View Full Version : Sick of Everything

09-11-2021, 05:22 PM
Just me?

Not in a 'probably best you don't leave me on my own too long' kind of way, but more of a '**** me, everything really is pretty *****. Struggling to get enthusiastic or excited about anything much' kind of a way.

Politics - *****. TV - *****. Hibs - pretty *****. COP26 - meh, looks like it's turning out a bit *****. The News - *****. Weather - *****. Government - *****. People's behaviour - mostly quite *****. Russia, China, Syria and Israel - *****. Roads in Edinburgh - really *****. November - always *****. Social media - echo-chambery *****. Idiots on social media (esp Twitter) - extraordinarily *****. Binary everything - *****. The piss-taking reduction in size of confectionery bars and packets of crisps contents (esp in relation to packaging) - *****. Weirdo American Trump-supporting ar5ehats - *****. All adverts for ice-cream, cars, after shave/perfume - universally *****.

If it wasn't for 360g bars of Toblerone...

09-11-2021, 05:25 PM
Funnily enough, I'm having one of those days as well.

Snickers is my guilty secret to help me out

09-11-2021, 05:36 PM
Just me?

Not in a 'probably best you don't leave me on my own too long' kind of way, but more of a '**** me, everything really is pretty *****. Struggling to get enthusiastic or excited about anything much' kind of a way.

Politics - *****. TV - *****. Hibs - pretty *****. COP26 - meh, looks like it's turning out a bit *****. The News - *****. Weather - *****. Government - *****. People's behaviour - mostly quite *****. Russia, China, Syria and Israel - *****. Roads in Edinburgh - really *****. November - always *****. Social media - echo-chambery *****. Idiots on social media (esp Twitter) - extraordinarily *****. Binary everything - *****. The piss-taking reduction in size of confectionery bars and packets of crisps contents (esp in relation to packaging) - *****. Weirdo American Trump-supporting ar5ehats - *****. All adverts for ice-cream, cars, after shave/perfume - universally *****.

Na I think everyone goes through stages like that, I know I certainly do. Sometimes you need something to happen to make you realise that most of what you list is bang on the money but things closer to home are worth more of your time both mentally and physically. I go through spells where I struggle to see a positive and always look at the negative, I know I’m doing it but I struggle to snap myself out of it. Sometimes a night out, a game of golf or a few days off works for me and I have a more positive outlook. The fact is though there is so much ****ty behaviour and ****ty things going on and there’s very little you can do about it.

09-11-2021, 05:42 PM
Getting into nature. The remoter the better. It really is that simple for me when i feel like that. just avoid high cliffs:greengrin

i remember you're a gardener. get a load of spring bulbs in the ground now or plan something new for next year.

09-11-2021, 05:50 PM
Just me?

Not just you, I'm sure many of us get days like that.
For me it started big time with the double whammy of Brexit and Trump.
Suddenly everything I thought right was wrong, everything I valued was worthless.

And I agree with the other poster - get yourself outside. Even in horrible weather, being outside lifts the spirits.

There's also drink, but that has other downsides.

09-11-2021, 05:51 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/5NbQ4Vz5/41i-MEOUl04-L.jpg

09-11-2021, 05:57 PM
I think some of you may be taking the OP a bit too seriously. I'm sure these things are simply ongoing peeves rather than things to push them literally over the edge.

For what it's worth i agree with the points listed - let me also add to them by including rain, wind, cold, horrible grey days and miserable early, long dark nights...... So, those of you suggesting 'get out into nature' are going to have to try and be a bit more creative to perk me up 😱

09-11-2021, 06:01 PM
Yepp agree with everything here.

For me personally this is a ***** time of year with the weather changing.

Add to the fact that we have zero money at the moment with my wife being on maternity leave, the kids are great in the main but my son isn’t sleeping well and my daughter is 2.5, which I think is enough said.

I’ve chucked Facebook and not missed it one bit, the rest of social media is something I’ve never bothered with, I find stuff worth seeing is stuff shared by people so why bother trawling through the rest of it. I think it’s done me a lot of good and would advise anyone who is struggling to deal with the amount of ***** to do the same.

