View Full Version : porteous charged by SFA
29-12-2021, 09:02 PM
That's it exactly. The dangerous tackles and afters aren't actually reality. Ryan had an excellent disciplinary record until Stevie G started his mind games. If people are so easily manipulated by Stevie G it makes me realise Alex Ferguson could have taken over the world.
There was afters in this instance though. It wasn’t anything to do with mind games.
29-12-2021, 09:02 PM
I’ll defend, and have defended, Porteous to the hilt when i feel it’s merited but this really isn’t a case of anyone being out to get him or some radge Gerrard-inspired conspiracy against him, he kicked a player in the baws.
The ref missed it, we benefited, and retrospective action was always going to follow.
Only one person to blame for the situation, and that’s Porteous.
29-12-2021, 09:03 PM
I’m not talking about his banter (although have no issue with it ) ..I’m talking about his competitive edge on the pitch. There is no comparison …Jain is an arse - Porto isn’t . some people are hammering Porto. I’ve no doubt he will learn and develop from this
Some people can't wait to put the boot into their own players.
29-12-2021, 09:07 PM
3 game ban is extreme. I take this is because of previous cards?
Yes. The minimum suspension he could have received was 2 matches but the extra match is due to his poor disciplinary record.
Rumble de Thump
29-12-2021, 09:07 PM
I’ll defend, and have defended, Porteous to the hilt when i feel it’s merited but this really isn’t a case of anyone being out to get him or some radge Gerrard-inspired conspiracy against him, he kicked a player in the baws.
The ref missed it, we benefited, and retrospective action was always going to follow.
Only one person to blame for the situation, and that’s Porteous.
I'm not sure why people keep talking about conspiracies. Ryan's actions haven't warranted his reputation.
29-12-2021, 09:13 PM
3 game ban is extreme. I take this is because of previous cards?
Alex Edwards once got banned for eight games for throwing a ball away. Porto can consider himself a lucky man:wink:
29-12-2021, 09:23 PM
Where conspiracies are mentioned - from my point of view, is regarding the inconsistencies of the decision making. The trial by social media and sport scene. They basically get to pick and choose which incidents to show and highlight and therefore gets media attention and then reported by CO.
Take last week, Dundee player terrible tackle on Kingsley of hearts. Not a well known player, nothing made of it online, therefore wasn’t done by the CO.
It’s no secret that if it was a ‘quieter’ player then it wouldn’t have been highlighted as much and therefore wouldn’t have been reviewed.
I don’t feel porteous deserved it but regardless, you can think he was silly while also highlighting the sheer daftness of the system we have up here.
Also now the fact that Aberdeen get punished twice for it, he played and scored in the game and now misses games against their rivals.
29-12-2021, 09:31 PM
3 games seems a bit excessive, but I can't claim to know the rules by the book.
This is entirely Ryan's doing, there really isn't any reasonable defence for it. Utterly needless.
29-12-2021, 09:47 PM
This is entirely Ryan's doing, there really isn't any reasonable defence for it. Utterly needless.
Think it’s because of his disciplinary record so far this season. Would usually be two.
That is one bit where I think we can feel hard done by, part of that disciplinary record consist of a red card that wasn’t a red card IMO.
29-12-2021, 10:03 PM
That's it exactly. The dangerous tackles and afters aren't actually reality. Ryan had an excellent disciplinary record until Stevie G started his mind games. If people are so easily manipulated by Stevie G it makes me realise Alex Ferguson could have taken over the world.
Aren’t actual reality? As in Porteous never makes dangerous tackles or gets involved in afters?
You’re on the wind-up and not genuinely this blinkered surely?
29-12-2021, 10:06 PM
He is unfortunately the kind of player who will be suspended during the season. He’s not suddenly going to change the way he plays at this point. What he’s getting suspended for is what many people like him for. 😂
I'm not sure why people keep talking about conspiracies. Ryan's actions haven't warranted his reputation.
You are Ryan and I claim my £10.
