View Full Version : Ryan Porteous appreciation thread
camthebam
25-12-2021, 11:36 PM
Honestly can’t believe some of the negativity I’m reading about this kid on here.
An utterly unprecedented grassing of him by a fellow pro and it’s Ryan’s behaviour that’s being questioned?! No mention of how no player has ever grassed on another player like that ever in football?! The clip wasn’t even conclusive. He had a wee kick out, it happens multiple times in every single game of football. He kicked out in the name of Hibs, lest we forget. Are all football incidents ever going to be reviewed by Twitter or just Ryan’s? If the latter can we at least defend him please?
This boy’s 22yo, the human brain doesn’t fully mature until it’s 25. But even at 22 he’s our leader, our captain, our comandante. He bleeds Hibs, throws his body in the way of our opponents, mocks them for sport. Whilst spraying passes about like Sauzee in his prime. And scoring match winning goals! How can any Hibs fan not absolutely love the socks of the boy?! Like seriously?
Does he mistakes? Like most 22yo lads his exuberance gets the better of him and absolutely he does. Watch how he learns though, that boy’s captaining Scotland.
And how can any sane person say he was mocking Emma Dodds. Obviously he was mocking Gerrard/huns for the craic and I utterly adore him for it.
Enjoy him and Boyle while we have them, jesus we’ve had worse. Much, much, much, much worse.
hibsfan7
25-12-2021, 11:42 PM
We should make him the next captain
timewilltell
25-12-2021, 11:48 PM
Honestly can’t believe some of the negativity I’m reading about this kid on here.
An utterly unprecedented grassing of him by a fellow pro and it’s Ryan’s behaviour that’s being questioned?! No mention of how no player has ever grassed on another player like that ever in football?! The clip wasn’t even conclusive. He had a wee kick out, it happens multiple times in every single game of football. He kicked out in the name of Hibs, lest we forget. Are all football incidents ever going to be reviewed by Twitter or just Ryan’s? If the latter can we at least defend him please?
This boy’s 22yo, the human brain doesn’t fully mature until it’s 25. But even at 22 he’s our leader, our captain, our comandante. He bleeds Hibs, throws his body in the way of our opponents, mocks them for sport. Whilst spraying passes about like Sauzee in his prime. And scoring match winning goals! How can any Hibs fan not absolutely love the socks of the boy?! Like seriously?
Does he mistakes? Like most 22yo lads his exuberance gets the better of him and absolutely he does. Watch how he learns though, that boy’s captaining Scotland.
And how can any sane person say he was mocking Emma Dodds. Obviously he was mocking Gerrard/huns for the craic and I utterly adore him for it.
Enjoy him and Boyle while we have them, jesus we’ve had worse. Much, much, much, much worse.
Goodness, what a mess of a Post.
Don’t be a snob, support the boys!
Agree with OP, enjoy him while he’s here.
There’s loads of vanilla out there and he adds colour, love it
Logie Green
26-12-2021, 12:17 AM
Comparing Porteous with Sauzee? 😂😂😂
Hulk1875
26-12-2021, 12:19 AM
Forget the age of the laddie BUT…. He should have learned from his mistakes by now he’s good player with a lot of potential but it’s letting him down. Still love him though
hibeg
26-12-2021, 03:49 AM
We will miss him big time when he eventually goes because he is a quality footballer who can pass the ball,not a thug as perceived by many.
Hopefully he is not hounded out
26-12-2021, 05:36 AM
You can love a player, fully support them and still acknowledge their flaws. He simply needs to stop these daft incidents.
He fully deserves the ban he'll get. And I don't blame player for expecting better officiating. He should have been off and the decision ultimately would've changed the game.
26-12-2021, 07:04 AM
Grass, snob. Car crash. It’s like being back at High school.
i support Hibs and Ryan. I do find the hounding of him distasteful
But its where we’ve come to hard to see this being any different down the ages when the internet, algorithms and folks plugged into it get animated with divisive topics.
26-12-2021, 07:15 AM
PH is our Captain
Franck Sauzee was different gravy entirely
Ryan needs to cut out the daft stuff
Lashed out at the guy on the deck tried to make a joke of it and got away with it
Poor form by the Aberdeen player calling him out on Twitter sour grapes but half expected it
The result stays at 1-0 to the good guys 😃
26-12-2021, 07:22 AM
Love the boy. His passion for Hibs, skill and the fact he lives rent free in the heads of our opponents and their fans.
26-12-2021, 07:27 AM
I love him. But I can criticise him too. As with everything in life it isn’t black and white.
26-12-2021, 07:48 AM
I love him. But I can criticise him too. As with everything in life it isn’t black and white.
Yep. It’s a bit weird that if you expect a certain standard from a player you’re not supporting them properly.
Ryan is a very decent player and a supporter too, he has a few wee mistakes in him which he seems to not be learning from, he'll get called out on these mistakes like every other player who plays for us, this doesn't mean we don't appreciate him, it's called honesty.
26-12-2021, 08:03 AM
Great idea for a thread. As usual the intention is lost. Too many people jumping in too quickly to defend their right to criticize instead of just supporting Ryan.
There are plenty of threads with criticism. This one was to show some love.
Ryan is a player. As important to us at the back as Boyler is up front.
Love him.
26-12-2021, 08:55 AM
In response to the OP, I don't think there is anyone on .net who doesn't rate Porteous as a player for us and he is regularly praised for his footballing ability.
However that doesn't require me to turn a blind eye when he does something I'd criticise an opposing player for.
26-12-2021, 08:58 AM
He’s not a kid any more
w pilton hibby
26-12-2021, 09:02 AM
Great idea for a thread. As usual the intention is lost. Too many people jumping in too quickly to defend their right to criticize instead of just supporting Ryan.
Love him.
He's not important if he's sitting in the stand.
26-12-2021, 09:09 AM
Great player. The vendetta in Scottish football against him means he’ll head south sooner rather than later sadly but we should get good money for him. Let’s hope he’s not replaced by a huddie along the lines of Colin Murdoch or Michael Nelson.
26-12-2021, 09:21 AM
Ryan is the best "pivot" type of central defender that I've seen at ER for many many years. He'll be a big miss when he moves on to new pastures . Scottish football can be a cesspit at times and for the sake of his career he'd be better moving down south as quick as possible.
26-12-2021, 09:29 AM
Yep, you would think Ryan had written it
26-12-2021, 09:35 AM
Porto, we love you. Potentially one of the best central defenders I’ve seen at Hibs in my 50 years going to matches. You can go all the way if you just learn tae screw the nut.
hibbydog
26-12-2021, 09:55 AM
Great defender.
Yes he has flaws, as all footballers do, and I’m totally fed up with the negativity towards him which is often driven by ex Rangers players in Sportscene and Sky Sports. It’s as depressing as it is predictable.
But watching him is great entertainment. You just know he’s going to get in someone’s head, make them do something stupid, fly in to tackles, get booked or sent off. Never boring.
We ain’t gonna get anywhere near his level when we have to replace him. We never do. So we should enjoy watching him - and back him 100% - whilst he’s here.
Tobias Funke
26-12-2021, 09:59 AM
Comparing Porteous with Sauzee? 😂😂😂
I wouldn’t let Ryan buy laces for Sauzees boots, never mind actually lace them up.
That said the lads a good player, just needs to cut the nonsense out but he’s got the talent and could 100% be Hibs captain one day. :flag:
I wouldn’t let Ryan buy laces for Sauzees boots, never mind actually lace them up.
That said the lads a good player, just needs to cut the nonsense out but he’s got the talent and could 100% be Hibs captain one day. :flag:
Almost certainly wants away so don't ever see him being a captain of hibs
26-12-2021, 10:16 AM
For me Porteous is a very very good young player who has lapses in concentration.
He’s strong, quick, very good in the air, strong in the tackle, reads the game well and is very good at playing out from the back
His main issue is when he tries to hard to force it or gets a rush of blood to the head which often leads to a mistake.
But he is stupid, the Aberdeen game shows this. It is a red card every day of the week, he ball is gone and he’s kicked out at Ramirez, the fact he posted on Twitter about it is immaterial.
I think Porteous could go far but he needs to start helping himself and not make stupid decisions.
We, myself included, have said refs target him. No wonder when they watch replays and see what he does.
He’s also very good at winning fouls, but I wish he’d be a bit stronger and not look for them every single time which results in him rolling around.
Thief
26-12-2021, 10:22 AM
I’m sure Ryan will go straight to the top and is a future Scotland captain.
The trial by media and the comments here about removing certain aspects of his game surprise me a bit as I see huge similarities in Ryan and Andy Robertson, who loves to get stuck in and has played mind games successfully with the best players in the world.
