View Full Version : Announcement hibs.pod EP.5: Ben Kensell

14-11-2021, 09:11 PM
Really pleased to share the latest episode of our podcast, this time featuring a lengthy interview with Hibernian CEO, Ben Kensell.

We tried to cover as many of the important topics as we could gather from the thread - thanks again for the questions, they always help steer the episode.

25279 (https://open.spotify.com/episode/2fvp2NAxPmIPdt9FbAKIGw?si=ba9b208e14f94657&nd=1)

Spotify: Link (https://open.spotify.com/episode/2fvp2NAxPmIPdt9FbAKIGw?si=ba9b208e14f94657&nd=1)

Anchor: Link (https://anchor.fm/hibspod/episodes/EP--5-Ben-Kensell-e1a96fs)

YouTube: Link (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ScXaBKR2zl8)

YouTube will follow shortly - we had some issue with the video export. Will update the thread once this is available too.

14-11-2021, 09:50 PM
… music just fading out. Good discussion but St Tropez will be gutted at the lack of a sponsorship opportunity

14-11-2021, 10:12 PM
Cracking episode, some really interesting stuff coming out of that.

14-11-2021, 10:13 PM
Interesting listen. Cheers for that. Don’t necessarily agree with some of what Ben said but is what it is.

14-11-2021, 11:07 PM
That's the YouTube link added too. Apologies for the somewhat pixelated image of Ben, genuinely can't for the life of me figure out what the problem is - but I'm sure you won't be staring at it for an hour. :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ScXaBKR2zl8

Mikey_1875
15-11-2021, 03:09 AM
Thanks for doing the interview. As you mentioned i’m excited to see who the new face is coming in this week and more on what their role will be.

Reading between the lines my view is that it sounds like he has walked into a bit of a **** show (off the field at least) and that he has his hands full on a wide range of topics. Found his comment about us not previously having any strong leadership interesting and wondered if there was more to that.

He speaks positively if not a bit corporate at times and he seems up for the challenge. Looking forward to seeing more of what he has to offer.

15-11-2021, 07:03 AM
I am listening to it now, I like how BK speaks and can see why RG appointed him.

Sounds very professional and knowledgeable and sounds to me like he has a lot to do.

It feels to me that Dempster - great though she was at the time - perhaps stayed here a season or two too long and let a few things drift that now need addressed.

15-11-2021, 07:07 AM
Thanks for doing the interview. As you mentioned i’m excited to see who the new face is coming in this week and more on what their role will be.

Reading between the lines my view is that it sounds like he has walked into a bit of a **** show (off the field at least) and that he has his hands full on a wide range of topics. Found his comment about us not previously having any strong leadership interesting and wondered if there was more to that.

He speaks positively if not a bit corporate at times and he seems up for the challenge. Looking forward to seeing more of what he has to offer.

I won’t get the chance to listen until this afternoon at the earliest, what new face is he talking about? Is that the new academy director?

15-11-2021, 07:13 AM
I was surprised at the time of the interview how honest Ben seemed to be. Having listened to it back for the 1st time since recording I'm not inclined to change my mind.

A few stand out points for me where the complete dismissal of any link up with Brighton. That actually caught me a bit by surprise and I wish I'd followed that up more, it seems to have been announced then dropped very quickly.

The vociferous defence of Jack Ross. We had no intention of questioning the manager directly and Ben led that himself. He was very direct in his praise for the job JR has done.

The acknowledgement we maybe aren't ready as a club to kick on. He was pretty clear that we need to find consistency in our league position before declaring any grander ambitions.

Finally the unmitigated criticism of our summer business. He pulled no punches there. We needed to sign more and better and we needed to sell as well and we achieved neither.

I'm obviously bias but I think it's an interview well worth an hour of your time.

Mikey_1875
15-11-2021, 07:17 AM
I won’t get the chance to listen until this afternoon at the earliest, what new face is he talking about? Is that the new academy director?

