View Full Version : Smokers at half time in toilets.

20-12-2021, 09:33 AM
****** you

20-12-2021, 09:40 AM
It really is ridiculous.

20-12-2021, 09:46 AM
My little on is 3 and that nonsense just puts me off taking them to games of that magnitude. I struggled to get a breath in the semi after going at half time. Selfish every single of you who done it

20-12-2021, 09:47 AM
The authorities are aware it goes on and are obviously happy to let it happen. It was really bad yesterday.

My mate actually asked one of the stewards if he could go outside for a smoke and the reply was just go in the toilets thats what everyone else is doing.

Hibs3-2
20-12-2021, 09:48 AM
Yesterday was the worst its ever been

glenberviehibee
20-12-2021, 09:57 AM
I was in South Upper and people were smoking blatantly in the kiosks area to which the stewards just ignored

20-12-2021, 10:01 AM
The exit doors/gate should be open for smokers at half time.
Makes sense from a stewarding point of view to prevent any aggro in lavvies.
I used to smoke and also disliked going into a fog in the lavvies.

Has ER recently stopped smokers going out at half time?
I used to go out at half time from the West Lower.
But not been to ER since covid came along.

Hibby soldier
20-12-2021, 10:09 AM
We got bigger probs than worrying about smoking ffs.......

20-12-2021, 10:14 AM

Should society only concern itself with one issue at a time, just the biggest one?

20-12-2021, 10:16 AM

Have we? In my opinion my bairn inhaling second hand smoke is 1000 times more important than Hibs

20-12-2021, 10:20 AM

To be fair thats a bit harsh. I am an ex smoker and I normally don't really mind the smell of smoke outside pubs etc, nor do I generally complain about the smoke but yesterday the smoke was overpowering in the toilets in the South lower. not a nice environment for kids and adults alike, especially those with breathing difficulties. There should be an option to go outside for a smoke as that would remove all issues of people smoking in the toilets.

skankomcphee
20-12-2021, 10:22 AM
My mate actually asked one of the stewards if he could go outside for a smoke and the reply was just go in the toilets thats what everyone else is doing.

Stewards were an absolute joke. There was an older boy literally falling about on the south stand concourse before the game and having to be physically held up by his companion. Could see from his eyes that he was totally blootered and exactly the sort of punter you wouldn’t want sat next to you. But a steward kept saying he “has a sore knee” :confused::confused::confused:

20-12-2021, 10:22 AM
Have we? In my opinion my bairn inhaling second hand smoke is 1000 times more important than Hibs

Well said. We’ve come a long way from the 1970’s when players like Billy Bremner would have a smoke at half time in the changing room. In those days everyone seemed to smoke everywhere. It’s a dying habit and that has to be a good thing but nobody should have to subject themselves, or any family member, to second hand smoke these days. It’s a disgrace it still happens.

20-12-2021, 10:26 AM

Absolutely.

Toilets were a danger in terms of smoke and a crush yesterday. Folk in there singing and dancing and smoking for the entire 15 minutes. Utter clowns.

20-12-2021, 10:27 AM
Was absolutely ridiculous. Very selfish behaviour

20-12-2021, 10:28 AM
I think folk were smoking in the South Upper during the second half. The smell was quite strong (it was definitely tobacco smoke rather than from any of the smoke bombs etc.)

Edit: I mean in the seating area itself, not the concourse.

20-12-2021, 10:30 AM
Was absolutely disgusting. My clothes were reeking because of it.

No idea why they can't just put some fences outside the exits and let folk out to smoke at half time.

Skol
20-12-2021, 10:49 AM
Absolutely.

Toilets were a danger in terms of smoke and a crush yesterday. Folk in there singing and dancing and smoking for the entire 15 minutes. Utter clowns.

Smoke detectors that pour out water when triggered would soon put a stop to the smoking. Sadly a few innocent punters would get wet as well though

20-12-2021, 10:49 AM
Most clubs have found a way to accommodate smokers as far as I'm aware. I think our displeasure should be aimed at the Hampden authorities in the first instance.

20-12-2021, 10:50 AM
Most clubs have found a way to accommodate smokers as far as I'm aware. I think our displeasure should be aimed at the Hampden authorities in the first instance.

No it really shouldn’t. It should be aimed at the folk doing it

20-12-2021, 10:52 AM

Do you expect clubs to have ways to accommodate other addictions such as shopping, gambling or drugs? Nothing to do with Hampden. If you cant play by the rules and cant go 90 minutes without a smoke, stay at home.

20-12-2021, 10:55 AM
Must agree with the op.That was horrible.

20-12-2021, 10:56 AM

People know the rules. They also know how inconsiderate it is when thousands of people obeying the rules want to use the facilities in the stadium but can’t because they are full of people smoking against the law.

