View Full Version : Jason Cummings

GoalsMcGinley
21-12-2021, 07:27 AM
What a waste of a career. Been told he can leave Dundee in January following a breach of club protocols and turning up “unfit to train” the day before the hearts game.

He’ll be playing non league by the time he’s 30.

Auckland Hibs
21-12-2021, 07:30 AM
With Cummings turning up to training half cut, LG looking like he's about 4 stone overweight and Charlie Adam arrested for smashing his car drunk last week, they've not had a good few weeks at Dens Park.

Renfrew_Hibby
21-12-2021, 07:41 AM
With Cummings turning up to training half cut, LG looking like he's about 4 stone overweight and Charlie Adam arrested for smashing his car drunk last week, they've not had a good few weeks at Dens Park.

They will do well to stay up imo.

Auckland Hibs
21-12-2021, 07:46 AM
They will do well to stay up imo.

Wouldn't surprise me if all three are emptied in January - Mcpake desperately needs a result or two over Christmas or he'll also be gone.

21-12-2021, 07:48 AM
Cummings always had that Maverick streak about him, at least with us it seemed to come out on the pitch rather than off it.

21-12-2021, 07:52 AM

They all should be having a word with themselves particularly Adams given he was captain

21-12-2021, 07:54 AM
I think his constant problems since show how well Stubbs did to get so much out of him.

21-12-2021, 07:56 AM
I think his constant problems since show how well Stubbs did to get so much out of him.

Some people don't take to money and fame well. I get the impression with him he likes the "celebrity" lifestyle that goes with being a professional footballer rather than the game itself.

21-12-2021, 08:15 AM
What a waste of a career. Been told he can leave Dundee in January following a breach of club protocols and turning up “unfit to train” the day before the hearts game.

He’ll be playing non league by the time he’s 30.

I always had worries for him. Huge talent but there were so many areas of his game that needed to improve and I don't think they have. Still can't use his right foot, but more struggles to play back to goal and without a partner.

I was really surprised when Forest bought him as you rarely see strikers who need partners get big money moves and it was no surprise he was back up here within 6 months.

21-12-2021, 08:32 AM
JC is in a long line of Hibs strikers that should have had better careers, DR, GoC and Stokes to name a few. Shame it’s seems that they just can’t handle the professional side of being a player. But each of them were outstanding on their day

21-12-2021, 08:35 AM
Whilst he absolutely must take responsibility for his actions over the years, this is where agents are exposed for being only interested in money and not providing true support and guidance for their client.

Undoubted talents but both Leigh and Jason look like they’ve fallen out of love with the game. Very sad. Poorly advised, but both equally culpable for self destructing.

Loved both of them at Hibs, just very sad to see talent wasted. It’s a Scottish mentality thing though, as Deek said rightly, “big fish in small ponds” - maybe both would do well to both listen to him and also take a leaf out of his book and be the last to leave the training pitch each day and pour all their energies into squeezing the last precious bit of their careers out of them.

21-12-2021, 09:12 AM
Whilst he absolutely must take responsibility for his actions over the years, this is where agents are exposed for being only interested in money and not providing true support and guidance for their client.

Undoubted talents but both Leigh and Jason look like they’ve fallen out of love with the game. Very sad. Poorly advised, but both equally culpable for self destructing.

Loved both of them at Hibs, just very sad to see talent wasted. It’s a Scottish mentality thing though, as Deek said rightly, “big fish in small ponds” - maybe both would do well to both listen to him and also take a leaf out of his book and be the last to leave the training pitch each day and pour all their energies into squeezing the last precious bit of their careers out of them.

This is absolutely true. It's not something that stopped John McGinn, Andy Robertson, Kieran Tierney and more from stopping them though. Soon as a player thinks they've "made it" they're toast. None of the aforementioned stop grafting or improving.

21-12-2021, 09:13 AM
A real shame.

Sioux
21-12-2021, 09:27 AM
A real shame.

JC's behaved like a lost cause since he left Hibs, yet still people on here wanted him back, and criticised the club for not going down the 'make it happen Hibs' route.

Grade A waster.

21-12-2021, 09:43 AM
A real shame.

Only himself to blame

21-12-2021, 09:50 AM
This is absolutely true. It's not something that stopped John McGinn, Andy Robertson, Kieran Tierney and more from stopping them though. Soon as a player thinks they've "made it" they're toast. None of the aforementioned stop grafting or improving.

Spot on, and the man in your avatar photo would surely approve of your comments too

He's here!
21-12-2021, 09:51 AM

Griffiths, on his day, was a vastly superior player to Cummings IMHO - as were Riordan and O'Connor. They all probably had their most consistent spells at Hibs though and I'll always be grateful to Cummings for his part in our Scottish Cup win. The way he caught that header at Tynecastle just right...it was almost as though it was written in the stars. Nine times out of ten that would never have found the net. And to follow it up with the winner in the replay. He earns legendary status for those goals alone.

mcohibs
21-12-2021, 09:59 AM
A real shame.

Is it though? Maybe if he'd screwed the nut a bit he could have made a proper career for himself. Never understand how someone finds themselves lucky enough to be paid handsomely to play football then decides to piss it up the wall. Waste of talent but only himself to blame - same with Griffiths.

It's the culture of lauding these 'mavericks' that contributes to it though. In your mid to late twenties, prancing about on stage dressed as the joker and turning up hungover to training the next day is quite sad. Sure it will be seen as 'top patter' to some though

Steven79
21-12-2021, 10:01 AM
Is it though? Maybe if he'd screwed the nut a bit he could have made a proper career for himself. Never understand how someone finds themselves lucky enough to be paid handsomely to play football then decides to piss it up the wall. Waste of talent but only himself to blame - same with Griffiths.

It's the culture of lauding these 'mavericks' that contributes to it though. In your mid to late twenties, prancing about on stage dressed as the joker and turning up hungover to training the next day is quite sad. Sure it will be seen as 'top patter' to some though

He lost his way as soon as he left Easter Road.

Maybe food for thought to the next person that thinks about leaving Easter Road for greener grass elsewhere...

21-12-2021, 10:03 AM

That whole podcast is absolutely tragic. Started off really well but just a clown show now.

21-12-2021, 10:17 AM
JC's behaved like a lost cause since he left Hibs, yet still people on here wanted him back, and criticised the club for not going down the 'make it happen Hibs' route.

Grade A waster.

Cummings would be a good 3rd choice striker for us. I still stick by that. A firm hand to sort him out and get him confident and happy would see a decent player. He is daft, but hes done nothing that makes him a total lost cause (like texting 15 year old girls for example)

21-12-2021, 10:21 AM
Cummings would be a good 3rd choice striker for us. I still stick by that. A firm hand to sort him out and get him confident and happy would see a decent player. He is daft, but hes done nothing that makes him a total lost cause (like texting 15 year old girls for example)

Whilst ai agree he would score goals , Don’t think he’d be considered now . Has a few silly
Choices against himself in his history. Can’t imagine Maloney wanting that type of “maverick” in the dressing room.

21-12-2021, 10:22 AM

Sorry not for me, if we need a 3rd striker we have boyle after doidge and nisbet, boyle is a far superior player even though he isnt really a striker, so at best 4th choice striker and even then he has done nothing in the last few years to suggest he is even worthy of that

21-12-2021, 10:30 AM

Footballers receive a handsome wage and get opportunities that most people don't - it shouldn't take a firm hand to focus on turning up to training in a fit state to train, not taking the piss so publically and generally doing what they can to stay on top of their game.

