View Full Version : Match Updates League Cup Final - Hibernian FC v Some inferior tribute act

Pages : [1] 2 3

19-12-2021, 12:47 PM
Taking the plunge and starting the updates thread for this one.

Team news should be out shortly. Looking forward to the game now, all the talking is done and we get down to business.

19-12-2021, 12:48 PM
Cadden on bench. Nisbet starts as does Murphy.

19-12-2021, 12:49 PM
Murphy needs to show up and do the business at both ends. We cant afford to carry him.

19-12-2021, 12:51 PM
Macey
McGinn
Porteous
Hanlon
Stevenson
Doyle Hayes
Newell
Campbell
Murphy
Boyle
Nisbet

19-12-2021, 12:51 PM
Nice of the presenter to announce Celtic are “technically” the home side for this match. She’s obviously following the SPFL line

19-12-2021, 12:52 PM
Murphy needs to show up and do the business at both ends. We cant afford to carry him.

Need a shift from him today and hopefully he actually takes the clear chance that will definitely fall to him.

19-12-2021, 12:52 PM
Nice of the presenter to announce Celtic are “technically” the home side for this match. She’s obviously following the SPFL line

Yeah noticed that! Guess the game is in a provincial city and the plucky local team are technically classes as at home as it's their patch?

19-12-2021, 12:53 PM
Is John Hartson the Welsh equivalent of Yogi, as in a complete slaver...

Greenio
19-12-2021, 12:55 PM
Celtic

Hart
Juranovic
Carter-Vickers
Starfelt
Taylor
McGregor
Turnbul
Abada
Rogic
Johnston
Kyogo

19-12-2021, 12:56 PM
also target Starfelt. Hes absolutely dire

19-12-2021, 12:57 PM
Celtic

Hart
Juranovic
Carter-Vickers
Starfelt
Taylor
McGregor
Turnbul
Abada
Rogic
Johnston
Kyogo

That doesn't look a particularly weakened team. Would have been delighted if Kyogo missed out. Good player and a good diver, both of which could be game changers today.

19-12-2021, 12:58 PM
Mad that they are risking Kyogo with a hamstring injury!

Silky
19-12-2021, 01:04 PM

He'll spend most of the game on the deck.

19-12-2021, 01:04 PM
Hope kygo goes off within 5 mins

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Saint Hibee
19-12-2021, 01:05 PM

Can't help thinking there was some Levein-esque bluffing going on with his injury ...

19-12-2021, 01:10 PM

Will be nothing wrong with him.

19-12-2021, 01:12 PM
Good luck guys. Show them what you have.

Come on Hibernian.

19-12-2021, 01:14 PM
Don't like Nisbet up top on his own. We need to close the gap when we have the ball so that he's not too isolated

Expected us to go with a back 5

Celtic look good going forward but that's about it. Get in their faces Hibs!!

19-12-2021, 01:15 PM
The fact SDG (Hanlon and Stevenson too) won and lost finals in 2016 I'm hoping gives us an edge

Felt both sides of it and hopefully motivates the team

McHibby
19-12-2021, 01:18 PM
THE FEAR.

It has just kicked in for me big-time. This is the latest ever for me, normally it starts a couple of days before a semi/final.

Greenio
19-12-2021, 01:19 PM
Playing in the away kit

McHibby
19-12-2021, 01:21 PM
Hope kygo goes off within 5 mins

It's a pity neither McGregor or Gogic are starting, just to give him a friendly wee "hello" and help that substitution along 🤣

19-12-2021, 01:22 PM
Playing in the away kitCourse we are

Away end, away dressing room

Home team by the draw

19-12-2021, 01:22 PM
It's a pity neither McGregor or Gogic are starting, just to give him a friendly wee "hello" and help that substitution along 🤣

I think that's a job for Porto.

19-12-2021, 01:24 PM
I think that's a job for Porto.

Portos job is defending properly. This isn't the 70s. Don't need to injure anyone if you nullify them.

GonzoReturns
19-12-2021, 01:26 PM
Portos job is defending properly. This isn't the 70s. Don't need to injure anyone if you nullify them.

