View Full Version : Memorable games in the ‘away’ end!

17-12-2021, 09:24 AM
The cup final ticket thread has got me thinking about any memorable games you’ve attended where you’ve ended up sitting in the opponent’s section of the ground, how did it go……any trouble?

I remember my Celtic supporting uncle taking me to the 89 Scottish cup semi at Hampden and giving me a good kick in the shins when I gave out a loud roar when Steve Archibald scored, given that I was only 12 combined with the fact we were getting well beaten by then I remember only a few rolls of the eyes and laughs, probably more pity than anger!😂

17-12-2021, 09:47 AM
In the Club deck at Ibrox the day Darren Jackson scored a winning penalty. Tweed and Millan were brilliant that day. Hard to keep quiet but managed it.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

17-12-2021, 09:57 AM
In a bar behind the Broomloan Stand pre match HIBS scarf up the jooks circa 2000 Latapy Sauzee era top of the table clash

Random Hun approaches me “ Big game the day Big Man “

Aye says Billyhibs taking a sip out of his pint

We lost 0-1

Edit

IIRC the bar was underneath the Stand in the home end so was in the Bears Den

17-12-2021, 09:57 AM
I was in the away end when danny galbraith scored the winner at celtic, my mate was raging, wouldnt even look at me!!

17-12-2021, 10:01 AM
Sittng in the Govan Stand as Ivan Sproule dismantled the huns with his hat-trick. Honestly one of the best Hibs experiences ever, drinking in the rage and dissapointment around me.

17-12-2021, 10:10 AM
I was in the old stand at Greyskull when Orman scored a cracking equaliser.

I was glad of my extra paunch because it helped keep my erse firmly on my hands!

I was also in the away end in Norway for a Scotland game. I doubt anyone noticed given that all 4 of us were camouflaged in kilts and Scotland tops. :greengrin

I wished we hadn't been there because although I didn't understand what the folk around me were saying, I could sense the pity and mirth when Norway scored their 3rd and 4th goals!

17-12-2021, 10:35 AM
I was in the France end when we beat them at the Parc des Princes with James McFadden scoring the winner.

TBH there were more Scots than French around us so it didn't really feel all that unusual.

I remember the French being sound, which I would most certainly not have been had the roles been reversed.

I've never been in the wrong end for a Hibs game.

17-12-2021, 10:49 AM
Was at Ibrox way back in the day with my bro in law. In the rangers end. A 1-1 draw with two OGs IIRC. Sloop and Derek Johnstone. A real eye opener. Flute bands the lot.

17-12-2021, 11:00 AM
I went with a pal from Ayr to both games at Somerset in the "great adventure" season. The second one was a routine 0-3 where I just suppressed my inner glow. The first one we came back from 1-3 down to 3-3 in the last few mins. Yogi Hughes got the equaliser and I'm pretty sure it was Russell Latapy's debut? He was the star anyway. My mate and his Ayr pals had been taunting me all game, so I did give a bit back (as quietly as I could). When the equaliser went in I was hanging onto him to stop myself jumping.

My other memorable experience was hospitality at Fir Park with my uncle the day Jim Leighton got sent off and Andy Millen played in goal. I gave myself away as a Hibby early because I had Kevin Harper first scorer at 16/1. Then with the sending off it got a bit tense and there were some pointed passive/aggressive verbals on both sides but honours even and no harm done by the end. :greengrin

17-12-2021, 11:04 AM
I went with a pal from Ayr to both games at Somerset in the "great adventure" season. The second one was a routine 0-3 where I just suppressed my inner glow. The first one we came back from 1-3 down to 3-3 in the last few mins. Yogi Hughes got the equaliser and I'm pretty sure it was Russell Latapy's debut? He was the star anyway. My mate and his Ayr pals had been taunting me all game, so I did give a bit back (as quietly as I could). When the equaliser went in I was hanging onto him to stop myself jumping.

