View Full Version : Champions League Draw Today

13-12-2021, 10:33 AM
Meant to be a knock out competition so all teams should go into the same pot and drawn accordingly. So what if you play a team from the same country or have already played the team in the group stage. Devalues the competition IMHO.

13-12-2021, 10:40 AM
Man Utd v PSG probably the stand out tie.

13-12-2021, 11:03 AM
Enhances the competition. No one wants to see City vs Chelsea 5 or 6 times a season. Thats why Scottish football can be so boring. This way we get new ties.

13-12-2021, 11:23 AM
Potentially getting redone

13-12-2021, 11:26 AM
Potentially getting redoneWhy?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

13-12-2021, 11:30 AM
Why?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Draw was botched.

13-12-2021, 11:34 AM
michael owen on Twitter: "This is unbelievable!!! Will @UEFA redo the whole draw or just pick it up from when the mistake was made? Either way, if a mistake was made it surely has to be done again?" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/themichaelowen/status/1470368035819212805?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1470368035819212805%7Ctwgr% 5E%7Ctwcon%5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.bbc.co.uk%2Fsport%2Flive %2Ffootball%2F59634022)

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FGfMVybXwAkdDAp?format=jpg&name=small

13-12-2021, 11:44 AM
michael owen on Twitter: "This is unbelievable!!! Will @UEFA redo the whole draw or just pick it up from when the mistake was made? Either way, if a mistake was made it surely has to be done again?" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/themichaelowen/status/1470368035819212805?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1470368035819212805%7Ctwgr% 5E%7Ctwcon%5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.bbc.co.uk%2Fsport%2Flive %2Ffootball%2F59634022)

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FGfMVybXwAkdDAp?format=jpg&name=small
I hate this pish. Just put everyone in the same pot and if you’re drawn to play someone in your own country or a team you met in the groups then so be it, is that not the luck of the draw?

13-12-2021, 11:48 AM
Redraw at 2pm

13-12-2021, 11:48 AM
Piss up and brewery

Magpie
13-12-2021, 11:51 AM
Messi v Ronaldo would have been a great spectacle for potentially the last time. I think United will get knocked out whoever they face tbh.

SiinDubai
13-12-2021, 12:02 PM
How hard can it be ?
Rod Stewart managed it fine whilst rat arsed in 2016

dchibs
13-12-2021, 12:08 PM
Bring Rod back, it was the best draw ever.:greengrin

ABZHFC
13-12-2021, 12:12 PM
I hate this pish. Just put everyone in the same pot and if you’re drawn to play someone in your own country or a team you met in the groups then so be it, is that not the luck of the draw?

Could also be sorted by the 'Champions' League only featuring domestic champions, and not sides who finish 4th

13-12-2021, 12:17 PM
Bring Rod back, it was the best draw ever.:greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xPDBA2mSHI&ab_channel=SkySportsRetro

13-12-2021, 12:23 PM

as already said by another i think it's ridiculous it's called the champions league in the first place anyway, if they want to include runners-up/3rd as well then fine, just change the name of the competition, and it is indeed bizarre clubs can't be drawn against another from the same country at anytime in the draw until the latter stages.

13-12-2021, 12:29 PM
as already said by another i think it's ridiculous it's called the champions league in the first place anyway, if they want to include runners-up/3rd as well then fine, just change the name of the competition, and it is indeed bizarre clubs can't be drawn against another from the same country at anytime in the draw until the latter stages.

Its a marketing name, thats all.

13-12-2021, 12:30 PM

I get the general point however imagine Hibs getting to the Champs League one year (I know, I know) and end up drawing Celtc or the Huns. That would be pish

13-12-2021, 12:32 PM
Could also be sorted by the 'Champions' League only featuring domestic champions, and not sides who finish 4th

Been done before, no commercial value in that format hence the change.

13-12-2021, 12:38 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xPDBA2mSHI&ab_channel=SkySportsRetro

Only in Scottish fitbaw!

