View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Dundee
14-12-2021, 08:08 PM
nice move, nisbet over the bar
He actually did one of the things I’ve been slaughtering him for not doing there - a nice wee run across the front of his man to get on the end of it.
Shame it didn’t quite come off.
Scott Allan?
I was meaning a Dundee player going at the previous posters comments!
I’d love Scotty to come on and score
Feels like a game Scott Allan could do a bit of damage in.
Porteous down now, Nisbet back on.
14-12-2021, 08:09 PM
nisbet looking uncomfortable
another booking for dundee player with a foul on porteous
Feels like a game Scott Allan could do a bit of damage in.I'd go with Murphy first
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
I was meaning a Dundee player going at the previous posters comments!
I’d love Scotty to come on and score
Just pulling your leg
Feels like a game Scott Allan could do a bit of damage in.
Him or Murphy for me!
If there is a change i can see Campbell coming off and Murphy on ahead of Allan
Just pulling your leg
[emoji2957]
14-12-2021, 08:10 PM
Nisbet off injured now.
Murphy for Nisbet.
nisbet down again, aw man
Starting to lose the middle now?
This is looking ominous.
Need to keep working hard. Midfield is dropping off.
I've criticised him before but Newell has been working very hard.
14-12-2021, 08:11 PM
Ffs, hopefully this is precautionary.
Nisbet down again
Murphy coming on
1-1 written all over this
actual attendance between 9500-10,000
1-1 written all over this
My concern
14-12-2021, 08:12 PM
Should have had Nisbet off straight away
No ones really mentioned it but I do wonder how the covid outbreak has affected us
We always start to struggle from about 65 mins onwards
4411 is this?
Campbell playing off Doidge?
I realise we've played some reasonably attractive football at times but we don't look like scoring.
Same as the weekend, when we really should have finished the game off with a second well before they scored.
why have we fallen out of this
14-12-2021, 08:13 PM
Murphy has to bury that!
Nisbet off injured now.
Ffs so no fit striker fir final if he doesn’t recover
Murphy ffs, just f’n hit the thing.
Here it comes...
great save keeper from murphy :grr:
We are falling into the trap again. Need to raise the tempo and press higher up the pitch.
So poor from JDH there, gets McGinn in the **** then doesn’t offer him any help to get out.
14-12-2021, 08:14 PM
Murphy is awful in front of goal. Shocking. Power is in the pass, just stick your left foot out...
Bad miss by Murphy there.
Should not have taken a touch there
For all that I think Murphy is a really talented player, he doesn't half have a knack for missing excellent chances.
use the right foot murphy first time
FFS another miss from Murphy!
Hopefully not come back to haunt us
Murphy has to bury that!
We have heard that a few times of late
Murphy FFS.
14-12-2021, 08:15 PM
hibs free kick 18 yards out
percy veer
14-12-2021, 08:15 PM
We have heard that a few times of late
how many times does he miss these chances man.
14-12-2021, 08:16 PM
how many times does he miss these chances man.
Saving the goals for Sunday.
14-12-2021, 08:17 PM
This is frustrating
14-12-2021, 08:18 PM
:giruy2: coming on
14-12-2021, 08:19 PM
Murphy missed a sitter that should have won us the game at Dens.
Greenio
Cumdog coming on
This is frustrating
But will make second goal all the sweeter
I’d be tempted to bring Gogic on, try and reimpose ourselves on the game.
Looks like Cummings coming on.
hibee316
14-12-2021, 08:20 PM
Dundee 13/2 for the draw...
Not that I would be having anything to do with that mind! :)
14-12-2021, 08:20 PM
Booing Cummings is a joke.
14-12-2021, 08:21 PM
sparky coming on as well :rolleyes:
Berwickhibby
Script is written…Cumdog and Griffith
Greenio
Leigh looking chunky
Just motivates him more Pointless
This is set up for JC or LG to grab a goal here
Griffiths gets applause, Cummings gets boos. **** sake man.
14-12-2021, 08:22 PM
Look at the belly on Griff!
Griffiths or Cummings to score now
Bizarre
Just motivates him more Pointless
and childish
and disrespectful
HendoDelivered
You just know what happens now 😂😂😂😂
Gogic for JDH
MikeyS
Absolutely ridiculous from the hard of thinking in our support.