29-12-2021, 10:37 PM
He needs to stop the daft stuff but you can’t run a disciplinary system based on what’s highlighted and brought to attention on TV highlights shows. It means that players are only pulled up for indiscipline based on the editors on Sportscene or whatever. We all know that they can easily overlook what they want to. You either bring VAR in or leave it to the refs or it becomes completely random and unfair.
29-12-2021, 10:59 PM
excuse me ? what that called for aye ?
do one
Sent a PM as an apology
29-12-2021, 11:00 PM
3 games for that seems very harsh.
Fair enough if we were seeing such things being poured over every week across the league but there seems to be very little rhyme nor reason as to why cases are brought or not.
King Cosell
29-12-2021, 11:05 PM
Can’t believe people are whining about this? It’s a slam dunk suspension if I ever saw one. The blame here lies 100% with Ryan Porteous, not with Ramirez, the SFA, Sportscene, the SPFL, Steven Gerrard or anyone else you can think off.
The boy is a complete idiot. Cracking defender but one of those people who never seem to learn from their mistakes and keep repeating them.
"complete idiot" is a bit strong, but I agree with the rest.
29-12-2021, 11:29 PM
Fair enough if we were seeing such things being poured over every week across the league but there seems to be very little rhyme nor reason as to why cases are brought or not.
Assume three games is because of his persistent appearances before them this season and as he doesn’t seem to learning to curb his behaviour it merits increasing the punishment
30-12-2021, 05:23 AM
Wonder if Sean M will get rid. I would.
Slim Shady
30-12-2021, 05:30 AM
2 match suspension for Violent Conduct, 1 additional match for already receiving a red card in same competition this season.
30-12-2021, 06:41 AM
Have you blocked me? You've never mentinoed it :faf:
You do know he cant read that? :faf::faf::faf:
30-12-2021, 07:17 AM
A lot of the criticism he gets is OTT and I will be sorry to see him go but IF he is going, as seems increasingly likely, whether in Jan or in the summer, I am of a mind that there is now considerable merit in cashing in as soon as the window opens, not only to maximise the fee, but also to get a replacement in pronto so he has time to bed in and contribute to the three games in Jan that we would otherwise be short-handed for.
I also presume he'd be on a tightrope for yet another 3-4 match ban if he gets another red this season?
30-12-2021, 07:23 AM
Fully deserved and the fact Ryan was laughing and smiling after the incident is the worrying thing.
The fact is Ryan is not a boy anymore so will need to hurry up and learn about this silly things.
Anyone see Rüdiger's wild two footed lunge last night? Ryan would of been shot if that was him lol
30-12-2021, 07:44 AM
2 match suspension for Violent Conduct, 1 additional match for already receiving a red card in same competition this season.
Being that random red card at Ibrox?
30-12-2021, 07:51 AM
I sincerely hope not, he’s (imho) one of the top players in our squad at the moment.
30-12-2021, 07:53 AM
30-12-2021, 07:55 AM
Conceited arrogant Pantomath is the only fact I see here. :rolleyes::aok:
I had to Google that. :greengrin
Only see quoted posts like this on my phone, apart from that I have no idea why he replies to me. 🤣🤣
Your best CH is no use to you sitting in the stands 5-6 games a season because he does daft things, he needs to learn quickly.
30-12-2021, 08:22 AM
I had to Google that. :greengrin
I thought it was someone who owns an uncountably large number of trousers :agree:
What is this compliance officer? Is this a guy sitting in his house watching tv for things the ref has missed or is he/they at the games watching from the stands?
I have no argument about his ban, I do have a worry our games being influenced hugely by the country’s media which is driven by hyperbole for clicks likes retweets etc.
If it’s someone watching from the stands I don’t understand how long it take before the players are cited for a ban it’s almost as if they are sitting waiting on either the media highlighting or a social media witch-hunt starting before they act of any incidents.
