View Full Version : PDC World Championship Darts
02-01-2022, 05:25 PM
Price is now calling out the Ally Pally crowd as cheats for their behaviour during his loss to Smith. Albeit that he has a point, the animosity towards Price started after he aggressively got in Gary Anderson's face, which at the time was correctly called out as gamesmanship, which is the Sunday word for cheating. So reap what you sow.
02-01-2022, 07:15 PM
Price is now calling out the Ally Pally crowd as cheats for their behaviour during his loss to Smith. Albeit that he has a point, the animosity towards Price started after he aggressively got in Gary Anderson's face, which at the time was correctly called out as gamesmanship, which is the Sunday word for cheating. So reap what you sow.
As I recall the animosity was there long before that moment. It maybe ramped it up further but he was getting booed all the time for quite a while before that incident. He is right to all it out as it has to stop.Perhaps darts have to bring in new rules to combat gamesmanship but that is another debate. To be fair to Price he was very graceful in defeat to Smith.
02-01-2022, 07:23 PM
Whilst I don’t want Smith to win it ahead of Anderson I would be delighted for him, he must be one of the most sporting players on the circuit who is never slow to give a little clap or fist bump to his opponent no matter the circumstances of the game, I used to think it made him look a wee bit soft but, it's actually to his great credit when you consider how many heartbreaking moments he has had to endure.
02-01-2022, 07:24 PM
Wade making a game of it - 2-1 down.
02-01-2022, 07:25 PM
Whilst I don’t want Smith to win it ahead of Anderson I would be delighted for him, he must be one of the most sporting players on the circuit who is never slow to give a little clap or fist bump to his opponent no matter the circumstances of the game, I used to think it made him look a wee bit soft but, it's actually to his great credit when you consider how many heartbreaking moments he has had to endure.
:top marks Totally agree
Also think Anderson took him under his wing when he was breaking through , Paid for accommodation for him in tournaments , Wouldn't be to bothered if Smith won the tournament
02-01-2022, 07:30 PM
:top marks Totally agree
Also think Anderson took him under his wing when he was breaking through , Paid for accommodation for him in tournaments , Wouldn't be to bothered if Smith won the tournament
He did indeed. Might be due a cut of his prize money! 😉
02-01-2022, 07:34 PM
3-1 Smith, Wade will be kicking himself.
02-01-2022, 07:35 PM
3-1 Smith, Wade will be kicking himself.
Hard hopefully 😉
02-01-2022, 07:40 PM
Saw the highlights of Smith and Price earlier, pity I was sitting in a train last night whilst it was on, although to be honest I would probably have been seeing them scoring 360s instead of 180s! 🍺 😲🍺
02-01-2022, 07:47 PM
4-1.
02-01-2022, 07:48 PM
4-1 Smith. Bizarre decision by Wade to go for 2 double tops when he has 3 darts in hand.
HibsGW
02-01-2022, 07:52 PM
Wade is a Craig Levein lookalike
02-01-2022, 07:57 PM
5-1 it's a rout.
02-01-2022, 07:59 PM
Nae one is stopping Smith if he keeps this level up !!
02-01-2022, 08:02 PM
5-1 it's a rout.
Wade finished as a club! 😁
02-01-2022, 08:04 PM
5-2.
02-01-2022, 08:17 PM
5-3.
Game on?
02-01-2022, 08:19 PM
5-3.
Game on?
The old Smith would bottle it not this one , Will comfortably hold for a 6-3 win
02-01-2022, 08:28 PM
Who are the crowd going to boo now?
02-01-2022, 08:29 PM
6-3 Smith.
02-01-2022, 08:38 PM
Who are the crowd going to boo now?
Both of them?
02-01-2022, 08:55 PM
1-0 Wright.
02-01-2022, 09:09 PM
2-0 Wright.
02-01-2022, 09:09 PM
Dinnae see Anderson coming back from 2 down, thought that when Hibs were 2 down at Tynecastle though! 😃
02-01-2022, 09:21 PM
3-0 now. I can’t see Anderson coming back from here.
02-01-2022, 09:21 PM
3-0 it's a pumping.
02-01-2022, 09:28 PM
3-1 - game on!
02-01-2022, 09:42 PM
3-2!
