View Full Version : Is SDG about to become a Hibs Superhero?

14-12-2021, 10:39 PM
Even if a new manager is announced this week, there's next to no chance that SDG won't be in charge on Sunday.

If he manages us to a victory, he'll have done it all.

Victories as captain, scoring the winner, and managing a cup win would be legendary.

He'd be a Hibs Superhero.

I think it'll happen.

14-12-2021, 10:40 PM
Yes - we’re winning the cup on Sunday.

14-12-2021, 10:48 PM
Promotion to Lord Gray of Leith.

CL0762
14-12-2021, 11:00 PM
Regretfully, no.

I can’t see any circumstances that allow us to win the game on Sunday. Hoping I perk up closer to the time.

14-12-2021, 11:04 PM
Superhero? Already is!!
Nothing will take away the moment he created on 21st May 2016.

14-12-2021, 11:04 PM
Every logical brain cell in my head tells me we will lose on Sunday. We're not playing well and even with Furuhashi and Jota out Celtic have far better players than us.

However there is something which makes me think we're going to do this and David Gray is going to be elevated to an unprecedented level of legend status.

Steve88
14-12-2021, 11:14 PM
Anyone thinking we even have sniff of a victory on Sunday is off their head.

Tonight was awful! Toothless. We've struggled against the runt of the litter in this league and folk on here think we have a chance.

This team is awful. No motivation. No confidence. Fringe players like Campbell being put forward as revelations - Campbell won't get a sniff next season

14-12-2021, 11:16 PM

Tonight was awful! Toothless. We've struggled against the runt of the litter in this league and folk on here think we have a chance.

This team is awful. No motivation. No confidence. Fringe players like Campbell being put forward as revelations - Campbell won't get a sniff next season

That's the spirit.

14-12-2021, 11:18 PM
The stars are Aligned it’s Fate

14-12-2021, 11:19 PM
The last manager to win a cup for Hibs did so in his last game in charge.

SJNB Hibby
14-12-2021, 11:22 PM

Yeah but this is Hibs, so it could happen....it's the Hibs way

davidbee1875
14-12-2021, 11:23 PM
This same team beat the rangers 4 weeks ago.
Exact same players. Every chance we win Sunday. Be a big ask but it is definitely doable

14-12-2021, 11:26 PM

Tonight wasn't great but there's only two teams left that can win the League Cup and we're one of them so of course we have a sniff of victory.

We start the match as massive underdogs and rightly so but we definitely have a chance.

14-12-2021, 11:27 PM
Exact same players. Every chance we win Sunday. Be a big ask but it is definitely doable

14-12-2021, 11:27 PM

Aye you tell them!

Why on earth should we even contemplate a team who humped Rangers a month ago at the same stadium beating Celtic? Off their heads!!

Steve88
14-12-2021, 11:28 PM
Tonight wasn't great but there's only two teams left that can win the League Cup and we're one of them so of course we have a sniff of victory.

We start the match as massive underdogs and rightly so but we definitely have a chance.

There's every chance I'll win the lottery..

14-12-2021, 11:28 PM

I thought we were excellent tonight, particularly in the first half.

Campbell is going to be a star.

Funny, eh?

Steve88
14-12-2021, 11:30 PM
I thought we were excellent tonight, particularly in the first half.

Campbell is going to be a star.

Funny, eh?

Frightening

(But interesting how two people can watch the same views and come to polar opposites ...:agree:)

Steve88
14-12-2021, 11:32 PM
Aye you tell them!

Why on earth should we even contemplate a team who humped Rangers a month ago at the same stadium beating Celtic? Off their heads!!

For the very reasons I outlined

Folk need to take off their green tinted specs here. We're rank rotten.

14-12-2021, 11:39 PM
There's every chance I'll win the lottery..

The odds of that is around 45,000,000/1 and the odds of Hibs winning on Sunday is about 5/1.

I know which one I would rather put my money on!

14-12-2021, 11:41 PM

The Celtic defence is pish. The Celtic attack is injured. We deservedly beat the team that romped the league ahead of Celtic last season in the semi.

I accept it’s an uphill task due to issues of our own, but this isn’t the nastiest game we’ve ever faced.

No point in giving up now.

14-12-2021, 11:47 PM

What colour are your glasses tinted?

