View Full Version : Tom English summary

22-11-2021, 04:48 PM
The man gets a lot of stick on this forum, but the link below is an excellent read.

Rangers 1-3 Hibernian: Globe-trotting Martin Boyle cleans up at Hampden - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/59373810)

Some great facts stated:

"In early October, Boyle left Edinburgh to go and play for Australia against Oman in Qatar, a journey of 3,414 miles, give or take. He then went straight to Saitama in Japan to play another World Cup qualifier, a journey of 5,124 miles. From there he returned to Edinburgh (another 5,724 miles) only to lose to Dundee United, Aberdeen and Celtic before he was off on his travels again. On November 11 he was in Sydney playing Saudi Arabia (10,485 miles) and then in Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates five days later, a 7,478-mile trek before travelling another 3,584 miles to get himself back to his day job at Hibs. That's approximately 35,809 miles and about 81 hours in the air since the beginning of October. If Boyle had looked heavy-legged at Hampden on Sunday then he would have had good reason. If he'd looked tired then all he'd have had to do was outline the craziness of his travel schedule this past while. He didn't do any of this, of course. What he did do was score three goals inside 40 minutes of this League Cup semi-final."

"This failure in a knockout cup tie is nothing new, of course. The theme of Rangers losing these matches is as old as the hills. In the past decade they've been knocked out of cup competitions by Queen of the South, Inverness, Dundee United (twice), Raith Rovers (twice), Forfar, Alloa, Celtic (five times), St Johnstone (twice), Hibs (twice), Aberdeen (twice), Motherwell, Hearts and St Mirren."

"Hibs had the five youngest players on the park at the beginning, Rangers had six of the eight oldest players. Hibs had an average age of 25. Rangers' average age was 30."

And finally, reading that, I had forgotten about Nathan Paterson. Surprised that he's not getting a chance at The Rangers.

22-11-2021, 04:53 PM
The man gets a lot of stick on this forum, but the link below is an excellent read.

Rangers 1-3 Hibernian: Globe-trotting Martin Boyle cleans up at Hampden - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/59373810)

Some great facts stated:

"In early October, Boyle left Edinburgh to go and play for Australia against Oman in Qatar, a journey of 3,414 miles, give or take. He then went straight to Saitama in Japan to play another World Cup qualifier, a journey of 5,124 miles. From there he returned to Edinburgh (another 5,724 miles) only to lose to Dundee United, Aberdeen and Celtic before he was off on his travels again. On November 11 he was in Sydney playing Saudi Arabia (10,485 miles) and then in Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates five days later, a 7,478-mile trek before travelling another 3,584 miles to get himself back to his day job at Hibs. That's approximately 35,809 miles and about 81 hours in the air since the beginning of October. If Boyle had looked heavy-legged at Hampden on Sunday then he would have had good reason. If he'd looked tired then all he'd have had to do was outline the craziness of his travel schedule this past while. He didn't do any of this, of course. What he did do was score three goals inside 40 minutes of this League Cup semi-final."

"This failure in a knockout cup tie is nothing new, of course. The theme of Rangers losing these matches is as old as the hills. In the past decade they've been knocked out of cup competitions by Queen of the South, Inverness, Dundee United (twice), Raith Rovers (twice), Forfar, Alloa, Celtic (five times), St Johnstone (twice), Hibs (twice), Aberdeen (twice), Motherwell, Hearts and St Mirren."

"Hibs had the five youngest players on the park at the beginning, Rangers had six of the eight oldest players. Hibs had an average age of 25. Rangers' average age was 30."

And finally, reading that, I had forgotten about Nathan Paterson. Surprised that he's not getting a chance at The Rangers.

Excellent article

22-11-2021, 04:57 PM

Some great facts stated:

He gets a lot of stick because he is a two faced **** still in love wi Auntie Budge, almost as big an arse licker as Thomshun.

22-11-2021, 04:59 PM
That's some carbon footprint for Boyler, wee Greta will be furious as for the rest of the article blah, blah, blah.

22-11-2021, 05:30 PM
Some relevant info about the air miles, but there’s nothing special about his writing, and he’s an irritating supercilious welt.

NC1875
22-11-2021, 05:33 PM
He’s a walloper

22-11-2021, 05:42 PM

Some great facts stated:

I can’t help feeling that his words are designed to irritate the Rangers’ support rather than offer congratulations to Hibs.

