View Full Version : Is it too early to mention the R word?
He's here!
11-12-2021, 04:28 PM
This squad of players seem like a close-knit bunch and most of them guided us to a third-place finish last season, so it seems to me that the quality should be there.
However, with just 5 points from 30 and just six points off the bottom (with the bottom two each having a game in hand) I'm starting to wonder whether we've got what it takes to avoid getting dragged into a relegation battle.
Three points against Dundee is surely imperative, yet who among us is genuinely confident we'll win?
11-12-2021, 04:32 PM
Yes. Laughable suggestion. We won't be relegated
coldingham hibs
11-12-2021, 04:33 PM
Transfer window is massive, get it wrong and we are definitely in a battle.
11-12-2021, 04:33 PM
We are in a relegation fight just now. We've lost games to 3 of the bottom 5, we drew with one of them today and play Dundee on Tuesday who are 10th. We only 6 points off the bottom of the league.
11-12-2021, 04:35 PM
Not buying we are too good to be relegated, one dodgy appointment(see Terry butcher) away from fighting it.
Our squad may be better then that team but means nothing if we don't make the right appointment.
Not saying panic, but it's stupid to think we are too good.
11-12-2021, 04:36 PM
We’re closer to getting dragged in to a relegation battle than we are to threatening the European places as things stand today. I think once the new manager comes in and we spend in January we’ll get to that no man’s land of not being in danger of being relegated but not anywhere near the European places and just wishing the season would hurry up and end.
LunasBoots
11-12-2021, 04:38 PM
Been here before, nope not too early.
11-12-2021, 04:41 PM
If Hibs are in the bottom two at the end of the season, I'll sit in a bath of beans in front of the main stand.
We do need some additions to the squad, players back from injury/suspension and a new head coach... but I'm not looking for a bulk bargain from Heinz yet.
mcohibs
11-12-2021, 04:41 PM
Ranieri?
mcohibs
11-12-2021, 04:42 PM
If Hibs are in the bottom two at the end of the season, I'll sit in a bath of beans in front of the main stand.
We do need some additions to the squad, players back from injury/suspension and a new head coach... but I'm not looking for a bulk bargain from Heinz yet.
You might regret that in Heinz sight
11-12-2021, 04:44 PM
A lot depends on Tuesday. Losing to Dundee is unthinkable but if we lose that game then yes, we are in big trouble. On the other hand , a win would give us some breathing space.
11-12-2021, 04:45 PM
I know you are taking a bit of stick for your optimism and I kind of share it, but not to the extent that I would scoff at the suggestion of relegation. If RG doesn’t replace JR with a strong character, we could easily find ourselves in trouble in the new year. Nobody, with the exception of Neil, (pesrsonally, I’m not too sure about him ) gives me much confidence and the players alone won’t get us out of the rut.
Wakeyhibee
11-12-2021, 04:46 PM
Yes too early but not beyond the realms if things dont improve.
11-12-2021, 04:46 PM
Awe them polls, are becoming a wee bit to much like the red tops clickbait, so no gonna take part, oh I already have ffs, awe well. Yes we could end up involved in a battle of course we could. It will be up to the new manager and the players to make sure that we climb away from the dross at the bottom and dont also become part of the dross.
11-12-2021, 04:47 PM
Where’s the yes too early but not impossible we will be option. Stupid poll.
11-12-2021, 04:48 PM
No chance we're going down. Never ever ever ever (this season at least).
11-12-2021, 04:50 PM
Where’s the yes too early but not impossible we will be option. Stupid poll.
Yes. Badly worded and unclear.
11-12-2021, 04:50 PM
A lot depends on Tuesday. Losing to Dundee is unthinkable but if we lose that game then yes, we are in big trouble. On the other hand , a win would give us some breathing space.
I’m expecting it. They’ll go at us like an express train and right now we have the mental toughness of balsa wood.
11-12-2021, 04:52 PM
Definitely relegation form but I don't think we will go down.
11-12-2021, 04:54 PM
This squad of players seem like a close-knit bunch and most of them guided us to a third-place finish last season, so it seems to me that the quality should be there.
However, with just 5 points from 30 and just six points off the bottom (with the bottom two each having a game in hand) I'm starting to wonder whether we've got what it takes to avoid getting dragged into a relegation battle.
Three points against Dundee is surely imperative, yet who among us is genuinely confident we'll win?
Another poll really.
11-12-2021, 04:55 PM
As it stands - I think we’re the worst team in the league and relegation is a distinct possibility.
The positive we have is that it is nearly January, and we have the chance to bring in the 3 or 4 players we are short of and should have signed in the summer.
If rumours are true that we might be losing this season’s biggest underperformer then that could be the biggest boost we could receive.
I have faith that Hibs realise the severity of the situation and are primed to act to reverse the decline, even if some posters on here retain a strong sense of delusion.
With the right transfer business at the right point in the window with the right new coach coming in - I wouldn’t actually rule out a strong second half to the season and us salvaging something decent.
We need to change though.