02-01-2022, 09:45 PM
Anderson’s level has gone up and Wrights level has dipped a bit. Game on again but still fancy Wright.
02-01-2022, 09:54 PM
4-2.
02-01-2022, 10:00 PM
So weird watching Wright play Anderson. I want both to win and neither to lose.
02-01-2022, 10:01 PM
4-3.
02-01-2022, 10:13 PM
5-3.
Can't see Anderson winning from here.
JXM73
02-01-2022, 10:24 PM
No watched darts since jocky wilson days, loving this battle 5-4
02-01-2022, 10:24 PM
5-4!
02-01-2022, 10:32 PM
Wright breaks the 180 record.
02-01-2022, 10:34 PM
6-4 Wright great match.
What a match!
was hoping for Anderson but Wright was phenomenal, although Anderson was brilliant himself
02-01-2022, 10:35 PM
Superb match. Anderson rallied but Wright managed to hold on.
02-01-2022, 10:53 PM
Tremendous nights entertainment, struggling to pick a winner for tomorrow, hopefully it goes the distance.
02-01-2022, 11:35 PM
Best weekend of darts I’ve ever seen. Standard was absolutely frightening.
K-Zazu
03-01-2022, 12:57 PM
Actually considering watching it with no volume tonight, can’t handle anymore kolo and Scotland get battered songs
Tobias Funke
03-01-2022, 02:38 PM
Tremendous nights entertainment, struggling to pick a winner for tomorrow, hopefully it goes the distance.
Can’t see either of them winning it easily, honestly can’t choose between the two, both heavy scorers and decent finishers.
7-5 or 7-6 either way, splinters on my erse from sitting on the fence!
03-01-2022, 05:52 PM
Smiths time I think and hes played pretty brilliantly so far. Hoping for a cracker but I think Smith will be reasonably comfortable I'll go 7-4 Smith.
03-01-2022, 06:43 PM
Surprised Wright is odds on to win !
Must be because he has been their got the T-shirt
03-01-2022, 07:03 PM
Prepare yourself boys , Scotlands getting battered will be aired every 5 minutes !!!
Love Michael Smith and have followed his progress from the beginning so genuinely not fussed who wins
Sit doon with the beers :cb
03-01-2022, 07:13 PM
Tough one to call. Will Smith get the jitters or can he continue with his amazing form? Will the crowd have an influence? Will Wrights experience be an important factor. I think Wright sneaks it.
03-01-2022, 07:21 PM
Wright was ridiculous last night and not surprised he’s favourite - I do however think he’s the more likely to make a slower start or not put in the same performance again based on what we’ve seen so far.
I think Smith will turn up and can do the business. 7-3
03-01-2022, 07:30 PM
How bad was that second leg :greengrin
03-01-2022, 07:30 PM
wright should have hit a six with his first dart instead of using 23 shots at a double 5
03-01-2022, 07:34 PM
wright should have hit a six with his first dart instead of using 23 shots at a double 5
Very rarely see someone split double 5. It’s not in a bad place. If anything it would be a 2 for double 4 anyway I would say.
In hindsight it may have been better than his double 5s I suppose 😂
03-01-2022, 07:35 PM
1-0 Wright.
03-01-2022, 07:35 PM
Wright 1st set 1-0
03-01-2022, 07:36 PM
Very rarely see someone split double 5. It’s not in a bad place. If anything it would be a 2 for double 4 anyway I would say.
In hindsight it may have been better than his double 5s I suppose 😂
Yep 2 double 4 way to go
I'd only be splitting double 5 if my opponent wasn't on a finish
03-01-2022, 07:37 PM
Nervy first set. Could have went either way really.
03-01-2022, 07:46 PM
Outstanding 148 from Wright.
03-01-2022, 07:46 PM
Both players nervous as ****.
03-01-2022, 07:47 PM
2-0 Wright
03-01-2022, 07:48 PM
2-0 Wright, 124 to win the set - outstanding.
03-01-2022, 07:49 PM
Old addage but if you cant hit your doubles youve got no chance. Dont know where Smith has left his but he hasnt brought them to the oche hes in big trouble if that continues. He's been right on it all the way through the tournament too, big match nerves I guess.