Andy picked up a red the other week against Spurs and I don’t recall any trial by media for him!
Some of the clips of Robertson on YouTube show the darker side of his game and I’m full of admiration for him as he’s bloody good at it!
It’s part and parcel of the modern game and Ryan will get better at it as he fine tunes his skills. In other words he’ll get better at getting away with it. [emoji6]
26-12-2021, 10:38 AM
I love Ryan Porteous.
26-12-2021, 10:47 AM
The way the incident on Wednesday is being depicted on social media you would be excused for thinking he had run up to Ramirez and kicked him in the baws. He was at it the whole game and in that incident it was Ramirez that was fouling Porteous again and he stood up to him and was eventually grappled to the ground. Yes , Ryan gave him a deserved sharp reminder when they were down but unfortunately he got caught by Sportscene and once again the whole thing is blown out of proportion.
Would he be subjected to this criticism if he was playing for either of the old firm?
I very much doubt it
Halmyre Hibee
26-12-2021, 11:10 AM
I’ve said it on many forums Ryan is a great young player. We are so lucky to have him so let’s enjoy what he brings to Hibs. I wish all players were as committed as him. Yes he has his faults but haven’t we all. Let’s all let him know next time he plays that there’s only one Ryan Porteous.
Rumble de Thump
26-12-2021, 11:16 AM
The 'he never learns from his mistakes' way of thinking doesn't actually stand up to any scrutiny. He gets judged by referees differently to other players because of comments from the likes of Gerrard, which have been regurgitated by certain people in the media.
For example, the stuff people were coming out with after his challenge on Aribo was bonkers. After all, he had won the ball without touching Aribo, and there was no mention of Aribo diving and faking injury. There was also no action against Morelos for his various assaults in the same game or the genuine potential leg breaker from Lundstram. But it's Ryan who never learns? Nah. He'll move to England and thrive away from the toxicity.
26-12-2021, 12:14 PM
Another thread for us all to repeat ourselves and say we all really like him and he’s a very good young player?
But also folk managing to concede that he’s being daft too many times now and needs to cut it out.
Round two.
26-12-2021, 12:20 PM
Another thread where those that accentuate the positives make him out to be comparable with the Hibees greats and those that only see the negatives focus on them.
Can we not just focus on the positives in this "appreciation thread"? FFS, there's plenty other thread where we're kicking our own player.
allmodcons
26-12-2021, 12:41 PM
Love him.
:agree: So many on these boards just can't help but be negative.
Ryan is super player who, as a central defender, is the best passer of a ball I've seen at Hibs in a long time.
I presumed, like you, that the thread was about showing the boy some love.
Maybe one of the whingers should start another entitled 'Ryan Porteous and his countless flaws'. This would allow all of the flawless individuals that frequent these boards a free for all.
26-12-2021, 01:00 PM
Ryan is super player who, as a central defender, is the best passer of a ball I've seen at Hibs in a long time.
Maybe one of the whingers should start another entitled 'Ryan Porteous and his countless flaws'. This would allow all of the flawless individuals that frequent these boards a free for all.
:agree: yes, his passing is excellent. For his development, I think he needs a centre-back beside him that can develop him into a better player.
26-12-2021, 01:17 PM
:agree: yes, his passing is excellent. For his development, I think he needs a centre-back beside him that can develop him into a better player.
What is Paul Hanlon, like?
26-12-2021, 01:20 PM
Another thread where those that accentuate the positives make him out to be comparable with the Hibees greats and those that only see the negatives focus on them.
Can we not just focus on the positives in this "appreciation thread"? FFS, there's plenty other thread where we're kicking our own player.
That’s it though - name one poster who “only sees the negatives” in Porteous.
Okay seeing as it’s like primary school and we’re having appreciation threads with over the top praise only:
He’s better than Sauzee and I want to marry him. He’s also never put a foot wrong in his career/life and anyone who’s ever argued otherwise is either stupid, a Jambo or most likely both.
… on a more serious note..Hope Ryan has another stormer today and another header like his last would be really nice 🇳🇬
26-12-2021, 01:25 PM
Someone experienced, with over 400 games, a scottish cup winners medal, captained a big club?
Paul Hanlon is just fine next to Ryan. Very good pairing.
26-12-2021, 01:30 PM
Someone experienced, with over 400 games, a scottish cup winners medal, captained a big club?
Paul Hanlon is just fine next to Ryan. Very good pairing.
Hanlon had a couple of wobbly headers early on and Porteous obviously got caught up in nadgate - but that aside, I thought the pair of them were absolutely superb the other night.
Defensively rock solid and very good in possession.
They've both irritated me at times this season with some poor performances and some daftness but I wouldn't ever be calling for either of them to be replaced.
If they could cut out the dodgy moments and play the way they did on Wednesday more often - that would give us a very solid base upon which to build our team.
The Pointer
26-12-2021, 01:39 PM
One of our most important players gets reported for kicking a fellow professional in the nads and there's outrage. I really don't understand why as he's got enough experience under his belt but never seems to learn. It's not the fault of the administrators for getting called-up and he's harming the efforts of his team mates, but he appears to be going down the same route as several of our forwards of recent years in 'getting a reputation'.
I like his attitude and it's great to have 'characters' in your team, but he's got a lot of maturing to do.
26-12-2021, 01:43 PM
Potential to play in premiership or any league and the Huns Celtic sfa media referee’s know it gets hounded unfairly
The Pointer
26-12-2021, 01:44 PM
I'm happy to applaud his play as it is merited, but we're not discussing his positive qualities as it's not those which are under discussion, but the self-destructive flaws in his play.
26-12-2021, 01:51 PM
Great player , seen a re run of the 6-6 game on sky yesterday , shows how good our defence is now compared to that team , was scary , even tho hanlon was still in the team
26-12-2021, 02:02 PM
Terrific young player who reminds me of big John McNamee, although with much more technical ability. Another player who was hounded out of Scottish Football.
Enjoy him while we can he will take some replacing.
One of our most important players gets reported for kicking a fellow professional in the nads and there's outrage. I really don't understand why as he's got enough experience under his belt but never seems to learn.
I's not the fault of the administrators for getting called-up and he's harming the efforts of his team mates, but he appears to be going down the same route as several of our forwards of recent years in 'getting a reputation'.
I like his attitude and it's great to have 'characters' in your team, but he's got a lot of maturing to do.
Nice balanced viewpoint and probably speaks for 95% of the supporter base.
We don’t want to see any more of ‘Ryanthebam’, just a great young player maturing and improving with every game.
yonder1875
26-12-2021, 03:34 PM
Too many are fooled by the huns/media perception of him and believe it themselves.
allmodcons
26-12-2021, 04:07 PM
I'm happy to applaud his play as it is merited, but we're not discussing his positive qualities as it's not those which are under discussion, but the self-destructive flaws in his play.
Did you read the title of the thread before posting this nonsense?
Too many are fooled by the huns/media perception of him and believe it themselves.
or maybe use their own eyes and own judgement… though there are a few who seem to be ok with patronising fellow Hibs fans for having the temerity of differing opinions
26-12-2021, 04:39 PM
Have Villa put a bid in for Ryan yet?
26-12-2021, 04:41 PM
Have Villa put a bid in for Ryan yet?
They need to wait on Slippy G recovering from the Covid.
26-12-2021, 05:00 PM
Doing relatively well until the Sauzee comparison 🤣🤣🤣🤣
loanheadhibby
26-12-2021, 05:18 PM
Don't compare his passing with Sauzee , it makes your post ridiculous.
His interview 're Gerrard didn't help us the following week.
That said Ryan has a big future,hopefully with us if he does his talking on the park.
camthebam
01-02-2022, 11:10 PM
If tonight provided nothing it’s that I’m right.
I swear that’s a £20M defender minimum.
Clone Ryan, play him in every position tonight and we beat that *****. My God, we should be signing him for life if possible.
01-02-2022, 11:13 PM
From our favourite Norwegian Hibs expert @reideerhotdog
Ryan Porteus 🇳🇬🏴 tonight:
🔹34 completed passes (most in game)
🔹68 touches
🔹3 clearances, 1 interception
🔹TEN recoveries
🔹18 duels won (most in game)
🔹Fouled 5 times (most in game)
🔹0 fouls committed
Heatmap shows utter dominance at the back 💪
🔥What a performance🔥 https://t.co/frYaL4w29G
camthebam
01-02-2022, 11:47 PM
From our favourite Norwegian Hibs expert @reideerhotdog
Ryan Porteus 🇳🇬🏴 tonight:
🔹34 completed passes (most in game)
🔹68 touches
🔹3 clearances, 1 interception
🔹TEN recoveries
🔹18 duels won (most in game)
🔹Fouled 5 times (most in game)
🔹0 fouls committed
Heatmap shows utter dominance at the back 💪
🔥What a performance🔥 https://t.co/frYaL4w29G
And feigned an injury when needed. Honestly, that’s the best, cleverest footballer in Scotland, I’d make him captain tomorrow. And give him a Chinese burn until he signs a new contract.