Mindset is the biggest part of making a success or failure of anything and if you don't have that then you're not deserving of your place.

21-12-2021, 10:32 AM

Cummings left Hibs 4 and a half years ago and has done nothing since then which makes me think he could be a good addition to the squad.

Since then he's failed to hit double figures in any season and has spent most of that time in the third tier of English football.

He's now 26 years old and no longer a youngster, despite acting like one. He needs to grow up before becoming yet another footballer who wasted any potential they once had.

21-12-2021, 10:36 AM
I've always thought of Jason Cummings as 'Gary O'Connor Mark II', and he seems determined to follow in his footsteps.

21-12-2021, 10:39 AM
I've always thought of Jason Cummings as 'Gary O'Connor Mark II', and he seems determined to follow in his footsteps.

Off the field for sure - not on the field though . O’Connor had a decent career for a number of years

21-12-2021, 10:39 AM
There comes a point when players like Cummings have to want to help themselves.

He's had plenty opportunities to get his career back on track and a good season at Dundee would have seen the likes of us, Hearts and Aberdeen showing an interest. Turning up 'unfit to train' or 'half pished' as it is better known indicates someone who is done with professional football. He'll bag another couple of contracts at Championship level before falling out of the game by 30ish. Shame as he had the tools to work hard, improve and have a good career and chose not to.

I honestly believe some of these young lads have to be really ruthless when they make it. If that means dropping daft mates to remove temptations then so be it. Some might call it being a Billy big baws, I think it's more about being dedicated to being the best you can be.

21-12-2021, 10:41 AM
Weirdly I think that Simon Murray should be an example for a lot of footballers.

Absolutely dreadful player. Finishing was awful, first touch poor but my god did he work hard. Fit as a fiddle, never stopped running and didn't let missing a chance get him down. Got right back on the bandwagon and tried again. Earned a move from Arbroath to Dundee United to Hibs to a few years living life in South Africa. Probably earned some reasonable money doing that (and IIRC isn't he able to do plumbing or something like that too?).

Shame that a serious injury put pay to that somewhat but he made opportunities for himself that were entirely down to his attitude. Admirable.

21-12-2021, 10:42 AM
There comes a point when players like Cummings have to want to help themselves.

He's had plenty opportunities to get his career back on track and a good season at Dundee would have seen the likes of us, Hearts and Aberdeen showing an interest. Turning up 'unfit to train' or 'half pished' as it is better known indicates someone who is done with professional football. He'll bag another couple of contracts at Championship level before falling out of the game by 30ish. Shame as he had the tools to work hard, improve and have a good career and chose not to.

I honestly believe some of these young lads have to be really ruthless when they make it. If that means dropping daft mates to remove temptations then so be it. Some might call it being a Billy big baws, I think it's more about being dedicated to being the best you can be.

There was a reason our pink chums emptied Cummings at a young age, and a reason we emptied the young LG. Their age group coaches have been proven right about tgeir mentality which unfortunately is now supressing the talents they had.

21-12-2021, 10:43 AM
Cummings is a Scottish Championship level player. I'm not sure if he had that much talent to waste. Not at this level anyway.

21-12-2021, 10:44 AM
Sorry not for me, if we need a 3rd striker we have boyle after doidge and nisbet, boyle is a far superior player even though he isnt really a striker, so at best 4th choice striker and even then he has done nothing in the last few years to suggest he is even worthy of that

Then you lose Boyle from his best position or have to change formation.

I don't think we will sign Cummings, infact I'd say we definitely wont. But hes not a bad footballer.

21-12-2021, 10:49 AM
Off the field for sure - not on the field though . O’Connor had a decent career for a number of years

Yep, but they're going to both turn out the same way when their career ends; with little to no money and probably filled with regrets.

WestCoastHibby
21-12-2021, 10:51 AM
I’ve always seen him as a complete roaster. I knew a friend of his who’d been released aged 17 from Aberdeen. The other guy would have swapped places in a shot and hopefully not waste the several chances given.
And that news about Charlie Adam?? Unbelievable stupidity.
The only sympathy I have is for their manager

21-12-2021, 10:52 AM
Become a bit of a waster that laddie. He could have had a great career after leaving us but he was more interested in playing the class clown.

Posh Swanny
21-12-2021, 11:03 AM
I feel a bit for Jason after his time at Posh. He started really well and looked a class above League One playing alongside Matty Godden. The fans really took to him and he was clearly enjoying his football. Unfortunately for Jason, Posh signed Ivan Toney on deadline day and his game time was limited from then on. The TV-throwing video went viral soon after.

Other than wee flashes at Shrewsbury he's been on the downward slope ever since and I genuinely believe that Toney signing was a final sliding doors moment for Cummings. That said - character obviously plays a big part too. After signing Toney, Posh soon switched formation and Godden also found himself out of the team - he's now banging in goals at the top end of the Championship with Coventry...

Dan Sarf
21-12-2021, 11:10 AM
I feel a bit for Jason after his time at Posh. He started really well and looked a class above League One playing alongside Matty Godden. The fans really took to him and he was clearly enjoying his football. Unfortunately for Jason, Posh signed Ivan Toney on deadline day and his game time was limited from then on. The TV-throwing video went viral soon after.

Other than wee flashes at Shrewsbury he's been on the downward slope ever since and I genuinely believe that Toney signing was a final sliding doors moment for Cummings. That said - character obviously plays a big part too. After signing Toney, Posh soon switched formation and Godden also found himself out of the team - he's now banging in goals at the top end of the Championship with Coventry...

... and Ivan Toney is now banging them in for Brentford in the Premier League.

21-12-2021, 11:18 AM
Become a bit of a waster that laddie. He could have had a great career after leaving us but he was more interested in playing the class clown.
Completely agree with your sentiments, he will now need a very strong manager to keep him in line or he will have to drop down leagues where his antics will be tolerated!
But even a strong manager can only dictate when he's with the team, most of his antics are away from the football!!!

21-12-2021, 11:19 AM
The best players have real desire, Cummings falls well short of having any of that.

21-12-2021, 11:21 AM
The best players have real desire, Cummings falls well short of having any of that.

100 percent…likes the thought of being a footballer, more than the work that needs to come with it …

21-12-2021, 11:21 AM
JC is in a long line of Hibs strikers that should have had better careers, DR, GoC and Stokes to name a few. Shame it’s seems that they just can’t handle the professional side of being a player. But each of them were outstanding on their day

George Best?

Maybe not, think the damage was done long before he got to us sadly

Yorkshire HFC
21-12-2021, 11:23 AM
Completely agree with your sentiments, he will now need a very strong manager to keep him in line or he will have to drop down leagues where his antics will be tolerated!
But even a strong manager can only dictate when he's with the team, most of his antics are away from the football!!!

I find it hard to feel sorry for these guys - they've all had brilliant careers and done things that most of us will never do - I just think good on them.

If they have to spend the rest of their lives working in an office or on a building site - well, that's what the rest of us do - there's no shame in it.

They've got medals, caps and memories that they've earned - some of them have 2 years in the limelight, some have 20 years. I'd say good on them.

21-12-2021, 11:27 AM

Just confirms that he’s got the raw talent for a good career but lacks the dedication.