Magpie
11-12-2021, 04:55 PM
I can’t see us getting relegated. The same players got us third last season, a new manager who knows how to get the best out of them will have us back fighting for the top four at some point. Win on Tuesday and we are likely to be 2 points off 4th.
11-12-2021, 05:01 PM
There’s nothing at the moment to suggest we are turning this around before we bring in bodies in January, but the league is so tight. A win on Tuesday and we’re back in the top 6 and in a cup final. It could be what we need.
There’s a potent combination of bad luck, bad injuries, bad form and potentially bad decisions at board level all conspiring against us at the moment.
We need a win, we need something to kickstart the season and get us a going again. I thought it was the second half performance against Celtic, then the covid break, then the semi final, then the St Johnstone game. We can’t afford many more results like today’s.
11-12-2021, 05:11 PM
I don't think we will go down.
However our current form is relegation form and it' starting to stretch over a prolonged period. I would be wary of stating with any kind of confidence that we are too good to go down because as it stands this team needs to actually prove that on the park.
A lot seems to be hinging on Magennis coming back in and hitting the ground running. We saw last season that could be unlikely given it took months and a full pre season to get him going.
Huge managerial appointment, huge January transfer window. Get them wrong and I'll be more nervous than I am now.
11-12-2021, 05:18 PM
I think a lot depends on who's in the hotseat. We saw when Fenlon was swapped for Butcher how a mediocre squad under a mediocre manager could nosedive when that mediocre manager was swapped for a poor one.
I think the current squad has a lot more quality than the one that went down under Butcher, but is desperately thin in certain areas. Hopefully a good appointment will see things pick up and we will strengthen in January. But it would be foolish to take this outcome for granted - our 5 points from the last 30 IS relegation form and we will get dragged into that battle if we don't start winning again soon. A good managerial appointment - as ever - is absolutely vital - over to you Ron ....
11-12-2021, 05:20 PM
Fwiw I think 35 points will be enough to stay up this season and I can't see us not picking up 20+ points between now and rhe end of the season to be honest. Relegated teams are normally crap players playing crap, we seem to be decent players playing crap so there is the potential to turn it around
Lets wait and see who comes in on January, if we get strikers and defenders in we should be ok. The players who we have at present wont have anything to complain about if/ when they get dropped. We also need a Roy Keane style player who wont take any crap, but he would cost a few bob,( dont ask me who) hopefully Ron will splash the cash.
B
B
11-12-2021, 05:28 PM
Don’t think we will go down. Don’t think we can rule out getting dragged in to a scrap, particularly with fixtures up to the break.
We’re a poor side.
11-12-2021, 05:29 PM
I think we’re lucky enough that this forms came this side of January
11-12-2021, 05:31 PM
We’ve just taken 5 points from nearly a full round of SPL fixtures. We’re in real bother and have a long road back from here.
We have more resources than any of the other teams around us to get out of our current situation, and really need to make them count in terms of the managerial appointment, and the January window.
11-12-2021, 05:32 PM
There’s nothing at the moment to suggest we are turning this around before we bring in bodies in January, but the league is so tight. A win on Tuesday and we’re back in the top 6 and in a cup final. It could be what we need.
There’s a potent combination of bad luck, bad injuries, bad form and potentially bad decisions at board level all conspiring against us at the moment.
We need a win, we need something to kickstart the season and get us a going again. I thought it was the second half performance against Celtic, then the covid break, then the semi final, then the St Johnstone game. We can’t afford many more results like today’s.
Wi the common denominator being BAD! (see above)
11-12-2021, 05:33 PM
We’ll still be 7th if we win against Dundee.
11-12-2021, 05:36 PM
You might regret that in Heinz sight
11-12-2021, 05:37 PM
We’ll still be 7th if we win against Dundee.
Well, that’s us doomed then
😜
11-12-2021, 05:38 PM
I think we’re lucky enough that this forms came this side of January
Very good point, we usually save this kind of pish till late winter.
JXM73
11-12-2021, 05:39 PM
League season is over, can easily end up in a relegation dog fight but i dont think we'll fall that far personally... even a new manager wont rescue top 6...
11-12-2021, 05:42 PM
League season is over, can easily end up in a relegation dog fight but i dont think we'll fall that far personally... even a new manager wont rescue top 6...
If a new manager doesn't get top 6, he'd honestly be doing a bad job
11-12-2021, 05:49 PM
This reminds me a little of Hibs under yogi. Got the results for a good while , then went on an awful run.. Lots of folk unhappy with style of football back then. Also seem to remember yogi didn’t receive good enough backing in summer transfer window similar to this summer. Although he did somehow manage to pluck edwin de graff out of nowhere 😂
11-12-2021, 05:49 PM
If a new manager doesn't get top 6, he'd honestly be doing a bad job
Depends on the January transfer window.
If he’s made to work with this group of players and maybe given Boateng, Watmore and Haynes on loan, I think he’d be doing well to keep us in the league.
If he’s given the 3 of 4 players we need - and soon - top 4 still isn’t out of the equation.
11-12-2021, 05:51 PM
Depends on the January transfer window.