Goga for jdh
14-12-2021, 08:23 PM
No SDG don’t be sitting in.
Gogic?
one day maybe...
Cup final winning legend and some boo him.... Shocking
Why do we not have the self believe to get a second against teams at the bottom of league Does my head in ffs
14-12-2021, 08:24 PM
Griffiths looks like the guy your mate brings along to 5s who is supposedly a player but is 2 stone overweight and struggles to run 10 yards.
Goga blatent handball missed [emoji23][emoji23]
No SDG don’t be sitting in.
Looks like the game plan👀
Leigh looking chunky
Looks out of shape
The booing is a disgrace, Ffs!
Gogic just do a McCracken?
That’s surely a booking for Fontaine there?
Muppets.
14-12-2021, 08:25 PM
Gogic was great for us last season, no issue at all with him coming on.
Looks out of shape
Aye but what shape?
14-12-2021, 08:26 PM
Playing for Rangers erases winning the Scottish Cup apparently.
i'd love for one of those booing cummings to come on here and explain their actions
Know what's coming next :rolleyes:
14-12-2021, 08:27 PM
i'd love for one of those booing cummings to come on here and explain their actions
Wouldn’t hold your breath, probably the perpetrators of the attempts to turn us in to a Celtic tribute act at away matches.
Know what's coming next :rolleyes:
Sshh
6+ mins
Doesn’t make sense does it?
14-12-2021, 08:28 PM
Attendance 13,516 I'll crack the jokes. 🤣🤣
They made a face like this :eek: and made a noise?
Newell has played really well.
14-12-2021, 08:29 PM
We seem to have something a bit more here.
Really poor. 😔
I wouldn't boo him but don't get the applause during the game either. I say save that for full time and we've won the game.
14-12-2021, 08:30 PM
Cummings is a legend, does my absolute nut when people boo him :giruy2:
I would agree. Think he’s been our best player!
I wouldn't boo him but don't get the applause during the game either. I say save that for full time and we've won the game.
I would applaud Cummings if he ran my dog down.
I'm usually a glass half full kind of guy but god this is awful.
14-12-2021, 08:31 PM
As do the sponsors, just named MOTM.
Remember we all started slating Jason Scotland in the playoffs? Ended well. Really don't know why we do it.
HendoDelivered
:agree: new gaffers got a big task on his hands
As do the sponsors, just named MOTM.
[emoji1303]
in the circumstances, i'd gladly take an awful 3 points
Sioux
14-12-2021, 08:32 PM
Aye, we should only boo our own players.
Yip couldn’t agree more
14-12-2021, 08:32 PM
Would mean SDG has us unbeaten
14-12-2021, 08:33 PM
come on doidge going offside man
Murphy's been poor since he came on, poor finishing and struggling to beat anyone down the left.
I agree, very composed second half - others have been scrappy.
Aye but what shape?
As they say carrying a fair bit of timber
Don't think we've been all that bad at all really. We're all just understandably jittery with a 1 goal lead.
Oh ffs Doidge come on, you can’t be offside there.
C'mon hibs
14-12-2021, 08:34 PM
That’s so stupid from Doidge. Basic stuff.
14-12-2021, 08:34 PM
Gogic brilliant. Really solid since he came on.
I agree, very composed second half - others have been scrappy.
Just wish he’d play like this more often
I mentioned it the other day, was really surprised when I saw him, very poor for a so called pro and no wonder he got called out at Celtic if that's his attitude.
14-12-2021, 08:35 PM
What a plonker. 🤣🤣🤣
14-12-2021, 08:35 PM
Dundee players look knackered. We look tired but they look worse.
14-12-2021, 08:36 PM
sweeny red card
Thought exactly the same.
He is miles off being match fit and doesn’t look the player he was Hope he improves but he won’t make an impact in the final
Dundee down to ten men just before full time. What a dafty.
One part of his game he really to improve, struggles to stay onside a lot.
Yogi doing his nut on the radio :greengrin
thank frook FT, thank you McMullan
Ft! 1-0
I’ll take that!