22-11-2021, 05:44 PM
I can’t help feeling that his words are designed to irritate the Rangers’ support rather than offer congratulations to Hibs.

Even for him, commendable.

22-11-2021, 05:45 PM

:agree: it’s also pretty stupid. If you count their oldco history (which is wrong in itself of course) they’ve been around for over a hundred years so it’s not surprising they have lost a few times in semi finals, even to teams like Hearts and Motherwell. It’s hardly a knockout blow from English.

22-11-2021, 05:51 PM
:agree: it’s also pretty stupid. If you count their oldco history (which is wrong in itself of course) they’ve been around for over a hundred years so it’s not surprising they have lost a few times in semi finals, even to teams like Hearts and Motherwell. It’s hardly a knockout blow from English.

Past decade he says mind you. Forfar though. Alloa? He lists 22 occasions the Huns have been knocked out of two cups in a decade which takes some doing.

SJNB Hibby
22-11-2021, 05:58 PM
Past decade he says mind you. Forfar though. Alloa? He lists 22 occasions the Huns have been knocked out of two cups in a decade which takes some doing.

Challenge cup? They only won it at their 4th attpt
Didn't Raith best them at a final at Easter Road?

22-11-2021, 06:00 PM
That’s all very well but where was he in the second half last night ?

22-11-2021, 06:00 PM
Challenge cup? They only won it at their 4th attpt
Didn't Raith best them at a final at Easter Road?

Ah. Seriously wasn’t thinking!

22-11-2021, 06:28 PM
I downloaded the Sportsound podcast this morning for now rare listen.

Tom English was the part of the punditry team and was gushing in praise of Hibs. Willie Miller was waxing lyrical about the defensive performance, particularly in the second half, and Billy “Doddsy” Dodds was just utterly spewing. We this, us that when discussing the Huns.

Worth a listen for the immediate post match atmosphere.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p0b5j3rp

22-11-2021, 06:37 PM
That's typical English rubbish..he knows nothing about football so spent his time counting up air miles. Zero insight, zero understanding of the game. Tosser

22-11-2021, 06:38 PM

Ah ok i didn’t notice that. The last ten years is a bit different, you’re right.

I turned against him during that one man campaign he was running to overturn Hearts’ ‘demotion’ relegation. It was ridiculous, went on for months and months and was just full of half truths and exaggerations. He achieved the impossible as well by making most of Scottish football sympathise with Neil Doncaster.

22-11-2021, 07:16 PM
I downloaded the Sportsound podcast this morning for now rare listen.

Tom English was the part of the punditry team and was gushing in praise of Hibs. Willie Miller was waxing lyrical about the defensive performance, particularly in the second half, and Billy “Doddsy” Dodds was just utterly spewing. We this, us that when discussing the Huns.

Worth a listen for the immediate post match atmosphere.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p0b5j3rp

Dodds was indeed spewing, funny. Kenny Miller sounded not best pleased either.

I always find when ‘Hibs pundits’ like Marvin, Pat Nevin, Collins, are uniformly impartial and balanced. But Doddsy, Craigan, just wear their colours in everything they say. Derek Ferguson is an exception.

22-11-2021, 07:55 PM

I always find when ‘Hibs pundits’ like Marvin, Pat Nevin, Collins, are uniformly impartial and balanced. But Doddsy, Craigan, just wear their colours in everything they say. Derek Ferguson is an exception.
I'm afraid Kenny Miller & Thomson have sold themselves to the dark side.

22-11-2021, 08:04 PM

Yes. KT receiving and KM in search of the Orange dollar.

22-11-2021, 08:14 PM
The Hootsmon looking to ingratiate himself with the green side of Edinburgh and sell more papers.

Schoolboy essay, draft was probably in pencil.

22-11-2021, 08:16 PM

Kenny is a Rangers fan, family are Rangers and he played a large chunk of his career there. Nothing like Kevin ThomsHUN.

SJNB Hibby
22-11-2021, 08:24 PM
Ah. Seriously wasn’t thinking!

Just looking back thru my records 2013-2014 lost to RR in the Final 1-0

PolmontHibby
22-11-2021, 08:26 PM
TE having a bit of a disagreement with John Collins on Sportsound podcast.

thought it was a decent listen until Richard Gough came on and bored the hell out of everyone.. he didnt even see game and blathering on about team needs to be playing for support spending their last £ coming on early morning ferries from Belfast. Aye Richard, just what we need in Scotland.

