View Full Version : Atmosphere
11-12-2021, 12:53 PM
Back in the days of the huge east terrace it could often be found just as empty as those pictures of the new east, it just didn't look as bad because folk naturally spread out into the gaps, whereas no matter how empty the modern east gets folk still sit in their usual seat.
If the idea that the east could become a 'wall of noise spurring the team on' as punted by Hibs when it was built ever had any basis in reality the following seasons have firmly put that notion to bed. Yes at certain times it has contributed to a stonking atmosphere, but as a rule it has become simply another stand little better for generating atmosphere on a normal matchday than the west stand is, as witness by the utter failure of ultras groups situated in that stand to be the catalyst for the sort of east the club hoped for at the beginning.
There is a load of misty eyed drivel spoken about the east side of our stadium in it's two previous incarnations. The massive terrace was a sight to behold when it was full, it can only be imagined what a place it could have been if Hibs had ever put a massive tin roof over it, it would have been unbelievable ... but they never did and consequently throughout the mid to late 70s right until Hibs cut it down and covered it 90% of the time the only atmosphere generated at ER came from the north end of the main stand, almost always consisting of foot stamping on the wooden boards and a chant of 'Hibees' 'Hibees'
After it was covered yes it improved the atmosphere on that side of the ground and made ER a bit more intimidating for visiting teams, a few ex Hearts and Sevco players have commented on the abuse they got from it. But the truth is even then the noise generated in the east rarely correlated to a better overall atmosphere in the stadium as a whole ... the fact is the atmosphere might have been brilliant if you were part of the two or three hundred gathered under the TV gantry, but what seemed to you a deafening racket could barely be heard in other parts of the ground, that was pointed out constantly by posters on here when the issue of atmosphere came up back then, not least of all by me from my seat in the FF lower where the east could barely be heard 90% of the time.
Consequently its evident that the only hope for a decent atmosphere at this club on a bog standard matchday is to stop the insanity of repeating the same process over and over again expecting different results and at least give the FF lower a try. I see there has been a bit of controversy over the behaviour of our latest ultras group, nobody wants a return of the IRA pish this club's fans thankfully left behind long ago or fans fighting with each other and I'm sure the guys trying to get this group going don't want it either.
A respected poster on here said he couldn't see why the club would give over the FF lower to a section of fans where stuff like that was happening, but in my opinion surely situating them in a part of the stadium far easier to police than the east would make sense and also finally give the sensible folk hoping to grow a Hibs ultras movement room to breathe and expand their numbers in a safe and organised manner in a self contained area that would give them a better chance of identifying and rooting out the dross too.
11-12-2021, 12:55 PM
Slight change of topic, but watching the Brentford - Watford game, the place was jumping well after the final whistle. Despite being 1-0 down until the 84th minute, no-one appeared to be 'sneaking out'. Then Brentford score two goals in the final few minutes to win the game. As the Brentford players and manager go round the pitchside at the end, it looked as if not one fan left their seat to move towards the exit. Contrast that with Easter Road, when people leave early and there's the rush to the exit. Even after a Derby win, there is the rush to the exit.
Your bang on. I know some argue that all clubs have empty stands by the end, I would honestly argue that hibs are the worst for it. Even when we are winning, the stands are almost empty by the final whistle. Quite deflating for the players.
We really should be doing our bit by staying to the end. Is getting away sharp that important??
11-12-2021, 02:01 PM
Your bang on. I know some argue that all clubs have empty stands by the end, I would honestly argue that hibs are the worst for it. Even when we are winning, the stands are almost empty by the final whistle. Quite deflating for the players.
We really should be doing our bit by staying to the end. Is getting away sharp that important??
I suppose that's why I'm raising this as an issue. It's up to every one of us to help create an atmosphere - all this talk about where the singing section is deflecting us from the issue that there are many of us (I include myself) that are half-hearted in their support of Hibs. As I've said earlier, banging a drum and singing melodic songs about Paul Hanlon isn't going to solve the problem. We need everyone to do their bit, to raise the noise levels from before kick-off all the way through to match end. It's difficult to do that when a sizeable number arrive late and/or leave early.