Willis1875
20-12-2021, 10:57 AM
People know the rules. They also know how inconsiderate it is when thousands of people obeying the rules want to use the facilities in the stadium but can’t because they are full of people smoking against the law.

Are you not supposed to be masked up for going to the toilet aswell,pretty hard going if there’s a fag hanging out the mouth

20-12-2021, 11:02 AM
Are you not supposed to be masked up for going to the toilet aswell,pretty hard going if there’s a fag hanging out the mouth

Fair point.

20-12-2021, 11:04 AM

Poor response. Its a big issue for society and creates a huge workload for our health care systems.

Ardenttwo
20-12-2021, 11:08 AM
Yesterday was the worst its ever been

Never seen anything so bad as that in the toilets. Just could. Not breath. Totally out of order

mcohibs
20-12-2021, 11:09 AM

Nah, if you can't go 90 minutes without a fag then sort your life out

20-12-2021, 11:10 AM
South Lower was ridiculous at HT, and obviously a blind eye was being turned.

20-12-2021, 11:14 AM

It was a fair old battle getting into the cubicles between the smokers and the ching merchants.

thebausburst
20-12-2021, 11:17 AM

No wonder some folk don’t go through there for games, agree the smoking in the toilets was a joke as was, Celtic fans sitting in South Upper wearing all their Celtic clobber singing etc, blootered neds everywhere, pyros and smokebombs WTF is all that about, police nowhere to be seen and the stewards are all hopeless empty high vis jackets.

20-12-2021, 11:17 AM
It was a fair old battle getting into the cubicles between the smokers and the ching merchants.

Never seen any of the sniffy snow going on yesterday but I don't doubt it was happening.

20-12-2021, 11:19 AM
Poor response. Its a big issue for society and creates a huge workload for our health care systems.

Let's not over egg things here.

I get folk complaining about the smell, but less than 10 mins passive smoking is hardly a health issue.

Newhaven
20-12-2021, 11:21 AM
Agree with all above

Smoking a disgrace in the shunkies and the lack of policing those issues is just a joke.

No wonder folk and families are turned off by modern football.

20-12-2021, 11:21 AM

I get folk complaining about the smell, but less than 10 mins passive smoking is hardly a health issue.

Non smokers shouldn’t be forced to inhale it, whether it’s 30 seconds or 10 minutes.

I went for a pish and thought I was walking out on stars in their eyes.

20-12-2021, 11:22 AM
Its not difficult to police.. And that is the key word... Police.
One copper at toilet entrance at half time would do the job a handful of mainly disinterested and ignored stewards cannot seem, or want to do.

He could alsol deal with the marching powder brigade blocking up the carsey's :greengrin:cb

20-12-2021, 11:24 AM
Why do they even bother with stewards at football. They don't stop smoking, nobody wears masks, fans coming in that can hardly walk etc etc. Smoking in the toilets at half time happens every game and it is creeping into ER too. Smokers clearly don't want to wait the 90 minutes so why not accommodate them if you aren't going to steward them. I'd also be interested to know if smoking or vaping provided a carrier for Covid Vapour to make it easier to pass on. No idea if it does but I was walking well clear of teh massive plumes of smoke produced by vapes as I walked round the ground before kick of. My gut told me that was a visible indication of someone's breath

20-12-2021, 11:27 AM

I really feel sorry for anyone genuinely needing a number two at the fitba these days.

20-12-2021, 11:27 AM
Went to football matches in various stadiums in germany for years and never encountered that problem.

If a crowd of 60k German fans can manage a couple of hours without a fag, then surely us Scots can cope anaw

20-12-2021, 11:29 AM

You’ve misunderstood the point.

20-12-2021, 11:32 AM
Went to football matches in various stadiums in germany for years and never encountered that problem.

If a crowd of 60k German fans can manage a couple of hours without a fag, then surely us Scots can cope anaw

I wonder what these folk do when they go on flights abroad. A good chance they won’t smoke in the bogs on the plane.

20-12-2021, 11:35 AM
I really feel sorry for anyone genuinely needing a number two at the fitba these days.

Makes sense to allow the jobbiers in first. Then the smokers can go in to remove the stench of poo, finally the pumped up coke heeds can go in free of the poo stench with n bonus extra nicotine hit when they hoover a line up their beak.