My other memorable experience was hospitality at Fir Park with my uncle the day Jim Leighton got sent off and Andy Millen played in goal. I gave myself away as a Hibby early because I had Kevin Harper first scorer at 16/1. Then with the sending off it got a bit tense and there were some pointed passive/aggressive verbals on both sides but honours even and no harm done by the end. :greengrin
I was in hospitality at Celtic Park once. Let go when Kevin Harper scored. Was jokingly told to calm the **** down by Billy Connolly and Tony Roper who were sat in front of me. They scored three I think Piere van honkytonk grabbed them all.

17-12-2021, 11:23 AM
Tynecastle January 1st 1973. :greengrin

17-12-2021, 11:30 AM
old stand at Greyskull many years ago, with my mate Eddie. went there because we assumed it would be quiet amongst the old men.

Old men with razor scars and bits of ears missing.

crapping ourselves all game, lost 1-0

Never again

17-12-2021, 11:31 AM
I was in the France end when we beat them at the Parc des Princes with James McFadden scoring the winner.

TBH there were more Scots than French around us so it didn't really feel all that unusual.

I remember the French being sound, which I would most certainly not have been had the roles been reversed.

Yip, that was my favourite.

One for special mention was Macedonia in 2008.

Most of the fans had been locked out as anyone in a kilt was not getting in the home end.

We had scoped out the stadium and saw it looked proper moody with armoured cops milling around. So back to the hotel and changed into “civvies”.

On approaching the ground we realised we had tickets for different gates in the ground. My Dad went in first and I was told to go to the other gate down the stand a bit. My Dad gave a bit of a Great Escape “Good Luck, see you in there” (almost blowing our cover).

I wandered down to the next gate just as an army of Macedonian Ultras were coming towards the Ultra end behind the goals. Shaat myself.

Turns out once we were in that I just had to duck under some tape and I was in the same section as the old man.

Sat chatting to some clearly anti Muslim Macedonian who was obsessed with the whole Rangers v Celtic religion thing. He kept telling us we’d get our throats cut if we went into the Turkish quarter. Immediately after the game we went into the Turkish Quarter for beers and dinner. Had an excellent night.

17-12-2021, 11:42 AM
Tynecastle 1.0 Hunter game

Roxyhibee
17-12-2021, 11:55 AM
Tynecastle 1.0 Hunter game

Yes that was my big one. Me and my mate got tickets for the old death trap Tynie stand. Can’t recall how but we normally went with a crowd who refused to go to this one given the fact it seemed impossible to beat them, so maybe we got them very last minute.

Still cheered the goal and at FT though - there were a good few dozen Hibbies in there.

Cat Stanton
17-12-2021, 12:14 PM
Motherwell end for the 6-6 game. Big fat laugh.

17-12-2021, 12:44 PM
Was at Ibrox way back in the day with my bro in law. In the rangers end. A 1-1 draw with two OGs IIRC. Sloop and Derek Johnstone. A real eye opener. Flute bands the lot.

Absolute lunacy at that place back then. Think its bad now? Dangerous is not the word.

A game maybe a few seasons before your story.
I remember a Hibs fan being marched round the running track from the "home end"
He was deposited among the Hibs supporters.
Caught in the wrong end and rescued by PC Plod for his safety.
As he was being escorted round the track, the Animals were spitting on him all the way round to us.
What a mess he was in.

It was a guy i used to attend a few away games with back then........ Big Frank Dougan !! They did not miss him !

17-12-2021, 01:26 PM
I was at Chelsea with my dad for the FA Charity Shield match 1970. Shed End.

Everton scored and I jumped up in the air. Bad move.

Luckily it was the summer and not a hugely competitive match.

17-12-2021, 01:30 PM
I was in the Sevconian main stand when Lewis Stevenson scored that belter in a 2-0 win. Fortunately their fans were revolting against the board and staged a walkout during the match so it wasn't as nasty as it could have been. Would never do it again as it is no fun listening to the sectarian bile that comes out of that ground.