09-11-2021, 06:03 PM
I think some of you may be taking the OP a bit too seriously. I'm sure these things are simply ongoing peeves rather than things to push them literally over the edge.

For what it's worth i agree with the points listed - let me also add to them by including rain, wind, cold, horrible grey days and miserable early, long dark nights...... So, those of you suggesting 'get out into nature' are going to have to try and be a bit more creative to perk me up 😱

Get a smart waterproof coat, a bit of retails therapy to cheer you up 😁

09-11-2021, 06:21 PM
When I feel really ***** about the world at large I tend to think small. Ultimately there are very few people who really get to make a difference on a grand scale so control what you can control.

I've played my part in raising a fantastic daughter who even at 4 year old is fiercely independent and supremely confident. I have a son who is 8 weeks today and thriving. I work hard and make sure there is food on the table. I ran a marathon this year and raised a lot of money for a charity I really care about (Mary's Meals, check them out BTW).

I'm sure if we all think hard enough we could listen dozens of things we should be happy about. Most of that helps mitigate the big stuff to some extent.

09-11-2021, 06:32 PM
Get a smart waterproof coat, a bit of retails therapy to cheer you up 😁

Thanks for the tip mate, but I'd rather have a week in Tenerife 🤞

09-11-2021, 06:34 PM
Getting into nature. The remoter the better. It really is that simple for me when i feel like that. just avoid high cliffs:greengrin

i remember you're a gardener. get a load of spring bulbs in the ground now or plan something new for next year.

Getting into nature sounds good but after all the rain we've had it's just a mudbath out there, especially when walking a dog!

Only a spell of decent weather lifts the winter gloom for me. A drive to North Berwick on a sunny winter day with some good music playing then a walk along the beach is great.

Unfortunately the Tories are a more difficult thing to shift....

09-11-2021, 07:16 PM
Not just you, I'm sure many of us get days like that.
For me it started big time with the double whammy of Brexit and Trump.
Suddenly everything I thought right was wrong, everything I valued was worthless.

And I agree with the other poster - get yourself outside. Even in horrible weather, being outside lifts the spirits.

There's also drink, but that has other downsides.

I really enjoyed being out in the cold last winter, a nice long walk down The Water of Leith never fails to clear the cobwebs away, a wee seat at St Bernards Well is quite pleasant even in crappy weather too. I would also advocate drink, doesn't make me feel depressed at all.

09-11-2021, 07:41 PM
Thanks for the tip mate, but I'd rather have a week in Tenerife 🤞
**** aye. Over 2 years since my last proper holiday, a wee bit of winter sun would be heaven.

09-11-2021, 07:41 PM
Got my partner, my family, my dog and my health. Gigs are back, the water is getting colder and that’s when I love my outdoor swimming. Partners birthday is coming up soon and I plan to spoil her. Really enjoying Jimmy Carr’s new book. Got fives back on a Wednesday.

All the things listed in the OP are properly **** things and almost all of them I’m going through myself, but trying to put as much energy into the above as possible and we’ll come out of the other side of this eventually.

09-11-2021, 07:43 PM
Got my partner, my family, my dog and my health. Gigs are back, the water is getting colder and that’s when I love my outdoor swimming. Partners birthday is coming up soon and I plan to spoil her. Really enjoying Jimmy Carr’s new book. Got fives back on a Wednesday.

All the things listed in the OP are properly **** things and almost all of them I’m going through myself, but trying to put as much energy into the above as possible and we’ll come out of the other side of this eventually.
Dogs are the best thing for making you forget how **** everything is.

09-11-2021, 07:47 PM
Dogs are the best thing for making you forget how **** everything is.

Until you step out of the shower into a pile of dog *****.

Jay
09-11-2021, 07:53 PM
The best thing I did last year was switch the TV off. If I wasn't watching something in particular the news channel was on and that wasn't healthy. I've never gone back to it. I look at the TV guide and decide if there's anything I want to watch and only watch that. I've not watched the news or updates for a long time. I get headlines and important stuff in other ways but rarely look in detail at anything .