20-12-2021, 11:36 AM
Why do they even bother with stewards at football. They don't stop smoking, nobody wears masks, fans coming in that can hardly walk etc etc. Smoking in the toilets at half time happens every game and it is creeping into ER too. Smokers clearly don't want to wait the 90 minutes so why not accommodate them if you aren't going to steward them. I'd also be interested to know if smoking or vaping provided a carrier for Covid Vapour to make it easier to pass on. No idea if it does but I was walking well clear of teh massive plumes of smoke produced by vapes as I walked round the ground before kick of. My gut told me that was a visible indication of someone's breath

You more likely inhaled more vehicle fumes on the way to the ground than vape fumes.:smokin

20-12-2021, 11:40 AM
Smokers should be allowed to nip out for a fag at HT at Hampden. They aren't though and as such should play by the rules. Spewing out 2nd hand smoke in a confined space is the very definition of selfishness.

20-12-2021, 11:44 AM
I had to cover my mouth but still found it unbearable
But small children were clearly struggling
It wasn’t just passive smoking itvwas aggressive fill your lungs with smoke stuff
There is nothing stewards can do when those numbers crammed in
But maybe they need to think about having one fir children only with stewards making sure it’s not used for smoking

hibeejeebies
20-12-2021, 11:57 AM
Nothing so unattractive as dependency, as Ken Barlow once said.

20-12-2021, 12:11 PM
You more likely inhaled more vehicle fumes on the way to the ground than vape fumes.:smokin
I don’t think exhaust fumes contain covid.

20-12-2021, 12:15 PM
I don’t think exhaust fumes contain covid.

I would not worry about exhaust fumes spouting covid
Only carbon monoxide Not nice to get a lungful of that crossing the road at stop lights

20-12-2021, 12:45 PM
You more likely inhaled more vehicle fumes on the way to the ground than vape fumes.:smokin Not really the point I was making. No idea of vape or smoke exhaled can carry Covid but common sense told be to stay as clear as possible. It is the type of information I would like to know and as others have said I would be interested to see any Covid stats from the game and see if there are patterns of transmission. We are basically being told as citizens that it is our responsibility so we need the information to make the correct risk assessment for ourselves

20-12-2021, 01:30 PM
Not really the point I was making. No idea of vape or smoke exhaled can carry Covid but common sense told be to stay as clear as possible. It is the type of information I would like to know and as others have said I would be interested to see any Covid stats from the game and see if there are patterns of transmission. We are basically being told as citizens that it is our responsibility so we need the information to make the correct risk assessment for ourselves
Back at the start of the pandemic there was a scientist on a 5 Live programme I was listening to and they were of the view that exhaled vapour could contain virus particles. I’ve not really heard much more about it since though but have always kept that scientist’s views in mind whenever I’ve passed a vaper.

20-12-2021, 01:54 PM
What a thread.
Went from selfish lavvy smokers to avoiding guys with vapes outside

End of the world stuff.

Lets get back to Hampden soon and we get Lavviesmoking Ep: 2:greengrin

Signed....... a victim of an asbestos related lung disease

If only my concern had been a couple of minutes in a smoke filled lavvy:cb

20-12-2021, 01:57 PM

Look at the new gaffer, he's ended up with Gary Caldwell.

mcohibs
20-12-2021, 01:59 PM

Hahahah

20-12-2021, 02:00 PM
I wonder what these folk do when they go on flights abroad. A good chance they won’t smoke in the bogs on the plane.

I'm guessing that they don't go to the cinema either..

20-12-2021, 02:08 PM

👍😀

20-12-2021, 02:10 PM
What a thread.
Went from selfish lavvy smokers to avoiding guys with vapes outside

End of the world stuff.

Lets get back to Hampden soon and we get Lavviesmoking Ep: 2:greengrin

Signed....... a victim of an asbestos related lung disease

If only my concern had been a couple of minutes in a smoke filled lavvy:cb
It’s something that shouldn’t be accepted in a 21st century supposedly civilised society. Absolutely no need.

20-12-2021, 02:17 PM
Why do they open the gates in the east but not the west?

20-12-2021, 02:18 PM
Why do they open the gates in the east but not the west?

I think it's because there are gates at the East end meaning fans who don't have tickets can't potentially sneak in at half time.

20-12-2021, 02:21 PM
I think it's because there are gates at the East end meaning fans who don't have tickets can't potentially sneak in at half time.
Aye that’s what I will be.

20-12-2021, 02:27 PM
It’s something that shouldn’t be accepted in a 21st century supposedly civilised society. Absolutely no need.
I agree
It was known by scientists and politicians(and kept quiet) at the beginning of the 20th Century that asbestos was a silent killer.
Yet it was still used in construction and other industries for decades.

I am also happy smoking is banned in many public places.
It is an addiction,remember. Civilised people smoke too.

20-12-2021, 02:38 PM
Non smokers shouldn’t be forced to inhale it, whether it’s 30 seconds or 10 minutes.

I went for a pish and thought I was walking out on stars in their eyes.