14-12-2021, 08:37 PM
A win is a win
What is with referees and sending off players. Really card happy this season.
Jamie Murphy really could’ve made a few games so much more comfortable if he could finish his chances. Thought he was poor all round when he came on.
Ft! 1-0
I'll take the same again next game
Dundee down to ten men just before full time. What a dafty.
The same officious prick we got at Ross County?
pollution
Good one lads !!
Couple of the young team had a few too many capri-suns for their lunch. 🤣🤣
Well done Hibs, wasn't vintage but a job well done, thought Lewis was outstanding
I'll take the same again next game
Aw can we no make it a big more exciting?
He is miles off being match fit and doesn’t look the player he was Hope he improves but he won’t make an impact in the final
it's his brain that he needs to switch on
14-12-2021, 08:38 PM
Jamie Murphy really could’ve made a few games so much more comfortable if he could finish his chances. Thought he was poor all round when he came on.
Thought this myself.
The amount of really good chances he’s missed is crazy.
Thank god
Phew.
Good win, total control but no threat up front, help with their mental state going into sunday.
Berwickhibby
A win is a win but we were pish up front…on to Sunday 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
lol who's the wee hibby kid running on the pitch ? :greengrin
Take the 3 points gladly.
Sir David remains unbeaten :wink:
14-12-2021, 08:39 PM
Taking the chances, never mind half chances and that would have been a comfy 4-0 .
Aw can we no make it a big more exciting?
Save the exciting bit for Scottish Cup Final.
I’ll take that!
Me too but how are we going to improve for the Cup Final Need to get Derren Brown in the dressing room before the game
i'll take that. points wise, we're back in the hunt for europe. let's just hope the new gaffer can deliver.
Well done Hibs. Vital 3 points and onto Sunday.
14-12-2021, 08:40 PM
Vital win
Suddenly we are back in the mix for top 4
Cup final nerves have officially started now.
Ray Donovan
Would have taken any win before the game so that will do. 2 points off 4th and a cup final to look forward to on Sunday!
Hibby-G
Not the best performance, but certainly not the worst! 3 points is all we could have asked for.
Thought Josh Campbell was excellent again today, every time he got the ball, he looked to do something positive with it. Took on (and most of the time beat) his man multiple times tonight.
Looking like a good addition to the side!
Stevenson was also very good, and Gogic looked solid when he came on.
A win is a win but we were pish up front…on to Sunday 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
2nd yellow was for dissent, said something to the ref, stupid yellow
Easy win. Good defensive performance. Still missing goals.
The Captain....
14-12-2021, 08:41 PM
Dug out a win..3 much needed points and something to build on.
Lot of hard work to do in coming months.
Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk
Me too but how are we going to improve for the Cup Final Need to get Derren Brown in the dressing room before the game
Cup Final will take care of itself Ronnie!
14-12-2021, 08:41 PM
Vital. Hard earned.
14-12-2021, 08:42 PM
Cup final nerves have officially started now.
Petrie!!!
14-12-2021, 08:43 PM
I was going to say ‘take the 3 points and run’ but that’s not fair. I only caught the second half but we were by far the better team and never looked like losing it.
https://youtu.be/jeGTt08xdWA
Cup Final will take care of itself Ronnie!
Have t seen us beat that mob in a Cup Final since the early seventies We are due acwin v them
We’re only two points off 4th. How the **** has that happened hahaha
Great to get a victory. The players will get a boost in confidence from it. 2 points off 4th after our horrendous run of results.
Just what we needed. Doesn't matter if it was 1-0 or 5-0 get the three points. Win and clean sheet should give us a wee boost for Sunday. Also stops the rot and puts us not far off 4th.
14-12-2021, 08:44 PM
More positive but still dependant highly dependant on Boyle for creativity and goals. Doidge can be excused somewhat but we need more up front.
Have t seen us beat that mob in a Cup Final since the early seventies We are due acwin v them
Another performance like the Semi Final would do me!
14-12-2021, 08:45 PM
We’re only two points off 4th. How the **** has that happened hahahaMad eh. Not losing that late goal at St mirren on the weekend and we would be joint 4th right now [emoji23]
Crap game but massive 3 points.