Gives a fair amount of power to these ‘new age’ type pundits like Sutton and Boyd who don’t hide there bias and pass it off as ‘bants’ highlighting anything they find unfair for their favourites to benefit or use in the whataboutery wars further down the line
30-12-2021, 08:33 AM
Anyone see Rüdiger's wild two footed lunge last night? Ryan would of been shot if that was him lol
I did see that, and this was the first thing I thought of at the time as well. Porteous would have been shown a red for that up here.
30-12-2021, 08:39 AM
You do realise that Porteous admitted to violent conduct at the hearing and that violent conduct was why he was retrospectively disciplined?
My take on Porto is that he has the potential to become a very good footballer. At the moment he’s a bit of a liability. Any defender has a mistake in them, but with Porto it’s not a rare occurrence. He’s still pretty much likely to deliver a big mistake at any time. How many times has he cost the team this season ( between getting sent off, basic level poor marking, giving away a penalty or a whole pantomime of daft goals) ?
In addition, he’s been posturing like a daftie on and off the field ( that interview, cringeworthy) I have felt embarrassed for him with some of the antics.
He’s possibly played his last game for Hibs and for the sake of his career, mental health and the team, it’s probably best that he’s on his way. Bit of a shame, he’s got the potential to be a very good footballer, but as we all know, there’s much more to being successful than just ability.
He seems like a nice laddie, so I hope for him he screws the nut and is mentored into being the player he could be. He’s still got a lot to learn about the fundamentals of being a centre half.
£500.000 will probably be enough to see him go, cannot see anyone paying much more at this point.
30-12-2021, 08:48 AM
What is this compliance officer? Is this a guy sitting in his house watching tv for things the ref has missed or is he/they at the games watching from the stands?
I have no argument about his ban, I do have a worry our games being influenced hugely by the country’s media which is driven by hyperbole for clicks likes retweets etc.
If it’s someone watching from the stands I don’t understand how long it take before the players are cited for a ban it’s almost as if they are sitting waiting on either the media highlighting or a social media witch-hunt starting before they act of any incidents.
Gives a fair amount of power to these ‘new age’ type pundits like Sutton and Boyd who don’t hide there bias and pass it off as ‘bants’ highlighting anything they find unfair for their favourites to benefit or use in the whataboutery wars further down the line
A lot of truths in there :agree:
30-12-2021, 08:49 AM
100% this. The ref was right on the spot and thought nothing of it in fact gave a free kick to Hibs. Not sure if it was on the highlight. No notice of complaint. Ramirez posts it on twitter and the huns and Northern huns pile on.3 match ban. How many times have we seen other teams players get away with stuff? Still 100% believe that his red at ibrox wasn't a red and subsequent situations that have been similar in Scotland and England back that up. Ryan was sent off because of who we were playing, where we were playing them, who the ref was and the media frenzy about him whipped up by Gerrard
30-12-2021, 08:51 AM
In a nutshell this is how it works. They certainly don’t watch every game from the weekend so literally rely on sportscene or grasses. An incredibly outdated way of working it - and seriously unfair.
30-12-2021, 08:52 AM
You do realise that Porteous admitted to violent conduct at the hearing and that violent conduct was why he was retrospectively disciplined?
My take on Porto is that he has the potential to become a very good footballer. At the moment he’s a bit of a liability. Any defender has a mistake in them, but with Porto it’s not a rare occurrence. He’s still pretty much likely to deliver a big mistake at any time. How many times has he cost the team this season ( between getting sent off, basic level poor marking, giving away a penalty or a whole pantomime of daft goals) ?
In addition, he’s been posturing like a daftie on and off the field ( that interview, cringeworthy) I have felt embarrassed for him with some of the antics.
He’s possibly played his last game for Hibs and for the sake of his career, mental health and the team, it’s probably best that he’s on his way. Bit of a shame, he’s got the potential to be a very good footballer, but as we all know, there’s much more to being successful than just ability.
He seems like a nice laddie, so I hope for him he screws the nut and is mentored into being the player he could be. He’s still got a lot to learn about the fundamentals of being a centre half.
£500.000 will probably be enough to see him go, cannot see anyone paying much more at this point.
£500k for a player of such ability and potential will be a huge blow.
