View Full Version : Jack Ross gone
09-12-2021, 10:28 AM
Counts for nothing if you bottle it in the final against a St Johnstone team and never looked like laying a glove on them.
The point is though if we got knocked out in earlier rounds then he likely wouldn't have got as much stick about it
His relative success in the cup comps actually brought him more scrutiny that if we went out in the Qtrs or something
09-12-2021, 10:32 AM
If my aunty had baws...
Aye, what?
09-12-2021, 10:33 AM
Interesting one. Club obviously believed he couldn't turn it around, which is fair. Last night was dreadful and I don't think he can have many complaints. I personally did think he could turn it around before last night but performances like that are big red flags. Something wasn't right.
4 year contract is an absolute disaster too. I know of 2 senior players that didn't get on with JR but I put it down to not playing as much.
09-12-2021, 10:34 AM
Hibs' historical failures are hardly Jack Ross' fault though are they? He achieved something that no other Hibs manager achieved over those 20 years in his only full season in charge. So it is something. 3 appearances at Hampden where they were poor, fair enough. 2 games at Hampden which they won. Getting Hibs to Hampden 5 times in 2 years is much better than a lot of those managers over that same 20 years eh?
Hibs historical failures are irrelevant, both as a way of presenting him as a failure or a success. That other managers failed abysmally doesn't make Ross a success, anymore than Ross can be blamed for the failure of others.
The point is though if we got knocked out in earlier rounds then he likely wouldn't have got as much stick about it
His relative success in the cup comps actually brought him more scrutiny that if we went out in the Qtrs or something
I agree but it all counts for nothing now, all that matters is that they make the right appointment going forward now and give whoever it is the proper backing in the transfer market to improve the standard of the playing squad.
Col L
09-12-2021, 10:36 AM
We have been unfortunate in the run of 9. Only against DU did we look awful for 90 mins.
Nonsense. We've been awful for weeks, and you seem to have missed last night out of that equation. Truth is, we were fortunate in a few of the games we won or drew in the early part of the season, and even the last win at Easter Road - against St Johnstone - we only won thanks to a very dubious penalty.
Blaming bad luck or misfortune is a lame excuse.
I'm sorry it's come to this, but the empty seats at Easter Road have been proof of malaise and something drastic needed to turn it around.
G15 Hibs
09-12-2021, 10:36 AM
Seems that if you regularly get put out in the early rounds you get tarnished as having a poor cup record. Similarly, if you get to the semi-final or final every time but don't win it you still have a worse cup record, according to some.
FRes Hibbie
09-12-2021, 10:38 AM
People have been slating Jack Ross on here for months - they're getting exactly what they wanted. And they'll slate whoever takes over from him as soon as they lose a few games. And then the club will sack him.
This is just groundhog day.
I think the ones that vocally supported JR become the more vocal “next-guy-outers” and vice-versa. Ensures there’s always an argument.
09-12-2021, 10:39 AM
whens the presser for the weekends game?
I see Hibs said "no further comment will be made today"
:dunno: Can't even see his departure on the fishy site. very strange indeed.
Edit. Half way down the page it's that important :rolleyes:
09-12-2021, 10:40 AM
:dunno: Can't even see his departure on the fishy site. very strange indeed.
It’s there - https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/club-statement-jack-ross
ozwoody
09-12-2021, 10:41 AM
I was " meh" bout him but we can't look at what he's done, it's about now. 4 points out of 27, a team bereft of confidence, a shocking transfer window. While it was great to get 3rd last year, we had to kick on and cement our place in the "best of the rest" group, we haven't done that. While teams around us were strengthening, we were not, and that left us scrambling at end of the window.I would love to say, hand on heart, that Jack could have turned it around, but I honestly can't say how.
To be beaten, and out thought and outfought by Ross county and Livingston is a sad state of affairs. Do we really have confidence he would have had this bunch as winners in the next 3 games? As much as I don't like seeing him go, I believe it's best for him, and hibs, that we parted company now
I’m sad to see him go, i liked him, but it’s definitely the right decision, and he can’t feel hard done to given the run we’ve been on.
You just can’t keep putting out utterly insipid performances, while losing the number of games we have, and expect to stay in the role.
The most telling thing for me was that even if we had managed to take something, somehow, from the game last night, there was nothing to suggest the performance would be any better or different on Saturday.
I’m glad the club have acted now rather than prolonging it.
May21/05/216
People have been slating Jack Ross on here for months - they're getting exactly what they wanted. And they'll slate whoever takes over from him as soon as they lose a few games. And then the club will sack him.
This is just groundhog day.I agree with you
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
09-12-2021, 10:42 AM
We’ll be hard pushed to find anyone who comes close to Ross in the sartorial stakes. He was always immaculately turned out. This is the real tragedy.
Steven79
09-12-2021, 10:43 AM
We’ll be hard pushed to find anyone who comes close to Ross in the sartorial stakes. He was always immaculately turned out. This is the real tragedy.
I will take a scruff that actually win games now and again...
andudare2
09-12-2021, 10:44 AM
We only got to 1 cup final and never turned up letting down an expectant support again. We got 3rd place which was only just achieved after trying hard to throw away the advantage we'd built up earlier in the season.
Standard of performances while winning a decent amount of games was never thrilling and we were fortunate in a good number of them.Scottish cup final +League cup final =2 cup finals,we were behind Aberdeen going into late February so what advantage had we built up earlier in season?
09-12-2021, 10:44 AM
4 year contract is an absolute disaster too. I know of 2 senior players that didn't get on with JR but I put it down to not playing as much.
Who cares whether the players got on with him or not(they should have played for Eddie Turnbull)they've let him down big time.
Yes. The exact kind of **** I was dreading.
The “Will save a few bob” option.
DIXIHIBS
09-12-2021, 10:46 AM
Seems that if you regularly get put out in the early rounds you get tarnished as having a poor cup record. Similarly, if you get to the semi-final or final every time but don't win it you still have a worse cup record, according to some.
He clearly had a good cup record but when you look at our cup draws they have generally been very good so we were winning games we reasonably expected to win. When it got to the later stages against tougher opposition we didnt perform. Getting beat of celtic in the 1st round is seen as acceptable...losing semi/final to saints isnt.
09-12-2021, 10:47 AM
I will take a scruff that actually win games now and again...
I would like to claim my five pounds please, you are John McGlynn.
Steven79
09-12-2021, 10:49 AM
He clearly had a good cup record but when you look at our cup draws they have generally been very good so we were winning games we reasonably expected to win. When it got to the later stages against tougher opposition we didnt perform. Getting beat of celtic in the 1st round is seen as acceptable...losing semi/final to saints isnt.
It was the manner of the defeat to St Johnstone that bothered me the most.
Once they went 1-0 up you knew deep down that it was all over...
When the owner says he wants to be the best of the rest, sitting 7th with 1 win in 9 will put you in the firing line.
andudare2
09-12-2021, 10:50 AM
The frustrating thing for me was this season when we go 1 nil down you just knew we hadn't it in us to come back and win games you just knew we would lose the game. I think there was no Plan B and no tactical awareness on how to turn around games when we fell behind.apart from the 2 away league games we won in Perth and Motherwell you may have had a point.
09-12-2021, 10:52 AM
When the owner says he wants to be the best of the rest, sitting 7th with 1 win in 9 will put you in the firing line.
Also, the teams who are beating us and the manner of the defeats - it’s hard to make a case for us looking up the league rather than down.
I don’t know if it’s even debatable that we’re the worst team in the league at the moment and I guess those entrusted with the decision making power have decided that Jack’s not the man to turn it around.
09-12-2021, 10:53 AM
I’m sad to see him go, i liked him, but it’s definitely the right decision, and he can’t feel hard done to given the run we’ve been on.
You just can’t keep putting out utterly insipid performances, while losing the number of games we have, and expect to stay in the role.
The most telling thing for me was that even if we had managed to take something, somehow, from the game last night, there was nothing to suggest the performance would be any better or different on Saturday.
I’m glad the club have acted now rather than prolonging it.
Nisbet scores in the last few minutes from a fairly easy chance and we come back to equalise with only 9 men on the park. As it is though it was a dismal display by the players and to me they probably said last night, with that performance, that they wanted a new manager.
Steven79
09-12-2021, 10:53 AM
apart from the 2 away league games we won in Perth and Motherwell you may have had a point.
That will be the away win in Perth that we won against ten men and were only a Scott Allan away from losing?
G15 Hibs
09-12-2021, 10:54 AM
Hibs historical failures are irrelevant, both as a way of presenting him as a failure or a success. That other managers failed abysmally doesn't make Ross a success, anymore than Ross can be blamed for the failure of others.
Why are some former managers more highly thought of than others then? You have to judge them somehow, and usually that will be against how others have fared.
09-12-2021, 10:59 AM
It’s my turn to say something silly now……I bet all our long-term injured players will get better overnight tonight now JR is gone because they simply didn’t want to play for him.:rolleyes:
andudare2
09-12-2021, 10:59 AM
That will be the away win in Perth that we won against ten men and were only a Scott Allan away from losing?was it a win or not? Notice you didn't Mention the Motherwell game,any particular reason?
09-12-2021, 11:00 AM
I would like to claim my five pounds please, you are John McGlynn.
John McGlynn:shocked:
He’s doing well with RR but don’t even joke about it.:greengrin
09-12-2021, 11:01 AM
That will be the away win in Perth that we won against ten men and were only a Scott Allan away from losing?
No, it was the one were we scored 2 perfectly good goals that got disallowed. Probably doesn't fit your agenda, though.
09-12-2021, 11:11 AM
was it a win or not? Notice you didn't Mention the Motherwell game,any particular reason?
Some wins don't count. It's kind of a Dotnet rule.
It's a bit like Lennon only winning two out of his last fourteen league games. That doesn't mean he's NOT a winner at heart.
Saint Hibee
09-12-2021, 11:19 AM
Please not Derek McInnes. That's all I have to say.
09-12-2021, 11:24 AM
If you need me to tell you you haven't really been paying attention to just how bad we've been for too long and how much life has been sucked out of the support.
