View Full Version : Hibs History - the ‘interruption’ of 1891-93

30-12-2021, 09:28 AM
One for the history buffs of our great club…

the other sevco thread and their bullish plans for a huge 150th anniversary celebration got me thinking about our own history and our forthcoming 150 year commemoration in 2025.

Most of us know that there was a brief break in playing history for Hibernian FC between 1891 and Feb 1893. The reasons for this have been discussed and debated at length (the loss of our first Hibernian Park on Easter Road, the rise of Celtic, professionalism, the loss of some committee members because of their involvement in Irish politics, an absolute rogue of a club secretary disappearing to America with a huge chunk of the clubs cash, failure to apply for a place in the new Scottish League…). It was a perfect storm of events that caused Hibs to take some time out and regroup.

im interested in how people classify this period. We all know how much fun it is winding (The) Rangers fans up about the death of their club and how the new team is only a decade old. But is there a bit of Pot and Kettle here? Did our club die in 1891? Are the Hibs that we know and love today really only about 129 years old rather than approaching 150?

my view on the subject has always been pretty simple. We took some time off playing games but it was the same club. Hibernian FC couldn’t have died because it wasn’t a limited company in the first place. It was the team of the CYMS, run on charitable lines. You can’t liquidate a company that doesn’t exist and when we started playing again, this time ditching the Catholic only policy it was still the same people running it and supporting it. Even Michael Whelahan from the club’s earliest days was still involved.

but Alan Lugton’s book, which I finally managed to get my hands on this year does seem to imply that there was a proper break in history - that the running of the club was effectively taken away from its founding St Patrick’s CYMS in the Cowgate and taken on by St Mary’s Star of the Sea in Leith. With its new non-sectarian identity and professional business like ethos, could this really be considered the same club?

interested in your thoughts.

30-12-2021, 11:45 AM
You’ve mostly answered your own question there. The club evolved, changed and adapted. Phase 1 was over and something different emerged. It was still Hibernian FC and as you say there was no liquidation. We took a sabbatical and came back stronger and more prepared for the changing world of professional football.

andudare2
30-12-2021, 01:28 PM
Sure i read an article years ago that mostly agrees with op,s post, however it also stated that the Hibernian Swimming Club paid Hibs annual registration fees to the SFA to ensure continuity of the club until it got back on it's feet financially.

30-12-2021, 02:44 PM
The only thing I'm absolutely certain about is that Hibs are at least 119 years older than The Rangers, therefore we've definitely won the league three times more than them.

30-12-2021, 02:46 PM
One for the history buffs of our great club…

the other sevco thread and their bullish plans for a huge 150th anniversary celebration got me thinking about our own history and our forthcoming 150 year commemoration in 2025.

Most of us know that there was a brief break in playing history for Hibernian FC between 1891 and Feb 1893. The reasons for this have been discussed and debated at length (the loss of our first Hibernian Park on Easter Road, the rise of Celtic, professionalism, the loss of some committee members because of their involvement in Irish politics, an absolute rogue of a club secretary disappearing to America with a huge chunk of the clubs cash, failure to apply for a place in the new Scottish League…). It was a perfect storm of events that caused Hibs to take some time out and regroup.

im interested in how people classify this period. We all know how much fun it is winding (The) Rangers fans up about the death of their club and how the new team is only a decade old. But is there a bit of Pot and Kettle here? Did our club die in 1891? Are the Hibs that we know and love today really only about 129 years old rather than approaching 150?

my view on the subject has always been pretty simple. We took some time off playing games but it was the same club. Hibernian FC couldn’t have died because it wasn’t a limited company in the first place. It was the team of the CYMS, run on charitable lines. You can’t liquidate a company that doesn’t exist and when we started playing again, this time ditching the Catholic only policy it was still the same people running it and supporting it. Even Michael Whelahan from the club’s earliest days was still involved.

but Alan Lugton’s book, which I finally managed to get my hands on this year does seem to imply that there was a proper break in history - that the running of the club was effectively taken away from its founding St Patrick’s CYMS in the Cowgate and taken on by St Mary’s Star of the Sea in Leith. With its new non-sectarian identity and professional business like ethos, could this really be considered the same club?

interested in your thoughts.
Our name was not hibernian fc in 1875, it was hibernians fc.