If he’s made to work with this group of players and maybe given Boateng, Watmore and Haynes on loan, I think he’d be doing well to keep us in the league.
If he’s given the 3 of 4 players we need - and soon - top 4 still isn’t out of the equation.
This squad full fit with tait and muller alone should see us top 6 easily.
11-12-2021, 06:03 PM
You keep saying that but we've now got just 5 points from a possible 30. Make no mistake the club's in crisis at the moment and even if we don't get relegated it's clearly not a laughable suggestion when we're only 6 points clear of bottom spot and we're nearly half way through the season.
11-12-2021, 06:05 PM
You keep saying that but we've now got just 5 points from a possible 30. Make no mistake the club's in crisis at the moment and even if we don't get relegated it's clearly not a laughable suggestion when we're only 6 points clear of bottom spot and we're nearly half way through the season.
Yes. An absolutely shocking run. And we're still closer to top 6 than relegation.
11-12-2021, 06:08 PM
This squad full fit with tait and muller alone should see us top 6 easily.
This squad’s never going to be fully fit though.
Magennis makes us look a different side - but he’s just not going to be fit often enough.
I also think we need to address the striker situation, and probably CH too.
11-12-2021, 06:18 PM
I don't think we will go down.
However our current form is relegation form and it' starting to stretch over a prolonged period. I would be wary of stating with any kind of confidence that we are too good to go down because as it stands this team needs to actually prove that on the park.
A lot seems to be hinging on Magennis coming back in and hitting the ground running. We saw last season that could be unlikely given it took months and a full pre season to get him going.
Huge managerial appointment, huge January transfer window. Get them wrong and I'll be more nervous than I am now.
Was there not a poster who said "can we put this regulation talk to bed in 2014". Can't recall who it was!
It's pretty obvious that we are one of the worst teams in the league, so relegation is a possibility. We need to get the right manager in.
11-12-2021, 06:28 PM
No chance at all we're getting relegated. I get it that we're frustrated but we are nowhere near it, season-wise. We're not in a relegation slot just now. We'll bolster the squad in the window. We'll appoint a decent pair of hands.
fife hfc
11-12-2021, 06:29 PM
Of course we can go down and don't understand anybody that feels we won't. We are awful at the moment and need the right appointment or it could get very messy. The Hearts team relegated a couple of seasons ago should never have been in the position they were but it happened. Our players are playing like a team that could get relegated and therefore we are in big trouble.
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
11-12-2021, 06:34 PM
Of course we can go down and don't understand anybody that feels we won't. We are awful at the moment and need the right appointment or it could get very messy. The Hearts team relegated a couple of seasons ago should never have been in the position they were but it happened. Our players are playing like a team that could get relegated and therefore we are in big trouble.
You don't understand why someone would think a team 4 points off top 6, with a game against a gash Dundee in hand isn't in big trouble? It's pretty clearly not in big trouble when you put hysterics aside. It's embarrassing were even discussing it, but we're not going down.
Weegreenman
11-12-2021, 06:37 PM
Nothing surprises me when it comes to Hibs. We’ve been so soft for as long as I can remember and yet we just keep dishing out long term contracts to the main culprits who are responsible for that softness and yet most Hibees I know think those same players are legends.
11-12-2021, 06:41 PM
You don't understand why someone would think a team 4 points off top 6, with a game against a gash Dundee in hand isn't in big trouble? It's pretty clearly not in big trouble when you put hysterics aside. It's embarrassing were even discussing it, but we're not going down.
Would you not concede that your stance is equally as entrenched? A team in our form and only 6 points off bottom could very easily go the other way and end up on a relegation battle.
11-12-2021, 06:43 PM
I have tried to blank the whole period out, but where were we in the league when Butcher took over ?
fife hfc
11-12-2021, 06:49 PM
You don't understand why someone would think a team 4 points off top 6, with a game against a gash Dundee in hand isn't in big trouble? It's pretty clearly not in big trouble when you put hysterics aside. It's embarrassing were even discussing it, but we're not going down.We were apparently too good to go down last time. Our form is atrocious and if we don't get the managerial appointment and winter signings correct then I would say we are in big trouble.
Dundee have won games recently, I can't see us winning at the moment, can you? Our defence is awful and we can't keep a clean sheet, so we are not too good to go down. I actually think we have good players but let down bad in the depth of the squad. I would never say we won't go down but know if we get the right manager we can easily push into the top six. But get the appointment wrong and don't recruit properly in January it could be a second half of the season.
11-12-2021, 06:50 PM
I have tried to blank the whole period out, but where were we in the league when Butcher took over ?
I don’t know but I think we were 7th with 5 games to go. :worried:
11-12-2021, 06:50 PM
7th - 15 points from 13 games.
11-12-2021, 06:51 PM
Nothing surprises me when it comes to Hibs. We’ve been so soft for as long as I can remember and yet we just keep dishing out long term contracts to the main culprits who are responsible for that softness and yet most Hibees I know think those same players are legends.
I don’t think any of the players who have recently signed new contracts have been anywhere near the most culpable for Hibs finding themselves where they do right now.