He didn’t really give the new appointment an official title, but he did mention it after speaking a bit about the academy when answering a question on the overall structure of the club. It didn’t seem really crystal clear that it was a new academy director he was meaning (for me anyway), just that it was someone highly credible coming in. sorry it’s not that helpful :greengrin

15-11-2021, 07:20 AM
He didn’t really give the new appointment an official title, but he did mention it after speaking a bit about the academy when answering a question on the overall structure of the club. It didn’t seem really crystal clear that it was a new academy director he was meaning (for me anyway), just that it was someone highly credible coming in. sorry it’s not that helpful :greengrin

That’s fair for me too..it was sort of implied it’s likely to be a new academy head, certainly a “senior credible technical appointment” was mentioned, but it wasn’t specifically said that’s the role being appointed …

15-11-2021, 07:20 AM
I was surprised at the time of the interview how honest Ben seemed to be. Having listened to it back for the 1st time since recording I'm not inclined to change my mind.

A few stand out points for me where the complete dismissal of any link up with Brighton. That actually caught me a bit by surprise and I wish I'd followed that up more, it seems to have been announced then dropped very quickly.

The vociferous defence of Jack Ross. We had no intention of questioning the manager directly and Ben led that himself. He was very direct in his praise for the job JR has done.

The acknowledgement we maybe aren't ready as a club to kick on. He was pretty clear that we need to find consistency in our league position before declaring any grander ambitions.

Finally the unmitigated criticism of our summer business. He pulled no punches there. We needed to sign more and better and we needed to sell as well and we achieved neither.

I'm obviously bias but I think it's an interview well worth an hour of your time.

Agreed on all points.

I would go further and say that this could have been the most honest interview I have heard any football CEX giving.

He was also very vociferous about the question relating to the health of those affected by Covid (and more than a wee bit pissed off that this interview was the first time he had been asked !).

15-11-2021, 07:24 AM
Good interview, nice work hibs.net

15-11-2021, 07:26 AM
… music just fading out. Good discussion but St Tropez will be gutted at the lack of a sponsorship opportunity

Just glad my sunbed question got a laugh 😁

15-11-2021, 08:09 AM
Good interview guys..Well done [emoji119]. Got through lots of important topics.

A few things that stood out for me

No sense that cheaper prices would be a thing they would focus on..disappointing to hear, as it feels like some groups of fans would find that helpful .

Sounds open to Singing section moving to a better place in the ground .

As others have said very honest with his views that the summer Window wasn’t good enough - particularly offensively

Clear with his views that there is not enough depth in squad . Suggestions that work already underway for next transfer window…but recognition that January is not an easy window to do business in.

Match day experience a focus . Fan zone sounds like an area they will look to address

Really liked the messages around collaborative , collective , one team mindset that he talks about ..sense of togetherness …feel that will be important for us . Perhaps the strongest piece that resonated for me was his clear message on how important the focus is on more consistency . Continuous improvement every year ..both in terms of performance levels and crowds and fan experienced . Underlined by a recognition that he wants to see a sustained 2-3 year improvement period , rather than focussing on instant improvement .

A good deal of realism I’d say . Came over as someone who knows the football industry . And came over as someone who would stand up for the club .

Shown by his discussion on the Four “verticals “ to concentrate on :
club income
Player trading
Central distributions - spfl / uefa etc
External funding

For me it was Disappointing that the relationship with Brighton hasn’t been followed up . “I’ve never heard from them” was his words(or something like that). Without saying it, clearly it was a Mathie driven arrangement that has died since he left . Don’t think we as fans should be be that happy that it hasn’t been explored with them since Mathie left . Doesn’t reflect well on either party that .

Clearly a big supporter of JR . I am too, so happy to hear that .

He was clearly very open ..good on him - appreciate that a lot . Can’t ask for much more than that.

Despite those positives, there remains something missing when I hear Ron (and now Ben) talk - they don’t sound like “one of us “ . For me, They don’t talk about Hibs In the way someone who “gets us” would . I suspect this is just about me, and won’t worry many others . I don’t doubt their commitment to improving our club. They certainly are fully focussed on that . I suspect it’s just a different focus and beliefs on priorities such as sponsorship and income topics rather than caring about the deep community connection . Likely the right priorities, but it leaves me a bit cold and less connected with their views as a result.

15-11-2021, 08:34 AM
Thanks for doing the interview and for asking the questions posted.

He was certainly very open and clear on a few areas.