03-01-2022, 07:50 PM
Wrights timing must be hurting Smith but probably not as much as much as Smiths doubling. You can see it’s already playing on his mind.
03-01-2022, 07:52 PM
mon snakebite wrap this up by 9:20pm so i can get to asda
03-01-2022, 07:57 PM
167 michael smith yikes
Sensational 167 from Smith.
Old addage but if you cant hit your doubles youve got no chance. Dont know where Smith has left his but he hasnt brought them to the oche hes in big trouble if that continues. He's been right on it all the way through the tournament too, big match nerves I guess.
Just warming up. The standard will be flying shortly.
03-01-2022, 07:58 PM
imagine cheering when someones dart jumps out
03-01-2022, 07:59 PM
Just warming up. The standard will be flying shortly.
Was certainly on it in that last set.
03-01-2022, 07:59 PM
2-1.
03-01-2022, 08:09 PM
The fans tonight have been a disgrace.
2-2 missed a big chance there Wright.
Wright misses 2 darts for 3-1 now 2-2
wright mucked that one up eh
The fans tonight have been a disgrace.
Been a disgrace the whole tournament
2-2, Wright should have won that.
Huge moment.
03-01-2022, 08:23 PM
3-2 Wright
03-01-2022, 08:23 PM
3-2 pw
03-01-2022, 08:24 PM
Yaaaas 3-2 Wright.
03-01-2022, 08:25 PM
thankfully Asda is 24 hours
03-01-2022, 08:26 PM
Wright flagging a bit but held on. Now up to Smith to hold onto the set he has throw in.
03-01-2022, 08:27 PM
thankfully Asda is 24 hours
03-01-2022, 08:35 PM
3-3.
03-01-2022, 08:40 PM
Wright looks like he needs a Mars bar and a lucozade in him.
03-01-2022, 08:41 PM
4-3 Smith.
Not looking good at the moment.
03-01-2022, 08:42 PM
4-3 Smith
Not a hope in hell Wright is winninng this from here , Not a chance
Smith seems to be hitting 140 at least every 3 darts , You can't live with that
03-01-2022, 08:42 PM
Wright looks like he needs a Mars bar and a lucozade in him.
it's a Rocket he needs
i think i'm going to be glad i cashed out,at a loss, even when he went ahead 3-2
03-01-2022, 08:44 PM
Anyone else annoyed at the Wickes adverts. There's one where he fits a panel around a pipe and it's soooo squint.
Think I need to let these things go 🤣
03-01-2022, 08:44 PM
Wright needs to come out firing next set. Smith will falter nearer the line if he keeps in touch.
03-01-2022, 08:55 PM
4-4 say what you want but Wright has baws the size of church bells !
03-01-2022, 08:55 PM
4-4!
03-01-2022, 09:10 PM
Nah you should not have went for the bull Wright !
wright blows it yet again
5-4 Smith.
Looks ominous now.
Poor decision making from Wright. Trying to land the big fish for show and it's cost him the set.
bringbackbenny
03-01-2022, 09:19 PM
Big baws there from Wright, amazing
03-01-2022, 09:19 PM
that's better 5-5
03-01-2022, 09:20 PM
5-5!
03-01-2022, 09:21 PM
Cmon Peter win this. I like Smith but these English dicks do my box in.
03-01-2022, 09:30 PM
6-5 snakebite
03-01-2022, 09:30 PM
6-5 Wright!
03-01-2022, 09:32 PM
Superb from Wright.
03-01-2022, 09:33 PM
2-0 wright
this will be 2-1
wright to throw for the match
03-01-2022, 09:36 PM
Well done Peter Wright
03-01-2022, 09:36 PM
snakebite wins :thumbsup::thumbsup:
and i only lost £6 ;)
03-01-2022, 09:37 PM
Yaaaaaaas 7-5 Wright. Get in there.
bringbackbenny
03-01-2022, 09:37 PM
Incredible darts to win, he was down and out.
03-01-2022, 09:38 PM
snakebite wins :thumbsup::thumbsup:
and i only lost £6 ;)
Worthy winner....but I had a score on Smith at 33's.
03-01-2022, 09:40 PM
Absolutely fantastic by Wright. Funnily enough when they were giving it laldy with Scotland gets battered, it seemed to galvanise him. Well done ya twats.