Poor answer, Bobo.
09-12-2021, 11:35 AM
was it a win or not? Notice you didn't Mention the Motherwell game,any particular reason?
Let's be honest, the well game set the tone for the season, two incredibly soft goals, from not stopping crosses, to not challenging in the box, and a keeper steadfast to his perch.
The St J game was more of the safe, not brave, midfield shuffle that we have become too used to.
Allan transformed all that, that day
Hardly seen since
Brave move by Hibs, but could be a gamble we regret if we get the next appointment wrong.
OK we have a different leadership in place but we dont have a great hot rate with our appointments and despite the bad run of late, Ross has a reasonable record.
09-12-2021, 11:50 AM
Wouldn't be surprised to see Goodwin sacked and JR brought straight in.
09-12-2021, 11:54 AM
Was he sacked or did he resign? If sacked, it's come a little sooner than I expected; I thought he'd get a little longer yet. However, four points from twenty-seven is horrendous, and despite there being mitigation for Ross e.g. the summer transfer window, the form just hasn't been good enough and last night was the worst performance yet.
It is a shame things ended like this, after finishing third last season and with a cup final coming up. Events, dear boy, events. Jack Ross seems like a good guy, and I hope things go well for him.
Let's see who replaces him. The next guy has a big job on his hands.
mcohibs
09-12-2021, 11:54 AM
Aye, what?
'If Nisbet scored, we'd have beat hearts'. All ifs, buts and maybes. Bottom line is we didn't, we passed up a golden chance to reach the final on that day, add in another semi defeat to St Johnstone when we were favourites to win the league cup and a Scottish cup final defeat to St Johnstone.
Ross has had more than enough second chances and more than enough time to build a competitive, consistent Hibs team. He has failed in doing so. No room in football for hypothetical 'if this happened' and no room for sentiment unfortunately. I liked JR as a man but it's not worked out for him. We've been here before, Fenlon nice guy, didn't work. Hecky loved by players, didn't work. We move on.
09-12-2021, 11:55 AM
Had to go when the greater part of the fan base turned. Personally I think we have lost a good manager and I wish him well.
09-12-2021, 11:58 AM
I'm surprised at the timing of it with two winnable games and a cup final before the 19th. We surely can't go into a cup final with a caretaker manager?
09-12-2021, 12:04 PM
That new contract could prove quite expensive to Hibs.
Stokesy's on fire
I'm surprised at the timing of it with two winnable games and a cup final before the 19th. We surely can't go into a cup final with a caretaker manager?
Ben will have been working on a shortlist for a while
IncredibleHibee
I feel a bit sad for Ross - he seems like a decent guy. I am also a but surprised at the timing - I thought he would get the rest of the season before any decision made.
Hopefully we already have a shortlist of managers lined up and we get the right person in soon.
09-12-2021, 12:05 PM
It’s weird timing - in the middle of a hectic run and 10 days before a cup final, even acknowledging how terrible we are at the moment.
I’d have thought that the winter break was a natural time to reassess the situation. Or the end of the season.
Something might have gone in behind the scenes ie he might have lost the dressing room, necessitating the immediate change.
We might have tapped up a replacement and might only need to get that over the line.
Or we might have decided that by acting now, any January business can be done with more backing of a new manager, rather than having too little time or foisting players on a new manager. Leaving it much longer might just have delayed the inevitable and made it tougher still for the new guy.
09-12-2021, 12:07 PM
Edwin de Graf managing in Holland 🇳🇱 🚕
09-12-2021, 12:12 PM
We gave him two semi's and a final last season and that worked out well didn't it...
Let's put this 'he deserved to be in charge for the cup final' pish to bed.
09-12-2021, 12:13 PM
Personally think someone will be in before the end of the weekend. Think there will be someone lined up.
09-12-2021, 12:15 PM
The clubs are trying to sell 1/2 season tickets.
Current ST holders can't even give theirs away for games just now.
Nobody wanted to watch Jack Ross football. He was costing the club a fortune!
It's all about the timing.
09-12-2021, 12:16 PM
Let's put this 'he deserved to be in charge for the cup final' pish to bed.
Agreed. Anything can happen in a cup tie, and we are underdogs anyway. Earning the right requires decent form over a sustained period; our form has been dire.
09-12-2021, 12:16 PM
His time was probably up due to 4 points out of 27 but questions must be asked why he was given a contract extension to 2024 and why all the players got extensions as well. Surely a new manager will want his own players. I’ve got concerns over the direction Hibs are going in
09-12-2021, 12:18 PM
That new contract could prove quite expensive to Hibs.
Yes, his new contract will need to be paid up.
09-12-2021, 12:19 PM
His time was probably up due to 4 points out of 27 but questions must be asked why he was given a contract extension to 2024 and why all the players got extensions as well. Surely a new manager will want his own players. I’ve got concerns over the direction Hibs are going in
I found the 3 and a half year deals for JDH and Campbell oddest of the lot.
Appreciate they’re both young players but it’s not as if they’ve been part of a high performing midfield over a period of time.
Mainstandman
09-12-2021, 12:22 PM
my understanding is that manager contracts have a limited fixed severance pay. There was issues with Appleton when he wanted a longer pay off in the event of the sack.
Just talking to my mate, he's heard there's been a lot of aggro in the changing room recently, so obviously not all well, also told that Ross and Ron had a wee fall out and their relationship was not great this past month or so, seemingly Ron back in the country.
09-12-2021, 12:27 PM
Wouldn’t imagine we’ll be near having to pay up the full term.
09-12-2021, 12:27 PM
I find this weird.
If you give him a new contract and extend the contracts of several players then surely you back your manager and tough it out?
Maybe a new manager wants rid of these players ASAP?
It doesn’t strike me as being financially prudent. That could be a good few season tickets up in smoke paying folk off.
09-12-2021, 12:29 PM
my understanding is that manager contracts have a limited fixed severance pay. There was issues with Appleton when he wanted a longer pay off in the event of the sack.
Well, that would save a few quid at least.
09-12-2021, 12:30 PM
I find this weird.
If you give him a new contract and extend the contracts of several players then surely you back your manager and tough it out?
It doesn’t strike me as being financially prudent. That could be a good few season tickets up in smoke paying folk off.
The diehards had turned on JR this was clearly heard at Livingston last night.
Maybe the board acted quick to secure the replacement who must be available.
09-12-2021, 12:32 PM
Correct. It would be crazy for a club to pay full whack. He could be in another job in a few weeks on an even bigger wage.
The diehards had turned on JR this was clearly heard at Livingston last night.
Maybe the board acted quick to secure the replacement who must be available.
Seemed like a relatively small number of younger fans chanting it most where I was sitting were just frustrated with how poor we were and quiet.
Massive concerns.:agree:
Just talking to my mate, he's heard there's been a lot of aggro in the changing room recently, so obviously not all well, also told that Ross and Ron had a wee fall out and their relationship was not great this past month or so, seemingly Ron back in the country.
That ties in with what the DR was saying today re Ross and Ron. I initially thought it was pish otherwise they’d have mentioned it previously, but seems there maybe was some truth to it.
09-12-2021, 12:36 PM
I'm just getting up to speed with everything as I'm at work.
Whilst I am sorry to see him go on a personal level and I did want him to be appointed at the time, the run of league results we have been on over the past two months has been unacceptable and it's difficult to argue against the decision that's been taken.
I think it shows how quickly things can change as it's been little more than a month since Ben Kensell gave Ross his absolute backing.
I really expected him to see things through until after the transfer window as there was a general consensus that the board didn't blame Ross for the squad being inadequate following the disastrous window last summer. If not the end of the window then certainly until the cup final but I do think this is the correct call and hopefully the replacement can come in and see us improve and maybe we'll even see David Gray manage the team to silverware a week on Sunday!
I'm honestly not sure what's happened to us this season but something's gone very wrong on the pitch and it needed to be fixed before it became a re-run of 2014.
Anyone who was at Livingston last night could probably tell that the end was nigh.
09-12-2021, 12:45 PM
A fair chunk of fans have what they wanted. Who next?
The timing confuses me. 10 days until a cup final. Should have given him until then, or even end of the year, before pulling the trigger. Sacking him in the midst of a hectic run of games will only disrupt the squad, we could properly nosedive after this.
Have you missed our last 9 league games?
09-12-2021, 12:47 PM
He'll only get 6 months paid up.
09-12-2021, 12:52 PM
Well that would be a result for the club, but why would a manager agree to that? Surely the whole point of a contract is the security/guaranteed income?
09-12-2021, 12:59 PM
Well that would be a result for the club, but why would a manager agree to that? Surely the whole point of a contract is the security/guaranteed income?
An increased wage?
09-12-2021, 01:01 PM
Unless you've seen the contract you can't possibly know that.
09-12-2021, 01:02 PM
An increased wage?
True, if it was a nice wee raise.
09-12-2021, 01:05 PM
Seemed like a relatively small number of younger fans chanting it most where I was sitting were just frustrated with how poor we were and quiet.
Sounded loud on TV
That ties in with what the DR was saying today re Ross and Ron. I initially thought it was pish otherwise they’d have mentioned it previously, but seems there maybe was some truth to it.
Not seen them, it's a friend of Amanda Jones who useď to be on the board, her friend does some legal stuff for the players, friendly with the wives and they talk, hence why these things never stay quiet for long.
09-12-2021, 01:19 PM
Unless you've seen the contract you can't possibly know that.
We don't pay up contracts past the season. Never have. I was told this by a Hibs employee this morning.
This was demonstrated by Michael Appleton walking away from talks from us when he found this out.
09-12-2021, 01:20 PM
All the chanting about sacked in the morning that I heard came from the Livi ultras. There was some booing when some of our players came over at the end but that's it.
09-12-2021, 01:21 PM
this is hugely embarrassing for Ron Gordon, giving him a very recent contract extension taking him to 2024 ? :confused:
09-12-2021, 01:21 PM
We don't pay up contracts past the season. Never have. I was told this by a Hibs employee this morning.
This was demonstrated by Michael Appleton walking away from talks from us when he found this out.