Helensburghhibs
11-12-2021, 04:04 PM
Poison in the away end today and nothing to do with on the park .... the group up the back, the seemingly called James connelly supporters club,,, familiar faces who are regularly associated with bother at away games are an embarrassment. Throwing pies, abusing hibs fans and fighting amongst themselves. Make no mistake if its you, you are not welcome. There's a ticket at parkhead with your name on it.
11-12-2021, 06:45 PM
Poison in the away end today and nothing to do with on the park .... the group up the back, the seemingly called James connelly supporters club,,, familiar faces who are regularly associated with bother at away games are an embarrassment. Throwing pies, abusing hibs fans and fighting amongst themselves. Make no mistake if its you, you are not welcome. There's a ticket at parkhead with your name on it.
Poison :rotflmao:
1) Why would people who have put in time, effort and money following Hibs, who have an Edinburgh born Hibs fan on a flag goto Parkhead FFS?
2) What regular bother at Hibs away games? There is literally never any bother at Hibs away games. Genuinely can't think of any trouble at any Hibs game in seasons? A few scraps after the Huns semi-final a few weeks ago and that's about it.
Our away support is that sanitised these days that anyone who dares go to an away game and not treat it like an afternoon at the Playhouse is a drunken thug and "not welcome here".
Can't help but feel you'll be disappointed with the lack of replies. Players are barely in tunnel and you're on here greeting and the only response you've got is me calling it BS :dummytit:
If you don't want to witness any unsavoury scenes I'd probably give Hampden a miss next Sunday if I was you.
11-12-2021, 07:18 PM
I've no idea what happened but I saw several police officers walking up to the back of the stand and someone at the front shouted at them that it had nothing to do with Block 7.
Then outside the ground as I was in the car I saw police officers talking to a few fans which looked a wee bit heated.
Can't offer any more information than but something seemed to have happened.
Bridge hibs
11-12-2021, 07:23 PM
1) Why would people who have put in time, effort and money following Hibs, who have an Edinburgh born Hibs fan on a flag goto Parkhead FFS?
2) What regular bother at Hibs away games? There is literally never any bother at Hibs away games. Genuinely can't think of any trouble at any Hibs game in seasons? A few scraps after the Huns semi-final a few weeks ago and that's about it.
Our away support is that sanitised these days that anyone who dares go to an away game and not treat it like an afternoon at the Playhouse is a drunken thug and "not welcome here".
Can't help but feel you'll be disappointed with the lack of replies. Players are barely in tunnel and you're on here greeting and the only response you've got is me calling it BS :dummytit:
If you don't want to witness any unsavoury scenes I'd probably give Hampden a miss next Sunday if I was you.I find it funny that hibs fans idolise Conolly who had no other afilliation to hibs other than being a supporter yet we have legends such as SDG etc who are never idolised in the same manner, no banners etc, what about our real heroes, wtf has Connolly done for hibs to gain adulation ?
11-12-2021, 07:26 PM
I find it funny that hibs fans idolise Conolly who had no other afilliation to hibs other than being a supporter yet we have legends such as SDG etc who are never idolised in the same manner, no banners etc, what about our real heroes, wtf has Connolly done for hibs to gain adulation ?
Who gives a ****?
If you want to take a banner for SDG batter in - nout stopping you in the same way there's nout stopping a group of like minded individuals calling themselves the JC HSC. No rules to it thankfully.
PS the largest supporters club (or at least one of them) is named after St Patrick is it not. "Down with this sort of thing"
The atmosphere is awful and even at the start of the season it was poor... I remember the Scotland Denmark week and the Wales support they got where both stadia were rocking and drove both teams to perform above their level. Team did great last season when they didn't play in front of crowds. Realise that there's a bit of symbiosis required but is the slump our fault as much as the players? Discuss 😊
I suppose that's why I'm raising this as an issue. It's up to every one of us to help create an atmosphere - all this talk about where the singing section is deflecting us from the issue that there are many of us (I include myself) that are half-hearted in their support of Hibs. As I've said earlier, banging a drum and singing melodic songs about Paul Hanlon isn't going to solve the problem. We need everyone to do their bit, to raise the noise levels from before kick-off all the way through to match end. It's difficult to do that when a sizeable number arrive late and/or leave early.