He might be rash and brash but Porto is still quality and I’m amazed that so many will so willingly see him on his way.
30-12-2021, 08:59 AM
£500k for a player of such ability and potential will be a huge blow.
He might be rash and brash but Porto is still quality and I’m amazed that so many will so willingly see him on his way.
I for one will be disappointed if/ when he goes. However, he is costing the team and if you step back from it all, he’s a bit of a liability.
Anyone who buys him knows he has talent, but they also know that he’s still lacking the basic qualities of an effective centre half. Porto is playing beside a very experienced partner and has an auld heid in MacGregor to help his development. He hasn’t progressed as I had hoped and despite the other attributes ( like pace, strength, good footballing skills) he has to get the basics right.
30-12-2021, 09:03 AM
I for one will be disappointed if/ when he goes. However, he is costing the team and if you step back from it all, he’s a bit of a liability.
Anyone who buys him knows he has talent, but they also know that he’s still lacking the basic qualities of an effective centre half. Porto is playing beside a very experienced partner and has an auld heid in MacGregor to help his development. He hasn’t progressed as I had hoped and despite the other attributes ( like pace, strength, good footballing skills) he has to get the basics right.
Lacking basic qualities ?? You’re having a laugh. He’s our best defender by far, and that includes his errors ….
He will be highly regarded and get a good move .
Ask Darren what he thinks of him - “leader” that’s what he would say ….
30-12-2021, 09:03 AM
Worth way more than 500k. He is rash at times and makes mistakes but he is one hell of a football player who will get better and better
30-12-2021, 09:05 AM
In a nutshell this is how it works. They certainly don’t watch every game from the weekend so literally rely on sportscene or grasses. An incredibly outdated way of working it - and seriously unfair.
Yep complete joke. Numerous occasions where things aren't highlighted. Aribo over the ball against Hearts nothing. Given the propensity for Hearts and Sheep in radio and tv the lack of fairness needs to be taken into account. Can remember Griffiths getting pulled up on a weekly basis when with us.
30-12-2021, 09:06 AM
Probably the only workable solution would be for the match referee to review the entire game and decide what should be referred to the panel. Even that would be subject to the incompetence of referees.
The current system of relying on broadcasters and pundits who are looking for something to talk about and playing favourites is even worse than allowing clubs to refer incidents themselves.
Any system though needs to be consistent, so must be able to compare like with like which would have seen either Lundstrom cited or Porteous' appeal upheld after the game at Ibrox.
30-12-2021, 09:07 AM
Thatsthejoke.jpeg
30-12-2021, 09:09 AM
Worth way more than 500k. He is rash at times and makes mistakes but he is one hell of a football player who will get better and better
He’ll be worth as much as anyone is willing to pay, and with him being in to his last year and a bit, I don’t think we’ll be getting to many offers significantly more than that. Reckon we’ll get a million tops for him now. For all the talk of how far he’ll go etc, I think the only serious bids have been from Milwall.
Not really attempting to talk him down, think he’ll be hard to replace, certainly for the way Maloney wants to play. I just don’t think he’s going to net us a multi million pound fee.
30-12-2021, 09:09 AM
Completely agree. Personally don't think there is much between Ryan and Souttar.
30-12-2021, 09:12 AM
He’ll be worth as much as anyone is willing to pay, and with him being in to his last year and a bit, I don’t think we’ll be getting to many offers significantly more than that. Reckon we’ll get a million tops for him now. For all the talk of how far he’ll go etc, I think the only serious bids have been from Milwall.
Not really attempting to talk him down, think he’ll be hard to replace, certainly for the way Maloney wants to play. I just don’t think he’s going to net us a multi million pound fee.
Yeah, I know how it works. I was saying he is worth way more than 500k, doesn't mean we will get way more. Players don't always go for what they are worth. See Maguire, Harry for one on the opposite end if that spectrum!!
30-12-2021, 09:12 AM
If you’ve watched Porteous over the years he has played and come to the conclusion that he ‘hasn’t progressed’ then I can only think you expected him to be a top top centre half by the age of 22.
