View Full Version : Thank you Jack

09-12-2021, 08:24 AM
I knew this may seem hypocritical seeing as how I was wanting him gone, but with the pandemic this must have been the most difficult time to transform a football team and he got us third. He did so with grace and a personal classiness.

There have been some very good times which I’ll fondly remember from his time at the club and although it was defo time for both parties to move on I hope his next step is a success.

Thanks Jack.

09-12-2021, 08:24 AM
The Horgan derby. The Boyle derby.

09-12-2021, 08:27 AM
Thanks for everything Jack. Really sad at this.

09-12-2021, 08:28 AM
Gutted for him, would have at least given him the final. Even if we'd lost it would have been a chance at going out in a blaze of glory.

09-12-2021, 08:28 AM
Thank you Jack - seemed a good guy and think there is a very good manager in there. The recruitment shambles in the summer seems to have really hampered us and sorry it has ended this way. Would have waited for the final personally. At least all the boo boys will 🤫🤫🤫

nickwhibs
09-12-2021, 08:30 AM
Agreed. Felt he should have been given more time to turn it around but this is modern football for you.

09-12-2021, 08:35 AM
History will show if this is the correct decision, history will also show Jack done a good job for the club.

Thank you.

CL0762
09-12-2021, 08:36 AM

Horgan derby was under Hecky.

09-12-2021, 08:36 AM

The Horgan derby was Heckingbottom wasn’t it?

09-12-2021, 08:38 AM
There were plenty positives from his time here and they shouldn't be whitewashed.

I think the biggest issue was that when we had an off day, we really had an off day. The latest run of form would have any fanbase and any board getting twitchy. The modern football world is so cut throat and so reliant on various commercial income streams that you just don't get a lot of time. Sacking him is a risk but giving him money to spend in January on the back of this run and the general trajectory we are on is equally so.

I never once had any personal dislike of Ross and that's not something I can say about some of his predecessors. He came across well, was evidently respectful and passionate about Hibs and the job he had and he performed well in that job for a long spell. I think I can grudgingly accept the club have made the right decision but there is no pleasure in it. I was delighted when we sacked someone like Calderwood, I feel a bit melancholy about this.

We move on to the next man and I'm sure JR will have no trouble finding work when he is ready. I hope whatever he does works out well for him.

09-12-2021, 08:39 AM
The Horgan derby was Heckingbottom wasn’t it?

Yep and the Boyle derby was actually quite a poor performance but hearts were even worse. Did well to get us 3rd though.

I was never a huge fan but I'd quite sad about this. I thought he spoke well last night. Let down badly by the players.

09-12-2021, 08:43 AM
All the best Jack.

09-12-2021, 08:58 AM
Shame to see it ending like this but P9 W1 D1 L7 in the league you can't be too surprised.

Feel a bit sorry for him as recruitment always looked like it could come back to bite us we could see it at the time.

No song and dance from me that he's leaving, personally thought the chants of GTF were out of order. Has a good win % as Hibs manager. But It's the right time for a change now.

09-12-2021, 09:03 AM
Thanks for the great clobber. Tbh the white gutties was the start of the end Jack. Best wishes.

09-12-2021, 09:03 AM
It's all ended very sad. The players that he's stuck by so fiercely, simply let him down badly. All the best.

09-12-2021, 09:11 AM
Really saddened by this. I really liked Jack Ross but even i thought his time was over after last night. The players need to take a long ****ing look at themselves though.

Pilrig_Sauzee
09-12-2021, 09:18 AM
Jack conducted himself with dignity throughout, and maybe with a couple of breaks could have been a long term success. Not to be. Some very good memories in there and I wish him well.

DunblaneHibby
09-12-2021, 09:21 AM
I'm sad too he's gone but not surprised after last nights second half performance. My son said it was the worst he had seen hibs play in many a year.
All the best Jack for the future. You were badly let down by the players

LunasBoots
09-12-2021, 09:23 AM
Agreed, thank you Jack. Think he was severely let down in the summer transfer window on recruitment which has let us down massively, we need to make sure this does not happen again.

BlackSheep
09-12-2021, 09:24 AM
Gutted for him, would have at least given him the final. Even if we'd lost it would have been a chance at going out in a blaze of glory.

Waiting until the Final may have kept him in the job longer than we need at this point.

I was a fan of Ross' but the games since the Rangers semi were too much to keep him...

Fresh start now, and hopefully reinvigorate the players in the lead up to the final.

09-12-2021, 09:27 AM
Incredible to think it was only a few weeks ago we were celebrating at Hampden after a brilliant win. Don't know whether the right or wrong decision but the home attendances and performances would have rocked the executives in the club. Just hope there is a viable plan in place already for his replacement as need someone in quick imo. Liked the way he spoke and he really seemed to like being our boss however his record had many highs and also many low points. Probably best for all concerned including Jack himself and thank him for his efforts for our great club.

09-12-2021, 09:27 AM
Conducted himself with grace and dignity throughout his time at our club.

09-12-2021, 09:41 AM
Conducted himself with grace and dignity throughout his time at our club.

Spot on. This is sad news really. Some of the players need a look at themselves as well

09-12-2021, 09:44 AM
Is this the thread where everyone who has been shouting for him to be sacked come on and make themselves feel better? :rolleyes:

09-12-2021, 09:46 AM
Is this the thread where everyone who has been shouting for him to be sacked come on and make themselves feel better? :rolleyes:

There’s always one.

GRA
09-12-2021, 09:47 AM
Thought he'd at least get until the cup final. Could have left after that game if we'd won with a legacy.

But football is a results based business, can turn quickly, and if you only get 4 points from 27 then any manager would be under severe pressure.

He goes with my best wishes and memories of the Boyle wins against Hearts & Rangers and a first 3rd place finish in 16 years :offski:

09-12-2021, 09:51 AM
A likeable person and had his successes no doubt, but ultimately the correct decision.

Relied far too much on 1 player to provide a cutting edge (Boyle). That led to awful football which drove the fans away and poor form.

Basically, you stop Boyle and Hibs don't win.

09-12-2021, 09:57 AM
Best win rate in the top league of any manager since the 60s.

Probably the right call after our recent run but wish him all the best

09-12-2021, 10:14 AM
Very sad to see him go, but seemed inevitable after the last nine games - and last night in particular.