30-12-2021, 02:50 PM

I don’t think so. Often called the Hibernians, but the name has always been Hibernian FC.

hibby rae
30-12-2021, 03:06 PM
I don’t think so. Often called the Hibernians, but the name has always been Hibernian FC.

I was wondering recently when did the use of 'Hibs' first appear?

30-12-2021, 03:57 PM
I was wondering recently when did the use of 'Hibs' first appear?

1881 The Scotsman according to this thread:

Post#8

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?202869-Hibees-Who-Coined-This-Phrase

badabing67
30-12-2021, 04:17 PM

Post#8

Well that explained everything :confused:

30-12-2021, 04:24 PM
Well that explained everything :confused:

30-12-2021, 05:19 PM

We have never officially been called Hibernians FC, it has always been Hibernian FC. I think a lot of the confusion comes from tickets sold by the club which had Hibernians V xxxxxxx and also in the press when we have been called Hibernians. The league tables from 1947 show us being called Hibernians

30-12-2021, 05:25 PM
Our first programme, 1926, refers to both Hibernian and Hibernians on the front cover.

https://i.ibb.co/V3rkFvw/CCF263-A5-6-D16-49-E0-B1-A1-2-CE11-E050-C32.jpg (https://ibb.co/cxMsWNY)

30-12-2021, 05:29 PM
Our first programme, 1926, refers to both Hibernian and Hibernians on the front cover.

https://i.ibb.co/V3rkFvw/CCF263-A5-6-D16-49-E0-B1-A1-2-CE11-E050-C32.jpg (https://ibb.co/cxMsWNY)

My way of thinking is that Hibernian was the Company, Hibernians was the team as in there were 11 of them so they became Hibernians . Probably totally wrong though.

30-12-2021, 05:30 PM

Is it not 1925😉

30-12-2021, 05:31 PM
Is it not 1925😉

Aye

30-12-2021, 05:36 PM

I recall ,as a young schoolboy ,early sixties,older supporters shouting "c'mon the Hibernians"

Seeing the above programme, the Club is called Hibernian, but players/team on the park would be known collectively as" The Hibernians", hence my recollection of fans shouting this term.

I like it !

C'mon the Hibernians !! :flag:

On "The Great Interruption"

Reasons and causes have been cited here and of course in books on the clubs history.
Notably Alan's great works.
As serious as any of these events was the treachery from the club we helped found.

How damaging and hurtful that must have been to the club and its followers back then.
At a time when the club had enough "enemies" in the game and the establishment.

To then have your staff/players lured away by so called friends offering pots of cash,was both shameful and a disgrace to what we stood for..

Like the chant goes.......
If it wisnae for the Hibees........

30-12-2021, 06:56 PM
We bumped nobody out of anything, no charities were robbed in the gap, no legal admin event or winding up or liquidation occurred.

Circumstances allowed us to stop and start playing, there's always been a Hibernian.

hibby rae
30-12-2021, 07:34 PM

Post#8

Thanks for finding that. Very interesting!

30-12-2021, 07:55 PM
Thanks for finding that. Very interesting!
Looks like there’s always been a HIBS

Who knew ?

30-12-2021, 08:06 PM
Looks like there’s always been a HIBS

Who knew ?

Wonder if it was journalists/sports writers who first"penned" the name .
Hibs being a shorthand word ,shorthand writing,something journalists used all the time.

Brummie_Hibs
30-12-2021, 08:53 PM
Where does the term Hibees come from?

30-12-2021, 08:54 PM
Where does the term Hibees come from?