:faf::faf:

Magpie
20-12-2021, 02:50 PM
Didn’t go to the kiosk or toilets at half time but did notice the amount of cigarette butts kicking around at full time. Unfortunately there are people who can’t attend a football match without thinking they are above the law.

20-12-2021, 03:01 PM
Just got a phone call from the school saying they had to do a bag search of my son because they thought they could smell cannabis smoke on him.

As it happens, he wore the same sweatshirt to school that he wore yesterday and went to the toilet at half time at Hampden.

He is a non smoker from a non smoking household so understandable why his home room teacher has picked up on it. So, thanks to the selfish smokers at Hampden, my son has had to be hauled out of class, had to go to the main office for a bag search and get an assessment from the school nurse. 🙄

So don’t say that a sly smoke in the toilets doesn’t affect anyone else.

20-12-2021, 03:42 PM
Just got a phone call from the school saying they had to do a bag search of my son because they thought they could smell cannabis smoke on him.

As it happens, he wore the same sweatshirt to school that he wore yesterday and went to the toilet at half time at Hampden.

He is a non smoker from a non smoking household so understandable why his home room teacher has picked up on it. So, thanks to the selfish smokers at Hampden, my son has had to be hauled out of class, had to go to the main office for a bag search and get an assessment from the school nurse. ��

Sorry your son got that grief,Stevie
Hauling him out of class in front of others is not very professional.
I would see the head to explain.
But if evidence of cannabis smoking was detected on his sweatshirt when at school,does this not happen often with young students from cannabis smoking households?

Must have been some scene in the Hampden toilets,right enough.
Tobbaco,Cocaine and Cannabis.

Half bottle of Ruby and 4 cans was the standard back in the day:aok:

20-12-2021, 03:54 PM

Only ever done a No2 at the football once I think, but when taking younger children it was a regular thing, glad not to have to endure that anymorevon days like yesterday.

LunasBoots
20-12-2021, 05:21 PM
Ablind eye was shown to alot of things yesterday, first time I've seen no action to drinking on the street.

20-12-2021, 05:26 PM
https://youtu.be/5oVBvxA0mm0

davidbee1875
20-12-2021, 05:26 PM

Agree with this 100%.

Alan62
20-12-2021, 05:43 PM
The people who smoke in the toilets at football matches are cretins. There's nothing you can do to change them other than throw them out of the ground. That, of course, should be what happens. Just round them up at half time and chuck them out.

20-12-2021, 05:45 PM
The people who smoke in the toilets at football matches are cretins. There's nothing you can do to change them other than throw them out of the ground. That, of course, should be what happens. Just round them up at half time and chuck them out.

This. Selfish morons.

20-12-2021, 06:46 PM
Is this only a male thing or do our female fans see similar behaviour?

20-12-2021, 08:40 PM
Sorry your son got that grief,Stevie
Hauling him out of class in front of others is not very professional.
I would see the head to explain.
But if evidence of cannabis smoking was detected on his sweatshirt when at school,does this not happen often with young students from cannabis smoking households?:

I don’t have a problem with the schools policy on this. Boy that never smells of cigarettes suddenly comes in one day smelling like he’s been smoking (or in the company of smokers). I suppose they’ve no option but to pull him aside in front of others, when there’s going to be a bag search, as it prevents anything from being dumped or passed on. They checked his bag for drugs and got the nurse to check his reactions. I’d want that done if they thought something was amiss. As it was down to the Hampden toilets, there was nothing in his bag and the nurse didn’t discover anything that might have dulled his senses .. but must have been embarrassing for him to get accused of it.

I’m not sure what the policy is for kids that regularly come to school smelling of cigarette smoke, but I guess social services might have to be contacted at some stage.

When I went to school I reckon the majority of pupils probably went in stinking of cigarette smoke. At least one parent probably smoked, and would have smoked in the living room while everyone was watching the TV. At least it did in mine, and certainly did at a few of my friends houses.

20-12-2021, 08:45 PM

Even if we were only allowed to focus one one problem at a time in this world, I can’t think that lots of people huddling together unmasked and exhaling over everyone in the toilets is too helpful in terms of the issue you are (presumably) referring to.

20-12-2021, 08:51 PM
I don’t have a problem with the schools policy on this. Boy that never smells of cigarettes suddenly comes in one day smelling like he’s been smoking (or in the company of smokers). I suppose they’ve no option but to pull him aside in front of others, when there’s going to be a bag search, as it prevents anything from being dumped or passed on. They checked his bag for drugs and got the nurse to check his reactions. I’d want that done if they thought something was amiss. As it was down to the Hampden toilets, there was nothing in his bag and the nurse didn’t discover anything that might have dulled his senses .. but must have been embarrassing for him to get accused of it.

I’m not sure what the policy is for kids that regularly come to school smelling of cigarette smoke, but I guess social services might have to be contacted at some stage.

