View Full Version : Motivation (or lack of)
Exuberance1875
02-12-2021, 05:30 PM
I don’t know if it is just me, and if it is fair enough. But the way we are playing and the general style of play hasn’t got me buzzing to get up on Saturdays and get to the games.
That’s not to say there hasn’t been really good moments in certain games, but I feel like we are always just falling short somehow or we aren’t having a proper go at teams the way I feel Hibs teams should and not having enough shots on goal etc.
As I said, it might just be me, and I am not wanting to moan here, more looking for others feelings and thoughts and if I’m well of the mark, to be put in my place and a rocket up my a**e 😂
What’s the positives?
02-12-2021, 05:34 PM
I don’t know if it is just me, and if it is fair enough. But the way we are playing and the general style of play hasn’t got me buzzing to get up on Saturdays and get to the games.
That’s not to say there hasn’t been really good moments in certain games, but I feel like we are always just falling short somehow or we aren’t having a proper go at teams the way I feel Hibs teams should and not having enough shots on goal etc.
As I said, it might just be me, and I am not wanting to moan here, more looking for others feelings and thoughts and if I’m well of the mark, to be put in my place and a rocket up my a**e 😂
What’s the positives?got to agree I’m no looking forward to Saturday. Our style of play is boring and slow. Last night was more intensity but it will be back to pass square back square side ways then dunt it forward into channel. We need a result Saturday or pitchforks will be out.
I was in your camp before the break we had for covid but I think we’ve played well since coming back, yeh we lost against county and last night but there’s been a huge difference in tempo work ethic and there’s been some really good passing moves, guys like JDH and Cadden have been playing extremely well since we came back, Nisbet looks sharper doidge is on the road back now few more weeks we’ll have tait and mueller in the door.
It’s not all bad the results should be better but I don’t think we’re far away
02-12-2021, 05:35 PM
got to agree I’m no looking forward to Saturday. Our style of play is boring and slow. Last night was more intensity but it will be back to pass square back square side ways then dunt it forward into channel. We need a result Saturday or pitchforks will be out.
Apart from all the forward passes out the back and midfield in to the foot of the strikers and wing backs yes.
Helensburghhibs
02-12-2021, 05:36 PM
I'm hoping if we can get doidge fit and playing we can get back to the 1 touch layoff stuff from him and Kevin.
02-12-2021, 05:37 PM
Apart from all the forward passes out the back and midfield in to the foot of the strikers and wing backs yes.
I take it your happy with our style off play or are you being sarcastic.
( best form of wit by the way).
Exuberance1875
02-12-2021, 05:39 PM
I’m also well aware of the cup final and the run to the final has consisted of really good performances, but just looking for that a bit more.
It’s more wanting to see our creative players get more frequent opportunities.
stuart-farquhar
02-12-2021, 05:39 PM
Well. The Huns behave badly and get away with it. There are shiny new big screens. There's a club or Association or whatever for particular sorts. Behind the goals is still closed. Can't get a beer inside the stadium- see point no.1.
Referees appear to be no longer being Inept/biased, probably both.
That's surely enough to fire yourself up.
I take it you're being sarcastic?
02-12-2021, 05:43 PM
I take it you're being sarcastic?
😂👍
02-12-2021, 05:46 PM
No I’m not being sarcastic, I’m recalling the game and thinking about how well I thought we knocked the ball about.
02-12-2021, 05:52 PM
No I’m not being sarcastic, I’m recalling the game and thinking about how well I thought we knocked the ball about.
Can definitely see some improvement the past few matches when it comes to how nice the football is.
02-12-2021, 05:58 PM
I'm not sure I'm ever going to really love this Hibs team in it's current guise (that's team, not club). However it would be churlish not to acknowledge the improvement in performance since the covid break.
That improvement really needs to translate into points though. For all I acknowledge the improvement, it's still 3 points from a possible 9 in our last 3 games.
Fwiw I'm not particularly enthused about watching Hibs at the moment and haven't been for some time. Last season I put it down to not being there, I thought I would be buzzing to be back but I'm not really. Truth be told I haven't enjoyed football, aside from Hibs, for years. Maybe that lack of enjoyment is just slowly spreading.