21-12-2021, 11:27 AM
I find it hard to feel sorry for these guys - they've all had brilliant careers and done things that most of us will never do - I just think good on them.

If they have to spend the rest of their lives working in an office or on a building site - well, that's what the rest of us do - there's no shame in it.

They've got medals, caps and memories that they've earned - some of them have 2 years in the limelight, some have 20 years. I'd say good on them.

These are often people whose only career up to this point has been football though. If you're looking to hire someone and having to rely on transferrable skills do you hire the person who has wasted their talent through poor attitude and making headlines for the wrong reasons?

I've worked with three ex Scottish top flight footballers now and each of them had the right attitude and they slotted in well.

Yorkshire HFC
21-12-2021, 11:35 AM
These are often people whose only career up to this point has been football though. If you're looking to hire someone and having to rely on transferrable skills do you hire the person who has wasted their talent through poor attitude and making headlines for the wrong reasons?

I've worked with three ex Scottish top flight footballers now and each of them had the right attitude and they slotted in well.

Rightly or wrongly, I'd have given up a lot of my career to have been able to be part of the 2016 team!

mal
21-12-2021, 11:40 AM

He's barely 3rd choice for Dundee, and now being emptied by them, having never had a sustained period of success at a decent level of football. This "good 3rd choice striker for us" stuff is pure fantasy.

21-12-2021, 11:48 AM
He's barely 3rd choice for Dundee, and now being emptied by them, having never had a sustained period of success at a decent level of football. This "good 3rd choice striker for us" stuff is pure fantasy.

I agree.

There seems little point in having a striker on the books who will never be good enough to fight for a starting place.

21-12-2021, 12:10 PM
Bring him hame Shaun.

21-12-2021, 12:11 PM
Some players such as Cummings G OC etc need to have a long hard look at themselves. You are in a profession where you have a short career. You see players with a lot less talent doing the hard work and looking after themselves and having good careers.

Absolutely no sympathy for these guys they know the score.

21-12-2021, 12:20 PM
Then you lose Boyle from his best position or have to change formation.

I don't think we will sign Cummings, infact I'd say we definitely wont. But hes not a bad footballer.

Not really a huge deal putting boyle up front as he has shown he is more than capable of playing up front, especially if we have a decent replacement to put out wide, he may not be a bad player but hasnt shown since he left us that he is actually that good either at the top level

21-12-2021, 12:25 PM
They all should be having a word with themselves particularly Adams given he was captain

Joe Newell was given our captaincy after his Drink Drive charge went through court. Footballers are like politicians, normal rules don't really apply

21-12-2021, 12:45 PM
Bring him hame Shaun.

I absolutely hope not. We can and must do better.

21-12-2021, 12:47 PM
I absolutely hope not. We can and must do better.

But, but he'll be loved by the fans...

Magpie
21-12-2021, 12:49 PM
Wouldn’t take him back, Hibs legend but he’s not a kid anymore and his professionalism reeks. He will end up at Cove Rangers or something.

21-12-2021, 12:49 PM
But, but he'll be loved by the fans...

Load of bollox eh, Hibernian fc is not a holding area for roasters who have wasted their careers. Ex player or not he's not good enough to play for us.

21-12-2021, 12:52 PM
Load of bollox eh, Hibernian fc is not a holding area for roasters who have wasted their careers. Ex player or not he's not good enough to play for us.

Damn, you corrected it before I could get in with an extremely funny numbers joke. :greengrin

21-12-2021, 12:54 PM
Damn, you corrected it before I could get in with an extremely funny numbers joke. :greengrin

21-12-2021, 01:00 PM
Load of bollox eh, Hibernian fc is not a holding area for roasters who have wasted their careers. Ex player or not he's not good enough to play for us.Well put.

There was a time where I'd like to have seen him back. That ship has now sailed.

Posh Swanny
21-12-2021, 01:52 PM
... and Ivan Toney is now banging them in for Brentford in the Premier League.

Aye - and he's fair racking up the sell-on £££s with every game and goal! Over £6m at the last count I think. If you believe Barry Fry, Posh will be outbidding Newcastle for players if Brentford stay up this season. :faf:

GRA
21-12-2021, 02:20 PM
Latest in a long list of Hibs strikers who, had they screwed the head on and fulfilled their potential, would be banging in the goals at a far higher level.

If the likes of Cummings, O'Connor and Riordan had the commitment and professionalism like Stevenson does they'd have gone on to have stellar careers for a lot longer than they had.

The likes of Stokes and Griffiths did to an extent but then fell away.

21-12-2021, 03:33 PM
Maverick, not really very bright individuals like Cummings and Griffiths, who stray off the rails or lose the plot in mid to late career, are really unlikely to work hard at salvaging anything to extend their playing future. I think both will continue to drift into obscurity in the next couple of seasons.

gazelle
21-12-2021, 03:43 PM
Wouldn’t take him back, Hibs legend but he’s not a kid anymore and his professionalism reeks. He will end up at Cove Rangers or something.

Wouldn't surprise me if st johnstone took a punt on
Him. They are struggling for goals and might be
Just what they need.

Bushwoof
21-12-2021, 03:44 PM
Or Morton more likely, once they get a new gaffer

21-12-2021, 03:50 PM
Or Morton more likely, once they get a new gaffer

Dougie Imrie was appointed as their new manager today.

rossevenil
21-12-2021, 04:16 PM
Would anybody else be surprised if someone like Yogi took a punt on him at Dunfermline? He seemed to get the best out of Stokes at Hibs,although were his problems still to really surface at that point? But regardless
some like him might just give him the rocket he needs??

21-12-2021, 04:17 PM
If Marvin Bartley gets the Ayr job then that wouldn't shock me if he ended up there.

Mrimbetween
21-12-2021, 06:00 PM
How many times can you go the well

For me, he's blowing it big time

Falkirk await or the likes

Hope JC 's has been good with his wages

21-12-2021, 06:04 PM
Maverick, not really very bright individuals like Cummings and Griffiths, who stray off the rails or lose the plot in mid to late career, are really unlikely to work hard at salvaging anything to extend their playing future. I think both will continue to drift into obscurity in the next couple of seasons.

Don't think you can really compare Griffiths and Cummings. LG is the record goalscorer in SPFL history, multiple title winner, player of the year winner, Scottish international ect. He might have went off the rails now but he's in his 30s and past his prime, Cummings is 26 and hasn't achieved a quarter of what Griffiths has.

Saint Hibee
21-12-2021, 06:05 PM
I don’t want him back, but I’ll always love him. In an age of “model” (read bland) professionals, Jason always put a small on my face with his bampottery. Who else could get sent off for slapping the ball into the goal?!?

21-12-2021, 06:08 PM
Has Cummings been that bad?

A couple of misdemeanours as far as I see it, it’s just the most recent one was very recent - and it has led to some pretty serious consequences at his current club.

He looks in reasonable shape and has time on his side (unlike Griffiths).

Obviously he needs to screw the nut a bit but he’s quite far from lost cause territory.

I thought he played well against us at the start of the season and if he’d been a Hibs player this season I suspect we’d be in a better position.

It would surprise me if he was Shaun Maloney’s cup of tea right enough.

22-12-2021, 07:33 AM

I think this hits the nail on the head. He's clearly got talent but see's himself as much as a comedian as a footballer. He'll still be a bit of a legend in my eyes for being a Scottish Cup winner and for his goals against Hearts and I really hope he screws the nut, time is running out for him though.

