View Full Version : Gravy Train For Heroes?
17-11-2021, 06:48 PM
Sir David Gray, McGregor and then Hanlon and Stevenson.
All loved. All sitting on long contracts now, despite diminishing performance levels.
Shouldn’t we be looking for tomorrow’s heroes?
Why don't we just take them round the back of the stand and put them out their misery, all these old ****ed cart horses are no good nowadays. Or we can look at it in another way and keep thoroughly top pros at the club and let the youngsters learn from them. Gray is now a coach, Lewis has worked well with young Doig andHanlon is just 31(yes you read right, just 31). Never heard so much friggin negativity from so called supporters.
17-11-2021, 06:56 PM
Lewis Stevenson is on a long contract? He’s only been given a contract for the season after this one.
Paul Hanlon is our club captain as has been given 2 seasons after this one. He has had a drop in form this season but last season he was part of our best league defensive performance in 2 decades.
We've already got a Hanlon new contract thread and Stevenson new contract thread, why create another thread? And SDG has retired from playing, hadn't you noticed?
Plus, since when was 18 months a long contract?
All loved. All sitting on long contracts now, despite diminishing performance levels.
Perfect user name!
17-11-2021, 07:07 PM
May be stating the obvious here but I don’t think judas really places much value on loyalty.
Someone's desperate for attention.
Not for to say how Ron spends his money
17-11-2021, 07:08 PM
Shut the doors
17-11-2021, 07:11 PM
Not for to say how Ron spends his money
It’s the fans money, not Ron’s, I’m happy Paul and Lewis have got longer contracts
Think the ones offered to Gray and McGregor were excessive though
17-11-2021, 07:13 PM
Why don't we just take them round the back of the stand and put them out their misery, all these old ****ed cart horses are no good nowadays. Or we can look at it in another way and keep thoroughly top pros at the club and let the youngsters learn from them. Gray is now a coach, Lewis has worked well with young Doig andHanlon is just 31(yes you read right, just 31). Never heard so much friggin negativity from so called supporters.
I certainly agree that if there is a genuine coaching vacancy within the club, then it makes sense to give it to one of our own great men.
My concern is that a club with a tight squad and budget isn’t moving on.
Your comments about shooting them are churlish. No one doubts the greatness of these players and the doors to the club will be open free gratis.
But the club must look to the future with more focus. It is a failure of management to rely too much on ageing players.
17-11-2021, 07:16 PM
I certainly agree that if there is a genuine coaching vacancy within the club, then it makes sense to give it to one of our own great men.
My concern is that a club with a tight squad and budget isn’t moving on.
Your comments about shooting them are churlish. No one doubts the greatness of these players and the doors to the club will be open free gratis.
But the club must look to the future with more focus. It is a failure of management to rely too much on ageing players.
You make interesting points, but only David Gray could do the Academy role, rest are all playing still
Where's the happy clappers when you need them 😁
You're here.
beensaidbefore
17-11-2021, 07:42 PM
Perfect user name!
Beat me to it
17-11-2021, 07:45 PM
Liverpools success was built on promoting from within. Continuity within the club is more likely to build a stable platform and be able to then move forward,. Makes us more attractive in my book.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
17-11-2021, 07:47 PM
I once said that McGregor was only good for the glue factory after a dreadful performance a couple of seasons ago and he's proven me wrong multiple times since then. Happy to see all 3 remain in the playing squad for a year or 2 more.
ClermistonGreen
17-11-2021, 07:48 PM
Steve Keans first job
17-11-2021, 07:51 PM
We can't just keep handing out contracts to guys because they won the SC 5 years ago, that could go on indefinitely and would be total madness.
We aren't doing that though. Very few people in senior positions at the club were around in 2016 so they are making decisions based on football and business, not sentiment. Lewis and Paul are both still contributing on the park hence the new contracts. At the time both Gray and McGregor were doing likewise albeit I did think the length of contracts was excessive. One is now retired and the other has had his last playing contract from Hibs.
17-11-2021, 07:53 PM
I once said that McGregor was only good for the glue factory after a dreadful performance a couple of seasons ago and he's proven me wrong multiple times since then. Happy to see all 3 remain in the playing squad for a year or 2 more.
Think McGregor’s time as a player is up. Bit different with him being 36 in comparison to Hanlon and even Stevenson. David Gray obviously retired relatively young but it was clear for a year or two that his body was letting him down. Hanlon and Stevenson certainly don’t have that problem, even if I’m not entirely convinced about them on the pitch.
MagicSwirlingShip
17-11-2021, 08:43 PM
Wouldn’t have it any other way. Legends
loanheadhibby
17-11-2021, 09:26 PM
We can't just keep handing out contracts to guys because they won the SC 5 years ago, that could go on indefinitely and would be total madness.
We aren't doing that though. Very few people in senior positions at the club were around in 2016 so they are making decisions based on football and business, not sentiment. Lewis and Paul are both still contributing on the park hence the new contracts. At the time both Gray and McGregor were doing likewise albeit I did think the length of contracts was excessive. One is now retired and the other has had his last playing contract from Hibs.