Nobody is saying we’re favourites - we have a chance though.

It’s a shame you cannae drum up a bit of optimism for your team but each to their own. Personally I cannot wait.

14-12-2021, 11:49 PM

Bet you are a hoot at Christmas parties.

1875godsgift
14-12-2021, 11:51 PM

Time For Heroes

14-12-2021, 11:56 PM
Even if a new manager is announced this week, there's next to no chance that SDG won't be in charge on Sunday.

If he manages us to a victory, he'll have done it all.

Victories as captain, scoring the winner, and managing a cup win would be legendary.

He'd be a Hibs Superhero.

I think it'll happen.

If he does he should make the most of it .... coz 5 years later he'll probably come back to ER as Dundee manager and get booed by some of our so called fans.

HFC93
15-12-2021, 12:17 AM

You should get on the motivational speech network. Inspiring stuff.

Paul1642
15-12-2021, 01:43 AM
6 wins in 25 cup finals (Scottish cup / league cup only) is some ratio. I really struggle to be optimistic about Hibs in cup finals. Can’t be many teams around who are so good at reaching cup finals yet so bad at winning them!.

Aberdeen for example have won 13 out of 18!

15-12-2021, 04:23 AM
6 wins in 25 cup finals (Scottish cup / league cup only) is some ratio. I really struggle to be optimistic about Hibs in cup finals. Can’t be many teams around who are so good at reaching cup finals yet so bad at winning them!.

Thank God those that took to the pitch on 21/5/2016 forgot about past results they could not influence.

I take it this is self-deprecating / gallows humour. What happened to the Leith (and Hibs) motto?

It not easy being a Hibee but relatively speaking Famous 5 aside we’ve witnessed in the lifetimes of many - The HolyGrail, The CIS Cup and The Skol Cup. A met ambition is supposedly no longer a motivator but that Holy Grail on it’s own IS something to behold esp the manner of its winning.

We only get to change the win ratio if we get there - and the. Convert.

Do keep in mind the disparity in Scottish football so we’re really up against it when we meet the uglies. But recently we haven’t and finals against Livi, The Staggies, St Johnstone and
Lapland have been disappointing. Merry Christmas

18Craig75
15-12-2021, 06:09 AM
We’re winning this cup, enjoy.

Hibs07p
15-12-2021, 06:32 AM

I saw a good Hibs team get horsed 6 1 by a good Celtic team in 1972 Scottish Cup final, and just 7 months later, almost identical teams played again in the League Cup final with us winning 2 1. Just as well we didn’t go into that game with someone like you as a cheerleader, or just didn’t bother to turn up at all. que sera sera.
Scottish Cup Winners 2016

15-12-2021, 07:02 AM

Aberdeen scottish and league cup final record is 13 wins , out of 30 .

15-12-2021, 07:07 AM

mate, you need to go on some happiness and well-being courses.

HibeeHibernian4
15-12-2021, 07:15 AM

I would say a large part of that was down to Rangers having their manager depart in the build up to the game, being left with a clueless B team manager who could barely organise a team to save his life by the looks of it.

The difference with them is, at least they lost their excellent manager to an English club. We punted ours because some of our fans couldn't handle the thought of losing some games as happens with just about every manger everywhere. :rolleyes:

15-12-2021, 07:17 AM
We need to start better than we did against Celtc a few weeks ago. If we do, and keep tempo up, I’m quietly confident we can get a result. That performance against Rangers shows what this team is capable of.

Steve88
15-12-2021, 07:22 AM
mate, you need to go on some happiness and well-being courses.

Perfectly content thanks, though just not with recent performances/standards unlike you..

Steve88
15-12-2021, 07:25 AM
You should get on the motivational speech network. Inspiring stuff.

Prefer to manage my expectations being realistic rather than subjective driven optimism, ignoring the objective fact we are an incredibly poor performing team

15-12-2021, 07:26 AM
The big question is, will Celtc sign McMullan in enough time to score us the winning goal?

Steve88
15-12-2021, 07:26 AM
Time For Heroes

Steve88
15-12-2021, 07:28 AM
What colour are your glasses tinted?

Nobody is saying we’re favourites - we have a chance though.

It’s a shame you cannae drum up a bit of optimism for your team but each to their own. Personally I cannot wait.