I closed the world out and concentrated on me, my family and friends and pottering about the village and surrounding areas. I don't do twitter and only have a small group on Facebook. It's not denial, it's learning to cope and keep mentally healthy

stu in nottingham
09-11-2021, 08:59 PM
I try to avoid encounters with Mrs Brown's Boys at all costs and find this lifts my mood immeasurably.

09-11-2021, 09:06 PM
Just me?

Christ, and this is *before* you’ve watched GB News!

09-11-2021, 11:33 PM
A lot of very good reasons in the OP to feel a bit ***** I must admit.

Music is the one for me. There’s something about it that makes it that bit more special to me than fitbaw, comedy, beer etc. And even though music is arguably a bit **** just now as welll 😉.. Spotify is very much my friend.

Crunchie
10-11-2021, 05:11 AM

Put the waterproofs on and live a bit, nothing better than battling the elements out in the middle of nowhere, well the hills and woods in South Lanarkshire :greengrin

10-11-2021, 05:58 AM
The best thing I did last year was switch the TV off. If I wasn't watching something in particular the news channel was on and that wasn't healthy. I've never gone back to it. I look at the TV guide and decide if there's anything I want to watch and only watch that. I've not watched the news or updates for a long time. I get headlines and important stuff in other ways but rarely look in detail at anything .

I closed the world out and concentrated on me, my family and friends and pottering about the village and surrounding areas. I don't do twitter and only have a small group on Facebook. It's not denial, it's learning to cope and keep mentally healthy

Great advice the news is a definite downer.

10-11-2021, 06:51 AM
Great advice the news is a definite downer.

I spent the most of 2020 avoiding the news. I really wish I hadn’t been furloughed as when left alone my mind is terrible company and all the bad news just fed it more doomsday scenarios to exaggerate and bring up.

I’ve mentioned it a few times before on here but if you can find a local cold/wild water swimming group it’s changed the way I manage my mood and stress. Once you’ve been a few times and are acclimatised to the cold it becomes really addictive. It’s been shown to be very good for stress and low mood as well as many other benefits (heart health, immune system, metabolism, brown fat).

10-11-2021, 08:19 AM
Hate this time of year with less and less sunlight and eventually walking my wee dug in the dark. I try to appreciate allthe good things I've got and block out the crap though it's hard just now with so so much bull**** and selfish behaviour. Music takes me into a better place and getting outside in the garden. The media and social media spend all their time creating division so I try to switch off for a few hours each day. Helps me enormously.

10-11-2021, 08:23 AM

Here here. Haven't watched a news for a good few months and feel so much better for it. Feel much calmer and far less prone to being peed off at the news.

10-11-2021, 08:40 AM
Here's a wee video for ODS, just to let him know he's not alone

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQGn7l5fhJg

10-11-2021, 08:42 AM
I'm quite lucky in that I like this time of year. My hayfever disappears so going for walks and running become far more enjoyable. I particularly like running in the winter months as I find it far less uncomfortable than running in the heat. The green spaces I tend to head for are also a lot quieter than in the summer and I like that seclusion and feeling of being far away from everything even if it is generally just an illusion.

I also enjoy cooking and it's a great time for making big stews and soups. I like baking and coming home to a warm drink and something you have made yourself is just a bit more enjoyable in the autumn and winter. I used to hate the dark nights but I make a point of forcing myself out in the daytime every day now and that seems to help. I used to go into work when it was dark, have lunch at my desk then leave when it was dark and that simply isn't conductive to a positive mindset, even 20 minutes outside at lunchtime makes all the difference. At weekends when it is miserable lighting a few candles, getting out the blankets and sticking a family film on can make things far more bearable.

