View Full Version : The Platinum Jubilee

31-12-2021, 07:21 PM
70 years celebrations will feel a little flat with the allocations of stoat-the-ba’ coming to a head against Prince Disnae-Sweat.

Her legacy is looking pretty dire in fact when you consider she inherited an empire which has now evaporated, her country is now completely isolated from the united europe forged after the war her father contributed to winning and her grandson is now completely removed from the Royal family because he married a mixed-race woman.

I would hope that the growing independence movement recognises that a modern Scotland needs to be attached to these anachronistic English institutions no more than it needs the Westminster parliament.

I would like to see some resistance to the jubilee but I’m not sure how it would manifest itself.

Certainly, the monarch needs to be called out for the failures she has presided over.

pollution
31-12-2021, 08:13 PM
Happy New Year to you too !

31-12-2021, 08:29 PM
Happy New Year to you too !

Here’s to new beginnings!🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

31-12-2021, 08:48 PM
I think I get an extra day annual leave for this.

I'm all for it... suddenly.

31-12-2021, 09:10 PM
70 years celebrations will feel a little flat with the allocations of stoat-the-ba’ coming to a head against Prince Disnae-Sweat.

Her legacy is looking pretty dire in fact when you consider she inherited an empire which has now evaporated, her country is now completely isolated from the united europe forged after the war her father contributed to winning and her grandson is now completely removed from the Royal family because he married a mixed-race woman.

I would hope that the growing independence movement recognises that a modern Scotland needs to be attached to these anachronistic English institutions no more than it needs the Westminster parliament.

I would like to see some resistance to the jubilee but I’m not sure how it would manifest itself.

Certainly, the monarch needs to be called out for the failures she has presided over.

Oi! Wait till we’ve had the extra holiday before you put the kibosh on it.

31-12-2021, 09:53 PM
Now is not the time for the independence movement to stoke the furnace of royalty.

As boris, gove etc. are doing their bit to destroy the union so the royal first team are doing their bit to destroy The Firm.

Sit back and get the popcorn out.

31-12-2021, 10:04 PM
As long as I get the extra bank holiday…

Logie Green
31-12-2021, 10:13 PM
Celebrate a woman who is shielding her son from facing up to the consequences of his actions? No thanks.

Steven79
01-01-2022, 09:24 AM
Scotland are playing Armenia on the 4th of June during the celebrations.

I hope we send her and the establishment a clear message...

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

01-01-2022, 09:31 AM
Long live the Republic when it eventually comes.

01-01-2022, 10:30 AM
Viva La Republic!

Down with the paedo protecting, wealth stealing monarchy.

He's here!
01-01-2022, 11:10 AM
The Queen's great.
Andrew's an erse.
Best scenario for the royal family is that Charles's forthcoming reign proves relatively short and the phenomenally popular William and Kate take the throne(s).

01-01-2022, 11:13 AM
The Queen's great.
Andrew's an erse.
Best scenario for the royal family is that Charles's forthcoming reign proves relatively short and the phenomenally popular William and Kate take the throne(s).

I think when young girls are being trafficked into the country for him to have sex with then something a bit stronger than an ‘erse’ is appropriate. And if the Queen was great then she wouldn’t be shielding him from the consequences.

Steven79
01-01-2022, 12:27 PM
The Queen's great.
Andrew's an erse.

They can all get stuffed.

The only reason they have survived this long is because we have too many sheep on these islands...

01-01-2022, 12:31 PM
If it means that I get a paid day's leave then that'll do for me. Would much rather see Randy Andy detained for a while at His Mother's Pleasure.

01-01-2022, 01:04 PM
They can all get stuffed.

The only reason they have survived this long as we have too many sheep on these islands...

Spot on, as they say.

24-03-2022, 06:43 PM
well done Jamaica, a modern country/society without those damn spongers :agree:

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/276147592_517175449772618_7870927938364874726_n.jp g?_nc_cat=107&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=4azb_UswU0QAX9Ory1l&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT9vo3gRoowVqgJB4F1zA_kZkXwxUyfw_j_3cRNmoFNP AA&oe=62411896

24-03-2022, 07:17 PM
Some great PR optics here. All that's missing is William brandishing a cat o nine tails.

https://www.newsweek.com/prince-william-kate-middleton-fence-photos-spark-backlash-jamaica-everything-about-this-wrong-1691048

24-03-2022, 07:33 PM

If Scotland becomes independent, do we have a referendum on whether or not to keep the queen as head of state further down the road?