17-12-2021, 01:42 PM
Absolute lunacy at that place back then. Think its bad now? Dangerous is not the word.

A game maybe a few seasons before your story.
I remember a Hibs fan being marched round the running track from the "home end"
He was deposited among the Hibs supporters.
Caught in the wrong end and rescued by PC Plod for his safety.
As he was being escorted round the track, the Animals were spitting on him all the way round to us.
What a mess he was in.

It was a guy i used to attend a few away games with back then........ Big Frank Dougan !! They did not miss him !

There wasn’t really a “home” end there though before the 80s was there …was no real segregated areas ….

Hibeesforever
17-12-2021, 01:58 PM
I went to Celtic Park on the spur of a moment around 2013. The lady in the celtic ticket office said she wasn't selling away tickets....some quick thinking and I asked the gentleman who I had been talking to if he would by me a ticket ? He was surprised and obliged...when we entered the ground it was very strange and I was slightly concerned when my new Celtic friend just left me to my own devices...fortunately Hibs didn't play well and we lost by a couple of goals, sure I would have celebrated if Hibs had scored...!

17-12-2021, 01:58 PM
Was in the away end in the wing stand for 1979 Cup final first game. Our seats were in the second back row. Cock up by SFA sent us tickets for wrong wing stand. If we encountered any hassle we would leave. 6 Liverpool Hibs fans joined us. They were bricking it. A Rangers fan got up from his seat and approached my dad. They proceeded to hug each other much to the disgust of other Rangers fans. The guy was a team mate of my dad from the Junior football days. Got through the 90 mins unscathed, some Rangers fans were sound that day.

1972 semi final replay was in the old North stand at Hampden only about 20 Hibs fans in it. Due to past experience did not wear any colours. At the end of the game Rangers fans outside were after blood heading for where the Hibs buses were parked.

17-12-2021, 02:00 PM
I was in the home end (big stand behind the goal) at Pittodrie as a guest of my mate when Riordan scored a penalty in a 1-0 win. Was torture watching the Hibees go mental while i sat on my hands. Swore i'd never do it again.

MM19
17-12-2021, 02:04 PM
The auld stand at Ibrox with my husband when Joe Harper scored the winner really hard no to jump up. Also in the main terracing surrounded by huns for the 1-0 game in the league cup when Crops scored in the last minute maybe 1972 or 73 we needed a draw to go through they had to win.

17-12-2021, 02:08 PM

I was in the home end that night, definitely more Scotland fans in the stand behind the goal we scored into.

Orchard_Hibs
17-12-2021, 02:08 PM
Sittng in the Govan Stand as Ivan Sproule dismantled the huns with his hat-trick. Honestly one of the best Hibs experiences ever, drinking in the rage and dissapointment around me.

I was in the club deck that day, think I was the only one left when Ivan scored the 3rd

17-12-2021, 02:52 PM
Cup game at Ibrox when they were building the Govan. That's when I found out how disgusting they are.

17-12-2021, 03:23 PM
Tynecastle January 1st 1973. :greengrin

Missed 1st 3 goals and only got in when Hearts fans started going home so ended up at wrong end

timewilltell
17-12-2021, 03:24 PM
1972 League Cup Final. 2-1 Hibs, I was in the Celtic end. Stanton and O"Rourke 60 and 66 mins. Moments in time.

17-12-2021, 04:00 PM
Club deck Ibrox hospitality at the Calderwood era 3-0. Joyful, they were seething. My fully signed Teamsheet from the evening raised a few bob on here for Dnipro Kids.

17-12-2021, 04:05 PM
Dortmund 2014. We were sat in the furthest corner from the official away 'end', but it was packed with Scotland fans.

A very different experience from a club game, though.

We had a great time with the German Fans at the train station after the game, where each group was trying to out sing the other. I think the bagpipes gave us the advantage and the Germans politely applauded the winners.