Think that sums up tonight.
King conrad
I thought Lewis was terrific. Good touch,passing as always
and defended really well, Still has alot to offer hope he
starts in the final
LunasBoots
14-12-2021, 08:47 PM
Good performace and a vital 3 points, not really sure that we have enough going forward in regards to scoring goals though.
Criswell
Defence were solid tonight. I thought Newell had a very good game. Very physical opponents.
2nd yellow was for dissent, said something to the ref, stupid yellow
It was but just seems multiple red cards are happening every week this season. It's like the refs got used to no fans and are now very reactive to fan noise and calls.
14-12-2021, 08:48 PM
We looked all right between the goal and half time when we played more on the front foot. Just needed to win so will take that but not a good watch.
14-12-2021, 08:48 PM
starts in the final
He was very good.
I often think Doigs distribution from deep is very poor as he aimlessly hoofs it up the park or slices it.
Lewis brought so much composure and quality in his passing.
Magpie
14-12-2021, 08:50 PM
Still plenty to work on but that’s 3 points we needed tonight. Let’s now enjoy the build up to Sunday.
14-12-2021, 08:51 PM
Important win.
Thought Dundee were awful.
We played better against St Mirren and only got a point.
Hopefully Nisbet is ok for Sunday.
We seriously need new players though - seriously lack of depth and options all over the pitch.
Onto Sunday..one off game - nothing to lose.
14-12-2021, 08:52 PM
Only the 3 points were important tonight. When confidence is low and you're on a poor run you'll take anything. The performances will come.
14-12-2021, 08:52 PM
How pish is Murphy's finishing? Hope he is away next season, so frustrating watching him.
Maybe I'm easy pleased, but I enjoyed the game, some of the play was a big improvement on what I have watched lately. The ball was being moved forward, not sideways, 2nd balls were being won, tackling and not giving away fouls. The one worry of course is the lack of goals from open play, rar too dependent on Boyle.
14-12-2021, 08:55 PM
Ken who is pish? Leigh Griffiths
14-12-2021, 08:57 PM
How pish is Murphy's finishing? Hope he is away next season, so frustrating watching him.
Lacks composure. Will surely be able to get better than him, probably cheaper too.
14-12-2021, 08:59 PM
Dundee look like the unfittest team in the league. As for Griffith he looks like a Sunday league player that’s just come from a night in the boozer to play.
14-12-2021, 09:01 PM
His finishing and crossing is overall awful.
If you have defenders that stand off him then fair enough he might whip in a half decent one. But if he receives the ball with a defender close he’s too weak and slow.
On occasion he’ll jink past one or two but it’s mainly him cutting inside or dribbling aimlessly before being tackled.
He’s much better with Doig behind him as he makes that overlapping run.
Can’t wait for Dan McKay to be back and give us on the left what Boyle does on the right - Pace, direct and a goal threat
Pilrig_Sauzee
14-12-2021, 09:02 PM
A win’s a win. Some positive moments, but that won’t win us the cup. Everyobe will need to be better.
14-12-2021, 09:13 PM
Wee guy made a beeline straight for Boyle and came away with his strip.
mcohibs
14-12-2021, 09:15 PM
Ken who is pish? Leigh Griffiths
Waster
14-12-2021, 09:15 PM
starts in the final
Lewis has been excellent the last few games. Very positive in his play.
14-12-2021, 09:24 PM
Instantly forgettable game, but a battling 3 points which were badly needed. 4 points from 6 was certainly more than I expected from last 2 fixtures. New Head Coach will have a big rebuilding job to do, there's so little quality there, but the mini recovery of last 2 games at least means he's coming in with things looking a bit better than they could have, assuming an imminent appointment.
14-12-2021, 09:26 PM
Dundee look like the unfittest team in the league. As for Griffith he looks like a Sunday league player that’s just come from a night in the boozer to play.
Did LG even warm up before going on?
I saw him warm up 1st half and half time and then Cummings warm
Up before he came on but looked like LG didn’t even warm up ?
14-12-2021, 09:27 PM
Lewis has been superb every time he’s taken to the field this season.
I’d argue he’s probably playing better than ever.