02-02-2022, 04:35 AM
He was MoM for me. Whole-hearted performance and he kept his cool in a torrid atmosphere.
02-02-2022, 05:42 AM
He really is a fantastic player.
w pilton hibby
17-03-2022, 12:50 PM
He really is a fantastic player.
Ryan Porteous: Hibs defender should be nurtured and encouraged, not castigated - From the EEN
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/ryan-porteous-hibs-defender-should-be-nurtured-and-encouraged-not-castigated-3614861
17-03-2022, 01:59 PM
Wonder if we're any closer to getting him on an extended contract. As great as it is to see him playing so well recently, it (selfishly) gives me the fear it'll inevitably have plenty clubs sniffing around him in summer with just 1 year left of his deal.
17-03-2022, 02:08 PM
Good tweet from Hibs
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1504474348983242766?t=PFOBXRbUGqrG6nhj9sey6w&s=19
17-03-2022, 02:23 PM
Good tweet from Hibs
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1504474348983242766?t=PFOBXRbUGqrG6nhj9sey6w&s=19
Cracking stats.
17-03-2022, 02:24 PM
Ha-ha I just happen to think that a few or even more than a few are no Hibs supporters, never mind supporting one of the best young players we have had in many years. Also happen to think that he will be away in the summer so enjoy watching him at Easter Rd, while you can.
17-03-2022, 02:49 PM
Wonder if we're any closer to getting him on an extended contract. As great as it is to see him playing so well recently, it (selfishly) gives me the fear it'll inevitably have plenty clubs sniffing around him in summer with just 1 year left of his deal.
I'd love him to extend, but I think, if he was going to, he'd have done so by now so I'm resigned to him being sold in the summer.
Agree
17-03-2022, 06:22 PM
Fantastic player with a brilliant attitude :hibees
17-03-2022, 06:40 PM
He did have a shaky spell but he has been brilliant the last month or so and very much underrated y other team's supporters. He is very young for a centre half too and I think he will go on to do very well in the game. Hope we can keep him a bit longer as I think it would benefit us and Ryan much like McGinn staying that bit longer so he was ready to slot straight into a Villa team and keep his career momentum going
18-03-2022, 06:06 PM
Its actually gone beyond sinister now. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220318/22e2259affb8207bebc97b8e00437964.jpg
Green Reaper
18-03-2022, 06:09 PM
Its actually gone beyond sinister now. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220318/22e2259affb8207bebc97b8e00437964.jpg
No wonder Porto hasn’t signed another contract, probably needs to leave this country for his own good and career development.
18-03-2022, 06:10 PM
Yet, still some supposedly Hibs supporters will be on to tell us there is no agenda against this young Hibs player.
Who is Conman anyway, sorry Conrod, sorry what is his name.
18-03-2022, 06:14 PM
Beyond a joke now
https://www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/sport/football/ryan-porteous-pathetic-embarrassing-says-26504645
18-03-2022, 06:19 PM
Hibs should be making a statement about that absolute bull****. They should also be telling the express to go and take a **** to themselves that they are not welcome at ER anymore
18-03-2022, 06:20 PM
Beyond a joke now
https://www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/sport/football/ryan-porteous-pathetic-embarrassing-says-26504645
We should be banning all the rags that publish this type of absolute garbage.
18-03-2022, 06:21 PM
When did the Express turn into the Daily Record.
MKHIBEE
18-03-2022, 06:35 PM
FFS, they have started the unsettling campaign earlier than usual, the semi final is 4 weeks away
18-03-2022, 06:53 PM
We should be banning all the rags that publish this type of absolute garbage.
Not the first time this has happened with ex refs putting the boot into our young players, shameful stuff and hopefully Maloney says something about it at the next press call.
18Craig75
18-03-2022, 07:02 PM
Was anything like this brought up when Scott Brown recently waved Ryan Kent off the park at Pittodrie? This witch hunt is absolutely ridiculous and really highlights the reach that Rangers have within the game.
18-03-2022, 07:24 PM
Beyond a joke now
Ban all these papers for the low IQs. They are a drain on society and do no good.
18-03-2022, 07:29 PM
Hibs absolutely must call this out, publicly. A witch hunt to get Sevco clicks.
norhfc
18-03-2022, 08:47 PM
What has the guy done, oh aye he doesn’t like servco, that’s it, they buy these crap papers.
18-03-2022, 08:52 PM
Added the Express to my list of rags harassing Ryan. I have e-mailed the club and currently awaiting a response.
18-03-2022, 09:07 PM
Sick football culture in this country. I love my team but it’s never going to change, is it? I wonder why I bother sometimes. Sad.
He's here!
18-03-2022, 09:08 PM
That's a shocker of a 'story'. Really poor.
Porteous is a terrific asset to Hibs. He was one to watch from way back and brings talent and character to the team. Heart on the sleeve yes but a top player to boot.
18-03-2022, 09:12 PM
Next headline
Ryan Porteous ate my hamster.
One for the oldies
18-03-2022, 09:12 PM
Btw that article was written by the "former editor in chief at Rangers FC" if anyone had any doubts about which club and which "journalists" are pushing this agenda
18-03-2022, 09:33 PM
When did the Express turn into the Daily Record.
Daily Record, Express, Football Scotland, Edinburgh Live etc all have same owner
18-03-2022, 09:39 PM
Daily Record, Express, Football Scotland, Edinburgh Live etc all have same owner
It’s always interesting and revealing to find out the owners of newspapers
18-03-2022, 09:51 PM
Jambo ***** on A View From The Terrace chipping in again having Porto’s reaction to the Motherwell red being more newsworthy than the tackle. Saying he’s now surpassed Morelos as the biggest villain in Scottish football.
Twats trying to devalue him because the lost their star player for a sash and a bottle of Buckie
18-03-2022, 11:06 PM
The media obsession with Porteous is becoming a bit too far now.
19-03-2022, 12:38 AM
Sick football culture in this country. I love my team but it’s never going to change, is it? I wonder why I bother sometimes. Sad.
Yep.
Hannah_hfc
19-03-2022, 02:12 AM
I think it’s about time that we the fans had a song for Porto that was loud and clear every time Hibs are on the telly. At least to support him but also to annoy the Huns and media. I’m surprised we don’t have one (that I’ve heard). It’s the least Porto deserves after some of his performances this season.
The fact the West Coast media are desperate to take anything and twist it negatively against him should be viewed as a compliment to Ryan. He's got into their heads the same way Scott Brown did. The agenda is really so laughable but hoping Maloney can use it to create a siege mentality.
Says more about them that they'd rather try to hound out the best young defender in the country to pander to their brain-dead readership.
angus hibby
19-03-2022, 07:52 AM
Jambo ***** on A View From The Terrace chipping in again having Porto’s reaction to the Motherwell red being more newsworthy than the tackle. Saying he’s now surpassed Morelos as the biggest villain in Scottish football.
Twats trying to devalue him because the lost their star player for a sash and a bottle of Buckie
To be fair, most of them didn’t have a problem with what he did after the tackle on Doig. They said they enjoyed it.
angus hibby
19-03-2022, 07:59 AM
Bullying tactics by the media and needs called out by the club. Sure Jack Ross called it out earlier this season?
Ryan is a young man who hopefully is strong enough to deal with the agenda most of the country seem to have against him. I get that he may get flak by fans at games, but for a newspaper to contact an ex ref to seek an opinion on a celebration of a decision is beyond a joke. Every top team has players who are in refs faces after a bad tackle, then clap the red card. Ramos and Busquets have done it throughout their careers. I’m glad we have a few who are doing this now.
Mugabi getting off Scot free for a terrible tackle, and media seem to be more concerned about Ryan’s clenched fists celebration. Imagine if it had been other way about, guarantee media would be all over the tackle.
19-03-2022, 09:50 AM
Bullying tactics by the media and needs called out by the club. Sure Jack Ross called it out earlier this season?
Ryan is a young man who hopefully is strong enough to deal with the agenda most of the country seem to have against him. I get that he may get flak by fans at games, but for a newspaper to contact an ex ref to seek an opinion on a celebration of a decision is beyond a joke. Every top team has players who are in refs faces after a bad tackle, then clap the red card. Ramos and Busquets have done it throughout their careers. I’m glad we have a few who are doing this now.