He’s progressed ten fold already and will only continue to improve with experience, as all defenders do, who generally don’t peak until around 30.
30-12-2021, 09:16 AM
If you’ve watched Porteous over the years he has played and come to the conclusion that he ‘hasn’t progressed’ then I can only think you expected him to be a top top centre half by the age of 22.
He’s progressed ten fold already and will only continue to improve with experience, as all defenders do, who generally don’t peak until around 30.
Agree and think he will only get better under Shaun and Gary Caldwell however his contract position may mean he wants to leave and the club may think this is the time to cash in. Ideal for both imo would be an extension and he stays another season or so.
30-12-2021, 09:18 AM
While I agree that he is a top player I disagree that defenders peak at 30. I’d say that around 26 is closer to the mark.
Porteous will likely screw the nut once he leaves Hibs which will be a bit disrespectful but that’s life. I doubt we will get a top fee for him due to his issues unfortunately.
30-12-2021, 09:19 AM
So much wrong in one post its actually shocking
30-12-2021, 09:54 AM
I'm glad you're not the manager then.
30-12-2021, 09:58 AM
Lacking basic qualities ?? You’re having a laugh. He’s our best defender by far, and that includes his errors ….
He will be highly regarded and get a good move .
Ask Darren what he thinks of him - “leader” that’s what he would say ….
He’s not our best defender. That’s still Paul Hanlon.
30-12-2021, 10:15 AM
So much wrong in one post its actually shocking
That’s not very illuminating.
Let’s see your take then.
FWIW ( to the other silly but oredictable responses) At least bother to actuallyread and comprehend what I’m saying, it’s not that hard. I never said he hadn’t progressed. He’s just not as good as his natural talent should make him. If he’s not learning alongside Hanlon and McGregor, when will he learn. Is he going to wake up when 26 and think, aye time to screw the nut?
He won’t be at Hibs when he’s 26, so all I care about is now. He’s cost the team plenty, anyone who watches the game and takes of the green tinted specs can see it (costing the team includes sitting in the stand and missing games, that’ll be five by the time the current suspension runs out).
Porto should be looking at Souttar and thinking, I’m better than that. If he learned to behave, stopped making basic errors and just played the game, he would be a Scotland player by now. He hasn’t and he isn’t.
30-12-2021, 10:20 AM
:faf::top marks
30-12-2021, 10:24 AM
I'm not sure Hanlon is even our best defender named Paul!
30-12-2021, 10:24 AM
I think he'll be a big miss when he's gone. He's a big character and I don't think we have too many of them in the squad. He's also a very good player aside from his big personality.
I do think he's better than Hanlon (and has the potential to be considerably better) but PH is still a good player himself. I think you need guys like Hanlon who are good level Scottish League standard without being quite good enough to make the step to a higher level, it gives us consistency at the back when guys like Porteous move on.
30-12-2021, 10:28 AM
Even Paul disagrees with you on that one
30-12-2021, 10:55 AM
FWIW ( to the other silly but oredictable responses) At least bother to actuallyread and comprehend what I’m saying, it’s not that hard. I never said he hadn’t progressed. He’s just not as good as his natural talent should make him. If he’s not learning alongside Hanlon and McGregor, when will he learn. Is he going to wake up when 26 and think, aye time to screw the nut?
He won’t be at Hibs when he’s 26, so all I care about is now. He’s cost the team plenty, anyone who watches the game and takes of the green tinted specs can see it (costing the team includes sitting in the stand and missing games, that’ll be five by the time the current suspension runs out).
Porto should be looking at Souttar and thinking, I’m better than that. If he learned to behave, stopped making basic errors and just played the game, he would be a Scotland player by now. He hasn’t and he isn’t.
Souttar, who could easily have got a red for a reckless lunge against Dundee a week or so ago? Souttar who, from the Hearts fans I know, hasn’t been up to much recently?
To say that £500k would be enough to get Porteous is a joke. “Posturing like a daftie”, get a grip.