I’m yet to be convinced this is true. We are probably too loyal to certain players based on cup final win. I understand why we are loyal to them but to be a progressive club, we need to move with the times.
loanheadhibby
17-11-2021, 09:27 PM
Of course we should, as a pal said to me today it's as if we're running a retirement home.
We must start to look forward and get fresh blood in the door.
I'm not convinced we have kicked on from May 2016.
Last season was good but no better than that with no Hearts and the Dons in decline.
Our performances v St Johnstone at Hampden were pitiful.
Daniel 1875
17-11-2021, 09:30 PM
Club can’t do right for doing wrong for some at the moment. Two players who are still doing a good job for the club given extended contracts, both players well documented to be a hugely positive influence at the training ground, both players have been there and done it for Hibs from winning cups to dealing with relegation.
People acting like these contracts mean Jack Ross has just handed them both a starting place for the duration of their deals - Lewis has already proven to be an able deputy when required, Paul will be the same if and when we replace him with someone better.
17-11-2021, 09:48 PM
Look at me bus for bores?
Lewis Stevenson is well worth another year. Club legends should be treated as such and he more than still plays his part.
I've seen some nonsense posted on this board.
But implying that those club legends, who have done so much for us on and off the pitch, are now just here to do nothing but fill their pockets is taking it to a new level.
17-11-2021, 10:29 PM
‘promoting from within’ to non playing roles is something that enhances team spirit.
If a player feels that the club is not going to just discard him onto the scrap heap when he passes his best, he is more likely to continue to show loyalty in his best years.
Obviously, there is a cost/risk to retaining aging players, but there is also a cost/risk to bringing in new ones, who may not perform to the same level.
It’s a marginal decision either way for me, so I’ve got no complaints.
Players will come, players will go…..and that will still continue
17-11-2021, 11:08 PM
Totally agree. These resources really could be used to improve the squad for the next few years.
I really don't get these sentimentality contracts for something that happened 5.5 years ago. It really is time to move on from these players.
18-11-2021, 05:57 AM
But implying that those club legends, who have done so much for us on and off the pitch, are now just here to do nothing but fill their pockets is taking it to a new level.
Agree it is nonsense both are more than able to contribute to the team squad. Decent employers recognise the fantastic service exceptional employees have given and continue to give to the club. Good move.
Totally agree. These resources really could be used to improve the squad for the next few years.
I really don't get these sentimentality contracts for something that happened 5.5 years ago. It really is time to move on from these players.
Sentimental contracts??
Both have loads to give both on and off the pitch and I’m more than happy for them and it’s deserved.
Your comment about something that happened 5.5 years ago tells me everything I need to know. It was more than something but something did happen in 2012! Cheers
18-11-2021, 06:02 AM
Sentimental contracts??
Both have loads to give both on and off the pitch and I’m more than happy for them and it’s deserved.
Your comment about something that happened 5.5 years ago tells me everything I need to know. It was more than something but something did happen in 2012! Cheers
18-11-2021, 06:12 AM
Can anyone explain why Jack Ross, Ben Kensell, John Potter, Ron Gordon etc would waste part of a limited budget on sentimentality about an event they played no part in?
It seems highly unlikely from where I'm standing but it seems a firm belief of some. I'd be interested to hear why they think that would be the case. It's easy to call something a sentimental contract, harder to actually provide any logic to back that up.
The dalmeny
18-11-2021, 06:44 AM
Aye clearly the businessmen in charge cease to be business men
18-11-2021, 06:52 AM
Is train how actual gravy gets transported about from Bisto to housewife? Can you imagine the mess if the thing ever crashed…
18-11-2021, 06:55 AM
Can anyone explain why Jack Ross, Ben Kensell, John Potter, Ron Gordon etc would waste part of a limited budget on sentimentality about an event they played no part in?
It seems highly unlikely from where I'm standing but it seems a firm belief of some. I'd be interested to hear why they think that would be the case. It's easy to call something a sentimental contract, harder to actually provide any logic to back that up.
There are definitely (in my view) some posters who want these two players to not be good enough, and they seem to ignore performance levels in their views.
Then there is this opinion from some that Hanson and Stevenson add no or little value to the team. Doesn’t stand up to any scrutiny. Hanlon remains one of our better players. Not perfect of course, but is rightly one of the first names on the team sheet.
What Lewis’s critics never seem to note, is that he remains arguably our best left back. Doig hasn’t been at the level of last season this campaign, and Lewis has done well in the games he has played. Somehow this is completely ignored by those who are claiming some “sentimental” rationale for their contract extensions.
The fact that it is often the same few posters in most threads seeking to jump on with negativity is another point worth noting.
18-11-2021, 06:59 AM
You only had to be at the event last night and listen to them to know what they bring to the team beyond just playing.
18-11-2021, 07:08 AM
Lewis has been a tremendous servant to the club and still is
I wish some of the other prima donnas that have came and went over the years had given as much commitment to the cause as he has.