I can't wait for Sunday either. It's a cup final, looking forward to it - but as per other posts in this thread I'm not letting emotionally driven ideals about what might turn out to be on Sunday, because as it stands we are rank rotten

15-12-2021, 07:31 AM
Prefer to manage my expectations being realistic rather than subjective driven optimism, ignoring the objective fact we are an incredibly poor performing team
Come on Steve dream a little, lose yourself in the moment, you’ll be like a new man. We can do this.

Regretfully, no.

I can’t see any circumstances that allow us to win the game on Sunday. Hoping I perk up closer to the time.

Scoring more goals than Celtic might do it.

Ok.

15-12-2021, 07:32 AM
That’s a hell of a plan that might just work :greengrin

Steve88
15-12-2021, 07:33 AM
Come on Steve dream a little, lose yourself in the moment, you’ll be like a new man. We can do this.

This put a smile on my face, hope I have you sitting next to me:agree:

(Although I'm sure you'll want to be as far away as possible from me...)

15-12-2021, 07:35 AM
A Time For Testicular Fortitude!

15-12-2021, 07:35 AM
This put a smile on my face, hope I have you sitting next to me:agree:

(Although I'm sure you'll want to be as far away as possible from me...)
We’ll all celebrate together.

Hibs07p
15-12-2021, 11:41 AM

It could all be down to Bro. Beaton. Who would he rather see win a trophy other than The Rangers?

Scottish Cup Winners 2016

15-12-2021, 12:13 PM
In charge on Sunday

Billy McKirdy
15-12-2021, 12:16 PM
This is the cup.
Anything can happen.
Even beating Celtic.
We can do this.

15-12-2021, 12:19 PM
This is the cup.
Anything can happen.
Even beating Celtic.
We can do this.

What tune is that to?

HibeeHibernian4
15-12-2021, 12:21 PM
What tune is that to?

But do we have Celtic on the run is the big question here. :greengrin

15-12-2021, 12:24 PM
I can't wait for Sunday either. It's a cup final, looking forward to it - but as per other posts in this thread I'm not letting emotionally driven ideals about what might turn out to be on Sunday, because as it stands we are rank rotten

We were playing poorly before the semi. It's not emotionally driven at all- quite a few things are working in our favour and we're undoubtedly capable... we proved it a few weeks ago.

Most people are saying we're not favourites by a long chalk but you're going completely overboard in terms of how bad we are. The fans need to show some belief as well- it helps the team.

HibsGW
15-12-2021, 12:27 PM
Of course we have a chance. It suits us better playing against better teams. We can’t break teams down when they sit in, when they come at us we fare quite a bit better, see Rangers game as an example. Also, Celtic are looking likely to be missing some key players. We won the cup in 2016 coming into it off of a disaster of a league and league cup campaign, momentum doesn’t make much of a difference.

15-12-2021, 12:41 PM
Let's have no negativity on here. The Rangers were only needing to turn up in the semi to win according to some. As long as the players and management give us everything, that will do.

15-12-2021, 12:43 PM
Their manager is a total ******** - would be great to get it up him, and every one of the arrogant celtic fans that have been all over our feeds on social media the last few weeks

If players cant get motivated for a cup final, they're in the wrong job. We've got a decent enough squad to believe we have a chance, especially with their injuries

CMON SDG, CMON HIBS!!!

Steve88
15-12-2021, 12:48 PM
We were playing poorly before the semi. It's not emotionally driven at all- quite a few things are working in our favour and we're undoubtedly capable... we proved it a few weeks ago.

Most people are saying we're not favourites by a long chalk but you're going completely overboard in terms of how bad we are. The fans need to show some belief as well- it helps the team.

I hear what you're saying but the performances over the course of this season are getting worse, not better. After the Rangers game we seemed to make an even lower low performance wise. We're struggling against teams who are in the relegation zone. Team can sense the fear in us.

The performances + style of play has become chronically dull/poor. It's sucked the life out of every Hibs fan who over the course of the last several years - facing a team like Dundee - would expect to be out their seat every 5/10 mins with excitement; I'm perhaps moving into a tangent that should be reserved for the atmosphere thread

Morale is low not just in the squad, but the terraces

But to reiterate, I am looking forward to Sunday, very much so. But my perspective on how this match will end is based on objective/rational arguments

IncredibleHibee
15-12-2021, 12:49 PM
From Sir David Gray to Lord David Gray Earl of Leith

15-12-2021, 12:51 PM
SDG in charge for the final. Win that and he'll have won his second cup with Hibs, never been beaten as a Hibs manager and been promoted from demi god to full on God......

