View Full Version : Free kicks specialist
03-11-2021, 12:01 PM
In your time watching the Hibees, who do you consider to be the better free kick specialists. I'm not talking about the ones who score a screamer once in a while. I'm thinking about those that you had faith that when they stood up they would score or at least make the goalkeeper have to save it.
To be honest, can't remember that many. Sauzee is probably top of the list. If I recall correctly, Ally McLeod was pretty decent. Deeks is probably the best in recent seasons, but not many. I'm not including Mallan on my list as I don't think he was as reliable as the others mentioned.
Anyone else?
03-11-2021, 12:03 PM
Ally MacLeod.
Seem to remember him scoring from one, being made to retake it, and scoring again.
Thought he was a great player.
03-11-2021, 12:04 PM
Griffiths
03-11-2021, 12:12 PM
Riordan.
03-11-2021, 12:13 PM
Griffiths
03-11-2021, 12:18 PM
One of our current weaknesses.
Nisbet is probably the best but he is pretty wooden.
Last natural was Mallan but that didn't last long.
03-11-2021, 12:22 PM
In your time watching the Hibees, who do you consider to be the better free kick specialists. I'm not talking about the ones who score a screamer once in a while. I'm thinking about those that you had faith that when they stood up they would score or at least make the goalkeeper have to save it.
To be honest, can't remember that many. Sauzee is probably top of the list. If I recall correctly, Ally McLeod was pretty decent. Deeks is probably the best in recent seasons, but not many. I'm not including Mallan on my list as I don't think he was as reliable as the others mentioned.
Anyone else?
That was more than 10 years ago.
03-11-2021, 12:28 PM
Kujabi
https://youtu.be/8Qk_ucUIwws
03-11-2021, 12:49 PM
Kujabi
Still remember it like it was yesterday. Amazing.
03-11-2021, 12:53 PM
Joe McBride jnr.
03-11-2021, 01:11 PM
Mallan is probably the best exponent of them that I've seen play for us
03-11-2021, 01:24 PM
Ally MacLeod.
Seem to remember him scoring from one, being made to retake it, and scoring again.
Remember Jimmy O'Rourke doing the same at Easter Rd, cannot remember the team we played against, but he scored so many from free kicks. He could hit the ball like a Brazilian at times, brilliant and way ahead of most players of the day.
Spudster
03-11-2021, 01:26 PM
Scoring free kicks are abit fancy. I'd just settle for retaining possession at throw ins!
03-11-2021, 01:29 PM
Scoring free kicks are abit fancy. I'd just settle for retaining possession at throw ins!
You may have to wait a wee while at least until we can get a throw in specialist in to show them how it's done.
03-11-2021, 01:42 PM
Remember Jimmy O'Rourke doing the same at Easter Rd, cannot remember the team we played against, but he scored so many from free kicks. He could hit the ball like a Brazilian at times, brilliant and way ahead of most players of the day.
Yeh mind jimmy bending one around the wall against Aberdeen at Easter road and also at cappielow against Morton but other than that can’t remember anymore but sure they were.
03-11-2021, 01:52 PM
Kujabi
And he looks so surprised that he didn’t connect too well with it😂
03-11-2021, 01:58 PM
Griffiths followed by Mallan and none after that worth much of a mention. Nisbet scored with his first and has been very poor since. When Ryan Porteous is taking free kicks centrally from 20 ish yards you know you have a weakness in your squad especially when the ball travels slower than what it would in one of his tackles. Given the amount of fouls we get in the opposition third from Boyle getting hacked down it is an area we should profit more from,
JammyDoidger
03-11-2021, 02:05 PM
Wee Zemmama had a bit
It was against Falkirk when he worked in the Hibs club I asked him I think he took it three times the first hit the bar, he scored the second and the ref made him take it again and he scored again. We got the goal.
Zorro
03-11-2021, 02:07 PM
Kujabi
I still can't read his name without a shudder going down my spine... :boo hoo:
03-11-2021, 02:08 PM
Ally MacLeod.
Me too.
I think it was on his birthday he did that.
May have been against St Midden but my memory..................
03-11-2021, 02:13 PM
Gary Caldwell scored as many free kicks for Hibs as Mallan.
Riordan easily best we've had in last 15 years. He must've scored at least 10.
03-11-2021, 02:13 PM
Griffiths is the best I've seen play for us. Honourable mentions to big Franck and Deek.