One of our best players…try supporting him.
30-12-2021, 11:36 AM
Souttar, who could easily have got a red for a reckless lunge against Dundee a week or so ago? Souttar who, from the Hearts fans I know, hasn’t been up to much recently?
To say that £500k would be enough to get Porteous is a joke. “Posturing like a daftie”, get a grip.
I think we might get a bit more than 500k but not a huge amount. I think a lot of people are going to be disappointed by the kind of figure we end up with for Porteous - if he’s sold.
30-12-2021, 11:38 AM
More well nuanced critical thinking.
Porto gets a lot of leeway on here, for reasons we understand but that doesn’t blind me to the obvious.
As for Souttar, who cares about a tackle he made or what you say your Hearts supporting mates say to you ( their views will be nothing to do with the feeling he’s betrayed the club by refusing a new contract of course) . Fact is that he is now playing for Scotland and will get a move to a decent Championship side.
Time will tell, but in my view, joke or not, Porto will be offski and the fee will be nothing like some are deluding themselves about.
30-12-2021, 11:41 AM
Even Paul disagrees with you on that one
No he doesn’t. But being a gent he will be happy for others to get the praise. 😂
30-12-2021, 11:44 AM
I reckon we’d get about £1m for Porto now. IF he had a better disciplinary record that would be much higher. But that’s his stumbling block and it’s not getting any better.
30-12-2021, 11:47 AM
More well nuanced critical thinking.
Porto gets a lot of leeway on here, for reasons we understand but that doesn’t blind me to the obvious.
As for Souttar, who cares about a tackle he made or what you say your Hearts supporting mates say to you ( their views will be nothing to do with the feeling he’s betrayed the club by refusing a new contract of course) . Fact is that he is now playing for Scotland and will get a move to a decent Championship side.
Time will tell, but in my view, joke or not, Porto will be offski and the fee will be nothing like some are deluding themselves about.
What’s with the opening sentences, your last two replies to folk who disagree with you, who are you? Susie from Dictionary Corner on Countdown.
LunasBoots
30-12-2021, 12:03 PM
Think Porteous is a young player still learning his trade and a cracking prospect still, i'm sure there are a lot of teams out there keeping a eye on him and would happily take him on and he'd end up being a star man elsewhere like a few others before.
30-12-2021, 12:04 PM
No he doesn’t. But being a gent he will be happy for others to get the praise. [emoji23]
Paul himself in relatively recent times said that Porto was already the natural leader in the team, the best defender at the club and a top player who will get a good move ….Daz, also at the table , agreed wholeheartedly with him …..
They couldn’t have talked more highly of him …
30-12-2021, 12:30 PM
I did read and its still a load of nonsense, of course he is learning and getting better and if you cant see that id suggest watching him a bit more as he is easily our best defender just now, if he wasnt as good as his natural talent should make him do you think he would be playing week in week out with other teams allegedly looking at him. He had a daft moment against aberdeen, the one against rangers for me still wasnt a red card and that's whats went against him this time regarding the length of the ban, the interview ypu mentioned was him having a laugh and joke, absolutely nothing wrong with it and id suggest you need to lighten up if that bothered you. And why should he look at souttar, he isnt as good as the media would make out and that comes from plenty hearts supporting friends
30-12-2021, 12:33 PM
What’s with the opening sentences, your last two replies to folk who disagree with you, who are you? Susie from Dictionary Corner on Countdown.
Would it assist you to engage with the discussion if I mixed up done and did or went and gone ?
He's here!
30-12-2021, 12:54 PM
Bemused by some of the hostility towards Porteous. Excellent young player who admitted to leaving a leg in and has picked up a ban. A minor deal made bigger by the fact he's been saddled with a 'reputation' by other managers plus the fact that with football shut down it's a slow news week.
I like the fact he plays with his heart on his sleeve, he's one of our few 'leaders' and a lifelong Hibs fan to boot. The sort of player you want to build a team around, not show the door.