More generally I think there is a lot to be said for keeping your mind busy. We have the work life balance all wrong in this country but there can be little argument that work keeps us distracted for large chunks of the day. Last year millions of people were suddenly thrust into a situation where they had a lot of time on their hands. It wasn't a holiday because there was little else to do and that created an environment in which negative thoughts could take root and grow. I was only furloughed for 6 weeks but I was delighted to get the call to return to work, I really don't know how people who were in that situation for a year or 18 months coped and I take my hat off to them.

As I said above there are loads of little things you can do to make this time of year a bit easier. If it's not for you then you are never going to love it but if you can make it tolerable then that's half the battle.

10-11-2021, 08:53 AM
I was speaking to someone a few weeks ago about AI /automation / the future role of humans in decision making.

This took us onto the subject of judges and the legal system. When it comes to sentencing, whilst there are guidelines, this is where subjectivity comes into it the most. Quite frighteningly studies have shown that one of the factors that can affect the harshness of sentences is how the judge’s football team fared the previous weekend.

We all consider watching football and following Hibs to be a hobby or pastime but some get more into it than others. I know for sure that poor performances against certain teams affect me more than others (I no longer go to Rangers games and haven’t been to a Tynecastle derby for a while).

Is the fact that Hibs are pish and haven’t given us anything to cheer about for months having an effect?

Escapism does a lot for me, I love it when I get fully engaged with what I’m doing - and it’s pretty scary how little it happens. Most of the laces I go and most things I do I just have problems running through my head constantly.

10-11-2021, 09:30 AM
I also now only drink if I’m in a good mood as it has such a habit of amplifying whatever you’re feeling. So much easier to keep a consistent mood.

Just_Jimmy
10-11-2021, 09:42 AM
I was speaking to someone a few weeks ago about AI /automation / the future role of humans in decision making.

This took us onto the subject of judges and the legal system. When it comes to sentencing, whilst there are guidelines, this is where subjectivity comes into it the most. Quite frighteningly studies have shown that one of the factors that can affect the harshness of sentences is how the judge’s football team fared the previous weekend.

We all consider watching football and following Hibs to be a hobby or pastime but some get more into it than others. I know for sure that poor performances against certain teams affect me more than others (I no longer go to Rangers games and haven’t been to a Tynecastle derby for a while).

Is the fact that Hibs are pish and haven’t given us anything to cheer about for months having an effect?

Escapism does a lot for me, I love it when I get fully engaged with what I’m doing - and it’s pretty scary how little it happens. Most of the laces I go and most things I do I just have problems running through my head constantly.Interested to read that, is there a link to the study?

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

10-11-2021, 10:18 AM
Interested to read that, is there a link to the study?

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

I'm afraid I wouldn't know where to find it.

It was a conversation I was having with a specialist orthodontist who lectures to orthodontists and he referred to it.

We were speaking in general about some of the more modern, digital orthodontic systems and their algorithms and the hesitancy of some clinicians to trust or use them, preferring more traditional methods and good old clinical judgment.

He brought it up as an example of a failing of human judgment.

Sentencing by computer algorithm might actually be fairer but people don't like it, a bit like how remote controlled aeroplanes might actually be safer but people on a plane prefer to have someone in charge of it.

10-11-2021, 10:23 AM
Just me?

I concur but only if the Toblerone is plain chocolate. There is very little in the modern world that suggests we are collectively making life better for the majority of citizens. We are all doomed it is the when that is not quite finalised

10-11-2021, 10:39 AM
I concur but only if the Toblerone is plain chocolate. There is very little in the modern world that suggests we are collectively making life better for the majority of citizens. We are all doomed it is the when that is not quite finalised

There are only certain sizes of Toblerone that I can buy without making me angrier though - I like the ones that are the same shape and size (but presumably they've upwardly adjusted the price) but I can't stand the ones with the missing peaks. They drive me mad.

As regards your second point - whilst it can often seem to be that way, this is also a bit of a myth. I started reading a book called "Factfulness" a few years ago which disputes this (I need to get round to finding it and finishing it). The news is full of bad news. This thread is full of misery, therefore we assume that everything is just miserable and crap. The actual truth is that whilst we have issues and problems that are ongoing, many things are getting much better for many people, most of the time and that we are in fact going in the right direction (albeit with bumps in the road). Yes, we could do more, but it's not as bad as most folk think.