03-11-2021, 02:17 PM
Griffiths is the best I've seen play for us. Honourable mentions to big Franck and Deek.
Best by a long way for me.
pedroorange1875
03-11-2021, 02:28 PM
its only been a problem for 15 years, give it time
03-11-2021, 02:34 PM
It was against Falkirk when he worked in the Hibs club I asked him I think he took it three times the first hit the bar, he scored the second and the ref made him take it again and he scored again. We got the goal.
That's the one I was thinking about could not remember the team but should have realised it was against them, they were a stuffy team to play against and gave Hibs some difficult games, ref assisted or not.
Thanks
03-11-2021, 03:55 PM
Riordan
Griffiths
Mallan
Sauzee
Zemmama
All fantastic and dealy with a free kick. Privileged to have watched them and they all scored some absolute rakers of free kicks!
Riordan
Griffiths
Mallan
Sauzee
Zemmama
All fantastic and dealy with a free kick. Privileged to have watched them and they all scored some absolute rakers of free kicks!
These would be my choice, all fantastic free kick takers, we could do with one of them now.
03-11-2021, 04:42 PM
Deeks
Griffiths
Mallan
Sauzee
McBride ( Junior)
03-11-2021, 08:07 PM
It was against Falkirk in a League Cup tie.
The goalkeeper was Dennis Devlin who IIRC was Jimmy's cousin.
03-11-2021, 09:25 PM
Me too.
I think it was on his birthday he did that.
May have been against St Midden but my memory..................
Definitely Dundee.
04-11-2021, 09:27 AM
Pat Quinn could float one. Griffiths in recent years I suppose.
Nevi_SOL
04-11-2021, 09:38 AM
Fabian Yantorno
04-11-2021, 10:47 AM
Definitely Dundee.
Better memory than me!
Cracking goal to see.
04-11-2021, 10:58 AM
Another kind of special kick 21 years tomorrow:
https://youtu.be/X4BDhwReAIc
04-11-2021, 11:01 AM
Not Hibs but i felt for defenders in the wall back in the 90's when Jorg Albertz was running up. Don't know if i'm imagining it but seem to recall an East Fife player taking an Albertz shot right in the crown jewels. Hardest shot i've ever seen.
04-11-2021, 11:03 AM
Not Hibs but i felt for defenders in the wall back in the 90's when Jorg Albertz was running up. Don't know if i'm imagining it but seem to recall an East Fife player taking an Albertz shot right in the crown jewels. Hardest shot i've ever seen.
I remember Jim Hamilton (Hearts/Aberdeen?) lining up in a wall against an Albertz free-kick. The TV camera caught him saying to Albertz "no hard!"
04-11-2021, 11:06 AM
I remember Jim Hamilton (Hearts/Aberdeen?) lining up in a wall against an Albertz free-kick. The TV camera caught him saying to Albertz "no hard!"
04-11-2021, 11:26 AM
Fabian Yantorno
Another Mixu player that had about 2 games and was then deemed not good enough.
Gloucester Hibs
04-11-2021, 11:38 AM
Mallan hit some ridiculous free kicks at the PBS, never scored but clipped the woodwork and forced good saves. He was our last free kick specialist I’d say.
04-11-2021, 11:42 AM
Riordan
Griffiths
Mallan
Sauzee
Zemmama
Aye that list will do for me too :aok:
Mallan's run may not have lasted that long but I do remember saying not long after he joined that it felt like getting a penalty when we were getting free kicks around the edge of the box. He looked lethal for a spell.
Prof. Shaggy
04-11-2021, 05:08 PM
Chic Charney was no bad.
For about a fortnight.
04-11-2021, 08:21 PM
Joe McBride jnr.
2 free kicks at Tynie were sublime.
1875Sean
04-11-2021, 09:17 PM
Wee Zemmama had a bit
Did Zemmama ever score a free kick from us? Great wee player but don’t remember him as a free kick specialist
1875Sean
04-11-2021, 09:22 PM
Did Zemmama ever score a free kick from us? Great wee player but don’t remember him as a free kick specialist
Just looked think he scored one, same time as deek was there, I always thought deek was greedy and took most of them around shooting distance
04-11-2021, 09:30 PM
Sauzee and riordan , not sure if zitelli took any but I’d imagine he would have some dig going by his corners he took
04-11-2021, 10:32 PM
Just looked think he scored one, same time as deek was there, I always thought deek was greedy and took most of them around shooting distance
Derek was a better free kick taker, zemmama wasn’t, would have been down to the manager who took them and Mowbray would say Deek was on free kicks and penalties, Zemmama was a pest who would always try to grab the ball to take them but Derek more than always took them.