22-12-2021, 08:16 AM
Would have been better staying with us back in the day.
He was the hammer.

22-12-2021, 10:30 AM

A couple of misdemeanours as far as I see it, it’s just the most recent one was very recent - and it has led to some pretty serious consequences at his current club.

Obviously he needs to screw the nut a bit but he’s quite far from lost cause territory.

I thought he played well against us at the start of the season and if he’d been a Hibs player this season I suspect we’d be in a better position.

I think if he didn’t realise that with his career trajectory he was in anything but the last chance saloon.

He’s blown it.

22-12-2021, 10:34 AM
Some people don't take to money and fame well. I get the impression with him he likes the "celebrity" lifestyle that goes with being a professional footballer rather than the game itself.

But now earning pennies

LongJohnBanger
22-12-2021, 10:59 AM
I'm just here for the "he'd do a job at Hibs" post 😁

22-12-2021, 11:50 AM
I'm just here for the "he'd do a job at Hibs" post 😁

Yeah we need more staff for the kiosks 😁

22-12-2021, 12:00 PM
I think if he didn’t realise that with his career trajectory he was in anything but the last chance saloon.

He’s blown it.

All depends how you define success I suppose.

This is a guy who was on loan at Sevco and now battling for a starting place at one of the worst teams in the league.

If he’s after beer and chip money I’m sure another club will take him after Dundee. But, really, his career should be taking him upwards at his age, not down.

22-12-2021, 01:19 PM
The thing I don’t get with Cummings is he effectively got a second chance with us. Being dumped by hertz after his injury and turning things around here should have been his platform to shoot for the stars. I’m not sure what it would take to get him back on track but he’s rapidly approaching the last chance saloon now.

Yorkshire HFC
22-12-2021, 01:30 PM
The thing I don’t get with Cummings is he effectively got a second chance with us. Being dumped by hertz after his injury and turning things around here should have been his platform to shoot for the stars. I’m not sure what it would take to get him back on track but he’s rapidly approaching the last chance saloon now.

It's easy to judge them - noone knows what's going on in their lives / heads except them.

22-12-2021, 02:21 PM
Why is McPake making such a big deal with Cummings but been very quiet in regards Adam “charged with drink driving” and Griffiths “overweight and picking up injuries due to it mtl,

Is it a covid issue with him being at hydro or having a few drinks, I would think Cummings looks after himself fitness wise and the last thing you would be doing is chucking him out the squad, or is Cummings not McPakes best buddy.

loanheadhibby
22-12-2021, 02:43 PM
I think this hits the nail on the head. He's clearly got talent but see's himself as much as a comedian as a footballer. He'll still be a bit of a legend in my eyes for being a Scottish Cup winner and for his goals against Hearts and I really hope he screws the nut, time is running out for him though.
Scored 3-4 important goals for us but not really convinced he had much talent.
Championship player in my opinion and have my doubts he will screw the nut.
Time will tell but he's running out of chances.

22-12-2021, 02:54 PM
Scored 3-4 important goals for us but not really convinced he had much talent.
Championship player in my opinion and have my doubts he will screw the nut.
Time will tell but he's running out of chances.

Cummings scored about 50 important goals for us tbh. Promotion and cup runs massively helped by his goals.

22-12-2021, 02:55 PM
He could do a job for us

22-12-2021, 03:07 PM
Why is McPake making such a big deal with Cummings but been very quiet in regards Adam “charged with drink driving” and Griffiths “overweight and picking up injuries due to it mtl,

Is it a covid issue with him being at hydro or having a few drinks, I would think Cummings looks after himself fitness wise and the last thing you would be doing is chucking him out the squad, or is Cummings not McPakes best buddy.

I'm inclined to agree with you - and wonder if there might be more to the Cummings story, such as this not being an isolated incident?

Of the three players - Cummings is younger and appears to be in decent shape, although if he had been doing it on the park for Dundee then you'd expect him to be getting more of a game for a side that is struggling?

Adam is ageing and doesn't look in great shape - but by all accounts has been contributing in the football sense. And if Joe Newell can come back from his drink-driving escapades and captain Hibs shortly after, I don't know how strong an opinion any Hibs fan should hold about Adam getting the book thrown at him?

Griffiths is the one who looks to be in the biggest trouble there. He's miles off being the shape required to be a professional footballer and at his age time is most definitely not on his side. If he's not been contributing in the football sense (which by all accounts he's not) then he should really be in big trouble from a career point of view.

22-12-2021, 03:18 PM
I would genuinely sign him. Cummings with a point to prove worked a treat for us last time.

22-12-2021, 03:25 PM
Definitely take him back but he would be in the last chance saloon in his first spell he was a stick out at times he was capped and goal he scored for Notts Forest v Newcastle not doubting his ability

22-12-2021, 05:10 PM
I would genuinely sign him. Cummings with a point to prove worked a treat for us last time.
I’d sign him as well. The laddie has talent, he just needs the right manager to bring it out.

22-12-2021, 05:25 PM

He has a point to prove this season at Dundee, and yet he's regularly on the bench for a struggling side.

22-12-2021, 05:26 PM
I’d sign him as well. The laddie has talent, he just needs the right manager to bring it out.

I agree and coming back would probably do him the world of good. I reckon he would knuckle down and repay the faith.

22-12-2021, 05:29 PM
I think it would be pretty low risk and would not cost a fortune, We need some characters at Easter Road.

22-12-2021, 05:32 PM
I don’t want him back, but I’ll always love him. In an age of “model” (read bland) professionals, Jason always put a small on my face with his bampottery. Who else could get sent off for slapping the ball into the goal?!?

Or takes a travel plug when going to Wales lol

Saint Hibee
22-12-2021, 05:33 PM
I think it would be pretty low risk and would not cost a fortune, We need some characters at Easter Road.

This times ten. What could possibly go wrong?

LongJohnBanger
23-12-2021, 06:04 AM
He could do a job for us

Insert FattusPrickus' off Twitter's Simon Cowell gif here - wheeeeeeeey!

Crunchie
23-12-2021, 07:26 AM

When Lennon benched him for a number of games for not attending a club function I thought it was way ott, but I did think it would have the desired effect and make him screw the nut,sadly it didn't.

I don't think he's anywhere near good enough to be playing for a top flight Scottish club on ability, never mind his attitude to authority.

He'll court controversy wherever he goes and he's just not worth the hassle imo.

For all that he's a Hibernian great for the major part he played in us winning the cup and I wish him all the best.

mcohibs
23-12-2021, 07:59 AM
Jason Cummings has scored a grand total of FIVE goals in the Scottish Premiership his entire career. I admire the optimism of those suggesting he'd do a job for us trying to break into the top four. Wouldn't touch him with a barge pole.

WestCoastHibby
23-12-2021, 08:10 AM
We need players who have character; not ones that are caricatures.
The stupid joker tattoo for example; the guy has blown it several times but we all make mistakes. I’d love him to get his career on track before it’s too late but he can do that elsewhere. Not needed at Easter road.
Griffiths is a flawed genius; Cummings is just flawed

evy
23-12-2021, 08:14 AM
Jason Cummings has scored a grand total of FIVE goals in the Scottish Premiership his entire career. I admire the optimism of those suggesting he'd do a job for us trying to break into the top four. Wouldn't touch him with a barge pole.

