View Full Version : What else you gonna do on a Saturday?

04-11-2021, 07:42 AM
So where’s everybody heading for their football fix this weekend. It’s Forfar v Elgin City for me to cheer on the away side, my hometown team when I was growing up. Plus the Bridies on sale at Station Park rival Killie Pies for the best half time treat in Scotland. :thumbsup:

04-11-2021, 07:56 AM
Edinburgh Tartan Army 25th anniversary at The Old Dr Bells. The third attempt to put the event on. (We’re actually 26 now). I’m thinking a wee leith pub crawl before hand with a couple of coupons for entertainment.

04-11-2021, 08:03 AM
I thought about going to watch Queens Park play East Fife but, sadly, the game's been moved to Firhill and I'm far too lazy to drive the five miles over there to watch it.

04-11-2021, 08:09 AM
Got a lads day/night out planned in town.

04-11-2021, 08:44 AM
Idle Saturdays are when I realise it’s not a football fix I need, it’s Hibs.

Will maybe take (drag) the kids out on an Autumn walk and cook a Saturday dinner.

Will take a look at results at 5.45 to see where we find ourselves so that minute or so will be as much football as I need this weekend.

04-11-2021, 09:15 AM
Climbing Saturday. Aberdeen away Sunday (youth football)

04-11-2021, 09:21 AM
Dance show 🕺💃

😮

04-11-2021, 09:46 AM
I’ll probably go the womens match on Sunday.

04-11-2021, 10:12 AM
I think I will watch the Hearts v Dundee Utd match on TV.
Size up two of our rivals again.
Will Hearts be punchless again if they don't have Boyce again?
Are Dundee Utd the real deal?
A draw would be nice seeing as it does the third point going down the drain.

04-11-2021, 10:15 AM
Idle Saturdays are when I realise it’s not a football fix I need, it’s Hibs.

Will maybe take (drag) the kids out on an Autumn walk and cook a Saturday dinner.

Will take a look at results at 5.45 to see where we find ourselves so that minute or so will be as much football as I need this weekend.

You could listen to The Fall and look back on old times and the naughty little man that was Mark E Smith

JXM73
04-11-2021, 10:20 AM

Things must be desperate

04-11-2021, 10:30 AM
East of Scotland league for me on Saturday, Kirkcaldy & Dysart F. C. v Craigroyston F. C. at Pennman Park, looking forward to it.

04-11-2021, 10:46 AM
So where’s everybody heading for their football fix this weekend. It’s Forfar v Elgin City for me to cheer on the away side, my hometown team when I was growing up. Plus the Bridies on sale at Station Park rival Killie Pies for the best half time treat in Scotland. :thumbsup:
Remember and visit the Free state of New Elgin and pay homage..... :greengrin

hibby rae
04-11-2021, 11:50 AM

Vs Glasgow City at the Spaghettihad - 1pm.

hibby rae
04-11-2021, 11:51 AM
Things must be desperate

"I hate women's football and must let everyone know"

04-11-2021, 11:54 AM
Dance show [emoji1739][emoji126]

[emoji50]I hope your performance goes well

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

04-11-2021, 01:23 PM
Things must be desperate

You should maybe go. A wee bit education is great for the mind.

04-11-2021, 01:28 PM

Snap.

My bairn has loved our last couple of trips to the women's games. All the players are dead approachable and great with the kids.

Really good day out.

04-11-2021, 01:30 PM
You should maybe go. A wee bit education is great for the mind.

I could be wrong but I don't think he was being serious.

04-11-2021, 01:35 PM
Christmas shopping at craft fairs in Blair Atholl and Dundee.

04-11-2021, 02:07 PM
I hope your performance goes well

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Elvis jumpsuit still fits...

04-11-2021, 03:28 PM
Elvis jumpsuit still fits...
It’s a 10 from Len……………….er Lex.

StevieT
04-11-2021, 03:52 PM
Think I might take in the Montrose v Cove Rangers game. Forfar v Elgin is closer but not been to Montrose for a while.

The dalmeny
04-11-2021, 03:52 PM
Eof S game

The Veteran
04-11-2021, 03:53 PM
Get pished. :aok:

KdyHby
04-11-2021, 07:33 PM
East of Scotland league for me on Saturday, Kirkcaldy & Dysart F. C. v Craigroyston F. C. at Pennman Park, looking forward to it.

5 minutes walk from my house, but going to Hill of Beath v Musselburgh

04-11-2021, 07:43 PM
Weathers to be **** do I think I won’t be doing a whole lot. Hame made soup and soccer saturday or see what Fitba is available in the fire stick.