03-01-2022, 09:40 PM
Worthy winner....but I had a score on Smith at 33's.
i'm guessing that was before the tournament started :greengrin £660 lift would've been rather sweet
03-01-2022, 09:41 PM
That was absolutely amazing. Honestly thought he’d chucked it and was going to lose 7-4. Incredible stuff and proper silenced that crowd.
03-01-2022, 09:44 PM
The crowd have set the narrative in a few of the sessions I’ve watched, it’s not been great at times.
03-01-2022, 09:45 PM
Couldn’t believe how quiet it was on the championship dart.
03-01-2022, 09:47 PM
Couldn’t believe how quiet it was on the championship dart.
Crowd got bored and hungover by the end, and weren’t interested in the most exciting part. Embarrassing audience for a worlds final
Been easily the worst crowd in PDC history this year though.
03-01-2022, 09:50 PM
Classy interview from Wright.
FifeHibs
03-01-2022, 10:32 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/TheRedBit180/status/1478134794592702465
Some stats for the last 10 legs amazing under the pressure and crowd noise
03-01-2022, 11:45 PM
Delighted for Wright, but feel for Smith he seems such a top bloke.
04-01-2022, 12:18 AM
Crowd got bored and hungover by the end, and weren’t interested in the most exciting part. Embarrassing audience for a worlds final
Yep horrific crowd. PDC need to do something about it but will be difficult
04-01-2022, 11:12 AM
Yep horrific crowd. PDC need to do something about it but will be difficult
For all the faults the BDO had, and there were many, the Lakeside always felt like more of a proper darts crowd.
Even at the Circus Tavern the PDC seemed a lot more darts orientated. Now it just seems like another one of those tick box events for 'lads' to go and get tanked up and act like dickheads. I was at the Premier League in Glasgow a few years back and it was horrendous. Guys lobbing drinks at the players, rampant xenophobia (witnessed again at Ally Pally this week) and more cocaine than that scene in Scarface.
04-01-2022, 01:09 PM
Fully agree , Pathetic crowd this year
I agree with Price , It should get moved about different countries each year
04-01-2022, 05:15 PM
It's been allowed to go on for years so it won't change.
The Premier League night in Glasgow 10 years ago saw drink and coins being thrown at Adrian Lewis when he was playig Anderson (a game Anderson later admitted to chucking due to the crowd behaviour) and I'm sure Taylor was also spat at the same night.
The idiots provide the dough so the PDC and the players will put up with it.
04-01-2022, 05:43 PM
The Premier League night in Glasgow 10 years ago saw drink and coins being thrown at Adrian Lewis when he was playig Anderson (a game Anderson later admitted to chucking due to the crowd behaviour) and I'm sure Taylor was also spat at the same night.
Yep I’ve always avoided the Glasgow events as suspect I wouldn’t enjoy the crowd/atmosphere. But this year was the worst (in terms of how I think k would enjoy being there) I’ve seen the worlds by a stretch.
04-01-2022, 07:13 PM
Was the Premier League not moved to Glasgow from Ingleston due to crowd behaviour, or am I imagining that?
FifeHibs
04-01-2022, 07:35 PM
Was the Premier League not moved to Glasgow from Ingleston due to crowd behaviour, or am I imagining that?
They held 1 event in Ingeston, the noise due to low roof was deafening plus it was scaffold seating.
Gary Anderson signed with PDC at that event and was introduced to crowd. Can’t remember if a beer was thrown over a player, must be over 10 years now
04-01-2022, 07:42 PM
Ingliston was 2009. I can't remember any bother, I just thought they deemed it a crap venue.
I went there for the players championships a good few years ago and it was a bit naff.
05-01-2022, 07:26 PM
Ingliston was 2009. I can't remember any bother, I just thought they deemed it a crap venue.
I went there for the players championships a good few years ago and it was a bit naff.
Apparently there was fighting outside but I certainly didn’t see any. The noise that night was deafening. I’ve been to Newcastle a few times and also Glasgow and while the crowd was loud and boisterous there was never any sweary songs and certainly no songs based on where a player came from. That won’t be the case this year though, all the non English nights will see the English players get it tight.