Steve88
15-12-2021, 12:52 PM
SDG in charge for the final. Win that and he'll have won his second cup with Hibs, never been beaten as a Hibs manager and been promoted from demi god to full on God......

Out of interest, have Hibs ever had a cup winning player + cup winning manager before...?

15-12-2021, 12:53 PM
Out of interest, have Hibs ever had a cup winning player + cup winning manager before...?

Turnbull won a few Leagues as a player, and a LC as manager.

Hibees1973
15-12-2021, 12:58 PM
After the announcement today that Sir David Gray is leading the team out at Hampden, this is bound to stir even the most reticent of Hibs supporters and I would expect the remaining tickets will be sold by the end of the week.

We all know this guy is a 'real' leader.

Still wish he was playing for us in his pomp.

15-12-2021, 01:01 PM
It's sucked the life out of every Hibs fan who over the course of the last several years - facing a team like Dundee - would expect to be out their seat every 5/10 mins with excitement; I'm perhaps moving into a tangent that should be reserved for the atmosphere thread

But to reiterate, I am looking forward to Sunday, very much so. But my perspective on how this match will end is based on objective/rational arguments

We are going off at tangents but I'm afraid the days of thrills and spills in football are pretty much gone with the way teams set up these days.... particularly opposition teams who set up to frustrate. Fans can either disappear if they can't handle it or try and help their team win those games by hook or by crook.

I don't mind you saying that rationally thinking it's likely we won't win against a team with 10 times our resources - I think what people are objecting too is it being implied you'd have to be an idiot to at least hope we can overcome the odds when it's perfectly possible. I'd rather we all went with a positive mind-set... I know it's difficult for some... and concentrated on roaring the team on like we did in the semi.

shetlandhibee
15-12-2021, 02:42 PM

So what happened in the semi then???? You have to be on the wind up or a jambo 😂 one of game of course we can win it to think other wise is completely bonkers lol

15-12-2021, 03:02 PM
So what happened in the semi then???? You have to be on the wind up or a jambo 😂 one of game of course we can win it to think other wise is completely bonkers lol
If it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck etc etc etc......

GRA
15-12-2021, 03:09 PM
The cup final is essentially a free hit for SDG.

Win and he cements his legendary status even more.

Lose and it's not unexpected, Hibs are clear underdogs (even with the Celtic injuries) and he's only been in the door a few days.

Well his legacy won't be tarnished as long as it isn't a 6-1 pasting like it was 50 odd years ago!

Any chance he can register as a player, bring himself off the bench with 5 minutes to go and bullet in an injury time winner like he did 5 years ago?!:hyper

15-12-2021, 03:13 PM
I'm worried i might sexually assault him if we win the cup. I'm a happily married father of two.

Hibs07p
15-12-2021, 03:23 PM

Lose and it's not unexpected, Hibs are clear underdogs (even with the Celtic injuries) and he's only been in the door a few days.

Well his legacy won't be tarnished as long as it isn't a 6-1 pasting like it was 50 odd years ago!

Any chance he can register as a player, bring himself off the bench with 5 minutes to go and bullet in an injury time winner like he did 5 years ago?!:hyper

If I remember correctly, we won 49 years ago, 2-1. And nothing will tarnish his legacy of 5 years ago, regardless of the result.

Scottish Cup Winners 2016.

15-12-2021, 03:41 PM
We're basically putting an untried, novice coach up against Celtic in a cup final. A very tough task for even the most seasoned manager.

David Gray will do his best, and who knows what will happen, but imo Hibs have handled our chances in the final appallingly

15-12-2021, 04:00 PM
We're basically putting an untried, novice coach up against Celtic in a cup final. A very tough task for even the most seasoned manager.

David Gray will do his best, and who knows what will happen, but imo Hibs have handled our chances in the final appallingly

Can't do any worse than the previous manager when we played them recently.