His record on paper is very good, and wouldn't be surprised to see him employed again in the SPL this season - and do well.

Thanks Jack, crazy how quickly it unraveled, and hard not to think that a better summer could have seen things turn out very differently.

Ray Donovan
09-12-2021, 10:16 AM
Good luck wherever you end up.

Whatever you think of him, he has been one of the better managers in the last 20 years all things considered.

09-12-2021, 10:21 AM
Feel like he's been sorely let down by a bunch of half-job players.

Good luck!

Bad Habits
09-12-2021, 10:21 AM
Sad to see him go, but a change was needed.

Not all his fault. A poor transfer window, injuries to key players and sometimes just horrendous luck have all coincided with some crap form.

He will get another job soon and will likely do very well.

09-12-2021, 10:39 AM
Good thread. Nothing about today feels nice, but rather simply inevitable. Big thanks to Jack for dedicating so much time and emotional energy to his work. Also appreciate him chatting with us on the podcast. He didn't have to do that.

All the best in the future. He'll land on his feet.

09-12-2021, 10:44 AM
Didn't see that coming. Used to Petrie fannying about for months then pulling the trigger when it's too late. I wasn't 1 of the folk calling for his head but maybe it's for the best.
Ron obviously has set high standards and won't **** about if it's not working.

09-12-2021, 10:46 AM
There were plenty positives from his time here and they shouldn't be whitewashed.

I think the biggest issue was that when we had an off day, we really had an off day. The latest run of form would have any fanbase and any board getting twitchy. The modern football world is so cut throat and so reliant on various commercial income streams that you just don't get a lot of time. Sacking him is a risk but giving him money to spend in January on the back of this run and the general trajectory we are on is equally so.

I never once had any personal dislike of Ross and that's not something I can say about some of his predecessors. He came across well, was evidently respectful and passionate about Hibs and the job he had and he performed well in that job for a long spell. I think I can grudgingly accept the club have made the right decision but there is no pleasure in it. I was delighted when we sacked someone like Calderwood, I feel a bit melancholy about this.

We move on to the next man and I'm sure JR will have no trouble finding work when he is ready. I hope whatever he does works out well for him.

Great post. This, and in fact most of the thread, echo my sentiments entirely. He probably had to go but I am sad that he has.

09-12-2021, 11:05 AM
Didn't see that coming. Used to Petrie fannying about for months then pulling the trigger when it's too late. I wasn't 1 of the folk calling for his head but maybe it's for the best.
Ron obviously has set high standards and won't **** about if it's not working.

When did Petrie ever pull the trigger when it was too late?

09-12-2021, 11:12 AM
I liked him. Few disappointments last season but got us 3rd which was an achievement. Players have definitely let him down at times but he’s also not helped himself.

Thanks for the semi final win against the huns, it’ll live long in my memory.

09-12-2021, 11:15 AM
Looks like it.

09-12-2021, 11:18 AM
Thank you Jack, and good luck for the future. :not worth

09-12-2021, 11:19 AM
Results cannot be ignored but feel sorry for JR. Some of the players in green have been a disgrace and would do well to reflect on their effort and application. Also, the summer transfer window was majorly balls up by the club. Ron Gordon needs to make sure this doesn't happen again.

Good luck Jack.

09-12-2021, 11:19 AM

Williamson (should have been punted months before but we kept him on ironically because we made a final)
Calderwood (bag of sweeties)
Fenlon
Butcher

09-12-2021, 11:22 AM
Williamson (should have been punted months before but we kept him on ironically because we made a final)
Fenlon
Butcher

Butcher should definitely been punted imo month before the end of the season to give us a chance the management must have been aware of the toxicity of his management. Still can't get his self indulgent celebration after the first leg out my mind.

09-12-2021, 11:26 AM
wish jack nothing but best wishes, always came over professional

09-12-2021, 11:26 AM

What, like club did with Graeme Mathie? Wished him the best as they threw him under the bus?

Also like the club and Jack Ross when they tried to offload Scott Allan and Drey Wright, failed then obviously had to patch up and say the good things afterwards?

Whats with the finger pointing on this day? I've been against Jack Ross for a while. Not due to him as a person but due to the football he's had us playing. I wanted a change but didn't want it, if that makes sense. I wanted Jack Ross to work as he seems a nice guy. Similar to Hecky.

Club wouldn't have wanted to sack Jack Ross but did because they deemed they had to. They wished him all the best nevertheless. As I do. Label it as feeling better all you want, bit ridiculous drawing attention to this rather than simply thanking manager who is leaving.

09-12-2021, 11:27 AM
Fenlon
Butcher

Fenlon was too early. Getting rid of him was a mistake when we did. He would've got at least 1 more point than Butcher.

Butcher, I dunno, he should never have been appointed.

Calderwood yeah, for sure.

Williamson was fine, sacking him then would've provided zero benefit whatsoever. Correct to wait and he got the next appointment very right.

09-12-2021, 11:29 AM
What, like club did with Graeme Mathie? Wished him the best as they threw him under the bus?

Also like the club and Jack Ross when they tried to offload Scott Allan and Drey Wright, failed then obviously had to patch up and say the good things afterwards?

Whats with the finger pointing on this day? I've been against Jack Ross for a while. Not due to him as a person but due to the football he's had us playing. I wanted a change but didn't want it, if that makes sense. I wanted Jack Ross to work as he seems a nice guy. Similar to Hecky.

Club wouldn't have wanted to sack Jack Ross but did because they deemed they had to. They wished him all the best nevertheless. As I do. Label it as feeling better all you want, bit ridiculous drawing attention to this rather than simply thanking manager who is leaving.

It’s also possible to think it’s the right time for him to leave but feel sad about it and wish him well.

09-12-2021, 11:30 AM
It’s also possible to think it’s the right time for him to leave but feel sad about it and wish him well.

Yes. As I'm sure Ron Gordon and Ben Kensell feel.

09-12-2021, 11:31 AM
Feel like he's been sorely let down by a bunch of half-job players.

Good luck!

I agree.

I've felt through this whole period that JR has been badly let down. First by the summer recruitment then by some of the players we have.

Really like the guy and wish him well in the future. Shame it didn't work out better here.