FifeHibs
06-01-2022, 09:43 AM
Apparently there was fighting outside but I certainly didn’t see any. The noise that night was deafening. I’ve been to Newcastle a few times and also Glasgow and while the crowd was loud and boisterous there was never any sweary songs and certainly no songs based on where a player came from. That won’t be the case this year though, all the non English nights will see the English players get it tight.
Never saw any fighting outside but the noise was unreal. Can remember it was bad snow that day .
08-01-2022, 10:14 AM
For all the faults the BDO had, and there were many, the Lakeside always felt like more of a proper darts crowd.
Even at the Circus Tavern the PDC seemed a lot more darts orientated. Now it just seems like another one of those tick box events for 'lads' to go and get tanked up and act like dickheads. I was at the Premier League in Glasgow a few years back and it was horrendous. Guys lobbing drinks at the players, rampant xenophobia (witnessed again at Ally Pally this week) and more cocaine than that scene in Scarface.
Certainly what it looked like from the tv. Must have been so awkward for genuine darts fans there. The xenophobia will be as bad no doubt at the Glasgow event also. Pretty depressing as the atmosphere always looked very good but this year was awful imo.
11-01-2022, 06:46 PM
Q school well underway at the minute. From what I can work out, it seems like Sherrock and Robert Thornton are the big names who are in with a chance.
Notable fails include John Part and Wes Newton (who lost to Sherrock)
Tobias Funke
11-01-2022, 07:29 PM
Wes Newton went to the BDO before it collapsed, long gone are the days where he was a handy operator in the PDC.
11-01-2022, 08:05 PM
Q school well underway at the minute. From what I can work out, it seems like Sherrock and Robert Thornton are the big names who are in with a chance.
Notable fails include John Part and Wes Newton (who lost to Sherrock)
Apparently the delay in announcing the premier league line up is that they’re hoping Sherrock gets her tour card, they want her in this year but she needs to get her card first.
15-01-2022, 04:10 PM
Copied from the PDC website.
2022 PDC Qualifying Schools
UK Q School Automatic Tour Card Winners: James Wilson, Darren Webster, Ross Montgomery
European Q School Automatic Tour Card Winners: Jose Justicia, Brian Raman, Luc Peters, Krzysztof Kciuk
UK Q School Tour Card Winners from Order of Merit: (currently) Jamie Clark, Ted Evetts, Connor Scutt, Richie Burnett, Kevin Burness, Scott Waites, Cameron Menzies, John O'Shea, George Killington, Mickey Mansell, Nick Fullwell - final list TBC
European Q School Tour Card Winners from Order of Merit: (currently) Mario Vandenbogaerde, Jules van Dongen, Kevin Doets, Tony Martinez, Danny Jansen, Radek Szaganski, Damian Mol, Jimmy Hendriks, Ricardo Pietreczko, Vladimir Andersen, Rowby-John Rodriguez.
* Winner of Martinez v Kciuk secures automatic Tour Card
davy67 +
15-12-2022, 10:18 PM
Peter Wright gets his defence underway with a 3-0 win over Micky Mansell . Only a 88.3 average in a match where he was ne really tested
17-12-2022, 03:14 PM
Alan Souttar tucked away Gurney 3-0 this afternoon so, no more Sweet Caroline! 🙂
17-12-2022, 07:00 PM
Alan Souttar tucked away Gurney 3-0 this afternoon so, no more Sweet Caroline! 🙂
Best news I've had all day.
17-12-2022, 09:13 PM
An awful lot of loose darts in the Menzies versus Portela game. Makes the game interesting, but these guys are top end BDO players at best.
17-12-2022, 09:22 PM
An awful lot of loose darts in the Menzies versus Portela game. Makes the game interesting, but these guys are top end BDO players at best.
Pretty brutal stuff. Menzies makes me nervous watching him, all these quirks and twitches.
17-12-2022, 09:23 PM
Definitely, when I was 12 I said I never wanted to hear that song again in my life :greengrin
17-12-2022, 09:44 PM
Sky going daft about Rock, he's obviously got loads of potential but, give it a rest.
17-12-2022, 10:19 PM
Sky going daft about Rock, he's obviously got loads of potential but, give it a rest.