05-11-2021, 05:25 AM
Riordan scored more free kicks for Hibs than Mallan, Zemmama and Griffiths combined. Mallan scored 2 I think, Griffiths 2? (obviously one was well in, so I'm gonna give him that) and Zemamma 1?
This video has riordan scoring 9 free kicks and its from a year before he left
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spQ3ihnxWNU
05-11-2021, 05:32 AM
Riordan scored more free kicks for Hibs than Mallan, Zemmama and Griffiths combined. Mallan scored 2 I think, Griffiths 2? (obviously one was well in, so I'm gonna give him that) and Zemamma 1?
I remember Zemmama used to grab the ball and want to take them often, even though they were invariably pish and there was a bit of groaning when he'd take them. He then scored one and it was met with mixed emotions amongst my group of mates as we knew he'd probably end up taking a good few more terrible ones as a result over the subsequent months.
Riordan was the best for me, especially from fairly close in.
It's funny how you erase out the rubbish ones and remember the good ones. I remember there not being much middle ground with Sauzee - he scored his fair share of peaches but history has edited out the fact that he was no stranger to duffing them into the wall, which was often met with grumbles of disapproval.
It would be interesting to know each player's strike rate from free kicks, taking into consideration the ones that weren't scored. Riordan would strike me as being the most ruthless, by a country mile tbh.
05-11-2021, 06:46 AM
Another Mixu player that had about 2 games and was then deemed not good enough.
Was he ever fit for us?
05-11-2021, 06:49 AM
Was he ever fit for us?
No, he had a long term injury, so never got much game time at all….never recovered from it either.
05-11-2021, 07:07 AM
Pa Kujabi
05-11-2021, 08:28 AM
Pa Kujabi
Scored a belter as a trialist for QPR in a friendly after he left us to be fair
05-11-2021, 08:45 AM
Scored a belter as a trialist for QPR in a friendly after he left us to be fair
Do we have to mention this name on here. Why did we end up with this mug.
05-11-2021, 08:48 AM
Gary Caldwell scored as many free kicks for Hibs as Mallan.
No he didn't :rolleyes:
The lengths you will go to back up your disdain for Mallen are quite something.
05-11-2021, 08:48 AM
Can remember Zemamma scoring free kicks against Gretna and Aberdeen at ER in the Collins/Mixu season. Both peaches, IIRC.
Riordan and Sauzee the most confident I felt with free kicks though. Griffiths could be excellent too, that free kick goal that wasn't would have been one of the greatest derby goals ever, just as his one at Tynie in the next game was.
Mallan was a real threat also.
05-11-2021, 08:49 AM
My Order would be:
Griffiths
McLeod
Riordan
Mallan
Sauzee
There was a period of a few months where Mallan was incredible though, you just knew he was going to score.
05-11-2021, 09:12 AM
My Order would be:
Griffiths
McLeod
Riordan
Mallan
Sauzee
There was a period of a few months where Mallan was incredible though, you just knew he was going to score.
Mallan had a very strong start, but he raised the bar as a result to a place that was always going to make it a challenge to satisfy folk and it would be disappointing when he didn't score.
Towards the end of his time with us he went a few years without scoring, although I don't remember him either playing much or taking many.
05-11-2021, 10:23 AM
Joe McBride scored a few rakers in the 80s did he not? Couple against Hearts maybe? He scored a winner for Dundee in a dundee derby from a free kick as well so assuming he was decent at them.
Edit. Just saw he's been mentioned already!
Ally MacLeod.
Was this not against Celtic at the away end? Popped it in the top corner, ordered to retake, popped it in the opposite top corner.
RoscoHibby
05-11-2021, 11:20 AM
This video is ridiculous! Really is, actually laughing at how good some of them were! So many on his ‘weaker’ left foot as well…what a strike that laddie had on him!
And yeah, far and away most scored free kicks in living memory.
05-11-2021, 12:34 PM
No he didn't :rolleyes:
The lengths you will go to back up your disdain for Mallen are quite something.
Sorry, you're right. Forgot Mallan scored one away in the Faroes. Beats Caldwell by 1 in about 100 more attempts. A true specialist :wink:
I don't distain Mallan. Just a poor footballer is all.