Have a read at this thread ..it’s discussed

30-12-2021, 09:09 PM
Perhaps it ended up working in our favour overall.The area of our old ground seemed a bit cramped with the railway there and we probably couldnt fit a modern day stadium there.

30-12-2021, 09:16 PM
Perhaps it ended up working in our favour overall.The area of our old ground seemed a bit cramped with the railway there and we probably couldnt fit a modern day stadium there.

Aye I loved the old name though.
Hibernian Park
Pity we changed that.

30-12-2021, 09:36 PM
We were formed in 1875, we didn’t field a team for a couple of seasons but we didn’t fold. We weren’t a company that could fold or be wound up. We were a team formed to allow the young Irish contingent to play on a charitable basis by the Catholic Church, there was no business to fold or be wound up. Celtic obviously did their thing of copying something they liked, a tradition they’ve continued to this day, even the good people of Glasgow didn’t like what they did.

31-12-2021, 10:31 AM
Sure i read an article years ago that mostly agrees with op,s post, however it also stated that the Hibernian Swimming Club paid Hibs annual registration fees to the SFA to ensure continuity of the club until it got back on it's feet financially.

Notice it's the "Hibernian" Swimming Club, not the "Hibernians". Their plaque was up on the wall in Infirmary Street baths for yonks.

James Stephen
31-12-2021, 10:52 AM
Id always seen Hibernians as a nickname, which was shortened (no doubt by sub editors needing to fit it into headlines) to Hi-Bs, and to Hibs.

Much as HMFC became Hearts, Rangers the Gers, Celtic the Celts, Aberdeen the Dons, Dundee the Dee etc.

31-12-2021, 11:40 AM
Id always seen Hibernians as a nickname, which was shortened (no doubt by sub editors needing to fit it into headlines) to Hi-Bs, and to Hibs.

Much as HMFC became Hearts, Rangers the Gers, Celtic the Celts, Aberdeen the Dons, Dundee the Dee etc.

Sub-editors and their pen-nibs, eh?

Clearly historical evidence shows that we were officially known as The Hibernians.

Indeed some players then may well have been members of the Ancient Order of Hibernians.

Two of my favourite Hi-Bees were King Joe Bee and his brother Prince Gerry Bee :not worth :not worth :greengrin

James Stephen
31-12-2021, 12:02 PM

Clearly historical evidence shows that we were officially known as The Hibernians.

Indeed some players then may well have been members of the Ancient Order of Hibernians.

Two of my favourite Hi-Bees were King Joe Bee and his brother Prince Gerry Bee :not worth :not worth :greengrin

I thought - could well be wrong! - that the official team name was The Hibernian Football Club, and the team were known as the Hibernians. Like if they were known as the Caledonian Football Club, but were referred to as the Caledonians?

31-12-2021, 12:09 PM

I was just reading through Lugton’s first book. He describes the naming of the club and says that various names were suggested, including St Patrick’s FC. Michael Whelahan sought divine guidance and whilst at prayer at St Patrick’s church he remembered the Ancient Order of Hibernians and there and then the name became Hibernian Football Club.

The earliest documents from the club are a season ticket book and the secretaries minute book, both from the early 1890’s. Both state the name of the club as Hibernian FC and that is the name found on the club crest on those documents.

In the photos there are several pieces lifted from newspapers and they say Hibernians ( no FC added) v Thornliebank or Hibernians v Association Team. Hibernians was well used, no doubt about it, but it was never the name of the club.

There are some earlier documents quoted in Lugton. He quotes a full speech from the president of the CYMS, welcoming the 1887 cup winning side back to St Mary’s Street Halls, saying “ I congratulate our team, Hibernian Football Club, on their splendid victory today.....” The club secretary, John McFadden responds and directly refers to the side as Hibernian on several occasions.

The term Hibernians was being used well into the 20th century, by newspapers etc, but the club has always been Hibernian FC

andudare2
31-12-2021, 12:15 PM
Notice it's the "Hibernian" Swimming Club, not the "Hibernians". Their plaque was up on the wall in Infirmary Street baths for yonks.
😁👍

31-12-2021, 12:21 PM
On another, slightly related slant.