14-12-2021, 09:31 PM
Mind people were saying get griff back.... he needs to stay off the Greggs.
14-12-2021, 09:32 PM
We’ve seen it for weeks now and if we can see it from the stands clubs have to be aware. Clearly referees are clamping down on the stealing of yards at throw ins and dead ball situations. The first time I really noticed it was when we were given possession after a foul throw was given against the The rangers. But clubs must surely have been made aware of the enforcement of the rules officially too.
14-12-2021, 09:34 PM
Griffiths is finished IMO. Looks way over weight. Always had a ***** attitude, was lucky to be blessed with natural ability but he’s too out of shape to use that talent and doesn’t have the motivation to sort himself out.
14-12-2021, 09:37 PM
Whoever that referee was tonight, can we get him booked for some more matches. Very clearly a homer.
14-12-2021, 09:41 PM
Whoever that referee was tonight, can we get him booked for some more matches. Very clearly a homer.
Looked like the same ref that sent Doidge and Boyle off a couple of weeks ago?
14-12-2021, 09:42 PM
Was indeed
14-12-2021, 09:42 PM
We’re only two points off 4th. How the **** has that happened hahaha
I know - it’s almost as if some folks were being a bit pessimistic. :hilarious
14-12-2021, 09:43 PM
Wee guy made a beeline straight for Boyle and came away with his strip.
those who dare :thumbsup:
14-12-2021, 09:45 PM
I know - it’s almost as if some folks were being a bit pessimistic. :hilariousNo way! [emoji54]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211214/373e1fe42fc8ec5355c7bde38b3cdd30.jpg
14-12-2021, 09:50 PM
Giving us something back. 🙈
Cat Stanton
14-12-2021, 09:51 PM
Defence were solid tonight. I thought Newell had a very good game. Very physical opponents.
Did you hear McPake's lovely interview lamenting the goal because they had several opportunities to foul Boyle in the build up to it ("not to hurt him of course, just to foul him"). Football purist..
14-12-2021, 09:51 PM
As dull a game as I've seen in a while but 3 points is the main thing and the defence looked well drilled even if Dundee were abysmal.
Hibeesforever
14-12-2021, 09:56 PM
Did you hear McPake's lovely interview lamenting the goal because they had several opportunities to foul Boyle in the build up to it ("not to hurt him of course, just to foul him"). Football purist..
Thanks for highlighting that, gives an insight into what opposition managers say to players about Boyle...Mcpake was a Hibs servant but shocking comment and should be fined for it...totally out of order!
14-12-2021, 10:02 PM
Thanks for highlighting that, gives an insight into what opposition managers say to players about Boyle...Mcpake was a Hibs servant but shocking comment and should be fined for it...totally out of order!
Still never forgiven him for his ridiculous diving header 6 inches off the deck that tattoo Stevenson dispatched into the net in Pat Fenlon’s last game.
hibbydog
14-12-2021, 10:12 PM
Total knob and sums up everything wrong with Scottish football
14-12-2021, 10:14 PM
Maybe I'm easy pleased, but I enjoyed the game, some of the play was a big improvement on what I have watched lately. The ball was being moved forward, not sideways, 2nd balls were being won, tackling and not giving away fouls. The one worry of course is the lack of goals from open play, rar too dependent on Boyle.
I'm with you I thought there was enough to like about our forward passing and movement first half and we were good out of possession winning the ball back denying opportunities and getting that long awaited clean sheet. It was nice to watch the game and feel in control.
Still think we can be alot more fluid going forward and keep the ball on the deck at times, but understandably the message was probably keep it simple and get back to basics etc and it worked. SDG should be the man to lead us out on Sunday.
14-12-2021, 10:16 PM
Agreed, he's had a great impact
14-12-2021, 10:18 PM
I'm with you I thought there was enough to like about our forward passing and movement first half and we were good out of possession winning the ball back denying opportunities and getting that long awaited clean sheet. It was nice to watch the game and feel in control.
Still think we can be alot more fluid going forward and keep the ball on the deck at times, but understandably the message was probably keep it simple and get back to basics etc and it worked. SDG should be the man to lead us out on Sunday.
Thought we looked all right between the goal and half time when we played a bit quicker. Second half was poor stuff though.