Are countries automatically republics if they don't have a monarch? What i mean is, would we just be Scotland, or could we be the Republic of Scotland for example?

Only asking out of curiosity, i have no strong feelings about this whatsoever!

24-03-2022, 07:47 PM
It really is all a lot of nonsense isn't it? Some of the imagery coming out of Jamaica during the week was archaic. No wonder they are starting the process of jettisoning the ****ers before Mr wet blanket and his wife have even got through duty free.

24-03-2022, 08:04 PM
well done Jamaica, a modern country/society without those damn spongers :agree:

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/276147592_517175449772618_7870927938364874726_n.jp g?_nc_cat=107&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=4azb_UswU0QAX9Ory1l&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AT9vo3gRoowVqgJB4F1zA_kZkXwxUyfw_j_3cRNmoFNP AA&oe=62411896One day he will be allowed to wear the metal hat which symbolises, in the eyes of a god, that he is the head of state of the United Kingdom and of the Commonwealth and/or/whatever. At the moment his auld granny is the one with the metal hat. She got it from her dad. Her son will be allowed to wear the metal hat when she dies then it's William's shot when he dies and on and on.

It does look like there will be less and less people wanting the person who is allowed to wear the metal hat to be their ruler. Can't be that many left. When the lady who is allowed to wear the metal hat first put it on, it magically made her the ruler over 32 countries.

When Charles, her laddie, is allowed to put it on, well someone dressed as a wizard with an invisible pal in the sky puts it on his head for him but that's a whole other thing, there will be 15 countries, maybe 14 if ska-island sees through the magic spell of the metal hat. The magic spell being "we are all in this together as a commonwealth", which is obviously a load of ol' tosh.

https://www.express.co.uk/news/royal/1585540/meghan-markle-news-royal-family-news-dan-wootton-prince-harry-william-kate-jamaica-latest,

There are some people, claiming that the reason ska-island will turn its back on the metal hat wearer is because of some sh*t talk from the ginger laddie and his wife, thon actress lassie, toward William.

Who cares really. I think maybe social media has to take some of the credit (others would say blame). The people of Jamaica know far more about the Windrush victims than the people of the UK do. They have also seen the UK through the prism of Brexit which stank, and still does, of xenophobia. This wasn't possible before the socials, so the lady with the metal hat who wore nice gloves and seemed ok still had a mystique.

The British Empire still does exist though, the lady with the metal hat is the queen of lots of little tiny islands and they all have special magic banks on them.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

He's here!
24-03-2022, 08:04 PM
If Scotland becomes independent, do we have a referendum on whether or not to keep the queen as head of state further down the road?

Are countries automatically republics if they don't have a monarch? What i mean is, would we just be Scotland, or could we be the Republic of Scotland for example?

Does the 1603 Union of the Crowns (which saw James VI of Scotland become James I, unifying England and Scotland under a single monarch) hold sway over the 1707 Act of Union?

A referendum on such an issue today would see Scotland back keeping the Queen. Charles? Maybe not so much. The sooner William and Kate become king and queen the better for the future of the Royal Family.

1 8 7 5
24-03-2022, 08:10 PM
One day he will be allowed to wear the metal hat which symbolises, in the eyes of a god, that he is the head of state of the United Kingdom and of the Commonwealth and/or/whatever. At the moment his auld granny is the one with the metal hat. She got it from her dad. Her son will be allowed to wear the metal hat when she dies then it's William's shot when he dies and on and on.

It does look like there will be less and less people wanting the person who is allowed to wear the metal hat to be their ruler. Can't be that many left. When the lady who is allowed to wear the metal hat first put it on, it magically made her the ruler over 32 countries.

When Charles, her laddie, is allowed to put it on, well someone dressed as a wizard with an invisible pal in the sky puts it on his head for him but that's a whole other thing, there will be 15 countries, maybe 14 if ska-island sees through the magic spell of the metal hat. The magic spell being "we are all in this together as a commonwealth", which is obviously a load of ol' tosh.

https://www.express.co.uk/news/royal/1585540/meghan-markle-news-royal-family-news-dan-wootton-prince-harry-william-kate-jamaica-latest,

There are some people, claiming that the reason ska-island will turn its back on the metal hat wearer is because of some sh*t talk from the ginger laddie and his wife, thon actress lassie, toward William.