How about we decide on a match where we all commit to giving a ridiculous backing even if unwarranted? Let's get a feel good factor from 15 minutes before the game with standing and singing Franck Sauzee, Mickey Weir, Turnbulls Tornadoes, whatever..... Cup final if it happens. Lets make a stand? I think it would be worth a goal of a start
Bridge hibs
11-12-2021, 07:44 PM
Who gives a ****?
If you want to take a banner for SDG batter in - nout stopping you in the same way there's nout stopping a group of like minded individuals calling themselves the JC HSC. No rules to it thankfully.
PS the largest supporters club (or at least one of them) is named after St Patrick is it not. "Down with this sort of thing"I go to support hibs, sing about my idols on the park, I dont want to act like a ****ing plastic paddy & sing songs or wave banners about someone or something that has nothing to do with hibs !!
Today we had Gray running the team & legends Stevenson & McGregor on the park but we had fannies waving a Connolly flag !! Sums up the mentality of some of our support
11-12-2021, 07:49 PM
How about we decide on a match where we all commit to giving a ridiculous backing even if unwarranted? Let's get a feel good factor from 15 minutes before the game with standing and singing Franck Sauzee, Mickey Weir, Turnbulls Tornadoes, whatever..... Cup final if it happens. Lets make a stand? I think it would be worth a goal of a start
Was there not a game in the Championship when one p1shed group in hospitality created about the best atmosphere of the season?
You're right, it doesn't really take much, but it's clearly unnatural for an awful lot of our support. At least when bored/cold/sober.
Helensburghhibs
11-12-2021, 07:53 PM
If you don't want to witness any unsavoury scenes I'd probably give Hampden a miss next Sunday if I was you.
I think you over estimate how much you think I care about wether I get replies on here or not. I never seen a flag, I heard one of the guys down the front say that's what you?/they were called. I'll stick to facts though:
1. I seen the fat ginger Bawbag act a hard man by squaring up to two younger lads, the same idiot I had a run in with for singing sectarian songs at parkhead a few seasons ago.
2. I seen fellow supporters get hit with pies coming from the back, as did the stewards who then took it up with them.
3. I heard them having a run in with block 7 shouting them down and singing **** song about them, a group of lads who to me look like they are just trying to enhance the atmosphere.
4. Maybe not related to the group up the back but hibs supporters trying to knock lumps out each other out the back of the stand after the game, not what people want to be walking through after a match with kids.
"Like minded individuals" what does that mean exactly. Go and support hibs, what has connelly got to do with anything, stinks of green brigade rubbish hence the parkhead comment from me.
DIXIHIBS
11-12-2021, 07:57 PM
Was there not a game in the Championship when one p1shed group in hospitality created about the best atmosphere of the season?
You're right, it doesn't really take much, but it's clearly unnatural for an awful lot of our support. At least when bored/cold/sober.
Whether we like it or not, alcohol plays a big part in the atmosphere at games. Hampden/tynecastle etc always has noisy hibs support because most of us are half canned. Not suggesting we all go p!ssed to games but it might help!!
11-12-2021, 07:57 PM
I go to support hibs, sing about my idols on the park, I dont want to act like a ****ing plastic paddy & sing songs or wave banners about someone or something that has nothing to do with hibs !!
Today we had Gray running the team & legends Stevenson & McGregor on the park but we had fannies waving a Connolly flag !! Sums up the mentality of some of our support
Yep so if you re-read my post that you just quoted there is absolutely nothing stopping you doing that, so why you on here greeting?
Off to a rebel night to down guiness and jamieson.
slán
11-12-2021, 08:03 PM
Those idiots, and I make no apologies for using that word, at the back of the middle section were bullying the kids at the front and seemed to think it was funny.
The kids were really young and kept looking nervously behind them. Some of them looked petrified.
Those idiots should sod off to Parkhead if they want to sing songs with references to the IRA and have flags with Connolly on them.
Bridge hibs
11-12-2021, 08:04 PM
Yep so if you re-read my post that you just quoted there is absolutely nothing stopping you doing that, so why you on here greeting?
