View Full Version : Bobby Madden - Aberdeen v Dundee United
20-11-2021, 03:06 PM
https://twitter.com/rd____19/status/1462086801527554049?s=21
Sent Ojo off for a second yellow for his.
A truly shocking decision, how is a player being pushed by a fan his fault?
If anything he done well to not react worse.
https://twitter.com/rd____19/status/1462086801527554049?s=21
Sent Ojo off for a second yellow for his.
A truly shocking decision, how is a player being pushed by a fan his fault?
If anything he done well to not react worse.
That is a truly awful decision.
20-11-2021, 03:10 PM
He's a clown.
20-11-2021, 03:13 PM
Penalty to Rangers.
Baffling decision. Ojo actually pulls himself back so to speak. No one has to drag him away, he turns back towards the guy, takes a couple of steps forward then walks away.
20-11-2021, 03:13 PM
In reality you can't have a go at a supporter like that if you are a player even though we would all react the same way.
20-11-2021, 03:15 PM
I can can see why a second yellow was given for the threatening posture but I don't agree with it. Madden will still get another top level game next week too probably, move along here, nothing more to see............
Liam978
20-11-2021, 03:15 PM
He's a clown.
So is that idiot fan, he is still standing there spouting too .
20-11-2021, 03:32 PM
Ridiculous decision. Ojo shows great restraint and any ref with half a brain would have been able to see that was actually a player controlling themselves admirably in the circumstances
20-11-2021, 03:55 PM
So is that idiot fan, he is still standing there spouting too .
I would assume the idiot will be facing charges.
GibbytheHibby2
20-11-2021, 04:13 PM
Did Ojo clip the ballboy just before that happened? Not sure if that’s Why the fan pushed him. 🤷🏼*♂️
NC1875
20-11-2021, 04:33 PM
That is a shocker of a decision. Madden is a clown
20-11-2021, 04:39 PM
Did Ojo clip the ballboy just before that happened? Not sure if that’s Why the fan pushed him. 🤷🏼*♂️
From what I saw he gently put his hands on the lad making sure he was not going to hurt him. Ojo did nothing wrong imo. He did brilliantly not to lay hands on the fan after being assaulted while he was working.
20-11-2021, 04:43 PM
My guess is he shouldn’t be interacting with the fan even if provoked and that’s why he was booked. Not sure if that is one of the laws of the game and if it is to the letter of the law Madden was correct. Maybe someone can clarify. I doubt Madden would just make it up.
20-11-2021, 04:43 PM
Ojo did nothing wrong at all.
Madden is an arse but that is hardly news.
20-11-2021, 04:46 PM
https://twitter.com/rbm1895/status/1462086126689296388?s=21
Does Ojo push or make some contact with the ball boy? Maybe it was his dad in the crowd.
20-11-2021, 04:56 PM
From what I saw he gently put his hands on the lad making sure he was not going to hurt him. Ojo did nothing wrong imo. He did brilliantly not to lay hands on the fan after being assaulted while he was working.
I thought he was extremely restrained to an unprovoked assault.
Dundee Utd had just had a player sent off and the supporter just lost the plot.
More importantly the sending off sets a dangerous precedent.
20-11-2021, 05:08 PM
I thought he was extremely restrained to an unprovoked assault.
Dundee Utd had just had a player sent off and the supporter just lost the plot.
More importantly the sending off sets a dangerous precedent.
How so? He was booked. Not sent off. If players know the consequences of interacting/ engaging with fans like that then they shouldn’t do it. Is it any different to retaliating to a player who has done you? Arguably far more dangerous. However much provoked they shouldn’t do it. Having said all that I’ve not seen the incident.
20-11-2021, 05:10 PM
Wrong thread lol original post bit definitely fan should be getting a ban.
20-11-2021, 05:14 PM
As far as Madden is concerned he has followed his own rules by making himself the centre of attention. It's up to his bosses to take action.
Gloucester Hibs
20-11-2021, 05:16 PM
Having said all that I’ve not seen the incident.
😂 I suggest you watch it.
20-11-2021, 05:21 PM
How so? He was booked. Not sent off. If players know the consequences of interacting/ engaging with fans like that then they shouldn’t do it. Is it any different to retaliating to a player who has done you? Arguably far more dangerous. However much provoked they shouldn’t do it. Having said all that I’ve not seen the incident.
You have to watch the incident before you comment!!!
....well done you made me laugh
20-11-2021, 05:37 PM
You have to watch the incident before you comment!!!