Duffy

Fenlon was too early. Getting rid of him was a mistake when we did. He would've got at least 1 more point than Butcher.

Butcher, I dunno, he should never have been appointed.

Calderwood yeah, for sure.

Williamson was fine, sacking him then would've provided zero benefit whatsoever. Correct to wait and he got the next appointment very right.

Fenlon should have went after either of the cup finals imo. We left it far too late then sacked him ironically too early :greengrin

Aye, I agree with the rest. I don't think we could afford to punt Blobby financially though and it was a godsend Plymouth wanted him.

Arth@talk
09-12-2021, 11:32 AM
I like Jack Ross and I am sorry it has ended like this. He should have stayed for the final. The players should take some of the blame and it will be ironic if they suddenly improve with another manager.

Sent from my Lenovo TB-8505XS using Tapatalk

Weegreenman
09-12-2021, 11:36 AM
Poor decision by Ron in my opinion.

Thanks for your effort Jack, all the very best for the future.

09-12-2021, 11:38 AM

Wishing someone all the best after sacking them is meaningless pish that every club does, I’m sure the people being sacked take no comfort in the good wishes from their former employer. It’s completely hypocritical of you and many others to repeatedly call for Ross to be sacked then come on and thank him for everything he’s done. Saying he seemed a nice guy is patronising as well.

09-12-2021, 11:42 AM

Similar thoughts but then I cast my mind back to some of the results and even worse performances we have had.

Hibs won’t win every game - far from it but his record against other teams like St Johnstone, Ross County and Livingston really wasn’t great and it’s these results have cost him his job.

Wish him all the best - will be interesting to see how he does in his next job.

09-12-2021, 11:50 AM

Thanks PB, saved me a lot of typing, my thoughts exctly.

09-12-2021, 11:54 AM
Wishing someone all the best after sacking them is meaningless pish that every club does, I’m sure the people being sacked take no comfort in the good wishes from their former employer. It’s completely hypocritical of you and many others to repeatedly call for Ross to be sacked then come on and thank him for everything he’s done. Saying he seemed a nice guy is patronising as well.

Why is it hypocritical of me? Also, where have I repeatedly called for him to be sacked? I've complained about our style of play and results, and argued why a change in manager might be the way forward. Very few posts from me, if any, will say or resemble "Get Jack Ross sacked in the morning". I can say someone is a nice guy. If someone lost their job at work I don't think it would be remotely patronising for me to wish them all the best and say they were a nice person. Don't understand why saying someone is a nice person is patronising.

You seem to have blamed negative fans for getting Jack Ross sacked and/or on a bit of a vendetta tbh. Jack Ross was sacked by the club, not by me or any other fan.

Your logic seems to be:

Ron Gordon and Ben Kensell actually sack Jack Ross and wish him all the best = meaningless birthday card stuff.

Fans unhappy with Jack Ross tenure and voicing it on a fans forum, followed by wishing him all the best on a fans forum when he leaves = hypocritical, patronising cretins.

Hibby-G
09-12-2021, 11:59 AM
Shame to see it end in this manner. I liked the guy, thought he always came across professional and at many points, there was definitely a great manager in there.

But, football is a results based game, and going off the last 9 fixtures, it was inevitable.

Thanks for the memories Jack, good luck.

09-12-2021, 12:00 PM
Why is it hypocritical of me? Also, where have I repeatedly called for him to be sacked? I've complained about our style of play and results, and argued why a change in manager might be the way forward. Very few posts from me, if any, will say or resemble "Get Jack Ross sacked in the morning". I can say someone is a nice guy. If someone lost their job at work I don't think it would be remotely patronising for me to wish them all the best and say they were a nice person. Don't understand why saying someone is a nice person is patronising.

You seem to have blamed negative fans for getting Jack Ross sacked and/or on a bit of a vendetta tbh. Jack Ross was sacked by the club, not by me or any other fan.

Your logic seems to be:

Ron Gordon and Ben Kensell actually sack Jack Ross and wish him all the best = meaningless birthday card stuff.

Fans unhappy with Jack Ross tenure and voicing it on a fans forum, followed by wishing him all the best on a fans forum when he leaves = hypocritical, patronising cretins.

Arguing why a change in the manager might be the way forward = sack the current manager.

09-12-2021, 12:03 PM

Your logic seems to be:

Arguing that a change of manager might be the best way forward is just another way of saying he should be sacked. I didn’t say the fans got him the sack, I said it was a factor, it’s always a factor when this kind of decision is made, but the main reason he was sacked is because we weren’t winning enough games. Personally I think the club has panicked and that doesn’t usually end well imo.

09-12-2021, 12:07 PM
I wonder how Jack will be viewed 3 or 4 years from now. I noticed a lot of people online last night and today saying they want Lennon back! Time is a healer right enough! I think Jack was extremely unlucky this season with various things going against him but like others have said it's a results driven business and it's always the manager who pays the price in the end. There was really no way back after last night i think we all knew it. The players should be utterly ashamed of themselves for last night however. They let him down badly. I wish Jack all the best and that is genuine.

09-12-2021, 12:15 PM
Arguing why a change in the manager might be the way forward = sack the current manager.

Huge difference as far as Im concerned. Guess singing "Sacked in the morning" about a guy that is right in front of you is the same as sharing an opinion why a change might be best, on a fans forum?

09-12-2021, 12:18 PM
Never good to see someone lose their job for whatever reason, not just Jack, but John Potter too.
I felt Jack was a good fit for Hibs and was delighted when he got job. I'm sad to see him go and wish him, and JP, all the best for the future.

09-12-2021, 12:21 PM
I didn’t want him to go, but I badly wanted him to do things differently at times.

If that wasn’t going to happen then I guess that grudgingly, this was the inevitable and correct decision.

Overall, the cold, hard stats will probably be kind to Jack Ross. The stats surrounding our recent slump less so.

As frustrated as I was last night, there is no satisfaction, relief or happiness today.

I think we might have made a mistake. Jack Ross needed more players and he needed to change his approach to certain situations.

We might have a job finding a manager with fewer rough edges or weaknesses.

09-12-2021, 12:32 PM
He seems a good guy. Third place last season was a excellent achievement. It's a shame it's all gone pear shaped in the last few months, but results were unacceptable and that's fitba.

Good luck to him.