In various Hibs books the first strips were always described as Green jerseys with a gold harp. In recent years that's been changed to the original being white. This is based on a quote, iirc, asking Hibs players to procure a white jumper. Has anyone considered that those white jumpers might have just been for training purposes? Is there any evidence or description that we wore white jumpers as a strip - or any that supports a green one? Celtic's first strip was all white as they borrowed them from players at a local cricket club. "Borrowed" them.

31-12-2021, 12:28 PM

In various Hibs books the first strips were always described as Green jerseys with a gold harp. In recent years that's been changed to the original being white. This is based on a quote, iirc, asking Hibs players to procure a white jumper. Has anyone considered that those white jumpers might have just been for training purposes? Is there any evidence or description that we wore white jumpers as a strip - or any that supports a green one? Celtic's first strip was all white as they borrowed them from players at a local cricket club. "Borrowed" them.Glasgow celtc, the original Borrowers.

31-12-2021, 12:34 PM

In various Hibs books the first strips were always described as Green jerseys with a gold harp. In recent years that's been changed to the original being white. This is based on a quote, iirc, asking Hibs players to procure a white jumper. Has anyone considered that those white jumpers might have just been for training purposes? Is there any evidence or description that we wore white jumpers as a strip - or any that supports a green one? Celtic's first strip was all white as they borrowed them from players at a local cricket club. "Borrowed" them.

The earliest photo I know of is in John R Mackay’s The Hibees. From 1876, Hibs are wearing the hoops. By 1879 they are in Green, with a badge that doesn’t look like a harp to me.

In the first rule book of the club ( from 1875) the colours are given as caps, white guernsey ( jumper) with a Harp on the left breast and white trousers, with a green stripe. The rule book had a club crest ( harp) and the motto Erin-go-bragh.

Pretty definitive evidence for the first colours being as described above.

31-12-2021, 12:35 PM

Original strips were white with green hoops but when the club was officially launched on 6th August 1875 at the St Mary’s Hall Canon Hannan presented the club with the gift of a new strip white with green trim and a harp on the breast

31-12-2021, 12:47 PM
Brilliant thread this [emoji106][emoji119][emoji119]

31-12-2021, 01:04 PM
The club is called Hibernian as is the old Latin name for Ireland. The players and fans are Hibernians or Hibees - the people from Ireland

31-12-2021, 01:05 PM
[QUOTE=superfurryhibby;6804659]I was just reading through Lugton’s first book. He describes the naming of the club and says that various names were suggested, including St Patrick’s FC. Michael Whelahan sought divine guidance and whilst at prayer at St Patrick’s church he remembered the Ancient Order of Hibernians and there and then the name became Hibernian Football Club.

The earliest documents from the club are a season ticket book and the secretaries minute book, both from the early 1890’s. Both state the name of the club as Hibernian FC and that is the name found on the club crest on those documents.

In the photos there are several pieces lifted from newspapers and they say Hibernians ( no FC added) v Thornliebank or Hibernians v Association Team. Hibernians was well used, no doubt about it, but it was never the name of the club.

There are some earlier documents quoted in Lugton. He quotes a full speech from the president of the CYMS, welcoming the 1887 cup winning side back to St Mary’s Street Halls, saying “ I congratulate our team, Hibernian Football Club, on their splendid victory today.....” The club secretary, John McFadden responds and directly refers to the side as Hibernian on several occasions.

The term Hibernians was being used well into the 20th century, by newspapers etc, but the club has always been Hibernian FC[/QUOTE

Super
Whatever newspapers called us,the term Hibernians is clearly on the front cover of the 1925 programme posted on this thread.

Of course it was Hibernian Football Club.
I never said Hibernians was the name of the club.

Having worked at The Scotsman newspaper in my youth (sub-editors room)
Some subs i knew had littled knowledge of football, yet would edit football related stories/articles.