Off to a rebel night to down guiness and jamieson.
slánGreeting ? Grow up ffs, Im more into the team on the park than you having a wee tug about James ****ing Connolly and his wee band of followers 🤣
11-12-2021, 08:06 PM
Greeting ? Grow up ffs, Im more into the team on the park than you having a wee tug about James ****ing Connolly and his wee band of followers 🤣
You do know Connolly was an actual Hibs fan? So this chat about being like Celtic isn’t really accurate.
Helensburghhibs
11-12-2021, 08:06 PM
Those idiots, and I make no apologies for using that word, at the back of the middle section were bullying the kids at the front and seemed to think it was funny.
The kids were really young and kept looking nervously behind them. Some of them looked petrified.
Those Ar5eholes should sod off to Parkhead if they want to sing songs with references to the IRA and have flags with Connolly on them.
Yeah without having any affiliation to block 7, that's what i witnessed and it was completely out of order.
Wasnt there but think it might have been a stag doo. Agreed. I sit in the middle of the West and it must have been 30 years since a song started there😁. I remember the old south end of the old west stand, we'd get a few hanging over front row of the top tier just banging their hands on the wooden boards and getting the stadium going. I am only 45 I promise !
I don't use social media but a few could get something going on the twitter, Facebook, podcasts etc. Hashtag lets get Hampden rocking before kickoff😁 yes I embarrass my kids
Helensburghhibs
11-12-2021, 08:08 PM
You do know Connolly was an actual Hibs fan? So this chat about being like Celtic isn’t really accurate.
If you think the use of his name or image has anything to do with him being a hibs fan rather than trying to drag Irish politics into our support your kidding yourself.
For evidence just have a look at the rebel night comment.
It's also just a side story of the group acting like a bunch of bellends
11-12-2021, 08:09 PM
Did you go to the game today and witness the behaviour of those Idiots
Also, can you please tell me what raking up crap about the Irish Rebellion has to do with supporting Hibs? Or for that matter, bullying a bunch of kids?
Bridge hibs
11-12-2021, 08:10 PM
You do know Connolly was an actual Hibs fan? So this chat about being like Celtic isn’t really accurate.Yeah I do, if you read my post further up I acknowledge that and being a hibs fan for almost 50 years I think Im pretty aware of that thanks
11-12-2021, 08:11 PM
Yeah I do, if you read my post further up I acknowledge that and being a hibs fan for almost 50 years I think Im pretty aware of that thanks
:faf: **** me, I think you’ve dropped your handbag.
Don’t be so touchy.
DIXIHIBS
11-12-2021, 08:12 PM
Think its more about the IRA/republican stuff that bothers folk rather than Connolly. I bumped into this group a couple of years ago when we went for a couple of pints in dundee after a game. They got thrown out of the pub because of the party songs. I actually thought they were celtic fans until they appeared on our train back to edinburgh. No place for that crap at hibs.
11-12-2021, 08:13 PM
Did you go to the game today and witness the behaviour of those idiots?
Also, can you please tell me what raking up crap about the Irish Rebellion has to do with supporting Hibs? Or for that matter, bullying a bunch of kids?
It doesn’t surprise me one bit. There’s a lot of bullying and antisocial behaviour going about.
11-12-2021, 08:15 PM
Think its more about the IRA/republican stuff that bothers folk rather than Connolly. I bumped into this group a couple of years ago when we went for a couple of pints in dundee after a game. They got thrown out of the pub because of the party songs. I actually thought they were celtic fans until they appeared on our train back to edinburgh. No place for that crap at hibs.
That's exactly the point that a large number of Hibbies have been making for a while.
11-12-2021, 08:17 PM
If you think the use of his name or image has anything to do with him being a hibs fan rather than trying to drag Irish politics into our support your kidding yourself.
For evidence just have a look at the rebel night comment.
It's also just a side story of the group acting like a bunch of bellends
What about it? There isn't one i just went on a fishing trip. Although before covid I went to the Wolfetones at McSorleys in Edinburgh and there was plenty well known Hibs faces there, guys that have been home and away for 50 years. They obviously never got the memo about going to Parkhead either.
Did you go to the game today and witness the behaviour of those Idiots?
I stand corrected that there was ********s being ********s - never witnessed any of it. Still fail to see the relevance that a daft printed piece of polyester has to do with it though.
Anyway this is getting boring. Back on topic - FF lower for a standing section anyone....