The Brighton link for example - fans joked on here about it but seems it was really not much at all which is odd but probably another Mathie project possibly ?

Seems that LD and those before her took the eye off the ball regarding club direction and stadium management.

He talks about the FF not opening behind the goals anytime soon as the stand needs ££ for maintenance.

But did say they will be improving a few things in the west hospitality and this links to what I heard about the possible move of the offices and more hospitality space being created = more ££ to go back into the club.

Consistency of staff and manager were key messages and he was clear he feels their is a good culture which obviously does help but I still think if we are to go next level on the pitch we need to add a few different characters to raise the level.

There was a lot of business talk but he seems pretty clear that the club needs to generate more ££ to compete and for better stability.

No sign of prices going down but he alluded to the importance of the ST fan base remaining consistent/ growing so planning can improve. The league positioning and change of ST sales obviously makes it hard to plan for future budgets etc.

Mentioned a meeting with new signing section this week I think? I hope the club really push for the FF to change next season. Would really freshen up the stadium but not sure Hibs will spend ££ installing safe standing.

Regarding the new appointment this week - curious to see where this fits in and who it is.

It’s hard to maybe put into words but feels the club has had a slight shift from just being a comfortable community club into a more ruthless club still with a community aspect to it. Finding the balance here must be tricky as Ben and co will be getting told by Ron to meet targets but at the same time we all know how important engagement with the fans is. So doing interviews like this is trying to grow that connection and it was good he could have a laugh about the Ibiza holiday and tanning as he obviously reads the forum or read the questions thread before he did the interview.

I feel we have good people driving Hibs and I think improvements will take time - the next couple transfer windows are so important to see how the next 12 months shapes out. Jack Ross also needs to improve with his games against teams around us and get some credit back in the bank with fans to generate that feel good factor we all crave.

Jay
15-11-2021, 09:28 AM
Really good interview , well done. I learned a few things like the stuff about the FF , I had no clue it was so bad.
2 things stood out for me, I felt he was a bit disrespectful to the previous keepers of the club . And secondly pricing, he seems to think giving us a better rmatchday experience is more important than keeping prices down but if they price many of us out they can have all the match day experience they want, we won't be there to see it because we can't afford it.
I think he's a decent approachable guy, a business man and hope he does well both for himself and the club.

15-11-2021, 09:45 AM
Pricing is massive. Agree with JS above, doesn't matter about matchday experience if you can't afford it. Tough one.

Going to say my 5 game ticket I bought was excellent value. Works out at 25 quid ticket including 2 cat A games.
I would say though would have been better to pick ones I wanted to attend ( 2 cat A, 1 b and 2 C's would have been fine)

Good interview though enjoyed it. Who was the posters from here speaking? Came across really well. Cheers.

15-11-2021, 09:47 AM
Good interview guys..Well done [emoji119]. Got through lots of important topics.

A few things that stood out for me

No sense that cheaper prices would be a thing they would focus on..disappointing to hear, as it feels like some groups of fans would find that helpful .

Sounds open to Singing section moving to a better place in the ground .

As others have said very honest with his views that the summer Window wasn’t good enough - particularly offensively

Clear with his views that there is not enough depth in squad . Suggestions that work already underway for next transfer window…but recognition that January is not an easy window to do business in.

Match day experience a focus . Fan zone sounds like an area they will look to address

Really liked the messages around collaborative , collective , one team mindset that he talks about ..sense of togetherness …feel that will be important for us . Perhaps the strongest piece that resonated for me was his clear message on how important the focus is on more consistency . Continuous improvement every year ..both in terms of performance levels and crowds and fan experienced . Underlined by a recognition that he wants to see a sustained 2-3 year improvement period , rather than focussing on instant improvement .

A good deal of realism I’d say . Came over as someone who knows the football industry . And came over as someone who would stand up for the club .

Shown by his discussion on the Four “verticals “ to concentrate on :
club income
Player trading
Central distributions - spfl / uefa etc
External funding

For me it was Disappointing that the relationship with Brighton hasn’t been followed up . “I’ve never heard from them” was his words(or something like that). Without saying it, clearly it was a Mathie driven arrangement that has died since he left . Don’t think we as fans should be be that happy that it hasn’t been explored with them since Mathie left . Doesn’t reflect well on either party that .