Not suggesting otherwise, merely stating that unless you've seen the contract the 6 month figure you mentioned is a guess on your part. All contracts are different.....
09-12-2021, 01:22 PM
All the chanting about sacked in the morning that I heard came from the Livi ultras. There was some booing when some of our players came over at the end but that's it.
They ultras have talent for predicting the future to be fair.
09-12-2021, 01:24 PM
this is hugely embarrassing for Ron Gordon, giving him a very recent contract extension taking him to 2024, wtf astonishing
Will certainly cost a bit to pay him and Potter off. Additionally, we've just given long term contracts to players who the new manager might not fancy.
Ron's not coming out of this smelling of roses.
09-12-2021, 01:26 PM
Will certainly cost a bit to pay him and Potter off. Additionally, we've just given long term contracts to players who the new manager might not fancy.
Neither is the new CEO, especially after bashing Dempster recently.
09-12-2021, 01:28 PM
Not suggesting otherwise, merely stating that unless you've seen the contract the 6 month figure you mentioned is a guess on your part. All contracts are different.....
It's guess based on previous actions from the club.
09-12-2021, 01:29 PM
i've only just just saw this news/thread and commented straight away, i better read from the start there's maybe a post stating JR ripped up his contract and was mutually booted with no pay-off :greengrin
then there's others of course and along with those long contracts for some :rolleyes:
09-12-2021, 01:30 PM
It didn't. Our signing section to the right of the stand started singing it halfway through the 2nd half along with - 'Jack Ross, Jack Ross gtf' and 'you don't know what your doing'
09-12-2021, 01:30 PM
I think it started at our side and then replicated by the home fans
Stokesy's on fire
09-12-2021, 01:36 PM
Neither is the new CEO, especially after bashing Dempster recently.
What did he do to bash Dempster?
09-12-2021, 01:36 PM
It didn't. Our signing section to the right of the stand started singing it halfway through the 2nd half along with - 'Jack Ross, Jack Ross gtf' and 'you don't know what your doing'
Fair enough. I was up the back in the middle of the stand but maybe I need to get my ears syringed.
09-12-2021, 01:37 PM
Very surprised, thought he earned himself the cup final at least.
09-12-2021, 01:39 PM
Steven79
09-12-2021, 01:44 PM
No he didn't...
09-12-2021, 01:50 PM
The clubs are trying to sell 1/2 season tickets.
Current ST holders can't even give theirs away for games just now.
Nobody wanted to watch Jack Ross football. He was costing the club a fortune!
It's all about the timing.
So we will see a full house at the next home game then
09-12-2021, 01:52 PM
I am hearing this a lot but I think with JR leaving this gives us the best chance to change our fortunes and win the cup.
09-12-2021, 01:53 PM
So we will see a full house at the next home game then
I don’t think there will be any difference in the attendance given, but I think a few extra seats will be occupied.
09-12-2021, 01:53 PM
IF that rugby penalty conversion attempt from Boyle went in he would have got the final at least, we will pick up points in our next two games
09-12-2021, 01:54 PM
That's right. Some fans took their frustration out on the players but I heard no chanting for Ross's head.
Weir07
09-12-2021, 01:59 PM
Yep, I'm quite taken aback, it's been a poor run but only for 9 league games, two of which weren't defeats. Thought he had enough credit in the bank from last season and the start of this to be given more time. Some real mitigation with the poor window (which he didn't appear to be getting the blame for) and the Covid situation.
However, I do understand him not being universally liked by the fans due to style of play and the performance (or results) in the two semis and final we lost last year.
I’ve seriously followed Hibs from the John Blackley days and there’s not been a manager to date that I don’t think has deserved to go when they did, the exception being Jack Ross.
09-12-2021, 02:03 PM
I don’t think there will be any difference in the attendance given, but I think a few extra seats will be occupied.
Nah i dont either, better be warmer than last weekend!
I think this will have a negative effect on the players, especially Porto who was backed to the hilt by Jack.
Seems harsh to me.
Steven79
I think this will have a negative effect on the players, especially Porto who was backed to the hilt by Jack.
Seems harsh to me.
You really think Ross backed him to the hilt?
09-12-2021, 02:05 PM
I find this weird.
I know Hibs wanted to extend a few deals to iron out a few details that help the players but also help the club for sell on fees.
There were clauses in contracts which meant players like Doig could leave for peanuts.
So it’s not all bad.
Obviously when Ross signed new contract he wanted more security and Hibs wanted the same plus he started pre-season well with a win over Arsenal etc.
Cat Stanton
09-12-2021, 02:12 PM
Seems harsh to me.
Harsh - and nuts. This could well come back to bite us on the arse, and deservedly so. He got us third in the league last season - in a division where basically that's the best you can achieve.
American owners: increase all the prices and sack the manager without a replacement lined up. Profoundly stupid.
Still, it will have made all the Ross Haters happy - for once.
09-12-2021, 02:17 PM
Harsh - and nuts. This could well come back to bite us on the arse, and deservedly so. He got us third in the league last season - in a division where basically that's the best you can achieve.
American owners: increase all the prices and sack the manager without a replacement lined up. Profoundly stupid.
Why do you think the Ross haters were Ross haters?
People just want to enjoy going to Easter Road again.
09-12-2021, 02:18 PM
It’s not as if they’ve just done it off the back of a bad result.
The bad run in the league is a quarter of a season with no real signs of it changing.
Not sure in the relevance of the owner being American. We have a CEO who isn’t American and when the owner was from Leith we regularly sacked managers and went a few weeks before appointing the next. I have a feeling that won’t be the case this time.
09-12-2021, 02:18 PM
You really think Ross backed him to the hilt?
Yes. Have you listened to Porteous’s recent interviews?
09-12-2021, 02:21 PM
No he didn't...
Good point well made..
Cat Stanton
09-12-2021, 02:22 PM
Why do you think the Ross haters were Ross haters?
People just want to enjoy going to Easter Road again.
They were moaning last season - when we weren't even allowed in Easter Road!
I don't know - I just find it a bit dispiriting. Think they should have given him a chance.
09-12-2021, 02:23 PM
It’s not as if they’ve just done it off the back of a bad result.
The bad run in the league is a quarter of a season with no real signs of it changing.
Not sure in the relevance of the owner being American. We have a CEO who isn’t American and when the owner was from Leith we regularly sacked managers and went a few weeks before appointing the next. I have a feeling that won’t be the case this time.
OK it was in the DR, but what seems to have been forgotten is the comment “It’s believed Ross endured an increasingly fractured relationship with owner Ron Gordon.” If the rumours are true he also fell out with Mathie, where the club backed Ross. However if he’s having issues with the owner that’s never going to end well.
09-12-2021, 02:24 PM
I don't know - I just find it a bit dispiriting. Think they should have given him a chance.
He’s been here 2 and a half years, if he was going to put an entertaining team on the park he’d have done so.
People watched the team on tele last season and found it dull then too.
09-12-2021, 02:26 PM
Yep, I'm quite taken aback, it's been a poor run but only for 9 league games, two of which weren't defeats. Thought he had enough credit in the bank from last season and the start of this to be given more time. Some real mitigation with the poor window (which he didn't appear to be getting the blame for) and the Covid situation.
However, I do understand him not being universally liked by the fans due to style of play and the performance (or results) in the two semis and final we lost last year.
I’ve seriously followed Hibs from the John Blackley days and there’s not been a manager to date that I don’t think has deserved to go when they did, the exception being Jack Ross.
I agree totally with your last point, every manager that’s been sacked I’ve agreed with until now. Maybe Sauzee but emotion probably clouded my judgment at the time.
09-12-2021, 02:26 PM
It's really not harsh and nuts.
Ross was lucky to get to the start of this season considering what happened in the semi finals and final of the cup last season.
Yes we came 3rd but Aberdeen were mince, Celtic in turmoil and no Hearts.
The league this season is much improved - we have actually got worse as a team with pretty much the same squad of players. Only JDH and Macey are new players and you could argue Macey isn't as good as Marciano.
Agree with other posters - the nationality of the owner shouldn't matter.
I don't think there was Ross haters just fans fed up with losing to teams we should be beating more regularly like Livi, Ross County and St Johnstone.
09-12-2021, 02:27 PM
It’s a shame. The expectations have increased to a level where the new guy might only be here until early next season.
Attacking football
Winning football
Winning big games
Winning cups
Minimum 3rd place
It’s a tough ask but we don’t want to accept mediocrity - good luck to him.
09-12-2021, 02:28 PM
It’s a shame. The expectations have increased to a level where the new guy might only be here until early next season.
Attacking football
Winning football
Winning big games
Winning cups
Minimum 3rd place
He will have to be charismatic as well.
09-12-2021, 02:29 PM
He will have to be charismatic as well.
Also seen requests for him to be a bit mental on the touch line as well.
09-12-2021, 02:30 PM
That's right. Some fans took their frustration out on the players but I heard no chanting for Ross's head.
There was loads of shouts for Ross to go, especially at full time.
09-12-2021, 02:31 PM
Also seen requests for him to be a bit mental on the touch line as well.Defo. Can't motivate otherwise.
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
09-12-2021, 02:31 PM
Attacking football
Winning football
Winning big games
Winning cups
Minimum 3rd place
Are these not the expectations set by our owner ? If anything the fans are only following his lead……
09-12-2021, 02:32 PM
A snappy dresser is a must.
09-12-2021, 02:32 PM
Are these not the expectations set by our owner ? If anything the fans are only following his lead……
Don’t know - I thought it was top 4 plus regular semis but maybe something changed?
09-12-2021, 02:33 PM
Attacking football
Winning football
Winning big games
Winning cups
Minimum 3rd place
Ron told us this was what we expected to achieve.
Mainstandman
09-12-2021, 02:34 PM
A snappy dresser is a must.
It all went downhill after he stopped wearing the white trainers
09-12-2021, 02:34 PM
Did he? And if he did was it to be expected straight away as well?
As I said it’s a tough one for the new guy then - certainly based on our history (which I know is accepting mediocrity).
09-12-2021, 02:35 PM
I think it is. Why would we want someone at a smaller club who's won 3 league games all season?