We’re never going to be a great attacking threat with those players, you just need to take a look at the line up and there isn’t much in the way of goals in it.
14-12-2021, 10:25 PM
Last season between them Boyle, Nisbet and Doidge scored bucket loads.
15-12-2021, 09:33 AM
Made the highlights on Hibs TV !
15-12-2021, 09:37 AM
It’s fitba. I’d be raging if a Hibs manager wasn’t (privately to be fair ) saying the same about an opposition player. Perhaps he should have said stop rather than foul but that’s exactly what they should have done. It’s commonly called taking one for the team.
15-12-2021, 09:41 AM
It’s fitba. I’d be raging if a Hibs manager wasn’t (privately to be fair ) saying the same about an opposition player. Perhaps he should have said stop rather than foul but that’s exactly what they should have done. It’s commonly called taking one for the team.
I'd be raging if a Hibs manager didn't try to organise a defence to defend properly, rather than planning to just foul people.
15-12-2021, 09:43 AM
I'd be raging if a Hibs manager didn't try to organise a defence to defend properly, rather than planning to just foul people.
That’s not what I’m saying. Hardly planning but as a defender in situations you should be doing what you need to be doing. They’d be told as such too.
15-12-2021, 09:50 AM
Have you never shouted “just take a foul” at the game when the opposition are breaking on us? Situations happen and I’m delighted when a Hibs player does it. Joe Newell is good at it.
But also agree that a manager shouldn’t really be coming out and basically admitting to cheating, which is exactly what it is
Crunchie
15-12-2021, 10:06 AM
I thought so too but just been told by a mate he was brutal all night and didn't deserve motm :greengrin Opinions eh.
15-12-2021, 10:10 AM
I thought so too but just been told by a mate he was brutal all night and didn't deserve motm :greengrin Opinions eh.
If anyone has an opinion that Newall was poor last night , then their view on football is one just to probably laugh at :)
Daydreamer
15-12-2021, 10:22 AM
Newell was excellent last night and committed a few professional fouls on McMullan. I cannot believe anyone thinks he was poor
15-12-2021, 10:23 AM
The fluid, quick passing game has been there all season. Unfortunately, like last night, we only see it in flashes. SDG is effectively putting out Jack Ross’s team with Jack Ross’s tactics. Good enough to win most games and when we do more of the slick football then it’s good enough to win any game.
I hope we get that full on version on Saturday and if we do we can take home the cup.
I also hope that potential candidates for the manager’s post saw that and what these players can produce.
15-12-2021, 10:26 AM
If anyone has an opinion that Newall was poor last night , then their view on football is one just to probably laugh at :)
Yes but the nae sayers need to find someone to be critical of. They don’t watch the game, simply pick on a player and see what traction the can get. It’s a funny old way to “support” a team
15-12-2021, 10:26 AM
The fluid, quick passing game has been there all season. Unfortunately, like last night, we only see it in flashes. SDG is effectively putting out Jack Ross’s team with Jack Ross’s tactics. Good enough to win most games and when we do more of the slick football then it’s good enough to win any game.
I hope we get that full on version on Saturday and if we do we can take home the cup.
I also hope that potential candidates for the manager’s post saw that and what these players can produce.
The simple fact is , had we kept a few more clean sheets, we would be comfortable in our challenge for third place …however , JR is gone - so I hope we get a good manager and back room staff in and we build on recent results ….
15-12-2021, 10:37 AM
If the team and tactics had been good enough to win most games Ross would still have a job. We have a total lack of goals in our team.
15-12-2021, 10:42 AM
If the team and tactics had been good enough to win most games Ross would still have a job. We have a total lack of goals in our team.
Absolutely agree we have scored way too few goals this season I think you will agree the team made plenty of chances in almost every game though and that’s what the slick passing game gave us. Good enough to win most games if only we did not have to watch the terminal parsimony of our strike force every week.
we have different views but I can understand why people such as yourself were for JR getting the bullet….results in recent times had been poor, and for many, the style was not good enough. Can I ask out of genuine interest…what’s your view on him likely being replaced by a complete novice Head Coach?
