View Full Version : Famous Five Photos

PerfectlyFranck
03-01-2022, 05:39 PM
Anyone got any photos of members of the FF?

I'm looking for the full version of this photo too, if anyone can find it (this one is cropped to landscape)

03-01-2022, 05:44 PM
https://i.ibb.co/KrqcCyg/36-ED1-CF3-8-F8-A-474-A-99-C0-9-AAA67193-A40.jpg (https://ibb.co/YLk4vjS)

03-01-2022, 05:44 PM

I'm looking for the full version of this photo too, if anyone can find it (this one is cropped to landscape)

That's a great photo, pick that oot ya yam fud 😄

03-01-2022, 05:45 PM
https://i.ibb.co/Wc3btqy/C0-D234-CC-22-B5-411-A-9200-5-A9-C059-C98-B2.jpg (https://ibb.co/sFP0Hkw)

03-01-2022, 05:47 PM
https://i.ibb.co/Dtsjpjr/1850-E5-A3-ACA0-45-C2-B80-D-C1-C66806065-D.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

03-01-2022, 05:49 PM
https://i.ibb.co/sgVcwT6/7-B08-F990-6341-406-D-93-E9-4-B915097-AB04.jpg (https://ibb.co/K5rBqtL)

03-01-2022, 05:50 PM
Watch nobody palms you off with the one that was festooned around Leith a few years back. It was labelled the Famous Five but actually had Bobby Combe instead of Bobby Johnstone. I’ve seen it in the odd book too.

03-01-2022, 05:53 PM
https://i.ibb.co/wdQYCN2/2290-EF85-A860-4461-88-CD-4828-D828-A936.jpg (https://ibb.co/JcpC2RS)

03-01-2022, 05:54 PM
https://i.ibb.co/2gpn2fj/94-A41-AB6-E26-C-480-C-9-AF7-BA9-DEF0-D24-FB.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

03-01-2022, 05:56 PM
https://i.ibb.co/2gpn2fj/94-A41-AB6-E26-C-480-C-9-AF7-BA9-DEF0-D24-FB.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

This is the one I most remember

03-01-2022, 05:57 PM

That's s beauty

03-01-2022, 05:57 PM
https://i.ibb.co/w6L1nYB/0-CCCC2-B7-DE5-D-4-D41-AFF6-74-BE5837-D1-F1.jpg (https://ibb.co/h8MvGCL)

03-01-2022, 05:58 PM
Credit to Auld Hibs for a couple of those.

03-01-2022, 06:00 PM
That's s beauty

Presentation to Jimmy McColl before a friendly v Schalke in 70/71. My old man took me and advised me in no uncertain terms that Gordon Smith could easily have been playing for Hibs that night!

Bobo
03-01-2022, 06:17 PM

He's here!
03-01-2022, 06:47 PM
Presentation to Jimmy McColl before a friendly v Schalke in 70/71. My old man took me and advised me in no uncertain terms that Gordon Smith could easily have been playing for Hibs that night!

He certainly looks young and fit enough to have done so!

03-01-2022, 06:49 PM
He certainly looks young and fit enough to have done so!

I suppose he’d only been retired 10 years or so. Never really appreciated this at the time.

03-01-2022, 07:43 PM
Watch nobody palms you off with the one that was festooned around Leith a few years back. It was labelled the Famous Five but actually had Bobby Combe instead of Bobby Johnstone. I’ve seen it in the odd book too.
Love that pic, for that very reason.
I've actually got that pic framed on my living room
Wall. 😁👍

03-01-2022, 07:46 PM
That's s beauty

Remember that well as they were presented to the crowd before the Shalke friendly, could it have been around 1970? The player cut out on the left is Bobby Combe

Don’t remember it that well it seems. The player cut is is, of course, Jimmy McColl 🤣

03-01-2022, 08:07 PM
https://i.ibb.co/w6L1nYB/0-CCCC2-B7-DE5-D-4-D41-AFF6-74-BE5837-D1-F1.jpg (https://ibb.co/h8MvGCL)

Of course, Willie managed us for a wee while after Turnbull left,but his health was such he retired soon after taking the job.

Willie's Scotland Squad was possibly the best to qualify for a World Cup 1974

Reminds me also of Willie's song when he was manager of Scotland.
Gave it laldy at Wembley '73

Willie Ormond's watching you !
Wille Ormond's watching you !
If you play the game ,he'll note your name
Willie Ormond's watching you !

To the Disney tune:Whistle while you work ! :singing::singing:

EastThomasSTboy
03-01-2022, 09:25 PM
That's a great photo, pick that oot ya yam fud 😄

it is at Tynecastle,…just not v Hearts.

it was the League Cup semi-final v Queen of the South.:flag:

03-01-2022, 09:44 PM
it is at Tynecastle,…just not v Hearts.

it was the League Cup semi-final v Queen of the South.:flag:

👍

He's here!
03-01-2022, 10:57 PM
I suppose he’d only been retired 10 years or so. Never really appreciated this at the time.

