View Full Version : John Beaton
19-12-2021, 04:07 PM
Let’s have it then. What a wonderful performance he gave for the GFA this afternoon. :applause:
Maybe when we get to future Finals we should just forfeit them. What the hell is the point.
19-12-2021, 04:08 PM
Don't think he wanted us to get a result after we knocked his team out the semi.
19-12-2021, 04:08 PM
An extra couple of grand in his back pocket.
19-12-2021, 04:09 PM
Was the penalty at the time nisbet hit the post?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
19-12-2021, 04:09 PM
Let’s have it then. What a wonderful performance he gave for the GFA this afternoon. :applause:
You’re wasting time and energy. Too many on here put that down to incompetence and not corruption and fear for west of Scotland attitudes.
19-12-2021, 04:11 PM
Cheating Basket corrupt **** the old firm
-Jonesy-
https://twitter.com/footballjoe/status/1472612363530641408?s=21
Two hand and a push right into the back of Porto right in front of the prick.
Rangers would've got that penalty.
Cheat.
Was the penalty at the time nisbet hit the post?
Aye
Distraction from how poor we were for most of that match. The 2 goals we lost were shocking and we only looked dangerous when we threw the kitchen sink.
We started a cup final with the intention not to lose. Not a good sign.
We should've had a penalty. Celtic could've had one as well (softer but still).
Antonyopus
19-12-2021, 04:12 PM
It’s our own fault. We shouldn’t have to rely on dubious refereeing decisions.
19-12-2021, 04:12 PM
If VAR does come to Scottish football will it still guarantee fairness? I think the GFA will still be corrupt
BoB the Hibby
19-12-2021, 04:14 PM
Aye but cheats will always be cheats, the west coast bias gives me the boke
19-12-2021, 04:14 PM
Dubious? What was dubious about it?
Denied a penalty late on, right in front of him. That’s not dubious, just plain cheating.
Newry Hibs
19-12-2021, 04:16 PM
If VAR does come to Scottish football will it still guarantee fairness? I think the GFA will still be corrupt
Newcastle should have had a penalty today against Citeh.
VAR didnt help there.
19-12-2021, 04:16 PM
Distraction from how poor we were for most of that match. The 2 goals we lost were shocking and we only looked dangerous when we threw the kitchen sink.
All of that isn’t true. We were very defensive in the first half and we were successful with those tactics as we didn’t want a repeat of the league game. We then came out with more intent in the second half and we took the lead, the rest of the game was end to end and we were denied a stonewall penalty. The Celtic penalty claim wasn’t taken seriously by anyone including the Celtic players.
19-12-2021, 04:17 PM
Don't think he wanted us to get a result after we knocked his team out the semi.
See this garbage? It’s still believing Celtic nonsense. He’s sent off more players against Celtic than against any other team and he’s gave Celtic more penalties than any other team. So maybe he’s a Celtic supporter.
He certainly doesn’t like Hibs that’s for sure. But why not just accept its bias towards both sides of the Old Firm. He’s a cheat. Plain and simple. By no means why we lose today because we were garbage but he was giving us nothing.
19-12-2021, 04:18 PM
Aye very good :rolleyes:
19-12-2021, 04:19 PM
Newcastle should have had a penalty today against Citeh.
VAR didnt help there.
Didn't see it but you can bet your life they will still get away with it
Newry Hibs
19-12-2021, 04:22 PM
Didn't see it but you can bet your life they will still get away with it
Agree. Meaning even with VAR there are some odd decisions. I wonder who will get most of those in Scotland.
19-12-2021, 04:23 PM
Absolutely blatant today...yet Celtic fans would have u believe refs are against them...2 major decisions win them the game the free kick for a non existent foul for winning goal and then ignoring a blatant t push on Porto...disgusting. what's the point in even turning up???
19-12-2021, 04:23 PM
Even gave him a winners medal.
Cheatin Beaton
19-12-2021, 04:26 PM
All of that isn’t true. We were very defensive in the first half and we were successful with those tactics as we didn’t want a repeat of the league game. We then came out with more intent in the second half and we took the lead, the rest of the game was end to end and we were denied a stonewall penalty. The Celtic penalty claim wasn’t taken seriously by anyone including the Celtic players.
Can't start a final with fear that it might turn out to be the same as a previous league match. Take the game to them. Really poor of us not to put Starfelt under more pressure. We deserved a penalty but on balance of the game we didn't deserve to win. Maybe we deserved 2-2 with extra time but inability to hold possession of the ball rarely rewards teams.
19-12-2021, 04:27 PM
You’re wasting time and energy. Too many on here put that down to incompetence and not corruption and fear for west of Scotland attitudes.
I’ve said repeatedly it’s blatant cheating
19-12-2021, 04:34 PM
Can't start a final with fear that it might turn out to be the same as a previous league match. Take the game to them. Really poor of us not to put Starfelt under more pressure. We deserved a penalty but on balance of the game we didn't deserve to win. Maybe we deserved 2-2 with extra time but inability to hold possession of the ball rarely rewards teams.
I’m not saying I agree but it was completely vindicated by how things turned out. Our failure to hold onto a lead for more than a minute is really what did for us. As for Beaton, he’s a disgrace.
19-12-2021, 04:38 PM
Absolutely blatant today...yet Celtic fans would have u believe refs are against them...2 major decisions win them the game the free kick for a non existent foul for winning goal and then ignoring a blatant t push on Porto...disgusting. what's the point in even turning up???
It feels like there's no point. Any team playing against either of the Old Firm has to win by a couple of goals to stand any chance. As if they don't already have enough of an advantage against the rest of us! That was scandalous; it's a penalty all day long.
19-12-2021, 04:41 PM
Cheating bar steward of the highest order
norhfc
19-12-2021, 04:43 PM
Always the same against the OF specially in Glasgow, it’s corruption plain and simple. You won’t convince me otherwise, my 1st final being in 1979.
19-12-2021, 04:47 PM
I’m not saying I agree but it was completely vindicated by how things turned out. Our failure to hold onto a lead for more than a minute is really what did for us. As for Beaton, he’s a disgrace.