09-12-2021, 12:38 PM
Good luck to him he seems a decent guy but business is business.

GRA
09-12-2021, 12:44 PM
I wonder how Jack will be viewed 3 or 4 years from now. I noticed a lot of people online last night and today saying they want Lennon back! Time is a healer right enough! I think Jack was extremely unlucky this season with various things going against him but like others have said it's a results driven business and it's always the manager who pays the price in the end. There was really no way back after last night i think we all knew it. The players should be utterly ashamed of themselves for last night however. They let him down badly. I wish Jack all the best and that is genuine.

In some respects I agree but equally speaking some of the decisions taken this season were baffling (signing Wood/Scott, hardly playing Allan, continually playing Nisbet alone up front) so any downturn in results was going to have his coat on a shoogly peg.

09-12-2021, 12:47 PM
Thank you for the semi final. Class day and performance.

Shame overall it did not work out.

09-12-2021, 01:07 PM
Huge difference as far as Im concerned. Guess singing "Sacked in the morning" about a guy that is right in front of you is the same as sharing an opinion why a change might be best, on a fans forum?

That's got nothing to do with it. I never said it was the same, I was just pointing out a contradiction in your post and now you're just trying to divert the discussion away from it.

Wakeyhibee
09-12-2021, 01:09 PM
Wish him all the best, right decision though for Hibs, even with a Final looming.

09-12-2021, 01:15 PM
He seems a good guy. Third place last season was a excellent achievement. It's a shame it's all gone pear shaped in the last few months, but results were unacceptable and that's fitba.

Good luck to him.

Yep. He was OK.

Far better than a Fenlon or a Calderwood. Hasnt left the bad feeling and divisiveness that Lennon did.

Not up to the standards of Mowbray or Stubbs, for different reasons and with different measurements (win ratios, trophies won and style of play will all form the argument but broadly speaking they've been the best two in my lifetime).

He just joins that far-too-big group of Hibs managers, including Mixu, Yogi, Collins and Mcleish that never really reached the heights that were expected or got the most out of their players.

Some of the bile on social media is just ridiculous. He did OK. Thats it. :flag:

May21/05/216
09-12-2021, 01:18 PM
I'd wish we had kept him on as he's done a good job considering where we were when he took over and it was two weeks ago that we beat rangers at hampden the next appointment will be interesting also some of the comments about Jack on this and social media sites are abhorrent the supporters should support the manager were in a bad run because he got let down in the summer recruitment that's not his fault

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

He's here!
09-12-2021, 01:28 PM

Not so sure about that. After his experience at Sunderland the Hibs job was an ideal platform for him to rebuild from, but having now been sacked his copybook is quite badly damaged. Yes, on paper his winning ratio/cup record looks good but he may well have to take a step further down the ladder if he wants another managerial job any time soon.

I agree with everything else you say though and personally I'm really disappointed (and genuinely surprised) things didn't work out for him. For me he seemed like the ideal fit for our club and I was delighted when he joined us. However, there was something about the 3-0 home defeat from United which really kick-started this woeful run that had me concerned. The way we capitulated struck me as something more than just a bad day at the office that we would quickly bounce back from and so it has proved. Like you I feel no sense of relief about this, just frustration.

He's here!
09-12-2021, 01:35 PM
Yep. He was OK.

Far better than a Fenlon or a Calderwood. Hasnt left the bad feeling and divisiveness that Lennon did.

Not up to the standards of Mowbray or Stubbs, for different reasons and with different measurements (win ratios, trophies won and style of play will all form the argument but broadly speaking they've been the best two in my lifetime).

He just joins that far-too-big group of Hibs managers, including Mixu, Yogi, Collins and Mcleish that never really reached the heights that were expected or got the most out of their players.

Some of the bile on social media is just ridiculous. He did OK. Thats it. :flag:

I wouldn't include McLeish in there. Sure, he had more money than most Hibs managers to spend but his time at the club was certainly successful by Hibs standards. Brought in too late to save us from the drop but cruised the First Division, firmly re-established us in the top flight, including a third-place finish, a Scottish Cup final, European football and, of course, by far the best derby record of any Hibs boss since Turnbull. Things had tailed off by the time he left but overall we enjoyed some good times under him.

09-12-2021, 02:20 PM
I wouldn't include McLeish in there. Sure, he had more money than most Hibs managers to spend but his time at the club was certainly successful by Hibs standards. Brought in too late to save us from the drop but cruised the First Division, firmly re-established us in the top flight, including a third-place finish, a Scottish Cup final, European football and, of course, by far the best derby record of any Hibs boss since Turnbull. Things had tailed off by the time he left but overall we enjoyed some good times under him.

I didn’t enjoy Ecks style of play much, and he never actually won anything, which is why there’s similarities with Ross for me. In fact the more you mention 3rd place finishes and reaching finals that is exactly who he should be considered alongside! Eck had some real legends in his team, and he also hung about longer., which are the main differences.

It’s all about fine margins, to coin a phrase.

09-12-2021, 02:30 PM

Definitely Butcher. Should have been punted before the playoff.

09-12-2021, 02:32 PM
Lol, why was my post deleted? :confused: :dunno:

09-12-2021, 02:37 PM
Despite the last 9 results and our awful form I can’t help but be a bit gutted.

I think he’s a good manager and proved that last season with his record in the league and cups. To downplay where he got us in the cups because of who we played is nonsense, cups are very hard competitions and to be so consistent in them is impressive.

The summer has cost him essentially and by the sounds of it that wasn’t his doing.

I still think he would have got us consistently in the top 4 of the league, 5th minimum.

He’s done a lot in the time he was here, big ask for someone to come in and do better than him. I.e cup records, league position and win %.

I hear all the talk about wanting to play good football and people quoting Stubbs. They have a very short memory of some of the performances under him and how brutal we were defensively.

All the best Jack, you done brilliantly here and will continue to have a successful managerial career. 9 games doesn’t change that.

09-12-2021, 02:39 PM
Yep. He was OK.

I find it hard to compare Stubbs and Ross when you talk about win % when Stubbs never managed us in the top flight.

Stubbs finished 3rd with us in the championship, Ross done that in the premiership.