When I went to school I reckon the majority of pupils probably went in stinking of cigarette smoke. At least one parent probably smoked, and would have smoked in the living room while everyone was watching the TV. At least it did in mine, and certainly did at a few of my friends houses.

Right Stevie ,your points all well made

No, the stuff going on in the lavvies could be nipped in the bud if one cop was on the entrance.
You know a cop is going to get more "attention" than most stewards who do it for some extra cash without any confrontation with fans
Easy peasy.... One cop.

I used to smoke and did not like smokey boozers either.
Guess we all went home smelling back then ...Smokers or not .

Hope your boy disnae get to much kidding fae his pals !

Keep up the good work

20-12-2021, 10:24 PM
****** you

Not arguing with you mate .. its illegal and shouldn't happen. Question for the Hampden authorities though is why you can easily get out the back of the east stand for a fag at half time but not the west stand, where there is an area not as big, but still easily able to contain the number of folk who would want out for a smoke. Look at Easter Road ... in an extremely sensible and pragmatic move a few years back they decided to open a gate in the east and FF to let folk out for a fag at half time ... it solved the issue of folk smoking in the bogs at a stroke.

Unfortunately common sense isn't a commodity in large supply when it comes to the SFA / SPFL as the timing and ticket allocation fiasco for the league cup final proved in spades.

20-12-2021, 10:30 PM
Stewards were an absolute joke. There was an older boy literally falling about on the south stand concourse before the game and having to be physically held up by his companion. Could see from his eyes that he was totally blootered and exactly the sort of punter you wouldn’t want sat next to you. But a steward kept saying he “has a sore knee” :confused::confused::confused:

I saw that bloke. His mate made a valiant attempt to keep him upright but eventually he went down pretty hard. I felt the impact when his head bounced off the floor. First aiders arrived quickly and I hope he’s ok.
I imagined him waking up on Monday and asking “what’s the score, and who superglued this hens egg onto my napper?”

Seriously

Hope he’s good.

20-12-2021, 10:37 PM
I saw that bloke. His mate made a valiant attempt to keep him upright but eventually he went down pretty hard. I felt the impact when his head bounced off the floor. First aiders arrived quickly and I hope he’s ok.
I imagined him waking up on Monday and asking “what’s the score, and who superglued this hens egg onto my napper?”

Seriously

Hope he’s good.

There was two fans stretchered out of the West stand and taken down the access tunnel between the South and West stands in the first 30 minutes of the game, wonder if one of these people was the boy you mention? Hope both are ok. :aok:

20-12-2021, 11:32 PM
Is this only a male thing or do our female fans see similar behaviour?

Good point from now on the non-smokers pish in the females :greengrin

21-12-2021, 06:17 AM
In a previous job many years ago now I turned a water fire extinguisher on someone who lit a cigarette in a room after I had told them it wasn’t allowed. Their reply when I told them to put it out as they would set off the fire alarm was “No , what the **** are you going to do about it”. I simply picked up the extinguisher and extinguished the cigarette before restraining the prick. 😁

21-12-2021, 06:23 AM
Who still smokes these days anyway? Every single smoker I know stopped years ago.
Unless it ain't just tobacco of course.

The dalmeny
21-12-2021, 07:01 AM
6793654 (tel:6793654)[/URL]]Just got a phone call from the school saying they had to do a bag search of my son because they thought they could smell cannabis smoke on him.

He is a non smoker from a non smoking household so understandable why his home room teacher has picked up on it. So, thanks to the selfish smokers at Hampden, my son has had to be hauled out of class, had to go to the main office for a bag search and get an assessment from the school nurse. ��

Smoking is abhorrent but cannae believe your blaming the smokers at Hampden for this ��

mcohibs
21-12-2021, 07:15 AM
Not arguing with you mate .. its illegal and shouldn't happen. Question for the Hampden authorities though is why you can easily get out the back of the east stand for a fag at half time but not the west stand, where there is an area not as big, but still easily able to contain the number of folk who would want out for a smoke. Look at Easter Road ... in an extremely sensible and pragmatic move a few years back they decided to open a gate in the east and FF to let folk out for a fag at half time ... it solved the issue of folk smoking in the bogs at a stroke.

Unfortunately common sense isn't a commodity in large supply when it comes to the SFA / SPFL as the timing and ticket allocation fiasco for the league cup final proved in spades.

I think by opening doors at the West end of Hampden you'd create what they'd probably deem a bigger problem of folk sneaking in without a ticket at half time.

Easy to let people out on the East side because there is a natural outdoor concourse surrounded by high gates.

21-12-2021, 07:25 AM
How about euthanasia for people that smoke in the toilets?