SJNB Hibby
22-11-2021, 08:26 PM
Just looking back thru my records 2013-2014 lost to RR in the Final 1-0

Lost to Alloa 2024-15 S-F 2-3:agree:

SJNB Hibby
22-11-2021, 08:30 PM
Lost to Alloa 2024-15 S-F 2-3:agree:

And 2012-13 after beating the mighty Brechin City 2-1 AET(the year after Der Hun were an SPFL team) They beat Falkirk 1-0 but lost to QOTS on penalties:greengrin

big gogs
22-11-2021, 08:46 PM

Craigan,a waste of space,I was at the game,my wife watched the game with the sound turned down,Craigan hates us for some reason.

22-11-2021, 10:10 PM
That's typical English rubbish..he knows nothing about football so spent his time counting up air miles. Zero insight, zero understanding of the game. Tosser

He stats about the age of players was interesting. Shows how we are moving to the younger team with the energy to last an intense game against the old firm.

22-11-2021, 10:12 PM
Kenny is a Rangers fan, family are Rangers and he played a large chunk of his career there. Nothing like Kevin ThomsHUN....and he gave Hibs some credit yesterday.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

22-11-2021, 10:14 PM
Craigan,a waste of space,I was at the game,my wife watched the game with the sound turned down,Craigan hates us for some reason.

Ever since his weekly spats with Chris Sutton on BT Sport, Craigan has become a self appointed defender of the Hun faith, especially against us and Celtic.

Yorkshire HFC
23-11-2021, 06:00 AM
He stats about the age of players was interesting. Shows how we are moving to the younger team with the energy to last an intense game against the old firm.

That's why he's a good journalist - he has a wider view of football than a lot of the pundits. I think a lot of what he says is interesting - and some of it not so much. But that's what his job is all about. A lot of people on this website seem to just want to listen to someone who says that everything Hibs is great - while they come on here and slag off every player and manager every time Hibs lose a game.

mal
23-11-2021, 06:54 AM
That's why he's a good journalist - he has a wider view of football than a lot of the pundits. I think a lot of what he says is interesting - and some of it not so much. But that's what his job is all about. A lot of people on this website seem to just want to listen to someone who says that everything Hibs is great - while they come on here and slag off every player and manager every time Hibs lose a game.

Here's the problem with Tom English: he has the ability to make himself sound intelligent and authoritative on a variety of subjects, until he covers a topic that you have some knowledge about - the Hearts' relegation debacle, for instance - and you realise that he's just bull****ting. Once you realise that you can never hear him the same way again. He's basically a stupid person's idea of what a clever person is like.

23-11-2021, 07:08 AM
TE having a bit of a disagreement with John Collins on Sportsound podcast.

thought it was a decent listen until Richard Gough came on and bored the hell out of everyone.. he didnt even see game and blathering on about team needs to be playing for support spending their last £ coming on early morning ferries from Belfast. Aye Richard, just what we need in Scotland.

Listened to that. I thought Collins came across as an arrogant balloon, disagreeing with everyone and everything, and even more surprisingly and disappointingly giving very little credit to Hibs.

Richard Goughs comments about the Belfast fans were reinforced by him saying that when he was a player the team "never surrendered". Definitely playing up to the bigot element. Plenty of surrendering at the weekend and 2016 Ricardo.

23-11-2021, 08:25 AM
Listened to that. I thought Collins came across as an arrogant balloon, disagreeing with everyone and everything, and even more surprisingly and disappointingly giving very little credit to Hibs.

Richard Goughs comments about the Belfast fans were reinforced by him saying that when he was a player the team "never surrendered". Definitely playing up to the bigot element. Plenty of surrendering at the weekend and 2016 Ricardo.

As well as the no surrender stuff he also disrespected Walter Smith by saying when he played his team didn’t need a manger.

23-11-2021, 08:53 AM
That’s all very well but where was he in the second half last night ?

Back of the goals having a kip😂😂😂

Crazyhorse
23-11-2021, 08:55 AM
Here's the problem with Tom English: he has the ability to make himself sound intelligent and authoritative on a variety of subjects, until he covers a topic that you have some knowledge about - the Hearts' relegation debacle, for instance - and you realise that he's just bull****ting. Once you realise that you can never hear him the same way again. He's basically a stupid person's idea of what a clever person is like.

Very accurate assessment! And pretty typical of most journalists in most spheres. If you have in depth knowledge of a subject it quickly becomes apparent what bullsh**ters they generally are.