No argument on Beaton. He's one of a very bad bunch.
Our failure to hold onto the lead in this game comes down to coaching for me. Same with Celtic's 2nd. Can complain about the free kick and the confusion about subs etc. but both CBs not paying attention while Celtic player is standing over the ball is scandalous stuff.
I was pleased with the fight we put up in the last 15mins but extra time would've been gruelling for us. Wish we could create things without throwing Porteous and Hanlon upfront.
19-12-2021, 04:49 PM
No argument on Beaton. He's one of a very bad bunch.
Our failure to hold onto the lead in this game comes down to coaching for me. Same with Celtic's 2nd. Can complain about the free kick and the confusion about subs etc. but both CBs not paying attention while Celtic player is standing over the ball is scandalous stuff.
I was pleased with the fight we put up in the last 15mins but extra time would've been gruelling for us. Wish we could create things without throwing Porteous and Hanlon upfront.
I agree about the coaching, if only we had an experienced manager :wink:
19-12-2021, 04:50 PM
It would just be the same bunch of refs watching again on camera…
19-12-2021, 04:55 PM
SPM stating the board was up and the players expected the game to stop, later the sub for ralston the game was stopped to make the sub
david gray has his arms wide out
i think he's quite rightly calling beaton a little cheating nyaff :agree:
Rumble de Thump
19-12-2021, 04:56 PM
Celtic did.
HFC93
19-12-2021, 05:02 PM
It's hilarious that Celtic fans think they're up against a refereeing conspiracy.
19-12-2021, 05:08 PM
It’ll never change even with VAR. Every goal or decision other clubs get will be scrutinised to find some wee foul in the lead up to disallow it or change their decision. They will find a way.
tomhorn
19-12-2021, 05:11 PM
I ken it's a daft thing to bring up but why, given he could have chosen any colour, did be wear a kit that clahsed with Celtic's. It's a small thing I know but it's so basic and adds to the whole feeling of him being utterly clueless.
19-12-2021, 05:17 PM
Beaton is a crap ref and is, imho, a cheat.
19-12-2021, 05:18 PM
SPM stating the board was up and the players expected the game to stop, later the sub for ralston the game was stopped to make the sub
david gray has his arms wide out
i think he's quite rightly calling beaton a little cheating nyaff :agree:
Paul McGinns interview was excellent could tellnhe was fighting back the tears too...calls Beaton out for exactly what he is a CHEAT
19-12-2021, 05:26 PM
Paul McGinns interview was excellent could tellnhe was fighting back the tears too...calls Beaton out for exactly what he is a CHEATWhat did Mcginn say?
The Captain....
19-12-2021, 05:42 PM
Bored talking about how incompetent/corrupt (use as appropriate) Scottish refs are.
Nothing will be done about it and Hibs never kick up much of a fuss so round we go til the next shocking decision against us.
The game here is institutionally corrupt and always has been.
Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk
19-12-2021, 06:19 PM
Clearly on a mission give Celtic every help until they scored their first goal. (As we know, Celtic don't lose finals from a. winning position). After that, he would miraculously start to look neutral in officiating the match, knowing full well, his team were on their way.
19-12-2021, 06:28 PM
Cheat
19-12-2021, 06:35 PM
That's a clear penalty all day long. Cheating ****.
19-12-2021, 06:36 PM
I ken it's a daft thing to bring up but why, given he could have chosen any colour, did be wear a kit that clahsed with Celtic's. It's a small thing I know but it's so basic and adds to the whole feeling of him being utterly clueless.
We were the “ home team “ , we should have been allowed to wear our usual green kit and make Celtc change to avoid a clash.
19-12-2021, 06:40 PM
Played an absolute blinder today for them. Cheating as blatant as it comes.
I will never listen again to Celtic bleat on about the SFA being against them. More victim ***** from them. The SFA weighed the scales in scales in Celtics favour from the off with the whole giving them more tickets debacle and they certainly made sure they gave a helping hand today.
John Beaton you are an absolute disgrace and an embarrassment.
19-12-2021, 06:43 PM
It’s seriously about time ourselves and other clubs fans call it out. It’s deemed too much of a running joke in the media about the bias that exists.
Just look at Celtic/Rangers in Europe, they don’t get these decisions with European refs
Oranje39
19-12-2021, 06:46 PM
I honestly don't think they are corrupt, they are just very poor at the most important part of refereeing and that's decision making.
Shouldn't be near a SPFL game for the rest of the season never mind a national final.
Stokesy's on fire
19-12-2021, 06:47 PM
Its no shock the match officials would go all out to help Celtic its always been this way and it wont change
19-12-2021, 06:47 PM
I honestly don't think they are corrupt, they are just very poor at the most important part of refereeing and that's decision making.
Shouldn't be near a SPFL game for the rest of the season never mind a national final.
They 100% are cheats.
hibee1875
19-12-2021, 06:48 PM
We should ask for him not to referee our games. Start calling out these bias performances
19-12-2021, 06:53 PM
See this garbage? It’s still believing Celtic nonsense. He’s sent off more players against Celtic than against any other team and he’s gave Celtic more penalties than any other team. So maybe he’s a Celtic supporter.
He certainly doesn’t like Hibs that’s for sure. But why not just accept its bias towards both sides of the Old Firm. He’s a cheat. Plain and simple. By no means why we lose today because we were garbage but he was giving us nothing.
In a hibs.net first Steve I agree with you.
Montford
19-12-2021, 07:24 PM
Saw a stat earlier of fouls per yellow cards.
11 SPFL teams between 4,5 to 8 fouls
1 SPFL team on 20 fouls per yellow card
Can you guess what one?
No other league in Europe has such disparity.
Oranje39
19-12-2021, 07:27 PM
They 100% are cheats.
I get it, you're disappointed and so am I, it's still very raw but it's not cheating. He's just not good at his job.
The standard of refereeing in Scotland is poor and I believe it will continue to be that way until they go full time....
Pay peanuts, get monkeys.