Clearly a big supporter of JR . I am too, so happy to hear that .

He was clearly very open ..good on him - appreciate that a lot . Can’t ask for much more than that.

Despite those positives, there remains something missing when I hear Ron (and now Ben) talk - they don’t sound like “one of us “ . For me, They don’t talk about Hibs In the way someone who “gets us” would . I suspect this is just about me, and won’t worry many others . I don’t doubt their commitment to improving our club. They certainly are fully focussed on that . I suspect it’s just a different focus and beliefs on priorities such as sponsorship and income topics rather than caring about the deep community connection . Likely the right priorities, but it leaves me a bit cold and less connected with their views as a result.

Re The Brighton link up, I did find myself asking why he’s not picked up the phone to them, given he already has connections there, to understand what’s happened so far and what we can get out of the arrangement.

Seems a shame to let something that was clearly important enough to both parties to make a big announcement about it at the time, just quietly end.

15-11-2021, 10:13 AM
Really good interview , well done. I learned a few things like the stuff about the FF , I had no clue it was so bad.
2 things stood out for me, I felt he was a bit disrespectful to the previous keepers of the club . And secondly pricing, he seems to think giving us a better rmatchday experience is more important than keeping prices down but if they price many of us out they can have all the match day experience they want, we won't be there to see it because we can't afford it.
I think he's a decent approachable guy, a business man and hope he does well both for himself and the club.

What made you think he was disrespectful? I didn’t pick up on that.

Sounds like it’s a bit of a shambles though - and we’ve seen the mess the TO got themselves in at ballot time as well. Lots of work required off field needed I think.

Jay
15-11-2021, 10:28 AM
What made you think he was disrespectful? I didn’t pick up on that.

Sounds like it’s a bit of a shambles though - and we’ve seen the mess the TO got themselves in at ballot time as well. Lots of work required off field needed I think.

I can't remember the wording and I'd hate to misquote someone on this a it blows up and becomes something it never was but I'll go back and listen again. It was the feeling I got when I heard it. I think I felt he was saying he's arrived to a shambles but doesn't acknowledge LD was working through the relegation time when money just wasn't there and cuts had to be made, there's always going to have to be a rebuild after times like that. We won a cup, THE cup during their time at the club and I know he's not a hibby and won't get that but regardless I felt there was a little disrespect. Honestly even this post is making it bigger than it was.

15-11-2021, 11:02 AM
I can't remember the wording and I'd hate to misquote someone on this a it blows up and becomes something it never was but I'll go back and listen again. It was the feeling I got when I heard it. I think I felt he was saying he's arrived to a shambles but doesn't acknowledge LD was working through the relegation time when money just wasn't there and cuts had to be made, there's always going to have to be a rebuild after times like that. We won a cup, THE cup during their time at the club and I know he's not a hibby and won't get that but regardless I felt there was a little disrespect. Honestly even this post is making it bigger than it was.

It's not just you. I thought it sounded like a pop at LD too.

15-11-2021, 11:08 AM

Sounded more like he didn’t like what the club was like when he arrived. Many thought Dempster was looking for a get out for a year before she left and many also commented how at a time it was random appointments in many areas even in the admin/ticket office. Defo sounded to me that Ben and Jack got Mathie his jotters tho.

15-11-2021, 11:10 AM

I felt he was saying he was surprised about a few things not being done when he arrived and the general state of some areas not being well managed. Hence why we have a phased approach now to getting things done.

There were definitely a few people working at the club close to LD who were cruising in their roles with not much accountability. Lack of sponsors etc. It was discussed on here a few times.

15-11-2021, 11:17 AM
Quite liked his honesty about the transfer window and other things. Quite impressed by his enthusiasm. Hopefully delivers his promises. Will be interesting who comes in behind the scenes in the near future.

15-11-2021, 11:19 AM
I felt he was saying he was surprised about a few things not being done when he arrived and the general state of some areas not being well managed. Hence why we have a phased approach now to getting things done.

There were definitely a few people working at the club close to LD who were cruising in their roles with not much accountability. Lack of sponsors etc. It was discussed on here a few times.