Who cares really. I think maybe social media has to take some of the credit (others would say blame). The people of Jamaica know far more about the Windrush victims than the people of the UK do. They have also seen the UK through the prism of Brexit which stank, and still does, of xenophobia. This wasn't possible before the socials, so the lady with the metal hat who wore nice gloves and seemed ok still had a mystique.

The British Empire still does exist though, the lady with the metal hat is the queen of lots of little tiny islands and they all have special magic banks on them.

24-03-2022, 08:14 PM

Only asking out of curiosity, i have no strong feelings about this whatsoever!I guess there's been a mix of both for countries escaping the commonwealth for example, could be dressed up as something mutually agreed to or can be brought about by rebellion, consent via a referendum.

I've no "skin in the game" for any form of Scottish referendum but I'd like to think if it did happen it would be by the will of the people. Either that or the French method has a certain appeal[emoji6]

24-03-2022, 08:21 PM
One day he will be allowed to wear the metal hat which symbolises, in the eyes of a god, that he is the head of state of the United Kingdom and of the Commonwealth and/or/whatever. At the moment his auld granny is the one with the metal hat. She got it from her dad. Her son will be allowed to wear the metal hat when she dies then it's William's shot when he dies and on and on.

I very much enjoyed that.

24-03-2022, 08:23 PM
Does the 1603 Union of the Crowns (which saw James VI of Scotland become James I, unifying England and Scotland under a single monarch) hold sway over the 1707 Act of Union?

Two different things. 1603 in a way was irrelevant to 1707, and vice versa. Once we're independent we'll still have the same monarchy, but hopefully we'll switch to being a republic smartish. :-)

McSwanky
24-03-2022, 09:55 PM
I very much enjoyed that.As did I.

24-03-2022, 10:20 PM
I very much enjoyed that.So many directions you could go with it. It's daft because it's true.

The Queen of The Magic Banks.

Everybody has to bow to the lady who wears the metal hat and never, ever say anything bad about her or to her because the metal hat is magic. Us and all her pals, we all have to bow to her as part of the magic.

Saying that, she allows her pals magic names like "lord" and "viscount", they get to wear animal skins and sit in a special room where they think up things for everyone to obey.

A lot of the things they think up mean we have to give them money out of our wages to pay for them. We have to pay for the lady with the magic hat, her bairns, her servants and her bairns' servants as well.

We also have to pay the lords and viscounts for thinking things up. There is another bit of the special house that we pay for but it's just full of people making animal noises.

Part of the magic means the lords and viscounts can keep their money to themselves by putting it in a "magic bank". Magic banks are on teeny, tiny islands which are part of the lady with the metal hats' "Empire" - there are lots of little tiny islands who have decided the magic hat wearer Rules over them, including our teeny tiny island. The people who decided our island should be ruled by the lady with the metal hat are the lords and viscounts.

Nowadays even if you don't have a magic name you can still be allowed to use a magic bank on one of the teeny tiny islands. You can even try and give yourself a magic name like "CEO" or "oligarch". As long as you can pay, you can use the magic bank.

Once your money is in a magic bank you don't have to pay for the lady with the metal hat or her bairns or her servants or her bairns' servants. You also don't have to pay for the things that we have to obey that the lords and viscounts think up in the special house.

There are hardly any people on some of the teeny tiny islands but they all have to bow to her. Everybody on this island has to bow to the lady with the metal hat and we all have pay for her, except if you are her pal, bowing is enough if you're her pal.

25-03-2022, 03:23 AM

The Federal Republic of Germany is not something you hear very often, but that's the official name of Germany.

Sent from my SM-A505FN using Tapatalk

25-03-2022, 06:14 AM
There is another bit of the special house that we pay for but it's just full of people making animal noises.
True every Wednesday, at least. :agree:

25-03-2022, 09:17 AM

1. Not automatically, the Queen is still Queen of Scots unless/until we do something about it.
2. Yep, pretty much. They don't necessarily use Republic in their official names. The USA and France are both republics for instance. Ireland's official name is actually just "Ireland" or "Eire" in Irish, I think the "Republic of" thing is just used when clarification vs the north is needed.

25-03-2022, 11:03 AM

Brilliant :aok:

25-03-2022, 12:17 PM
1. Not automatically, the Queen is still Queen of Scots unless/until we do something about it.
2. Yep, pretty much. They don't necessarily use Republic in their official names. The USA and France are both republics for instance. Ireland's official name is actually just "Ireland" or "Eire" in Irish, I think the "Republic of" thing is just used when clarification vs the north is needed.