THESHIP
02-12-2021, 06:09 PM
I genuinely think we’re absolutely brutal to watch at the moment and have been for a while now. Jack Ross is far too negative for my liking. I don’t care who we play against, but in this league we should never be settling for a draw at home against anyone.
The game was crying out for Allan & Murphy to come on to give us a spark as Rangers were there for the taking . Bringing them on as soon as we conceded was laughable and hugely predictable. The crowds seem to be getting worse as the season goes on and I firmly believe it’s due to the totally boring football on offer.
I know this comes across as a negative post but it’s just my honest assessment on how we’re doing at the moment. Hopefully in January with good recruitment we can start playing more attractive football and start picking up better results along the way.
02-12-2021, 06:13 PM
I genuinely think we’re absolutely brutal to watch at the moment and have been for a while now. Jack Ross is far too negative for my liking. I don’t care who we play against, but in this league we should never be settling for a draw at home against anyone.
The game was crying out for Allan & Murphy to come on to give us a spark as Rangers were there for the taking . Bringing them on as soon as we conceded was laughable and hugely predictable. The crowds seem to be getting worse as the season goes on and I firmly believe it’s due to the totally boring football on offer.
I know this comes across as a negative post but it’s just my honest assessment on how we’re doing at the moment. Hopefully in January with good recruitment we can start playing more attractive football and start picking up better results along the way.
Absolutely brutal at St Johnstone at the weekend right enough. I’ll even Chuck in the semi final. Brutal right enough.
Exuberance1875
02-12-2021, 06:15 PM
Absolutely brutal at St Johnstone at the weekend right enough. I’ll even Chuck in the semi final. Brutal right enough.
To be fair, my original does state there has been good moments here and there, it’s more the way we play the majority of the time.
02-12-2021, 06:16 PM
To be fair, my original does state there has been good moments here and there, it’s more the way we play the majority of the time.
I wasn’t replying to your original post. :aok::wink:
Exuberance1875
02-12-2021, 06:17 PM
I'm not sure I'm ever going to really love this Hibs team in it's current guise (that's team, not club). However it would be churlish not to acknowledge the improvement in performance since the covid break.
That improvement really needs to translate into points though. For all I acknowledge the improvement, it's still 3 points from a possible 9 in our last 3 games.
Fwiw I'm not particularly enthused about watching Hibs at the moment and haven't been for some time. Last season I put it down to not being there, I thought I would be buzzing to be back but I'm not really. Truth be told I haven't enjoyed football, aside from Hibs, for years. Maybe that lack of enjoyment is just slowly spreading.
I hope this changes for you, there’s nothing better than having that real buzz of going to the games knowing you’d be entertained!
THESHIP
02-12-2021, 06:19 PM
2 games out of how many? Let’s be honest, Hibs playing attractive football hasn’t been the norm this season.
02-12-2021, 06:22 PM
Who would have ever thought the only real excitement from the fitba’ the now would be following the national side 🤣.
Worlds went topsy turvey.
PB has it spot on though. As the same age it might be a generational thing.
You’re spot on. We also started the season playing some really good football and were exciting to watch. But injuries to magennis, Murphy and doidge, combined with little or no recruitment have made it difficult and performances suffered.
02-12-2021, 06:23 PM
2 games out of how many? Let’s be honest, Hibs playing attractive football hasn’t been the norm this season.
You said at the moment . I’m going back two weeks and four games.
02-12-2021, 06:26 PM
Can't disagree, it's great to get out of the house on a Saturday and I really enjoyed the game at Perth but I was honestly half thinking of watching last night's game on TV with a beer and that's not something I do. It's the home games that are wearing me down a bit, maybe I was expecting too much after that Ross Co game early in the season.
Folk on here can moan all they want but we haven't had a "bounce" since the false dawn of the early Hecky days and even that was nowhere near the heights of early 2018. Rightly or wrongly a lot of fans just won't go to the games until we start playing more attractive football. I was really pleased with the way we kept the ball on Saturday but disappointed JR didn't really go for it last night by bringing on Murphy as we just were not going to score.
Looks like we will need to be patient, the January window isn't going to solve everything. We were pretty expansive and good to watch early season so hopefully JR still intends to have us playing this way once he gets the right players in.
02-12-2021, 06:33 PM
I have been guilty myself of posting how boring the football can be under Ross and it would be impossible to play like man city or Liverpool every weekend but we have played some good stuff this season.