This in spades. Think folk forget that what he did for us league-wise was in the championship and he has never proved himself in the top flight.

23-12-2021, 08:15 AM
Not good enough, not sure he ever was to be honest. His lack of professionalism is staggering. He has had plenty of opportunities at decent clubs but he just can't or won't get his act together we probably saw the best of him in his time at ER. Thanks for the memories but the last thing we need is a striker who doesn't score goals and doesn't work hard enough

23-12-2021, 06:15 PM
https://youtu.be/MZ1fWy6xaZI

6:30 for the Cummings bit. Guessing that was why he was at the Hydro for the gig as well!

Hero76
23-12-2021, 06:29 PM
Bring him back for the hertz games please

23-12-2021, 06:31 PM

6:30 for the Cummings bit. Guessing that was why he was at the Hydro for the gig as well!

FFS, just grow up ya dafty.

23-12-2021, 06:36 PM

Alright, never mind. I'd rather cut my balls off with a rusty spoon than see an idiot like that ever play for Hibs. Holy ****, utter cringe.

23-12-2021, 06:46 PM
Alright, never mind. I'd rather cut my balls off with a rusty spoon than see an idiot like that ever play for Hibs. Holy ****, utter cringe.
:agree: Jesus wtf was that all about ? He's meant to be a professional footballer. You canny even blame him for being a daft laddie anymore he's 26.

23-12-2021, 07:00 PM
FFS, just grow up ya dafty.

I can't imagine a worse table to be sat at.

Include any of history's monsters in there. None of them would have patter that annoying.

23-12-2021, 07:10 PM

That's a 26 year old

Lendo
23-12-2021, 07:17 PM

About as funny as AIDS

23-12-2021, 07:19 PM
He reminds me of a blonde version of Roman Roy from Succession.

23-12-2021, 07:24 PM
We hear words a lot nowadays in football like character ,resilience ,determination.
These qualities shone in our Cup Final win.
But they also shone in the ever memorable "10 minutes to go" game.
That directed looping header from Jason started probably one of our best ever comebacks .
The character, resilience and determination,from a group that would not give up.

A goal as important,in my view, as the semi final display from Conrad.

Oh..the drama that night ! Nail biting.

Then the goal from Jason that put them to the sword in the replay.

Maybe he shot off to England too early.
Maybe staying at ER would have benefited his game/ progress.
Who knows?
But bar the final,that night at tynie and team performance was something else.
I never tire watching the utube clips of that game.
And Jason had a major role in it..
Wish him well
(even though he did play for the zombies)

23-12-2021, 07:30 PM
Not good enough, not sure he ever was to be honest. His lack of professionalism is staggering. He has had plenty of opportunities at decent clubs but he just can't or won't get his act together we probably saw the best of him in his time at ER. Thanks for the memories but the last thing we need is a striker who doesn't score goals and doesn't work hard enough

Yup, I remember thinking that at the time.

He was never really a footballer. Did extremely well considering.

23-12-2021, 07:35 PM
The patter in that video isn’t my thing either… but we are all aware he was just acting to a script written for him in a wee Christmas version of that show?

And surely having a joker tattoo doesn’t mean he isn’t good enough at football? 😂😂

Having said that.. I’m in no rush to have him back at Hibs either. He definitely was good enough when he played for us though, was a brilliant goal scorer for us.

23-12-2021, 07:39 PM
The patter in that video isn’t my thing either… but we are all aware he was just acting to a script written for him in a wee Christmas version of that show?

Yep and it's probably going to be his next job given the way his career is going so not a bad audition.

23-12-2021, 07:42 PM
When Lennon benched him for a number of games for not attending a club function I thought it was way ott, but I did think it would have the desired effect and make him screw the nut,sadly it didn't.

I don't think he's anywhere near good enough to be playing for a top flight Scottish club on ability, never mind his attitude to authority.

He'll court controversy wherever he goes and he's just not worth the hassle imo.

For all that he's a Hibernian great for the major part he played in us winning the cup and I wish him all the best.

Was that what happened? I’m not sure I was ever aware of the club function part.

I always thought Lennon was being a bit of a d1ck (again) and trying to make a point when he kept leaving Cummings on the bench. Meanwhile persisting with Grant Holt whose goal scoring for us was on a par with the numbers being used to knock Cummings in this thread. (Yes I’m aware, I don’t know anything about football if I couldn’t appreciate what Holt did for the team)

23-12-2021, 08:11 PM
Anyone wanting him back need their heads read. Trying to create a culture at the club of professionalism and to sign someone like this if he wasn’t an ex Hibs player folk would be going mad. Draw a line (which should have been drawn ages ago) close the thread and move on 😉

23-12-2021, 08:11 PM
Yup, I remember thinking that at the time.

He was never really a footballer. Did extremely well considering.

Cummings scored 71 goals in 150 games for Hibs. He most certainly was a footballer. The idea he just scored tap ins is completely false. His game wasn't perfect but it was much better than folk on here are making out.

23-12-2021, 08:22 PM
Anyone wanting him back need their heads read. Trying to create a culture at the club of professionalism and to sign someone like this if he wasn’t an ex Hibs player folk would be going mad. Draw a line (which should have been drawn ages ago) close the thread and move on 😉

I’ve heard and read on here for years about us trying to create a culture. How long have we been creating it and surely every team prefers professionalism at their club?

I’m not saying we should sign Jason but was/is he really as bad as folk are making out? I think he trained pretty well by all accounts and always seemed in decent shape and sharp as a player. We’ve a couple of players in our current team that have been charged with drink driving, it’s been dealt with, we’ve moved on and they’re important first team players for us now.

What has Jason done that’s so bad that couldn’t be forgiven and would go against our professional culture?

23-12-2021, 08:31 PM
I’ve heard and read on here for years about us trying to create a culture. How long have we been creating it and surely every team prefers professionalism at their club?

I’m not saying we should sign Jason but was/is he really as bad as folk are making out? I think he trained pretty well by all accounts and always seemed in decent shape and sharp as a player. We’ve a couple of players in our current team that have been charged with drink driving, it’s been dealt with, we’ve moved on and they’re important first team players for us now.

What has Jason done that’s so bad that couldn’t be forgiven and would go against our professional culture?

He's pish and can't game for Dundee. Doidge got absolutely hammered for having a drink after cup final, no-one who criticised him for that can then say they want Cummings.

23-12-2021, 08:41 PM

Turning up half pished to training for a start? Defying club rules another? That’s 2 examples last week or so. Guys too interested in being a clown than a footballer, own and he can’t get a game for Dundee so why would we want him here?

23-12-2021, 08:44 PM
Turning up half pished to training for a start? Defying club rules another? That’s 2 examples last week or so. Guys too interested in being a clown than a footballer, own and he can’t get a game for Dundee so why would we want him here?

Again - I don’t want him here. I just wondered if we’re not being a bit over the top and judgemental re his behaviour. We’ve forgiven worse recently is all I was saying.

All academic anyhow as it won’t be happening.

23-12-2021, 08:56 PM
Cummings scored 71 goals in 150 games for Hibs. He most certainly was a footballer. The idea he just scored tap ins is completely false. His game wasn't perfect but it was much better than folk on here are making out.

I also thought he improved every year he was with us.

It's a shame he's either stalled or regressed although it was inevitable that it would happen at some point.