30-12-2021, 01:03 PM
Would it assist you to engage with the discussion if I mixed up done and did or went and gone ?
Now you’ve went and gone and done did it haven’t you? :greengrin
30-12-2021, 01:50 PM
Bemused by some of the hostility towards Porteous. Excellent young player who admitted to leaving a leg in and has picked up a ban. A minor deal made bigger by the fact he's been saddled with a 'reputation' by other managers plus the fact that with football shut down it's a slow news week.
I like the fact he plays with his heart on his sleeve, he's one of our few 'leaders' and a lifelong Hibs fan to boot. The sort of player you want to build a team around, not show the door.
Unless he gets a grip he’ll be facing more suspensions. Referees will automatically consider he’s to blame in any incidents.
30-12-2021, 02:42 PM
Me too….people seem to want perfect creatures in the squad..it’s this competitive edge that allows him to dominate good opponents most weeks. He will occasionally go the wrong side of the line, but that will just come with his qualities.
30-12-2021, 02:46 PM
Me too….people seem to want perfect creatures in the squad..it’s this competitive edge that allows him to dominate good opponents most weeks. He will occasionally go the wrong side of the line, but that will just come with his qualities.
Exactly, he's still a bit of a hot head who has a little bit of red mist now and again, but give me that every day of the week, rather than a steady eddie with much less ability.
He will learn to curb it, even though something like this will probably happen again, but so what, its football not dominoes.
MKHIBEE
30-12-2021, 03:04 PM
It’s quite possible that SM will be able to enable Ryan to cut out the the various issues that are a downside to his game. I would keep him at ER until summer at least.
houstonhibbee
30-12-2021, 03:16 PM
Three match ban according to the EEN
twomgames for a red card offense and an additional game for having already
received a red card at ibrox
are they just making up the rules now?
30-12-2021, 03:21 PM
Exactly, he's still a bit of a hot head who has a little bit of red mist now and again, but give me that every day of the week, rather than a steady eddie with much less ability.
He will learn to curb it, even though something like this will probably happen again, but so what, its football not dominoes.
Spot on, but I don’t even think he is a hot head, I think he knew exactly what he was doing last week.
You can argue the rights or wrongs of it but at the end of the day I think he is the best centre half to come through our ranks in the past 10 years or so and the longer he stays the better.
Spot on, but I don’t even think he is a hot head, I think he knew exactly what he was doing last week.
You can argue the rights or wrongs of it but at the end of the day I think he is the best centre half to come through our ranks in the past 10 years or so and the longer he stays the better.
Up until this season I would have agreed that Ryan has the potential to be our best centre half since Big Daz or Rob Jones at their peak. But this season, instead of learning discipline and good judgement, he seems determined to become a big personality in his own eyes.
The smirk after slyly kicking a player in the balls isn’t the mark of a top defender, but a childish and cowardly action that has now cost his team big time. Certainly not the type of behaviour that will endear him to Steve Clarke when offering an opportunity in the Scotland squad.
I appreciate that he was furious when management refused a big-money move to England in the last window. I also sadly note that so far he has turned down an extended contract. His actions this term are those of a player who has taken his eye off the ball and yet still wants away. Daft interviews, poor disciplinary record, own goals, defensive lapses.
Message for Shaun Maloney - Can we please have my 2020 favourite player back - last season’s Ryan Porteous!!
30-12-2021, 04:51 PM
Up until this season I would have agreed that Ryan has the potential to be our best centre half since Big Daz or Rob Jones at their peak. But this season, instead of learning discipline and good judgement, he seems determined to become a big personality in his own eyes.
The smirk after slyly kicking a player in the balls isn’t the mark of a top defender, but a childish and cowardly action that has now cost his team big time. Certainly not the type of behaviour that will endear him to Steve Clarke when offering an opportunity in the Scotland squad.
I appreciate that he was furious when management refused a big-money move to England in the last window. I also sadly note that so far he has turned down an extended contract. His actions this term are those of a player who has taken his eye off the ball and yet still wants away. Daft interviews, poor disciplinary record, own goals, defensive lapses.