👍just let him know you are there. Be strong and 100% focus.

19-12-2021, 01:26 PM
Terribly biased questions to Hanlon and McGregor. Negative questions to Hanlon. Everything positive for McGregor.

norhfc
19-12-2021, 01:35 PM
Who is marking Rogic, he ran the show at ER with Gogic not up to it.

19-12-2021, 01:36 PM
Win or lose give me a battling performance Hibs.

19-12-2021, 01:37 PM

hopefully not kevin nisbet

McHibby
19-12-2021, 01:40 PM

Sorry, I didn't mean that to come across as a serious suggestion, I wouldn't like to see anyone to get injured, and definitely not because of a nasty tackle.

I'm just getting a bit carried away with the adrenaline, I think!

19-12-2021, 01:43 PM
For me need to stop Celtics midfield 3 so a big day for our 3. Need all 3 on form today.

19-12-2021, 01:45 PM
didnt think id be watching today but iv managed to find the game live on youtube . happy days (hopefully)

19-12-2021, 01:46 PM
Sorry, I didn't mean that to come across as a serious suggestion, I wouldn't like to see anyone to get injured, and definitely not because of a nasty tackle.

I'm just getting a bit carried away with the adrenaline, I think!

Oh no. I hope all 11 Celtic players get injured. Every one. My point is, Ryan needs to focus on his job.

19-12-2021, 01:47 PM

I wouldn’t be surprised to see Josh Campbell or Doyle-Hayes being onto him when he gets the ball. That said, if we can stop the supply to him and McGregor, he won’t figure too much?

C’mon Hibs!

19-12-2021, 01:48 PM
Let's do this Hibs🇳🇬

19-12-2021, 01:50 PM
I think it's mental we're going into this game without a manager. I think the management at the club need to be questioned on this more.

I'm no really that confident either, our record against celtic at hampden is not good at all. Anyway, fingers crossed there's a shock.

19-12-2021, 01:53 PM
We must be wary of the Japanese striker, goes to ground to easy and will make defenders look culpable!
Give them it tight!!!

leith lynx
19-12-2021, 01:53 PM
C'mon the original hoops!

19-12-2021, 01:54 PM
I think it's mental we're going into this game without a manager. I think the management at the club need to be questioned on this more.

I'm no really that confident either, our record against celtic at hampden is not good at all. Anyway, fingers crossed there's a shock.

Does it really matter that much? Can't keep a manager that the owner has lost faith in and no point rushing an appointment for a cup game. New manager would've been more of a distraction than anything with the sacking coming so close to the final.

Players need to turn up, win a cup and impress prospective manager.

HendoDelivered
19-12-2021, 01:55 PM
Come on Hibs lets do this

19-12-2021, 01:55 PM
I hope we come out quickly and get right at them from the start. Set the tone and don't let them settle. Need to take our chances when they come.

19-12-2021, 01:56 PM
Best of luck to the team today ... Hertha berlin beat Dortmund yesterday evening, so anything is possible in football :wink:

19-12-2021, 01:56 PM
Hibernian vs Celtic - HesGoal.Com Sports News (http://www.hesgoal.com/news/94071/Hibernian_vs_Celtic.html)
Game on!!!

19-12-2021, 01:57 PM
SDG should have listed himself on the bench!

Saint Hibee
Aw naw, not Stephen Craigan, please!

Is John Hartson the Welsh equivalent of Yogi, as in a complete slaver...

That’s harsh on Yogi, who has decent experience as a manager to draw on.

Hartson knows nothing about nothing, a rent a gob. Despite his career as a footballer he seems to have zero insight into the game.

19-12-2021, 01:58 PM
ally McCoist just realising that was pat stanton aitken was talking to, i'm saying nowt, i didn't recognise it was pat at first glance in a photo at paisley two weeks ago :duck:

19-12-2021, 01:59 PM
Light show at Hampden?
Trying to make it more homely for Celtic????