Played some decent stuff at Motherwell first game of the season and then we blew away both Ross County and Livingston at home (which we should be doing)
Battled away at tyncastle and then Ibrox where it looked to To good to be true at 0-1 how well the season had gone so far.
No doubt we put in some stinkers later on but no one can accuse the manager or the players for not responding and starting to buckle up, last night was disappointing not to take anything but let's get behind the boys Saturday.
02-12-2021, 06:35 PM
Can't disagree, it's great to get out of the house on a Saturday and I really enjoyed the game at Perth but I was honestly half thinking of watching last night's game on TV with a beer and that's not something I do. It's the home games that are wearing me down a bit, maybe I was expecting too much after that Ross Co game early in the season.
Folk on here can moan all they want but we haven't had a "bounce" since the false dawn of the early Hecky days and even that was nowhere near the heights of early 2018. Rightly or wrongly a lot of fans just won't go to the games until we start playing more attractive football. I was really pleased with the way we kept the ball on Saturday but disappointed JR didn't really go for it last night by bringing on Murphy as we just were not going to score.
Looks like we will need to be patient, the January window isn't going to solve everything. We were pretty expansive and good to watch early season so hopefully JR still intends to have us playing this way once he gets the right players in.
Valid point about the home games and pretty much how I feel. Home form is patchy at best and the there’s no life about the place. Much prefer an away day (not so much Dingwall on a Wednesday night) and generally find them more enjoyable.
THESHIP
02-12-2021, 06:40 PM
You said at the moment . I’m going back two weeks and four games.
You must have missed the point right after that where I stated “and have been for a while now”
02-12-2021, 06:41 PM
Neilson is a scruffy tramp. Boyd is a prick.
tmb1875
02-12-2021, 06:56 PM
[emoji1433][emoji1433][emoji23]
Cat Stanton
02-12-2021, 08:11 PM
got to agree I’m no looking forward to Saturday. Our style of play is boring and slow. Last night was more intensity but it will be back to pass square back square side ways then dunt it forward into channel. We need a result Saturday or pitchforks will be out.
Every time I read another unhappy post in another thread moaning about the manager and/or the style of play, I can't help but think... : thank **** there was no social media in Alex Miller's day. The internet would have broken.
02-12-2021, 08:11 PM
Every time I read another unhappy post in another thread moaning about the manager and/or the style of play, I can't help but think... :thank **** there was no social media when Alex Miller was manager. The internet would have broken.
Yer no wrong.:greengrin
02-12-2021, 08:18 PM
What’s the positives?
So many trolling. You not got a game to watch tonight.
02-12-2021, 08:39 PM
Was thinking exactly same thing! :lolyam:
Dr What If?
02-12-2021, 08:40 PM
Every time I read another unhappy post in another thread moaning about the manager and/or the style of play, I can't help but think... : thank **** there was no social media in Alex Miller's day. The internet would have broken.
Funny, whenever I read the negative posts about Ross it always makes me think about Miller. For all the boring football, Miller turned us from relegation fodder into a side that won a cup and got into Europe. So, Mr Ross, if your looking in I would like to say thanks for getting us out of the relegation fight, thanks for Europe.....but if you ever want to be an Alex Miller we would like the League Cup please. :greengrin
02-12-2021, 08:42 PM
Have you watched us play since the break?
02-12-2021, 08:42 PM
I’m looking forward to Saturday. Expect it to be a good contest and a decent game.
Exuberance1875
02-12-2021, 08:53 PM
I have been guilty myself of posting how boring the football can be under Ross and it would be impossible to play like man city or Liverpool every weekend but we have played some good stuff this season.
Played some decent stuff at Motherwell first game of the season and then we blew away both Ross County and Livingston at home (which we should be doing)
Battled away at tyncastle and then Ibrox where it looked to To good to be true at 0-1 how well the season had gone so far.
No doubt we put in some stinkers later on but no one can accuse the manager or the players for not responding and starting to buckle up, last night was disappointing not to take anything but let's get behind the boys Saturday.
Yeah this is fair, I was more thinking, is it just me that feels this way?! I’m not one to moan about Hibs frequently. Good performance on Saturday and it’s happy days again.