Shafted us. Was never a free kick at their second and should have been a penalty for a clear push on Porteous.
19-12-2021, 07:37 PM
I get it, you're disappointed and so am I, it's still very raw but it's not cheating. He's just not good at his job.
The standard of refereeing in Scotland is poor and I believe it will continue to be that way until they go full time....
It is cheating and nothing to do with incompetence in particular with those 2 teams. Time and time again Celtic and Rangers get the big decisions....time and time again they also get the little decisions. The refs will occasionally throw one in against them to try and make them seem balanced but the bias is unreal.
It isn't just Hibs fans who think this, Hearts, Aberdeen, United etc all think and see the same things. It has been that way as far back as I can remember and it will carry on. As someone at the club said "I don't understand why everyone lets Celtic and Rangers run the league".
Corrupt, cheating and biased to the core. If only the rest of us could come together to try make a positive change on this going forward.
mcohibs
19-12-2021, 07:42 PM
It isn't just Hibs fans who think this, Hearts, Aberdeen, United etc all think and see the same things. It has been that way as far back as I can remember and it will carry on.
Aye but Celtic and Rangers fans have been banging on about corrupt refs for years also haven't they.
They're not corrupt, they're just sh.ite
19-12-2021, 07:42 PM
Beaton is Scotlands Mike Dean, is all about him. Remember the 1979 Scottish Cup final when Campbell was attacked in the box no penalty given. Congratulations Mr Beaton you have now even surpassed that as the worst piece of refereeing seen in a cup final
Oranje39
19-12-2021, 07:43 PM
It is cheating and nothing to do with incompetence in particular with those 2 teams. Time and time again Celtic and Rangers get the big decisions....time and time again they also get the little decisions. The refs will occasionally throw one in against them to try and make them seem balanced but the bias is unreal
It isn't just Hibs fans who think this, Hearts, Aberdeen, United etc all think and see the same things. It has been that way as far back as I can remember and it will carry on. As someone at the club said "I don't understand why everyone lets Celtic and Rangers run the league".
Corrupt, cheating and biased to the core.
Living in the west coast of Scotland, I unfortunately get to hear the same chat from old firm fans and personally think it's a lot of pish.
If they were held to a higher standard they would be better.
Even with VAR somehow even the best get it wrong, today with Newcastle not getting a penalty is a great example. That was the clearest penalty I think have saw in my life and they got that wrong.
LunasBoots
19-12-2021, 07:45 PM
Beaton wants a easy ride, nothing outside Celtic and Sevco for him so makes the easy descions to avoid the cesspit hassle.
19-12-2021, 07:45 PM
Living in the west coast of Scotland, I unfortunately get to hear the same chat from old firm fans and personally think it's a lot of pish.
If they were held to a higher standard they would be better.
Even with VAR somehow even the best get it wrong, today with Newcastle not getting a penalty is a great example. That was the clearest penalty I think have saw in my life and they got that wrong.
Every single referee is from Glasgow and the surrounding area. It's bias.
Cheats.
19-12-2021, 07:48 PM
It's hilarious that Celtic fans think they're up against a refereeing conspiracy.
Up against the Refs, and claim the SFA have it in for them, and claim they are not an "establishment" club.
All of that is total Bulls**t
19-12-2021, 07:51 PM
What did Mcginn say?
https://twitter.com/BBCSportScot/status/1472657161901817865
Calls the performance "inept"
Oranje39
19-12-2021, 07:55 PM
Every single referee is from Glasgow and the surrounding area. It's bias.
Cheats.
The majority may be from Glasgow or central belt but don't get why that's relevant.
Largshibby
19-12-2021, 07:56 PM
If he was just bad at his job he would annoy both sides in equal measure. He doesn’t. Celtic got every 50/50 decision and some of the “ fouls” awarded were ridiculous.
19-12-2021, 07:57 PM
What penalty should Celtic have had ? Can’t say I remember it tbh.
19-12-2021, 07:59 PM
Well done Paul he’ll probably get panned for it but good to hear Beaton’s inept performance getting call out :applause:
19-12-2021, 07:59 PM
Fair play to McGinn for speaking out and calling it as it is, you can see what it means to him there.
19-12-2021, 08:00 PM
What penalty should Celtic have had ? Can’t say I remember it tbh.I can onlyb think of one of the numerous times Kyogo threw himself to ground
Perfectly true but I hope it doesn't get him into further bother with the beaks .
Oranje39
If he was just bad at his job he would annoy both sides in equal measure. He doesn’t. Celtic got every 50/50 decision and some of the “ fouls” awarded were ridiculous.
He should have booked Lewis in the first few minutes he didn't.
The Celtic penalty was in the first half, the boy Taylor was fouled by Paul McGinn at a corner when Starfelt nodded it wide.
Paul McGinn was correct in his post match interview, Beatons performance was inept.
Rick Rude
19-12-2021, 08:03 PM
Any slightly controversial decisions against either rangers or celtic will be raked over by the media for the next month. A decision against any of the rest is forgotten about by full time. Wonder how much that plays a part for any ref wanting an easy life and to keep getting games.
19-12-2021, 08:03 PM
Perfectly true but I hope it doesn't get him into further bother with the beaks .
It will. Players and managers won't get away with comments like that about the officials.
allmodcons
19-12-2021, 08:06 PM
Are you for real?
The game plan was clearly to frustrate Celtic in the first half and stay in the game and, as I recall, we went in at half time 0v0,
Second half we pretty much went toe to toe with them and for you, as a Hibs supporter, not to accept that some big decisions went against us is hard to take.
The line on Premier Sports, which I've just watched back, appears to have been that it doesn't matter we were denied a stonewall penalty on 85 minutes, apparently we should have scored, so let's forget about another shocking refereeing decision. It's bad enough listening to pricks like McCoist, Sutton and Hartson talking crap but bewilders me when our own fans join in.
19-12-2021, 08:13 PM
Are you for real?