Reading the comments from some on here you would think that they are our two best ever players.
The facts are that they were in a team that was relegated, yes we finally won the Scottish Cup in 2016 and were in the team but outside of that how many Scotland caps do they have between them and why has there never been other clubs chasing them? How many big game screw ups have they been a part of. None more so than when we were chasing 2nd and Lewy at fault for two goals against us in a Derby.
That will go against the grain and no doubt some posters will pounce but remember there is a large element of our support who would also rather that we moved on from these two. It should have been done by now.
Gravy train definition, a position in which a person or group receives excessive and unjustified money or advantages with little or no effort:
Pish definition, colloquial term for urine, as in "yer talkin' pish".
18-11-2021, 07:15 AM
Is train how actual gravy gets transported about from Bisto to housewife? Can you imagine the mess if the thing ever crashed…Yep, you definitely need a boat if it's going to work properly, like it did for that Romanov guy, he had a submarine and owned banks and everything.
18-11-2021, 07:17 AM
Reading the comments from some on here you would think that they are our two best ever players.
The facts are that they were in a team that was relegated, yes we finally won the Scottish Cup in 2016 and were in the team but outside of that how many Scotland caps do they have between them and why has there never been other clubs chasing them? How many big game screw ups have they been a part of. None more so than when we were chasing 2nd and Lewy at fault for two goals against us in a Derby.
That will go against the grain and no doubt some posters will pounce but remember there is a large element of our support who would also rather that we moved on from these two. It should have been done by now.
You are at it. Posts like this just prove your agenda…. Not a single post has suggested they are anywhere near our best ever player.
All players will have errors in their history , they are human beings.
“Large element” is in your dreams.
They are more than good enough to be in our team and squads. Get over it.
18-11-2021, 07:23 AM
You are at it. Posts like this just prove your agenda…. Not a single post has suggested they are anywhere near our best ever player.
All players will have errors in their history , they are human beings.
“Large element” is in your dreams.
They are more than good enough to be in our team and squads. Get over it.
No agenda from me. I just think we can do better than them and have thought so for 2-3 years now.
Peace.
Daniel 1875
18-11-2021, 07:24 AM
Paul Hanlon is 31 years old, plays every week and is the captain. Do you think Jack Ross gives a hoot about the fact he won a cup in a team Ross had nothing to do with 5 years ago?
Or perhaps he sees the influence both Hanlon and Stevenson have on and off the pitch and believes they’ve got a role to play in the next couple of years. No one is saying these two contracts mean they both start every week for the rest of their deals, Lewis has said numerous times he knows his role has changed and he’s more than happy to play his part. A measure of the man that could easily go and play every week somewhere else.
It’s amazing anyone can find two model professionals getting extended stays at the club so negative - but I guess that’s where we are with sections of the support and the club just now.
18-11-2021, 07:30 AM
We have a semi final at the weekend and this is the kind of ***** that comes out 😂
18-11-2021, 07:33 AM
Hanlon is a first choice centre back who shows no sign of physical decline. He is clearly nothing like gray or mcgregor.
Lewis is back up left back. An important squad player. Why would we let him go and sign another Adam Eckersley?
18-11-2021, 07:33 AM
Aberdeen aggressively pursued Paul Hanlon a few years ago when his contract was running down. There was an offer on the table for him, he chose to stay at Hibs.
Lewis came very close to signing for Motherwell when Stuart McCall was manager.
Both those teams were performing to a better level than Hibs when they pursued the 2 players.
Glass half full
18-11-2021, 07:44 AM
Paul Hanlon is 31 years old, plays every week and is the captain. Do you think Jack Ross gives a hoot about the fact he won a cup in a team Ross had nothing to do with 5 years ago?
Or perhaps he sees the influence both Hanlon and Stevenson have on and off the pitch and believes they’ve got a role to play in the next couple of years. No one is saying these two contracts mean they both start every week for the rest of their deals, Lewis has said numerous times he knows his role has changed and he’s more than happy to play his part. A measure of the man that could easily go and play every week somewhere else.
It’s amazing anyone can find two model professionals getting extended stays at the club so negative - but I guess that’s where we are with sections of the support and the club just now.
Leadership is simple; it is doing the right thing!
How they communicate their values through their actions.
How they model these behaviours as an example to others.
It isn't about winning tackles or headers!
These 2 have skills that are vital in any business. They set the tone for the others to follow.
It's a bonus that Hanlon remains one of the best CBs at SPFL level
Are there better players in their positions. Yes, loads of them. Are those within our budget? 🤔
Apologies if this flies over some heads!
18-11-2021, 07:45 AM
Yep, you definitely need a boat if it's going to work properly, like it did for that Romanov guy, he had a submarine and owned banks and everything.
I would love to see an actual gravy boat. In the old days I bet they docked at Leith.
18-11-2021, 07:47 AM
Apologies if this flies over some heads!
Like one of Lewis' crosses?:flamed::offski:
18-11-2021, 07:50 AM
I would love to see an actual gravy boat. In the old days I bet they docked at Leith.