Hibees Hibees hibees

Does it really matter that much? Can't keep a manager that the owner has lost faith in and no point rushing an appointment for a cup game. New manager would've been more of a distraction than anything with the sacking coming so close to the final.

Players need to turn up, win a cup and impress prospective manager.

I do, a good manager is worth their weight in gold, especially in big occasions. Whether it was JR fighting for his job or the new manager. I thi k this shows poor planning and organisation by hibs.

19-12-2021, 02:00 PM
I do, a good manager is worth their weight in gold, especially in big occasions. Whether it was JR fighting for his job or the new manager. I thi k this shows poor planning and organisation by hibs.

What if Gray wins it?

19-12-2021, 02:01 PM
Cracking trackie tops 😀

19-12-2021, 02:01 PM
C'mon Hibs let's do this.

19-12-2021, 02:02 PM
Loving that white tracki top with HIBS on the back. A thing of beauty. GGTTH

Cracking trackie tops 😀

Gorgeous.. Real MaHibs

What if Gray wins it?

Then good for him and the futures bright!

What if we don't show up and it's a missed opportunity?

Is that fog or smoke?

19-12-2021, 02:05 PM
sellick players wanting a card for lewis in the 2nd minute

tbf he could so easily have got one with that tackle

19-12-2021, 02:07 PM
sellick players wanting a card for lewis in the 2nd minute

tbf he could so easily have got one with that tackle

‘Too early in the game for a booking’

19-12-2021, 02:07 PM
LS was lucky there.

Hey, this might be a good sign....first cross into Hibs box and Hanlon deals with it sharply and confidently.

But let's get it up the other end.

:flag::flag:

19-12-2021, 02:08 PM
Not the best start. Celtic able to work it wide on both sides far too easily.

19-12-2021, 02:09 PM
Bit of space outside wide for Celtic. That time was offside though.

Then good for him and the futures bright!

What if we don't show up and it's a missed opportunity?

That's the risk you take. New manager doesn't necessarily solve that. A club legend has just as much chance of inspiring these players as a new manager.

It's down to the players on the day. Doesn't look great at the moment. Few players falling asleep and losing their man. Hopefully it turns. Come on Hibs!

Switched over from Premier Sports, started pausing and stuttering, good old Hibs.tv will do.

The Captain....
19-12-2021, 02:14 PM
Passing abysmal so far

Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk

19-12-2021, 02:15 PM
Need to try get more in the game. Celtic passing it about with to much ease for my liking.

19-12-2021, 02:16 PM
We are being too passive

Macey spills hanlon clears, foul/offside anyway

Very close but we'll done both macey and Hanlon.

19-12-2021, 02:17 PM
Only time before Johnston creates something.

Macey spills hanlon clears, foul/offside anyway

Phew :greengrin

Need to wake up here. Celtic looking likely every time they come forward.

If we can see out the 1st 25-30 minutes then the game will hopefully start to settle down. They don't look brilliant at the back so we will get a chance or 3.

cameronw-hfc
19-12-2021, 02:18 PM
Pathetic performance so far, don't even look like we want to win

19-12-2021, 02:18 PM
sellick unbeaten against us in the last eleven games, lets not make it a Dirty Dozen hibs

19-12-2021, 02:20 PM
Game plan so far must be let Celtic knock it about untill the final 3rd. Was expecting more press from the front 3 and Campbell.

19-12-2021, 02:20 PM
Poor so far. Enough for me to take my phone out and post here... Don't know why we play one up front cause the additional body in midfield is irrelevant.

19-12-2021, 02:21 PM
wrong line up. no out ball. just hoofing it away.

We need to get Boyle and Murphy more involved. Our use of the ball needs to improve.

So poor under the press. No confidence under pressure and just dropping team mate in it.

Saint Hibee
We have to do better.

Very panicky in possesion. Bad touches and bad decisions putting us under pressure then it's a nothing ball to turn over possesion back to them.

Tbf Celtic and their press makes retaining the ball very difficult.

19-12-2021, 02:22 PM
Unable to string 2 passes together, can't stop crosses, keeper looks dodgy as hell. Forget tactics and just accept these players are bang average.