I thought Goodwin looked one to watch last season. St Mirren played some good stuff and were unlucky to miss out on top 6. I actually thought they were one of the better sides we played at ER earlier this season and we done well to get out of that one with a draw imo.
However, much like Ross really, it's all gone a bit backwards since. Definitely not the man for us at the moment.
09-12-2021, 02:35 PM
Expected or a goal?
09-12-2021, 02:38 PM
Don’t know - I thought it was top 4 plus regular semis but maybe something changed?
Best of the rest with increased crowds and wage bill doubled. Too me a lot of the requirements you listed would have to be met for that to happen.
The thing for me is that there wasn’t a mass Ross Out campaign, sure fans had grumbles that were maybe getting louder, but most accepted he’d get the January window. It’s the board/owner who have decided enough is enough.
09-12-2021, 02:39 PM
Best of the rest with increased crowds and wage bill doubled. Too me a lot of the requirements you listed would have to be met for that to happen.
The thing for me is that there wasn’t a mass Ross Out campaign, sure fans had grumbles that were maybe getting louder, but most accepted he’d get the January window. It’s the board/owner who have decided enough is enough.
Have we doubled the wage bill yet? Did Ron not say the things I listed?
G15 Hibs
09-12-2021, 02:40 PM
It's really not harsh and nuts.
Ross was lucky to get to the start of this season considering what happened in the semi finals and final of the cup last season.
Would you say that if a Hibs manager doesn't get to cup finals and win them they should be sacked then? Is that the standard that's being set - getting to semis and finals isn't good enough? We'd get through a new manager every season for most of the club's existence if that was the case.
HendoDelivered
09-12-2021, 02:40 PM
The last three Hibs managers to finish in the top four:
John Hughes (4th) - sacked the following October with Hibs in bottom 6
Neil Lennon (4th) - sacked the following January with Hibs in bottom 6
Jack Ross (3rd) - sacked the following December with Hibs in bottom six
09-12-2021, 02:43 PM
Have we doubled the wage bill yet? Did Ron not say the things I listed?
It’s a chicken and egg scenario. We’re not going to double the wage bill without the other objectives being met. Say them specifically ? I honestly can’t remember, allude to them I’d say yes he did.
09-12-2021, 02:45 PM
It’s a chicken and egg scenario. We’re not going to double the wage bill without the other objectives being met. Say them specifically ? I honestly can’t remember, allude to them I’d say yes he did.
Doubling the wage bill would make it easier to achieve the list? They’re making it almost impossible to do it the other way.
09-12-2021, 02:45 PM
I don’t get all the comments about folk being haters and calling for his head.
There’s never been more than a tiny minority looking for us to sack him. There was apathy, if anything, but there wasn’t that many folk really thinking he should be sacked, with the big change only coming last night.
09-12-2021, 02:47 PM
Doubling the wage bill would make it easier to achieve the list? They’re making it almost impossible to do it the other way.
Hard to double the wage bill when you’re halving the number of folk through the door.
09-12-2021, 02:48 PM
Of course it would be, but without increased crowds how will we achieve that ? I think RG has been pretty clear in that he won’t pump money into the club. So the intention is back the manager by paying transfer fees, which in turn should lead to better players, better performances, increased attendances and so on. We all saw the knock on effect to our attendances when we won the Scottish Cup, then got promoted.
09-12-2021, 02:51 PM
Hard to double the wage bill when you’re halving the number of folk through the door.
Yeah - increasing the walk up price has been damaging to that given STs remained similar (certainly not half).
09-12-2021, 02:51 PM
Of course it would be, but without increased crowds how will we achieve that ? I think RG has been pretty clear in that he won’t pump money into the club. So the intention is back the manager by paying transfer fees, which in turn should lead to better players, better performances, increased attendances and so on. We all saw the knock on effect to our attendances when we won the Scottish Cup, then got promoted.
Mental that expectations immediately moved but the club didn’t change much though?
09-12-2021, 02:52 PM
I don’t get all the comments about folk being haters and calling for his head.
There’s never been more than a tiny minority looking for us to sack him. There was apathy, if anything, but there wasn’t that many folk really thinking he should be sacked, with the big change only coming last night.
I don’t either. I wasn’t convinced by him, but he seems like a nice guy. Certainly didn’t hate him. Like I said it’s the board/owner that have taken the decision but it’s not been on the back of a concerted campaign against him.
09-12-2021, 02:52 PM
No one on here, or anywhere in the fanbase, sacked Jack Ross.
We are fans and as such we can be unrealistic in our expectations, we can be emotional and we can swing wildly in our opinions. Not everyone but it's how some fans behave, at all football clubs.
Strong leaders don't behave like that though, or at least they shouldn't. They make tough decisions based on the targets and expectations they have set and the conclusions they have drawn from what they are witnessing and the evidence they have. If the people in charge at Hibs really believed in Jack Ross then a few people shouting for him to go last night and a lot of angry posting on social media and forums would have made little difference, he would still be the manager. They have made their decision based on their interpretation of our current situation and their ideas about what is required to fix it.
They could be wrong of course, time will tell on that one. However whenever Ron and Ben and whoever else made this decision the fact a few people on here felt we should have won a trophy last season or should have a better derby record wouldn't have entered their calculations. Fans are fickle and demanding, we all know that. They aren't responsible for Ross being sacked.
I have my reservations about a few things going on at Hibs just now btw so this may well prove to be a rash decision and one taken by an owner and CEO with inflated expectations of their own. That's on them though, fans moaning about being bored doesn't come into it.
09-12-2021, 02:54 PM
I know you’re taking the piss and that’s what you do so that’s fine but it’s not quite as simplistic as you and a couple of others are suggesting.
The best managers in the world tend to get quite animated on the touchline…. Guardiola, Klopp, Mourinho, Tuchel, Conte, Simeone….. all show energy and passion on the touchline, their teams reflect that. The only one I can think of that’s similar to Ross is Brendan Rodgers.
Now how they behave on the touchline is only a tiny wee thing and nobody would care if things are going well on the pitch. It is said though that teams reflect their manager, when people see a manager with no personality and his team has no personality, they’re not going to be popular.
Nobody wants a crazy manager on the touchline with a boring team on the pitch. I think people want energy from their Hibs team and that includes the manager.
09-12-2021, 02:56 PM
Mental that expectations immediately moved but the club didn’t change much though?
Obviously I can’t speak for the board/owner but they may have thought on the back of last season’s 3rd place finish being 7th now wasn’t the direction they were looking to be heading.
09-12-2021, 02:57 PM
Attacking football
Winning football
Winning big games
Winning cups
Minimum 3rd place
I know you’re trying to be smart and prove a point but that list there is exactly what we should be looking for.
I don’t want a manager who doesn’t think he can deliver all of the above.
09-12-2021, 02:59 PM
I know you’re trying to be smart and prove a point but that list there is exactly what we should be looking for.
I don’t want a manager who doesn’t think he can deliver all of the above.
Not being smart mate - that list is all that was asked of Ross. It’s a tough job. I’ve no doubt the new guy will think he can deliver all of that - then he’ll realise.
09-12-2021, 03:02 PM
Not being smart mate - that list is all that was asked of Ross. It’s a tough job. I’ve no doubt the new guy will think he can deliver all of that - then he’ll realise.
He won’t have to do all at once though.
If we’re playing good attacking football and have a decent record in big games but finish 4th, he’ll be popular as people will enjoy going to the football.
We’d then expect to build on that to try and achieve the other goals. If he can’t and we start regressing at an alarming rate then yes, he’ll probably face the same fate as Jack Ross has.
09-12-2021, 03:03 PM
I find this weird.
I wonder if the extended contracts were JR or the Clubs’ idea?
Big mistake. We need freshened up, not more years of the same tired old faces.
I can’t help but feel JR was hugely let down when it came to signings. I think the club signed players based on perceived future sell on values rather than their actual ability now. It’s backfired massively.
We barely have a sellable asset now. 6 months ago we were toting up the millions!
Yorkshire HFC
09-12-2021, 03:08 PM
There was loads of shouts for Ross to go, especially at full time.
A perfect example of why fans should have no say in the running of a football club.
As for the current owners of Hibs - I cannot understand why they think that this decision gives us a better chance of winning the Cup next week.
09-12-2021, 03:09 PM
No one on here, or anywhere in the fanbase, sacked Jack Ross.
We are fans and as such we can be unrealistic in our expectations, we can be emotional and we can swing wildly in our opinions. Not everyone but it's how some fans behave, at all football clubs.
Strong leaders don't behave like that though, or at least they shouldn't. They make tough decisions based on the targets and expectations they have set and the conclusions they have drawn from what they are witnessing and the evidence they have. If the people in charge at Hibs really believed in Jack Ross then a few people shouting for him to go last night and a lot of angry posting on social media and forums would have made little difference, he would still be the manager. They have made their decision based on their interpretation of our current situation and their ideas about what is required to fix it.
They could be wrong of course, time will tell on that one. However whenever Ron and Ben and whoever else made this decision the fact a few people on here felt we should have won a trophy last season or should have a better derby record wouldn't have entered their calculations. Fans are fickle and demanding, we all know that. They aren't responsible for Ross being sacked.
I have my reservations about a few things going on at Hibs just now btw so this may well prove to be a rash decision and one taken by an owner and CEO with inflated expectations of their own. That's on them though, fans moaning about being bored doesn't come into it.
That’s correct, but the half empty stadium at the Motherwell game and the poor attendance at other home games must have been a factor. The nightmare scenario for the board is a large drop in season ticket numbers as that would throw a lot of plans out the window. Ross had just signed a new deal and only a couple of weeks ago on your podcast our ceo was gushing in his praise for Ross, saying we were lucky to have him. Something doesn’t add up in his sacking for me and I was shocked to hear the news, there’s been rumours of a bust up with Gordon and that might be the reason, but I don’t think it’s purely down to the form of the team.
09-12-2021, 03:10 PM
A perfect example of why fans should have no say in the running of a football club.