Saw one when I was a bairn. It had broken down in the forth and was waiting on a bistow.
Worst joke I’ve ever made.
Glass half full
18-11-2021, 07:52 AM
To be fair, he sometimes hits the first man too.
Yet still worth another year!
18-11-2021, 07:54 AM
To be fair, he sometimes hits the first man too. ��
Yet still worth another year!
Sometimes he doesn’t even get on to kick the ball. I’m raging. Wasting money on a guy to sit on his arse. We should have 11 players only. Use the budget better for **** sake.
18-11-2021, 08:02 AM
Saw one when I was a bairn. It had broken down in the forth and was waiting on a bistow.
Worst joke I’ve ever made.
:agree: The gravy boat used to transfer its load up to the old Leith Central Station onto the gravy train. The Stevenson family had a bit of history with the railways.
Im getting off now, promise.
18-11-2021, 08:07 AM
:agree: The gravy boat used to transfer its load up to the old Leith Central Station onto the gravy train. The Stevenson family had a bit of history with the railways.
Im getting off now, promise.If only someone had invented chips then announced it to an expectant world, we could have taken this down an entirely different path.
18-11-2021, 08:14 AM
HAHAHAHAHA
Since then we have been promoted from the league we were in at the time, and had two great seasons that were a couple of our best points wise in the last 50 years or something. Not kicked on right enough. One cup win doesn't mean you will follow it up with constant success, it still takes work.
HAHAHAHAHA
Since then we have been promoted from the league we were in at the time, and had two great seasons that were a couple of our best points wise in the last 50 years or something. Not kicked on right enough. One cup win doesn't mean you will follow it up with constant success, it still takes work.
Indeed you did however forget to mention the £37 million squandered, a part finished stand and the greatest win of all RELEGATION!
As for the cup win. I think those posters who mention it in the vain that they do are far from Hibs fans!
18-11-2021, 09:18 AM
Of course we should, as a pal said to me today it's as if we're running a retirement home.
We must start to look forward and get fresh blood in the door.
Last season was good but no better than that with no Hearts and the Dons in decline.
Our performances v St Johnstone at Hampden were pitiful.
I think there's a reasonable debate to be had about whether or not we've kicked on enough from May 2016 - and if not, why not.
But to say we've not kicked on is nonsense.
Unless of course you were only at the cup final that season and not the 3-0 home defeat to Morton, the couple of defeats at Dumbarton, the defeat at Alloa etc etc...
18-11-2021, 09:24 AM
What resources? How much are the new contracts worth? How does that compare to the wages we would need to offer to attract a replacement of better quality?
Can’t wait to get the full details from you.
18-11-2021, 09:54 AM
Perfect user name.
Yorkshire HFC
18-11-2021, 10:06 AM
Nobody on here knows more about how to manage and coach a football team than Jack Ross.
Nobody on here knows more about how to run a football club than the current owner and Board.
These are clever people and having access to the internet doesn't make anyone else's opinion relevant - why not just let those in charge do their jobs and support the players at the games?
Ideally, this website should only be open for an hour before and after each game! :-)
18-11-2021, 01:04 PM
Ideally, this website should only be open for an hour before and after each game! :-)
Really? This is a Hibs Fans forum which has the sole purpose of allowing debate of different opinions.
Our fan base is not wholly united behind the current manager and contract renewal announcements this week which tells its own story.
It is also right that we discuss if the club has kicked on since 2016. In some respects yes it has - off the field.
But on the field I wouldn't necessarily say it has, we missed three golden opportunities to win silverware last season, and we are renewing the contracts of players who have been part of these big game let downs for years now.
No doubt I will get lambasted for having that opinion, but it's an opinion not unique to myself or other Hibs fans.
Rumble de Thump
18-11-2021, 01:16 PM
Really? This is a Hibs Fans forum which has the sole purpose of allowing debate of different opinions.
Our fan base is not wholly united behind the current manager and contract renewal announcements this week which tells its own story.
It is also right that we discuss if the club has kicked on since 2016. In some respects yes it has - off the field.
But on the field I wouldn't necessarily say it has, we missed three golden opportunities to win silverware last season, and we are renewing the contracts of players who have been part of these big game let downs for years now.
No doubt I will get lambasted for having that opinion, but it's an opinion not unique to myself or other Hibs fans.
It's an opinion popular with Jambos.
18-11-2021, 01:20 PM
I'd have absolutely loved us to win silverware last season of course i would but just wouldn't have been the same in a big empty stadium. The whole of last season seemed a bit of a non event which is a shame as the team did so well over all.
loanheadhibby
18-11-2021, 08:51 PM
Best post on this site for ages and some reality at last.
We must move on and these two club servants have to be replaced.
18-11-2021, 08:58 PM
And just as soon as an affordable and superior centre back and squad left back are scouted, terms agreed etc, combined with an *actual* noticeable and permanent decline in performance from the 2 mentioned, I'm sure they will be.
We're not a charity, but mercifully those running the gaff aren't so needlessly (currently) gung ho with other people's money as some on here want them to be.