Very impressive, but he won't beat Johnny Clayton
OldEast
17-12-2022, 11:56 PM
Was there ever a guy with a more appropriate surname?
18-12-2022, 09:03 AM
Pretty brutal stuff. Menzies makes me nervous watching him, all these quirks and twitches.
It's almost as if he has some kind of touretttes twitch. He was constantly on edge.
22-12-2022, 06:32 PM
Solid start from Anderson, 1-0.
22-12-2022, 06:45 PM
Solid start from Anderson, 1-0.
Razma takes set 2, good performance.
22-12-2022, 07:03 PM
2-1 Anderson, lucky boy.
22-12-2022, 07:15 PM
Anderson through 3-1.
22-12-2022, 07:15 PM
Anderson lucky to come through that.
22-12-2022, 08:56 PM
Anderson lucky to come through that.
He certainly was.
Wade goes out, highest ranked seed to go out so far.
23-12-2022, 11:53 AM
I know that James Wade has had his issues that are sometimes not his fault, but along with Gerwyn Price these two guys seem to be the pantomime villains of darts. If Price has an early exit along with Wade,then the tournament will be all the better for it.
23-12-2022, 03:54 PM
Cross and Williams game was top drawer. Luck of the draw against Williams for now, until he can get up the rankings. Lesser players than him will make it into the next round. Best game of this year's competition so far.
27-12-2022, 07:42 PM
Gabriel Clemens v Jim Williams was a classic.
Williams was 3-2 up but Clemens was brilliant towards the end and won 4-3.
27-12-2022, 08:15 PM
Gabriel Clemens v Jim Williams was a classic.
Williams was 3-2 up but Clemens was brilliant towards the end and won 4-3.
Yes it was a better and was a fantastic comeback from a very difficult position so hats off to him. Got to feel for Williams though. Did very little wrong and played an amazing match.
27-12-2022, 08:22 PM
I know that James Wade has had his issues that are sometimes not his fault, but along with Gerwyn Price these two guys seem to be the pantomime villains of darts. If Price has an early exit along with Wade,then the tournament will be all the better for it.
Don't agree. I like Price and although he has been an arse in the past he consistently has to put up with abuse levels whilst playing which he doesn't deserve and still produces top level darts.
davy67 +
27-12-2022, 09:34 PM
Peter Wright throwing like a drunken pub player 1-3 down
27-12-2022, 09:50 PM
Wright goes out 4-1 to Kim Huybrechts.
Garbage.
27-12-2022, 09:51 PM
what a weak defence that was
i don't think gary anderson will be far behind him
27-12-2022, 09:52 PM
Wright never got going.
27-12-2022, 09:53 PM
Jeez how bad was Wright. Huybrechts will get beat by Van den Bergh in the next round that's for sure.
davy67 +
27-12-2022, 09:54 PM
Disappointing exit for Wright after a decent first set
27-12-2022, 11:33 PM
Terrible performance from Wright, although he looked like an ill man to me.
28-12-2022, 02:32 PM
Incredible comeback from Alan Soutar to beat Danny Noppert 4-2 from 2-0 down.
28-12-2022, 02:59 PM
Noppert thought that he had that won at 2-0.
28-12-2022, 03:01 PM
Noppert thought that he had that won at 2-0.
So did I, backed him to win by over 2.5 sets! 😠
28-12-2022, 03:32 PM
Anderson's had it.
28-12-2022, 03:34 PM
Gary Anderson loses 4-1 to Chris Dobey.
28-12-2022, 03:34 PM
Anderson's had it.
Another big hitter who left his darts at home. Wright was abject but Anderson was not much better.
28-12-2022, 03:38 PM
Dobey having a go at Anderson, said that Gary said something untoward during the game. I wonder what it was.
29-12-2022, 01:16 PM
What a game between Ross Smith and Van diving board. Into extra time now.
29-12-2022, 01:23 PM
Dirk wins in sudden death. Classic!
29-12-2022, 01:55 PM
Great to see King on the end of a pumping, he just continually looks like a grumpy old git!
29-12-2022, 07:37 PM
Interesting outfit for Emma tonight. 😲😀
29-12-2022, 10:08 PM
Wow what a match. Rock v Clayton. Had no idea who was going to win that.