15-12-2021, 05:01 PM

And they are without Jotta and Kygo two key players going forward and maybe Forrest
We should take encouragement from that and the fact we are massive underdogs
All the pressure is in Celtic

15-12-2021, 06:04 PM
He can only be classed as a super hero if he turns up wearing a cape and his pants are on the outside, if he just helps us win the cup, perhaps an honorary Lordship may be suitable, ****in hero that he already is.

15-12-2021, 06:07 PM
He's the greatest
He's the best
Whenever there's a trophy he'll be there
David Gray
David Gray
David Gray!

15-12-2021, 06:14 PM

I have seen 3 cup finals when they have put 6 past us. So not worried in the least about this Sunday, it really is a free hit for the Hibs, against the great unwashed, the imitators of our great club, the first to wear the green. We have no one in their right mind giving us any chance so **** em all and who knows the unexpected sometimes happens.

15-12-2021, 07:45 PM
He’s Sir David Gray
He is good
He has Celtic on the run

15-12-2021, 07:51 PM
SDG is already a superstar, has nothing to prove and winning Sunday changes nothing. It would be the cherry 🍒 on top.

If nothing else, just hope these players which have let JR and the fans down can muster some guts and give us a performance to be proud of.

15-12-2021, 07:52 PM
If he wins us the cup I really hope we give him the managers job, at least until the end of the season.

Stonewall
15-12-2021, 07:54 PM

Remind me please: did we beat The Rangers in the semi?

15-12-2021, 07:58 PM
I hear what you're saying but the performances over the course of this season are getting worse, not better. After the Rangers game we seemed to make an even lower low performance wise. We're struggling against teams who are in the relegation zone. Team can sense the fear in us.

The performances + style of play has become chronically dull/poor. It's sucked the life out of every Hibs fan who over the course of the last several years - facing a team like Dundee - would expect to be out their seat every 5/10 mins with excitement; I'm perhaps moving into a tangent that should be reserved for the atmosphere thread

You seem to speak for an awful lot of people.

You certainly don't speak for me. Grow a spine and get behind the team.

15-12-2021, 08:10 PM
SDG should register himself as a substitute for Sunday.
Comes on for injury time.....

15-12-2021, 08:28 PM
SDG is already a supestar

He is, but a victory on Sunday would make him a Superhero! 😁

Steve88
16-12-2021, 08:13 AM
You seem to speak for an awful lot of people.

You certainly don't speak for me. Grow a spine and get behind the team.

I've already demonstrated by taking a contrarian view on here as to how I perceive the outcome of the cup final going that I've already got a spine, and a giant pair of b*ws too..

Make sure you read the entire thread prior to posting and give it some thought, it'll stop you posting lazy generic comments

(And of course, I hope come Sunday evening I have everyone on this thread telling me I was wrong. Just putting forward an argument as to why we're going to be left very disappointed..)

16-12-2021, 08:18 AM
SDG is a leader and warrior who's been there and done it. Can't think of anyone i'd rather have in charge for this final. If anything it's got me more up for it and i'm only a fan. Hopefully the players feel the same.

berwickhibee
16-12-2021, 10:03 AM
David Gray has oozed class in his interviews,talks really well.

You can see his love for the club.

He is a leader of men but also extremely modest. He will get the best out of us on Sunday.

Let's make sure we are loud and proud on Sunday.💚

16-12-2021, 10:11 AM
David Gray has oozed class in his interviews,talks really well.

You can see his love for the club.

He is a leader of men but also extremely modest. He will get the best out of us on Sunday.

Let's make sure we are loud and proud on Sunday.[emoji172]

Agreed Berwick, has been a shining light during this process ….deserves full support [emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]

Tommy75
16-12-2021, 10:14 AM
Really hope he stays on as a coach and continues to learn his trade then replaces Maloney as manager when he leaves after securing a league and cup double.

mal
16-12-2021, 10:25 AM

You're not being realistic though. You're being performatively negative, presumably for the attention, which you've got, so well done you.

You're ignoring the fact that we convincingly turned over the league leaders in the last round so to say that we "don't have a sniff" is objectively nonsense, so please stop pretending that you're the rational one.

FWIW, I don't fancy our chances much myself but it's a lot more fun reading unreasonably optimistic posts than unreasonably pessimistic ones.

16-12-2021, 10:27 AM
Instead of saying that he needs to get the players ready for the cup final, which would be perfectly acceptable, he said “Our job is to get the players ready to win the cup final".

I love that mindset.

Crazyhorse
16-12-2021, 10:29 AM

I was sincerely hoping he could lol!

Steve88
16-12-2021, 10:47 AM
You're not being realistic though. You're being performatively negative, presumably for the attention, which you've got, so well done you.

You're ignoring the fact that we convincingly turned over the league leaders in the last round so to say that we "don't have a sniff" is objectively nonsense, so please stop pretending that you're the rational one.

FWIW, I don't fancy our chances much myself but it's a lot more fun reading unreasonably optimistic posts than unreasonably pessimistic ones.

This post and your attempt at a counter argument would of carried a lot more weight if it wasn't for the lazy " presumably for attention..." comment.

I've addressed the semi-final + I am being realistic - read prior post's (and if you're saying you already have, read them again, carefully..)

I agree, reading and/or listening to someone who has a positive outlook on an event is going to be more captivating/enjoyable - but that doesn't mean the person(s) with the opposing view shouldn't be heard and/or are wrong

16-12-2021, 10:56 AM
This post and your attempt at a counter argument would of carried a lot more weight if it wasn't for the lazy " presumably for attention..." comment.

I've addressed the semi-final + I am being realistic - read prior post's (and if you're saying you already have, read them again, carefully..)

I agree, reading and/or listening to someone who has a positive outlook on an event is going to be more captivating/enjoyable - but that doesn't mean the person(s) with the opposing view shouldn't be heard and/or are wrong

You said "Anyone thinking we even have sniff of a victory on Sunday is off their head."

That's not even slightly realistic, but it's hugely insulting and it's utterly wrong.

It could even be called "lazy", a word you seem to enjoy throwing at others.

Steve88
16-12-2021, 11:07 AM
You said "Anyone thinking we even have sniff of a victory on Sunday is off their head."

That's not even slightly realistic, but it's hugely insulting and it's utterly wrong.

It could even be called "lazy", a word you seem to enjoy throwing at others.

I'd throw the word "lazy" around considerably less if there were a-lot more constructive, well thought out counter arguments - Shrekko's was well put together
You're right in that it's utterly wrong, of course we have a chance. In hindsight I would rephrase that statement to say we have an incredibly low probability.

16-12-2021, 11:23 AM
I'd throw the word "lazy" around considerably less if there were a-lot more constructive, well thought out counter arguments - Shrekko's was well put together
You're right in that it's utterly wrong, of course we have a chance. In hindsight I would rephrase that statement to say we have an incredibly low probability.

So we're all on the same page, after all, whether "off our heads" or not.

We have a chance to win the cup against the favourites.

16-12-2021, 11:27 AM
A splendid song. If David Gray lifts the Cup on Sunday this’ll be the Christmas number one.

https://youtu.be/4_nACZqX5vI

16-12-2021, 11:56 AM

I fully expect Celtic to beat us. I don't think any Hibs fan is expecting us to win but we are in the final because we deserve to be and we knocked out Rangers in the semi final. Nobody expected us to win that one either. Lets just go, have a good day and see what happens.

Weegreenman
16-12-2021, 12:05 PM
He’s already a super hero in my book.

Absolute legend. 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

I only wish we had a squad full of SDG’s

We’d win the two cups, the league and the ****in Champions League.

16-12-2021, 12:16 PM
I fully expect Celtic to beat us. I don't think any Hibs fan is expecting us to win but we are in the final because we deserve to be and we knocked out Rangers in the semi final. Nobody expected us to win that one either. Lets just go, have a good day and see what happens.

Sums up my thoughts too.

My expectations for a decent game or result are pretty low, so I'm happy just to see what happens and how we play.

16-12-2021, 12:21 PM

It's probably the least nervous I have ever been going into a cup final as a Hibs fan, we were amazing in the Semi Final, but since then I have seen nothing at all that would suggest we will win and we have sacked our manager. Expectations are really low, but I'll always be 100% behind the team at the game.

I do think Celtic are beatable and we are good enough to beat them, but we need everyone to be at 100% to do it, the last time we played them at ER was so disappointing seeing them just coast through 75 minutes of the game having killed it in the first 15 minutes.