As for the current owners of Hibs - I cannot understand why they think that this decision gives us a better chance of winning the Cup next week.
Do you not think the fans had a say (not turning up)?
09-12-2021, 03:10 PM
He won’t have to do all at once though.
If we’re playing good attacking football and have a decent record in big games but finish 4th, he’ll be popular as people will enjoy going to the football.
We’d then expect to build on that to try and achieve the other goals. If he can’t and we start regressing at an alarming rate then yes, he’ll probably face the same fate as Jack Ross has.
We’ll see. With the misunderstanding about the wages doubling etc I think expectations are verging on unrealistic.
09-12-2021, 03:14 PM
Fans are entitled to voice their concerns. His football was *****, his tactics were ***** and the team are not performing. Lets keep him though because he's a nice guy. Right then.
We have two league games before this cup final and we need to win both. We wouldn't have won either with JR in charge. We barely even have a defence now that Hanlon and McGinn will serve suspensions soon.
09-12-2021, 03:18 PM
Fans are entitled to voice their concerns. His football was *****, his tactics were ***** and the team are not performing. Lets keep him though because he's a nice guy. Right then.
We have two league games before this cup final and we need to win both. We wouldn't have won either with JR in charge. We barely even have a defence now that Hanlon and McGinn will serve suspensions soon.
Not one person has said we should have kept him because he’s a nice guy. I don’t know why people have to make things up to validate their point of view. You didn’t like him, the board agreed and sacked him. Going by your previous history you won’t like the new manager either and will criticise him heavily for a few months before wanting him sacked.
Yorkshire HFC
09-12-2021, 03:20 PM
Do you not think the fans had a say (not turning up)?
Maybe - but a business needs a stronger management team than one who makes this sort of decision based on a month of bad results. Next weekend is our biggest game since 2016. Hibs don't often win cups - look at how fondly Stantons team is remembered - and Alex Millers, after winning the League Cup. This team have the chance to put themselves in the Hibs history books - and the fans will turn up again if they win it.
I'm not sure that David Gray has much pedigree for this job - it just looks very amateurish to me.
09-12-2021, 03:21 PM
That’s correct, but the half empty stadium at the Motherwell game and the poor attendance at other home games must have been a factor. The nightmare scenario for the board is a large drop in season ticket numbers as that would throw a lot of plans out the window. Ross had just signed a new deal and only a couple of weeks on your podcast our ceo was gushing in his praise for Ross, saying we were lucky to have him. Something doesn’t add up in his sacking for me and I was shocked to hear the news, there’s been rumours of a bust up with Gordon and that might be the reason, but I don’t think it’s purely down to the form of the team.
I'm sure they will have considered the crowds and the impact of ST sales. I think if they saw indications of things turning on the park though they would have had faith we could win the stayaways back. It comes back to the point about if they really believed in Ross.
Fwiw I agree 'something' has triggered this beyond the woeful run of form. What that was, I'm not sure we will ever know. One thing Ben did mention on the podcast, and he has said it elsewhere, is our future plans hinge on consistency of performance in the league and we have to move past dropping and jumping places every other season. The regression since the early weeks of this season has been stark and, even allowing for the much discussed issues, it will have set alarms bells ringing. Losing touch with the European places will have compounded that, last nights game in hand was a chance to close that gap and it went begging. Maybe that was the final straw.
I was never ardently Ross out. There were times I said I wouldn't be that bothered if he left (and whilst I'm a bit shocked and sad it has worked out like this, I'd be lying if I said I was gutted) and time I was very frustrated but I always said the best outcome was he turned it around and we moved on with him as boss. It wasn't to be though. The people who made that decision will live or die by it.
09-12-2021, 03:22 PM
That’s correct, but the half empty stadium at the Motherwell game and the poor attendance at other home games must have been a factor. The nightmare scenario for the board is a large drop in season ticket numbers as that would throw a lot of plans out the window. Ross had just signed a new deal and only a couple of weeks ago on your podcast our ceo was gushing in his praise for Ross, saying we were lucky to have him. Something doesn’t add up in his sacking for me and I was shocked to hear the news, there’s been rumours of a bust up with Gordon and that might be the reason, but I don’t think it’s purely down to the form of the team.
Think most fans, even those that were unconvinced by Jack Ross know this is likely to be about more than form and fan unrest. I've been sharing my concern about Hibs generally for a while. We've lost our way and I suspect Graeme Mathie and Jack Ross have become fall guys in their own way.
Pressure is squarely on Ron Gordon now. These lengthy contract extensions given out after Covid are just crazy and I think show Ron Gordon needs a football advisor beyond the manager.
09-12-2021, 03:23 PM
Maybe - but a business needs a stronger management team than one who makes this sort of decision based on a month of bad results. Next weekend is our biggest game since 2016. Hibs don't often win cups - look at how fondly Stantons team is remembered - and Alex Millers, after winning the League Cup. This team have the chance to put themselves in the Hibs history books - and the fans will turn up again if they win it.
I'm not sure that David Gray has much pedigree for this job - it just looks very amateurish to me.
It's not our biggest game since 2016. It's our biggest games since May this year. Unless we are blase about Scottish Cup finals these days.
09-12-2021, 03:24 PM
We’ll see. With the misunderstanding about the wages doubling etc I think expectations are verging on unrealistic.
I disagree.
I think people are being made out to be unrealistic as it suits your argument. People just want a competitive team they enjoy watching and can relate to. If they get that there’ll be a lot more leeway given for other shortcomings.
I don’t expect any Hibs team to play like Brazil 70 every week but I expect lots of energy from them and I’d love it if we try and play football the right way.
I don’t expect Hibs to win silverware but if we get to the latter stages of two competitions and in both occasions we’re up against teams with a budget far less than ours and much lower in the league, I’d expect us to win one of them. If we get to the semi final of the Scottish cup and face lower league opposition, I’d expect us to win.
Like you and most people on here, I’m Hibs daft and enjoy listening to all things Hibs. I couldn’t pay attention to a Jack Ross manager for more than about a couple of minutes as I found his monotone voice so boring and he’d perfected the art of never saying anything in interviews as he was so well media trained. I don’t care if the new manager is particularly charismatic or nuts on the touchline but i would like to be able to listen to our managers interview without switching off and zoning out without realising it.
I don’t think that’s unrealistic, I think there’s a whole footballing world out there so we don’t need tk limit ourselves to the usual Scottish managers. Gordon has encouraged everyone at the club to think differently and on a bigger scale, I really hope that’s the case with the manager too.
09-12-2021, 03:27 PM
It's not our biggest game since 2016. It's our biggest games since May this year. Unless we are blase about Scottish Cup finals these days.
3 trophies in 49 years, 1 Scottish Cup in 119 years but some of our fans have become very blasé about Hampden appearances, 3rd place finishes and the like. It’s very hard for someone like me who started in the early 80’s to comprehend this new status we have.
Yorkshire HFC
09-12-2021, 03:31 PM
Okay - anyway, let's hope that they come up with something that improves us from regular cup finals and European football. That is quite a step up.
I'm just not sure that that is feasible on a consistent basis for any team in Scotland outwith the Old Firm. But maybe that's just negative and old school thinking - maybe they can give us the step change that is needed.
09-12-2021, 03:37 PM
Okay - anyway, let's hope that they come up with something that improves us from regular cup finals and European football. That is quite a step up.
I'm just not sure that that is feasible on a consistent basis for any team in Scotland outwith the Old Firm. But maybe that's just negative and old school thinking - maybe they can give us the step change that is needed.
IMO you’re looking too much at the end result.
How we try to get there is really important. If we’re playing brilliant attacking football that everybody is loving going to watch week in week out but just fall short, nobody will be that bothered (well some of the mentalists on these Hibs Facebook groups will be but most folk won’t)
If people are hating going to Easter Road as it’s so dull then people will be less forgiving.
09-12-2021, 03:37 PM
I disagree.
I think people are being made out to be unrealistic as it suits your argument. People just want a competitive team they enjoy watching and can relate to. If they get that there’ll be a lot more leeway given for other shortcomings.
I don’t expect any Hibs team to play like Brazil 70 every week but I expect lots of energy from them and I’d love it if we try and play football the right way.
I don’t expect Hibs to win silverware but if we get to the latter stages of two competitions and in both occasions we’re up against teams with a budget far less than ours and much lower in the league, I’d expect us to win one of them. If we get to the semi final of the Scottish cup and face lower league opposition, I’d expect us to win.
Like you and most people on here, I’m Hibs daft and enjoy listening to all things Hibs. I couldn’t pay attention to a Jack Ross manager for more than about a couple of minutes as I found his monotone voice so boring and he’d perfected the art of never saying anything in interviews as he was so well media trained. I don’t care if the new manager is particularly charismatic or nuts on the touchline but i would like to be able to listen to our managers interview without switching off and zoning out without realising it.
I don’t think that’s unrealistic, I think there’s a whole footballing world out there so we don’t need tk limit ourselves to the usual Scottish managers. Gordon has encouraged everyone at the club to think differently and on a bigger scale, I really hope that’s the case with the manager too.
Pretty much where I’m at.
I’ve said it a few times and without wishing to start the Lennon debate all over again, that spell under him where we brought back Scott Allan, signed Kamberi and McLaren was one of my most enjoyable periods in recent times watching Hibs. ER was buzzing, the football was entertaining, crowds were up. In the end I didn’t care we finished 4th over 2nd and won nothing.
It also puts paid to rest the suggestion that crowds will only turn up if we are actually winning trophies.
09-12-2021, 03:40 PM
Alex Neil’s win rate percentage is worse that Jack Ross’ by a mile. I don’t understand why this guy seems to be the messiah.
09-12-2021, 03:42 PM
Pretty much where I’m at.
I’ve said it a few times and without wishing to start the Lennon debate all over again, that spell under him where we brought back Scott Allan, signed Kamberi and McLaren was one of my most enjoyable periods in recent times watching Hibs. ER was buzzing, the football was entertaining, crowds were up. In the end I didn’t care we finished 4th over 2nd and won nothing.
Yes, exactly. That’s not wanting Lennon back either as we were well shot of him in the end.