It's a fair point he's made though. As is yours - the lack of goals is killing us; last season we relied on Doidge, Nisbet and Boyle to score all our goals and cos they did and we were the 3rd highest scorers in the league it masked the problem. Now they're not scoring as many we are struggling.
15-12-2021, 10:44 AM
It's a fair point he's made though. As is yours - the lack of goals is killing us; last season we relied on Doidge, Nisbet and Boyle to score all our goals and cos they did and we were the 3rd highest scorers in the league it masked the problem. Now they're not scoring as many we are struggling.
I actually think it’s both ends that are killing us. Whilst we are not scoring as many goals, we are also keeping many less clean sheets than last season. That’s why we are struggling.
15-12-2021, 10:48 AM
I actually think it’s both ends that are killing us. Whilst we are not scoring as many goals, we are also keeping many less clean sheets than last season. That’s why we are struggling.
Also true.
And if we'd signed the players we needed to sign we'd have been able to field a better team.
For want of a horseshoe nail...
15-12-2021, 10:51 AM
Absolutely agree we have scored way too few goals this season I think you will agree the team made plenty of chances in almost every game though and that’s what the slick passing game gave us. Good enough to win most games if only we did not have to watch the terminal parsimony of our strike force every week.
I wouldn’t agree with that, no. I think we pass the ball to death but lack any real quality in the final third with one notable exception. Even last night, I wouldn’t say we created that much, their goalie had very little to do. Murphy should score when we broke and our goal came from a break, and that’s where we get most of our joy, on the counter. Same with the goal at the weekend.
bordergreen
15-12-2021, 10:57 AM
Also, when did you last see us score from a free kick, or, corner for that matter. No free kicks have been converted for a long time. I expect the usual, we miss Mallan response, but do we, he did not score from that many either.
15-12-2021, 11:02 AM
Also, when did you last see us score from a free kick, or, corner for that matter. No free kicks have been converted for a long time. I expect the usual, we miss Mallan response, but do we, he did not score from that many either.
Hampden.
15-12-2021, 11:07 AM
we have different views but I can understand why people such as yourself were for JR getting the bullet….results in recent times had been poor, and for many, the style was not good enough. Can I ask out of genuine interest…what’s your view on him likely being replaced by a complete novice Head Coach?
I’ve never actually said I wanted JR out on here. When I walked out of Livingston last week I thought his time was up, even if there was part of me still not convinced we should pull the trigger. My view on his sacking is more that I just don’t think he can have any complaints about going. As much as I was disliking watching his team, there was still part of me concerned about getting rid though.
As for Maloney I think he’s going to come in and have quite a clear idea on what he wants to do. Whether it works, only time will tell but it’s something I always thought we lacked with Ross. I just thought we were a team that relied on individual moments. Whoever comes in has a job on their hands because I think we have a pretty imbalanced team, particularly in the middle of the park.
15-12-2021, 11:12 AM
I’ve never actually said I wanted JR out on here. When I walked out of Livingston last week I thought his time was up, even if there was part of me still not convinced we should pull the trigger. My view on his sacking is more that I just don’t think he can have any complaints about going.
As for Maloney I think he’s going to come in and have quite a clear idea on what he wants to do. Whether it works, only time will tell but it’s something I always thought we lacked with Ross. I just thought we were a team that relied on individual moments. Whoever comes in has a job on their hands because I think we have a pretty imbalanced team, particularly in the middle of the park.
Thanks for answering - appreciate that.
I actually think Ross’s team had a very clear identity. Keep possession , play on the counter , probe down each sides …perhaps we didn’t have the personnel to maximise its impact . Which resulted in those individual moments being the most impactful. Although most teams have that to an extent.
Can’t see Maloney changing that too much tbh. As it’s a very modern style of play . He may get better players though that get it working if we are lucky .
15-12-2021, 11:13 AM
Yes agree with that ..and in reverse we seem to be very susceptible to set pieces and cross balls ….
15-12-2021, 11:19 AM
There was a wee highlight reel on the big screens before the game last night.
My take away from that brief montage was - the highlights this season have mainly been Martin Boyle scoring penalties and the odd goal from a corner.
We’d actually scored more from corners than I had recalled.