The game plan was clearly to frustrate Celtic in the first half and stay in the game and, as I recall, we went in at half time 0v0,
Second half we pretty much went toe to toe with them and for you, as a Hibs supporter, not to accept that some big decisions went against us is hard to take.
The line on Premier Sports, which I've just watched back, appears to have been that it doesn't matter we were denied a stonewall penalty on 85 minutes, apparently we should have scored, so let's forget about another shocking refereeing decision. It's bad enough listening to pricks like McCoist, Sutton and Hartson talking crap but bewilders me when our own fans join in.
Eh? Setup to frustrate is just a positive spin on setting up not to get beat.
What have I joined in on? We were on the end of some bad decisions today but is complaining about them as a fan base ever going to improve things?
Is complaining about Beaton going to fix the obvious ineptitudes in our squad? The imbalanced squad that isn't performing to the level their perceived to be at on paper? Unless club are going to lodge a formal complaint this isn't going to help Hibs, is it? Best focusing on what we can do better first. Maybe at a later date coordinating with other clubs to get foreign refs back?
19-12-2021, 08:27 PM
Are you for real?
Honestly I think we generally get a fairer crack of the whip from McCoist than any of the others.
allmodcons
19-12-2021, 08:30 PM
What have I joined in on? We were on the end of some bad decisions today but is complaining about them as a fan base ever going to improve things?
Is complaining about Beaton going to fix the obvious ineptitudes in our squad? The imbalanced squad that isn't performing to the level their perceived to be at on paper? Unless club are going to lodge a formal complaint this isn't going to help Hibs, is it? Best focusing on what we can do better first. Maybe at a later date coordinating with other clubs to get foreign refs back?
Go read your initial post.
Set up to frustrate for the first 45 minutes is not setting up not to get beat.
Second half was a completely different game. Despite them having better players than us, I thought we were good second half and created a number of really good chances.
The difference between the two teams today was Kyogo. He is a class player who's wages we simply could not afford to pay.
There are times when you need to cut the team (you support) some slack.
19-12-2021, 08:30 PM
John Beaton refereed Hibs v Rangers on 1st Dec - Category A game in the premiership
He then refereed Morton v Inverness on 11 Dec
Then a cup final today - Category A game
How can someone obviously be deemed “good enough” to referee the big games be given a Championship game in between? Why would he be demoted a division?
inglisavhibs
19-12-2021, 08:33 PM
Second half was a completely different game. Despite them having better players than us, I thought we were good second half and created a number of really good chances.
The difference between the two teams today was Kyogo. He is a class player who's wages we simply could not afford to pay.
Some sense at last.
Largshibby
19-12-2021, 08:35 PM
chookyembra
19-12-2021, 08:37 PM
The majority may be from Glasgow or central belt but don't get why that's relevant.
The overwhelming majority are from Glasgow & Lanarkshire there are very few East Coast based Grade 1 officials. It is relevant because from where they come from they are likely to have a bias to one or the other of the OF whatever one it isn’t then they will have to help them out to show they aren’t biased the other way. In other words the whole refereeing system, and Scottish Football for that matter, is set up to ensure the OF get treated differently and favourably. If you think that they don’t then you are deluded, it has been going on for years and years and will continue to go on for many more years unless someone makes a stand as per PM has.
We give plenty of stick to our ******** neighbours across the city when they complain about the refs but I think they have a point when it comes to stuff like this, maybe just maybe we should give support to any team who highlights refereeing bias including them, otherwise we will always play against 12 men and the duopoly will never be broken.
Stokesy's on fire
19-12-2021, 08:37 PM
He's spot on. And if McGinn gets pulled up then so should that classless diver Kyogo
Telling someone what they should and shouldn't complain about is a bit rich coming from one of the biggest complainers on here.
I honestly don't think they are corrupt,
Whatevs
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
19-12-2021, 08:45 PM
Cut our players some slack? We were very poor for a lot of the match. Both of Kyogo's goals were avoidable. Our players made mistakes as well as John Beaton.
Our passing through the middle is honestly shocking. We've quietly become a hoofball team reliant on Boyle counterattacks.
I do give Hanlon credit, I think he was superb apart from the obvious mistake for their 2nd and the awful miss after our penalty claim.
fife hfc
19-12-2021, 08:49 PM
He should have booked Lewis in the first few minutes he didn't.
The Celtic penalty was in the first half, the boy Taylor was fouled by Paul McGinn at a corner when Starfelt nodded it wide.
Paul McGinn was correct in his post match interview, Beatons performance was inept.Never a penalty on Taylor. No intent and a complete accident. Starfelt on the other hand fully intends to push Porteous in the back.
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
19-12-2021, 08:51 PM
Telling someone what they should and shouldn't complain about is a bit rich coming from one of the biggest complainers on here.
Where have I told someone what they should complain about? I've debated and questioned the merits of complaining about Beaton.
Care to actually contribute to the debate or is it just character assassination your looking to do?
How do you measure biggest complainers here? Is it ones that don't fit into the cliques and popular opinion at the time?
Oranje39
19-12-2021, 08:57 PM
Never a penalty on Taylor. No intent and a complete accident. Starfelt on the other hand fully intends to push Porteous in the back.
A foul is a foul, whether there was intent or not is irrelevant.
Both should have been penalties.
Again, Beatons performance was inept and he should be relegated to championship games for the rest of the season.
Steven79
19-12-2021, 08:59 PM
A foul is a foul, whether there was intent or not is irrelevant.
Both should have been penalties.
Again, Beatons performance was inept and he should be relegated to championship games for the rest of the season.Why should they suffer that twat?
Oranje39
19-12-2021, 09:01 PM
The overwhelming majority are from Glasgow & Lanarkshire there are very few East Coast based Grade 1 officials. It is relevant because from where they come from they are likely to have a bias to one or the other of the OF whatever one it isn’t then they will have to help them out to show they aren’t biased the other way. In other words the whole refereeing system, and Scottish Football for that matter, is set up to ensure the OF get treated differently and favourably. If you think that they don’t then you are deluded, it has been going on for years and years and will continue to go on for many more years unless someone makes a stand as per PM has.