19-12-2021, 02:22 PM
Only 21% possession and zero shots at goal. We need to up our game here.

The Captain....
19-12-2021, 02:23 PM
Absolutely no composure so far..just booting it anywhere. Hopefully the early nerves will settle and we'll start to play a bit.

Free kick in a good area. Let's see what we can do.

We look like we are just making up the numbers. No creative play whatsoever. If we were to lose playing like this it’ll be really disappointing.

Need to put a foot on it and get a foothold in that midfield

19-12-2021, 02:24 PM
This is grim. Our limitations are so clear in playing style and squad depth. New manager has a massive job to do and SDG handed quite the ticking parcel in this final.

19-12-2021, 02:25 PM
good chance for starfelt

Would Hibs be dominating this game under Jack Ross? The way the media keep going on about it is we would.
Guess they've not watched Hibs for months.

Sitter from Starfelt, Porteous sleeping.

We really can’t sit back this deep, just inviting them to attack us and Johnson is having a field day down the left.

Greenio
19-12-2021, 02:26 PM
Not in the game yet at all.

Nerves maybe?

19-12-2021, 02:26 PM
Turnbull could be done here. That looks like a pulled hamstring.

19-12-2021, 02:27 PM
Free kick in a good area. Let's see what we can do.

Not a lot :greengrin

turnbull holding his hamstring

Maybe Angeball to much for the Celtic players.

Greenio
Turnbull off

Just_Jimmy
19-12-2021, 02:28 PM
We've been poor but we're still level after 25 mins. I just want to be in the game with 15 to go.

I'd prefer a 5,3,2 but just keep it tight and hopefully nick one first.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Good news for us as he’s a great player but bringing Bitton on could be a worry for us.

Paloschi
Sitter from Starfelt, Porteous sleeping.

Did they just take the corner before the whistle? I think that is why the players were complaining.

Saint Hibee
I’m starting to suspect that most of our players just aren’t really that great.

Just need rogic to pull up now.

19-12-2021, 02:29 PM
25 minutes in and we still haven't put three passes together ...

That's where we need to be better. Lewis had the option of knocking a 5 yard pass inside to Newell and we would have retained the ball. Instead he bangs a 50/50 down the line in the vague direction of Murphy and Celtic come away with the ball. Just poor decision making.

Would Hibs be dominating this game under Jack Ross? The way the media keep going on about it is we would.
Guess they've not watched Hibs for months.

Looks like we are trying to play over the Celtic midfield, getting the ball and getting it forward quickly. Problem is we aren't doing anything with it and Celtic are just coming back at us every time

Turnbull crying, deary me ..

19-12-2021, 02:30 PM
Hanlon has started well.

we should bring murphy and boyle on

Another hamstring injury …….. something obviously not right with AP’s training. Too intense maybe.

19-12-2021, 02:31 PM
Hope new manager can establish a style of play. Hopefully passing and keeping possession will be a big focus in training.

On a positve note the middle 2 are generally defending very well.

Why are we playing like Doidge is on but not picking Doidge?

Turnbull is upset.

19-12-2021, 02:32 PM
possession

25% v 75%

The Captain....
Our midfield non existent and unable to make anything stick when we go long (often and aimlessly).

Get at this Celric defence..they have a big mistake in them. Bit more belief required.

cameronw-hfc
Another hamstring injury …….. something obviously not right with AP’s training. Too intense maybe.

I'd say the mental schedule and European football don't help..

19-12-2021, 02:33 PM
Still 0-0 for all of Celts possession.

Would be good to find a way for us to go 2 up top as it will help us defend higher up the pitch and provide more options for us to break away.

Murphy is a bit of a passenger...

Boyle should be passing not trying to do it all himself!!!

Much better by us there.

Off the bar
Kyogo is a torn faced wee prick

19-12-2021, 02:34 PM
Turnbull crying, deary me ..

Nothing wrong with a bit of genuine emotion from players.

It shows it means something to them.

19-12-2021, 02:34 PM
Boyle should be passing not trying to do it all himself!!!