13-12-2021, 12:39 PM
At least we now know what the F1 race director does on his day off 😁

13-12-2021, 12:41 PM
I get the general point however imagine Hibs getting to the Champs League one year (I know, I know) and end up drawing Celtc or the Huns. That would be pish

i think their would be an extra bit of spice for two sides from same country meeting each other for footy fans from other countries

but anyway

Rangers v Borrusia Dortmund in Europa league play-off

conference league: celtic v Bodo Glimt

13-12-2021, 01:15 PM
Salzburg v Bayern Munich
Sporting v Man city
Benfica v Ajax
Chelsea v Lille
Atletico Madrid v Man utd
Villarreal v Juventus
Inter milan v Liverpool
PSG v Real Madrid

unless they draw it again that is

Magpie
13-12-2021, 01:17 PM
Salzburg v Bayern Munich
Sporting v Man city
Benfica v Ajax
Chelsea v Lille
Villarreal v Juventus
Inter milan v Liverpool
PSG v Real Madrid

Expect the English sides to qualify other than United.

Perez be fuming with that. Messi return to Madrid and Mbappe playing against them after the summer interest be interesting though.

13-12-2021, 01:21 PM

Perez be fuming with that. Messi return to Madrid and Mbappe playing against them after the summer interest be interesting though.

yep i think the only ties i would find interesting is..

Atletico Madrid v Man u
Inter v Liverpool
PSG v Real Madrid

both Madrid sides especially

13-12-2021, 01:23 PM

Atletico aren't great this season, United have every chance.

13-12-2021, 01:33 PM
Atletico aren't great this season, United have every chance.

Watched their game last night, beat 2-0 in the Madrid derby. Courtois saved Real on more than one occasion to be fair. Should have had a couple of goals.

13-12-2021, 01:40 PM
Salzburg v Bayern Munich
Sporting v Man city
Benfica v Ajax
Chelsea v Lille
Villarreal v Juventus
Inter milan v Liverpool
PSG v Real Madrid

PSG or Real going out is something UEFA wouldn't want.

I expect Man City to get through, along with Chelsea. Should be routine for both teams. Utd might struggle against Atletico. Liverpool will tuck Milan away at Annfield but over there Milan are a different animal. Watched them last night and despite a load of injuries they scudded Calgiari 4-0 going on 14. They had about 30 shots on goal with around half of them on target and missed a penalty as well.

Dark horses are Ajax, I fancy them to get to the semis at least. Although they suffered a shock defeat at home to AZ Alkmaar last night. They've only lost 2 games in 16 league matches this season

Magpie
13-12-2021, 01:43 PM

I expect Man City to get through, along with Chelsea. Should be routine for both teams. Utd might struggle against Atletico. Liverpool will tuck Milan away at Annfield but over there Milan are a different animal. Watched them last night and despite a load of injuries they scudded Calgiari 4-0 going on 14. They had about 30 shots on goal with around half of them on target and missed a penalty as well.

Dark horses are Ajax, I fancy them to get to the semis at least. Although they suffered a shock defeat at home to AZ Alkmaar last night. They've only lost 2 games in 16 league matches this season

+45GD after 16 games and they sit second, mental.

13-12-2021, 01:46 PM

Liverpool got Inter.

Milan went out in the groups.

13-12-2021, 01:47 PM
Liverpool got Inter.

Milan went out in the groups.

13-12-2021, 01:49 PM
+45GD after 16 games and they sit second, mental.

I know its incredible, they lost at home to Utrect and AZ. Shock defeats by Ajax standards.

13-12-2021, 01:53 PM

?

13-12-2021, 01:56 PM
Salzburg v Bayern Munich
Sporting v Man city
Benfica v Ajax
Chelsea v Lille
Villarreal v Juventus
Inter milan v Liverpool
PSG v Real Madrid

?