OstKurve Hibs
17-12-2021, 04:13 PM
Used to go to college in dundee back in the day. We were playin united at at tannadice so met a mate fae the college for a few before the game and ended up goin in the united end wi him.
Was the game tam McManus done his pole dance and I think we won 2-1.

Bushwoof
17-12-2021, 04:34 PM
Was in with the hun hordes for a cup final (league cup I think) against Dundee Utd, when Ian Redford missed a pen for them at 0-0. Couldn't help cheering. I was about to die when in a moment of inspiration I came out with "aw naw, I thought it was in".
Saved by the fact that there was a polis 2 yards away, and me (to my continued shame and disgust) sporting a large union jack loaned to me by my hun mate as a disguise. Nevertheless looked upon with suspicion and dislike by an ugly mob for the rest of the match.
Truly horrific. Never again. And the huns won the replay IIRC.

17-12-2021, 04:49 PM
2007 League Cup Final.

17-12-2021, 04:56 PM
There wasn’t really a “home” end there though before the 80s was there …was no real segregated areas ….
At Ibrox and Celtic Park, there was segregation.
Hibs fans going to Ibrox back then would use turnstiles at the "Celtic end"
I have been in the old Jungle at Celtic Park back in the day.
Not for the faint hearted and non Celtic fans if discovered.
Common sense applied back in day, pre all seated segregated grounds.
Same exiting Ibrox back then. Take a wrong turn at your peril.
Their hatred of,and bile towards us is nothing new.

Logie Green
17-12-2021, 04:58 PM
In with Millwall fans when we played them in a pre-season ‘friendly’ at The Den in 1990. 😳

Bobo
17-12-2021, 05:08 PM
I was in the old stand at Greyskull when Orman scored a cracking equaliser.

I was in the Clubdeck that day and managed to remain seated as the ball almost burst the net but seconds later my phone rang (GGTTH ringtone) I've never moved so fast 🤣 Orks weren't happy.

I'm sure the mate that tried to phone me did it deliberately 😈 note to self after that was always put your phone on vibrate 🥴

The Green Sea
17-12-2021, 06:35 PM
4 all at the PBS in the old tinder box stand. Brutal watching us throwing it away.

The Green Sea
17-12-2021, 06:36 PM
In with Millwall fans when we played them in a pre-season ‘friendly’ at The Den in 1990. 😳

Went to QPR v Millwall. A real eye opener.

17-12-2021, 06:40 PM

The Friday night when many legends were built. First time in London, bit of an eye opener as stated.

17-12-2021, 06:49 PM
I was in the corner of the old terracing at tinkcastle with a hearts mate for a pre season friendly against Real Sociedad(*I think it was). As the Spanish team ran out the guy behind me ROARED 'Mon hearts! Get intae these durty fenian basturts ...... Different times eh

17-12-2021, 06:55 PM
I was in the corner of the old terracing at tinkcastle with a hearts mate for a pre season friendly against Real Sociedad(*I think it was). As the Spanish team ran out the guy behind me ROARED 'Mon hearts! Get intae these durty fenian basturts ...... Different times eh

I remember being in much the same spot when Hearts played Dnipro, if I recall correctly I had a 10er treble on Spurs, Aston Villa and Dnipro for 3 aways, they were all about 11/4 and the 2 English teams had won in Eastern Europe in the afternoon. Nae Betfair then unfortunately.

17-12-2021, 07:03 PM
Wont get much kudos on here I know :greengrin but was in the German end Germany 1 England 5. Wasnt alone and the Germans were fine didnt ee any trouble anyway. fantastic night. Was in the old Olympic Stadium pre Allianz days they had a fantastic fan park around the stadium great food and drink and merchandise.

17-12-2021, 07:06 PM
In the 70s you would have to be insane to stand in the Rangers end. I imagine it's the same these days.

In the 1979 cup final replay at Hampden (there were two) we were a pretty meagre crowd and the terrace next to us was full of huns - even at the away end.

We were intimidated throughout the match and the police did absolutely nothing about it.