Thanks, appreciate it.

Kinda related, but for the first time I'm now trying to think about the positives of Indy as against the negatives of leaving the union!

25-03-2022, 12:42 PM
Thanks, appreciate it.

Kinda related, but for the first time I'm now trying to think about the positives of Indy as against the negatives of leaving the union!

Lolz - progress of a sort, I suppose. :greengrin

25-03-2022, 12:43 PM

President Boris and President Thatcher God forbid.

25-03-2022, 12:49 PM

Having a dead president would be novel, I suppose. :greengrin

Actually I quite like the idea of a non-political head of state: it's the privilege, public funding despite dripping wealth and the hangers on I can't stand.

I think we should have an elected king or queen: every 2 years the winner of Strictly vs I'mACeleb head to head in a phone vote. Keep a few rooms in Buck House for their use and sell the rest of it and all the other palaces etc

25-03-2022, 12:53 PM

But that assumes that a president will have any sort of power. Nobody is saying that the president needs to be like the US or French one. We just need somebody accountable to do state admin.

25-03-2022, 01:03 PM
I like the old girl, but the system of monarchy is an anachronism and, IMHO, an embarrassment. In the twenty-first century we should all want to be citizens, not subjects. When the queen dies, we should get a vote on abolition of the monarchy, but there's no chance of that. Even opening up a debate, thus discussing the possibility of abolition, wouldn't be allowed.

25-03-2022, 01:06 PM
Having a dead president would be novel, I suppose. :greengrin

Actually I quite like the idea of a non-political head of state: it's the privilege, public funding despite dripping wealth and the hangers on I can't stand.

I think we should have an elected king or queen: every 2 years the winner of Strictly vs I'mACeleb head to head in a phone vote. Keep a few rooms in Buck House for their use and sell the rest of it and all the other palaces etc
Was using her as an example as be careful what you wish for.😄. We have had some very poor party leaders in government who would have probably been even more of a nightmare as a president. I give you Donald Trump as what can go wrong.By the way I am not a royalist.

25-03-2022, 01:09 PM
But that assumes that a president will have any sort of power. Nobody is saying that the president needs to be like the US or French one. We just need somebody accountable to do state admin.
True enough but we would need a new constitution drawn up in writing and proper checks and balances put in place

25-03-2022, 01:09 PM
Was using her as an example as be careful what you wish for.😄. We have had some very poor party leaders in government who would have probably been even more of a nightmare as a president. I give you Donald Trump as what can go wrong.By the way I am not a royalist.

A British president would be a figurehead, like the Irish president or German President, not a branch of government as in the US and France. A purely ceremonial head of state, above the political process.

25-03-2022, 01:19 PM
A British president would be a figurehead, like the Irish president or German President, not a branch of government as in the US and France. A purely ceremonial head of state, above the political process.
That's what I would prefer but would establishment in this country like that arrangement? I think we would get something in the middle ground. If Charles becomes king I think the monarchy will be on borrowed time.

25-03-2022, 05:07 PM
True enough but we would need a new constitution drawn up in writing and proper checks and balances put in place

Oh, definitely. It'll never happen for the UK though.

27-03-2022, 09:07 AM
The 'Platinum Jubilee' would be a good time to mark the end of the Monarchy, and all the stupid titles like Baron Bumptious, Lord Snooty, Sir Vile, etc.

The disastrous visit to the Carribean by a future heir to the throne and his missus has only served to highlight how ridiculous the whole things is.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qxh3jAoHpyE

LewysGot2
02-04-2022, 12:31 PM
The Prodigal Son is back in the headlines today for accepting 6 figure sums from individuals "towards his daughter's wedding" so she's definitely not having the year she would have wanted...

04-04-2022, 03:15 PM
See Andrew Windsor has himself caught up in some international fraud now. Seems "he" took a payment to help a woman get a new Turkish passport (yeah, I didn't know he had connections in the Turkish passport office either!!). The man who arranged this is being investigated for defrauding the woman of around £40mil. Andrew by all account does his own version of Dragons Den from St James palace where this all started (where he met the man who is the alleged fraudster), allegedly. Seems the queens favourite son is doing his level best to ruin her special year. :greengrin