11-12-2021, 06:57 PM
We have 5 league games to play before the winter break. 5 points behind 4th and 6 points ahead of bottom. Tbh, on current form, we'll more likely to be closer to 12th than 4th come 3rd January.
I think if we are struggling come January we'll have an advantage of having 2 players in Tait and Mueller to come in, hopefully a new manager bounce and likely to have better funds than other teams to bring in more players. I certainly wouldn't be blaise or dismissive of the R word though as a team in difficultly can easily get into a rut.
LeithMike
11-12-2021, 07:00 PM
A team like Hibs, who are not used to being in relegation dogfights, are particularly vulnerable to dropping like a stone. We're not used to sitting in and grinding out results and the fans expect us to go out and take the game to the opposition and will get on the plauers' backs.
Our defence is soft and coughs up goals, our attack isn't prolific and our midfield is easy to press and play through.
All in all, we could easily plummet if we don't get the manager right. Get it right and we should start improving again. Ultimately, we aren't a great side and I don't think we were last season either despite our lofty position. A lot for work is needed, I just hope the folk making the decision on the manager know what they are doing. It's a bit of a lottery and there are a lot of managers out there who could really damage us further.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
11-12-2021, 07:13 PM
It’s embarrassing we’re in a position where people rightfully feel like it’s up for discussion.
Whilst I don’t think we will I think in current form it’s definitely worth discussing.
11-12-2021, 07:13 PM
The Dundee game is huge psychologically. 3 points would establish a cushion with the bottom two sides playing the old firm. However if we were to lose at home to a side that would among the favourites for the drop, it could have an impact on the players and fans mentality. Typical if Cumdog and/or Superleigh were instrumental in this happening.
11-12-2021, 07:22 PM
We have 5 league games to play before the winter break. 5 points behind 4th and 6 points ahead of bottom. Tbh, on current form, we'll more likely to be closer to 12th than 4th come 3rd January.
I think if we are struggling come January we'll have an advantage of having 2 players in Tait and Mueller to come in, hopefully a new manager bounce and likely to have better funds than other teams to bring in more players. I certainly wouldn't be blaise or dismissive of the R word though as a team in difficultly can easily get into a rut.
Absolutely. Teams below us have already taken 3 points off us in the last couple of weeks (Ross County and Livingston) and quite comfortable at that. Before the shutdown we're home to Dundee which I don't think we'll lose then against opposition higher up than us in the league being Aberdeen at home, Dundee Utd away and Celtic away then Hertz at home - be lucky to scrape a few draws amongst that.
11-12-2021, 07:29 PM
Absolutely. Teams below us have already taken 3 points off us in the last couple of weeks (Ross County and Livingston) and quite comfortable at that. Before the shutdown we're home to Dundee which I don't think we'll lose then against opposition higher up than us in the league being Aberdeen at home, Dundee Utd away and Celtic away then Hertz at home - be lucky to scrape a few draws amongst that.
Games against the two Dundee teams are huge as I don't see us getting much in the other three matches.
Dundee are poor and we must win on Tuesday and although Dundee Utd are currently above us they are in really poor form and we should be looking to win that too.
Aberdeen, Celtic and Hearts probably won't result in many points.
11-12-2021, 07:29 PM
7th - 15 points from 13 games.
Cheers. So not so different from now. At least we won’t be appointing Butcher.
11-12-2021, 08:29 PM
Would you not concede that your stance is equally as entrenched? A team in our form and only 6 points off bottom could very easily go the other way and end up on a relegation battle.
Bottom two also have game in hand on us, although it’s against each other.
I don’t think we’ll get relegated but I really can’t see how anybody who claims to watch us can categorically state it’s not even a possibility, based on how we are playing.
11-12-2021, 09:19 PM
Maybe we’ll struggle to stay up because we sacked the best manager we’ve had in the last 20 years. Not to worry though because I’m sure those that found the football boring will be enthused by a good old battle with the likes of Ross County to stay in the league.
11-12-2021, 09:21 PM
Maybe we’ll struggle to stay up because we sacked the best manager we’ve had in the last 20 years. Not to worry though because I’m sure those that found the football boring will be enthused by a good old battle with the likes of Ross County to stay in the league.
Its because of that manager we see ourselves in this position.
11-12-2021, 09:24 PM
3rd place finish for the 1st time in 15 years and 2 finals in Jack Ross' tenure. Never outside the top 4 for the longest period in the club's history. And we sack him at the first bad run of form.
We've basically sacked a manager after 8 weeks of poor form. Just think about that. What is the expectation of a manager when they can't be afforded a bad run of form that consists of more than 5 or 6 weeks (as that's when the voices started)? It's ridiculous and the people who have championed his departure need to take a look at themselves.
Away and support Man City or Bayern Munich if that's your freshhold for a Hibs Manager to lose their job.
11-12-2021, 09:29 PM
Its because of that manager we see ourselves in this position.
It’s not. There’s no chance we’d have been anywhere near a relegation battle with Ross in charge. I expect us to drop like a stone now before rescuing the situation in the new year.