We give plenty of stick to our ******** neighbours across the city when they complain about the refs but I think they have a point when it comes to stuff like this, maybe just maybe we should give support to any team who highlights refereeing bias including them, otherwise we will always play against 12 men and the duopoly will never be broken.
Tin foil hat stuff.
Oranje39
19-12-2021, 09:03 PM
Why should they suffer that twat?
I agree with you there, it would be unfair on championship sides but the SFA should make a point in reducing his future responsibilities going forward.
Steven79
19-12-2021, 09:07 PM
I agree with you there, it would be unfair on championship sides but the SFA should make a point in reducing his future responsibilities going forward.Partick would get some dodgy decisions so they wouldn't mind but the rest...
Oranje39
19-12-2021, 09:08 PM
Partick would get some dodgy decisions so they wouldn't mind but the rest...
What about Morton? 😅
Steven79
19-12-2021, 09:10 PM
What about Morton? [emoji28]Not Weegie enough for him surely? [emoji23]
chookyembra
19-12-2021, 09:18 PM
Tin foil hat stuff.
What part?
Oranje39
19-12-2021, 09:20 PM
Not Weegie enough for him surely? [emoji23]
Aye your right enough. 🤣
Oranje39
19-12-2021, 09:27 PM
What part?
The part about the whole refereeing system is set up to favour the old firm. If you can show me evidence of them rejecting candidates because of where they are born then I would consider it but again I think that's irrelevant, a lot of the folk I meet in Aberdeen support Rangers.
Rumble de Thump
19-12-2021, 09:28 PM
The part about the whole refereeing system is set up to favour the old firm. If you can show me evidence of them rejecting candidates because of where they are born then I would consider it but again I think that's irrelevant, a lot of the folk I meet in Aberdeen support Rangers.
A lot of Celtic and Sevco fans will agree with you.
Steven79
19-12-2021, 09:33 PM
The part about the whole refereeing system is set up to favour the old firm. If you can show me evidence of them rejecting candidates because of where they are born then I would consider it but again I think that's irrelevant, a lot of the folk I meet in Aberdeen support Rangers.It's not about where they were born but who they support.
I knew a number of young refs from Fife years ago that all favoured the Old Firm.
chookyembra
How many East Coast based referees have refereed the Scottish Cup?
Oranje39
A lot of Celtic and Sevco fans will agree with you.
Again, I'm unfortunate enough to be surrounded with fans of the old firm clubs and they think the standard of refereeing is terrible too.
I don't see it as corruption, it's just very low standards.
Oranje39
19-12-2021, 09:35 PM
How many East Coast based referees have refereed the Scottish Cup?
It's irrelevant, it's a low level of standards and that won't be raised until we have full time professional referees.
Where have I told someone what they should complain about? I've debated and questioned the merits of complaining about Beaton.
Care to actually contribute to the debate or is it just character assassination your looking to do?
How do you measure biggest complainers here? Is it ones that don't fit into the cliques and popular opinion at the time?
Don't complain about Beaton, complain about the squad. That's how your post reads.
I contributed to this thread about the referee by saying he shafted us by giving them a free kick he shouldn't have, which they scored from, and he denied us a clear penalty. You contributed to it by trying to steer it away from the referee and towards the "obvious ineptitudes in our squad."
I measure the biggest complainers by the volume of negative posts I see of theirs going on and on about the same thing over and over again and it is particularly noticeable when they try to steer the thread away from the topic to do so.
Thegreenside
19-12-2021, 09:56 PM
We can say what we want about the ref, at the end of the day school boy defending cost us
19-12-2021, 09:56 PM
Don't complain about Beaton, complain about the squad. That's how your post reads.
I contributed to this thread about the referee by saying he shafted us by giving them a free kick he shouldn't have, which they scored from, and he denied us a clear penalty. You contributed to it by trying to steer it away from the referee and towards the "obvious ineptitudes in our squad."
I measure the biggest complainers by the volume of negative posts I see of theirs going on and on about the same thing over and over again, particularly when they try to steer the thread away from the topic to do so.
It's not wholly off topic is it? I've linked the criticism of Beaton to criticism of our performance. Meaning I don't want the justified criticism of Beaton to deflect from issues within our team.
What about all the people who persistently complain about officials? Are they one of the biggest complainers or did they come down on your side of the debate?
I wasn't even debating with you and your first post to me was one criticising me. Ironic really when you mention biggest complainers. I get it, you don't like me.
chookyembra
19-12-2021, 10:03 PM
It's irrelevant, it's a low level of standards and that won't be raised until we have full time professional referees.
I’m pretty sure it’s 3, so how is it irrelevant? It proves that there is bias in the system.
I’ve watched us for long enough to know the difference between incompetence and bias/cheating and it’s rarely incompetence.
19-12-2021, 10:11 PM
A question on the penalty.
Nisbet hit the post with his header immediately afterwards, and Hanlon then blasted over.
We know Beaton is "incompetent" (ie a cheat - booked Nisbet for nothing, let Celtc play for their second when we'd have been stopped for the substitution) but were we the victims of football having a very brief advantage law, and that advantage was used up by the header and shot over the bar?
19-12-2021, 10:14 PM
Nisbet hit the post with his header immediately afterwards, and Hanlon then blasted over.
We know Beaton is "incompetent" (ie a cheat - booked Nisbet for nothing, let Celtc play for their second when we'd have been stopped for the substitution) but were we the victims of football having a very brief advantage law, and that advantage was used up by the header and shot over the bar?
He should still be able to bring back play for the penalty imo. In the incident Doidge actually has an open goal before the ball falls to Hanlon and completely misses the ball.
19-12-2021, 10:15 PM
We know Beaton is "incompetent" (ie a cheat - booked Nisbet for nothing, let Celtc play for their second when we'd have been stopped for the substitution) but were we the victims of football having a very brief advantage law, and that advantage was used up by the header and shot over the bar?Would either be classed as a better chance than a pen?