Whilst looking up the name of that book, I found this list, which might be of use to some.

https://ideas.ted.com/70-books-to-make-you-feel-hopeful-an-end-of-year-reading-list/

10-11-2021, 11:55 AM
Although it seems weird we never experience anything of the outside world good bad or indifferent. If we did then the same things would make us feel the same way 100% of time. Most stuff comes and goes witnessed as temporary thoughts feelings or perceptions. The mind producing biochemical reactions to the raw data of senses & thought whether they are actually happening or not..It doesn’t know the difference between reality and imagination, how could it.

Starting to explore who we really are, noticing what notices thoughts and feelings, frees us up to enjoy the good things and not get caught up with the bad ������

ps still hate the tories

hibbydog
10-11-2021, 08:11 PM
Actually a very good thread.

I’ve always struggled with winter, and it’s made worse by working from home. The cold wet and dark makes everything a bit gloomier. And relying on booze to de stress or have a laugh just doesn’t work over a long period of time.

I reckon the worst thing you can do on a ***** day is to stay inside. Get wrapped up and get out in it, you feel so much better afterwards.

If Hibs could win a few games, and people in general could stop being *****, that would also help 😎

EI255
14-11-2021, 12:30 AM
Just me?

If it wasn't for 360g bars of Toblerone...Is that dark or milk Toblerone?

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-11-2021, 11:50 AM
In the same boat... Hibs are *****, politics is *****, beer is pish water, skint, weathers rotten, can't be arsed going golfing and probably won't get out until march now, telly is depressing, new music? Nah.

Genuinely just can't be ****ed with anything the now, living to work ATM and with the throbbers I deal with, that's hardly helping 😁

14-11-2021, 12:56 PM
In the same boat... Hibs are *****, politics is *****, beer is pish water, skint, weathers rotten, can't be arsed going golfing and probably won't get out until march now, telly is depressing, new music? Nah.

Genuinely just can't be ****ed with anything the now, living to work ATM and with the throbbers I deal with, that's hardly helping 😁

Much better Beer is one of the only positive developments of recent times. Remember when ‘imported beer’ meant Castlemaine xxxx Fosters and Stella? The quality and choice is way better now.

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-11-2021, 02:51 PM
Much better Beer is one of the only positive developments of recent times. Remember when ‘imported beer’ meant Castlemaine xxxx Fosters and Stella? The quality and choice is way better now.

https://www.tesco.com/groceries/en-GB/products/300534514

https://kaygees.co.uk/product/lucky-buddha-lucky-beer-lucky-buddha-330ml-bottle/#

Give these a try, only beer I've been drinking recently

Logie Green
14-11-2021, 04:16 PM
If I feel a wee bit down on life I watch five minutes of Eastenders then I realise things could be a lot worse.

14-11-2021, 05:55 PM
Have just read about Bertie Auld, I've thought that there seems to have been so many 'famous' losses over the past year an a half, most I might add not attributed to covid.

Not sure if it's my age, a free bus pass beckons in 5 years time , but defo feels like it's accelerated :-(

22-11-2021, 12:10 PM
We're still going to hell in a handcart, but the world's a wee bit brighter today for some reason. :wink:

22-11-2021, 04:37 PM
We're still going to hell in a handcart, but the world's a wee bit brighter today for some reason. :wink:

The Future's Bright... The Future's Green and White!

23-11-2021, 08:59 AM
Keep busy. A happy man is a busy man.

(A busy man is not necessarily happy though - not if you hate your job.)

23-11-2021, 04:06 PM
Keep busy. A happy man is a busy man.

(A busy man is not necessarily happy though - not if you hate your job.)

This is absolutely it. I'm looking out a new project to do in my spare time and keep me busy and working towards an end goal. When you have something to enthuse and motivate you a lot of the negative noise tends to fade away.