Mugabi getting off Scot free for a terrible tackle, and media seem to be more concerned about Ryan’s clenched fists celebration. Imagine if it had been other way about, guarantee media would be all over the tackle.
Aye but that tackle was really early in the game so it doesn’t really count remember. On a serious note, that last paragraph is very, very true.
Mike Berry
19-03-2022, 10:11 AM
Beyond a joke now
https://www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/sport/football/ryan-porteous-pathetic-embarrassing-says-26504645Conroy's wiki page is interesting..... https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220319/c79673f0c7a088420b6aa4aed3b4af6a.jpg
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
19-03-2022, 10:42 AM
Conroy's wiki page is interesting..... https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220319/c79673f0c7a088420b6aa4aed3b4af6a.jpg
It’s amazing how many Hun opinions can get published…
19-03-2022, 10:48 AM
Conroy's wiki page is interesting..... https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220319/c79673f0c7a088420b6aa4aed3b4af6a.jpg
Just looked that one up.
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/16091669.amp
He’s right beside it, what a horrendous decision.
Mike Berry
19-03-2022, 10:53 AM
Just looked that one up.
He’s right beside it, what a horrendous decision.That's what they call an "honest mistake" isn't it?
19-03-2022, 12:18 PM
Just looked that one up.
He’s right beside it, what a horrendous decision.
:wtf: That is absolutely shocking - Conroy is clearly either an incompetent clown or a cheatingly corrupt hun sympathiser (although he claims to support Celtic) - or possibly a bit of both.
That any organ would contact this imbecile for an opinion speaks volumes for the poverty of their output.
Have reviewed the footage again and again and the most noteworthy aside I could see was the utterly apalled expressions on the faces of the Motherwell supporters adjacent to the incident in the stand - their jaws all dropping in unison at the brutality of the challenge. Ryan's reaction was totally understandable - he ran up, remonstrated briefly with the ref, checked on Josh and only then gave a quick fist pump as Magabe got the red card he deserved.
Conroy is an gormless buffoon - the game is well rid of him.
19-03-2022, 04:33 PM
Let us down badly today.
19-03-2022, 04:38 PM
He is still my fav player at Easter Rd, will remain so until he splits in the summer, it is a very long time since I seen so much vitriol aimed at a Hibs player, it may even be back in the days of John McNamee who also had to get out of Scotland for the same reasons, criminal the way that refs and the west coast media have stitched him up, and so may others have taken the bait as well.
19-03-2022, 04:40 PM
Let us down badly today.
Lazy criticism. Should he just have let the boy put the ball in the net?
Looked like an attempt to get the ball from where I was standing which would mean he shouldn’t have been sent off.
19-03-2022, 04:42 PM
Looked like an attempt to get the ball from where I was standing which would mean he shouldn’t have been sent off.
Unless he has taken a wild swipe or went in dangerously, he's been sent off for being Ryan Porteous.
Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2022, 04:42 PM
Yes, he should have.
He left us chasing the game with 10 men. I’d have much rather be chasing it with 11.
19-03-2022, 04:44 PM
Hibernian head coach Shaun Maloney:*"The game changed with two decisions. First [penalty decision] was wrong. It hits Rocky's knee before it hits his arm so the rules are that that shouldn't have been a penalty.
"Second one was the correct decision with the penalty but the wrong one to send him off. [Porteous] definitely takes the player trying to get the ball but if you make an attempt to get the ball then it's not a red card."
Wonder if we can/will appeal it
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
19-03-2022, 04:48 PM
Yes, he should have.
He left us chasing the game with 10 men. I’d have much rather be chasing it with 11.
Nonsense. No centre half in the world just stops and lets someone tap the ball in. He shouldn’t have been sent off, per the rules.
Hibernian head coach Shaun Maloney:*"The game changed with two decisions. First [penalty decision] was wrong. It hits Rocky's knee before it hits his arm so the rules are that that shouldn't have been a penalty.
"Second one was the correct decision with the penalty but the wrong one to send him off. [Porteous] definitely takes the player trying to get the ball but if you make an attempt to get the ball then it's not a red card."
You have to remember though the officials in Scottish football are a law unto themselves and will interpret the rules as they see fit!
Muir shouldn’t be officiating under 9’s let alone the SPFL
He's here!
19-03-2022, 04:51 PM
Yes, he should have.
It wasn't a red card offence. Hibs should be looking to appeal it, though Ryan's ill-deserved 'reputation' will count against him.
davhibby
19-03-2022, 04:56 PM
Let us down badly today.
Went for the ball so wasn’t a red. If we’d had 11 men we’d have been capable of getting a draw.
19-03-2022, 04:56 PM
I’ve seen he’ll be out for 3 games now if the red card stands. Will that include the Hampden game?
Stokesy's on fire
19-03-2022, 04:58 PM
Hopefully the club appeal it. Its never a red card.
cameronw-hfc
19-03-2022, 04:59 PM
Went for the ball so wasn’t a red. If we’d had 11 men we’d have been capable of getting a draw.
I disagree, it looked like a blatant trip and hope he gets away with it to me. I think the fact we have differing views shows it isn't quite as clear cut as people seem to think.
I personally think he tried to get away with one, and he's one of my favourite players but it was silly, and I can 100% understand the red
19-03-2022, 05:05 PM
If Ryans head matched his ability he'd have been gone long ago. Hes flawed its why hes still here.
19-03-2022, 05:28 PM
Remember this sending off comes from the same group of individuals who sent off Mugabe last week but didn’t send off Roberts for a challenge that I actually thought was more deserving of a red.
Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2022, 05:44 PM
Nonsense. No centre half in the world just stops and lets someone tap the ball in. He shouldn’t have been sent off, per the rules.
Do they not? I’ve seen plenty centre halves who will do that if someone is running through one-on-one for example.
If you can take them down outside the box and take a red then I get it. He was always getting a red for that tackle imo and Ferguson scores over 90% of his penalties. The risk/reward for that tackle was not anywhere close to being in our favour imo.
Stokesy's on fire
19-03-2022, 05:46 PM
Do they not? I’ve seen plenty centre halves who will do that if someone is running through one-on-one for example.
If you can take them down outside the box and take a red then I get it. He was always getting a red for that tackle imo and Ferguson scores over 90% of his penalties. The risk/reward for that tackle was not anywhere close to being in our favour imo.
Its not a red card though and thats why it will get appealed.
19-03-2022, 05:47 PM
If he made genuine attempt to get the ball, which I though he did, why would he always get sent off when the rules say he shouldn’t?
Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2022, 05:48 PM
If he made genuine attempt to get the ball, which I though he did, why would he always get sent off when the rules say he shouldn’t?
Because the ball wasn’t there to be won without wiping out the man. That imo isn’t a genuine attempt to get the ball.
19-03-2022, 05:51 PM
pedant alert :) I’m still hanging on to see if the asterisk is explained:)
19-03-2022, 05:57 PM
I think it’s about time that we the fans had a song for Porto that was loud and clear every time Hibs are on the telly. At least to support him but also to annoy the Huns and media. I’m surprised we don’t have one (that I’ve heard). It’s the least Porto deserves after some of his performances this season.
well Spurs son for Archibald might be worthy of a dust down…
“We’ll take good care of you Porteous, Porteous“
The dalmeny
19-03-2022, 06:17 PM
Found it myself
19-03-2022, 06:20 PM
I’ve seen he’ll be out for 3 games now if the red card stands. Will that include the Hampden game?
no, just league games as it wasn't violent
19-03-2022, 06:22 PM
id like to see the “attempt to get the ball” in black and white in the lawsI believe its written as unintentional foul
19-03-2022, 06:49 PM
Because the ball wasn’t there to be won without wiping out the man. That imo isn’t a genuine attempt to get the ball.
Just seen it back and he’s just trying to hook his leg round and win the ball.
Penalty is correct, red card isn’t.
Silky
19-03-2022, 06:50 PM
I believe its written as unintentional foul
I think it's this: Law 12:
Denying a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity
Where a player commits an offence against an opponent within their own penalty area which denies an opponent an obvious goal-scoring opportunity and the referee awards a penalty kick, the offender is cautioned if the offence was an attempt to play the ball; in all other circumstances (e.g. holding, pulling,
pushing, no possibility to play the ball etc.) the offending player must be sent off.
19-03-2022, 07:06 PM
Anyone repeating the Gerrard he's not learning patter should find a new club. Same as idiots calling us a boyband. Folk that are absolutely choking on us to fail.
Ryan is a very good player, been excellent for weeks.
Scotty Leither
19-03-2022, 07:11 PM
It doesn’t help Porteous that not one of his team mates challenges the guy that won the first header.