I mean, if they can't last a couple of hours without filling their lungs with smoke, then what's the point of life.

21-12-2021, 07:44 AM
In a previous job many years ago now I turned a water fire extinguisher on someone who lit a cigarette in a room after I had told them it wasn’t allowed. Their reply when I told them to put it out as they would set off the fire alarm was “No , what the **** are you going to do about it”. I simply picked up the extinguisher and extinguished the cigarette before restraining the prick. 😁

At least you’ve mellowed in your old(er) age Scouse 😜

21-12-2021, 11:30 AM

Aye, they could do that at the same time as they are chucking cretins out for singing anti Catholic songs.

Oh... hold on !

MKHIBEE
21-12-2021, 11:40 AM

Do you fancy a job as toilet attendant at ER on matchdays?:wink:

21-12-2021, 11:52 AM

He is a non smoker from a non smoking household so understandable why his home room teacher has picked up on it. So, thanks to the selfish smokers at Hampden, my son has had to be hauled out of class, had to go to the main office for a bag search and get an assessment from the school nurse. 🙄

What kind of school is this? That's a bizarre scenario you describe and I would say that a minute or two in a smoky room/bog will not create a lingering tobacco odour, especially a day later. Did you not notice this smell yourself.

Teenagers do things we parents can't imagine, including smoking and imbibing the Ganja. Has the teacher got the nose of sniffer dog? One thing noticing smoke, another initiating a search policy and nurse assessment.

I'd be raising this with the school.

Paul1642
21-12-2021, 11:54 AM
For some reason football is our society’s number one place to get away with being a prick .

Try walking into a hotel bathroom for a fag, almost start a fight with another guest, then sing a sectarian song for good measure 😂

21-12-2021, 11:56 AM
For some reason football is our society’s number one place to get away with being a prick .

Try walking into a hotel bathroom for a fag, almost start a fight with another guest, then sing a sectarian song for good measure 😂

#travelodge

21-12-2021, 12:05 PM

Not quite accurate if you have the same health problems as some of us.

21-12-2021, 12:13 PM
How about euthanasia for people that smoke in the toilets?

I mean, if they can't last a couple of hours without filling their lungs with smoke, then what's the point of life.

Probably not needed when you consider the point of view that smoking is the longest suicide attempt mankind can ever attempt.:rolleyes:

21-12-2021, 12:26 PM
The worst experience I had with smokers in recent times was actually our last game in Paisley before lockdown.

The toilets were stacked full of smokers and the smoke was so overpowering where I was sitting in the last row of seats that I had to move to the other end of the stand.

WestCoastHibby
21-12-2021, 12:40 PM
You sir, are part of the problem then

21-12-2021, 12:45 PM
Apologies if I'm interpreting your comments on this wrongly but you seem to be going out of your way to trivialise this with comments like the one above, or even use whittabootery by discussing irrelevances like sectarianism.

But if you genuinely want to discuss the consequences of passive smoking...

My mother lived and worked in smoke filled environments for years and fought lung cancer in her late thirties, went through surgery, lived fairly healthily for a few years and finally succumbed to it when it reappeared ten years or so later, leaving five grieving children and grandchildren.

So yes, it is a serious issue that people are rightly concerned with.
Not trivialising anything at all
I responded to comments about euthanasia for smokers/ longest suicide attempt/ rounding people up and throwing them out.
Is this toilets packed with smokers a fortnightly event at Easter Road?
If so ,yes something should be done ,as its against the law .As is the sectarian singing.

Not making fun of lung diseases at all. I suffer severely from COPD.
Hence not at the Final

Just responding to the hang em high brigade.

21-12-2021, 12:58 PM
Do you fancy a job as toilet attendant at ER on matchdays?:wink:

😁 Too old and slow now to handle the anger of my victim!

Hibiza
21-12-2021, 04:18 PM
Smoking isn't the end of the World in my humble. Hope all there Ma's were told .

21-12-2021, 04:36 PM
Hey as an ex-smoker I had to visit the bogs, yes it was not very nice but and I stress the but I had a mask on and done my business and got the hell out as fast as I could, never thought much more of it really.
Just my own humble of course.

21-12-2021, 06:36 PM
What kind of school is this? That's a bizarre scenario you describe and I would say that a minute or two in a smoky room/bog will not create a lingering tobacco odour, especially a day later. Did you not notice this smell yourself.

Teenagers do things we parents can't imagine, including smoking and imbibing the Ganja. Has the teacher got the nose of sniffer dog? One thing noticing smoke, another initiating a search policy and nurse assessment.

In what world was anyone able to get into those toilets, do their business and leave, all in two minutes?

My clothes were reeking of it the day after and I was in and out as soon as possible.