Your last sentence is absolutely spot on - imperfect but still very good.

23-12-2021, 09:02 PM
Cummings scored all kinds of great goals at Hibs, big goals tae. You can dislike him as a person/footballer but let’s not rewrite history.

Why is it that when some players leave they get remembered as far better than they were, but when someone who literally has a great record with us, and who played a massive part in us winning the Scottish, is rubbished?

Pretty ***** behaviour like.

23-12-2021, 09:05 PM
It was the wrong decision for him to leave Hibs in hindsight. He should have stayed and tried to grow into a Premiership player in an environment where he was considered a hero by many. Sometimes certain players just suit certain clubs. Would that have happened? Maybe, but I have my doubts. Seems to be too much nonsense in his head. It's all hypothetical now as that ship sailed a long time ago. He won't be considered anywhere near good enough for Hibs now.

23-12-2021, 09:13 PM
I enjoyed watching JC for hibs. Joker but scored lots of goals for Hibs.

Guessing not many would agree but I much preferred him to Kev Nisbet upfront. Ship gone now in terms of JC coming back to Hibs though.

23-12-2021, 09:22 PM
Cummings scored all kinds of great goals at Hibs, big goals tae. You can dislike him as a person/footballer but let’s not rewrite history.

Why is it that when some players leave they get remembered as far better than they were, but when someone who literally has a great record with us, and who played a massive part in us winning the Scottish, is rubbished?

👍

munchar
23-12-2021, 10:09 PM

100% mate. Hibs fans slating him here are a disgrace!!!
A top player for Hibs. A massive part of us all enjoying the best football day of our lives. He signed another deal with us with the agreement he’d move on if a suitable offer came in, thus making us money. He was obviously doing really well for Forest to come in for him. He moved for probably life changing money. Good luck to the lad. Whatever he has done since he left Hibs is irrelevant to any Hibs fan. He should ONLY be remembered for the great things he done for us.
#legend& hero

24-12-2021, 09:30 AM
It was the wrong decision for him to leave Hibs in hindsight. He should have stayed and tried to grow into a Premiership player in an environment where he was considered a hero by many. Sometimes certain players just suit certain clubs. Would that have happened? Maybe, but I have my doubts. Seems to be too much nonsense in his head. It's all hypothetical now as that ship sailed a long time ago. He won't be considered anywhere near good enough for Hibs now.

He was going to leave after the cup win but stayed for another season to get us up, he had the £500k release clause in it knowing it would be met by Forest, he chased the bucks rather than making himself a better player.

24-12-2021, 10:20 AM
He was going to leave after the cup win but stayed for another season to get us up, he had the £500k release clause in it knowing it would be met by Forest, he chased the bucks rather than making himself a better player.

He probably wasn’t going to get much better so did the right thing IMHO. Hopefully he’s been wise with the cash he made.

For Hibs - did a great job and probably always been a bit under appreciated.

MagicSwirlingShip
24-12-2021, 10:41 AM
Wish the laddie well in the future. Like it or not he’s a Hibs legend.

24-12-2021, 11:30 AM
Not keen on him coming back BUT I'm so grateful he was here when he was, huge part to play in our most historic day, I'll remember him long after some others and better players

24-12-2021, 11:33 AM
Wish him all the best and hope he can deal with his issues.
Loved a goal against them.

24-12-2021, 11:58 AM

I think the vast majority are saying it’s a waste of talent that he seems unwilling to act like a professional since he left Hibs. He was a great player for us..scored some crackers and contributed a lot. In the games he played against SPL clubs he absolutely showed he could play at the top level in Scotland..I can think of great goals against Hearts, Rangers and Aberdeen. Sadly since he left his mentality has been all wrong, but he will always be a cup winning legend in my eyes.

24-12-2021, 12:04 PM

And surely having a joker tattoo doesn’t mean he isn’t good enough at football? 😂😂

Having said that.. I’m in no rush to have him back at Hibs either. He definitely was good enough when he played for us though, was a brilliant goal scorer for us.

I dont think he's savvy enough to learn a script. :rolleyes:

24-12-2021, 12:31 PM
I know a lot of people dislike him etc and I’m not saying we should sign him again.

But if he had played the same amount of minutes for us this season as Nisbet I’m confident he would have scored more than 4 league goals

24-12-2021, 02:29 PM
I know a lot of people dislike him etc and I’m not saying we should sign him again.

But if he had played the same amount of minutes for us this season as Nisbet I’m confident he would have scored more than 4 league goals

He played 15 times for rangers in the league and only scored 2 goals so wouldnt be so sure

24-12-2021, 02:34 PM
He played 15 times for rangers in the league and only scored 2 goals so wouldnt be so sure

Played wide for Rangers though. I definitely belive he'd have scored more than Nisbet so far this season if they'd played the same amount of minutes.

hibbydog
24-12-2021, 04:13 PM
Not keen on him coming back BUT I'm so grateful he was here when he was, huge part to play in our most historic day, I'll remember him long after some others and better players

This is what I think.

Glad he was here. Glad he achieved what he did with us. He’ll be disappointed he hasn’t fulfilled the potential he showed whilst here.

No bad feelings from me. I don’t want him back but I wish him all the best.

24-12-2021, 05:27 PM
Jason's a decent lad who had bags of potential but unfortunately he's a bit of a bampot.

Bridge hibs
24-12-2021, 05:44 PM
Jason's a decent lad who had bags of potential but unfortunately he's a bit of a bampot.I love his crazyness, I liked him at hibs, kind of poacher we have been missing for a while, however, I think his crazyness is more at the forefront of his life rather than his football career and sadly its only downhill from here, shame

Hibiza
24-12-2021, 05:48 PM
Stick in Jason , wish you'd been or frontman for the lady year. Easy.

Hibiza
24-12-2021, 05:50 PM
Our and last , spelling error . Sorry Jase.

Bridge hibs
24-12-2021, 06:17 PM
Stick in Jason , wish you'd been or frontman for the lady year. Easy.🤣

24-12-2021, 09:24 PM

Of course, there’s no doubt about that.

He should be fondly remembered by all Hibs fans. I wish him well but that early potential hasn’t been fulfilled.

25-12-2021, 02:09 AM

Loved both of them at Hibs, just very sad to see talent wasted. It’s a Scottish mentality thing though, as Deek said rightly, “big fish in small ponds” - maybe both would do well to both listen to him and also take a leaf out of his book and be the last to leave the training pitch each day and pour all their energies into squeezing the last precious bit of their careers out of them.exactly my thoughts re- Young talented footballers. Especially t
some that recently played for Hi ernian. Derek Riordan was one of our best in recent years and could have been even better if better advised. Agents have a lot to answer for !!

25-12-2021, 02:27 AM

Sorry, I don't. The ones mentioned on this thread have virtually wasted many opportunities to make the top grade, or be known as great players

25-12-2021, 02:33 AM
But, but he'll be loved by the fans...barge pole comes to mind

25-12-2021, 05:43 AM
Nobody’s perfect and he still has all the tools to turn it around.
Just a change in attitude needed perhaps.
Wish him all the best.

25-12-2021, 05:50 AM
Wish him all the best.

25-12-2021, 06:12 AM
No thanks…total waster and too often the tale with talented young Scotsmen with ‘character’

25-12-2021, 06:41 AM
Wish him all the best.

25-12-2021, 07:18 AM
Wish him all the best.