09-12-2021, 02:42 PM
I didn’t enjoy Ecks style of play much

I’m struggling to understand anyone who didn’t enjoy a period of watching Sauzee, Latapy, etc. 6-2, 3-0 at Tynie, AEK, coasted the first division, 3rd the following year, Scottish Cup final.

What wasn’t to love?

BegbieHSC
09-12-2021, 02:42 PM
I’m a big fan of Jack Ross. Seemed like a really good guy, and gave us several happy memories.

The past 9 games were awful - not even a full round of fixtures, but I suppose a long time in football.

Such a cut throat business.

Good luck in the future, Jack!

09-12-2021, 02:43 PM
I find it hard to compare Stubbs and Ross when you talk about win % when Stubbs never managed us in the top flight.

Stubbs finished 3rd with us in the championship, Ross done that in the premiership.

I do think Stubbs would have had us flying high in the top flight.

09-12-2021, 02:44 PM
Absolutely gutted Ross has gone . Would bet on him over Gordon / Kensell any day of the week. Wish him all the best for the future

09-12-2021, 02:49 PM
I'm gutted, clearly a clever guy and I think he deserved the window. The short termism in the current game is frustrating. I wish him nothing but the best. I hope we don't rue this decision.

09-12-2021, 02:52 PM
Definitely Butcher. Should have been punted before the playoff.

And arguably Fenlon too. Should have gone after the cup final and then certainly after Malmo.

09-12-2021, 02:53 PM
I’m struggling to understand anyone who didn’t enjoy a period of watching Sauzee, Latapy, etc. 6-2, 3-0 at Tynie, AEK, coasted the first division, 3rd the following year, Scottish Cup final.

What wasn’t to love?

Hibs were great to watch under McLeish.

We were also tedious to watch under Stubbs most weeks (for those complaining about side to side passes) but he saved his skin with some big games v Rangers and Hearts. He did leave us 3rd in the Championship however!

JR's team were what you'd expect from a modern coach where possession has become so important. We were very rarely terrible and occasionally very good.

The flak that has flown his way has been disproportionate and highlighted the worst elements of a fickle support that has delusional tendencies. If you support a team outside the Old Firm in Scotland you generally require moral fibre to make it work for you.

I'm actually embarrassed by the way a good guy has been treated and it's been simmering away since very early on. A lot of folk insisted that fans weren't desperate for the opportunity to stick the knife into him and that's been proved wrong. If Hibs start sacking managers every time they have a dodgy spell then we're going to see a revolving door- and that never ends well.

3rd place and 2 Cup Finals in one year... yeah I think the guy deserves a bit of thanks.

09-12-2021, 03:00 PM

We were also tedious to watch under Stubbs most weeks (for those complaining about side to side passes) but he saved his skin with some big games v Rangers and Hearts. He did leave us 3rd in the Championship however!

JR's team were what you'd expect from a modern coach where possession has become so important. We were very rarely terrible and occasionally very good.

The flak that has flown his way has been disproportionate and highlighted the worst elements of a fickle support that has delusional tendencies. If you support a team outside the Old Firm in Scotland you generally require moral fibre to make it work for you.

I'm actually embarrassed by the way a good guy has been treated and it's been simmering away since very early on. A lot of folk insisted that fans weren't desperate for the opportunity to stick the knife into him and that's been proved wrong. If Hibs start sacking managers every time they have a dodgy spell then we're going to see a revolving door- and that never ends well.

3rd place and 2 Cup Finals in one year... yeah I think the guy deserves a bit of thanks.

This is where I’m at with Ross.

For whatever reason some fans just never liked him from the off.

Last season 3rd, a semi final and a final.
This season we’ve made a final and are currently 7th. 9 games ago we were undefeated and beating Rangers 1-0 to go top of the league. A Porteous red card happens and since then our form has dipped massively.

The form was awful don’t get me wrong but I can’t help but feel we’re going to struggle to replicate what he previously done.

09-12-2021, 03:03 PM
I think the club will regret this. I certainly do- not that that is important.

09-12-2021, 03:04 PM
And arguably Fenlon too. Should have gone after the cup final and then certainly after Malmo.

Should've just left him to see out his contract. New man that summer with Dempster coming in was the obvious play. Instead we panicked for no reason (we were 5th) and got ourselves relegated.

09-12-2021, 03:07 PM

They would regret it even more if he stayed. Relegation stuff just now.

09-12-2021, 03:08 PM

I have a feeling we probably will.

09-12-2021, 03:24 PM

Very well said. I was hoping we'd ride out this bad patch. Until last night the performances had been there, we were just not getting the rub off the green. As soon as the fans started chanting for him to be sacked though there was no way back for him. I'm not entirely sure if a new manager will be able to do any better to be honest. It's a pity he didn't get the chance to win this cup but that is the harsh reality of life as a manager. Don't think i've been as gutted about a manager being sacked even though i realise it was probably time. I'm a bit conflicted about the whole thing.

09-12-2021, 03:24 PM

What wasn’t to love?

Ive already highlighted the legends he had at his disposal, my complaint was he never got the most out of them with his limited view of the game. Just IMO.

09-12-2021, 03:26 PM

...thats why I also mention trophies won. Which will always influence how Stubbs is remembered. And rightly so.

nlandsafchibee
09-12-2021, 03:30 PM
I'm gutted, clearly a clever guy and I think he deserved the window. The short termism in the current game is frustrating. I wish him nothing but the best. I hope we don't rue this decision.

You are right the shortism in football is frightening. The knee jerk reaction of owners who take greater notice of mostly young fans chants and social media posts than the majority of more level headed supporters who never really get fedback to owners.
The same happened to JR at Sunderland even though they were in a play off place when he was sacked .I witnessed the massive number of young fans who arrived at Bolton who had been drinking The away support was over 3000 and the chants started from 5 minutes.On that occasion the players missed so many chances and their keeper made loads of good saves None of Ross s fault .Only this week 2 years later are Sunderland in a higher position than when Jack was there. Like now, prior to that he had big injuries to key players McGeady ,30 goal Whyke and limited attackers available .So to those who wanted him out, be careful what you wish for.
You have lost a very good Manager.
I do wonder if Owners do like to get feedback,why they dont just send an e mail to ask the whole supporter base their views .It wouldnt take long as they have all the e mail adresses.Be much more representative ?