Missing Doidge and looking forward to Mueller coming in
PolmontHibby
02-12-2021, 08:56 PM
:greengrin Would love to see social feedback on some of the game I went to early eighties struggling against teams like East Stirlingshire, Stirling and Berwick. Then again, hardly anyone went to the games. Still had a laugh though :greengrin
Exuberance1875
02-12-2021, 08:59 PM
Massively disappointing however unsurprising that you can’t have an opinion or even ask for opinions without some people calling you a troll because they feel differently…such is life, I suppose.
Greenio
02-12-2021, 09:21 PM
Given the state of things and the experience of the last few years. I'd say lack of motivation isn't just related to the style of football being played by Hibs (which I think is pretty good). Is for me anyway. Languishing is the term I've heard that felt right. For me, the football is a positive outlet regardless of the results or the quality of play. Everyone is different though of course
02-12-2021, 09:22 PM
A shocking end to the window coupled with injuries to important players in Doidge and Magennis
With Mueller joined by hopefully 3 quality signings we'll see us playing football similar to the start of the season and what we've seen since our wee break (exc County away)
02-12-2021, 10:19 PM
Have you watched us play since the break?
If I hadn’t seen us play since the break then I wouldn’t have made a comment.
02-12-2021, 10:22 PM
I think this is a lazy narrative as it’s not how we play at all. If anything I’d take us being a bit more direct into a channel at times
02-12-2021, 10:24 PM
I think this is a lazy narrative as it’s not how we play at all. If anything I’d take us being a bit more direct into a channel at timesjust shows that some fans are happy with our style off play and all I’m saying most of it is boring imo.
02-12-2021, 10:31 PM
Bertie Auld and Bobby Williamson too. By contrast, there are plenty of examples where this current team have been a joy to watch but never for a whole match. One day we’ll click for 90 mins and some side will get it tight. I may be in a minority on here but I do like what Jack Ross is developing at Hibs
02-12-2021, 10:33 PM
Nothing at all wrong with our football since the break. Some people have very short memories.
PolmontHibby
02-12-2021, 10:33 PM
I’m looking forward to Saturday. Expect it to be a good contest and a decent game.
I am also looking forward to attend a rare Saturday game (if I can throw off the lurgy).
Lunch/drinks with family and friends, off to game, win, draw or lose (though prefer to win) analysis in Hibs Club/bar afterwards.
My perfect day out.
03-12-2021, 10:19 AM
Alex Miller won us a trophy and was not as negative as some people think. I can tell you that some of the stuff played under Jack Ross makes Alex Millers style of play look swashbuckling.
03-12-2021, 10:30 AM
Alex Miller won us a trophy and was not as negative as some people think. I can tell you that some of the stuff played under Jack Ross makes Alex Millers style of play look swashbuckling.
I reckon Alex Miller's 93/94 team wipes the floor with this current team.
03-12-2021, 02:24 PM
Maybe my memory is failing but that’s not what I recall. Alex Miller was dull with a capital D.
Jack Ross’ sided are way more progressive. However, it’s when teams come and put 10 behind the ball the present side struggles to find an answer. So maybe you’re right. Miller’s side would have done that
Bushwoof
03-12-2021, 03:23 PM
There'll be a launch mob after me for saying this, but I tend to agree with the OP. The semi was a great result, and a great defensive effort, but hardly a thrilling Hibs performance (we basically spent the entire second half defending heroically and then giving the ball away). I've got a ST and go to all the home games out of loyalty and habit, but I can't say I spend the morning pre-match excitedly looking forward to a scintillating afternoon's entertainment, because we just haven't had that for a long time. I really really really hate to say it, but looking at the Jambos 5-2 win over the Arabs, I couldn't help thinking what a great game it must have been for that shower, and wishing we could have some of that again ourselves.
Nights like the 6-2 seem a long way off. Maybe like the OP I'm just getting too old for it. But from this thread it seems there are a fair few who feel the same, and I do worry that attendances will suffer. Wednesday was a case in point - far too many empty seats for what should be a big event.
03-12-2021, 04:23 PM
I’m looking forward to the game tomorrow.
Motherwell got a good result midweek and will be a tough game but we really need to win to close the gap above us.
Many fans say we are boring to watch but few explain what they would change to make us more exciting. Play Scott Allan more often ? Sign more creative players ? Be more direct ?