18-11-2021, 09:59 PM
You do realise he’s taking the piss? The post is bollox and your lapping it up:rolleyes:
Well their contacts have just been renewed so that's not going to happen. Are you able to accept that and move on?
18-11-2021, 10:13 PM
You do realise he’s taking the piss? The post is bollox and your lapping it up:rolleyes:
No I am not taking the piss. I am expressing an opinion, one that is shared by more than myself.
PolmontHibby
18-11-2021, 10:17 PM
I would argue the reverse - we have had better league results since 2016.
Kicked on off the field since 2016 I cannot see the evidence?
I am confused - operating losses have got worse (ok covid has hit).
...and in my opinion....we have replaced the most competent Cheif Exec Leeann Dempster we have had in my time with a guy who based on what i have seen can be incoherent with the media and seems dazzled by the lights every time i see him.
18-11-2021, 10:19 PM
No I am not taking the piss. I am expressing an opinion, one that is shared by more than myself.
Each to their own, but you’re not very convincing :na na:
St.Kristopher
18-11-2021, 11:30 PM
...and in my opinion....we have replaced the most competent Cheif Exec, Leeann Dempster, we have had in my time with a guy who, based on what I have seen, can be incoherent with the media and seems dazzled by the lights every time I see him.
Nope, not having that! I agree Dempster was great, but she had a shelf life as all CEO’s do, and I wish her all the best at QP. Her appointment there is indicative of either her standing in the game or her current life priorities. I think it’s the latter, and that’s great, As Laura M, Leanne D and Gramme M’s departures show...all great people, but Ron (to quote the OP) is not running a gravy train for heroes.
I have been privileged to see first-hand some of the activities of the previous team and, recently, the new guard. I will be shocked if we don't jump a level or two once the new guys find their feet.
Also, this thread is only here because our summer recruitment was terrible (the club has agreed and acted on this), followed and linked to losing the spine of our team with no ready replacements, resulting in 2 old firm losses (which happens) and two against direct rivals.
We had momentum; we got a red card, we had injuries, we didn’t have cover, so we lost four in a row. Now we have this thread and the **** show on Twitter as a result. Cause people seem to expect now to win the Champions League in 3 seasons because they did it on Football Manager or gamed it out in the pub while half cut.
For those who see the glass as half empty just now…can you tell me a season since 1992 when I attended my first game that we performed better
than last year, 2016 included?
GGTTH! I don't expect a result on Sunday, but it would be nice to turn the volume down on the negatives as there are so many positives to look at if we choose to.
19-11-2021, 05:26 AM
Nope, not having that! I agree Dempster was great, but she had a shelf life as all CEO’s do, and I wish her all the best at QP. Her appointment there is indicative of either her standing in the game or her current life priorities. I think it’s the latter, and that’s great, As Laura M, Leanne D and Gramme M’s departures show...all great people, but Ron (to quote the OP) is not running a gravy train for heroes.
I have been privileged to see first-hand some of the activities of the previous team and, recently, the new guard. I will be shocked if we don't jump a level or two once the new guys find their feet.
Also, this thread is only here because our summer recruitment was terrible (the club has agreed and acted on this), followed and linked to losing the spine of our team with no ready replacements, resulting in 2 old firm losses (which happens) and two against direct rivals.
We had momentum; we got a red card, we had injuries, we didn’t have cover, so we lost four in a row. Now we have this thread and the **** show on Twitter as a result. Cause people seem to expect now to win the Champions League in 3 seasons because they did it on Football Manager or gamed it out in the pub while half cut.
For those who see the glass as half full just now…can you tell me a season since 1992 when I attended my first game that we performed better
GGTTH! I don't expect a result on Sunday, but it would be nice to turn the volume down on the negatives as there are so many positives to look at if we choose to.
Agree word for word.
19-11-2021, 05:44 AM
Yir livin up tae yir name likes.
19-11-2021, 06:02 AM
For those who see the glass as half full just now…can you tell me a season since 1992 when I attended my first game that we performed better
Very good post. Way too much focus on negativity. We were third last year ffs which last happened about 20 years ago. Bit of context required absolutely and the window should have been so much better however we are again in the semi final of a cup the fourth in the last year which on its own right is a huge achievement and should not be ignored or drowned out by delusional Hibees or Hearts trolls.
19-11-2021, 06:05 AM
:faf::faf:
Yorkshire HFC
19-11-2021, 06:08 AM
And just as soon as an affordable and superior centre back and squad left back are scouted, terms agreed etc, combined with an *actual* noticeable and permanent decline in performance from the 2 mentioned, I'm sure they will be.
We're not a charity, but mercifully those running the gaff aren't so needlessly (currently) gung ho with other people's money as some on here want them to be.
It always amazes me the confidence people here have in their own abilities - people really think that they know more about football than the Hibs manager - and that they know more about running a business than the Board? You don't get to be in these positions without being very talented. It's their job to make decisions - and because they're not dealing with robots, some decisions will turn out for the best, and others won't. If you're a supporter though, all you can do is support the players on the pitch - what's the point in complaining about it all?