Due to being confined to barracks again,I watched that game on Alba without knowing the score.
Once their first penalty went in, I checked the score and wasn’t surprised that we seemed to lamely fold, and this apparent lack of spirit is really worrying.
19-03-2022, 07:12 PM
Anyone repeating the Gerrard he's not learning patter should find a new club. Same as idiots calling us a boyband. Folk that are absolutely choking on us to fail.
This. Close thread.
Stokesy's on fire
19-03-2022, 07:13 PM
I agree
Mr. Wonderful
19-03-2022, 07:19 PM
Regardless, we were asking for trouble through our inability to keep the ball and take pressure off ourselves. Absolutely ***** and not for the first time
19-03-2022, 07:32 PM
Definitely public enemy number 1 in Scotland at the moment.
Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2022, 07:44 PM
So you keep saying.
2 reds and a retrospective red this season would say completely different.
The tackle at Ibrox was needless, regardless of whether you thought it was a red or not. The Aberdeen challenge was ridiculous. The tackle today was needless - he was never winning the ball without wiping out the man.
That’s not a player that’s learning.
19-03-2022, 07:45 PM
Nae idea how he’s been given a red for that today. It’s a stonewall penalty but you can clearly see he’s went for the ball.
Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2022, 07:45 PM
Just seen it back and he’s just trying to hook his leg round and win the ball.
Penalty is correct, red card isn’t.
He can try all he wants. I could ‘try’ and win the ball from 20 feet away. It’s never going to happen though and as such it wouldn’t be classed as a genuine attempt to win the ball.
I hope his appeal is successful but I can’t see it. He was never getting there and he was directly behind the player. The ball wasn’t there to be one without wiping out the man.
19-03-2022, 07:46 PM
So you keep saying.
2 reds and a retrospective red this season would say completely different.
Guess he'd be the first good player to be sent off
Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2022, 07:48 PM
Guess he'd be the first good player to be sent off
Ah that’ll be that then. Good players have been sent off before as well so criticism of Ryan Porteous simply can’t be applied.
3 red cards/bans in one season and we’ve still potentially 10 games to go. That’s ridiculous.
19-03-2022, 07:51 PM
Ah that’ll be that then. Good players have been sent off before as well so criticism of Ryan Porteous simply can’t be applied.
Not at all. Just saying only a dunce wouldn't see his clear improvement as a player. He is absolutely learning.
19-03-2022, 07:52 PM
Are the big bad referees and press out to get Porteous or does he just keep making mistakes?
Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2022, 07:53 PM
Not at all. Just saying only a dunce wouldn't see his clear improvement as a player. He is absolutely learning.
I think you know fine well that nobody is suggesting that he’s not learning in any aspects of his game at all and that people are referring to his discipline.
Paulie Walnuts
19-03-2022, 07:57 PM
Are the big bad referees and press out to get Porteous or does he just keep making mistakes?
Stamps on Ramirez’ balls and we had people on here telling us it was Ramirez’ fault Porteous got banned because he posted it on Twitter.
Throws a plastic cup at a girl at a bar and people are blaming his pals.
Goes right through the back of someone in the middle of the box as there about to tap it into an empty net and it’s the referees fault.
It’s never Porteous’ fault according to some on here.
19-03-2022, 08:28 PM
Stamps on Ramirez’ balls and we had people on here telling us it was Ramirez’ fault Porteous got banned because he posted it on Twitter.
Goes right through the back of someone in the middle of the box as there about to tap it into an empty net and it’s the referees fault.
As with everything on Hibs net there’s a middle ground that seems to be totally ignored. It’s only natural that people want to find the best in their own players or managers. I can’t understand anything else.
But RP’s disciplinary record this season has not been good. He’s a terrific football player, but must improve in this regard. On and off the pitch now it would seem.
Stokesy's on fire
19-03-2022, 08:35 PM
Ramirez crying on twitter was pathetic and it showed him up for the loser that he is
19-03-2022, 09:19 PM
He can try all he wants. I could ‘try’ and win the ball from 20 feet away. It’s never going to happen though and as such it wouldn’t be classed as a genuine attempt to win the ball.
I hope his appeal is successful but I can’t see it. He was never getting there and he was directly behind the player. The ball wasn’t there to be one without wiping out the man.
So if the guy is running in on goal and Porteous “accidentally “ clicks his heels in the box , is that a red card or a booking?
19-03-2022, 09:35 PM
So if the guy is running in on goal and Porteous “accidentally “ clicks his heels in the box , is that a red card or a booking?
I THINK if deemed accidental it would be a booking. As in he’s not tried to wipe the boy out and is still making a genuine attempt to run back and win the ball.
20-03-2022, 01:12 AM
:agree: Porteous is a good player and the press treatment of him is shocking but I honestly cant think of a player that has been more overated by Hibs fans ever. His mistakes get glossed over whilst everyone looks to blame someone else. Really bizaarre.
20-03-2022, 03:39 AM
Completely agree with Maloney, I was screaming at the TV (in vain obviously) at the first penalty decision. Not only does it hit Rocky's knee first, it comes off another player in front of him!
And in Porto's case as clear a penalty as you'll see, but cannot believe he sent him off as well. Genuinely think it's only a red as it's Ryan making the challenge. Absolutely gutted for the boy and his only real option now is to get out of this league.
Not the thread for it but that's as bad a refereeing performance as I've seen in a long long time. How their third scorer is still on the pitch by then is anyone's guess.
20-03-2022, 06:07 AM
Having seen the highlights I’m finding it difficult to defend Porteous and the red card. Is it a clear attempt to play the ball if he has to go through the player to get to the ball?
20-03-2022, 06:22 AM
Having seen the highlights I’m finding it difficult to defend Porteous and the red card. Is it a clear attempt to play the ball if he has to go through the player to get to the ball?
The red won’t be overturned.
Watched it this morning, yes a genuine attempt to get the ball but he wipes out the Aberdeen player trying to get it. It's another rash tackle by Ryan who doesn't seem to learn from these, all that happened was we lose a goal and a player instead of just losing a goal.
Widhibs
20-03-2022, 06:33 AM
I think it's this: Law 12:
Denying a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity
Where a player commits an offence against an opponent within their own penalty area which denies an opponent an obvious goal-scoring opportunity and the referee awards a penalty kick, the offender is cautioned if the offence was an attempt to play the ball; in all other circumstances (e.g. holding, pulling,
pushing, no possibility to play the ball etc.) the offending player must be sent off.
They will claim there was "no possibility to play the ball"
Paulie Walnuts
20-03-2022, 06:34 AM
The red won’t be overturned.
No chance. Just watched it back on the YouTube highlights and he’s near enough directly behind the man when he makes the tackle. He’s got no chance of winning the ball without wiping out the man and it’s a blatant red card.
They will claim there was "no possibility to play the ball"
By going through the back of the player means there was no possibility to play the ball, a foul had to be committed before he touches the ball.
Paulie Walnuts
20-03-2022, 06:43 AM
Ramirez crying on twitter was pathetic and it showed him up for the loser that he is
Case in point.
20-03-2022, 06:50 AM
Watched it this morning, yes a genuine attempt to get the ball but he wipes out the Aberdeen player trying to get it. It's another rash tackle by Ryan who doesn't seem to learn from these, all that happened was we lose a goal and a player instead of just losing a goal.
I said this after the last sending off he had, all he’s doing is proving steven Gerrard right.
Stokesy's on fire
20-03-2022, 07:14 AM
I said this after the last sending off he had, all he’s doing is proving steven Gerrard right.
Whats going on is people like steve Conroy and the media are stirring it up before we play. That was never a red card and i'm glad Maloney plans to appeal it.
20-03-2022, 07:17 AM
It’s deffo a red. As others have said it was impossible for him to actually get to the ball from that side. He had to take out the player first. I don’t actually blame him trying it as the guy had an easy chance to score.
20-03-2022, 07:20 AM
Whats going on is people like steve Conroy and the media are stirring it up before we play. That was never a red card and i'm glad Maloney plans to appeal it.
What’s going on is that a talented youngster is being hounded in the media. There’s no doubt about that.
What’s also going on is that the player in question is doing nothing to help himself by doing things like that.
At 2-1 with 11 men on the pitch we have a decent chance of an equaliser. With Porto off the pitch we lose a man but we also lose one of our best ball players.
Paulie Walnuts
20-03-2022, 07:20 AM
I’ve no idea how to upload a picture but go and have a look at the highlights on YouTube and pause it at 2.54.
Porteous has absolutely no chance of getting to that ball without wiping out the man.
