, 09:27 PM
So will he be able to play tomorrow night or not? :confused:

Outside chance apparently.

19-01-2022, 09:28 PM
Outside chance apparently.

Better than no chance I suppose. He better be good. :greengrin

19-01-2022, 09:43 PM
Rules must have changed . I made enquiries for work permit for friend of a friend and got told they had to be in country to start the procedure. That’s was 5 or 6 years ago.
15-20 years ago for a non-EU international sportsperson who was coming for a F/T pro contract you had to apply from overseas. The granting of a work permit was what opened the door for you to get into the UK. Club rugby was awash in those days with P/T journeymen from the Southern Hemisphere who came into the UK on two year "working holidaymaker" visas and did "ghost work" for a club sponsor with the proviso that they played for the club. In essence the were getting paid to play at "amateur" level. That loophole was eventually closed. Dunno what the score is now re work permits.

23-01-2022, 10:15 AM
This is turning into quite a saga, in fact I'd almost forgotten about the guy.

Maybe he'll be available for pre season training!

Dazzjw1875
23-01-2022, 10:19 AM
I think he will be good to go for the Well game!