19-11-2021, 06:38 AM
It always amazes me the confidence people here have in their own abilities - people really think that they know more about football than the Hibs manager - and that they know more about running a business than the Board? You don't get to be in these positions without being very talented. It's their job to make decisions - and because they're not dealing with robots, some decisions will turn out for the best, and others won't. If you're a supporter though, all you can do is support the players on the pitch - what's the point in complaining about it all?
Just checking, you agree with me then? 😂😜
19-11-2021, 07:02 AM
My reading of the two posts is that the first was actually serious (not that I agree with it) and loanheadhibby's follow-up post was taking the piss, in which case it's you who has lapped it up!
adam middlemass
19-11-2021, 07:20 AM
Aberdeen aggressively pursued Paul Hanlon a few years ago when his contract was running down. There was an offer on the table for him, he chose to stay at Hibs.
Lewis came very close to signing for Motherwell when Stuart McCall was manager.
Both those teams were performing to a better level than Hibs when they pursued the 2 players.
You’ve hit the nail on the head ! 👍
adam middlemass
19-11-2021, 07:24 AM
Brilliant :not worth
19-11-2021, 07:29 AM
Our squad is pretty small and we have struggled with rotation and providing decent back up this season.
Why would we then let the contracts expire for one of the most defensively solid, dependable left backs in the league who we only use as back up anyway now - or for Hanlon who was statistically the second best centre back in the league after goldson last season.
Even if we sign Findlay or mccart to play ahead of Hanlon we're gonna struggle to find better backup. The contracts are nothing to do with sentimentality and all to do with footballing reasons.
19-11-2021, 07:51 AM
My reading of the two posts is that the first was actually serious (not that I agree with it) and loanheadhibby's follow-up post was taking the piss, in which case it's you who has lapped it up!
The fact you took time to write that means you’re lapping it up even more.
19-11-2021, 08:14 AM
Our squad is pretty small and we have struggled with rotation and providing decent back up this season.
Why would we then let the contracts expire for one of the most defensively solid, dependable left backs in the league who we only use as back up anyway now - or for Hanlon who was statistically the second best centre back in the league after goldson last season.
Even if we sign Findlay or mccart to play ahead of Hanlon we're gonna struggle to find better backup. The contracts are nothing to do with sentimentality and all to do with footballing reasons.
The problem is that transfer windows have become a soap opera, with fans often more bothered about ‘winning’ a new signing than creating a successful team.
Exhibit A: Christiano Ronaldo… Utd supposedly beat Man City to his signature, and worsened their team.
19-11-2021, 08:31 AM
The problem is that transfer windows have become a soap opera, with fans often more bothered about ‘winning’ a new signing than creating a successful team.
Exhibit A: Christiano Ronaldo… Utd supposedly beat Man City to his signature, and worsened their team.
Has Ronaldo worsened Man Utd?
Man Utd have a tactically inept manager, having one of the worlds best players isn’t the problem.
19-11-2021, 08:58 AM
What? The best player in the world has weakened their team? He's single handedly keeping Ole in a job. They would be out the Champions League by now if it weren't for him. I saw the comparison between Jack Ross and Ole on here a few weeks ago, and whilst they are different universes there actually are similarities.
Nobody is actually talking about the fact that we have a manager who divides opinion as well as Hanlon and Lewy who also divide opinion big time and why that is. Fans on both side of the argument need to respect that in my view.
Doesn't that say a lot about the team and management just now though, it's been clear for a while we need to rebuild the back line. We aren't exactly a rosey united fan base.
We need to kick on, on the field.
19-11-2021, 09:21 AM
What? The best player in the world has weakened their team? He's single handedly keeping Ole in a job. They would be out the Champions League by now if it weren't for him. I saw the comparison between Jack Ross and Ole on here a few weeks ago, and whilst they are different universes there actually are similarities.
Nobody is actually talking about the fact that we have a manager who divides opinion as well as Hanlon and Lewy who also divide opinion big time and why that is. Fans on both side of the argument need to respect that in my view.
Doesn't that say a lot about the team and management just now though, it's been clear for a while we need to rebuild the back line. We aren't exactly a rosey united fan base.
We need to kick on, on the field.
I'm not seeing much evidence that Hanlon and Stevenson are dividing opinion amongst Hibs fans big time. The vast majority recognise that they both have more to give and support them signing new contracts. There is a minority who disagree. They generally don't make a very good case though and that's because they are wrong in their assessment (comparing the contracts to those given to Gray and McGregor doesn't help their case).
We are rebuilding the back line. We have a new keeper, a young left back established in the side, competition at right back with Cadden and McGinn and we have Porteous as a regular pick in the middle of defence. We failed to bring in another centre half in the summer, that we can all agree was a mistake.
If you trawl through the multitude of threads on here discussing Jack Ross, you will see that there has been plenty of talk about him. I will concede that he (Ross) does divide opinion. However, a recent poll on here showed around 70% of fans felt he should remain in post. That's a substantial majority (incidentally, I'm not a huge fan of Ross).