The Aberdeen player has his whole body between Porteous and the ball. The ball is dropping on the left of the Aberdeen players body and he’s going for it with his left foot. Porteous wipes him out using his right leg and going round the right side of the Aberdeen players body. He’s absolutely nowhere near the ball when he wipes the man out and unless he’s some sort of contortionist there wasn’t a chance in hell of him winning the ball cleanly. Therefore it’s not a genuine attempt at winning the ball.
20-03-2022, 08:27 AM
I would have made an attempt to go for the ball rather than stand and watch their player stroke it into an empty net.
20-03-2022, 08:40 AM
I’ve no idea how to upload a picture but go and have a look at the highlights on YouTube and pause it at 2.54.
Porteous has absolutely no chance of getting to that ball without wiping out the man.
The Aberdeen player has his whole body between Porteous and the ball. The ball is dropping on the left of the Aberdeen players body and he’s going for it with his left foot. Porteous wipes him out using his right leg and going round the right side of the Aberdeen players body. He’s absolutely nowhere near the ball when he wipes the man out and unless he’s some sort of contortionist there wasn’t a chance in hell of him winning the ball cleanly. Therefore it’s not a genuine attempt at winning the ball.
Is there anything in the laws of the game that talks about probability of getting the ball? Or does it just talk about making a genuine attempt to get it?
It is a genuine attempt, irrespective of how unlikely it was to reach it.
20-03-2022, 08:45 AM
Is there anything in the laws of the game that talks about probability of getting the ball? Or does it just talk about making a genuine attempt to get it?
DENYING A GOAL OR AN OBVIOUS GOAL-SCORING OPPORTUNITY
Where a player denies the opposing team a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity by a handball offence the player is sent off wherever the offence occurs.
Where a player commits an offence against an opponent within their own penalty area which denies an opponent an obvious goal-scoring opportunity and the referee awards a penalty kick, the offending player is cautioned if the offence was an attempt to play the ball; in all other circumstances (e.g. holding, pulling, pushing, no possibility to play the ball etc.) the offending player must be sent off.
A player, sent-off player, substitute or substituted player who enters the field of play without the required referee's permission and interferes with play or an opponent and denies the opposing team a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity is guilty of a sending-off offence
The following must be considered:
distance between the offence and the goal
general direction of the play
likelihood of keeping or gaining control of the ball
location and number of defenders
I think you’re clutching at straws on the mitigation front.
20-03-2022, 09:01 AM
[QUOTE=superfurryhibby;6897234]DENYING A GOAL OR AN OBVIOUS GOAL-SCORING OPPORTUNITY
Where a player denies the opposing team a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity by a handball offence the player is sent off wherever the offence occurs.
Where a player commits an offence against an opponent within their own penalty area which denies an opponent an obvious goal-scoring opportunity and the referee awards a penalty kick, the offending player is cautioned if the offence was an attempt to play the ball; in all other circumstances (e.g. holding, pulling, pushing, no possibility to play the ball etc.) the offending player must be sent off.
/QUOTE]
I have watched it back a few times and there is no possibility to play the ball without wiping his opponent out, given where the Aberdeen player is. That is what happened he wiped their player out and then got the ball. It is a pen and technically a red but I very much doubt any other player on the park sees red there. Fairly immaterial as even with 11 I doubt we would score and they would win the game. I have no issue with Ryan making the challenge, it was instinctive and he would see it was the only way to save a goal. I have issues with Josh Campbell running alongside his man for so long and for Rocky not even jumping for the cross. We are a complete mess just now and SM really needs to try and find a way to play that suits the players as they look completely lost at the moment. Yes, we don't concede many goals but that is because we have so many players back in our final third and rarely commit players forward.
He's here!
20-03-2022, 09:20 AM
I would have made an attempt to go for the ball rather than stand and watch their player stroke it into an empty net.
As any defender doing his job would do. I'm bemused thst some seem to think he should have just stood off and allow the guy to tap the ball home.
He's here!
20-03-2022, 09:22 AM
Gerrard's comments were not right at the time and are no more right now.
20-03-2022, 09:25 AM
The only people defending Porteous are Hibs fans. And a lot of them aren't. Speaks volumes.
20-03-2022, 10:11 AM
No chance. Just watched it back on the YouTube highlights and he’s near enough directly behind the man when he makes the tackle. He’s got no chance of winning the ball without wiping out the man and it’s a blatant red card.
Are you still at it! our manager says Hibs will be appealing the red card as it was not a sending off, it was a pen but not a sending off, what part of that do you not understand?
Maloney also saying that the clown that is A. Muir who reffed the game said to him he never seen the ball deflect twice before hitting Rocky's arm, he said as he never seen this he can only apologise.
20-03-2022, 10:35 AM
Me too
20-03-2022, 10:40 AM
Are you still at it! our manager says Hibs will be appealing the red card as it was not a sending off, it was a pen but not a sending off, what part of that do you not understand?
Maloney also saying that the clown that is A. Muir who reffed the game said to him he never seen the ball deflect twice before hitting Rocky's arm, he said as he never seen this he can only apologise.
I agreed with Maloney at the time but watching it again and reading the rules again, I think the ref probably got it right and we're not going to win that appeal.
Porteous was maybe right to have gone for it at the time, and I suspect his natural instincts were always going to be to go for it. Obviously though in hindsight 2-1 down after a tap in with 11 men and no looming suspensions would have been the better outcome.
Paulie Walnuts
20-03-2022, 11:01 AM
Am I not allowed to disagree with Maloney? :confused:
Or you of course, it would seem I’m not allowed to do that either.
Paulie Walnuts
20-03-2022, 11:03 AM
If you’ve no chance of getting the ball then I’d suggest it’s not a genuine attempt at getting the ball.
You could slide tackle from behind, 10 feet away and clip the players heels. You could say you were going for the ball, but you were never getting it and it would be a red card.
If it was a genuine attempt at getting the ball he wouldn’t have wiped the guy out on his right hand side, with his right leg, from behind whilst the ball was on the left hand side of the guys body. There was only one way that challenge was going when it was put in the way it was put in. I don’t see that as being as genuine attempt to win the ball and I don’t think it will be looked at as that upon appeal either.
18Craig75
20-03-2022, 11:05 AM
If only Campbell and then Rocky had made an attempt to get the ball.
20-03-2022, 11:05 AM
If you’ve no chance of getting the ball then I’d suggest it’s not a genuine attempt at getting the ball.
You could slide tackle from behind, 10 feet away and clip the players heels. You could say you were going for the ball, but you were never getting it and it would be a red card.
If it was a genuine attempt at getting the ball he wouldn’t have wiped the guy out on his right hand side, with his right leg, from behind whilst the ball was on the left hand side of the guys body.
You can make a genuine attempt to get the ball without it actually happening. The vast majority of fouls aren’t intentional, they’re just mistimed challenges. Just because you don’t get the ball, it doesn’t mean you weren’t trying to.
20-03-2022, 11:07 AM
Am I not allowed to disagree with Maloney? :confused:
Or you of course, it would seem I’m not allowed to do that either.
Disagree all you want I still think you are talking mince, dont take it personal, it is just my humble opinion same as yours, but different eh!
:brickwall
Paulie Walnuts
20-03-2022, 11:08 AM
You can make a genuine attempt to get the ball without it actually happening. The vast majority of fouls aren’t intentional, they’re just mistimed challenges. Just because you don’t get the ball, it doesn’t mean you weren’t trying to.
Of course. Mistiming a challenge is a completely different thing though to putting in a challenge that had a 0% chance of success. He couldn’t win the ball from where he was and the way he put in the challenge. It was physically impossible for him to get his right leg wrapped round the guy, from behind, all the way to the other side of his body and knock the ball away without wiping him out.
20-03-2022, 11:12 AM
Of course. Mistiming a challenge is a completely different thing though to putting in a challenge that had a 0% chance of success. He couldn’t win the ball from where he was and the way he put in the challenge. It was physically impossible for him to get his right leg wrapped round the guy, from behind, all the way to the other side of his body and knock the ball away without wiping him out.
He’s no really got time to stop and figure that all out at that point though, has he? He’s just tried to win the the ball, irrespective of how likely or unlikely that was.
Paulie Walnuts
20-03-2022, 11:14 AM
He’s no really got time to stop and figure that all out at that point though, has he? He’s just tried to win the the ball, irrespective of how likely or unlikely that was.
Whether he has the time to stop and think about it doesn’t change the fact it’s a red card though. You don’t get let off with things in football because you didn’t have adequate time to decide to do something else.
Superfurryhibby posted this elsewhere:
A player, sent-off player, substitute or substituted player who enters the field of play without the required referee's permission and interferes with play or an opponent and denies the opposing team a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity is guilty of a sending-off offence
Likelihood of Porteous gaining control of the ball without fouling the attacker with the tackle he put in was absolutely zero.