Message for Shaun Maloney - Can we please have my 2020 favourite player back - last season’s Ryan Porteous!!
There was no smirk, he was laughing and joking with Lewis Ferguson who are fairly pally due to spending time in Scotland squads together.
Last years Porteous was a far worse version of this seasons one, what a strange trade off that is.
30-12-2021, 05:08 PM
The whole extra game ban for having previously received a red card just seems like a case of double counting to me? We've previously punished you for something so now we'd like to make your punishment longer because of that?...
And that's not even accounting for the fact his previous red card was contentious
31-12-2021, 06:06 AM
Couldn't agree more
31-12-2021, 06:58 AM
Porto should be captain and we should be trying to build a team around him.
He loves Hibs, hates the Rangers and Hertz, plays every game like it’s his last, he’s committed, strong and can play a bit. The way he plays he will get in to situations with opposition players, he does need to box cleverer but unfortunately the narrative is already written for him by the bias media.
Can’t believe some on here want to curtail any of his passion and attributes.
31-12-2021, 09:34 AM
He loves Hibs, hates the Rangers and Hertz, plays every game like it’s his last, he’s committed, strong and can play a bit. The way he plays he will get in to situations with opposition players, he does need to box cleverer but unfortunately the narrative is already written for him by the bias media.
What about those who think he could and should be making more of those attributes and perhaps eliminating some of the deficits?
Maybe he could play with passion and commitment, but doesn’t need to play every game like it was his last?
After some if the hysterical reactions to a few home truths yesterday, I’m a bit reluctant to post my views on Porto, but then again why shouldn’t I.
He’s played well over a 100 games for Hibs. He’s young ( nearly 23) but he’s not a boy anymore.
He should be focussing on his game, trying to improve on basic defensive skills and making the most of the footballing talent he so clearly has.
As a few recognise, he will no doubt screw the nut and be the player he could be. My point was that it won’t benefit Hibs, because by then he”ll be away.
Skol1972
31-12-2021, 11:25 AM
If we count this as a red card, Hibs will have received 9 red cards this season. Two of these are Porteous and two McGregor (who we are told Porteous should be using as an example). 5 others have been sent off and McGinn is on a disciplinary hearing for comments made about the referee after a match. Boyle was sent off for swearing at the ref after a match.
So it's not just Porteous that is being stupid. Darren McGregor is rightly regarded as a Hibs hero mainly due to his uncompromising style of play but that comes with the risk of cards. Maybe Porteous could be a bit more clever sometimes but take the aggression out of his game and he will be a much poorer player.
31-12-2021, 11:41 AM
If we count this as a red card, Hibs will have received 9 red cards this season. Two of these are Porteous and two McGregor (who we are told Porteous should be using as an example). 5 others have been sent off and McGinn is on a disciplinary hearing for comments made about the referee after a match. Boyle was sent off for swearing at the ref after a match.
So it's not just Porteous that is being stupid. Darren McGregor is rightly regarded as a Hibs hero mainly due to his uncompromising style of play but that comes with the risk of cards. Maybe Porteous could be a bit more clever sometimes but take the aggression out of his game and he will be a much poorer player.
Boyle was every bit as stupid for his sending off. He’s still a quality player and hugely important to us.
Same applies. It’s not Porteous getting any special treatment or suffering from any “narrative” - but some react like you’ve just swore at their mother if you dare to say some (even most) of his sending offs are needless, daft and costing him as well as the team.
31-12-2021, 12:04 PM
Boyle was every bit as stupid for his sending off. He’s still a quality player and hugely important to us.
Same applies. It’s not Porteous getting any special treatment or suffering from any “narrative” - but some react like you’ve just swore at their mother if you dare to say some (even most) of his sending offs are needless, daft and costing him as well as the team.
He’s definitely given more support than most if not all other individuals in the squad.
31-12-2021, 12:54 PM
Why should he be captain?
02-01-2022, 05:11 AM
I'm glad you're not the manager then.
Me too. Would be worse if you were