09-12-2021, 03:36 PM
Ive already highlighted the legends he had at his disposal, my complaint was he never got the most out of them with his limited view of the game. Just IMO.

Perhaps, but Sauzee was getting on and Latapy couldn't behave himself if he tried (but still was good for us). His vision was limited, but he knew how to use Agathe, better than Martin O'Neil. All said and done though I agree with your opinion that his view of the game was limited.

Inconsequential
09-12-2021, 03:37 PM
What a mess the club is in. Imo Jack Ross should still be manager of Hibernian F.C. He got the side to the final and the powers that be should have had the decency to let him lead the side out out on the day. Shocking decision by the club. Where now? The managerial merry go round continues at Hibs, really sick of it. The same pattern repeats itself again and again. Hire and fire. What chance does a new manager have? Unrealistic expectations from some supporters and as soon as a slump happens more cries for another sacking. Scunnered with Hibs, really scunnered.

09-12-2021, 03:43 PM
What a mess the club is in. Imo Jack Ross should still be manager of Hibernian F.C. He got the side to the final and the powers that be should have had the decency to let him lead the side out out on the day. Shocking decision by the club. Where now? The managerial merry go round continues at Hibs, really sick of it. The same pattern repeats itself again and again. Hire and fire. What chance does a new manager have? Unrealistic expectations from some supporters and as soon as a slump happens more cries for another sacking. Scunnered with Hibs, really scunnered.

If cup finals is the measure then Pat Fenlon was alright. I won't count cup finals in which we don't turn up, so I'm not thanking him for them, and not for all the woeful performances I've seen at ER under him but mainly from last season, I actually think we played better at home this season than many of the games from last. I will thank him for finishing 3rd last year, despite our home form that was some achievement notably thirty three points coming from away wins, you don't see that very often.

nlandsafchibee
09-12-2021, 03:45 PM
Ross got the very best out of the players last season to achieve 3rd .Hibs will never be there in long time.He over achieved and this year had so many problems,mostly not helping his efforts .Yes he was not perfect ,but was a perfect fit for Hibs. Both at Sunderland and here I always thought he tended to take a bit longer re bringing on subs than he should and yet when he brought Doidge and Allan at half time it was viewed as desperation !
Through his developent of Doig,Nisbett the squad has more resale value than when he arrived .

09-12-2021, 03:58 PM
Ross got the very best out of the players last season to achieve 3rd .Hibs will never be there in long time.He over achieved and this year had so many problems,mostly not helping his efforts .Yes he was not perfect ,but was a perfect fit for Hibs. Both at Sunderland and here I always thought he tended to take a bit longer re bringing on subs than he should and yet when he brought Doidge and Allan at half time it was viewed as desperation !
Through his developent of Doig,Nisbett the squad has more resale value than when he arrived .

The common strand I thought he had at Hibs along with being at Sunderland was that I didn't think he had the aggression or confidence that is sometimes required when taking on teams with smaller budgets, especially at home.

Sunderland weren't really an established 3rd division side when Jack was there - and I thought there was a bit too much taking a lead at home to the likes of Burton Albion and Accrington Stanley and trying to then defend a one goal lead. All too often the lead wasn't enough and his team would be pegged back, so for a team expecting to go up, they drew too many games.

Had they gone up and needed to consolidate before trying to get promoted again - I actually think his counter attacking style would have been quite effective. At Hibs, away from home, he actually delivered quite a few decent performances and results.

When Steven Gerrard took over at Rangers he understood the importance of making Ibrox a place to fear going and set up a very attacking side - and was rewarded.

Cautious football has it's place, but at Hibs it really has to deliver excellent results with no dips or the knives will be out.

In all honesty - the football at Easter Road under Jack Ross has been nowhere near good enough. Away from home it often has.

09-12-2021, 04:31 PM

3rd place and 2 Cup Finals in one year... yeah I think the guy deserves a bit of thanks.Utter nonsense about Hibs under Stubbs. Clearly didnt watch us much back then if your making up guff like that.

09-12-2021, 04:32 PM
Utter nonsense about Hibs under Stubbs. Clearly didnt watch us much back then if your making up guff like that.

Indeed, Stubbs Hibs were great to watch. He made watching Hibs good again and has us up for every match.

09-12-2021, 04:36 PM
Was surprised to hear the news this morning. Jack has been one of the better managers I've witnessed supporting the team in the last 50 years. He often used the phrase Fine Margins. Didn't take the wheels long to fall off having been comfortably one up at Ibrox - fine margins indeed. Two years isn't bad these days but I'd expected him to be around a good while longer. All the best with your next job Jack.

09-12-2021, 04:37 PM

It was definitely more often than rare that were terrible. Not all the time but not rarely. We failed to score in a third of our league games under him between last season and the start of this one. And when those games occurred, they were generally brutal. The likes of last night, various games against St Johnstone and Aberdeen last season. Remember the horror shows at home to Livi, Ross County and Motherwell last season and Dundee Utd this.

I don’t think he was sacked based on this run alone, although if you have a run lasting a quarter of a season and it looks to be getting worse, you’re in trouble.

Stonewall
09-12-2021, 04:58 PM
I guess only time will tell whether the right decision has been made.

For myself I am sorry JR has gone. I thought he was intelligent, and a talented coach who had firm ideas of how he wanted us to play. The football was better than many seem to think but the idea it was dull seemed to take hold last season when we watched on TV with no crowds. I watched a lot of football last year and saw very few good games anywhere and felt it wasn’t just us who weren’t easy on the eye.

My biggest bugbear was occasional games where inexplicably we just didn’t turn up, or played one good half and looking like a different team in the other. ( notably against St Johnston and Hearts). Despite this I felt we were building something and that we would turn the corner. However, I went to Livi yesterday and was quite shocked at how we just fell apart. After they scored I just knew we weren’t getting back into this and that it was becoming increasingly difficult to defend Jack Ross.

09-12-2021, 04:59 PM
I have sympathy with that view, and also for JR who I am sure we will look back on as one of Hibs' better managers of the modern era, but the other non-sentimental view is that things for sure ain't working with this seriously under-achieving team, so getting rid now gives someone else, even on a temporary basis, ten days and two games to make a difference before the final and try to give us a fighting chance of competing with the Tic.

09-12-2021, 05:01 PM
I think most would wish him luck and all the best, sometimes it just dont work out.