Agreed, but hopefully his pace will get the Celtic defence a little more concerned.

Hanlon playing well.

Greenio
19-12-2021, 02:35 PM
Macey needs to get his kicking sorted

19-12-2021, 02:35 PM

As are the rest of the midfield...

19-12-2021, 02:36 PM
**** off beaton.

Should be a foul for Hibs .

Campbell and Murphy need to wake up. Both could easily be taken off at half time.

yellow card some sellick dude

19-12-2021, 02:37 PM
Should be a foul for Hibs .

Right in front of him and then he gives Celtic a free kick for a 50/50 head clash.

Not one single mention yet on BBC radio.

We’re struggling but Hanlons been immense so far , a real captains performance so far , gonna need more of that from him if we’re gonna win this

LeithMike
Really evident again here that we need a new midfield. Our guys can't run!

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

19-12-2021, 02:38 PM
Totally void of any creativity here.

19-12-2021, 02:39 PM
michael stewart and craigan not happy at that booking

Nothing wrong with a bit of genuine emotion from players.

It shows it means something to them.

He will get a medal, winner or loser one, he got injured, bubbling like that, FS.

JDH booked now

Would like to see us get another body in midfield here.

19-12-2021, 02:40 PM
I'm sure the options in front of him also need to improve, but Porteous really needs to stop just hoofing the ball, it'll get us nowhere

Not one single mention yet on BBC radio.

they said his name when they were giving the line-ups

cameronw-hfc
He will get a medal, winner or loser one, he got injured, bubbling like that, FS.

Aye but his dreams of scoring in a cup final win at Hampden are over for the day. If any if our players cared enough to get upset after coming off id be quite happy.

They’re hammering us 0-0.

HendoDelivered
19-12-2021, 02:41 PM
Rogic is a serious baller

Saint Hibee
Newell and Murphy not doing much - too early to try Scott Allan?

Totally void of any creativity here.

We just can't play 3 forward passes together. We hoof it up the field and immediately Celtic are running it back at us.

Come on Hibs. Celtic are not that good.

michael stewart and craigan not happy at that booking

Craigan is f***ing annoying.

They’re hammering us 0-0.

Bit like the first 45 minutes at Easter Road without the goals.

19-12-2021, 02:43 PM
Slimmy hun ****

19-12-2021, 02:44 PM
Boyle looks keen anyway. That's all I can find to say.

Really poor but still in the game so that's something. Very passive though so carry on like this and it's just a matter of time until we lose a goal (and the game)

Wee bit more settled last few minutes but still too many aimless balls. Players not trusting themselves or their team mates with the ball in tight situations. First thought seems to be to offload the ball as quickly and as far as possible.

The couple of times we have got forward highlights the danger Celtic pose, they break quickly and with numbers. Difficult situation for us.

he doesn't want either side to win

Ref is having a shocker.

19-12-2021, 02:45 PM
We can't win a header.

We have a midfield of bang average mid table players, Johnston running rings round McGinn who looks miles out his depth. Macey can't kick or distribute.

The new manager has some job on his hands.

nisbet booked....see he is playing

Mikey Stewart taking every chance to have a dig and rant about the sacking of Ross

shetlandhibee
Allen for jack Doyle Hayes at half time hes in danger of being sent off :agree: plz

They are just ghosting past our midfield.

19-12-2021, 02:46 PM
For m that’s not even a foul

Newell runs like the hairs on his erse are tied together. Celtic player just ghosted past him like he wasn't there

Far too easy for Bitton to run forward there. Our midfield needs some serious work when new manager and transfer window comes.

possession

27% v 73%

that's poor for a final

Greenio
I can see at least one red coming in this game

Never a yellow

Nisbet booking is ludicrous.

Wull
Just came in late, are there any wannabe managers in the stands?

19-12-2021, 02:47 PM
Ref is having a shocker.
That’s an understatement Beaton is shocking and always has been.

The Captain....
19-12-2021, 02:47 PM
Only 2 or 3 hibs players turned up so far. Woeful with the ball on the rare occasions we have it.