25-12-2021, 09:18 AM
Wish him all the best.

Doesn't matter how often you say it :wink: but Cummings is missing the most important tool from his box, and that is the correct professional attitude to make the most of his talent.

He was a very promising player with us several years ago who had an opportunity down in England, but that missing tool has seen him blow his opportunity and end up sitting on the bench for Dundee when he should be in the prime of his career, earning serious money starting (and scoring) for a team in the top half of the English Championship. Instead he's warming the bench for Dundee.

In 2021/22 Cummings is a lesser player than Danny Mullen, and no-one is suggesting we sign him.

25-12-2021, 09:23 AM
Lol Santa should have brought me a new phone.

25-12-2021, 09:27 AM
Lol Santa should have brought me a new phone.

25-12-2021, 09:29 AM
Weird feeling he may end up at Kelty. Lots of money behind them. Just a hunch.

25-12-2021, 11:11 PM
Weird feeling he may end up at Kelty. Lots of money behind them. Just a hunch.

Would be some signing for them but surely he has to want better

08-05-2022, 03:55 PM
https://twitter.com/CCMariners/status/1522898220954755072?t=Cz54ookAXWL8hgNDE7R6IA&s=19

Not too shabby.

JamesHFC
08-05-2022, 03:58 PM
https://twitter.com/CCMariners/status/1522898220954755072?t=Cz54ookAXWL8hgNDE7R6IA&s=19

Not too shabby.

Seems like he’s enjoying his football there and got his head down. Good luck to him.

He's here!
08-05-2022, 03:59 PM

Not too shabby.

That's a cracker.

Bulked up or a little chubby?

08-05-2022, 04:04 PM
Goal out of nothing. Crying out now for that kind of guile and charisma up front.

Renfrew_Hibby
08-05-2022, 04:07 PM
Reminiscent of a goal he scored at the Dunbar end v the Rangers

08-05-2022, 04:25 PM
Would be some signing for them but surely he has to want better

I’d still take him back at Hibs, great option to have.

08-05-2022, 04:34 PM
Crying out for a bit of personality like that at the club

08-05-2022, 04:35 PM

Porteous?

08-05-2022, 04:39 PM

Need to have the ability to go with it. Championship level player.

08-05-2022, 04:44 PM

Gorebridge Hibb
08-05-2022, 04:45 PM

About to be called up for the Australia World Cup Play Offs squad. 10 goals in 20 appearances for Central Coast. They were in the bottom 2 when he joined and they’ve ended 5th and in the playoffs. We need a goalscorer and he scores goals. He’s never been fitter and tracks back and helps the team. Could be the 4th ex Hibs player in the Socceroos squad alongside MacLaren, Boyle and Irvine.

08-05-2022, 04:48 PM

Absolutely! Think he'd be brilliant for us. Looks to be thriving over there just now though. Pleased for him.

08-05-2022, 05:19 PM
About to be called up for the Australia World Cup Play Offs squad. 10 goals in 20 appearances for Central Coast. They were in the bottom 2 when he joined and they’ve ended 5th and in the playoffs. We need a goalscorer and he scores goals. He’s never been fitter and tracks back and helps the team. Could be the 4th ex Hibs player in the Socceroos squad alongside MacLaren, Boyle and Irvine.

Living a different lifestyle tho, in oz with his GF without the mates etc , prob having a massive impact

08-05-2022, 05:48 PM

He’s head and shoulders above our current fit strikers

08-05-2022, 05:49 PM
Porteous?

Yep Porteous is another one with the personality we need, we just need a lot more of it.

DIXIHIBS
08-05-2022, 05:52 PM

Rattled a few in against hertz so cant be that bad. Take him back right now. Need a bit more cheek about us.

He’s head and shoulders above our current fit strikers

So am I to be fair.

Should never have left

DIXIHIBS
08-05-2022, 06:03 PM
Should never have left

The way some clowns treated him up at dens i doubt he would come back even if we went for him.

08-05-2022, 06:10 PM
Porteous?
Be away soon

08-05-2022, 07:05 PM
Some hopeless romantics on this thread. A guy who was emptied from the team at the bottom of the pile and folk want him back? Crazy stuff.

Gorebridge Hibb
08-05-2022, 07:29 PM
Some hopeless romantics on this thread. A guy who was emptied from the team at the bottom of the pile and folk want him back? Crazy stuff.

He wasn’t emptied. Made a brilliant career choice. Making great money, playing really good football and could possibly be playing in the World Cup alongside Boyle etc. And living a great lifestyle in a beautiful country and unlike James McPake and Mark McGhee and Leigh Griffiths will still be in football for years to come. Dundee were a shambles and he is well shot of them. Don’t believe everything you read in the Record or the Sun. I’ve watched every game since he went to Oz and he,s got the top stats for all the strikers in the League. They could end up winning the play offs as they’re the form team just now

HibsIntl
08-05-2022, 07:37 PM
Living a different lifestyle tho, in oz with his GF without the mates etc , prob having a massive impact

Spot on. Combination of not having his daft mates on the same continent and maybe realising he’s on the bring of becoming a nobody. If the form continues I’d love him back but taking him from Dundee wouldn’t have worked.

08-05-2022, 07:38 PM
Rattled a few in against hertz so cant be that bad. Take him back right now. Need a bit more cheek about us.

I always thought he had more quality than he got credit for. All got overlooked a bit because of how he was. But he scored some brilliant goals for us and was capable of doing something out of nothing which nobody in the current team can do.

08-05-2022, 07:41 PM
I always thought he had more quality than he got credit for. All got overlooked a bit because of how he was. But he scored some brilliant goals for us and was capable of doing something out of nothing which nobody in the current team can do.

We've got 1 or 2 that can do nothing out of something though. 😮

08-05-2022, 09:22 PM
We've got 1 or 2 that can do nothing out of something though. 😮

Heehee :D

08-05-2022, 09:25 PM

Did not stop him scoring against clubs in league aboved us in cup ties.
Did no bad in robbies replay !
I thought he was a very good player with us in a squad that appeared to love being at Hibernian.
He might have acted the daftie in the dressing room,but he was a clever player with us, imo.
Knew where to be ,like good strikers do
Jimmy O' told me that.He liked Jason at Hibs !!

Mcbizz1998
08-05-2022, 09:36 PM
One of my favourite players. As others have said he has the kind of character we are crying out for, especially since Boyle’s departure.

Mcbizz1998
08-05-2022, 09:37 PM

Is he aye? He is better than any striker at the club and most in this league outside the old firm and hearts.

hibeg
08-05-2022, 10:28 PM

How can he be called up ? He was capped for Scotland

08-05-2022, 10:33 PM

only two friendlies

08-05-2022, 10:34 PM

Only capped in a friendly though so still eligble to switch.

hibeg
08-05-2022, 10:36 PM
only two friendlies

Does that matter :confused: He is a full international.

CL0762
08-05-2022, 10:41 PM
Does that matter :confused: He is a full international.

Nope, can change nationality as long as it wasn’t in a competitive game ie a qualifier or national league game now.

Also, can change if they have played in a competitive game but that happened before they turned 21.

hibeg
08-05-2022, 10:42 PM
Only capped in a friendly though so still eligble to switch.

Well that rule change passed me by 😂
That’s ridiculous. I can understand it I suppose for under age level, but once you have played a full international game for your country, that should be it IMO

08-05-2022, 11:04 PM
So am I to be fair.