I couldn’t even tell you who put us out the cups that year.
09-12-2021, 03:43 PM
Alex Neil’s win rate percentage is worse that Jack Ross’ by a mile. I don’t understand why this guy seems to be the messiah.
I’m not totally sold on Alex Neil but he has managed at a higher level than Ross. And probably had more successes. Ross also had the biggest club and biggest budget when he was in League One as well.
09-12-2021, 03:44 PM
Win % without the context is an irrelevant stat.
You’d expect a manager who’s managed a team in the premiership to have a lower win % than someone who’s managed the teams Jack Ross has.
That said, Alex Neil not the man for me, certainly not the messiah but nothing to do with win % stats.
Yorkshire HFC
09-12-2021, 03:45 PM
Hey - he got Preston to 16th in the Championship. Hibs class!
Steven79
09-12-2021, 03:51 PM
Yes, exactly. That’s not wanting Lennon back either as we were well shot of him in the end.
I couldn’t even tell you who put us out the cups that year.
The Scottish Cup was Hearts at Tynecastle and I'm convinced we could have won another Scottish Cup with that team that season as for a spell we were the best team in Scotland.
09-12-2021, 03:52 PM
You’re taking the Jack Ross news well I see
G15 Hibs
09-12-2021, 03:53 PM
The Scottish Cup was Hearts at Tynecastle and I'm convinced we could have won another Scottish Cup with that team that season as for a spell we were the best team in Scotland.
I'm convinced we can win the Scottish Cup every season, if it wasn't for those pesky other teams beating us.
09-12-2021, 03:54 PM
Good achievement considering their budget.
09-12-2021, 03:56 PM
I disagree.
It’s not to fit my argument - I’m just surprised at the list of stuff we expect now and trying to temper it with some realism.
And we should be looking out if Scottish football for the new guy - that list of prospective managers is grim.
Ron wants us to be the best of the rest, that means 3rd place challenging for the odd 2nd, he said he wanted to double the wage bill but over a 5 year period, he's been here 2.5 years so he's half way there and I'd assume regular cup semi finals was a given also.
I have heard the relationship with Ron and Ross has been strained recently and maybe another reason this happened so quickly, Ron is back over here right now.
RossScott1991
09-12-2021, 03:58 PM
I think the main issue nowadays is the way football is evolving. Not for the better for me. You only need to look at the premier league it is sanitised and most coaches nowadays focuses on slower build up / possession based game and patterns of play. There are less creative off the cuff players. I feel as a fan base Hibs need to align themselves with modern management/coaching.
I don’t expect “free flowing fast attacking football” with a team using 2 wingers and 2 strikers as I just don’t think it is coached anymore. What I do want is just a more positive mindset and approach to games. More attack minded players on the field. We are atm as discussed in the JDH / Newell thread are suffering from modern coaching with players picked based on stats. How many touches of the ball they have , distanced covered etc.
Man Utd and Arsenal on that level are suffering, I have always followed arsenal matches and Arteta is trying to copy the blue print of Pep. But when you do it with players nowhere near level of these world class sides then slow boring football is what you get. Pivot in midfield of Fred and Mctominay. Xhaka and Partey means these clubs just aren’t very good to watch anymore.
I just want the next hibs manager to be more positive and be able to coach players into different things. There is no reason a manager can’t work in training with drills for JDH or Newell to start getting beyond players , effecting they final 3rd of the pitch more and “hurt” teams. That’s all I want from Hibs, approach games to try be quicker in everything you do and hurt opposition.
Mowbray era has almost been a curse to us, some brillaint football and mavericks in the team. That was 15 years ago. It’s very hard to get that in the modern game. Stubbs team rarely battered sides in the championship, they just won more big cup games and had more likeable characters.
I just think understanding where modern football is at and upcoming managers / coaches all learn from the same playbook. Manager appointments are very hard to get right. So I am just going to get behind whoever we appoint and hope they approach management / football matches with a mindset of always trying to get after teams.
raeburnhibs
09-12-2021, 04:03 PM
cause a new manager might get a tune out of these players, especially in a one off? JR has presided over months of the same mistakes, soft defending, bullied in midfield, lack of urgency at home. It is up to him to COACH the players to make them better or at least more consistent and less likely to **** up
09-12-2021, 04:08 PM
Need to get a new manager in quickly preferably before the weekend is out. Another name to consider is Michael O'Neil. Need to have someone in place for the start of the transfer window so that we hit the ground running after winter break.
09-12-2021, 04:09 PM
He leaves here with the best win % of any hibs manager since the 60s. I'm not saying sacking him was wrong, but it's certainly a risk, snd i would consider his reign to have been a success, albeit a boring one.
09-12-2021, 04:09 PM
Need to get a new manager in quickly preferably before the weekend is out. Another name to consider is Michael O'Neil. Need to have someone in place for the start of the transfer window so that we hit the ground running after winter break.
Currently in the playoff places with Stoke, can forget that one.
09-12-2021, 04:10 PM
Would you say that if a Hibs manager doesn't get to cup finals and win them they should be sacked then? Is that the standard that's being set - getting to semis and finals isn't good enough? We'd get through a new manager every season for most of the club's existence if that was the case.
No - of course not.
Cup draws can send you to Ibrox or Celtic Park very early on.
But if you look at the situation he faced and the opposition - the writing was on the wall.
Winning at least one of those 3 games would have given him more credit - time in the bank.
Winning against the huns - which was probably one of my most enjoyable games since the 2016 final win - I thought would give him more time but results and performances since haven't been great.
If a manager stays at Hibs more than 2 seasons usually they are doing well or will be headhunted anyway. Managers don't stay much longer than 2 years at the club in the recent past.
Yorkshire HFC
09-12-2021, 04:49 PM
You’re taking the Jack Ross news well I see
LOL. I'll get over it - but I don't like the way the club is going. But as ever, the owners will do what they want to do.
09-12-2021, 04:57 PM
LOL. I'll get over it - but I don't like the way the club is going. But as ever, the owners will do what they want to do.
I worry about this a bit as well. Cant say there is anyone making any decisions at the club that I really trust.
Yorkshire HFC
09-12-2021, 04:57 PM
Does anyone know the official reason why Ross has been sacked?
As far as I can see, it doesn't matter who the manager is - unless they're given the same budget as Rangers and Celtic, they'll get sacked within two years, as there's little chance of consistently finishing above them.
09-12-2021, 04:59 PM
As far as I can see, it doesn't matter who the manager is - unless they're given the same budget as Rangers and Celtic, they'll get sacked within two years, as there's little chance of consistently finishing above them.
I think he fell out with Gordon.
09-12-2021, 05:01 PM
I'm glad the board see a 50% win percentage, two cup finals in a row, 3rd place, Europe and then 7th in the league with half the season to but with a cup final to look forward to as a sackable offence. Good times ahead...
09-12-2021, 05:02 PM
Because of our current form is what the statement said.
Not because he didn’t finish above Rangers or Celtic.
Steven79
09-12-2021, 05:03 PM
I'm glad the board see a 50% win percentage, two cup finals in a row, 3rd place, Europe and then 7th in the league with half the season to but with a cup final to look forward to as a sackable offence. Good times ahead...Did you honestly see things improving?
It was going to get toxic if it went on much longer...
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
09-12-2021, 05:04 PM
I'm glad the board see a 50% win percentage, two cup finals in a row, 3rd place, Europe and then 7th in the league with half the season to but with a cup final to look forward to as a sackable offence. Good times ahead...
No quite like that. Results dreadful and not improving, fans not turning up…
09-12-2021, 05:06 PM
Nice guy
But too nice to the players.
A mix of mowbrays flair with lennons fire is the man we’re after
09-12-2021, 05:08 PM
I’d imagine there were lots of elements at play as to why he was sacked. Ross has lots of positives and achievements he could point to. There were also elements that shouldn’t really still be the case after 2 years in charge. Like the teams struggle to create and score goals, and the chronic inconsistency we were capable of, often within the same game.
I don’t think Ross was sacked because he didn’t finish above Rangers & Celtc. It doesn’t always have to end up in a sacking, if a manager does a good job he could be poached from higher up the footballing food chain. For all his positives I didn’t ever see a scenario of Ross outgrowing us or losing him to a bigger club.
hibeerealist
09-12-2021, 05:08 PM
Our biggest game since 2016 was last seasons SCF and we all know how that ended.
The board had to take a decision regardless of a cup final in 10 days, the board must look longer term than 10 days. I think they made the correct decision and a lot of our support will agree which will be evidenced by the turn out for games coming up.
Just mental to think a few weeks ago we all left Hampden in great spirits and an excellent performance.
Pretty grim since, maybe the players down tools and Ross had lost the dressing room.
Shows how fast things can change.
Onwards and upwards hopefully.
09-12-2021, 05:12 PM
Yep. It would seem that their relationship has become fractious over the last few months. The Daily Ranger claims that one of our players said after the game last night JR told them he feared he was going to be sacked.
09-12-2021, 05:13 PM
I know you’re taking the piss and that’s what you do so that’s fine but it’s not quite as simplistic as you and a couple of others are suggesting.
The best managers in the world tend to get quite animated on the touchline…. Guardiola, Klopp, Mourinho, Tuchel, Conte, Simeone….. all show energy and passion on the touchline, their teams reflect that. The only one I can think of that’s similar to Ross is Brendan Rodgers.
Now how they behave on the touchline is only a tiny wee thing and nobody would care if things are going well on the pitch. It is said though that teams reflect their manager, when people see a manager with no personality and his team has no personality, they’re not going to be popular.
Nobody wants a crazy manager on the touchline with a boring team on the pitch. I think people want energy from their Hibs team and that includes the manager.
The problem with that argument is a lot of the worst managers are animated on the touchline as well.
09-12-2021, 05:21 PM
Animated on the touch line has got to the the least quality we should care about …makes no difference to how a team plays …. Those successful managers you mention are great , but not because of their actions on the side of the pitch ….it’s because of their recruitment, player development, tactics , man management etc etc
09-12-2021, 05:23 PM
I'd be surprised. Ron is in the US.