19-12-2021, 02:48 PM
Boyle only using his pace for defending????

Only 2 or 3 hibs players turned up so far. Woeful with the ball on the rare occasions we have it.

But we are still level

Another shocker from beaton but not seen a replay.

Two years of Jack Ross and this is what we got. We’re completely pedestrian.

That's rubbish from Murphy. He looks like he can't play this level anymore.

Hanlon has been superb so far.

Saint Hibee
Get Murphy off.

nisbet pointed to murphy to pass it back in to him but murphy prefers to take it further out

possession

27% v 73%

that's poor for a final

Also an improvement from early on

That’s an understatement Beaton is shocking and always has been.

Are we sure he's a hun?

19-12-2021, 02:49 PM
I genuinely rarely dislike Hibs players but I come really close with Jamie Murphy. A total enigma and chicken hearted with it. Get him off at HT.

If we get to HT at 0-0 then that can be considered a success given the runaround we have been given. A chance to regroup and refresh things.

We have a midfield of bang average mid table players, Johnston running rings round McGinn who looks miles out his depth. Macey can't kick or distribute.

The new manager has some job on his hands.

Johnston probably the trickiest winger in the league. McGinn just needs to stick to his task.

Well at least it's still 0-0 but that was utter crap.

Allan for Campbell

Newell runs like the hairs on his erse are tied together. Celtic player just ghosted past him like he wasn't there

Beaton starting to stamp his authority on the Hibs team, no foul for Stevenson, FS.

I bet the ref red cards one of our guys second half.

Right big half time team talk needed but hard to play vs 12 men.

19-12-2021, 02:50 PM
doidge for murphy.

HT

If SDG wants to stick to this game plan then I'd have Cadden for Murphy.

Kyogo is a cheat.

Kyogo needs a good kicking outside the box, diving moaning wee turd.

Salisbury Hibby
19-12-2021, 02:51 PM
Newell runs like the hairs on his erse are tied together. Celtic player just ghosted past him like he wasn't thereMust have missed his Manscaped appointment.

Sent from my moto g(60)s using Tapatalk

We are level, we hung in there, time to change it up and win this bloody game in the second half 😁

Just came in late, are there any wannabe managers in the stands?

Yes he's there.

Need something extra in the middle of the park, celtic have far to much space

The Captain....
Will take 0-0 after that first half performance. Hanlon been a rock so far..we've defended quite well but need to somehow get into the game.

For me, Murphy is a waste of a jersey. I would hook him for Cadden

19-12-2021, 02:52 PM
Cadden for Murphy pleeeeeease

Atmosphere hibs end is pish

Two years of Jack Ross and this is what we got. We’re completely pedestrian.

Maybe not the thread for it and ultimately he helped get us here, but this is the reason he's gone. Man for man this midfield needs replaced. Second to everything pretty much every week and offer nothing from an attacking sense. Offer next to heehaw in defence too. It's pitiful that we put all our hopes and prayers on Campbell. Newell and JDH need to pull the finger out.

Just_Jimmy
For as bad as we've been we're still level.

I've seen us completely beaten in too many finals that by 20-15 to go it's pointless.

All I ever ask from Hibs in a final is to be in the game with 15 mins to go. So far they're still level. It's been poor but the result is all that matters.

I'm not sure I even know how to fix it, celtic are genuinely good but for all their possession they've not created anything of real note.

I'd like to bring on a second forward to get Nisbet into the game, maybe for campbell or JDH

Rumble de Thump
Biased referring, biased commentary. Furuhashi is terrible at diving but he's certainly giving it a good go.

wallpaperman
I genuinely rarely dislike Hibs players but I come really close with Jamie Murphy. A total enigma and chicken hearted with it. Get him off at HT.

If we get to HT at 0-0 then that can be considered a success given the runaround we have been given. A chance to regroup and refresh things.

Yes, he managed to turn a rare promising break for Hibs into more desperate defending.

Not a good team performance at all, no composure, giving away stupid fouls and bookings in the middle of the field when there is no need.

But, we are still level….