....well done you made me laugh
My point is it’s not as if he’s done nothing. He’s not been booked just because Madden decided he would like to. I don’t think I need to see it before making the comment I did. I will get round to seeing it. Glad to make you chuckle tho. :greengrin
20-11-2021, 05:41 PM
If someone walked into my work and assaulted me, regardless of how minor the contact was, and I gave a bit of verbals back before walking away I wouldn't expect any disciplinary action against me at all.
Regardless of what the rules say the red card should be overturned or it's sets a precedent.
20-11-2021, 05:43 PM
Madden needs to be demoted for that. Not fit to referee at the top level. That’s a decision which is all about Bobby Madden rather than one that interprets what is deserving of bookings and subsequent red cards.
20-11-2021, 05:45 PM
Madden needs to be demoted for that. Not fit to referee at the top level. That’s a decision which is all about Bobby Madden rather than one that interprets what is deserving of bookings and subsequent red cards.
They’ll just put it on his tab.
20-11-2021, 05:46 PM
The ball boy giving Ojo a mouthful is mad too. Madden is a total joke but the sheep bleating is amusing. VAR will be all over this dire refereeing next season.
20-11-2021, 05:50 PM
I think Ojo was only saying to the boy he should maybe have gone a size up when buying ha replica top.
Pinkie
20-11-2021, 05:57 PM
I know it’s wrong, but lad further along the row breaking little pieces of crust off his pie and lobbing them very badly made me chuckle. Was he too hungry to throw the whole pie or is he trying to reduce food waste?
20-11-2021, 06:08 PM
I know it’s wrong, but lad further along the row breaking little pieces of crust off his pie and lobbing them very badly made me chuckle. Was he too hungry to throw the whole pie or is he trying to reduce food waste?
Where the f..k are the seagulls
20-11-2021, 06:41 PM
Ojo went back to confront the fan after the initial assault, that's why he was booked. If he hadn't returned he wouldn't have been booked.
Very harsh but probably the correct decision by Madden.
The guy will end up banned if there's any justice, I would imagine when he went for a pee at half time he would have been huckled.
20-11-2021, 06:43 PM
What about the guy two along throwing crisps at Ojo 😂😂
20-11-2021, 06:50 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211120/caf6c3a65823cab23ee89a2faaa00feb.png
20-11-2021, 07:57 PM
Ojo behaved pretty reasonably I'd say. It all happened in a flash anyway. He didn't have much time to extricate himself from the situation.
With any luck the card and subsequent red will be rescinded.
20-11-2021, 08:55 PM
Don't want to get accused of fat shaming ( I'm fairly rotund myself!) but I did chuckle at the chubby kid being too mean to throw the whole pie 🤣
20-11-2021, 09:55 PM
Stephen Glass said under the letter of the laws, Madden was correct to book Ojo
On his own ordering off, Glass added: "The referee told me I was questioning his integrity. I'll get my chance to explain myself at Hampden, I'm sure."
The thing is Madden could have just used common sense, (I know) and the only dialogue now would be about the idiot of a fan. Instead we have a whole new narrative, Dons will appeal, the authorities will reject an appeal and as usual Scottish Football will look stupid. Its almost impossible to think an English ref would have acted in a similar way.
20-11-2021, 10:30 PM
Scottish Football will need to reverse the decision otherwise it basically says to fans that they can get players sent off by inciting a reaction.
I'd be amazed if they don't.
20-11-2021, 10:47 PM
Ojo went back to confront the fan after the initial assault, that's why he was booked. If he hadn't returned he wouldn't have been booked.
Very harsh but probably the correct decision by Madden.
The guy will end up banned if there's any justice, I would imagine when he went for a pee at half time he would have been huckled.
:agree::agree::agree:
As Glass says its a yellow card. Madden really had to book him. He is very unlucky because his reaction is totally understandable under the circumstances- that doesn't mean its not a booking though.
Utd fan will be feeling very silly I imagine by his actions and can expect a severe punishment - although he has inadvertently helped his team get shree points.
20-11-2021, 10:51 PM
:agree::agree::agree:
As Glass says its a yellow card. Madden really had to book him. He is very unlucky because his reaction is totally understandable under the circumstances- that doesn't mean its not a booking though.
Utd fan will be feeling very silly I imagine by his actions and can expect a severe punishment - although he has inadvertently helped his team get shree points.
Spot on. Madden has applied the laws. Very harsh on Ojo but ultimately Madden has got it correct. The fan should be getting a long ban.
20-11-2021, 10:53 PM
The thing is Madden could have just used common sense, (I know) and the only dialogue now would be about the idiot of a fan. Instead we have a whole new narrative, Dons will appeal, the authorities will reject an appeal and as usual Scottish Football will look stupid. Its almost impossible to think an English ref would have acted in a similar way.