11-12-2021, 09:29 PM
It’s not. There’s no chance we’d have been anywhere near a relegation battle with Ross in charge. I expect us to drop like a stone now before rescuing the situation in the new year.
We’ve been dropping like a stone since Ibrox.
11-12-2021, 09:37 PM
3rd place finish for the 1st time in 15 years and 2 finals in Jack Ross' tenure. Never outside the top 4 for the longest period in the club's history. And we sack him at the first bad run of form.
We've basically sacked a manager after 8 weeks of poor form. Just think about that. What is the expectation of a manager when they can't be afforded a bad run of form that consists of more than 5 or 6 weeks (as that's when the voices started)? It's ridiculous and the people who have championed his departure need to take a look at themselves.
Away and support Man City or Bayern Munich if that's your freshhold for a Hibs Manager to lose their job.
Correct, but now we have to deal with the possibility of relegation. Amazingly considering all the facts you state there’s still some fans who think Ross might have taken us down. The mind ****in boggles as to what these people have been watching for the last 40 years.
11-12-2021, 09:37 PM
That manager is part of the reason we are where we are. He doesn’t really leave us in a healthier league position that he found us. He doesn’t really leave us with a better squad than he found us with.
Starting line up in our first game under JR and the lineup today.
Maxwell, Naismith, Porteous, Hanlon, Stevenson, Hallberg, Slivka, Newell, Allan, Kamberi, Doidge
Macey, Cadden, Porteous, McGregor, Stevenson, Gogic, Newell, Campbell, Boyle, Murphy, Nisbet
Granted we were missing 2 or 3 players who would have started today but so was that team from his first game.
It’s not all been about the football being boring, just downright crap at times. Last year is gone, we can’t just ignore what is going on in the present.
11-12-2021, 09:39 PM
Correct, but now we have to deal with the possibility of relegation. Amazingly considering all the facts you state there’s still some fans who think Ross might have taken us down. The mind ****in boggles as to what these people have been watching for the last 40 years.
He's also got one of the highest win percentages of any Hibs manager in History.
11-12-2021, 09:40 PM
We need to deal with the possibility of relegation because Jack Ross has taken us to this point and showed no signs of being able to sort it.
11-12-2021, 09:41 PM
We’ve been dropping like a stone since Ibrox.
How long were we in the top 4 under Ross? A poor run of form and we pull the trigger. There’s never in my lifetime been a manager sacked before a cup final, normally the manager wound be idolised not sacked.
11-12-2021, 09:42 PM
That manager is part of the reason we are where we are. He doesn’t really leave us in a healthier league position that he found us. He doesn’t really leave us with a better squad than he found us with.
Maxwell, Naismith, Porteous, Hanlon, Stevenson, Hallberg, Slivka, Newell, Allan, Kamberi, Doidge
Macey, Cadden, Porteous, McGregor, Stevenson, Gogic, Newell, Campbell, Boyle, Murphy, Nisbet
Granted we were missing 2 or 3 players who would have started today but so was that team from his first game.
It’s not all been about the football being boring, just downright crap at times. Last year is gone, we can’t just ignore what is going on in the present.
He's had a bad 8 weeks. Apart from that he's been one of the best managers the club has ever had in terms of winning matches.
It's pathetic how some fans have turned on him after that time. Good luck to the next manager, he's basically got to avoid ever hitting a 2 month bad run of form or people like yourself will want him punted. Hibs class indeed.
NC1875
11-12-2021, 09:43 PM
Oh the irony.
Best manager in 20 years ? But we’re on a thread about a relegation battle. Some of the Jack Ross lovers in here crack me up.
11-12-2021, 09:46 PM
He's had a bad 8 weeks. Apart from that he's been one of the best managers the club has ever had in terms of winning matches.
It's pathetic how some fans have turned on him after that time. Good luck to the next manager, he's basically got a k avoid ever hitting a 2 month bad run of form or people like yourself will want him punted. Hibs class indeed.
I disagree he had a bad 8 weeks. There were horror shows throughout his tenure. He managed to stop them turning in to bad runs though and got things back on track. This time he couldn’t and paid the price.
It’s the kind of run that would see any manager, at any club under pressure. If the next guy has the same kind of run the too right he’ll be under pressure.
11-12-2021, 09:49 PM
How long were we in the top 4 under Ross? A poor run of form and we pull the trigger. There’s never in my lifetime been a manager sacked before a cup final, normally the manager wound be idolised not sacked.
What relevance does that have to our current situation? I was all for defending him last season for his achievements but this is a new season, it’s been far from good enough and he couldn’t sort it out. We have been a shambles defensively since game one this season and it didn’t get better.
Simply, if Jack Ross wins more games this season he doesn’t lose his job. Winning two out of ten matches is relegation form.
11-12-2021, 09:51 PM
What relevance does that have to our current situation? I was all for defending him last season for his achievements but this is a new season, it’s been far from good enough and he couldn’t sort it out. We have been a shambles defensively since game one this season and it didn’t get better.
Simply, if Jack Ross wins more games this season he doesn’t lose his job. Winning two out of ten matches is relegation form.