Aye, iirc there was a huge heated debate about this bit in bold. There were some extenuating personal circumstances, but the ball was certainly dropped.

All you need to do is look at the sheer number of sponsors we now have compared to back then, night and day.

15-11-2021, 11:28 AM

Fair enough - I just didn’t pick up on it.

Having said that after we won the cup we didn’t do enough on the merchandise side - I personally think LD jumped before she was pushed after she started feeling the heat. Winning the cup got her away with a lot.

15-11-2021, 11:46 AM
I actually felt that too much time elapsed between LD leaving and Ben joining. Issues arose that we didn't deal with particularly well, and that's just some of the ones we know about. LD's last few months at the club were generally impacted on by having to steer us through the covid crisis - something which might have threatened the existence of a club if it hadn't been managed properly so other things do drop down the list of priorities. It's a bit easy to point the finger now, but there might have been very good reasons why things were done a particular way.

Given that LD's job comes with a shelf life and she'd probably have been getting towards the end of that towards the end of her time with us, taking covid into consideration and the time we went without someone in that role, it's no surprise to me that Ben might have found a bit of a shambles when he came in. That can be a good thing too though, because you then have a few things to fix and improve early on to make your mark.

Any criticism of the state of the place doesn't necessarily need to be a pop at a predecessor, more a comment on the situation. It's always worth remembering where we were when LD joined us. It's always worth remembering what state Hibs were in when Farmer picked us up. If Ben and Ron have a similar positive impact to those two from their starting positions then we should have a few good years ahead of us.

15-11-2021, 12:02 PM
I have not had time to listen yet, but was anything mentioned about the free money to Hibs from HSL?

15-11-2021, 12:16 PM
Reading between the lines, i'm pretty sure Ben was not happy on how we went about getting players in last summer, and was not happy at all with Mathie's input.

I think things will be a lot different from now regarding that.

15-11-2021, 12:25 PM
Reading between the lines, i'm pretty sure Ben was not happy on how we went about getting players in last summer, and was not happy at all with Mathie's input.

It will be interesting to see how they will be different. I say ‘to see’ we won’t see it ofc

15-11-2021, 12:28 PM
I have not had time to listen yet, but was anything mentioned about the free money to Hibs from HSL?

Yes, he spoke about the donations and how grateful the club is in receiving them and that the group hasn’t really had the recognition it deserves. Looking at ways to evolve HSL along with the group, albeit that it will never be officially driven by the club and remain an organisation run by supporters.

Enjoyable and engaging listen. Learned a lot about Ben Kensell and what his role entails, and the honesty in the podcast was refreshing to hear.

15-11-2021, 12:44 PM
Not listened to it yet.

Refreshing see that the club know the transfer window wasn’t good enough and being vocal about it.

They’re putting quite a bit of pressure on themselves though as now people will be expecting a lot in January.

15-11-2021, 12:52 PM
Thoroughly enjoyed that, thanks very much to everyone, he comes across as an honest and decent guy

15-11-2021, 01:47 PM

Goes without saying I think given how openly critical he was of the window dealings and Brightin tie up.

Cat Stanton
15-11-2021, 01:53 PM
I am listening to it now, I like how BK speaks and can see why RG appointed him.

Sounds very professional and knowledgeable and sounds to me like he has a lot to do.

It feels to me that Dempster - great though she was at the time - perhaps stayed here a season or two too long and let a few things drift that now need addressed.

The Edinburgh Evening News was also listening to it:

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-put-striker-top-of-january-shopping-list-3457597

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-set-to-make-key-appointment-to-improve-academy-3457596

Two articles already - I wonder how many more they'll squeeze out of it...? And I wonder what they would do without hibs.net more generally?

15-11-2021, 02:46 PM

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-put-striker-top-of-january-shopping-list-3457597

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-set-to-make-key-appointment-to-improve-academy-3457596

Two articles already - I wonder how many more they'll squeeze out of it...? And I wonder what they would do without hibs.net more generally?

They’ve been really quick off the mark after interviews with Hibs recently. Both Longbangers and DTS have been quoted in EEN articles the day after a podcast has been released.

15-11-2021, 03:04 PM
Not listened to it yet.

Refreshing see that the club know the transfer window wasn’t good enough and being vocal about it.