I notice you never corrected Cabbbage with your smart arse remarks. If you want to correct people then you should use their correct name also. Football Club Internazionale Milano

13-12-2021, 02:07 PM
I notice you never corrected Cabbbage with your smart arse remarks. If you want to correct people then you should use their correct name also. Football Club Internazionale Milano

Well, Inter Milan is Inter, thats who Liverpool got.

You said they got Milan, which is AC Milan.

13-12-2021, 02:09 PM
Well, Inter Milan is Inter, thats who Liverpool got.

You said they got Milan, which is AC Milan.

With only one of the Milan clubs left in the comp you knew exactly what I meant but you chose to be a smart arse for no reason other than because you can.

13-12-2021, 02:11 PM
With only one of the Milan clubs left in the comp you knew exactly what I meant but you chose to be a smart arse for no reason other than because you can.

I knew what you meant because I saw the draw.

I'm not being a smart arse. Do you call Manchester city ''Manchester''? Or would you call Hibs ''FC''

Don't get upset, I'm not meaning to offend.

13-12-2021, 02:44 PM
Shudda goat Rod Stewart to do it

Stanton Spence
13-12-2021, 03:06 PM
With only one of the Milan clubs left in the comp you knew exactly what I meant but you chose to be a smart arse for no reason other than because you can.To be fair it's widely known that Milan are AC and inter fans hate being called Milan and I was going to mention it myself but would have added a wee smiley [emoji5] as It's a common mistake

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

13-12-2021, 03:46 PM
Enhances the competition. No one wants to see City vs Chelsea 5 or 6 times a season. Thats why Scottish football can be so boring. This way we get new ties.
Aye right, makes the SFA SPFL look like the bastions of professionalism. Tournament fixed to make the rich get richer. What's wrong with these teams playing each other 5 or 6 times a season.

13-12-2021, 03:58 PM
Aye right, makes the SFA SPFL look like the bastions of professionalism. Tournament fixed to make the rich get richer. What's wrong with these teams playing each other 5 or 6 times a season.

Its completely boring to watch the same teams play eachother. Playing teams 4 or 5 times a season is so, so boring in Scotland.

Yeah, proper fixed. PSG - Real Madrid, Liverpool vs Inter, Atletico vs Man United. FIXED I TELL YOU

13-12-2021, 04:06 PM
Its completely boring to watch the same teams play eachother. Playing teams 4 or 5 times a season is so, so boring in Scotland.

Yeah, proper fixed. PSG - Real Madrid, Liverpool vs Inter, Atletico vs Man United. FIXED I TELL YOU
Don't know if you watched the draw. Why do you need to have all these conditions attached to a draw. It's a knockout tournament. Clearly you have a low boredom threshold.

13-12-2021, 04:09 PM
Don't know if you watched the draw. Why do you need to have all these conditions attached to a draw. It's a knockout tournament. Clearly you have a low boredom threshold.

They've been there for 20 years. Its been a brilliant tournament in that time. Why do you care now?

13-12-2021, 04:10 PM

eh :confused: Inter Milan=Inter

the BBC agree Champions League: Chelsea v Lille, Man Utd v Atletico, Man City v Sporting, Liverpool v Inter - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/59637671)

hope Manchester get gubbed tomorrow night in the league :wink:

13-12-2021, 04:23 PM
They've been there for 20 years. Its been a brilliant tournament in that time. Why do you care now?
I have said this for many years, I actually find the whole tournament very boring and Corrupt and do not go out of my way to watch it.

13-12-2021, 05:07 PM
I have said this for many years, I actually find the whole tournament very boring and Corrupt and do not go out of my way to watch it.Agree... my mates and I used to make these mid-week games a 'reason' for a beer... now we don't even consider them .

14-12-2021, 01:19 AM
Not Champions League but I hope Dortmund run right over the top of sevco and Haaland gets a hat trick in both legs lol.....