And the idea that he has been treated differently is bonkers. There isn’t a manager (not just at Hibs) who wouldn’t have been in trouble on the back of the current run.
11-12-2021, 09:53 PM
Yeah and look at what Ross has achieved with those players compared to his predecessor. You’d have to have your eyes painted on to think that Ross didn’t massively improve our fortunes. Were do you think we’re heading now? It’s not up the way imo.
11-12-2021, 09:53 PM
I disagree he had a bad 8 weeks. There were horror shows throughout his tenure. He managed to stop them turning in to bad runs though and got things back on track. This time he couldn’t and paid the price.
It’s the kind of run that would see any manager, at any club under pressure. If the next guy has the same kind of run the too right he’ll be under pressure.
You can disagree if you like but the cold hard facts say otherwise. We played Rangers at Ibrox on 3rd October and when we went a goal up in that game we were currently top of the league. Prior to that he had us finishing 3rd, for the first time in a decade and a half, and reached numerous semi finals and finals. We weren't outside the top 4 for 14 months. Something no manager has ever done previously.
Good luck to the next manager with "fans" like yourself. He's going to have to do better than all of the above to avoid the sack in your eyes.
Delusional doesn't cover it.
11-12-2021, 09:56 PM
The relevance is that he’s proved that he knows what it takes to get our club into a position that we all feel we should be. He’s the first manager in a long time to manage that, his reward for that is we turn on him and get him sacked.
11-12-2021, 09:56 PM
Yeah and look at what Ross has achieved with those players compared to his predecessor. You’d have to have your eyes painted on to think that Ross didn’t massively improve our fortunes. Were do you think we’re heading now? It’s not up the way imo.
He improved our fortunes last year. Not this. You’d have to have your eyes painted on not to see how much we’re struggling in the PRESENT with no sign of it turning round.
I’ll reserve my judgement on where we might go until we have a new man in.
11-12-2021, 10:04 PM
You can disagree if you like but the cold hard facts say otherwise. We played Rangers at Ibrox on 3rd October and when we went a goal up in that game we were currently top of the league. Prior to that he had us finishing 3rd, for the first time in a decade and a half, and reached numerous semi finals and finals. We weren't outside the top 4 for 14 months. Something no manager has ever done previously.
Good luck to the next manager with "fans" like yourself. He's going to have to do better than all of the above to avoid the sack in your eyes.
“Fans” like me eh. That old one. I attended every single game under JR (that fans were allowed in to). Don’t want a medal but the ‘fans like you’ chat is pish.
I haven’t even said that I thought he should be sacked. What I’m saying is that he can’t complain.
As for your comment about needing to do better. How the **** do you know what I want? I enjoyed watching us more under Mowbray and Lennon who, on paper, achieved less.
Great that we were too when we were winning 1-0 at ibrox, what about when he left though?
11-12-2021, 10:05 PM
“Fans like yoursel”? I get that you’re disappointed Ross was sacked but you don’t seem willing to entertain any ideas that don’t align with yourself. I just hope you give the next man a fair chance despite him not being Jack Ross.
LeithMike
11-12-2021, 10:05 PM
I don't think its just a case of 8 bad weeks and everything else was rosey. There were at least a couple of bad runs last season and let's remember Aberdeen collapsed (with McInnes getting sacked for a similar run despite achieving far more for them than Ross ever did for us). The sacking was harsh, especially before the cup final, but we agave been shown up as a poor team. I would have given him to the end of the season but despite the initial turnaround after PH, we have never been that good and have been found out big time this season.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
11-12-2021, 10:07 PM
The relevance is that he’s proved that he knows what it takes to get our club into a position that we all feel we should be. He’s the first manager in a long time to manage that, his reward for that is we turn on him and get him sacked.
Yes, last season. This season he left us in 7th, only going down the way and losing against the worst sides in the league.
11-12-2021, 10:12 PM
“Fans like yoursel”? I get that you’re disappointed Ross was sacked but you don’t seem willing to entertain any ideas that don’t align with yourself. I just hope you give the next man a fair chance despite him not being Jack Ross.
I'll support any Hibs manager who brings the club I love forward. Out with the past 8 weeks Jack Ross done that.
It's a shame some other fans of the club don't feel the same.
11-12-2021, 10:13 PM
That absolute irony of talking about us now being dragged into a relegation scrap after sacking JR whilst our current form under JR was 1 win in 9, which is why we find ourselves closer to the bottom than European places.
loanheadhibby
11-12-2021, 10:13 PM
You can't be serious re Jack Ross.
The football under him was driving the fans away.
11-12-2021, 10:14 PM
Yes, last season. This season he left us in 7th, only going down the way and losing against the worst sides in the league.
Again, over an 8 week period. If that's people's freshhold for a bad run of results that deserves a sacking they are "supporting" the wrong club.
Clearly some arent taking his sacking very well then..
I'll support any Hibs manager who brings the club I love forward. Out with the past 8 weeks Jack Ross done that.
But some fans are able to admit he did bring us forward, LAST SEASON
But this season we’ve went backwards and it was becoming clear JR didn’t have the answers for turning things round.
He’s been a victim of his own success. But his success is the benchmark of where we should always be as a club. Maybe it’s a good thing that RG obviously thinks the same
11-12-2021, 10:19 PM
Clearly some arent taking his sacking very well then..
Which is fine. I get why some folk might want to have kept him. I can’t understand the view that his sacking was totally unjust though.
11-12-2021, 10:21 PM
It might have been driving so called fans like you away. Not 1 manager in my time being a hibby has ever come close to driving me away.
11-12-2021, 10:23 PM
It might have been driving so called fans like you away. Not 1 manager in my time being a hibby has ever come close to driving me away.
More ‘so called fans’ chat. Have you seen ER lately? Do you think all the empty seats are a good thing?
11-12-2021, 10:25 PM
Again, over an 8 week period. If that's people's freshhold for a bad run of results that deserves a sacking they are "supporting" the wrong club.
10 games in the league. Two wins. That record has any manager worried about their job. Ross knew himself it wasn’t good enough. I’d have kept him until the final but fully understand the decision.
How many other managers in this league (or any other for that matter) go on that kind of run and keep their job with no questions asked? It doesn’t happen often in modern football.
NC1875
11-12-2021, 10:26 PM
What about when that 8 weeks turns to 10, then 12.
We’re on a thread about being in a relegation battle and there are people defending the man who got us here. The past is the past. He’s rightly gone.
11-12-2021, 10:28 PM
Uber fan alert everyone!
This "so called fans", "fans" and "supporting the wrong team" is nothing short of disgraceful.
Our "so called manager" didn't have our team winning matches.
11-12-2021, 10:36 PM
Only the ones who take any excuse.
11-12-2021, 10:40 PM
We’re closer to getting dragged in to a relegation battle than we are to threatening the European places as things stand today. I think once the new manager comes in and we spend in January we’ll get to that no man’s land of not being in danger of being relegated but not anywhere near the European places and just wishing the season would hurry up and end.
We will be 5 behind with a game in hand once Motherwell get pumped tomorrow, we are 6 in front of relegation having played a game more. Not sure that’s closer to relegation than Europe by my calculations. We will be bang there come the end of the season when it comes to European spots being handed out, hopefully with a trophy in the bag.
11-12-2021, 10:43 PM
Like not sacrificing time in their lives to watch a Hibs team they feel with some conviction will struggle to win, maybe at a time when family and friends become more important?
How dare they?
Questioning stay away fans more than paid players of the club letting their manager down...
Maybe our players take any excuse. Plenty people supply excuses for them anyway. It'll be the fans fault Boyle has went off the boil as well.
Steven79
11-12-2021, 10:54 PM
Like not sacrificing time in their lives to watch a Hibs team they feel with some conviction will struggle to win, maybe at a time when family and friends become more important?
How dare they?
Questioning stay away fans more than paid players of the club letting their manager down...
Maybe our players take any excuse. Plenty people supply excuses for them anyway. It'll be the fans fault Boyle has went off the boil as well.Take away his penalties this season and he's offered very little apart from the game against Rangers at Hampden.
Questions have to be asked why he (And indeed the rest of the team) aren't playing like that every week...
11-12-2021, 10:58 PM
How dare they?
Maybe our players take any excuse. Plenty people supply excuses for them anyway. It'll be the fans fault Boyle has went off the boil as well.
So Hibs only come first when they're winning?
I'm not blaming the fans for performances, but suddenly having other plans when Hibs start losing just tells me you only like a winning Hibs. It's absolutely fine to prioritise something else, but don't blame the football or the results or bla bla bla. Just admit you wanted to do something else that day.
11-12-2021, 11:00 PM
That’s fair enough. Lashing out and talking about “fans like you” etc is just hysterics. I think it’s quite clear and well documented those of us that had concerns about Ross from last season up until he was sacked. It’s perfectly fine to disagree with them but churlish to pretend those concerns were about 8 games in isolation for those with concerns.
11-12-2021, 11:06 PM
I'm not blaming the fans for performances, but suddenly having other plans when Hibs start losing just tells me you only like a winning Hibs.
Yes, clearly...having a ST when we got relegated and through our relegated years. Attending every home game in those seasons.
You forgetting Covid? In general football players have had an easier time than most during Covid. People lost their jobs, told to work in isolation at home. They got to go back to work and socialise with their teammates. Is it really that difficult to understand why I might decide to focus on other aspects of my life while players feel sorry for themselves and stop giving everything for their manager and Hibs?
loanheadhibby
12-12-2021, 04:22 PM
Were you at the Motherwell game?
I'm not convinced 10,000 were there.
12-12-2021, 04:33 PM
I'm not blaming the fans for performances, but suddenly having other plans when Hibs start losing just tells me you only like a winning Hibs. It's absolutely fine to prioritise something else, but don't blame the football or the results or bla bla bla. Just admit you wanted to do something else that day.