30-12-2022, 10:27 AM
Wow what a match. Rock v Clayton. Had no idea who was going to win that.
Didn't think that Rock would go any further than a meeting with Clayton, but didn't think it would be that close. Maybe experience carried the day for The Ferret, but Rock is surely a World Champion in waiting.
davy67 +
30-12-2022, 01:13 PM
Soutar levels to make it 1-1 , not playing great so far hopefully that set win will get him going
davy67 +
30-12-2022, 01:41 PM
Soutar' struggling to find any form, 1-3 don in sets and heading home unless he stage a turnaround
davy67 +
30-12-2022, 01:54 PM
Despite missing a few match darts Clemens gets there eventually winning 4-1 , Soutar had a chance to win the leg but threw a lose dart and blew it
30-12-2022, 02:17 PM
Disappointing performance from Soots but Clemens was good.
01-01-2023, 01:34 PM
Van den Bergh beats Clayton 5-3. Disappointed with that. Really don't like VDB but can't really point to the reason for disliking him.
01-01-2023, 02:03 PM
Van den Bergh beats Clayton 5-3. Disappointed with that. Really don't like VDB but can't really point to the reason for disliking him.
It’s his hair.
01-01-2023, 07:37 PM
Michael Smith beat Stephen Bunting earlier 5-3.
Gerwyn Price is in a bit of bother v Gabriel Clemens - currently 3-1 down and Price is now playing with headphones on which I've never seen before!
01-01-2023, 07:45 PM
4-1 Clemens, looks like it's all over for Price.
01-01-2023, 07:50 PM
Clemens wins 5-1.
Didn't see that coming.
01-01-2023, 07:51 PM
What now for Price. He was talking about going back to rugby!
Clemens was brilliant.
01-01-2023, 09:00 PM
Michael Van Gerwen rather convincing in a 5-0 win over Chris Dobey.
He'll take some stopping.
01-01-2023, 09:15 PM
Price seems quite upset.
"So frustrating you play all year round preparing for this one tournament. So gutted I wasn’t let play but good luck everyone left in. Not sure I will ever play in this event again."
Gerwyn Price via Instagram.
01-01-2023, 09:29 PM
Price seems quite upset.
"So frustrating you play all year round preparing for this one tournament. So gutted I wasn’t let play but good luck everyone left in. Not sure I will ever play in this event again."
Gerwyn Price via Instagram.
Guy who built his entire career winding up opponents and the crowd moaning after almost every loss about the crowds.
Darts will be a whole lot better if there were less like him acting like ********s while playing.
02-01-2023, 04:11 AM
can't stand price but it's not pleasant listening to players getting booed when throwing an important dart to win a leg/match whatever, the drunken louts don't have to cheer if any chosen player misses an important shot they just need to shut their mouths, i'm sure i heard that scotland gets battered p@sh the other night when either anderson or wright were losing, can't remember which one, i went almost a decade without watching the game, and when i did restart i cringed at this 'analysis' of the players in their wee 'studio', his stance is wrong etc etc etc, like boxing and the likes of fury entering on a throne ffs it's utterly utterly cringeworthy, i can take or leave watching the darts and didn't even see the price game(read about it), think i'll leave it like i do the tennis and just start watching at the SF stage :greengrin
02-01-2023, 07:31 AM
I think back to last years classic tie between Peter Wright and Gary Anderson, and maybe the greatest game of darts I’ve watched. Two top class players at their very best going at each other hammer and tongs, free from any pantomime or histrionics. Sport at its finest.
You can criticise the crowd last night and on other occasions for boorish behaviour and I get that, but there’s no escaping the fact that Gerwyn Price is an absolute clown with no redeeming features. He maybe needs to look at himself first and how he conducts himself onstage before throwing the toys out the pram and threatening to not play again.
Maybe watch that match from last year between Anderson and Wright and perhaps learn a thing or two about behaving in a more dignified manner and let his darts do the talking. If he ditched the onstage posturing and antagonist gesturing to the crowd, the barracking and booing may soon back off. Maybe the damage has been done and that scenario would be irretrievable, but ultimately there would only be one man to blame for that.
davy67 +
02-01-2023, 07:55 AM
What now for Price. He was talking about going back to rugby!
Clemens was brilliant.
I thought that the nature of his injury meant that he as unable to continue playing rugby. Lots of other players have used earplugs in the past to block out the boo- boys .The constant booing was inevitable., he's a wind up merchant and the crowd are always going to respond especially when they're a bunch of pished football fans. His onstage antics are great when he wins , but you need to take the rough with the smooth and not get all huffy when you lose .
02-01-2023, 07:58 AM
The boisterous crowd is all part of the PDC game, including the outdated go-go dancers and the cringey walk-ons. Best of order is now best of disorder. Imagine snooker played in the same conditions.
02-01-2023, 11:18 AM
The players like Price have enjoyed the fame and money playing in an atmosphere like last night many times.
They could always refuse to play and accept that cash, and hand back their earnings if it bothers them that much.
02-01-2023, 08:36 PM
I already want Van Den Bergh to get beat for that God awful walk on and dad dance.
02-01-2023, 09:41 PM
Mvg destroys him 6-0. Plays Smith in the final.
02-01-2023, 09:42 PM
MVG through 6-0 with a 108 average. VdB steamrollered.
02-01-2023, 10:02 PM
Should be a cracking final would like to see Smith win his first world title but hard to back against MVG
03-01-2023, 07:50 PM
Michael Smith hits a 9 darter just seconds after Michael Van Gerwen misses his own attempt!
Van Gerwen leads 1 set to 0.
03-01-2023, 07:51 PM
Michael Smith hits a 9 darter just seconds after Michael Van Gerwen misses his own attempt!
Van Gerwen leads 1 set to 0.
Quite a phenomenal leg of darts. 👏
03-01-2023, 07:52 PM
1 set each.
1-1
Wow that was an unbelievable leg. Now 1-1 in sets
McSwanky
03-01-2023, 07:53 PM
Quite a phenomenal leg of darts. [emoji122]That was incredible!
03-01-2023, 07:58 PM
That 9 dart leg was just insane.
As Sid Waddell would say, “Only one word for that - Magic Darts”
03-01-2023, 08:09 PM
2-2
Mcbizz1998
03-01-2023, 08:10 PM
The 9 darter was unbelievable. Me and Mrs McBizz jumping around the living room celebrating. Scared the **** out of the dog [emoji23]
03-01-2023, 08:21 PM
Van Gerwen leads 3-2.
03-01-2023, 08:33 PM
3-3 Smith showing a lot of bottle
03-01-2023, 08:39 PM
Smith hits a 130!
03-01-2023, 08:41 PM
4-3 Smith!
Van Gerwen was putting his darts away before Smith got that 130!
03-01-2023, 08:51 PM
Part on for Mardle 🤣
03-01-2023, 08:53 PM
5-3 Smith
03-01-2023, 09:00 PM
Smith can't not win this. MVG looks done.
03-01-2023, 09:02 PM
6-3 Smith.
03-01-2023, 09:05 PM
English twats singing darts is coming home 😃
03-01-2023, 09:12 PM
6-4 Smith.
03-01-2023, 09:14 PM
English twats singing darts is coming home 😃
Would love MVG to comeback and win this to shut them up.
03-01-2023, 09:16 PM
Smith probably needs to win it in the next set or it will mess with his mind.
03-01-2023, 09:23 PM
Smith has turned this around and throws for the title!
03-01-2023, 09:24 PM
Smith wins 7-4, he played so well to win that.
Well done to him.
03-01-2023, 09:26 PM
Fantastic performance by Smith. Delighted for him.
03-01-2023, 09:28 PM
Tremendous performance from Smith, well done. 👏
03-01-2023, 09:31 PM
Well done Bully Boy
03-01-2023, 09:40 PM
Alan Soutar speaks out about the abuse he receives as well Darts star Alan Soutar shares vile abuse he receives following Gerwyn Price incident (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/news/darts-star-alan-soutar-shares-vile-abuse-he-receives-following-gerwyn-price-incident/ar-AA15UTwE?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=22eb4973cee143cf96dfd9c051a02617)
some individual even wished him dead
03-01-2023, 09:40 PM
Great performance for all the lows Smith has had he has showed perseverance to bounce back 🎯