View Full Version : Old Firm Boycott

dastardly8
19-12-2021, 05:23 PM
Enough is enough regardless of whether we play well or not , time to boycott playing these cheating ****ers , we should just tell the SFA to give them the points and not play them at all , other teams should follow suit , it’s pointless even turning up against them , if every team done it something might give , it’s not even isolated incidents it’s every game against the two of them , shambles of a league I wish the two of them would just **** off

dastardly8
19-12-2021, 05:27 PM
Enough is enough regardless of whether we play well or not , time to boycott playing these cheating ****ers , we should just tell the SFA to give them the points and not play them at all , other teams should follow suit , it’s pointless even turning up against them , if every team done it something might give , it’s not even isolated incidents it’s every game against the two of them , shambles of a league I wish the two of them would just **** off
BBC website doesn’t even mention the penalty shout in there review how convenient

19-12-2021, 05:29 PM
Premier sports coverage after the game took 40 minutes to mention hibs.

Was all about Celtic today and the refs….

19-12-2021, 05:31 PM
Premier sports coverage after the game took 40 minutes to mention hibs.

Was all about Celtic today and the refs….
Thought I’d tuned into Celtic TV :rolleyes: All that was missing was Tommy Boyd

dastardly8
19-12-2021, 05:32 PM
Thought I’d tuned into Celtic TV :rolleyes: All that was missing was Tommy Boyd

Pathetic boycott is the only way time to stand up and be counted they have got away with murder for years

Kavinho
19-12-2021, 05:33 PM

Pathetic post.

19-12-2021, 05:40 PM
I wish we'd reach the stage where we'd win these games through going toe to toe and beating a team through quality, and not be in a position where our fans, players and manager get drawn into blaming referee decisions.

We were on the wrong side of some today. However, Hanlon's "foul" was at the half way line. Long way from awarding Celtic a goal. Murphy should've stood in front of Rogic to stop him taking the free kick and our defenders should not have been running with their backs to the ball. Don't care what they thought, focus on the game until the whistle is blown.

Penalty? Yes, it was.

Did we deserve to win? No, would've been a St Johnstone smash and grab type of win had we done it.

dastardly8
19-12-2021, 06:47 PM
Pathetic post.
Your pathetic mate or blind or both spineless attitude like yours is why we are where we are

Kavinho
19-12-2021, 07:12 PM
Your pathetic mate or blind or both spineless attitude like yours is why we are where we are

" You're "

Good you can read so much into me from 2 words.

away and sleep it off.

19-12-2021, 07:16 PM

Have you been drinking diesel oil or something?

19-12-2021, 07:17 PM

I get where you are coming from but never going to happen.

19-12-2021, 07:21 PM
Boycott blah blah. What we need is an Owner with a master plan, a manager with belief and players who share that belief. Go back over all the finals we've won and you can name and admire the players who were winners - irrespective of the opposition. In every single Cup winning Hibs team, there were players with more than talent - they had strength of character.

Complaining about the refs is missing the point. We need winners, players who relish a challenge, can stand up to pressure and importantly recognise when the opposition is not the jersey but the after average player inside. 1972, 1991, 2007, 2016 teams were full of players who were more than able to play footie. They didn't feel sorry for themselves, never shirked responsibility and took control. Sadly, this Hibs team have very few of those types and it's no surprise we came away with nothing. Blaming the ref is deflection.

Rumble de Thump
19-12-2021, 07:36 PM
Who's at fault for the referee's dodgy decisions in favour of Celtic?

19-12-2021, 08:40 PM
Pathetic post.

Then why comment?

Tobias Funke
19-12-2021, 08:41 PM
Boycott blah blah. What we need is an Owner with a master plan, a manager with belief and players who share that belief. Go back over all the finals we've won and you can name and admire the players who were winners - irrespective of the opposition. In every single Cup winning Hibs team, there were players with more than talent - they had strength of character.

Complaining about the refs is missing the point. We need winners, players who relish a challenge, can stand up to pressure and importantly recognise when the opposition is not the jersey but the after average player inside. 1972, 1991, 2007, 2016 teams were full of players who were more than able to play footie. They didn't feel sorry for themselves, never shirked responsibility and took control. Sadly, this Hibs team have very few of those types and it's no surprise we came away with nothing. Blaming the ref is deflection.