He was playing in a European Cup semi-final for Dundee in 1963 and retired the following year so yes, not actually that long since he'd stopped playing. He certainly remained a fitness obsessive and when he owned his retirement cottage adjoining the West Links golf course at North Berwick (where I think his son now lives) I'm told the members would often hear a football being repeatedly kicked against a wall!

04-01-2022, 05:36 AM
I remember Gordon Smith played in one of those summer friendlies for the Hibs/Hearts Edinburgh select sides in the early 70’s and was the best player on the park despite being in his early 50’s

DanishJohn
04-01-2022, 09:31 AM
I turned 65 in November. I have in the past said to people that I remember going to Easter Road ,taken by dad to see Gordon Smith.
The reaction varied between "are you sure?" to "chancer!"

I remember being taken by my dad to see Hibs play Dundee about 1963. All I got in the lead up that I was about to see the greatest football player that ever lived.
Gordon Smith was wearing the dark blue of Dundee and they gave Hibs a bit of a hiding.

I don't think it bothered my auld man too much because he could say his laddie had seen the Gay Gordon in action at Easter Road.

My dad was Hibs daft and that love was passed down through the generations (at times I could kill him for doing it!)

04-01-2022, 10:00 AM
I too attended the 0-0 Schalke 04 game in 1971 and I agree with Iggy Gordon Smith looked as fit as a butchers dug and looked fit enough to play

Hibs pummelled the Schalke defence but found their goalkeeper Norbert Nigbur to be in unbeatable form

Nigbur would be on the West Germany bench for the 1974 World Cup Final versus Holland in Munich

04-01-2022, 01:30 PM
https://i.ibb.co/KrqcCyg/36-ED1-CF3-8-F8-A-474-A-99-C0-9-AAA67193-A40.jpg (https://ibb.co/YLk4vjS)

I've got that photo signed by Turnbull and Reilly. :aok:

loanheadhibby
04-01-2022, 03:18 PM
I remember Gordon Smith played in one of those summer friendlies for the Hibs/Hearts Edinburgh select sides in the early 70’s and was the best player on the park despite being in his early 50’s
Lawrie Reilly always said Gordon was the best player he ever played with or against.
Only Sir Tom Finney was on a par with Gordon Smith he reckoned.

04-01-2022, 05:41 PM
Lawrie Reilly always said Gordon was the best player he ever played with or against.
Only Sir Tom Finney was on a par with Gordon Smith he reckoned.

I remember some one saying many years ago. Cannot remember who...

"If Gordon Smith had been English,you might not have heard of Stanley Matthews"

Praise indeed.
Although Matthews was great,but the point is made.

Matthews was knighted for services to sport .
Well,not too many played as long as Gordon,or won Top League titles with 3 clubs.
None being the old firm.
Sir Gordon Smith !
All Scottish fans back then all knew that Gordon was a football genius,bar the stickies who thought Willie Waddell was better that Smith!

A Gordon for me !
A Gordon for me !! :singing::singing:.....rang out from the slopes of The Holy Ground.

04-01-2022, 06:32 PM

Were any of those any good to you then?

04-01-2022, 06:39 PM
Sure that I read/heard that the Great Gordon Smith also had a small part in a movie at one time while still a player for Hibs.

04-01-2022, 08:05 PM
Sure that I read/heard that the Great Gordon Smith also had a small part in a movie at one time while still a player for Hibs.
To Catch a Thief. Great film starring Cary Grant, Grace Kelly and Gordon Smith! Hitchcock directed it.

PerfectlyFranck
07-01-2022, 07:18 PM
FF

May21/05/16
07-01-2022, 07:31 PM
I turned 65 in November. I have in the past said to people that I remember going to Easter Road ,taken by dad to see Gordon Smith.
The reaction varied between "are you sure?" to "chancer!"

I remember being taken by my dad to see Hibs play Dundee about 1963. All I got in the lead up that I was about to see the greatest football player that ever lived.
Gordon Smith was wearing the dark blue of Dundee and they gave Hibs a bit of a hiding.

I don't think it bothered my auld man too much because he could say his laddie had seen the Gay Gordon in action at Easter Road.

My dad was Hibs daft and that love was passed down through the generations (at times I could kill him for doing it!)My dad's favourite player and listened to my dad and his friends say that he was the greatest player they seen playing in a hibs shirt mines was pat stanton it was brilliant the story's that they said about the famous 5 I remember my dad and his pals always went to bowlers rest pub before the games the properiter was gee the baw the lawrie I cherish the memories of them days

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk