View Full Version : For those not going due to omicron.
18-12-2021, 07:48 PM
There are clearly going to be some empty seats due to people not going due to not wanting to take the risk. It would be a decision not taken lightly.
The fans who do make it will more than make up for those absent.
Let's not leave anything on the pitch and in the stands.
We are all Hibs.
18-12-2021, 08:03 PM
Nice post after the last few days discussions.
It’s Hibs..it’s cup finals..who knows what will happen but the fans will back the team and fingers crossed we get a performance or ideally a result playing crap or well.
NC1875
18-12-2021, 08:44 PM
Let’s go and win the cup. HIBEES
18-12-2021, 09:15 PM
I have sympathy for the regular supporters that feel they have no option but stay away from the game on this occasion. My son hardly misses a game home or away but has made the difficult decision not to go to in order to safeguard a trip to visit family next weekend . As the trip depends on his family producing negative COVID tests he feels it's not worth the risk of him picking it up at the game. I'm sure he'll be there in spirit though.
18-12-2021, 09:29 PM
100 per cent sympathise with those unwilling/unable/unwillling (due to covid) to go.
Hope Hibs bring the cup home for you 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬💚💚💚💚
WestEndHibee
18-12-2021, 09:43 PM
Was a really tough decision not to go and feel bad that I won't be there.
But for those that are, do your usual and let the players know how much this matters!
bring us home the cup.
18-12-2021, 09:52 PM
Is there least highlights on council telly?
I'm going to go but not too comfortable with it. Relatives at serious risk if they catch covid. Would prefer it was delayed.
18-12-2021, 10:20 PM
Gutted not to be there tomorrow but looking forward to watching match on Hibs TV . After nearly 2 years without travelling , I spent a few days in Scotland last week so saw Livi match . Bad timing maybe but lack of "Where are you coming from for final ? " thread here suggests I`m not the only fan who would have travelled for final who won`t make it . Was at LC finals in 2004 , 2007 and 2016 and SC finals in 2001 , 2012 , 2013 and 2016 so 2 2021 finals will be only ones missed this century hopefully . Hope everyone has a great day tomorrow and we`re all celebrating tomorrow .
bayhibs
18-12-2021, 11:32 PM
Missing my first final in 35 years. Really hard decision but will be hoping those who do attend cheer us on to victory.
19-12-2021, 12:04 AM
Is there least highlights on council telly?
Don't think there are any. YouTube will probably have something on later in the evening
19-12-2021, 12:39 AM
I was going to give the match a miss until my nerve cracked on Thursday night. I logged on and bought a ticket.
I have no great hopes for the match, but then again I probably didn't have for the Rangers match in 2016.
Hibs are overdue for a big match win against Celtic?
I am just sorry that Jack Ross will not be in charge.
PolmontHibby
19-12-2021, 01:25 AM
Only 2 of group of 5 I got tickets for going due to covid, after booking tickets/coach Edinburgh hotels.
Must admit I feel we have a good chance, but will it be the same not attending and (hopefully) celebrating, definitely not.
DarrenSQH
19-12-2021, 03:36 AM
5 of our 10 going to the game. Me and my dad have covid and the other 3 isolating.
Gutted to not be able to be there. Only second game of season we've been allowed to go too that we will have missed. County was the other one, was halfway up when got called off and couldn't make the rearranged game.
Cant believe my luck that the family avoided covid for almost 2 years and then caught it at a time thats meant no final and no Christmas this year.
Hopefully Hibs can cheer us all up today.
Irish-Hibee
19-12-2021, 04:29 AM
I've made the (Possibly stupid) decision to attend. I'm fly home to Ireland on Tuesday and will need to get a test beforehand. It was a tough decision but I've been looking forward to it and we never know when we'll next be in a final so I'm taking the risk.
The whole covid thing has really put a dampener on it though. I still wonder if I'm doing the right thing.
****** COVID
19-12-2021, 05:35 AM
Totally understand why many have chosen not to go. I have changed my travel plans cancelling my seat on a bus which is going to a social club before the game. Now taking car through, going straight to game and back.
Pre-match LFT instead of lager. Mask and scarf. Triple jabbed. Mitigating as much as possible but still wary.
bordergreen
19-12-2021, 05:49 AM
My daughter asked for tickets to the Cup Final for her birthday, so, can't let her down. We are going to join the young team's March from The Shed to Hampden. Driving instead of taking public transport too. I have a feeling about this one. As I have been saying to Celtic fans I know, David Gray kens how to win a cup...
GGTTH 💚
Setting off in an hour, let's do this Hibs. 💚
FastEddieFelson
19-12-2021, 06:39 AM
Only 5 out of our original 8 going. Might be a sell out but there's going to be a lot of empty seats.
HibeeHibernian4
19-12-2021, 07:02 AM
Everyone in our group of a dozen or so is still going. We’re all vaccinated and without symptoms, it’s more a case of why wouldn’t we go? Sympathies with anyone having to isolate or who feels they cannot risk attending today, but there’s only one place for me!
19-12-2021, 07:04 AM
Anyone who has decided not to go has my full sympathy as I was swithering myself before deciding to go.
What I would say is try to give your ticket away if you can maybe to someone who wouldn't normally find today affordable.
GGTTH.
BlackSheep
19-12-2021, 07:09 AM
Had a couple of folk from our group pull out due to isolating.
I’ve been back and forth about it all week, go or not go, drive or train, pub or no pub…. It’s a very hard decision.
I’m triple vaxxed and will be taking every precaution I can outside of sensibly staying home!
Plus if I catch it then I dont need to spend Christmas with the in laws!! 😂
19-12-2021, 07:10 AM
To everyone who is self isolating through having Covid I hope you don't develop too badly and wish you well.
For those of you who have chosen not to go for the sake your own well being and of others I salute you. I haven't had the guts to pull out. Just pray it doesn't ruin Christmas.
Stay safe everyone and I hope we all have a Cup to brighten up a terrible time.
19-12-2021, 07:55 AM
I just hope the couple of dozen that are actually going are able to make enough noise to make up for those that can't make it.
leith lynx
19-12-2021, 08:06 AM
Have not missed a major Hibs game at Hampden since 1971, still think this game should have been delayed to next March, for me navigating through to Glasgow at this time, I'm old enough to realise that the risk is too high. For all my fellow Hibernians going to the game, stay safe and with a little bit of luck the Hi-bees will bring the trophy back for us all. Like all the angels above, will be there in spirit, C'MON THE HIBS!
19-12-2021, 08:10 AM
Everyone in our group of a dozen or so is still going. We’re all vaccinated and without symptoms, it’s more a case of why wouldn’t we go? Sympathies with anyone having to isolate or who feels they cannot risk attending today, but there’s only one place for me!
Are you all taking a LFT though?
Everyone going enjoy the day and stay safe, I put family next weekend ahead of this final, I'm not worried about the virus as I'm boostered up but if I have to isolate I miss out seeing my granddaughter, daughter, son and daughter in law, this Christmas is special for certain personal reasons which make it more important.
Spoke to a mate of mine who's running a bus and he said 20 guys have called off and he's thinking of not going himself now, having the game so close to Christmas was a ridiculous decision, especially now with this new variant, a lot of people don't want to miss family gatherings due to having to isolate.
19-12-2021, 08:41 AM
Was hoping for a minor miracle and a negative PCR but confirmed as positive this morning so it's the couch for me.
Got some beer in, feeling OK and will make the best of it. Sure those in attendance will make plenty noise for the rest of us.
Was hoping for a minor miracle and a negative PCR but confirmed as positive this morning so it's the couch for me.
Got some beer in, feeling OK and will make the best of it. Sure those in attendance will make plenty noise for the rest of us.
Lets hope it's a mild one you get, my son and daughter in law have just had it, felt pretty **** for 2-3 days, said they just felt extremely tired all the time.
19-12-2021, 08:50 AM
Lets hope it's a mild one you get, my son and daughter in law have just had it, felt pretty **** for 2-3 days, said they just felt extremely tired all the time.
Felt pretty crap Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Much better today so hopefully through the worst of it.
Hope your family are all doing well.
19-12-2021, 08:53 AM
A man down at lex towers. 8 confirmed cases at his work. He’s ok for now but picking up the pieces. Edinburgh high end Hospitality by the by. Nightmare.
LunasBoots
19-12-2021, 08:53 AM
Leaving about half 12 in the car, think it's inevitable for some gaps in the stands, aslong as every Hibby does there part then we stand a chance. Stay safe, do us proud Hibs.
leith lynx
19-12-2021, 08:58 AM
Felt pretty crap Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Much better today so hopefully through the worst of it.
Hope your family are all doing well.
Glad you are feeling better mate, got to be said you are one of the best posters on this forum, GGTTH
19-12-2021, 09:02 AM
After a massive debate the 3 of us have decided to watch on TV. I feel like I’m cheating on Hibs but I’m just not willing to take the chance after being in hospital earlier this year with covid. I do feel that that this game should have been postponed until we get the latest wave of covid under control but ultimately we are all going to have to learn to live with his virus for the foreseeable future. #GGTTH
Absolutely gutted not to be making it today. Head had to rule the heart for me. My boys going though and he couldn't make the 2016 cup final so maybe it's an omen that we aren't meant to be together when we lift a cup :greengrin
Good luck to everybody going today, make enough noise for all of us and bloody appreciate the fact your there :flag::flag::flag:
19-12-2021, 09:16 AM
Glad you are feeling better mate, got to be said you are one of the best posters on this forum, GGTTH
Arguably the best. Even with covid. Some lad, even if I’ll bet he isn’t looking quite so pretty right now 🇳🇬
Big day for all hibees today if a bit different. Hope we all have brilliant days whether watching it at Hampden or on the box. Fingers crossed there’s thousands of smiling hibbies come 5pm.
Enjoy and stay safe boys and girls 👍
19-12-2021, 09:16 AM
Positive test for me this morning before boarding airplane at Heathrow. Absolutely gutted. Last nights test was negative :rolleyes:
Sorry I can’t be there with you all today but if there is one thing I know its that everyone of you there today will make up for us all that can’t make it. Hope you all have the best day of your lives. GGTTH :aok:
19-12-2021, 09:30 AM
It’s such a shame that there’s going to be so many missing out, I’ve got 2 spare tickets now if anyone wants them. I’m not wanting anything for them.
19-12-2021, 09:43 AM
It’s such a shame that there’s going to be so many missing out, I’ve got 2 spare tickets now if anyone wants them. I’m not wanting anything for them.
Make that 4 tickets.
19-12-2021, 10:09 AM
Proper gutted to be missing this. Made the call to miss it due to seeing family over Xmas.
Loads of people trying to offload tickets, I wonder just how patchy the stands might be in the end.
Saint Hibee
19-12-2021, 10:28 AM
I'm in the same boat as you. Was pretty ill the first four days, now feeling better, but still confined to the bedroom. My wife tells me that she'd read that alcohol is strictly prohibited when recovering from Covid - don't tell me this is fake news!?!!?
j'adorehibs
19-12-2021, 10:28 AM
LFT's taken here and all good to go! Two auld yins triple vaxed, youngster double vaxxed and u18 LFT proof
Lets do this
Oh and to those either sitting behind or in front of us no hugging as the goals go in please! unless your LFT'd
19-12-2021, 10:32 AM
Gutted not to be going due to isolating, it just doesn’t feel right on Cup Final day. For those going, give them a massive cheer from our family. Let’s win this Hibs. GGTTH 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
hibstag
19-12-2021, 10:36 AM
Don't think there are any. YouTube will probably have something on later in the evening
Full replay on freesports at nine
19-12-2021, 10:41 AM
LFT returned negative. Let's do this!
19-12-2021, 10:44 AM
Same here, it was a nervous few minutes wait. :greengrin
AdidasHibernian
19-12-2021, 10:56 AM
I was planning on going however I now can't access my Covid Passport which shows I've been triple jabbed so unsure weather going will be smart idea due to the fact I woukd imagine they will require proof of negative LFT or proof of vaccinations before entering stadium.
Absolute nightmare to get the correct information.
19-12-2021, 10:59 AM
I was planning on going however I now can't access my Covid Passport which shows I've been triple jabbed so unsure weather going will be smart idea due to the fact I woukd imagine they will require proof of negative LFT or proof of vaccinations before entering stadium.
If it's anything like the semi-final, you'll have no trouble getting in.
19-12-2021, 11:00 AM
Same here, it was a nervous few minutes wait. :greengrin
Cannae believe how stressful that was.:agree:
I'm not going but did an LFT along with my crowd who are going, the burden of what if mine is positive was almost worse than what if theirs was!
AdidasHibernian
19-12-2021, 11:01 AM
If it's anything like the semi-final, you'll have no trouble getting in.
I pressume they weren't checking it? I missed semi due to being hospital bound for something unrelated to covid, as I'm a renal dialysis patient.
Wondering weather to risk it or not as can't get online to the NHS app to even resolve it.
I wouldn’t that stop you, they’ll hardly be checked. Or download the PDF copy from NHS Inform.
Cant you log onto nhs inform and screen shot the info?
AdidasHibernian
19-12-2021, 11:04 AM
Will have a look at that just now and go from there
Thanks
19-12-2021, 11:04 AM
I pressume they weren't checking it? I missed semi due to being hospital bound for something unrelated to covid, as I'm a renal dialysis patient.
Wondering weather to risk it or not as can't get online to the NHS app to even resolve it.
Not sure how practical or available this is at this time (are they even open on Sunday) but you could pick up lateral flow tests free at boots I think. Be a shame not to get to the game if it’s just paperwork stopping you.
19-12-2021, 11:05 AM
Definitely this - just screenshot the pdf you can download on there. It’s all I have saved as my ‘passport’.
19-12-2021, 11:11 AM
Good news for all Hibees. I’m not going. I missed the 2016 final due to a holiday that had been booked long before the cup run started. I came to the the conclusion, after that, that I was actually the jinx.
Was one of a family group of four attending this final but had to be cancel because of a family illness (not covid) so you can all enjoy the final knowing the jinx is not attending. 🙄
AdidasHibernian
19-12-2021, 11:15 AM
Thanks everyone for help.
Went into the NHS Inform app and updated my Covid Status, have been given the code to scan which should be fine to confirm I'm ok to attend.
Thanks everyone for help
For everyone going, stay safe and enjoy..let's hope for a win!
🇳🇬💚
19-12-2021, 11:32 AM
Thanks everyone for help.
Went into the NHS Inform app and updated my Covid Status, have been given the code to scan which should be fine to confirm I'm ok to attend.
Thanks everyone for help
For everyone going, stay safe and enjoy..let's hope for a win!
🇳🇬💚
Hurrah!!
19-12-2021, 11:43 AM
Gutted to be missing out today but I've just completed isolation and got over my 2nd bout of Covid in 2 years so wasn't willing to risk it so close to Xmas - I'm gutted but need to try and put family first. Be cheering on from my living room instead and hope the boys cheers us all up and bring the cup home to Leith
19-12-2021, 11:51 AM
Only 3 out of my group of 7 going.
I went through an agonising decision making process and decided that I wanted to minimise the risk so that I don’t have another Christmas without seeing my family.
I feel the game should have been postponed until the Spring instead of risking a super spreader event.
Stonewall
19-12-2021, 11:54 AM
Just done a positive LFT so that’s our group of 9 down to 5.
This is madness. No way the game should be being played today.
Stay safe everyone.
19-12-2021, 11:56 AM
Just done a positive LFT so that’s our group of 9 down to 5.
This is madness. No way the game should be being played today.
Stay safe everyone.
Will be another variant to stop it in March, then June and so on.
Feel for folk like you testing positive though.
Greenio
19-12-2021, 12:03 PM
Mental hearing all the stories of positive tests.
Thoughts are with those that have had to miss out or make difficult decisions.
A final like no others, thats for sure
Stonewall
19-12-2021, 12:03 PM
Will be another variant to stop it in March, then June and so on.
Feel for folk like you testing positive though.
Don’t have to go to the in-laws so always a positive.