03-12-2021, 04:30 PM
I’m looking forward to the game tomorrow.
Motherwell got a good result midweek and will be a tough game but we really need to win to close the gap above us.
Many fans say we are boring to watch but few explain what they would change to make us more exciting. Play Scott Allan more often ? Sign more creative players ? Be more direct ?
How about some more attempts at goal playing at home instead off playing safe all the time.
Hibiza
03-12-2021, 04:40 PM
Alex Miller was awful.
03-12-2021, 04:41 PM
How about some more attempts at goal playing at home instead off playing safe all the time.
I think this is a fair point and comes down to creativity and someone from midfield who can shoot from distance.
03-12-2021, 04:46 PM
The owners have the business model all wrong
Improve the product on the park and I will pay the going rate
No way am I paying £30-35 to watch that crock of ****
Oh and before anyone asks yes I do have my ticket for the Final
C’mon the HIBS
03-12-2021, 05:16 PM
As often in these polarised discussions I find myself seeing the argument on both sides, with the truth lying somewhere in the middle.
Like others I find myself not particularly looking forward going to games at Easter Road these days and judging by the empty seats, there's a good few who feel the same. When teams camp themselves in their own half most of the game, we are clueless how to break them down. We have some decent industrious players, but other than Boyle and Scotty (who is usually benched) few have a cutting edge. There is next to zero creativity from free kicks/set pieces either.
What I would say in Ross' defence is that the injuries to Murphy, Doidge and particularly Magennis have had a massive impact on us offensively. It's no coincidence that our form has gone downhill since Magennis got injured. He was on fire at the start of the season, was creative and scored goals. Doidge's injury has also had a massive impact on Nisbet as well and he looks isolated in games.
Wednesday was a big missed opportunity for me. I thought Rangers were poor and there for the taking. With Boyle quiet though we lacked the quality to put them under pressure.
If we can get our players fit though, and make a couple of decent acquisitions in January we won't be far away from being a really decent team, so it's not all doom and gloom.
loanheadhibby
03-12-2021, 07:43 PM
As often in these polarised discussions I find myself seeing the argument on both sides, with the truth lying somewhere in the middle.
Like others I find myself not particularly looking forward going to games at Easter Road these days and judging by the empty seats, there's a good few who feel the same. When teams camp themselves in their own half most of the game, we are clueless how to break them down. We have some decent industrious players, but other than Boyle and Scotty (who is usually benched) few have a cutting edge. There is next to zero creativity from free kicks/set pieces either.
What I would say in Ross' defence is that the injuries to Murphy, Doidge and particularly Magennis have had a massive impact on us offensively. It's no coincidence that our form has gone downhill since Magennis got injured. He was on fire at the start of the season, was creative and scored goals. Doidge's injury has also had a massive impact on Nisbet as well and he looks isolated in games.
Wednesday was a big missed opportunity for me. I thought Rangers were poor and there for the taking. With Boyle quiet though we lacked the quality to put them under pressure.
If we can get our players fit though, and make a couple of decent acquisitions in January we won't be far away from being a really decent team, so it's not all doom and gloom.
Like many players Magennis gets better the longer he is injured.
To say he was on fire at the start of the season is a huge exageration.
I am looking forward to having him back injury free but was he really scoring goals earlier in the season.
I remember one in Croatia.
03-12-2021, 08:06 PM
Like many players Magennis gets better the longer he is injured.
To say he was on fire at the start of the season is a huge exageration.
I am looking forward to having him back injury free but was he really scoring goals earlier in the season.
I remember one in Croatia.thought I seen one statistic this season when Kyle was in the team we lost only one game in eight. And since he has been out it’s been the opposite.
04-12-2021, 09:27 AM
thought I seen one statistic this season when Kyle was in the team we lost only one game in eight. And since he has been out it’s been the opposite.
He scored 4 goals from midfield in 13 games, of which we only lost 1 (Rijeka away). Kyle was excellent in the majority of those games.
Baker9
04-12-2021, 10:19 AM
His first signings were Dougie Bell, Tommy McIntyre and Graham Mitchell and we were never in any kind of relegation danger when he was manager. For anybody interested in football biographies, Dougie Bell's biography (title, Signed Twice by Fergie) has just reached sales of 1400 through Amazon, with all proceeds going to charity.