11-12-2021, 08:18 PM
It doesn’t surprise me one bit. There’s a lot of bullying and antisocial behaviour going about.
So can you see why some of us are peed off about it?
I mean, do we really need to put some kind of security cordon round a group of teenage Hibs fans that are purely trying to support the team on the pitch?
Helensburghhibs
11-12-2021, 08:20 PM
What about it? There isn't one i just went on a fishing trip. Although before covid I went to the Wolfetones at McSorleys in Edinburgh and there was plenty well known Hibs faces there, guys that have been home and away for 50 years. They obviously never got the memo about going to Parkhead either.
I stand corrected that there was ********s being ********s - never witnessed any of it. Still fail to see the relevance that a daft printed piece of polyester has to do with it though.
Anyway this is getting boring. Back on topic - FF lower for a standing section anyone....
I'll give you that one mate bit early 😉.....
Like I said I didn't use the name because of the flag but because it was indicated that was the name of the collective who were causing the problems
11-12-2021, 08:20 PM
I was near the back and the group up there had a few chants directed at the block seven guys with accusing them of “grassing n their own”.
No idea what’s going on but if different fan groups are falling out with each other it certainly won’t help with enhancing the atmosphere.
11-12-2021, 08:25 PM
So can you see why some of us are pi55ed off about it?
I mean, do we really need to put some kind of security cordon round a group of teenage Hibs fans that are purely trying to support the team on the pitch?
Yeah, of course. If there was bullying, definitely condemn that, get it to ****. If there was Connolly flags being flown, i don’t really have a problem with a great historical Hibby being referenced like that. And I don’t even have a strong position re-Irish republicanism.
11-12-2021, 08:33 PM
In terms of atmosphere at Easter Road I just don't think enough Hibs fans actually care enough to make a difference. Our attendances are at least 5 or 6 times the size of Livis yet their group of noisy fans/singing section is bigger than our own. That's embarrassing in itself but it shows the lack of appetite to get involved from the majority of Hibs fans
11-12-2021, 08:39 PM
OK, why not.
Helensburghhibs
11-12-2021, 08:47 PM
OK, why not.
I think it should be trialled at one of the Scottish Cup games this year
JXM73
11-12-2021, 08:49 PM
So now Ross is gone we can expect a full house during the week.. aye will it ****, part time fans can **** off (covid worriers/isolators excepted)
Stonewall
11-12-2021, 08:52 PM
My son was unfortunately sitting in the same part of the stand as these guys. He said the atmosphere was poisonous at times. He was quite upset actually.
Did you not witness this today?
zitelli62
11-12-2021, 09:32 PM
Sat a few rows down from them I heard one of them shout I think this is a since 1875 reunion didn't think it was to posinous but a few songs against block 7 but the handbags after the game were out of order.
11-12-2021, 09:49 PM
So now Ross is gone we can expect a full house during the week.. aye will it ****, part time fans can **** off (covid worriers/isolators excepted)
The part time fans have ****ed off already.
Probably more due to the fact we are a hard watch just now rather than anything else.
tmb1875
11-12-2021, 11:03 PM
It’s funny when you see some hibs fans get triggered when hibs and anything to do with Ireland get mentioned in the same sentence. Can smell the staunch from here! No amount of denying the clubs history can get away from the fact that hibs were set up by irish people to help irish immigrants in Edinburgh. If people want to have an affinity with that they should be able to do so without getting told to go to Celtic park. If folk don’t so be it hibs are for everyone. Bit of respect all round needed.
Helensburghhibs
11-12-2021, 11:26 PM
[QUOTE=tmb1875;6779884]It’s funny when you see some hibs fans get triggered when hibs and anything to do with Ireland get mentioned in the same sentence. Can smell the staunch from here! No amount of denying the clubs history can get away from the fact that hibs were set up by irish people to help irish immigrants in Edinburgh. If people want to have an affinity with that they should be able to do so without getting told to go to Celtic park. If folk don’t so be it hibs are for everyone. Bit of respect all round needed.
The James connelly connection never "triggered" me. The out of order behaviour towards other hibs fans did. On the topic tho the undertones of the "irish" connection , including unnaveptable shouts and songs are divisive and have no more of a place than the sectarian elements at Tyrie or though the west