The dalmeny
19-12-2021, 12:32 PM
Don’t have to go to the in-laws so always a positive.
harsh but fair, hope it’s no to serious
McHibby
19-12-2021, 01:32 PM
There are clearly going to be some empty seats due to people not going due to not wanting to take the risk. It would be a decision not taken lightly.
The fans who do make it will more than make up for those absent.
Let's not leave anything on the pitch and in the stands.
We are all Hibs.
Great post. We *are* all Hibs and even with a depleted attendance I know we'll still comprehensively out-sing the Celtic fans will and let the team & David Gray know how much we love our club - regardless of the result 👍
Wherever you are all watching it, stay safe and enjoy the match.
19-12-2021, 05:03 PM
Gutted I wasn’t there but I’m also glad now I’m not trudging out of Hamden after yet another final defeat. Didn’t deserve to win really but to get done by Beaton again is just pathetic. We’ll done to all those who went. Until the next time. GGTTH 🇳🇬🇳🇬
19-12-2021, 08:38 PM
Must admit, I expected to see a lot more empty seats today.
He's here!
19-12-2021, 08:42 PM
Must admit, I expected to see a lot more empty seats today.
I wasn't there so couldn't really tell from the TV but did it look as though any Celtic fans decided to give it a miss for health reasons?
19-12-2021, 08:45 PM
A man down at lex towers. 8 confirmed cases at his work. He’s ok for now but picking up the pieces. Edinburgh high end Hospitality by the by. Nightmare.
Now 28 positive cases at his place of work. The work-lace will not be open any time soon. It was deep cleaned by a company and now 4 of that company now positive.
My daughter had her works Christmas night out a week past Friday. 11 of them went onto pubs after the initial meal etc. 8 of them now positive. This week should be fun.
Now 28 positive cases at his place of work. The work-lace will not be open any time soon. It was deep cleaned by a company and now 4 of that company now positive.
My daughter had her works Christmas night out a week past Friday. 11 of them went onto pubs after the initial meal etc. 8 of them now positive. This week should be fun.
This one's running through us. I can't believe how many people I know positive or has the same story as you . Far more than any of the other waves. Thankfully it doesn't seem respiratory so they aren't as ill. Hope you stay negative!
BegbieHSC
19-12-2021, 09:53 PM
After all the reports of Omicron, I’m not looking forward to tomorrow morning’s LFT. Not winning in the final is bad enough, but if I got covid too, what a sucker punch that would be 😅.
19-12-2021, 10:05 PM
I thought our support was superb today turned up in numbers and really got behind the team out singing the Celtic fans from start to finish even although the difference in quality and budget was there for all to see
HIBS were unlucky not to push the game into extra time
Will watch it again on the box and take a Covid test :greengrin
19-12-2021, 10:13 PM
Apologies to the admins.
Does anyone know how long it takes after infection for it to show on a lateral flow?
BegbieHSC
19-12-2021, 10:25 PM
Apologies to the admins.
Does anyone know how long it takes after infection for it to show on a lateral flow?
Apparently Omicron can appear very quickly, ie. the next day, but standard covid can take up to 6 days to appear on a LFT.
Basically, if Omicron was about today, some may get bad news on the tests tomorrow. My plan is to test daily between now and Xmas Day.
19-12-2021, 10:27 PM
Apparently Omicron can appear very quickly, ie. the next day, but standard covid can take up to 6 days to appear on a LFT.
Basically, if Omicron was about today, some may get bad news on the tests tomorrow. My plan is to test daily between now and Xmas Day.
Thanks.
BegbieHSC
19-12-2021, 10:31 PM
In fairness, transmission in an outdoor stadium is going to be quite low, as ventilation is key, so if you drove, and went straight to your seat, your risk to exposure will be quite low.
I think busy trains/buses and of course busy pubs in the build up and aftermath of games is what is concerning health officials/journos most about football right now.
Apologies to the admins.
Waste of time testing before Wednesday. If you are ok three days later you probably won’t have the Omicron variant. Not out of the woods for Covid until Hogmanay
19-12-2021, 10:41 PM
Waste of time testing before Wednesday. If you are ok three days later you probably won’t have the Omicron variant. Not out of the woods for Covid until Hogmanay
Thanks, too.