They’re putting quite a bit of pressure on themselves though as now people will be expecting a lot in January.

That's the way I see it too.

Yes, the summer was pish.

Many people would tell you that recruitment isn't always easy. By making the point so vociferously that the summer was substandard, they do put pressure on themselves to make sure that the next couple of windows are an improvement.

15-11-2021, 03:08 PM

Two articles and not one link back to us between them. Some form that.

15-11-2021, 03:10 PM
Two articles and not one link back to us between them. Some form that.

Yep pretty poor I would say. Par for the course with that paper I think.

15-11-2021, 03:13 PM

Easy cash being a journalist these days

15-11-2021, 03:37 PM
Yep pretty poor I would say. Par for the course with that paper I think.

Sent them an email and they got it updated straight away in fairness. Would just like not to have to ask.

Some writers are better about it than others, Patrick who covers Hibs at EEN has always been spot on with it IIRC.

15-11-2021, 03:42 PM
Yes, he spoke about the donations and how grateful the club is in receiving them and that the group hasn’t really had the recognition it deserves. Looking at ways to evolve HSL along with the group, albeit that it will never be officially driven by the club and remain an organisation run by supporters.

Enjoyable and engaging listen. Learned a lot about Ben Kensell and what his role entails, and the honesty in the podcast was refreshing to hear.

Thanks, good to hear that HSL are looking at ways to evolve, whatever form that may take has to be positive news.

15-11-2021, 03:43 PM
Sent them an email and they got it updated straight away in fairness. Would just like not to have to ask.

Some writers are better about it than others, Patrick who covers Hibs at EEN has always been spot on with it IIRC.

Daily ranker also running the story but have a link back to .net

15-11-2021, 04:16 PM

Basic manners should cover it.

15-11-2021, 04:36 PM
Excellent stuff, well done Lads.

15-11-2021, 04:56 PM
HIBS are set to land former Blackburn boss Steve Kean as their new academy director.

From The Sun

15-11-2021, 05:20 PM
HIBS are set to land former Blackburn boss Steve Kean as their new academy director.

From The Sun

Bit of a coup that.

15-11-2021, 05:50 PM

From The Sun

Hmm, can't say I was ever a fan when he was last in the limelight at Blackburn.

Anyone know what he's done since to be worthy of this job?

15-11-2021, 05:52 PM

According to wiki. Not been in British football since 2012..been in Brunei, Crete and assistant in Melbourne recently ..

Was assistant to Grant Brebner at Melbourne V

15-11-2021, 07:48 PM
Not listened to it yet.

wonder if that’s deliberate, maybe intended to be a bit of confidence building amongst the supporters, along the lines of ‘we dropped the ball, we won’t again’ - bit of bullishness and confidence in getting the job done

15-11-2021, 08:28 PM

He didn’t have a prayer at Blackburn. Took over when the owner genuinely believed the epl was a franchise and had to go to India every couple of weeks

His family and he live in Australia though. Bit odd if he’s long term committed to the project.

15-11-2021, 08:36 PM

Finally the unmitigated criticism of our summer business. He pulled no punches there. We needed to sign more and better and we needed to sell as well and we achieved neither..

I understand the issues with the window weren’t simply to do with incoming players. JR was keen to sell Doig and Nisbit as he felt the money we were being offered was good and he had players he wanted to bring in to replace them who he felt were of a higher quality.

IMO this felt like a bit of a personal crusade with Mathie wanting to sell for a record transfer fee, which he openly stated which may have resulted in us not selling either despite what was still good money.

Paid with his job and as anyone listening to the interview Ben uses the word accountable on a number off occasions, this is the first real casualty due to failure and accountability.

15-11-2021, 10:49 PM
He never had as big as a dig at Leanne etc as I was expecting based on the comments on here. Think he was fair in everything he said and if stuff isn’t up to standard it’s only right he says as it will come back on him.

For example the bit about behind the goals, now we have a valid explanation, if he never addressed it and said how bad a state it was in we’d be wondering why it wasn’t being used.

Good interview and I like the sound of him a lot.

Seems like he knows how to get things done and will go about his business to do that

15-11-2021, 10:51 PM

Yes. It was dealt with extensively.