I wanted to edit some of the proofs related to Hibs!

31-12-2021, 01:12 PM
The club is called Hibernian as is the old Latin name for Ireland. The players and fans are Hibernians or Hibees - the people from Ireland

31-12-2021, 01:30 PM

I recall ,as a young schoolboy ,early sixties,older supporters shouting "c'mon the Hibernians"

Seeing the above programme, the Club is called Hibernian, but players/team on the park would be known collectively as" The Hibernians", hence my recollection of fans shouting this term.

I like it !

C'mon the Hibernians !! :flag:

On "The Great Interruption"

Reasons and causes have been cited here and of course in books on the clubs history.
Notably Alan's great works.
As serious as any of these events was the treachery from the club we helped found.

How damaging and hurtful that must have been to the club and its followers back then.
At a time when the club had enough "enemies" in the game and the establishment.

To then have your staff/players lured away by so called friends offering pots of cash,was both shameful and a disgrace to what we stood for..

Like the chant goes.......
If it wisnae for the Hibees........

My favourite chant for games against lesser greens Michael, followed closely by we were first to wear the green/hoops. Doesn't half upset them!!

31-12-2021, 01:43 PM
In the first rule book of the club ( from 1875) the colours are given as caps, white guernsey ( jumper) with a Harp on the left breast and white trousers, with a green stripe. The rule book had a club crest ( harp) and the motto Erin-go-bragh.

Interesting,

That's earlier than the documents you quoted from above. Does the rule book say "Hibernian" or "Hibernians".

Have any of these primary sources been digitised?

31-12-2021, 01:44 PM
My favourite chant for games against lesser greens Michael, followed closely by we were first to wear the green/hoops. Doesn't half upset them!!
/
Indeed Brian

New fave chant now for the young team.

:singing::singing: You're no rAngers anymore !!

Happy New Year to you and yours ,when it comes,Brian :aok:

31-12-2021, 03:37 PM
Interesting,

That's earlier than the documents you quoted from above. Does the rule book say "Hibernian" or "Hibernians".

Have any of these primary sources been digitised?

Yes, the mention of the rule book from the foundation of the club is from John R Mackay’s book. My copy is from c 1989 , so I would imagine he saw an original source. I believe the season ticket book and the other document from 1893 are in the Hibs display at ER ?

Years ago I met Jim Gray and chatted about the club and archive/ documents etc. He said there was very little in the possession of the club, but he did know there was a fair bit with families of former players and officials.

We’ve seen some stuff emerge, including a Scottish Cup winners medal bought by the Historical Trust, but you always hope there is more.

31-12-2021, 04:09 PM
Yes, the mention of the rule book from the foundation of the club is from John R Mackay’s book. My copy is from c 1989 , so I would imagine he saw an original source. I believe the season ticket book and the other document from 1893 are in the Hibs display at ER ?

Years ago I met Jim Gray and chatted about the club and archive/ documents etc. He said there was very little in the possession of the club, but he did know there was a fair bit with families of former players and officials.

We’ve seen some stuff emerge, including a Scottish Cup winners medal bought by the Historical Trust, but you always hope there is more.

absolutely. There’s probably loads of artefacts from the club’s earliest days buried in attics all over Scotland. Probably further afield too.

31-12-2021, 04:14 PM
We need to play our cousins in Malta sometime.

https://www.hiberniansfc.mt/

Maybe get drawn in Europe,if we can qualify soon under Shaun !

Or a pre season friendly.

Je suis Hibernians :flag:

31-12-2021, 04:16 PM
/
Indeed Brian

New fave chant now for the young team.

:singing::singing: You're no rAngers anymore !!