Yep. It would seem that their relationship has become fractious over the last few months. The Daily Ranger claims that one of our players said after the game last night JR told them he feared he was going to be sacked.
He also seemingly fell out with Mathie, I do wonder if Ross was as much to blame for our transfer problems in the summer as Mathie was, remember Ross would have a final say on who came in, was he asking for players we had no chance of getting, hence the scramble near the end.
09-12-2021, 05:28 PM
Just mental to think a few weeks ago we all left Hampden in great spirits and an excellent performance.
Pretty grim since, maybe the players down tools and Ross had lost the dressing room.
Shows how fast things can change.
Onwards and upwards hopefully.
That says more about the players than it does about the manager IMO.
hibeerealist
09-12-2021, 05:30 PM
????????? :confused:
09-12-2021, 05:30 PM
I'd be surprised. Ron is in the US.
You would assume he would be in regular contact with Ron maybe fell out over the amount of money he may have wanted for January transfers.
hibeerealist
09-12-2021, 05:34 PM
3 trophies in 49 years, 1 Scottish Cup in 119 years but some of our fans have become very blasé about Hampden appearances, 3rd place finishes and the like. It’s very hard for someone like me who started in the early 80’s to comprehend this new status we have.
I have been watching Hibs since the sixties and certainly not blasé about it, that is just a cheap dig at the fans and not welcome
09-12-2021, 05:37 PM
I think it’s a real shame how this has developed. But we need to stop this slide.
It’s a massive shame. He got so much right.
Just before a cup final too. Have we ever done that before?
09-12-2021, 05:41 PM
I can see all the wild rumours have started from some on here already. Give it a rest eh
09-12-2021, 05:45 PM
The problem with that argument is a lot of the worst managers are animated on the touchline as well.
Absolutely.
Nobody is looking for that attribute in isolation.
I worry about this a bit as well. Cant say there is anyone making any decisions at the club that I really trust.
That's quite a statement, no one consult you before the decision was made. 🤔
09-12-2021, 06:06 PM
Just really not sure who to blame to be honest as we started the season really well until Ibrox.
We then went on a horrific spell with players just walking about for 90 mins for then to show we can show good energy levels vs the Huns twice but last night was pathetic from the players.
Jack Ross sends the players out but they have to perform, last night for the first time in a long while I was not excited to be watching Hibs next game.
09-12-2021, 06:16 PM
Eh? We have 4 pts out of the last 27. We have won 2 league games since August, both v St Johnstone. The first of those wins was via a dodgy pen and the 2nd was v 10 men. What on earth is it about that that suggests keeping him gives us a better chance of winning?
09-12-2021, 06:24 PM
Part of Jack Ross's problem was having to work with a relatively small squad which needn't have been the case. The number of permanent and loan signings made who didn't contribute sufficiently because they were either injury prone or just not good enough is ridiculous. I presume all these signings were made with Jack Ross's approval in which case he is culpable. Covid affected most if not all other clubs so that can't be used as an excuse. Sendings off have reached an unprecedented scale and I don't think in the majority of cases it could be said that referees have it in for us. Discipline or lack of it is a major part of the problem. Let's hope the next manager can sort things out before it's too late.
09-12-2021, 06:30 PM
Absolutely.
Nobody is looking for that attribute in isolation.
Definitely not - he’d be ridiculed if he was acting like a lunatic and not winning. “We need calm” etc
Eh? We have 4 pts out of the last 27. We have won 2 league games since August, both v St Johnstone. The first of those wins was via a dodgy pen and the 2nd was v 10 men. What on earth is it about that that suggests keeping him gives us a better chance of winning?
We wanted him out last season because he couldn’t beat st Johnstone
Now we want him out because he can only beat st Johnstone
I accept we have been on a very poor run but there does need to be some perspective and looking at Ross overall he has done well. Some people complain about the football but for me it’s significantly better football than we had under fenlon butcher Williamson sauzee and calderwood. I just hope we don’t end up with someone like those previous managers
However we have made the decision and some supporters have got what they wanted so let’s hope that we see the changes they desire.
09-12-2021, 06:56 PM
No quite like that. Results dreadful and not improving, fans not turning up…
I agree with both of you :greengrin
09-12-2021, 07:13 PM
We wanted him out last season because he couldn’t beat st Johnstone
Now we want him out because he can only beat st Johnstone
I accept we have been on a very poor run but there does need to be some perspective and looking at Ross overall he has done well. Some people complain about the football but for me it’s significantly better football than we had under fenlon butcher Williamson sauzee and calderwood. I just hope we don’t end up with someone like those previous managers
However we have made the decision and some supporters have got what they wanted so let’s hope that we see the changes they desire.
I didn’t want him out cos he couldn’t beat St Johnstone.
This is more than just a run. 3 league wins since August is more than just a run. We’re nearly half way through the season.
The football was worse under those names you’ve quoted but the squads and budgets available to those managers weren’t a patch on what JR had available to him but like them the football is poor and he’s not getting results.
Last night we were absolutely disgusting. Even worse than the scudding we took v Dundee United and and Celtic. He has shown absolutely no sign of changing this and we’re getting significantly worse. He has deservedly got his jotters.
09-12-2021, 08:48 PM
I remember thinking at the time of the Hibs.net podcast interview with Jack Ross, that while it was an engaging listen, he tended to talk more about Jack Ross rather than talk up Hibs as a club. Never really gave me the impression that he “got” Hibs or became very passionate about the club. I don’t think living as far from Edinburgh as he did helped with that and being detached from the culture of Hibs within the city of Edinburgh.
I liked him though, and was sorry to see him lose his job, but the decline and the rate of it was an alarming one so the board had a difficult decision to make.
09-12-2021, 08:52 PM
I remember thinking at the time of the Hibs.net podcast interview with Jack Ross, that while it was an engaging listen, he tended to talk more about Jack Ross rather than talk up Hibs as a club. Never really gave me the impression that he “got” Hibs or became very passionate about the club. I don’t think living as far from Edinburgh as he did helped with that and being detached from the culture of Hibs within the city of Edinburgh.
I liked him though, and was sorry to see him lose his job, but the decline and the rate of it was an alarming one so the board had a difficult decision to make.
I just listened to parts of the podcast again as it was pretty recent - worth a listen if you haven’t already but things have moved pretty quickly since then.
It’s on Spotify or link here -
https://anchor.fm/hibspod/episodes/EP--5-Ben-Kensell-e1a96fs
09-12-2021, 08:53 PM
Completely disagree - people can challenge him for many things, but he absolutely got what Hibs were about …..
09-12-2021, 09:41 PM
The football was worse under those names you’ve quoted but the squads and budgets available to those managers weren’t a patch on what JR had available to him but like them the football is poor and he’s not getting results.
See when folk say the football (apart from a few games recently) was worse than it was under Calderwood, Butcher, Fenton etc., it’s almost beyond laughable. I know you didn’t say that but a lot of folk have.
Football has changed a lot in the past few years and I don’t think anyone plays this mythical free flowing footie we are supposedly all used to but you must have incredibly short memories to not remember how diabolical we were under those managers. Under JR we probably “controlled” most of the games and although it wasn’t particularly entertaining it was night and day compared to some of our teams of the past 20 years.
I really worry about the future as nobody is ever going to match the expectations of a chunk of our fan base. I don’t know if it’s because for 2/3 years after the cup final we were on the up and people think it’s always like that but sacking managers every time we hit a bad patch isn’t going to work. It’s been proved so many times.
09-12-2021, 09:46 PM
What didn’t JR get about Hibs and what is “Hibs culture” at this time?
From what I see and hear at the moment our supposed culture is steeped in delusion and a very difficult club to work for.
09-12-2021, 10:13 PM
What didn’t JR get about Hibs and what is “Hibs culture” at this time?
From what I see and hear at the moment our supposed culture is steeped in delusion and a very difficult club to work for.
Really can’t get my head round this idea that folk are deluded. This run extends to a quarter of a league season. Do we just let it rumble on indefinitely?
Folk are being asked to pay premium prices to watch something that a fair number simply don’t find particularly entertaining. He’s not exactly been hounded out by the support or anything like that.
Folk were more than willing to praise him, semi final showed that. Too many horror shows over his time coupled with the current run. When we were bad under Ross it was really bad.
09-12-2021, 11:12 PM
I'm surprised at this.
I know we've had a poor run but apart from the game at home vs Dundee Utd when we were truly abysmal I thought we were never far away from getting something more out the game. That said I didn't see the away games to Livi and Ross County when, as well as losing, we somehow managed to pick up 4 red cards! That seems indicative of something wrong - what with the players losing their discipline like that.
Despite the above though, I'd anticipated Ross getting until the Cup Final to try and turn things round. Gordon has moved quickly though and I hope that's indicative of ambition and vision and that translates into a positive appointment - and that whoever is in the hotseat at Hampden, they enjoy a bit of honeymoon there and grab us a cup!
Good luck to Ross - I enjoyed the 3rd place finish - shame about St Johnstone!
Well all you bed wetters got your way. Now what?????
The biggest thing that let JR down was the summer recruitment. A mitigated disaster. We have no depth to our aging defence and recruited nothing up front.
It has been patchwork all season and he did well to paper over the cracks. He should have been given another window. He knew our weaknesses.
Now we're talking about Neil, Mcinnes, etc., or some nobody from MLS gie me a break Ron.
Magpie
10-12-2021, 12:21 AM
“And we can also reveal that Gordon had considered wielding the axe previously but former sporting director Graeme Mathie was constantly fighting the ex St Mirren and Sunderland gaffer's corner.
Mathie has gone and the axe fell and the Hibs players were informed as they headed into training on Thursday morning.“
Read this from the Daily Record.
The biggest thing that let JR down was the summer recruitment. A mitigated disaster. We have no depth to our aging defence and recruited nothing up front.
It has been patchwork all season and he did well to paper over the cracks. He should have been given another window. He knew our weaknesses.
Now we're talking about Neil, Mcinnes, etc., or some nobody from MLS gie me a break Ron.