20-03-2022, 11:18 AM
Whether he has the time to stop and think about it doesn’t change the fact it’s a red card though. You don’t get let off with things in football because you didn’t have adequate time to decide to do something else.
Superfurryhibby posted this elsewhere:
Likelihood of Porteous gaining control of the ball without fouling the attacker with the tackle he put in was absolutely zero.
Give it a break man, go an have a lie doon, chill, read a book
:rules:
Paulie Walnuts
20-03-2022, 11:20 AM
Give it a break man, go an have a lie doon, chill, read a book
:rules:
No thanks.
20-03-2022, 11:22 AM
Darren mcgregor, 3-1 Scottish cup replay win. Not really much different.
Paulie Walnuts
20-03-2022, 11:26 AM
Darren mcgregor, 3-1 Scottish cup replay win. Not really much different.
You’re kidding yourself on if you think that tackle and Porteous’ tackle yesterday are similar.
20-03-2022, 11:39 AM
Gerrard's comments were not right at the time and are no more right now.
And yet the more this kind of thing happens the more correct they will become. They were inaccurate at the time, now? Not so much.
20-03-2022, 12:29 PM
And yet the more this kind of thing happens the more correct they will become. They were inaccurate at the time, now? Not so much.
Does this mean that Slippy G is the new mystic Meg.
20-03-2022, 12:33 PM
Does this mean that Slippy G is the new mystic Meg.
No. He’s still a prick 😂
20-03-2022, 01:18 PM
No. He’s still a prick 😂
Guid man, so he's a prick wi a crystal ball.
20-03-2022, 01:40 PM
Hibernian based social media everywhere is in uproar about the treatment this young man is receiving yet here we are on Hibs.net with a few piling in to him. Crap.
21-03-2022, 08:13 AM
So how many games does he miss if the appeal fails? Presuming the semi final is exempt?
Mike Berry
21-03-2022, 08:46 AM
It is quite ridiculous the hysteria surrounding a 22 year old footballer. Some folk are acting like his actions on the pitch are somehow worse than all the other players in Scotland who could be described as robust. Is he worse than Ryan Jack or Scott Arfield? Any worse than half the Motherwell team? Any worse than Lewis Ferguson? The to all of those is no. The list isn't endless, but it's quite long. As has been mentioned by others, I think he's a marked man and may have to leave Scotland to develop his career fully.
21-03-2022, 08:57 AM
So how many games does he miss if the appeal fails? Presuming the semi final is exempt?
Apparently its 4 games. I'm not certain though. I think it would be the next 4 games semi included no?
21-03-2022, 09:18 AM
Apparently its 4 games. I'm not certain though. I think it would be the next 4 games semi included no?
Not sure what the punishment is likely to be but given his record it will be a few 3 or 4 however pretty sure it would only be league games.
21-03-2022, 09:22 AM
Totally agree. He really had to make an attempt and suppose it could be argued he was trying to hook his leg to get the ball however the opposite view can be argued to with probably more chance of being successful. Does seem a very harsh punishment a red and a pen imo. Think we should appeal.
21-03-2022, 04:26 PM
It’s deffo a red. As others have said it was impossible for him to actually get to the ball from that side. He had to take out the player first. I don’t actually blame him trying it as the guy had an easy chance to score.
And yet he contacts the ball before the player, slow it one frame at a time.
21-03-2022, 06:54 PM
It will be a three game ban, all in the league.
He would only have been suspended for the semi final if his red card had been for violent conduct or serious foul play.
21-03-2022, 06:59 PM
He would only have been suspended for the semi final if his red card had been for violent conduct or serious foul play.
If the appeal fails is it not 4 games?
21-03-2022, 07:03 PM
https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1505930052306935812?s=20&t=gz8slQcQePpTOelS4wbjbw
21-03-2022, 07:17 PM
Really think Hibs should have let him serve a one match ban as per he will lose the appeal and be out for three league games .
Paulie Walnuts
21-03-2022, 07:25 PM
Jesus Christ, 3 games.
Maloney will have been here for 20 games by the time this suspension is up if the appeal is unsuccessful. Porteous will have been suspended for 6 of those games and one of them saw him sent off. That’s 7 matches impacted by Porteous’ red cards out of 20 Maloney will have taking charge of.
It’s really not anywhere near good enough and isn’t making Maloneys job any easier that’s for sure. Best player in the league outside the OF gets sold almost as soon as Maloney is in the door and his next best player is missing an outrageous amount of games.
21-03-2022, 07:26 PM
Hibernian based social media everywhere is in uproar about the treatment this young man is receiving yet here we are on Hibs.net with a few piling in to him. Crap.
Everywhere apart from the club itself it would seem
21-03-2022, 07:34 PM
No, 3.
21-03-2022, 07:43 PM
Really think Hibs should have let him serve a one match ban as per he will lose the appeal and be out for three league games .
It would have been three games whether they appealed or not because of his red card at Ibrox and the suspension he got after the Aberdeen game at ER for the Ramirez incident
21-03-2022, 08:10 PM
His red card on Saturday will carry a three match ban due to his poor disciplinary record this season.
It's not being increased because of the appeal.
The red card on its own carries a one match ban but he'll get two extra games due to this being his third red card offence of the season.
21-03-2022, 09:39 PM
Everywhere apart from the club itself it would seem
They have appealed the decision
21-03-2022, 09:40 PM
His red card on Saturday will carry a three match ban due to his poor disciplinary record this season.
It's not being increased because of the appeal.
The red card on its own carries a one match ban but he'll get two extra games due to this being his third red card offence of the season.
Seems very harsh for that incident to accumulate an extra two game ban imo.
Mr. Wonderful
21-03-2022, 09:59 PM
The question of whether an appeal will be successful or not depends entirely on personal opinion, it is a hard one to call and as its not a glaring error I doubt they'll overturn the refs decision.
What it isn't, is an example of "the laddie not learning" all defenders come a cropper to a last man challenge or two in their careers and, imo, some hibees should show a bit of loyalty and back a fellow hibee, who is suffering from a classic Scottish football witchunt.. All because it sells papers to huns.
21-03-2022, 10:05 PM
Three red cards this season for Porteous.
The first at Ibrox should have been overturned on appeal, because it was reckless at worst and not dangerous.
The second was his own fault, although Ramirez milking it and then whining on social media like a Lee Wallace wannabe didn't help.
The third should have been yellow at the time but the problem is that the panel will start with the presumption that the red was correct and that, as shown by the first appeal, is then very difficult to overturn.
john rossi
21-03-2022, 10:24 PM
Ryan Porteous is an idiot mentality wise, won’t mend is ways and as much as he can play a bit it is a liability to Hibs .
22-03-2022, 01:48 AM
Ryan Porteous is an idiot mentality wise, won’t mend is ways and as much as he can play a bit it is a liability to Hibs .
Load of *****
norhfc
22-03-2022, 04:34 AM
This all started with his run in,s with Morelos. He’s a Hun hate figure simple as that.
22-03-2022, 11:04 AM
Jesus Christ, 3 games.
Maloney will have been here for 20 games by the time this suspension is up if the appeal is unsuccessful. Porteous will have been suspended for 6 of those games and one of them saw him sent off. That’s 7 matches impacted by Porteous’ red cards out of 20 Maloney will have taking charge of.
It’s really not anywhere near good enough and isn’t making Maloneys job any easier that’s for sure. Best player in the league outside the OF gets sold almost as soon as Maloney is in the door and his next best player is missing an outrageous amount of games.
Man you are like a broken record, I really have to suspect your agenda with this mince you happen to spout all the time, just my humble opinion of course, give it a rest.
Billy McKirdy
22-03-2022, 11:45 AM
He’s a marked man, 2 out of his 3 cards should not have been reds.
How about we as a support get behind him instead of doing the medias job for them, he’s our best player by a mile.
22-03-2022, 11:49 AM
He’s a marked man, 2 out of his 3 cards should not have been reds.
How about we as a support get behind him instead of doing the medias job for them, he’s our best player by a mile.
:aok::top marks
Paulie Walnuts
22-03-2022, 11:51 AM
Man you are like a broken record, I really have to suspect your agenda with this mince you happen to spout all the time, just my humble opinion of course, give it a rest.
And yet you repeat the same thing every time I post and it’s usually about me rather than the topic in question.
Pot, kettle and all that.