Crunchie
23-11-2021, 09:02 AM

Crazyhorse
23-11-2021, 09:05 AM

Unfortunately what you say about Collins is true in my experience. Was involved in an award presentation with him in attendance,I’ll not go into details but I increasingly lost respect for him as the event went on. Came away feeling disappointed that he was our manager. Maybe it was a one off and of course he did achieve things at Hibs which I celebrated but at an interpersonal level the one time I met him I found the guy unbearable.

Brunswickbill
23-11-2021, 09:07 AM
I reckon that he had done all that travel research in the expectation / hope that Boyle would have a poor game and he would be able to hang it on his Aussie involvement. You could also reverse the age count and explain a Hibs defeat because we played too many youngsters against an experienced Sevco 11. But maybe I’m just a cynical bitter old peg seller.

McSwanky
23-11-2021, 09:08 AM
The man's basically a stopped clock. I'll not be reading.

23-11-2021, 09:28 AM

Goughs comments were unbelievable. It’s basically a racist anti Irish call to arms. Imagine a retired athlete in another sport in another country making an anti Semitic or anti black trope, do you think it would be ignored by the media? Scotland has a serious problem.

23-11-2021, 12:41 PM

Very well put. The BBC are particularly poor in this respect in my experience. I have a specialist knoweldge of Angling, last week the BBC ran a story about one of the biggest Fishing tackle retailers in the country being blackmailed by hackers...of course they had huge fun making puns about Phishing (although it wasn't a phishing scam, so the joke was flat anyway) but they illustrated the article with a picture of an American Large-Mouthed Bass, even though the company is a British one who only retails in the UK. It's the equivalent of running a story about Rugby and showing a picture of an American football. They haven't a clue.

Spooky
23-11-2021, 03:07 PM
Very well put. The BBC are particularly poor in this respect in my experience. I have a specialist knoweldge of Angling, last week the BBC ran a story about one of the biggest Fishing tackle retailers in the country being blackmailed by hackers...of course they had huge fun making puns about Phishing (although it wasn't a phishing scam, so the joke was flat anyway) but they illustrated the article with a picture of an American Large-Mouthed Bass, even though the company is a British one who only retails in the UK. It's the equivalent of running a story about Rugby and showing a picture of an American football. They haven't a clue.

BBC are the pits....

The quicker we can dump the licence fee the better.

23-11-2021, 03:32 PM

You would have thought they could get the bassics right 😁

23-11-2021, 03:52 PM
You would have thought they could get the bassics right 😁

Oh MY COD ! I've turned it into a puns thread accidentally :shocked:

23-11-2021, 03:54 PM

Thank you Alan Partridge.

23-11-2021, 04:00 PM

You made a rod for your own back with that line...

Crazyhorse
23-11-2021, 04:03 PM

You’re skating on very thin ice matey...

Roxyhibee
23-11-2021, 05:29 PM
That article is a pile of patronising garbage from an absolutely appalling journalist - sadly most are these days, but he really thinks he’s an intellectual within his industry which makes his arrogance and inability to admit when he’s made a mistake even more irritating.

Because of that dearth of talent, he seemed like a breath of fresh air years ago when he first came on the media scene but that period last year where he made an absolute @rse of himself with Budge and his beloved Hearts was easily the most embarrassing I’ve seen from any journo - and I all too vividly remember Alex Cameron..

Weegreenman
23-11-2021, 09:22 PM
Anyone remember when he said McGinn was only worth 1.5million and wouldn’t get into the Celtic team? 😂😂😂

Absolute 🛎 end

24-11-2021, 04:57 PM
Goughs comments were unbelievable. It’s basically a racist anti Irish call to arms. Imagine a retired athlete in another sport in another country making an anti Semitic or anti black trope, do you think it would be ignored by the media? Scotland has a serious problem.

Did Gough not also admit he didn't watch the game? Way to go BBC :greengrin

24-11-2021, 05:13 PM

He started by saying he was flying over the Atlantic when the game was on but he had spoken to folk about it. No surrender etc.

24-11-2021, 05:51 PM

Makes him a very strange choice to have as a guest discussing a game he hadn't attended, seen or even attempted to watch.

24-11-2021, 06:23 PM

The way he said it was the cringiest thing I’ve ever heard on Sportsound, and that’s really saying something.

Nothing worse than an Americanised Scottish accent talking about “flying back to the States”.