Franck Le God
04-11-2021, 08:03 PM
Edinburgh Tartan Army 25th anniversary at The Old Dr Bells. The third attempt to put the event on. (We’re actually 26 now). I’m thinking a wee leith pub crawl before hand with a couple of coupons for entertainment.

Might see you there mate, looking forward to it

drummondst34
04-11-2021, 08:19 PM
Should have been going to the game at Livi

Now going to the FA Cup 1st round game , York City v Buxton . Hopefully a cup shock ,with a Buxton win.
Lived in Buxton 71-79 . They did have Martin McIntosh, as manager a few years back.
Away end & more sold out for this at the new ground , 1,200 Bucks fans will be there.

Drummond St:thumbsup:

PolmontHibby
04-11-2021, 08:25 PM
"Whisky Social" at Falkirk Town Hall, then betting on Breeders Cup racing.

Drinking and gambling what could possibly go wrong.

04-11-2021, 08:26 PM
Kelso Races

04-11-2021, 08:33 PM
Remember and visit the Free state of New Elgin and pay homage..... :greengrin

New Elgin is a state all right. :greengrin

04-11-2021, 08:41 PM
Watch the English prem on screen. Manchester derby.

04-11-2021, 08:52 PM
Get a good night's sleep - live in the Philippines now +8 hours from Scotland.

Just_Jimmy
04-11-2021, 09:02 PM
Manchester Derby. Pub after for a couple then home to watch Scotland Rugby and finishing with a take a way.

No Hibs to ruin it either and yet it'll feel empty.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

04-11-2021, 09:54 PM
Wee man #3s birthday party.

Wee man #1 was due to go to the game as well, but he'll just have to deal with it.

04-11-2021, 10:52 PM
New Elgin is a state all right. :greengrin

Aw hey now, enough of that talk ya Bishopmill mongrel 😁

04-11-2021, 11:34 PM
Snap.

My bairn has loved our last couple of trips to the women's games. All the players are dead approachable and great with the kids.

Really good day out.

Yeah - my daughter plays in the morning and loves going to the womens games. They engage with the kids after as well - really encourages the kids.

MartinfaePorty
05-11-2021, 07:24 AM
Edinburgh Tartan Army 25th anniversary at The Old Dr Bells. The third attempt to put the event on. (We’re actually 26 now). I’m thinking a wee leith pub crawl before hand with a couple of coupons for entertainment.Have a great night! Gutted I can't go, but it was either that or the Skol Cup anniversary night last week. Unfortunately my missus isn't a football fan, so my offer of taking her along wasn't taken up! Been a member since 1999 as well, but hopefully still be around for the 50th!

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

05-11-2021, 08:01 AM
Manchester Derby. Pub after for a couple then home to watch Scotland Rugby and finishing with a take a way.

No Hibs to ruin it either and yet it'll feel empty.

might wait a while for the Scotland v Australia game, it's on sunday

still a couple of interesting games on the saturday though

05-11-2021, 08:40 AM
Pike Fishing

w pilton hibby
05-11-2021, 08:55 AM
Some Hibs related recommendations

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/get-your-football-fix-this-weekend

Just_Jimmy
05-11-2021, 08:57 AM
might wait a while for the Scotland v Australia game, it's on sunday

still a couple of interesting games on the saturday thoughOf course it is. Means a few more pints. Ha.

I'm up for South Africa game. The reason I didn't get tickets for this the fact it was the Sunday.

Still, good weekend ahead.

05-11-2021, 10:06 AM
Of course it is. Means a few more pints. Ha.

I'm up for South Africa game. The reason I didn't get tickets for this the fact it was the Sunday.

Still, good weekend ahead.

You been to any local rugby league games whilst down in Manchester? I'm a big fan of it.

Think my team play at Swinton and Oldham next season so plenty of options if you ever fancy some decent rugby.

05-11-2021, 10:45 AM
I was going to a gig, that has now been cancelled, as one of the band has tested positive for Coivd.

05-11-2021, 10:46 AM
"Whisky Social" at Falkirk Town Hall, then betting on Breeders Cup racing.

Drinking and gambling what could possibly go wrong.

Drinking and gambling for me too on a wee day out to Dundee. 🍺

05-11-2021, 11:04 AM

Going to Dundee is a gamble and would drive anyone to drink. 😉

Planning to go to the V&A for a craft fair, get some Christmas shopping done.