09-12-2021, 05:05 PM
Utter nonsense about Hibs under Stubbs. Clearly didnt watch us much back then if your making up guff like that.

I loved Stubbs, but there's no point pretending the football was always amazing to watch. When we were on song in an open game it was the best we'd played since Mowbray but against teams that stifled us effectively we were pretty poor.

He had no plan B for when teams would sit in and crowd the middle of the pitch. We dropped plenty of points against very poor opposition in matches that were incredibly boring to watch. With there being no space centrally for the creative players in the narrow diamond to play through, leading to endless sideways passes before Stevenson or Gray would hit a poor cross and we'd lose possession.

nlandsafchibee
09-12-2021, 05:09 PM
The common strand I thought he had at Hibs along with being at Sunderland was that I didn't think he had the aggression or confidence that is sometimes required when taking on teams with smaller budgets, especially at home.

Sunderland weren't really an established 3rd division side when Jack was there - and I thought there was a bit too much taking a lead at home to the likes of Burton Albion and Accrington Stanley and trying to then defend a one goal lead. All too often the lead wasn't enough and his team would be pegged back, so for a team expecting to go up, they drew too many games.

Had they gone up and needed to consolidate before trying to get promoted again - I actually think his counter attacking style would have been quite effective. At Hibs, away from home, he actually delivered quite a few decent performances and results.

When Steven Gerrard took over at Rangers he understood the importance of making Ibrox a place to fear going and set up a very attacking side - and was rewarded.

Cautious football has it's place, but at Hibs it really has to deliver excellent results with no dips or the knives will be out.

In all honesty - the football at Easter Road under Jack Ross has been nowhere near good enough. Away from home it often has.
Interesting thoughts.You can only work with what you have.There are not the quality players in the current and inherited squad to achieve the ideal attacking football at home .The pitch is very wide and defence is as pointed out generally not good enough,not tall enough and too error prone.If you dont have a good defence then you really need some protection in front of them.This worked well when Gogic was playing well. There needs to be balance all around the pitch.
The only time at Sunderland did JR set up a defensive team was at Portsmouth in play off second leg when defending a 1-0 lead from first leg.It worked .I think he might have done siimilar at Aberdeen to get 3rd place .
As for sitting back, It is often forgot that even the worst teams always have a good spell and that usually comes after half time after a rollicking from Manager and change of tactics ,it was never intential.
You can only use the cards dealt .The one time he really went from it at the start with a 4 2 4 the midfield got overun and Coventry won 5-3 at Sunderland.It was a great match for general spectator but home fans went mad at defeat.
The first time I came up was the 3-0 win v Aberdeen and the Scott Allan through ball for Boyle to score will be long remembered. .
I think your phrase of they were expected to win is seen as a right by both sets of fans forgeting that in leagues were there is not much between teams, visitors tend to up their game and are not there to make up the numbers.When home fans become anxious or verbal it gives the other teams belief .Even though in that 3-0 match there were lots of supporters I was surprised to hear giving the players stick at 3-0.
The semi final v Rangers was a classic case of when fans,players and Management were all up for it together what can be achieved.
I think he found a way to play away from home but usually by 1 goal and grind out a win.
Anyway he is away now and it will be interesting where he will turn up.He has been twice shafted by Owners who cited long term projects and panic instead of quoting Sir Alec Ferguson that its the players that go not The Manager.

09-12-2021, 05:12 PM
Based on finishing 3rd and the cup runs I think Jack deserved to be given to the end of the season, there’s no danger we’d be getting relegated. However, I wasn’t surprised when I heard the news this morning as that really was a truly horrific performance last night. As much as I liked Jack Ross, and I do wish him well for the future, there have been few games in his tenure where I’ve walked away actually enjoying the football on display, irrespective of the result.

Thanks for all you efforts Jack.

09-12-2021, 05:12 PM
Unrealistic expectations really. All I’m asking is keep us in top four in league and a few good cup runs shouldn’t be to hard in Scottish football for a club our size , but no we are dropping like a stone and players downing tools.

09-12-2021, 05:32 PM

Why do people keep saying this? If a manager does really well he'd leave within 2 years. Nothing the club could do, money talks. It isn't always hire and fire. This is how football is. It isn't just Hibs that's like this.

Look at Rangers, lost Gerrard and will probably have a bit of flux now as players who signed primarily because of Gerrard look to get moves to English Championship etc.
Loyalty just does not exist in football.

What are fans supposed to do? Pay inflated prices to watch football they hate watching and with the expectation of losing because we need to support a manager and players that are failing? Almost no club in world football would have that support.

What Hibs need is to stop recruiting and rewarding managers and players who I sometimes think they feel are doing us a favour being at Hibs. Hibs have let the media control the narrative for too long. Laughing stock of Scottish football and who would want to take Hibs job...utter nonsense.

He's here!
09-12-2021, 05:57 PM

He was maybe never likely to establish himself as a really top tier manager but he was great for Hibs overall IMHO. I always remember his big focus was on 'mentality' and he had Hearts running scared of us (not something you could often say when it comes to the derby post-Turnbull apart from a spell under Lennon), which was obviously a major plus as a Hibs manager. While there was more money in the game back then thanks to Sky, it was also the respect in which he was held that played a big part in the likes of Sauzee and Latapy coming to Easter Road. I'm not sure he failed to get the most out of the players. The season we finished third we had it pretty much tied up by Christmas and were still in with a shout of second until we fell away circa March. We were simply up against an exceptional Celtic side under O'Neill and a Rangers side that was also very strong.

Not that I cared much about how he did at Rangers, but his time there was under-rated. Having won the treble with a team that was getting past its best he won another title against the odds with a low budget side. Mowbray of course hastened his departure with those two 3-0 wins at Ibrox!

He was also a very good Scotland manager in his first spell before leaving for Birmingham where he led them to a top ten Premiership finish and only the second trophy win in their history. Moving to Villa was a major error of judgement though.

Sorry, that's turned into a bit of eulogy to McLeish, but I just reckon that he was a better manager than you give him credit for.

09-12-2021, 06:21 PM
Thanks Jack.

You seem like a good guy, we had some good times, at the start of this season it looked like this team was going to step up another level.

Sorry it’s not worked out.