21-12-2021, 06:41 PM
Unfortunately some pesky admin deleted an important thread on stadium protocols, rather than merging with another thread

21-12-2021, 06:52 PM
In what world was anyone able to get into those toilets, do their business and leave, all in two minutes?

My clothes were reeking of it the day after and I was in and out as soon as possible.

Humans take on average 21 seconds to pee. Don't think it's inconceivable you'd be in and out in about 2 minutes.

pollution
21-12-2021, 07:07 PM
Humans take on average 21 seconds to pee. Don't think it's inconceivable you'd be in and out in about 2 minutes.

21 seconds ? It takes me that to unzip.

21-12-2021, 07:08 PM
😁 Too old and slow now to handle the anger of my victim!

Do you know how to fit a sprinkler system?

21-12-2021, 07:09 PM

I reckon I was in and out in 90 seconds on Sunday. Cubicle door opened, a couple of guys hesitated and I took advantage.

21-12-2021, 07:35 PM
I reckon I was in and out in 90 seconds on Sunday. Cubicle door opened, a couple of guys hesitated and I took advantage.

Faster than a speeding train! Faster than a speeding bullet !!

Is it a bird? Is it a plane ? No.. Its Superslash !:offski:

linlithgowhibbie
21-12-2021, 07:44 PM

That may be true, but the smog was half way up the stairs then there was a corridor to queue in as well as a crush to get inthe doorway, followed by a squeeze past the "Ching" queue for the cubicles, then the wait to get to the pee trough, so add your 21 seconds to all that and it was more than 2 minutes in the smog.
I also had fag stinky clothes and facemask the next day.

21-12-2021, 07:45 PM
The smoke in the toilets at both recent Hampden games was vile. Felt like I had smoked 20 by time I came out.
Dont get people defending it, another example of our F you society. What if someone sparked up a cigar on a flight, or had just the 3 pints before driving a taxi?
Its wrong and thats all there is to it.

21-12-2021, 09:40 PM

I went before the game and was probably in there almost 5 minutes. 3-4 deep waiting for a space at the trough and quite a few at the trough significantly longer than 21 seconds.

21-12-2021, 10:27 PM
Strange how the stewards are unable to do anything about the smoking and yet if you stop on the stairway on the way to the cludgies during the game they are all over you in seconds.

22-12-2021, 12:22 AM

First sentence is precisely why I come on hibs.net 😀

Those wee snippets of info are gems.

And I’ll definitely be timing my next pish now…

22-12-2021, 12:31 AM
Smoking is abhorrent but cannae believe your blaming the smokers at Hampden for this ��

It was the only contact he had with cigarette smoke the whole weekend, what’s not to believe 🤷

22-12-2021, 12:50 AM

Apparently quite a good school, as far as league tables go.
It was longer than two minutes because he needed in the cubicle, and not unsurprisingly the cubicle had someone in having a sly smoke.

I assume you’re a smoker, because a non smoker will easily smell cigarette smoke off clothes the next day. In my job I’ve seen me spending barely 15 minutes in a customers house, who is a heavy smoker, and the missus telling me to throw the clothes straight in the wash when I get in the house. So no I don’t think the teacher has the nose of a sniffer dog, he just (in this day and age of nobody smoking in their house or around their kids) didn’t expect to be smelling cigarette smoke off someone on a Monday morning. My clothes from Sunday were already in the wash, unfortunately he decided to wear his sweatshirt again and he was up and out while I was working in my office.

I don’t think anything needs to be raised with the school, it seems like they were on the ball as far as I’m concerned .. especially as you alluded to the fact that teenagers could be “smoking the Ganja” without their parents knowledge.

22-12-2021, 08:44 AM
It was longer than two minutes because he needed in the cubicle, and not unsurprisingly the cubicle had someone in having a sly smoke.

I assume you’re a smoker, because a non smoker will easily smell cigarette smoke off clothes the next day. In my job I’ve seen me spending barely 15 minutes in a customers house, who is a heavy smoker, and the missus telling me to throw the clothes straight in the wash when I get in the house. So no I don’t think the teacher has the nose of a sniffer dog, he just (in this day and age of nobody smoking in their house or around their kids) didn’t expect to be smelling cigarette smoke off someone on a Monday morning. My clothes from Sunday were already in the wash, unfortunately he decided to wear his sweatshirt again and he was up and out while I was working in my office.

I don’t think anything needs to be raised with the school, it seems like they were on the ball as far as I’m concerned .. especially as you alluded to the fact that teenagers could be “smoking the Ganja” without their parents knowledge.

When we used to stay at my Mum and Dads house for the weekend, even the cloths we took that hung in the wardrobe and weren’t worn had to be washed when we returned home as the smell of smoke was evident.