Happy New Year to you and yours ,when it comes,Brian :aok:

And to you Michael. I'm in Portugal but no sign of Jimmy's barman!!😁

31-12-2021, 05:41 PM
Having a wee trawl through Alan Lugton’s great book The Making of Hibernian The Harp Awakes and it always refers to Hibernian Football Club

Michael Whelahan did retire to St Pat’s when looking for a suitable name in the hope of drawing some divine intervention and drew his inspiration from the Ancient Order of Hibernians and the Roman Latin name for Ireland Hibernia

Back on topic and special mention to the grandfather and great grand uncle of Sir Tom Farmer Philip and John Farmer who saved Hibernian Football Club from oblivion back in 1891 through their sheer hard work grit and determination to keep things going during a period of no football when others wanted to give up and call it a day

100 years later almost to the day Sir Tom would do the exact same after attending Mass at St Pat’s to respect the centenary of the death of Canon Hannan the co-founder of Hibernian in 1991 after the abortive hostile takeover attempt

31-12-2021, 08:29 PM
We need to play our cousins in Malta sometime.

https://www.hiberniansfc.mt/

Maybe get drawn in Europe,if we can qualify soon under Shaun !

Or a pre season friendly.
Je suis Hibernians :flag:

Non. Sil vous plait, mon ami.
“Nous sommes Hiberniens”

Aussi
Le chien mange une orange :wink:

31-12-2021, 08:33 PM

Is this news?

31-12-2021, 08:35 PM

There really should be an inventory of all these trusted artefacts in my humble opinion.

oregonhibby
01-01-2022, 04:40 PM
There really should be an inventory of all these trusted artefacts in my humble opinion.

The Historic Trust were busy during the pandemic and took the opportunity to make an inventory of all the items they have in their possession. Around 7.5k items from tickets, programmes, strips, medals and club documentation.

It has recently conserved the articles of association from 1903 and a historically important strip is being conserved at the Scottish Conservation Studio.

It is a bunch of volunteers who work away for the love of it. The Trust has been working towards Museum Accreditation which means it has adopted professional archiving and storing standards.

01-01-2022, 04:44 PM
The Historic Trust were busy during the pandemic and took the opportunity to make an inventory of all the items they have in their possession. Around 7.5k items from tickets, programmes, strips, medals and club documentation.

It has recently conserved the articles of association from 1903 and a historically important strip is being conserved at the Scottish Conservation Studio.

It is a bunch of volunteers who work away for the love of it. The Trust has been working towards Museum Accreditation which means it has adopted professional archiving and storing standards.

Good stuff. I’m in touch with one or two involved and appreciate the work involved.

01-01-2022, 04:44 PM
A Football Club means so much more than a legal entity. This may be an unpopular view but Hibs have always been Hibs and Rangers are still Rangers.

01-01-2022, 05:44 PM

That was my understanding too. Hibs remained affiliated to the SFA but were unable to fulfill any fixtures for a season, or so, due to not having a ground, (pitch), or sufficient funds in place due to the reasons stated above.

01-01-2022, 07:25 PM
That was my understanding too. Hibs remained affiliated to the SFA but were unable to fulfill any fixtures for a season, or so, due to not having a ground, (pitch), or sufficient funds in place due to the reasons stated above.

Lugton’s first volume states that their SFA membership lapsed during that time.

01-01-2022, 07:28 PM
Lugton’s first volume states that their SFA membership lapsed during that time.

I wonder if we are grasping at straws , and have to face facts that for a few years our club didn’t exist ?? Not trying to be controversial , just trying to read through the various inputs on this thread and understand the conclusion

01-01-2022, 07:44 PM

Hibernia is the Latin name for Ireland .

01-01-2022, 08:03 PM
I wonder if we are grasping at straws , and have to face facts that for a few years our club didn’t exist ?? Not trying to be controversial , just trying to read through the various inputs on this thread and understand the conclusion

18 months at most, not a few years. I suppose, as Marinello says, it depends on what you think constitutes a club.

a modern example would be Bury FC. Expelled from the football league in August 2019 due to being unable to fulfil fixtures because of financial difficulties. They haven’t played since, and a phoenix Bury team have been formed by supporters. Yet Bury FC still technically exist. They haven’t been liquidated, and could well play again in the future if they can get their affairs in order.