:top marksNail on head.

Davy Mac
19-12-2021, 08:49 PM
Don't agree with the original poster.

That Celtic team were there for the beating today, both the ugly sisters are as poor as I've seen them over the years.

The plan worked up until HT although it was honking stuff, we barely crossed the half way line.

However, 2nd much better and really improved when Allan and Doidge came on and should have got ET at the very least.

Do you think Fergie's Aberdeen team bleated about them, did they heck - they had character and a winning mentality and that starts with the Manager and recruitment.

Fxck them both, they are not invincible.

Sl1010
19-12-2021, 10:50 PM

And you're an absolute champion with that response? Definitely not. Wow I get trying to not blame the ref but he certainly didn't help us in any way, where he seemed to with the opposition.

19-12-2021, 11:19 PM

I wouldn't be too hard on the OP you could make a decent length DVD of the dodgy decisions both halves of the Ugly sisters have had this season, I get his anger I really do.

But you are bang on with this. We simply let Celtic control that game today because we just didn't have the guts to take the game to them from the word go, even after seeing how effective playing like that was in the second half of the last league game at ER when they looked shaky as hell as we pressed them high up the park in numbers ..... If we had done that today from the off we might have seen a different result, but instead we just went out with that same wee team v big team mentality which hands the initiative to these buggers in practically every final they play and is a big part of why they win most of them. We need to change that mentality or we will never bloody well win anything.

dastardly8
19-12-2021, 11:39 PM
And you're an absolute champion with that response? Definitely not. Wow I get trying to not blame the ref but he certainly didn't help us in any way, where he seemed to with the opposition.
How many times have we been cheated by the Glasgow ugly sisters, corrupt to the core and not acceptable , needs sorted , that’s my point

20-12-2021, 05:38 AM
Form a breakaway league.
Not as if we ever do anything in Europe anyway

20-12-2021, 05:51 AM
My grandad was a hearts fan. (Apart from that he was a faultless old geezer). Born in 1908, died 2006 so he’s seen quite a bit of football. He told me about west coast bias in Scottish football ever since I can remember, it’s been going on a long time. These people at the SFA have run the game and have been promoting and appointing their own for literally generations. I honestly think it will take a total revolution to change the way football is run. Even little things; the Celtic and Rangers ‘ends’ at the national stadium, that’s symptomatic of the sickness.

wills
20-12-2021, 07:00 AM
Form a breakaway league.
Not as if we ever do anything in Europe anyway

Totally agree with this, create a 16 team league and bin the ugly sisters. Would have to create a new football association and get away from the GFA as well

20-12-2021, 07:32 AM
I don't think there is cheating as such at play, it's just a sub conscious bias that exists in Scottish football across a range of issues.

Everything from their own ends at Hampden to TV rules meaning they rarely have homes games moved from 3pm Saturday. Referees know that giving a big decision against either will result in days of discussion on TV, radio and in the paper along with a hate campaign on social media.

You only have to look at Twitter since yesterday. Celtic and Rangers fans (because for all their pretences they quite often argue from the same position) listing decisions that have gone against them over the years. They are all repeating the same few lines though. Imagine Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen, Dundee Utd etc fans trying to do that. We would be here for months.

It's bias borne of fear. You deny Hibs a penalty in a final and a few Hibs fans moan but the press, such as the BBC match report, largely ignore it. You give that penalty against Celtic and you face, to quote a topical phrase, a tsunami of abuse and vitriol. What's the easy decision to make?

20-12-2021, 07:35 AM
Totally agree with this, create a 16 team league and bin the ugly sisters. Would have to create a new football association and get away from the GFA as well

I've always thought the other Scottish clubs underestimate the power they have. England do not want Rangers and Celtic. If the 10 other top flight teams gave notice to resign from the SPFL they would have to be listened to, even better if the other 30 teams followed suit.

20-12-2021, 08:07 AM
I don't think there is cheating as such at play, it's just a sub conscious bias that exists in Scottish football across a range of issues.