15-12-2021, 11:27 AM
Thanks for answering - appreciate that.
I actually think Ross’s team had a very clear identity. Keep possession , play on the counter , probe down each sides …perhaps we didn’t have the personnel to maximise its impact . Which resulted in those individual moments being the most impactful. Although most teams have that to an extent.
Can’t see Maloney changing that too much tbh. As it’s a very modern style of play . He may get better players though that get it working if we are lucky .
I never though Ross was cautious in the way he set the team up. But I thought the caution came from the players that then played within the setup. For all that there is a lot of chat about the players we haven’t signed, I don’t think the players we did sign complimented the existing players well enough. The likes of Cadden and JDH for instance are decent enough individually but you’re adding them to a team that already has a raft of players not contributing going forward so it just doesn’t work. I was never convinced that passing the ball to death without going anywhere was intentional, I just think that’s how it panned out because there isn’t a player to play that forward pass and get us going in the final third. I think that’s the most important thing the new guy needs to address.
15-12-2021, 11:31 AM
I never though Ross was cautious in the way he set the team up. But I thought the caution came from the players that then played within the setup. For all that there is a lot of chat about the players we haven’t signed, I don’t think the players we did sign complimented the existing players well enough. The likes of Cadden and JDH for instance are decent enough individually but you’re adding them to a team that already has a raft of players not contributing going forward so it just doesn’t work. I was never convinced that passing the ball to death without going anywhere was intentional, I just think that’s how it panned out because there isn’t a player to play that forward pass and get us going in the final third. I think that’s the most important thing the new guy needs to address.
Magennis breaks through those lines - he’s a miss ..and another mobile forward (Mueller?) should make a difference
15-12-2021, 11:38 AM
I wouldn’t agree with that, no. I think we pass the ball to death but lack any real quality in the final third with one notable exception. Even last night, I wouldn’t say we created that much, their goalie had very little to do. Murphy should score when we broke and our goal came from a break, and that’s where we get most of our joy, on the counter. Same with the goal at the weekend.
Fair enough. What I see each week is balls striking the woodwork, regular blocks and saves by opposition defenders and keepers, powderpuff headers and soft misses. But the chances are there nonetheless.
15-12-2021, 11:42 AM
Last year at this stage we were;
Pos - 3rd
W - 9
D - 6
L - 3
F - 29
A - 17
PTS - 33
This year;
Pos - 7th
W - 6
D - 5
L - 7
F - 20
A - 21
PTS - 23
Definitely conceding more goals but our biggest problem is in front of goal.
15-12-2021, 11:47 AM
Last year at this stage we were;
Pos - 3rd
W - 9
D - 6
L - 3
F - 29
A - 17
PTS - 33
This year;
Pos - 7th
W - 6
D - 5
L - 7
F - 20
A - 21
PTS - 23
Definitely conceding more goals but our biggest problem is in front of goal.
You can’t really tell from that ..losing 1 goal can impact points more than scoring 2 ….depends what the score is ….
15-12-2021, 12:03 PM
Fair enough. What I see each week is balls striking the woodwork, regular blocks and saves by opposition defenders and keepers, powderpuff headers and soft misses. But the chances are there nonetheless.
Occasionally. The Motherwell game and St Johnstone game jump out.
If we were really creating with the regularity you suggest we wouldn’t be toiling for goals the way we are.
15-12-2021, 12:07 PM
I actually really like and rate Cadden and JDH. They've been at the centre of a lot of what we've done well this season.
We looked a good side with Magennis playing and we've toiled since he's been missing.
Without wanting to labour the point (which I know I'm in danger of doing now) I think many of our problems have been down to not having enough adequate alternatives to playing Kevin Nisbet up front on his own - which has NEVER worked. Like - never.
If we're to play that way we need to find a striker who can play that role, although even though it's a popular way to play, they're not exactly in plentiful supply.
The defence has lost silly goals from crosses but I'm not entirely convinced that has ever been a personnel issue.
Hecky's fatal mistake was what he did with the midfield over his summer window. I reckon Jack Ross' fatal mistake (or unfortunate occurrence, depending on which way you see Doidge's injury etc) was what happened with the strikers over the summer.