01-01-2022, 08:16 PM

I think we were in more danger of going out of existence before and during the Mercer Saga.

The "interuption"was caused by a number of factors,many of course cited here.
We lost most of our team to Celtic .We also became homeless
We never went "out the box"
We just had few players "stolen"and no park to play on.!

In limbo,i say !

The Scottish Football League was not formed until 1890 and we applied for membership like all others teams.
We were admitted in 1893.
We had to win the Second Division twice before being elected into the First Division in 1895

All teams that won honours before 1890 kept them and so did we!

Despite The Great Interruption...

Hibernian today views the period since 1875 as one continued history and therefore counts the honours won between 1875 and 1891, including the 1887 Scottish Cup.

We did though change our constitution at the time allowing non catholics to play .

The game had quickly moved on in that short time in a professional way, due to the likes of John Glass at Celtic and we had to adapt or possibly die.

Hibernian Football Club
Since 1875

01-01-2022, 10:18 PM

No, the club existed alright. You should read more about our history, it’s illuminating.

01-01-2022, 10:21 PM
No, the club existed alright. You should read more about our history, it’s illuminating.

I’ve read the books, but still can’t quite conclude one way or the other ..it’s great to be reminded and enthused by threads like this . Care to explain why you are so categorical?

01-01-2022, 10:27 PM
I’ve read the books, but still can’t quite conclude one way or the other ..it’s great to be reminded and enthused by threads like this . Care to explain why you are so categorical?

Fir reasons already stated in the thread. The club was never liquidated, it

01-01-2022, 10:35 PM

The biggest club of the era didn’t join. Hibs were admitted when they created a second tier.

The Scottish Football League (SFL) was inaugurated on 30 April 1890.[5] The first season of competition, 1890–91, commenced with 11 clubs because St Bernard's were not elected.[5] The eleven original clubs in membership were Abercorn, Cambuslang, Celtic, Cowlairs, Dumbarton, Heart of Midlothian, Rangers, Renton, St Mirren, Third Lanark and Vale of Leven.[6] Renton were expelled after five games of the 1890–91 season[7] for playing against St Bernard's, who had been found guilty of concealed professionalism. Renton raised an action against the SFA in the Court of Session and won, which meant that their SFA and SFL memberships were restored.[7]

01-01-2022, 10:42 PM
The biggest club of the era didn’t join. Hibs were admitted when they created a second tier.

The Scottish Football League (SFL) was inaugurated on 30 April 1890.[5] The first season of competition, 1890–91, commenced with 11 clubs because St Bernard's were not elected.[5] The eleven original clubs in membership were Abercorn, Cambuslang, Celtic, Cowlairs, Dumbarton, Heart of Midlothian, Rangers, Renton, St Mirren, Third Lanark and Vale of Leven.[6] Renton were expelled after five games of the 1890–91 season[7] for playing against St Bernard's, who had been found guilty of concealed professionalism. Renton raised an action against the SFA in the Court of Session and won, which meant that their SFA and SFL memberships were restored.[7]

It’s clear that due to the club not being a legal entity on its own that it’s legal structure didn’t end. But neither did it exist as a football team for a couple of years. That’s where in my mind the debate exists. There are some good analysis and assumptions being made on here. None conclusively reveal if the football club was definitely still in existence , although some good rationale being laid out to suggest it was in a form of “pause”.

01-01-2022, 10:54 PM
It’s clear that due to the club not being a legal entity on its own that it’s legal structure didn’t end. But neither did it exist as a football team for a couple of years. That’s where in my mind the debate exists. There are some good analysis and assumptions being made on here. None conclusively reveal if the football club was definitely still in existence , although some good rationale being laid out to suggest it was in a form of “pause”.

As a fan I prefer to give the Hibernian ancestors the benefit of the doubt on this one.