It’s not as simple as that though is it? Folk would prioritise going to the game if the football was worth watching. When it’s been as crap as it has for most of this season, it’s very easy for folk to choose to do something else
12-12-2021, 04:44 PM
Take away his penalties this season and he's offered very little apart from the game against Rangers at Hampden.
Questions have to be asked why he (And indeed the rest of the team) aren't playing like that every week...
Sent from my SM-G960F using TapatalkI don't think it any point in my lifetime has any hibs team played like that every week?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
12-12-2021, 08:03 PM
I really don't think we will go down, but many of us said the same thing in 2014. The fact is no team with five points from ten games can be complacent about anything. We have put ourselves in a position whereby we need to scrap for every point now. We are not yet at Christmas, so there is plenty of time to turn this around; but, if this runs continues, we will be bang in trouble. We don't have a manger at the moment and the team has no confidence. A big challenge awaits the next manager and the next couple of months are huge.
12-12-2021, 08:27 PM
We’re only 4pts off fourth place which would secure a European place and we have a game in hand on Utd and Well .
Winning on Tuesday night could be the spark we’re needing , fingers crossed 🤞
12-12-2021, 08:35 PM
We’re only 4pts off fourth place which would secure a European place and we have a game in hand on Utd and Well .
Winning on Tuesday night could be the spark we’re needing , fingers crossed 🤞
We're five points off fourth and six points off bottom. Both bottom (St Johnstone) and second bottom (Ross County) have a game in hand as well. Though think they both play the old firm so can't see them getting points there.
12-12-2021, 08:39 PM
Take away his penalties this season and he's offered very little apart from the game against Rangers at Hampden.
Disagree with that think he has been consistently good this season.
12-12-2021, 08:47 PM
Were you at the Motherwell game?
I'm not convinced 10,000 were there.
Obviously. I have a season ticket.
13-12-2021, 08:58 AM
I said on the game thread on Saturday, if results went against us we could be in trouble.
And to some extent they did, drawing from a winning score and Ross County winning brought the bottom of the table mighty close to us!
We have a much better team than our position shows, but players must start to show it on the park!!!
13-12-2021, 10:42 AM
Never too early and the players should never think they are too good to go down either. We need to start winning games and quickly or we could easily be relegated. We've all seen this story unfold before.
13-12-2021, 05:04 PM
With Hibs, surely we all know by now you can’t rule anything out.
Relegation/euro qualifying/cup win/losing to Cove Rangers etc - none would be a surprise!
13-12-2021, 05:16 PM
Thread really needs taken down, been here before. Far too prophetic.
Crunchie
14-12-2021, 04:43 PM
Even supposing we don't beat Dundee tonight, we've as much chance of being relegated as Hearts have of winning the League Cup on Sunday.
14-12-2021, 04:45 PM
Tonight is massive.
14-12-2021, 05:33 PM
Even supposing we don't beat Dundee tonight, we've as much chance of being relegated as Hearts have of winning the League Cup on Sunday.
Correct. Ridiculous chat that needs to end.
14-12-2021, 08:59 PM
Correct. Ridiculous chat that needs to end.
You never say ‘we’re too good to go down’ but I would say we’ve got enough in the locker to make relegation highly unlikely.
14-12-2021, 09:01 PM
You never say ‘we’re too good to go down’ but I would say we’ve got enough in the locker to make relegation highly unlikely.
Our interim boss just got 4 points off the two teams who actually need to worry.
Seriously, I couldn't get this Hibs side relegated. Dundee, both saints and Ross County are awful
danger1875
14-12-2021, 09:04 PM
Yes. Laughable suggestion. We won't be relegated did you say that when Butcher took over because i know i did
14-12-2021, 09:14 PM
did you say that when Butcher took over because i know i did
No, because that squad was rubbish, this one isn't.
14-12-2021, 09:20 PM
What I was thinking about 10 minutes into the second half - was that Dundee were garbage. If we’d found a way to drop points in that game then we were in serious trouble.
Tonight we did what we’ve done nearly enough of over the past few months - we found a way to win in spite of being nowhere near our best. That’s why relegation is even worth discussing.
There’s a decent core of players there and with the right additions we can still have a good season.
We’ve flirted with trouble though and we’ve been getting what we’ve deserved.
14-12-2021, 09:26 PM
All the people who like to cherry pick a run of games and extrapolate those results for the rest of the season to justify their view of a manager can note that Sir David is on a run rate that would get us 76 points for a full season :wink:
He's here!
29-01-2022, 04:25 PM
Those two wins pre-split have hopefully ensured we won't get dragged into a fight at the bottom but they increasingly appear to have papered over some very wide cracks.
If we go down meekly to Hearts on Tuesday (and who honestly sees any other outcome?) it's hard to see where the spark is coming from to arrest another slide like the one which finished Jack Ross. We seem utterly devoid of character, energy, passion, creativity...you name it. Sure, it's early days for Maloney but we are alarmingly gutless.
29-01-2022, 05:40 PM
All the people who like to cherry pick a run of games and extrapolate those results for the rest of the season to justify their view of a manager can note that Sir David is on a run rate that would get us 76 points for a full season :wink:
Bring back David Gray