Everything from their own ends at Hampden to TV rules meaning they rarely have homes games moved from 3pm Saturday. Referees know that giving a big decision against either will result in days of discussion on TV, radio and in the paper along with a hate campaign on social media.

You only have to look at Twitter since yesterday. Celtic and Rangers fans (because for all their pretences they quite often argue from the same position) listing decisions that have gone against them over the years. They are all repeating the same few lines though. Imagine Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen, Dundee Utd etc fans trying to do that. We would be here for months.

It's bias borne of fear. You deny Hibs a penalty in a final and a few Hibs fans moan but the press, such as the BBC match report, largely ignore it. You give that penalty against Celtic and you face, to quote a topical phrase, a tsunami of abuse and vitriol. What's the easy decision to make?Agreed for the most part. There is also an element of gleefully giving decisions against non-OF clubs.

Aberdeen were an exception in 80's - when their owners son was head of the referees committee. Hibs probably got a fair crack when Swan was powerful within the SFA.

V Romanov's only truthful statements while in Scotland were those calling out the bias, and he knew how it worked as he owned every ref in Lithuania.

Old newspaper journalists described the bias with phrases like "Rangers charisma won them a penalty late on".

It's not going to change anytime soon.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

wills
20-12-2021, 08:20 AM
I've always thought the other Scottish clubs underestimate the power they have. England do not want Rangers and Celtic. If the 10 other top flight teams gave notice to resign from the SPFL they would have to be listened to, even better if the other 30 teams followed suit.

100%.

20-12-2021, 08:23 AM

Said this for years.

Some folk say we need them - but in reality they actually need us.

Would at least freshen up the game and start with a clean slate with a new organisation and structure hopefully with more transparency like why do a Celtic always get the same end at Hampden.

20-12-2021, 08:24 AM

Problem is your St Mirrens, Ross Countys and St Johnstone's etc need the OF as they give them 2 or 3 stands each every time the play them so the can make a quick buck. Without these matches this clubs would toil financially. No OF would likely mean no TV money either.

Stokesy's on fire
20-12-2021, 08:27 AM
I think a breakaway league would be a great thing the one we currently play in is set up for 2 clubs so its hardly fit for purpose.

20-12-2021, 08:28 AM
Problem is your St Mirrens, Ross Countys and St Johnstone's etc need the OF as they give them 2 or 3 stands each every time the play them so the can make a quick buck. Without these matches this clubs would toil financially. No OF would likely mean no TV money either.

A Hibs or Aberdeen team top of the league would bring much bigger crowds to these places.
It’s about time Scottish football got fair.

20-12-2021, 08:35 AM
A Hibs or Aberdeen team top of the league would bring much bigger crowds to these places.
It’s about time Scottish football got fair.

The Hampden offices need emptied and fresh blood brought in. Scottish football is set up in such a way that you cant criticise anyone like refs of the members of the SFA because you'll get heavily fined. I fully expect McGinn to get shafted after his comments yesterday.

20-12-2021, 08:57 AM
These threads seem to always appear after Hibs or Hearts play the Old Firm.

A more competitive league would probably mean new investment with sponsors and potential owners investing as they have more chance of being successful.

Outwith the Old Firm clubs getting investment will always be limited as owners don’t see what they will actually get back if anything.

JammyDoidger
20-12-2021, 03:01 PM

I don't think anyone 'needs the old firm' they give extra money which allows maybe a slightly better standard of player through the door, but so what, if we all took a drop in standard of player then it would still be similar levels and balance itself out..every club should get together and turn on the spfl, SFA the old firm, stuff the lot of them. I agree with the boycott. It's something that will draw attention and maybe then folk might listen. Been going on for far too long, the referee's are arrogant barstewards aswell, never take responsibility for wasting peoples time and money.

20-12-2021, 03:24 PM
No mention either on TV, or in the SMSM, of the long and loud IRA pish being spouted by the 'fans' behind the 'Celtc end' goals.

Exactly the same convenient deafness they had when it was their Rangers counterparts in the Semi Final.

It's time we moved on from that as a society and condemned it at every turn.