How can Aberdeen appeal?
20-11-2021, 10:53 PM
The Tannadice club say an investigation of the Ojo incident is already under way, while Police Scotland are making enquiries.
he will get caught :agree:
and so should the to$$er with the black and grey jacket that was tossing something at the player
20-11-2021, 11:58 PM
That should have ended being the original Cantona.
20-11-2021, 11:59 PM
The Tannadice club say an investigation of the Ojo incident is already under way, while Police Scotland are making enquiries.
he will get caught :agree:
and so should the to$$er with the black and grey jacket that was tossing something at the player
Even if he does get caught the wee **** got sheep player sent off. Match should be replayed like.
21-11-2021, 12:05 AM
Even if he does get caught the wee **** got sheep player sent off. Match should be replayed like.
or just call it a draw instead ;)
21-11-2021, 09:04 AM
So are we saying that players reacting to fans getting booked then sent off the game should be replayed? Whole new can of worms right there. Fans are fans. (Not saying what the fan did was right it justified) but players need to be above that.,keep to the laws of the game. Madden applied the laws of the game. Dundee Utd fans could have point if he hadn’t applied them and used his common sense as is being called for.
21-11-2021, 09:05 AM
He should’ve just crumpled like the Hearts goalie did - no booking and a criminal record for the boy.
21-11-2021, 09:08 AM
There are times when referees need to apply a little common sense and yesterday was one example, otherwise fans are able to interfere in a game.
It's not that long ago we won a corner at Ibrox and the crowd wouldn't return the ball. Immediately we took the corner, one of the bigots threw the original ball onto the park and the referee applied the law about two balls being on the pitch which stopped play with Sevco getting possession and us losing our chance from the corner.
As the corner was still in the air when the second ball appeared, common sense would have been a retake.
21-11-2021, 09:16 AM
I realise some people have put forward suggestions of how Madden could possibly explain the yellow card on technical rules but surely any human being would have shown some common sense in this situation.
Spot on. Madden has applied the laws. Very harsh on Ojo but ultimately Madden has got it correct. The fan should be getting a long ban.
What law did Madden apply?
I realise some people have put forward suggestions of how Madden could possibly explain the yellow card on technical rules but surely any human being would have shown some common sense in this situation.
Exactly this. How often do we see someone commit a technically yellow card offence but because they've already been cautioned the ref ignores it. That often makes sense because the punishment would be too severe for the crime. Unfortunately common sense is in short supply for Scottish refs. Paradoxically I actually think Madden is one of the few Scottish refs with empathy for the game but this was baffling.
21-11-2021, 09:36 AM
Scottish Football will need to reverse the decision otherwise it basically says to fans that they can get players sent off by inciting a reaction.
I'd be amazed if they don't.
What was the name of that esthetically challenged hearts player who reacted to us singing “so f……, ugly” and got booked”. Only for some wisecrack to start up the classically funny “booked for being ugly” chant and the whole home support joined in. Pretty sure he was playing for Killie by then.
21-11-2021, 09:39 AM
Exactly this. How often do we see someone commit a technically yellow card offence but because they've already been cautioned the ref ignores it. That often makes sense because the punishment would be too severe for the crime. Unfortunately common sense is in short supply for Scottish refs. Paradoxically I actually think Madden is one of the few Scottish refs with empathy for the game but this was baffling.
Agree. If every time a foul was applied for a ‘technical’ breach the play would stop all the time. A corner would never be allowed to be taken for a start. Because most laws are subject to interpretation. And by any reasonable interpretation Maddens interpretation yesterday was totally bat**** crazy wrong.
Bridge hibs
21-11-2021, 09:39 AM
What was the name of that esthetically challenged hearts player who reacted to us singing “so f……, ugly” and got booked”. Only for some wisecrack to start up the classically funny “booked for being ugly” chant and the whole home support joined in. Pretty sure he was playing for Killie by then.Stevie Fulton
21-11-2021, 10:04 AM
How can Aberdeen appeal?
They can't unless they somehow claim it was a case of mistaken identity (or simulation).
21-11-2021, 10:14 AM
It was really harsh but the referee stuck to the rules. A bit like David Gray's booking when we won the cup.
Imagine if he had been sent off.
Wonder if the same strict interpretation of the rules will be applied today for both sides?
21-11-2021, 10:24 AM
Shocker of a decision. He has every right as a referee to use his own discretion. Happens all the time with advantage being played. He is a terrible ref who wants it to be all about him most of the time. There would have been no criticism of him by anyone if he hadn't sent him off
It was really harsh but the referee stuck to the rules. A bit like David Gray's booking when we won the cup.