19-12-2021, 02:53 PM
Need something extra in the middle of the park, celtic have far to much space

Can’t remember a worse Hibs midfield in a final? 2012 maybe?

Hanlon is a stick on for Hibs MOTM on 1st half viewing. He's been superb.

...WentToMowAnSPL
I wish we would put on the yellow strips for the second half - a bit like putting on the foglights

19-12-2021, 02:54 PM
we're doing alright to stop them getting any clear-cut chances but at some stage we're actually going to have to push for a goal to win the thing, unless we're holding out for penalties that is

wallpaperman
19-12-2021, 02:54 PM
Biased referring, biased commentary. Furuhashi is terrible at diving but he's certainly giving it a good go.

What incident do you mean?

He certainly slipped about 5 minutes before half time, there was no dive there. And the one at the whistle I am glad that offside was given as I thought he was given a push in the back, but I would be glad to be proven wrong.

19-12-2021, 02:55 PM
Hanlon is a stuck in for Hibs MOTM on 1st half viewing. He's been superb.

That he has. Working his arse off and deserving of some credit. Hopefully he can help galvanise the rest of his team at half time.

How many subs do we get, need at least 7 with this team.

Newell goes from MOM to Mr Invisible once again, JDH has struggled since he had Covid, Nisbet and Murphy just pish, Boyle doing more defending helping out McGinn than attacking. Bang average players and their firm and league position backs that up.

For as bad as we've been we're still level.

I've seen us completely beaten in too many finals that by 20-15 to go it's pointless.

All I ever ask from Hibs in a final is to be in the game with 15 mins to go. So far they're still level. It's been poor but the result is all that matters.

I'm not sure I even know how to fix it, celtic are genuinely good but for all their possession they've not created anything of real note.

I'd like to bring on a second forward to get Nisbet into the game, maybe for campbell or JDH

Murphy off and Doidge on, if we are gonna hit easly balls forward let's have a chance if winning them, with Wizbit and Boyle playing off him

19-12-2021, 02:56 PM
Murphy must be subbed imo. Boy is useless today.

19-12-2021, 02:57 PM
we have to remember this is the team that Jack built, and to think some folk wanted him kept !

We're still in the game but that is the only plus factor .

Yeah, Hanlon our best player in that first half by a country mile.

Hanlon is a stick on for Hibs MOTM on 1st half viewing. He's been superb.

In a hotly contested race with 1 runner based on that TBF. Great performance. Whole midfield absolute dug **** and Porteous needs to be reminded he's not Beckenbauer.

I do not envy our next manager.

He certainly slipped about 5 minutes before half time, there was no dive there. And the one at the whistle I am glad that offside was given as I thought he was given a push in the back, but I would be glad to be proven wrong.

The one where he slipped, had a go at Beaton when he got up, dirty little cheat.

We will get chances 2nd half.

19-12-2021, 02:58 PM
Pretty shocking performance from Hibs IMO - McGuinn, Campbell, Murphy, Nisbet, Doyle-Hayes, Newell none of them have turned-up yet. We just lump the ball forward to no-one in particular.
The fact it is still 0-0 doesn't say much for the Glasgow lot either ...

Still in it here despite not playing well. We are working hard but lack composure on the ball. There are big spaces for us to exploit if we use the ball well. Doidge would have been a better option if we were just planning on lumping it. Think Murphy will come off as he just hasn't had any influence on the game.

Cadden needed for some energy. Murphy in games we will defend so often is a waste of a jersey. We have been terrible but quite often we have already lost a final or semi by now. Keep plugging away it worked for St Johnstone and Ross County against us. I'll enjoy a luck, scrappy, unwarranted and unlikely win just as much as a good one.

Based on what?

Sadly I can't see us winning this. We've contributed nothing so far.

At least we made it to half time without conceding.

Rumble de Thump

Yes, he does slip a lot when there's a Hibs player near him in the box.

If we do go on to win this, I’ll tell you right now I’ll not be watching that first half again on the full match DVD.

Just pretend that half never happened and start again - still all to play for and as hard a watch that was Celtic haven’t exactly bombarded our goal.