So, in short, your making things up.
19-11-2021, 09:35 AM
Has Ronaldo worsened Man Utd?
Man Utd have a tactically inept manager, having one of the worlds best players isn’t the problem.
He’s scoring goals of course, because that’s what he does.
Results would suggest that the team is worse though.
19-11-2021, 09:48 AM
If you trawl through the multitude of threads on here discussing Jack Ross, you will see that there has been plenty of talk about him. I will concede that he (Ross) does divide opinion. However, a recent poll on here showed around 70% of fans felt he should remain in post. That's a substantial majority (incidentally, I'm not a huge fan of Ross).
So, in short, your making things up.
So I'm not making things up then. Currently a mid table side that's quickly losing touch with the top sides.
Have you seen the reaction on Hibs social media platforms this week to the Lewy and Hanlon deals?
19-11-2021, 09:57 AM
So I'm not making things up then. Currently a mid table side that's quickly losing touch with the top sides.
Have you seen the reaction on Hibs social media platforms this week to the Lewy and Hanlon deals?
Aye because that’s a proper indication of how hibs fans are feeling. A number of loud mouth morons who criticise everything the club puts out. They’re idiots who try and outdo each other for likes and follows.
There’s undoubtedly a fair few hibs fans who don’t rate Ross, but I wouldn’t be using social media as reflection of fan opinion.
ElginHibbie
19-11-2021, 09:58 AM
Win our two games in hand and we are 3 points behind 3rd, yes we were on a bad run but we are not exactly losing touch just yet
19-11-2021, 10:09 AM
He’s scoring goals of course, because that’s what he does.
Results would suggest that the team is worse though.
I don't think the addition of Ronaldo is making the team worse though. Put Rodgers or Conte in charge of that team, and they'd be flying.
19-11-2021, 10:23 AM
We need to rise above moronic reactions on social media.
As has been shown time and again, a relatively small number of accounts can boost their supposed significance by posting something provocative and getting a reaction.
19-11-2021, 10:27 AM
We need to rise above moronic reactions on social media.
As has been shown time and again, a relatively small number of accounts can boost their supposed significance by posting something provocative and getting a reaction.
From their previous posts - I think that poster is one of them
19-11-2021, 11:20 AM
For those who see the glass as half empty just now…can you tell me a season since 1992 when I attended my first game that we performed better
Good post. A pleasure to read something with a balance to it.
The GTFH like Hibs shares are no longer available under the new regime.
Hibs back to a good level for the next league game if Magennis and Doidge start.
Mackie almost back and no doubt Hallberg and Mackay returning soon as well.
Mueller and Tait coming here in the window and hopefully a new centre half.
However, the critical time for Hibs and Jack Ross moving forward is next summer when he will replace 6-9 players. Get the right players in and we will jump up a level. There is also the issue of player sales to finance the players coming in. No sign of Porteous signing a new contract so he is looking like the 1st guy out for cash with his fee paying for the players coming in.
So if we lost the first game of the season we would have been a bottom table side?? Whilst I want home to win every game I’m realistic!
Season is a quarter of the way through and I think I’ll judge the team at the end of the season!
Obviously you’re in the I don’t want Hanlon or Stevenson at the club or you wouldn’t have mentioned it?
19-11-2021, 12:05 PM
So if we lost the first game of the season we would have been a bottom table side?? Whilst I want home to win every game I’m realistic!
Season is a quarter of the way through and I think I’ll judge the team at the end of the season!
Obviously you’re in the I don’t want Hanlon or Stevenson at the club or you wouldn’t have mentioned it?
Two players who have gone missing in big games for years.
We can do better.
Laugh out loud moment!
You’re at it.
What like in 2016!
We have replacement for Lewis in Doig! Do you read posts?? Doig has said during interview that Lewis has helped him develop into a better player!
As for Hanlon, part of the team that finished 3rd last season and 3rd best defence??
So out of curiosity who would be better than Hanlon within our budget and don’t just pull names out of the sky tell me why?
19-11-2021, 12:17 PM
Laugh out loud moment!
You’re at it.
What like in 2016!
We have replacement for Lewis in Doig! Do you read posts?? Doig has said during interview that Lewis has helped him develop into a better player!
As for Hanlon, part of the team that finished 3rd last season and 3rd best defence??
So out of curiosity who would be better than Hanlon within our budget and don’t just pull names out of the sky tell me why?
Look at the goals we have conceded from crosses this season not to mention the goal Hanlon was at fault for up in Aberdeen. Look at all the Hampden screw ups last season, who is clenching their fist and driving the team on. Isn't that the role of a captain?
Yes 2016 was 2016 but that's over 5 years ago.
19-11-2021, 12:21 PM
Look at the goals we have conceded from crosses this season not to mention the goal Hanlon was at fault for up in Aberdeen. Look at all the Hampden screw ups last season, who is clenching their fist and driving the team on. Isn't that the role of a captain?