The header happened too quickly after to be a conscious decision anyway
19-12-2021, 10:21 PM
I thought that at the time. The advantage rule needs to be more like Rugby when the referee indicates that he is playing advantage and pulls play back to original incident if no advantage accrues. This can be mins after the incident,and players are aware of advantage being played
At free kicks the ref will give the player an option of whistle or no whistle.
19-12-2021, 10:24 PM
He should still be able to bring back play for the penalty imo. In the incident Doidge actually has an open goal before the ball falls to Hanlon and completely misses the ball.
I thought Doidge pulled his foot away but can't think why
davym7062
19-12-2021, 10:25 PM
Aye very good :rolleyes:
utter bollox
shetlandhibee
19-12-2021, 10:28 PM
Would either be classed as a better chance than a pen?
The header happened too quickly after to be a conscious decision anyway:top marks
definatly it was all so quick pen all day long
davym7062
19-12-2021, 10:31 PM
Are you for real?
100%
19-12-2021, 10:34 PM
It is a clear penalty but lets be honest, we were relying on Beaton to give us a penalty - in the last minute of a national cup final - against one half of the OF. Absolutely no chance that we are getting it. As wrong as that is nothing will change until the whole of the SFA board members are emptied and fresh blood implemented. Starting with that prick Donkeycaster. We need auditors from another country to come in and go through those Hampden offices with a fine tooth comb and expose and get rid of these jokers.
19-12-2021, 10:35 PM
I thought Doidge pulled his foot away but can't think why
Yeah watching it again he does seem to do so. Though only had to connect with the ball and it was in the net.
19-12-2021, 10:36 PM
Howling as you’d expect. Blatant penalty but Hanlon much more at fault in that incident.
19-12-2021, 10:43 PM
I think doidge thinks it's on the outer reaches of his foot and correctly takes it away
We have 3 players coming in on it and it should be a goal
100 percent a penalty though
19-12-2021, 10:56 PM
First things first, it was as clear a penalty as you will see and not to award it was cheating by Beaton pure and simple, there's no other way to put it he must have seen the push and any referee has to award a penalty for it ... he didn't and therefor he is plainly a biased cheat.
But I for one am just as angry at Hibs for yet another performance that was nothing short of woeful ... I hesitate to say cowardly but it was a baw hair away from it. In the second half of the last league game we showed how to play against Celtic, we pressed them high up the pitch in numbers and caused no end of misplaced passes, 50/50 opportunities and won the ball back from them in their half a number of times enabling us to mount dangerous attacks.
Why after witnessing how effective that was against them at Easter Road did we sit back for 45 minutes and allow them unhindered possession until they were 10 yards inside our half ..... yes in the second half we came out a bit more, but it was only after we had gone 2 - 1 down that we fully committed to that high press and once again you could see how effective it was as we practically made more chances in that 10 minute period than we had in the whole match.
I'm not saying playing like that wouldn't have its risks, but in that first 45 Celtic could have been out of sight of they had taken the chances they made so being so passive clearly wasn't working anyway, just as it didn't in the first half at ER ..... yes the ref cheated, but we lost that game because we weren't brave enough.
1875Sean
19-12-2021, 10:59 PM
Is there any footage of the free kick before the second goal?
hibeerealist
19-12-2021, 11:00 PM
Cut our players some slack? We were very poor for a lot of the match. Both of Kyogo's goals were avoidable. Our players made mistakes as well as John Beaton.
Our passing through the middle is honestly shocking. We've quietly become a hoofball team reliant on Boyle counterattacks.
I do give Hanlon credit, I think he was superb apart from the obvious mistake for their 2nd and the awful miss after our penalty claim.
Hanlon questionable for both Celtic goals watch them again.
19-12-2021, 11:02 PM
The 2 east coast referees that stood out for me from the past were George Smith and Brian McGinlay. Neither of them gave us anything in derby games, everything used to be given in favour of Hearts. And who was the one that refereed the Hearts v Hibs SC final? He had well known Yam allegiances. Just cos the ref is from the west doesn't necessarily mean he's more biased than refs from other parts of the country.
19-12-2021, 11:03 PM
Porteous is more at fault for their 1st, he gets caught under the ball so often. Hanlon did have some blame in it as well. Massive gap between them. Whole team looked to be celebrating still, no focus at the kick off.
19-12-2021, 11:07 PM
Porteous is more at fault for their 1st, he gets caught under the ball so often. Hanlon did have some blame in it as well. Massive gap between them. Whole team looked to be celebrating still, no focus at the kick off.
Agree, Hanlon found wanting yet again. Just completely went to sleep after his goal. The second is a howler from him and Porteous. As good as Kyogos movement is (and it is very good) both goals are so so preventable and it was the individual errors that ****ed us today. How often have we said that...:rolleyes:
20-12-2021, 05:42 AM
The 2 east coast referees that stood out for me from the past were George Smith and Brian McGinlay. Neither of them gave us anything in derby games, everything used to be given in favour of Hearts. And who was the one that refereed the Hearts v Hibs SC final? He had well known Yam allegiances. Just cos the ref is from the west doesn't necessarily mean he's more biased than refs from other parts of the country.
Pretty sure Mcginlay was not from east.
20-12-2021, 06:05 AM
He’s a cheat.
Nothing more, nothing less.
20-12-2021, 06:17 AM
Aside from the penalty we should’ve had my main question would be about the second goal. Obviously we switched off and its poor defensively, does he allow them to score that goal against Rangers? It’s clear we were expecting the sub. I’m fairly certain it gets pulled back immediately in an Old Firm game.
20-12-2021, 06:33 AM
Aside from the penalty we should’ve had my main question would be about the second goal. Obviously we switched off and its poor defensively, does he allow them to score that goal against Rangers? It’s clear we were expecting the sub. I’m fairly certain it gets pulled back immediately in an Old Firm game.
Whether we were expecting the sub or not the Hibs player near the ball shouldn't have allowed them to play it and our defence switched off again. Wasn't really aware of the board going up.
scuttle
20-12-2021, 06:42 AM
Pretty sure Mcginlay was not from east.