09-12-2021, 06:24 PM
Based on finishing 3rd and the cup runs I think Jack deserved to be given to the end of the season, there’s no danger we’d be getting relegated. However, I wasn’t surprised when I heard the news this morning as that really was a truly horrific performance last night. As much as I liked Jack Ross, and I do wish him well for the future, there have been few games in his tenure where I’ve walked away actually enjoying the football on display, irrespective of the result.

Thanks for all you efforts Jack.

His post match comments were pretty brutal. He didn’t defend the performance at all.

09-12-2021, 06:25 PM
I do feel as though Ross was just very unlucky rather than not being good enough.

He was clearly let down by the Sporting Director in the summer and made his thoughts pretty clear on that. We needed a bigger squad and for one reason or another he wasn't given the backing to do that. We probably would have been ok but as soon as Doidge got injured he was fighting a losing battle as our forward options were extremely limited. Mageniss, who was probably our best player at the start of the season, then goes and picks up another serious injury.

Jack Ross is a good manager and I've no doubt he'll be successful somewhere else. I think it's very much a case of what might have been with him.

09-12-2021, 06:38 PM
I do feel as though Ross was just very unlucky rather than not being good enough.

He was clearly let down by the Sporting Director in the summer and made his thoughts pretty clear on that. We needed a bigger squad and for one reason or another he wasn't given the backing to do that. We probably would have been ok but as soon as Doidge got injured he was fighting a losing battle as our forward options were extremely limited. Mageniss, who was probably our best player at the start of the season, then goes and picks up another serious injury.

Jack Ross is a good manager and I've no doubt he'll be successful somewhere else. I think it's very much a case of what might have been with him.

Doidge and Magennis both big misses for sure.

But you’ve got to get results with the resources at your disposal. We were short of cover up front and in defence last season though and to not really address that this summer was poor.

09-12-2021, 06:38 PM
Was saddened to hear this news today. He came over as a classy and likeable guy. Over the piece I think he has done a great job in testing circumstances. Certainly the poor transfer window was a major contributor to his downfall. Wish him all the best wherever he ends up as long as it’s not hearts or the huns.

09-12-2021, 07:08 PM
As someone who was supportive of him until last night, I'll wish him well when he's not facing us.

JJP
09-12-2021, 07:15 PM
Pretty sad to hear Jack Ross had been sacked today when I was told. I was at the game last night and can't say I was looking forward to watching us play in the next game and you can't deny that our current form is awful, however, his overall record as Hibs manager stacks up pretty well against his predecessors and I am sad to see him go. Can only hope the executives at the club appoint the right man to take us forward but I am not 100 percent convinced that this was the right call.

nlandsafchibee
09-12-2021, 07:16 PM

He was let down badly by players particularly last night .7 Gilt edge chances missed in last 2 games could have been 3-1 and 4-1 wins .Hanlon was shocking and I wouldnt be surprised he gets a longer ban if jury look at it like they did with Dundee Utd player. I still dont get this situation of getting rid in a sticky spell when you only recently state he is an excellent manager and give him a longer contract .Quality is permanent and form temporary.

09-12-2021, 07:26 PM

Probably watched very game- and its called an opinion not ‘making up guff’
but to be honest YOU disagreeing probably gives my opinion more credence.

We were pretty good in big games under Stubbs but a lot of the games against the dross were boring - hence why we were playing to about 5-6000 people just prior to the cup final. 3rd in the Championship … talk about accepting mediocrity😉

09-12-2021, 09:17 PM
I think sacking Ross will prove to be a hasty mistake.

09-12-2021, 09:22 PM
I think sacking Ross will prove to be a hasty mistake.

Keep reading about it being hasty, but at what point would it not be considered hasty? If it got to 1 win in 12, 14, 16? Or if we lose another 1,2,3k off the gate?

Last night the players chucked it and he sounded beaten after it.

Percy Vere
09-12-2021, 09:24 PM
Sad to see Jack go. I know it’s been a poor league run but I honestly believed he would turn it around given a few more games.
Definitely should have got the cup final.
I hoped he would be given time to further develop the squad in January. Seems the summer non signings debacle has cost him dear.

09-12-2021, 09:27 PM
I liked Ross and am sad to see him go. I think we've jumped the gun a bit and should have given him at least until after the cup final before punting him. His cup record is quite incredible.

09-12-2021, 09:38 PM
Keep reading about it being hasty, but at what point would it not be considered hasty? If it got to 1 win in 12, 14, 16? Or if we lose another 1,2,3k off the gate?

Last night the players chucked it and he sounded beaten after it.

Best team outside of Rangers and Celtic last season. This year a poor run of results, sure, but stll less defeats than Aberdeen and on a par with Dundee Utd and Motherwell in terms of defeats. I think he had as much chance of turning defeats into wins as any new guy coming in and he deserved his day at the cup final.

Only time will tell if it’s a hasty error or not but imo it is.

09-12-2021, 09:47 PM
aw the best JR :agree:

should have got the final, injury after injury didn't help

Gordy M
09-12-2021, 09:59 PM
Wonder if he will end up at somewhere like Falkirk? They have just sacked their manager and im sure JR used to play for them? Probably looking for a bigger job though.

BegbieHSC
09-12-2021, 11:18 PM
Wonder if he will end up at somewhere like Falkirk? They have just sacked their manager and im sure JR used to play for them? Probably looking for a bigger job though.

He’s far too good for them.

Reckon he’ll probably get a high League 1 in England side again.

In the heat of the moment last night, I thought JR should go, but in the cold light of morning, I reckoned he’d done enough for us to get another chance, and at least a crack at the final. I’ve said several times, I think he’s a thoroughly decent guy, with an overall decent record, and to me, it seems the hierarchy acted in the heat of the moment last night, and may have made the decision to give him a chance had they waited till morning, as opposed to phoning him on the team bus from Livi back to Edinburgh.

That’s football though. I’m unsure how attractive a proposition we are for prospective mangers atm - we’ve been stuck in a cycle of hiring a manager, sticking with them for 2 years before sacking them for a bad run. How many managers in recent years have we received compensation for because they’re doing a good job, and moving on to a bigger challenge?

We’re in dire need of stability - the merry go round we do every couple of years is incredibly tiresome.

Boominator
10-12-2021, 05:03 AM
Cheers Jack