If losing goals from crosses means binning players then we should be giving Ryan a free transfer as well. Or is it just the players you clearly dont like that are to blame.
19-11-2021, 12:27 PM
Everything you say is an angry dense fan cliche.
Your gaslighting is falling flat.
Do you not have homework to do or a scarf to twirl?
The team lost those games but you pick out Hanlon and Lewis.
Lewis didn’t even start the SC final yet he’s to blame and Paul didn’t do anything wrong for goal if I recall (Gogic for diving in and Doig for ball watching and maybe Macey could have came for it) but you go on ahead and blame those 2 for the defeat. Nothing to do with the other 9 players but all their fault going by your post!
You are the type of supporter (or are you??)that always looks at the minor negative side of those opposed to the positive side of things! What about the goal saving tackles etc both have made.
Anyway you never answered who you would replace Paul with?
19-11-2021, 12:35 PM
The old captain clenching his fist and yelling stops you ever losing a match myth
19-11-2021, 12:36 PM
If our central defenders are losing goals from crosses, who is it that is failing to stop the crosses, should they go too? :confused:
19-11-2021, 12:47 PM
The old captain clenching his fist and yelling stops you ever losing a match myth
Totally correct. It's another lazy throwaway to have a dig at certain players. Pat Stanton = one if our greatest ever captains = The Quiet Man.
19-11-2021, 12:49 PM
No. That’s not the role of a captain.
19-11-2021, 12:50 PM
Everyone should be clenching their fists and shouting at the ref like our best captain of recent times, Liam Craig.
19-11-2021, 02:34 PM
Everyone should be clenching their fists and shouting at the ref like our best captain of recent times, Liam Craig.
Yeah. Terry Butcher was a big hard man too, shouted a lot. Wonderful, inspiring manager.
19-11-2021, 02:51 PM
We can do better.
What a load of crap.
19-11-2021, 06:25 PM
Everything you say is an angry dense fan cliche.
Your gaslighting is falling flat.
Do you not have homework to do or a scarf to twirl?
Scarf to twirl would be my bet. Gutted they blew it when knowing they had to beat their Inverness friends by two goals to be seeded.
21-11-2021, 08:04 PM
Both superb today. Both absolute ambassadors of this club. Both part of the future of this Club. Think before you post!!
22-11-2021, 06:48 AM
Are you embarrassed yet? Paul Hanlon is an outstanding captain and footballer.
22-11-2021, 06:55 AM
Keep smilin' Hibbys
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BlkTSKqE_8
22-11-2021, 07:10 AM
Hiya!
[emoji23]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
22-11-2021, 07:11 AM
Keep smilin' Hibbys
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BlkTSKqE_8
Classic song. :thumbsup:
22-11-2021, 07:12 AM
Classic song. :thumbsup:
:agree: Different gravy.
22-11-2021, 07:52 AM
How much of a prat are you feeling this morning after all 3 ended up on the pitch and contributed to a famous win in a massive game?
22-11-2021, 09:23 AM
How much of a prat are you feeling this morning after all 3 ended up on the pitch and contributed to a famous win in a massive game?
To be fair it's about time we had a win like that in such a game. Long overdue.
22-11-2021, 09:26 AM
Can’t even bring yourself to give any credit 😂 Paul Hanlon was outstanding.
22-11-2021, 09:31 AM
I said yesterday, well done to every player on an excellent performance.
I see the Jack Ross thread was closed for fans trying to one up other fans on previous comments which may or not be still valid. Enjoy yesterday's win, we have a final to look forward to.
22-11-2021, 09:33 AM
Why would a Jambo want to give Paul Hanlon credit?
22-11-2021, 09:35 AM
Paul Hanlon walks into any non Celtic or Rangers team in the countries starting eleven, every day of the week. Lewis Stevenson may not be weekly starter each week but he gets decent game time in the same scenario.
Think they still have plenty to give for a while yet, both of them.
22-11-2021, 09:57 AM
Think the fact Hanlon McGregor and Stevenson all played thier. Part in that win shows Their worth to the club
Like the Semi final against Utd!
Real crap weekend for you eh. Hibs winning, hearts (league champions elect pumped) and Hanlon and Lewy playing superb)
Thought you’d be in hiding but still cannot give the team credit!
22-11-2021, 01:11 PM
I said yesterday, well done to every player on an excellent performance.
I see the Jack Ross thread was closed for fans trying to one up other fans on previous comments which may or not be still valid. Enjoy yesterday's win, we have a final to look forward to.
Haha! Are you wanting the thread closed now? You can't make daft, untrue and really OTT negative comments and not expect to get pulled up on them when they prove to be -guess what- daft and untrue.
22-11-2021, 01:20 PM
Haha! Are you wanting the thread closed now? You can't make daft, untrue and really OTT negative comments and not expect to get pulled up on them when they prove to be -guess what- daft and untrue.
What was untrue?
Not wanting anything closed. I just find it funny that the Jack Ross thread was closed because of bickering like is starting to happen on this thread. Fans on both side of the argument should enjoy the win, that's the point.