05-11-2021, 11:27 AM

Said it many times on here but Dundee is a fantastic city.

hibbydog
05-11-2021, 11:35 AM
Going for my flu jab

Gangster

Just_Jimmy
05-11-2021, 11:51 AM
You been to any local rugby league games whilst down in Manchester? I'm a big fan of it.

Think my team play at Swinton and Oldham next season so plenty of options if you ever fancy some decent rugby.I'm not interested in League really. A few of my mates are big Salford, Warrington or St Helens fans. A few follow Wigan.

I've been to Sale a few times which is Union and its a decent set up. Getting there is a pain as there's no parking so it's Shuttle buses from the Trafford centre and it's usual a Friday night which makes it an expensive weekend.

05-11-2021, 11:54 AM
Pike Fishing
Use to love doing that as a teenager, Marnaham Loch in Ayrshire was a favorite for my brother and me, pike and perch. Happy happy days. 🙂

05-11-2021, 11:56 AM
A meal, some drinks and the opera

05-11-2021, 12:48 PM
Climate March and rally then a few beers

05-11-2021, 12:49 PM
I was going to a gig, that has now been cancelled, as one of the band has tested positive for Coivd.

I take it you won’t be bothering with a lottery ticket then. :greengrin

05-11-2021, 12:58 PM
Going to Dundee is a gamble and would drive anyone to drink. 😉

Planning to go to the V&A for a craft fair, get some Christmas shopping done.

I'm going with my old man who likes his Mcewans 80, almost every boozer in Dundee seems to sell it so, it should keep a smile on his face.

nlandsafchibee
05-11-2021, 04:36 PM

Now going to the FA Cup 1st round game , York City v Buxton . Hopefully a cup shock ,with a Buxton win.
Lived in Buxton 71-79 . They did have Martin McIntosh, as manager a few years back.
Away end & more sold out for this at the new ground , 1,200 Bucks fans will be there.

I was at previous round match there.Lovely little ground but a tip .If going by car pay for car park pass in advance from york f c website and print out ticket .The ground is part of a massive shopping centre and they only give you bare 2 free hours on match days .They have cameras and big fines if caught out .Enjoy but dont have the tea its from powder !

drummondst34
05-11-2021, 07:28 PM
I was at previous round match there.Lovely little ground but a tip .If going by car pay for car park pass in advance from york f c website and print out ticket .The ground is part of a massive shopping centre and they only give you bare 2 free hours on match days .They have cameras and big fines if caught out .Enjoy but dont have the tea its from powder !

Cheers ! for this . I am on the train in from Newark & then bus to ground.

05-11-2021, 08:51 PM
Might write a symphony or paint a classic, probably go to the gym though. Might do all three.

05-11-2021, 09:38 PM

I’ll be going watching Buxton on Tuesday funnily enough against Atherton Collieries.

Saturday for me is the aforementioned Collieries against South Shielfs. Bolton v Stockport on Sunday.

06-11-2021, 10:18 AM
I’ll be spending the day scrubbing the house after finding out the bloody cat’s got fleas yesterday. The joys.

06-11-2021, 10:42 AM
Manchester Derby, got some friends up staying so the men are going to watch the football with a roaring fire and beer and the girls want to go out.

See ya! Enjoy the rain!

06-11-2021, 01:15 PM
I think I will watch the Hearts v Dundee Utd match on TV.
Size up two of our rivals again.
Will Hearts be punchless again if they don't have Boyce again?
Are Dundee Utd the real deal?
A draw would be nice seeing as it does the third point going down the drain.

Boyce out again so yes, they probably will be. They rely on him as much as we rely on Boyle.

Weegreenman
06-11-2021, 02:01 PM
Is there a pay at the gate for the away end at Tynie? 😜

eezyrider
06-11-2021, 02:04 PM
I'm playing Fortnite and then off to the pub.

EZ

06-11-2021, 05:42 PM
Get pished. :aok:

Elgin City managed to ruin my Saturday almost as efficiently as Hibs do.......so I'm going with the above now. :greengrin

07-11-2021, 02:26 AM
I’ll be spending the day scrubbing the house after finding out the bloody cat’s got fleas yesterday. The joys.

Serves you right for letting the the cat wander into Gorgie to s**g the locals.....:greengrin

TheHarpy76
07-11-2021, 05:40 AM

Not sure if you’re aware of this but Pets at Home have this thing you can sign up to, where for £5.50 per month, per cat, they send out a monthly flea treatment. You pay by direct debit. Our two have never been bothered by fleas since we started doing it. Definitely worth the money.