Gloucester Hibs
05-11-2021, 01:19 PM
Zemmama scored at least 3. Two at home against Gretna and Aberdeen, and one away at Motherwell (his best game for us IMO).
05-11-2021, 01:50 PM
Zemmama scored at least 3. Two at home against Gretna and Aberdeen, and one away at Motherwell (his best game for us IMO).
You're right, one away at Motherwell does ring a bell, think we won 3-1. Was going by what had been said about him in the thread previously.
05-11-2021, 06:30 PM
Sorry, you're right. Forgot Mallan scored one away in the Faroes. Beats Caldwell by 1 in about 100 more attempts. A true specialist :wink:
I don't distain Mallan. Just a poor footballer is all.
Mallan scored at least 4 quality free kicks for Hibs.
And you think Mallan had over 100 free kick shots at goal for us? Come on, give it a rest.
You should stop confidently blurting out stats if you are just going to make them up.:wink:
05-11-2021, 06:50 PM
Just watching him playing for Empoli on BT just now and reminded me that Liam Henderson scored a couple of free kicks for us. Wasn’t just corners he hit.
05-11-2021, 07:01 PM
Just watching the Riordan video - that 30 yard free kick at Falkirk is alongside Griffiths at the piggery in 2013 as the best I've seen by a Hibs player.
05-11-2021, 07:48 PM
And you think Mallan had over 100 free kick shots at goal for us? Come on, give it a rest.
You should stop confidently blurting out stats if you are just going to make them up.:wink:
Yeah, 2 against the Faroes side, Kilmarnock and Motherwell. Then nothing for 2.5 years.
I'm obviously exaggerating on 100 shots, but he lived off a purple patch for far too long. That Kilmarnock one is the last one he scored at all.
I'm happy to be shown I'm wrong. I don't make stuff up, I back myself up pretty well. Difficult to find free kick data for Hibs though. Simply forgot the 2 against runavik because those games had so many goals. If we ever go down again and play against part time sides regularly he'd be a great signing.
As I say, quite easily I admit I'm wrong. It's others that get salty and take threads off topic.
Magpie
05-11-2021, 09:24 PM
He scored a stunning free kick against us at Easter Rd for St Mirren.
05-11-2021, 09:27 PM
Ron's applied to the SFA to consider special teams NFL style to be introduced for freekicks and corners. As well as the 1 foot hotdog at our food outlets.
05-11-2021, 09:51 PM
Ron's applied to the SFA to consider special teams NFL style to be introduced for freekicks and corners. As well as the 1 foot hotdog at our food outlets.
We're goosed, no one who can get a free kick on target and not a hope of ever getting a hot dog right.
Could we just give everyone a hot dog when we score direct from a free kick?
05-11-2021, 10:24 PM
Aye that list will do for me too :aok:
Mallan's run may not have lasted that long but I do remember saying not long after he joined that it felt like getting a penalty when we were getting free kicks around the edge of the box. He looked lethal for a spell.
Thought exactly the same when Mallan first came to the club. His goal against Hertz from about 30 yards when he lost 2-1 at ER was a brilliant strike, though largely forgotten cause we went on to lose.
Riordan though for me was the best for free kicks.
06-11-2021, 12:11 AM
He scored a stunning free kick against us at Easter Rd for St Mirren.
Total peach:agree:
Mallan hit some ridiculous free kicks at the PBS, never scored but clipped the woodwork and forced good saves. He was our last free kick specialist I’d say.
You just felt he could score from anywhere.
Just watching the Riordan video - that 30 yard free kick at Falkirk is alongside Griffiths at the piggery in 2013 as the best I've seen by a Hibs player.
Sauzee free kick at home to Falkirk was a bit special.
06-11-2021, 11:00 AM
Sauzee free kick at home to Falkirk was a bit special.
Good shout, my top 2 has turned into a top 3!
CJHibby
06-11-2021, 11:49 AM
I think every professional football team should have at least one great free kick taker in their team. It should be encouraged to shoot more too from distance. Other than Boyler, who else hits the ball at goal from outside the box? Corners too should be a danger..Liam H deliveries..yes please 🙏
06-11-2021, 12:55 PM
Thanks for some brilliant memories by the way, I still regard him as one of the best players ever to play for Hibs in his 1st spell, and right up there is the one he scored against Hearts when he came in from the left side and gave Gordon no chance (not a free kick obviously).