Was he not from Balfron which is nearer Glasgow
20-12-2021, 06:44 AM
Was he not from Balfron which is nearer Glasgow
Think so Stirlingshire. Famously denied us a stonewall late pen in 1979 Scottish cup final
20-12-2021, 07:01 AM
I’ve not seen a replay of the foul for the free kick for the second celtc goal.
At the time it looked like Hanlon just stood and the celtc player backed into him and complained. Looked very soft.
20-12-2021, 07:51 AM
I bet he slept well last night after a few congratulations texts from his Hun pals.
20-12-2021, 07:52 AM
Horrific but not surprising. The one in the corner where it went out for a corner clearly and he gave a throw in. The foul for the goal, the push on porteous, allowing Johnston to do as he pleased when subbed, joe hart also when their player was down injured. All in all a horrendous performance.
20-12-2021, 07:53 AM
I’m actually surprised our goal stood given the performance yesterday. Hart clearly just tried to play on. Beaton made more than up for it later
20-12-2021, 07:54 AM
I’m actually surprised our goal stood given the performance yesterday. Hart clearly just tried to play on. Beaton made more than up for it laterI actually jumped up then had a moment of staring at Beaton as he didn't move and pointed to his arm - I thought he was calling handball
Crunchie
20-12-2021, 07:56 AM
20-12-2021, 08:06 AM
I’ve not seen a replay of the foul for the free kick for the second celtc goal.
At the time it looked like Hanlon just stood and the celtc player backed into him and complained. Looked very soft.
I wasn't a foul, Hanlon stood his ground and won his header, Beaton invented a lot of fouls that 'saved' Celtic yesterday. The one against Doidge wen Starfelt dived in his box because he knew he'd screwed up was a classic.
chookyembra
20-12-2021, 09:13 AM
He’s a cheat.
Nothing more, nothing less.
Correct, but why do they cheat? They cheat to keep the duopoly of the OF, which is the sole existence of the SFA and the SPFL
Hibs3-2
20-12-2021, 09:32 AM
Hes a fking old firm loving rat. Sooner we start calling out these referees for what they are, the better.
Steven79
20-12-2021, 09:37 AM
Hes a fking old firm loving rat. Sooner we start calling out these referees for what they are, the better.Yep!
I've fallen out with a number of Celtic fans today and I couldn't care less.
Montford
20-12-2021, 09:58 AM
Also means when on the odd occasion a Hibs, Hearts or Aberdeen are jr the top of the league you get the atrocious decisions against the likes of Livi or Ross county etc, dubious penalty given to them, man sent off etc
chookyembra
20-12-2021, 06:52 PM
Also means when on the odd occasion a Hibs, Hearts or Aberdeen are jr the top of the league you get the atrocious decisions against the likes of Livi or Ross county etc, dubious penalty given to them, man sent off etc
Someone gets it.
20-12-2021, 07:43 PM
I wasn't a foul, Hanlon stood his ground and won his header, Beaton invented a lot of fouls that 'saved' Celtic yesterday. The one against Doidge wen Starfelt dived in his box because he knew he'd screwed up was a classic.
Just watched the Hanlon "foul" and it is a poor decision. Celtc player just throws himself to the ground. You can also just see the subs board being handed to the 4th official right at the bottom of the screen so no wonder players got confused as did the camera men who focussed on Allan taking his top off. It didn't help that the foul was right in front of the 4th official so every Hibs player would have seen the subs board. Our players need to focus more but no idea why any blame is being placed on Hanlon for either goal. Porteous massively at fault for the first running in front of the scorer chasing a pass he thinks is going to be played. At the second the scorer runs between Porteous and McGinn as Hanlon is making his way back. I'm not convinced the first isn't offside either and I very much doubt the south stand lino had a good view of that ball getting played. The freeze frames seem to be before the ball is played too. Beaton is a terrible ref and had yet another poor game which he unsurprisingly favoured one of the Uglies.
andudare2
20-12-2021, 08:21 PM
Scottish ref,s are very poor,however just reading from sky,ref,s segment that Dermot Gallagher says we haven't a case in regards to penalty claim,according to him its just a coming together 🤣 seeing as Starfeld is behind Porteous as he uses both hands to shove him in the back i have to wonder just what this plum actually did see.
20-12-2021, 08:28 PM
And what does that have to do with a cheating ref? That isn't the discussion on the thread and just deflects from a cheating referee. If the cheat had given us those decisions that we should have had, who would have cared how we played.
Scottish ref,s are very poor,however just reading from sky,ref,s segment that Dermot Gallagher says we haven't a case in regards to penalty claim,according to him its just a coming together [emoji1787] seeing as Starfeld is behind Porteous as he uses both hands to shove him in the back i have to wonder just what this plum actually did see.Weirdo thinking any football fan could swallow that. It's a pen any day of the week.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Criswell
20-12-2021, 11:07 PM
Asking a Scottish Referee to comment on one of their own is the classic case of "marking your own homework" A miserable collection of incompetent clowns.
20-12-2021, 11:08 PM
when VAR hopefully makes it's entrance, what would have been the possible outcome with Starfelt diving in his own box ?
just a booking for him ? as he wasn't fouled
Criswell
20-12-2021, 11:16 PM
[QUOTE=cabbageandribs1875;6794273]when VAR hopefully makes it's entrance, what would have been the possible outcome with Starfelt diving in his own box ?
just a booking for him ? as he wasn't fouled[/QUOTE
If we had VAR their first goal would never had stood. Clearly offside.
20-12-2021, 11:34 PM
[QUOTE=cabbageandribs1875;6794273]when VAR hopefully makes it's entrance, what would have been the possible outcome with Starfelt diving in his own box ?
just a booking for him ? as he wasn't fouled[/QUOTE
If we had VAR their first goal would never had stood. Clearly offside.
i've still to see any replays, i was too busy tearing my hair out after losing probably the quickest equaliser in a league cup final ;(
21-12-2021, 04:10 AM
In fairness to John when it comes to playing against the uglies the clue is in the name.