Honestly think we are going to win this. Got that feel to it despite no evidence from an analytical review of proceedings so far to suggest that is likely.

19-12-2021, 02:59 PM
Based on what?

Watching football for long enough.

Here’s hoping big chap, don’t think there goalie touched the ball in 1st half.

Watching football for long enough.

Hope you're right.

Please put Doidge on.

Not so sure …… you don’t get chances, you make chances and we’re not doing that.

Just_Jimmy
19-12-2021, 03:00 PM
Murphy off and Doidge on, if we are gonna hit easly balls forward let's have a chance if winning them, with Wizbit and Boyle playing off himYeah I agree with that. I completely forgot Murphy was playing.

Campbell could go left and bring Doidge on for Murphy.Surely we make a change at half time

Here’s hoping big chap, don’t think there goalie touched the ball in 1st half.

Im not expecting us to start dominating but we will get a chance or two.

Since Bitton has came on, he seems to just cruise through our midfield, he must be stopped 2nd half!!!!

19-12-2021, 03:01 PM
Right big half time team talk needed but hard to play vs 12 men.

We can't blame the ref for that performance. One bad yellow for KN, but it is our inability to hold on to the ball for more than 3 seconds that is our problem. Even when Macey or the central defenders pump it high and long we don't win any aerial battles. If we want to continue to play like that we better get Doidge on.

But still 0 - 0. Celtic are not exactly carving us open. Of course with so much possession you feel it is inevitable.....but not if we hold on to the ball and get it into decent areas for Boyle and Nisbet.

Am I being too optimistic in thinking our time has still to come in this match? Can't be worse and hopefully not even as bad.

Agree with others, Murphy is not contributing. If he starts the second half he needs to drop deeper to pick up the ball like Boyle is. Not ideal, but we need everyone involved.

I hope Hanlon does not go off with injured shoulders....carrying this team.

Saint Hibee
Pretty shocking performance from Hibs IMO - McGuinn, Campbell, Murphy, Nisbet, Doyle-Hayes, Newell none of them have turned-up yet. We just lump the ball forward to no-one in particular.
The fact it is still 0-0 doesn't say much for the Glasgow lot either ...

There’s not really a lot different Nisbet could’ve done given the complete capitulation of our midfield.

rotherhamrob
More in hope than anything else but surely we can't be as bad 2nd half.
Level and we've been pish.

19-12-2021, 03:02 PM
Atmosphere hibs end is pish

Can't blame them. Hardly an inspiring performance thus far.

There's a reason we're looking for a new manager and are planning for a big January window.

It’s 0-0, we are still in this game, anything can happen in 2nd half, c’mon the Hibs :flag:

GRA
At least the game is goalless at HT. Not sustainable to keep giving the ball away with aimless hoofs and continuing to get pulled side to side. Try and hold onto the ball Hibs!

It’s 0-0, we are still in this game, anything can happen in 2nd half, c’mon the Hibs :flag:

Absolutley 😎

19-12-2021, 03:03 PM
If we do go on to win this, I’ll tell you right now I’ll not be watching that first half again on the full match DVD.

Just pretend that half never happened and start again - still all to play for and as hard a watch that was Celtic haven’t exactly bombarded our goal.

Honestly think we are going to win this. Got that feel to it despite no evidence from an analytical review of proceedings so far to suggest that is likely.

I know what you mean, we just might. I’d actually feel a bit embarrassed if we were to sneak it playing like this. If I wanted to support St Johnstone I’d be a St Johnstone supporter.

we're winning this

i can feel it in my stella:flag:

Auckland Hibs
Horrible performance so far, hopefully we can only improve in the 2nd half.

19-12-2021, 03:04 PM
If Gray continues coaching I hope he realises it's not a great idea just to follow the ideas of a sacked manager.

Right C'mon Hibs let's get started here.

I would sum it up as a backs to the wall, hoping for something on the break, performance, certainly no structure to Hibs play, been like that for a while now though.

The Captain....
Cannot believe we haven't made a sub..what were they watching first half.