10-12-2021, 05:57 AM
Personally think he got Hibs alright and to me him living a drive away was probably a positive for him in being able to get away from it as much as managers in highly stressful jobs can.
10-12-2021, 06:25 AM
Classy. Based on the negativity in your post you might want to check for a wet patch on your sheets.
10-12-2021, 06:29 AM
See when folk say the football (apart from a few games recently) was worse than it was under Calderwood, Butcher, Fenton etc., it’s almost beyond laughable. I know you didn’t say that but a lot of folk have.
Football has changed a lot in the past few years and I don’t think anyone plays this mythical free flowing footie we are supposedly all used to but you must have incredibly short memories to not remember how diabolical we were under those managers. Under JR we probably “controlled” most of the games and although it wasn’t particularly entertaining it was night and day compared to some of our teams of the past 20 years.
I really worry about the future as nobody is ever going to match the expectations of a chunk of our fan base. I don’t know if it’s because for 2/3 years after the cup final we were on the up and people think it’s always like that but sacking managers every time we hit a bad patch isn’t going to work. It’s been proved so many times.
Do you agree that the “expectations of a chunk of the support” is referring to a minority of the support? Every pole on here showed a majority weren’t ever actively looking for him to be sacked no matter how big the “Ross Out brigade” were made out to be.
Ironically there seems to be a minority of posters determined to make out that the support is unreasonable and our expectations don’t match reality throughout most threads. Much like the minority of posters who were in “Ross Out Brigade” and did the same.
The truth is that Ross consistently maintained the backing of the support up until Wednesday which seemed to be the tipping point. There was a sizeable section that didn’t enjoy what we were watching, myself included, but that was simply a reaction to what we were watching and not some orchestrated campaign. That was starting to be reflected in attendances. Hibs fans expectations aren’t any different to anyone else, punch out weight and get value (which for me is enjoyment) out of the cost of watching Hibs. No more no less.
Classy. Based on the negativity in your post you might want to check for a wet patch on your sheets.
You are so funny. You should get your own show. 🥴
The so called negativity stems from 4 out of 27 my friend. Nothing really positive to take from that but sacking Jr was not the answer.
10-12-2021, 08:10 AM
You are so funny. You should get your own show. 🥴
The so called negativity stems from 4 out of 27 my friend. Nothing really positive to take from that but sacking Jr was not the answer.
It was the answer. His team, his tactics, as he said so himself.
10-12-2021, 08:53 AM
Do you agree that the “expectations of a chunk of the support” is referring to a minority of the support? Every pole on here showed a majority weren’t ever actively looking for him to be sacked no matter how big the “Ross Out brigade” were made out to be.
Ironically there seems to be a minority of posters determined to make out that the support is unreasonable and our expectations don’t match reality throughout most threads. Much like the minority of posters who were in “Ross Out Brigade” and did the same.
The truth is that Ross consistently maintained the backing of the support up until Wednesday which seemed to be the tipping point. There was a sizeable section that didn’t enjoy what we were watching, myself included, but that was simply a reaction to what we were watching and not some orchestrated campaign. That was starting to be reflected in attendances. Hibs fans expectations aren’t any different to anyone else, punch out weight and get value (which for me is enjoyment) out of the cost of watching Hibs. No more no less.
Well it depends how we're defining "the Hibs support".
"Punching our weight" would be battling it out for 4th or 5th with Aberdeen (who have a higher wage bill)? That wouldn't cut it with a sizeable chunk of our fans I would guess and as for getting enjoyment out of watching Hibs I'll ask the question I always ask- how often in the past 50 years have we truly been enjoyable to watch?
The Jack Ross is boring, can't win big games blah blah blah narrative was there from the start with some of our fans and it wasn't going to shift. We were playing some really decent stuff at the start of the season but he was getting very little credit. Our bad run had become worrying but even in the past 3 weeks we have produced outstanding displays against Rangers and St Johnstone.
It probably is a minority you would class as unreasonable, but probably due to social media they have been quite noticeable and significant and is it helping? Some of the claims about what we are supposedly entitled to expect in terms of style and success are so outlandish that I would suggest expectations are probably higher here than in other places.
10-12-2021, 09:25 AM
"Punching our weight" would be battling it out for 4th or 5th with Aberdeen (who have a higher wage bill)? That wouldn't cut it with a sizeable chunk of our fans I would guess and as for getting enjoyment out of watching Hibs I'll ask the question I always ask- how often in the past 50 years have we truly been enjoyable to watch?
The Jack Ross is boring, can't win big games blah blah blah narrative was there from the start with some of our fans and it wasn't going to shift. We were playing some really decent stuff at the start of the season but he was getting very little credit. Our bad run had become worrying but even in the past 3 weeks we have produced outstanding displays against Rangers and St Johnstone.
It probably is a minority you would class as unreasonable, but probably due to social media they have been quite noticeable and significant and is it helping? Some of the claims about what we are supposedly entitled to expect in terms of style and success are so outlandish that I would suggest expectations are probably higher here than in other places.
Jack Ross got loads of credit at the start of the season regarding how we were playing, I even started a thread on it and I’ve been one of his biggest critics for being boring.
Unfortunately that was short lived and we went back to the boring stuff really quickly.
10-12-2021, 09:28 AM
What I am interested in most is how you think the disaster of the summer recruitment was mitigated?
In my view, it was completely un-mitigated with no redeeming features at all.
Why Mathie went was that he played bluff far too long and got out-bluffed at the end and was left scrabbling around for crumbs, he completely overplayed his hand and got found out.
It is very well knowing our weaknesses but Ross was powerless to address them.
Unless, which I don't believe for a second, he had that squad of players completely dumped on him and had no part in their recruitment he left himself with 5 or 6 players he wasn't prepared to turn to when all was crumbling around him and who by extension were completely wrong signings.
We could be sitting here in March bottom of the league with Ross, picking from the same 12 or 13 players all of whom are dead on their feet.
I have some sympathy with Ross, but as ever the measure of a manager isn't when things are going well but when they are going badly and what he can do to fix it.
Ross was found totally wanting in this regard.
10-12-2021, 09:43 AM
There probably isn’t a one size fits all way to group the Hibs support but what you see online, especially from the less constructive places like social media, doesn’t reflect real life IMO. Those attending games weren’t getting on the team or managers back any more than football fans everywhere do. Some had stopped attending, with multiple reasons being valid, one of which was the teams style.
There’s been lots of teams/managers I’ve seen who played different, but enjoyable (for me, others will see things differently) football. Often just for periods or a single season as they couldn’t sustain it. I’ve particularly enjoyed some of the football under McLeish, Mowbray, Collins, Stubbs & Lennon. Not all the football from them was good all of the time, but I remember periods of varying length where I enjoyed attending games. Particularly Mowbray, we didn’t win anything and arguably underachieved but I still fondly remember that team and that time. I look back on Ross’ time and think he did a good job but not a period I’ll remember, I don’t look back on last season with much fondness despite finishing 3rd, as I didn’t particularly enjoy the games.
Expectations probably are higher now, but the flip side is also that Ross was working with budgets most other previous managers would envy. The footballing ambition/priority is also higher now than in previous periods. Whether it was the right decision or not I don’t think any other period would see the team that finished 3rd kept together and multi million pound bids rejected. Given the increased expectations now I still don’t see the expectations of the vast majority being unreasonable. Other than if people choose focus of the fringe minority view that go to extremes.
10-12-2021, 10:08 AM
Jack Ross got loads of credit at the start of the season regarding how we were playing, I even started a thread on it and I’ve been one of his biggest critics for being boring.
Unfortunately that was short lived and we went back to the boring stuff really quickly.
The idea that he didn’t get credit, where it was deserved, isn’t true IMO. Surely the reaction to the semi final win the other week shows that.
10-12-2021, 10:12 AM
The idea that he didn’t get credit, where it was deserved, isn’t true IMO. Surely the reaction to the semi final win the other week shows that.I'm pretty sure I read on here recently we got lucky
Scored with every chance and lucky defending 2nd half saved us
Mightve been only 1 posters opinion but it gives an idea of some folks set in stone ideas on a manager
10-12-2021, 10:22 AM
I'm pretty sure I read on here recently we got lucky
Scored with every chance and lucky defending 2nd half saved us
Mightve been only 1 posters opinion but it gives an idea of some folks set in stone ideas on a manager
Aye but you’ll always get one, it’s no representative of the wider support. He, generally, got credit where due and stick where due.
nlandsafchibee
10-12-2021, 11:07 AM
Completely disagree - people can challenge him for many things, but he absolutely got what Hibs were about …..
Absolutely agree, he loved Hibs ,he felt at home and a job where he could build up and develope the team and playing structure with less shortism than many other clubs desire.Done properly.He bought into that when appointed.He is not a man to go over the top either in anger or delight but you could see the massive delight at the semi final win
When appointed he said he wanted 3 things t achieve .Initially get away from potential relegation position ...tick ..Next season improve up league .tick and then bring back European nights to Easter Road ..tick
nlandsafchibee
10-12-2021, 11:14 AM
Surely the injuries to Kyle and Doidge and regularly injured Murphy had something to do with that .You can only work with what you have fully fit and available .Nisbet was not the workhorse Doidge was and Kyle was that attacking threat from mid field.And well documented no extra firepower in transfer window
10-12-2021, 11:22 AM
I wonder how much influence the fan chanting on Wednesday night had in the decision making?
It was a small contingent who made their statement pretty loudly, but was quite telling that the silent majority didn’t do much to shout them down. Probably a case of the small faction saying it, with the majority thinking it.
I don’t think anyone who was chanting though would have expected to see their demands delivered quite as quickly.
10-12-2021, 11:27 AM
Surely the injuries to Kyle and Doidge and regularly injured Murphy had something to do with that .You can only work with what you have fully fit and available .Nisbet was not the workhorse Doidge was and Kyle was that attacking threat from mid field.And well documented no extra firepower in transfer window
Injuries are part and parcel of football. All teams get them. Kyle was injured all the time when we signed him so if Ross was relying on him then that’s terrible planning on his part.
Doidge being injured was a shame but injuries happen. Still should have had more than enough to do much better than we have.