Green forever
22-03-2022, 04:04 PM
Appealled
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/ryan-porteous-red-card-appealed-1
Tully
22-03-2022, 04:13 PM
Waste of time appealing according to that clown ex ref conroy mouthing in the paper again , 2 weeks running this clown has been mouthing about porteous, seems to me with all the comments from ex players etc we're wasting our time and money as he is guilty before the tribunal, trial by media and tv seems to be the norm for hibs players
22-03-2022, 04:25 PM
Waste of time appealing according to that clown ex ref conroy mouthing in the paper again , 2 weeks running this clown has been mouthing about porteous, seems to me with all the comments from ex players etc we're wasting our time and money as he is guilty before the tribunal, trial by media and tv seems to be the norm for hibs players
To be fair I think it is waste of time. If theres a real agenda against RP like everybody says there is then we've no chance.
22-03-2022, 04:45 PM
To be fair I think it is waste of time. If theres a real agenda against RP like everybody says there is then we've no chance.
There is an agenda against RP.
It started with the Huns.
22-03-2022, 04:49 PM
There is an agenda against RP.
It started with the Huns.
He will be out of it, by the summer then some on this forum will need to find another one to sharpen the pitch-forks against.
One of the best young players we have produced in many years, shame of Scottish Football a game full of bigots.
22-03-2022, 04:55 PM
Appealled
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/ryan-porteous-red-card-appealed-1
3 game ban confirmed by Hibs if we lose the appeal.
Paulie Walnuts
22-03-2022, 05:04 PM
3 game ban confirmed by Hibs if we lose the appeal.
Will only be back for 4 more league games this season. Far from ideal in a push for a European place.
Hopefully Hanlon can stay fit and McGinn can also get back soon.
22-03-2022, 05:08 PM
He will be out of it, by the summer then some on this forum will need to find another one to sharpen the pitch-forks against.
One of the best young players we have produced in many years, shame of Scottish Football a game full of bigots.
I don't want Hibs to lose him but Ryan will be much better off getting a move elsewhere, possibly even abroad. If he doesn't, that's fine by me as he's by far one of the best defenders in the country (stats don't lie).
22-03-2022, 05:19 PM
The absolute spew over the road is breathtaking,honestly I've never read such utter garbage in many a day. They will obviously target him to wind him up which is standard yam tactics. Absolute **** of the earth 😡
majorhibs
22-03-2022, 09:26 PM
Just hope the guys as sound as he’s seemed up to now. Personally rate him very highly. If he’s not one for engaging in the hysterics, like many posters, then he’ll get on wi the job, & whatever the decision, long as he doesnae give it drama Queen, he will decide 1 way or the other. Whatever, hopefully Ryan goes on fi here & progresses as before, & hopefully both the player & Hibs see the long term benefit. Without the hystrionics, predictable from many sources but well surprising from so many alleged Hibbys!
Meant to say long as Ryan isnae the drama queen so many “posters” are, cos we’ve had defenders wi far worse records, long as our #5s sound
Paulie Walnuts
23-03-2022, 05:57 AM
How long does an appeal usually take?
23-03-2022, 05:59 AM
Think I read it was being looked at today. Don't hold out much hope but do think he has an argument he was going for the ball
Orchard_Hibs
23-03-2022, 06:10 AM
Depends if it hibs probably about 2 hours, if it’s hearts or rangers then as long as it needs to be to ensure the player is available for the games they want.
Paulie Walnuts
23-03-2022, 06:19 AM
Think I read it was being looked at today. Don't hold out much hope but do think he has an argument he was going for the ball
23-03-2022, 07:25 AM
Yes it is today.
23-03-2022, 10:02 AM
i hadn't seen the foul until today, and tbh, it maybe could have been a yellow, but it's not exactly controversial sending someone off for that - it was a crowded, chaotic penalty area, but he absolutely went through the Aberdeen player (though trying to go for the ball). If the one at Ibrox was a red in the eyes of the SFA, then so was this IMO.
Stewboy
23-03-2022, 10:55 AM
Appeal rejected
ElginHibbie
23-03-2022, 10:57 AM
At least he'll be fresh for the Semi
23-03-2022, 10:59 AM
Appeal rejected
Four match ban. He’s missed some amount of games this season.
Paulie Walnuts
23-03-2022, 11:06 AM
I didn’t realise it would be increased if the appeal was unsuccesful.
I’m sorry, but that is sheer idiocy from Hibs appealing that. It was a clear red card. If there was no potential extra game then fair enough but getting an extra game added on when it was clearly a red card and had very little chance of being successful is a ridiculous decision.
23-03-2022, 11:06 AM
Four match ban. He’s missed some amount of games this season.
Shouldn't have received a red at Ibrox, Ramirez grassed on twitter and then this 4 game ban. Fuming.
Paulie Walnuts
23-03-2022, 11:07 AM
Shouldn't have received a red at Ibrox, Ramirez grassed on twitter and then this 4 game ban. Fuming.
Porteous only has himself to blame for the Ramirez one.
23-03-2022, 11:08 AM
Was never going to be overturned which made it silly us appealing it imo.
The rules might say as long as you make a genuine attempt for the ball and whilst he did he also swiped clean through McCrorie in order to do it.
If Goldson done that for rangers against us for example we’d be screaming for a red card and be in disbelief if it was overturned.
4 games is a huge loss especially when we already have loads of players out and are struggling for wins.
23-03-2022, 11:09 AM
Porteous only has himself to blame for the Ramirez one.
That's true.
23-03-2022, 11:11 AM
You see some of the things that have went unpunished in the last few weeks and then someone gets a four game ban for simply trying to stop the opposition scoring a goal.
Paulie Walnuts
23-03-2022, 11:12 AM
You see some of the things that have went unpunished in the last few weeks and then someone gets a four game ban for simply trying to stop the opposition scoring a goal.
The four game ban isn’t for doing that though.
The red card was for that and rightly so. The four game ban is because his previous disciplinary record is atrocious.
23-03-2022, 11:12 AM
I didn’t realise it would be increased if the appeal was unsuccesful.
I’m sorry, but that is sheer idiocy from Hibs appealing that. It was a clear red card. If there was no potential extra game then fair enough but getting an extra game added on when it was clearly a red card and had very little chance of being successful is a ridiculous decision.
Has it been increased didnt think they could do that. Son reminded me after Kent got sent off for punching Scott Brown they appealed so he could play a game lost the appeal and not increased. The difference between clearly punching someone and the other a tackle which we were double punished anyway pen and red being increased is imo nonsensical.
For which they got a pen and scored one anyway.
Hibs were never winning an appeal as panel are never going to show weakness and overturn unless it's to the Rangers or Celtic benefit.
23-03-2022, 11:13 AM
The rules might say as long as you make a genuine attempt for the ball and whilst he did he also swiped clean through McCrorie in order to do it.
If Goldson done that for rangers against us for example we’d be screaming for a red card and be in disbelief if it was overturned.
4 games is a huge loss especially when we already have loads of players out and are struggling for wins.
The difference of course being Goldson wouldn't have got a red.
23-03-2022, 11:14 AM
At least he'll be fresh for the Semi
Or will he?
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/60846091
JamesHFC
23-03-2022, 11:15 AM
Or will he?
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/60846091
Hibs official page said he will be available, surely they are more reliable than the BBC.
Orchard_Hibs
23-03-2022, 11:15 AM
Wrong team and player to use as an example, Goldson would get a booking and if by some miracle got sent off it would be overturned. How many reds should rangers and Celtic have seen that never get shown, and they seem to be the only teams to appeal successfully.
The game is rigged and Ryan is an example of what happens when you don’t fall in line. He is easily one of the best defenders in the league and would be starting for Scotland if he was at one of the Glasgow clubs.
Turkish Green
23-03-2022, 11:16 AM
Agreed. Appeal was never going to be granted. All it got was the suspension increased from 3 to 4 games.
ElginHibbie
23-03-2022, 11:16 AM
Hibs official page said he will be available, surely they are more reliable than the BBC.
Yeah I got my info from official page, but think they have been wrong before, so who knows. Sure it will be cleared up soon enough
Edit: And just after I post this BBC update there article https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/60846091
So be fine for Semi
23-03-2022, 11:17 AM
What’s the reason for increasing? Appeals get rejected all the time without that happening.
ElginHibbie
23-03-2022, 11:18 AM
What’s the reason for increasing? Appeals get rejected all the time without that happening.
A three match ban with another added in accordance with SFA JPP 13.21.8.2: "the claim had no prospect of success".
23-03-2022, 11:18 AM
A four game ban is an absolute scandal.
Scottish football is tin pot and a laughing stock.
23-03-2022, 11:19 AM
He's a massive loss when he's not in the team. Four games? Jeez. At least he'll be fresh for the semi!
23-03-2022, 11:19 AM
First two games after the split will be Hearts and Aberdeen, he'll be back for our third game (Rangers) so they can send him off again.