Get your boots looked out for our last 2

09-05-2022, 05:53 AM
I have been watching jason very closely since he came out here..in fact every match he has played in.

His goal against Newcastle was a cracker, and he has built up a bit of a cult following.

He seems to have matured both as a player and as a person since he was at Hibs.

The Jason I remember at HIbs was a prolific goal scorer but did not do much else.

He still can't tackle for peanuts, but he has threaded through a couple of Allan like balls as well as hit the back of the net...and he his name is pretty high in his club's ássist' column.

His first touch is excellent and when being fed in midfield moves the ball a lot quicker and accurately than what I remember him doing before.

He's enjoying his football out here, and from what I hear, the lifestyle too.

He is almost certain to get a call up to the Socceroos in June, joining Boyle,Irvine and MacLaren and making it a total of four ex HIbs players in the squad....in fact he may even replace Maclaren

He has another year to run on his contract and if he repeats his form next season, will undoubtedly be hunted by one of the big city teams (no local transfers in the A League) then.

He seems as happy as Larry where he is, and it wouldn't surprise me if he stays with the Mariners and settles here permanently.

Gorebridge Hibb
09-05-2022, 05:59 AM
I have been watching jason very closely since he came out here..in fact every match he has played in.

His goal against Newcastle was a cracker, and he has built up a bit of a cult following.

The Jason I remember at HIbs was a prolific goal scorer but did not do much else.

He still can't tackle for peanuts, but he has threaded through a couple of Allan like balls as well as hit the back of the net...and he his name is pretty high in his club's ássist' column.

His first touch is excellent and when being fed in midfield moves the ball a lot quicker and accurately than what I remember him doing before.

He is almost certain to get a call up to the Socceroos in June, joining Boyle,Irvine and MacLaren and making it a total of four ex HIbs players in the squad....in fact he may even replace Maclaren

He has another year to run on his contract and if he repeats his form next season, will undoubtedly be hunted by one of the big city teams (no local transfers in the A League) then.

He seems as happy as Larry where he is, and it wouldn't surprise me if he stays with the Mariners and settles here permanently.

Spot on. He’s loving life and football just now. Can’t see him coming back to Scotland anytime soon. Him and Boyle together could be a great combination for Australia in the World Cup playoffs in Qatar in June.

09-05-2022, 06:30 AM
How does he qualify to play for Australia?

Has he got an Aussie granny or something?

Paulie Walnuts
09-05-2022, 06:32 AM
Glad to hear he’s doing well.

Always thought he was under appreciated here. Much better player than he was often given credit for imo.

09-05-2022, 06:38 AM

Might be wrong but sure I read somewhere his mum is Australian

Gorebridge Hibb
09-05-2022, 06:39 AM

His Mum was born in Australia.

09-05-2022, 07:02 AM
He's crap

09-05-2022, 07:06 AM
His Mum was born in Australia.

Melbourne to be precise.🇦🇺

Gorebridge Hibb
09-05-2022, 07:22 AM
He's crap

Have you seen him play recently? 10 goals since he joined his club in January plus loads of assists. If any of our strikers had scored 10 goals since January we might have made the top 6.

DIXIHIBS
09-05-2022, 07:41 AM
Have you seen him play recently? 10 goals since he joined his club in January plus loads of assists. If any of our strikers had scored 10 goals since January we might have made the top 6.

If any of our strikers scored 2 goals since january we would have made top 6😁😁

Paulie Walnuts
09-05-2022, 07:42 AM

We’d probably be home and hosed for 4th place and Europe if we had that!

09-05-2022, 07:56 AM

Thanks for the update, glad to hear he's doing well. What is the standard of football like in the A League? How would it compare with Scotland?

Paulie Walnuts
09-05-2022, 08:30 AM
Thanks for the update, glad to hear he's doing well. What is the standard of football like in the A League? How would it compare with Scotland?

I’ve not seen all that much but the games I have watched look like they’d be starting to verge towards the standard of part time teams here, sort of bottom end Scottish Championship/top end League One.

I may have just happened to watch poor games/teams though.

09-05-2022, 09:02 AM
Is he aye? He is better than any striker at the club and most in this league outside the old firm and hearts.

Why couldn't he get a game for Dundee then?

09-05-2022, 09:07 AM

Heads full of nonsense.

09-05-2022, 09:29 AM

How do you mean no local transfers?

Gorebridge Hibb
09-05-2022, 10:28 AM
Heads full of nonsense.

Because McPake preferred to start with Griffiths etc.

09-05-2022, 11:17 AM

Differing opinions.

Let’s just say the fans in Scotland and Australia are probably too critical of each other’s leagues.

09-05-2022, 11:24 AM
How do you mean no local transfers?

No club to club transfers in the A League

They hope to introduce them next season.

09-05-2022, 02:27 PM
He's crap

I wouldn't describe anyone who scored 5 Hibs goals in 6 unbeaten derby appearances against Hearts crap.

cannastar
09-05-2022, 08:03 PM
great to see a scottish cup legend doing well i think sometimes we are too quick to damn players for moving on. wish him every continued success down under. maybe taken a long time to mature but best of luck to him contributed to giving me one of the best days of my life at hampden and maybe something ill never see again in my lifetime. thank you jason and all your teamates that day it will never be forgotten. sunshine on leith with tears in my eyes and a lump in my throat still gets me now.

09-05-2022, 08:15 PM
I posted a while back that sometimes young lads in football have to be ruthless when it comes to deciding who is and isn't good for their career. Not Billy big baws but making sure there aren't distractions.

Jason Cummings and his mates were well known about Edinburgh. Not bad lads as such but just daft and a pest and I'm not sure it's conductive to being a good professional. Going to the other side of the world might be a bit extreme but it seems to have worked wonders for JC. He looks happy, he's playing well and it looks like the rewards are coming his way.

Delighted for him. He had a bit of swagger about him and scored a shed load of important goals for us.

10-05-2022, 08:21 AM
Check this interview with JC, bags of personality as always 😂

https://youtu.be/9KyDnwInZFY

Where’s ma champagne?!

Paulie Walnuts
10-05-2022, 08:29 AM

Where’s ma champagne?!

What a guy. How we could do with players with his personality now.

10-05-2022, 08:34 AM

He had a very good game for Dundee against us up at Dens at the start of the season.

Cummings is a player I wish nothing but the very best for. His personality and ability were massively influential in helping drag us back up from a low ebb.

I’m delighted it’s working out for him in Australia.

10-05-2022, 08:35 AM

Where’s ma champagne?!

Brilliant. He seems to be loving it and playing well so good on him.

10-05-2022, 08:37 AM

Where’s ma champagne?!

Brilliant

Lovin the Donald Trump barnet

There’s only one Cumdog

15-05-2022, 06:28 AM
Playing live now on BT sport

15-05-2022, 06:34 AM

15-05-2022, 07:33 AM

Goal ruled out for offside.

His team losing 2-1 with 20 mins left.

15-05-2022, 08:16 AM
Adelaide United 3 v 1 CCM FT

20-05-2022, 11:16 AM
In the all star squad to face Barcelona.

Scotty Leither
20-05-2022, 11:54 AM
Cheered me up watching that…

Still daft as a brush, we really miss somebody like you around the place, Jase.

They probably should have had subtitles on that interview too!