21-12-2021, 05:51 AM
[QUOTE=Criswell;6794274]
i've still to see any replays, i was too busy tearing my hair out after losing probably the quickest equaliser in a league cup final ;(
Actually think just onside
21-12-2021, 08:04 AM
I have watched the penalty incident a good half dozen times and Beaton bottled it. Absolutely blatant penalty which he saw but ignored in the last minute. The subsequent header off the post gave him his exit strategy: advantage was played. It doesn't matter, it was a penalty, but only a very brave referee would award a penalty against the Old Firm in the last minute of a cup final. It's sickening; just another example of being robbed.
21-12-2021, 08:28 AM
I have watched the penalty incident a good half dozen times and Beaton bottled it. Absolutely blatant penalty which he saw but ignored in the last minute. The subsequent header off the post gave him his exit strategy: advantage was played. It doesn't matter, it was a penalty, but only a very brave referee would award a penalty against the Old Firm in the last minute of a cup final. It's sickening; just another example of being robbed.
Agree, he 100% shat it.
21-12-2021, 08:43 AM
I came away from that game on sunday scunnered, and to be perfectly honest, i'm very near chucking it as a fitba fan.
I wonder if there is only so much corruption i can take. :rolleyes:
The only advantage would have been a goal so he can't use that when it comes to not giving a penalty.
It was an awful decision to be honest but Kev had to score the header. Not much has been said about that. Was also a follow up think it was Hanlon who put it over.
Imagine a natural ref just gives the pen. Nailed on.
21-12-2021, 10:49 AM
The only advantage would have been a goal so he can't use that when it comes to not giving a penalty.
It was an awful decision to be honest but Kev had to score the header. Not much has been said about that. Was also a follow up think it was Hanlon who put it over.
Hanlons miss was a shocker to be honest.
21-12-2021, 11:24 AM
Newcastle United request explanations on referee decisions in recent fixtures - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/59735974)
Why are Hibs not doing this?
With Beaton, it's everything about him that annoys me. At the recent The Rangers game, they were awarded a free-kick in the final minutes close to their own corner flag. McGregor rolls the ball up to almost the edge of the penalty box and when a Hibs player points it out to him he waves him away with a smirk. No attempt to hide his bias. Yet, had that been in the centre-circle, he would have dragged play back for the kick being not taken from the correct spot.
21-12-2021, 11:28 AM
Newcastle United request explanations on referee decisions in recent fixtures - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/59735974)
With Beaton, it's everything about him that annoys me. At the recent The Rangers game, they were awarded a free-kick in the final minutes close to their own corner flag. McGregor rolls the ball up to almost the edge of the penalty box and when a Hibs player points it out to him he waves him away with a smirk. No attempt to hide his bias. Yet, had that been in the centre-circle, he would have dragged play back for the kick being not taken from the correct spot.
Sunday free kick (laughably) on starfelt right edge of the box, Hart took the piss taking the ball to the edge of the box knowing he’d be sent back so wasting time, then walked 25 yards to speak to the ref when their defender was down injured at the edge of the box before taking a little stroll back to the ball and moving it 3 times. Not once was he booked. Those scenario’s plus Johnston taking the piss out of him for a full minute was laughable.
I thought it was an excellent effort from Nisbet. He had a man challenging him and he had to generate all the power himself. He was inches away from being a hero. I wouldn't be overly critical of Hanlon either. It was his header across to Nisbet and when the ball rebounded, Doidge just missed it in front of him & then Newell/Hanlon got a bit in each other's way. In hindsight it may have been better for Newell to take it on his left foot but credit to Hanlon for his desire to get to the ball.
21-12-2021, 12:41 PM
I thought it was an excellent effort from Nisbet. He had a man challenging him and he had to generate all the power himself. He was inches away from being a hero. I wouldn't be overly critical of Hanlon either. It was his header across to Nisbet and when the ball rebounded, Doidge just missed it in front of him & then Newell/Hanlon got a bit in each other's way. In hindsight it may have been better for Newell to take it on his left foot but credit to Hanlon for his desire to get to the ball.
It was a good effort by Nisbet. I think the width of the post denied us a trophy. Maybe fanciful but I think we would have been the stronger team in extra time. Particularly as we finally had the right players on the park. Their central defence couldn’t cope with high balls into the box.
21-12-2021, 04:24 PM
After flying back home and getting over that cheat that masquerades as a football referee, we very much should be backing Paul McGinn in any attempt by the faceless ones at the Glasgow F.A. Beaton is not inept he is a cheat. To settle things why not put in place neutral referees from elsewhere for all cup finals for the next 10 years.
It was very evident from early in the game and the way the smelic players got talking to him that Hibs were not going to get nothing from the cheat.
Scottish fitba at it's corrupt best nowadays they don't even hide it.
chookyembra
21-12-2021, 09:49 PM
After flying back home and getting over that cheat that masquerades as a football referee, we very much should be backing Paul McGinn in any attempt by the faceless ones at the Glasgow F.A. Beaton is not inept he is a cheat. To settle things why not put in place neutral referees from elsewhere for all cup finals for the next 10 years.
It was very evident from early in the game and the way the smelic players got talking to him that Hibs were not going to get nothing from the cheat.
Scottish fitba at it's corrupt best nowadays they don't even hide it.
100% this but some on here will tell you that it’s tin hat stuff and that there’s no cheating and Scottish football is run on an even keel.
21-12-2021, 10:24 PM
Sunday free kick (laughably) on starfelt right edge of the box, Hart took the piss taking the ball to the edge of the box knowing he’d be sent back so wasting time, then walked 25 yards to speak to the ref when their defender was down injured at the edge of the box before taking a little stroll back to the ball and moving it 3 times. Not once was he booked. Those scenario’s plus Johnston taking the piss out of him for a full minute was laughable.
Massive rush to get on with play when we want to make a sub yet happy to do it on Celtc's terms when they need to make a change. Refs are so corrupt and it happens game every game against the Uglies. It isn't always the big decisions that make it obvious either and the cumulative effect is like the casino advantage for the terrible twosome