Imagine if he had been sent off.
Wonder if the same strict interpretation of the rules will be applied today for both sides?
The difference is that Ojo didn't deliberately run into the crowd, it was his impetus that took him there. He then briefly turned round when the dickhead fan confronted him. As I and others have said, all we needed was an ounce of common sense.
PS, remember Gazza getting booked for giving the ref a yellow card, only in Scotland!
21-11-2021, 11:14 AM
The decision simply demonstrates one of the problems we have with the current batch of referees, more than happy to use cards around technical infringements but really poor at assessing contact fouls
21-11-2021, 11:15 AM
The player suffered an unprovoked assault which he didn't see coming.
Despite this he was calm, kept his hands down and spoke to the guy before walking away. Probably asked him why.
That is as restrained a response as could be expected from anyone.
The yellow card was in all the circumstances wrong.
Can't be compared to a player going into the crowd to challenge a supporter who is abusing them verbally or the Cantona situation.
There was an immediate aspect to yesterday's incident that made it different.
A strange match, first a Dundee Utd player gets sent off for hitting an opponent in the nuts. Then an Aberdeen player gets assaulted by a Dundee Utd fan but gets sent off. Then Dundee Utd have the cheek to win.
Crazy stuff.
21-11-2021, 11:20 AM
Is it the one about aggressive behaviour?
Alvin
21-11-2021, 12:16 PM
Shocker of a decision. He has every right as a referee to use his own discretion. Happens all the time with advantage being played. He is a terrible ref who wants it to be all about him most of the time. There would have been no criticism of him by anyone if he hadn't sent him off
Agreed. Bobby Madden was quick to apply discretion at ER earlier in the season by stopping play when the Killie player suddenly went down in the box after his hamstring went. Surely he could have applied common sense for Ojo too?
21-11-2021, 12:54 PM
Just been mentioned on Off THe Ball that a Utd supporter will appear in court on Monday charged with assaulting Ojo.
21-11-2021, 01:20 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/59366122
21-11-2021, 01:24 PM
Assault…bit harsh. He pushed him. Big girly push tae.
21-11-2021, 01:28 PM
I was on a crossing in a supermarket carpark as a guy reversed into me, I thumped his boot to warn him of his mistake. They driver got out and pushed me to the ground in front of a few witnesses. Are you saying I wasn't assaulted?!
21-11-2021, 01:29 PM
Well remember the Hibs fan that was done for assault without even touching anyone…
By the letter of the law it’s assault and to be honest it was well out of order so the dude deserves to be hauled up for it.
As for the booking…I can see why Madden felt the need as Ojo confronted the fan. Could he have applied a bit of discretion, sure. But I don’t think it’s the worst thing I’ve ever seen in terms of refereeing.
21-11-2021, 01:30 PM
It's an assault and it's aggravated by the circumstances in which it happened.
21-11-2021, 01:34 PM
Just been mentioned on Off THe Ball that a Utd supporter will appear in court on Monday charged with assaulting Ojo.
Not accurate.
He has been charged and bailed to appear at court at a later unspecified date.
21-11-2021, 01:39 PM
Not accurate.
He has been charged and bailed to appear at court at a later unspecified date.
Aye , been updated since I first heard it, 40 minutes ago.
21-11-2021, 01:40 PM
Aye , been updated since I first heard it.
Sportsound are unhappy because they can't speak about it now
21-11-2021, 02:07 PM
Leaving the field of play without permission from the referee for starters.
I would add to that assault on the ball boy, see the clip.
Madden is absolutely right.
21-11-2021, 02:10 PM
The difference is that Ojo didn't deliberately run into the crowd, it was his impetus that took him there. He then briefly turned round when the dickhead fan confronted him. As I and others have said, all we needed was an ounce of common sense.
PS, remember Gazza getting booked for giving the ref a yellow card, only in Scotland!
Watch the clip. He had already checked his run, pushed a hand in the face of the ball boy and then made his way up toward the fan after changing direction.
Madden is right...and Ojo needs to apoligise to the ball boy.
21-11-2021, 02:37 PM
Watch the clip. He had already checked his run, pushed a hand in the face of the ball boy and then made his way up toward the fan after changing direction.
Madden is right...and Ojo needs to apoligise to the ball boy.
Amazing how people see the same incident differently.
21-11-2021, 06:42 PM
Madden is right...and Ojo needs to apoligise to the ball boy.Hahah, my word
That is some take on what actually happened
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Amazing how people see the same incident differently.
definitely :agree:
im in agreement with you on the incident as well btw :greengrin