22-12-2021, 09:14 AM
Handing "policing" of stadiums to minimum wage untrained stewards has created a whole host of issues, of which smoking is only one.

We also live in an era of retrospective policing where rather than step in and deal with illegal or criminal behaviour as it's happening Polis Scotland prefer to sit back and watch it at their leisure days or weeks later. While that may result in catching some culprits a considerable time after the event it does nothing to deter the morons or safeguard the majority of fans sitting or standing beside these characters when they kick off.

As someone who remembers the 70s and 80s polis wading into packed terracings to huckle people or act as human segregation fences between fighting fans, I despair at the soft ineffectual excuse for 21st-century police.

22-12-2021, 09:41 AM
When we used to stay at my Mum and Dads house for the weekend, even the cloths we took that hung in the wardrobe and weren’t worn had to be washed when we returned home as the smell of smoke was evident.

Have you got the nose of a sniffer dog?

😉

22-12-2021, 09:42 AM
It was the only contact he had with cigarette smoke the whole weekend, what’s not to believe ��

I would imagine there will be other students at the school that either smoke or come from homes where parents or others smoke.

Pulling students up for having cigarette smoke odours on their clothes is not on.

I have one Grandson still at secondary school.
He says some pupils smoke outside school at lunchtime on the way to Greggs !!
Cannabis is another issue.

thebausburst
22-12-2021, 09:58 AM
The smoke in the toilets at both recent Hampden games was vile. Felt like I had smoked 20 by time I came out.
Dont get people defending it, another example of our F you society. What if someone sparked up a cigar on a flight, or had just the 3 pints before driving a taxi?
Its wrong and thats all there is to it.

Agreed, in fact there was imo not much, including the result, to be positive about from attending a national final. We all know how crap Hampden is as a venue, the smoking has been covered, I’d also add to the list obnoxious very obviously drunk neds allowed in and to be a pain in everyone’s *@#£, pyrotechnics and smoke bombs which now sadly appear normalised with zero press coverage or questions asked of policing/stewards, Celtic fans in ‘home end’ and making zero effort to hide it with their Celtic clobber / singing / cheering Celtic goals. All in all it was a pretty crap experience and makes me think twice about attending in future.

22-12-2021, 01:41 PM
I would imagine there will be other students at the school that either smoke or come from homes where parents or others smoke.
Pulling students up for having cigarette smoke odours on their clothes is not on.

I suspect that during 4 years of secondary the teachers will have an idea of who they might expect to come in smelling of smoke. When a 16 year old that has never had the smell of smoke on his clothes suddenly comes in with the smell on him then would the teacher be amiss not to flag it up? I do question the cannabis aspect to the situation, but as a parent I’m quite impressed that they have latched onto something being different the very first time that he has come in with the smell of smoke on him.

It also highlights exactly how much passive smoke ends up on (and in) someone after just 5 minutes in an enclosed space full of smokers.

22-12-2021, 04:49 PM

Non smoker.

I would be a bit concerned about the bag searching and school nurse scenario. It's quite a leap for a teacher to think the boy was having a fag to getting him out of the class, initiating a search of personal items and then a nurse assessment. I'm not so sure that reaction is really down to the dafties smoking in the bog at Hampden.

School is on the the ball for you, bizarre response to me, fair enough. The sniffer dog was more a reference to them erroneously detecting the aroma of weed, although in reality the habitual smoker does tend to reek of it. As for Teenagers, you might need to brace yourself to the fact that they sometimes do things their parents don't know about or approve of:wink: Not yours of course, just an observation on life in general.

22-12-2021, 05:22 PM
I would be a bit concerned about the bag searching and school nurse scenario

As for Teenagers, you might need to brace yourself to the fact that they sometimes do things their parents don't know about or approve of:wink: Not yours of course, just an observation on life in general.

I think in this day and age I’d be all for the bag search, and an assessment of their condition if drugs were suspected. As you say, teenagers can be up to all sorts without your knowledge.

He’s had a fairly sheltered life, compared to me 😉, so I’m streetwise enough to be on top of any nonsense he’s up to. Was wise to his first attempt at underage drinking attempt last month .. which his mum was totally oblivious to. 😂
I’m pretty sure I’d be on top of any cannabis or ching issues.

roc1
22-12-2021, 07:40 PM

Not true. 40+ after 4 pints. Timed tonight 😳😁

22-12-2021, 07:58 PM
Not true. 40+ after 4 pints. Timed tonight 😳😁
All about the prostate mate. Bigger the walnut the longer it takes. :greengrin

maturehibby
22-12-2021, 11:01 PM
Smoker from Sunday be in the West Lower as some idiot was smoking in the enclosed toilet there in spite of the door being opened to let the smokers outside the stand to smoke .
Perhaps the fact it was raining was too much for him