View Full Version : Scotland Squad for Moldova/Denmark

Pages : 1 [2]

13-11-2021, 06:48 PM
It’s funny how folk see things differently - I really like that midfield. They do different roles and compliment each other really well. Gilmour and McGregor are excellent water carriers and aren’t afraid to go back or sideways if the need arises. Sometimes patience is required. They’re good at wanting to get on the ball from defenders and do what needs done next. The fact that they provide that platform means that we can utilise McGinn’s energy further up the park.

I like that Clarke has finally found a way to turn a mixture of limited players and out of position players into a stingier back line.

My main criticisms would be the lack of quality we have up front. If we had a top class striker we’d actually have a team that could look good.

That plus the fact that Craig Gordon is performing but getting on a bit. There’s not much in reserve there and he’s made some pretty solid contributions in recent games. If he decides to call it a day any time soon then we might be a good bit weaker in a key position.

Good post which I agree with.
Re Gordon. Hopefully the new Rangers manager will kick McGregor (40 in January) to the side and get McLaughlin in goal. He is 34 and is likely to be Gordons successor so needs to be their number 1 to prove he is the best we have.
As others have said we are just a top level striker away from a dangerous team. We need to dig deep to find Harry McKane. Adams and Dykes are a start but we need another. A Brazilian dude with a Scottish granny.

13-11-2021, 08:51 PM
Yep, really good last night especially with all these players out, forget how poor Moldova were, we always struggle away against opposition like that.

As for Gilmour he wasn't great in the first half but excellent in the 2nd and I'm amazed how anyone could criticise his performance, he's as comfortable on the ball as any Scotland player from the last God knows how many years. This is international football and possession is key, it's something we haven't enjoyed much of over the years and it's cost us dear.

We are getting there but we'll always fall short without a top level striker.

Gilmour is bound to take time to get into a game given how seldom he has been playing. He ,Patterson and McGinn showed good understanding of each others games I thought.

13-11-2021, 11:22 PM
Receiving a ban for two bookings over a 10 game campaign is incredible. To continue it over into the play off games is ridiculous.

13-11-2021, 11:33 PM
Receiving a ban for two bookings over a 10 game campaign is incredible. To continue it over into the play off games is ridiculous.

It's massively unfair on small countries like Scotland who have small numbers of elite players available for selection.

14-11-2021, 03:44 AM

The disciplinary system has been ridiculously stupid for years and years now. Horribly out of date and needs revamped completely....

14-11-2021, 08:09 AM

Agree especially given a full on semi final will likely result in some bookings. Ridiculous system designed to suit bigger teams.

14-11-2021, 10:07 AM
Ralston called up to replace Patterson

14-11-2021, 01:25 PM
Ralston called up to replace Patterson

He's had a very good season for Celtic TBF so deserves his chance.

14-11-2021, 01:27 PM
NO McTominay tomorrow night.

14-11-2021, 01:38 PM
Draw for the play offs is on Friday 26th November, 4pm

14-11-2021, 02:06 PM
Weirdly I have the feeling that we're a team who have the potential to create a major upset here or there. The midfield three is excellent, Tierney and Robertson are world class players, Gordon is still a fantastic goalie and Lyndon Dykes is on form at international level.

I'm not saying I'm confident about the playoffs but I wouldn't write us off if we get an easier draw for the semi final either.

andrew70
14-11-2021, 07:14 PM
Porto potentially getting a call up

14-11-2021, 07:18 PM

Just seen that

14-11-2021, 07:19 PM

Confirmed.

14-11-2021, 07:20 PM

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211114/375885b413a0428104e45489769a0b4f.png

[emoji122]

14-11-2021, 07:21 PM
That’s not half a late call up. Hopefully does him some good.

Paul1642
14-11-2021, 07:35 PM
Delighted for him.

14-11-2021, 07:44 PM
That’s not half a late call up. Hopefully does him some good.

Would maybe suggest a late injury

14-11-2021, 07:48 PM
Eat your heart out, Slippy.:greengrin

14-11-2021, 08:25 PM
Would maybe suggest a late injury

McTominay out.

14-11-2021, 09:13 PM
Would like to see Ryan and Souttar playing together maybe not this match though. Hope he gets some game time. Can't remember the last time we had so many internationals in our team. Must be doing something right.

Dr What If?
15-11-2021, 10:58 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211114/375885b413a0428104e45489769a0b4f.png

[emoji122]

Ryan Porteous giving blood, sweat and tears to protect Craig Gordon's goal......international football is a funny thing :greengrin

15-11-2021, 11:04 AM
Does anyone know Denmark's star players? Who should we be watching out for?

15-11-2021, 11:58 AM

Here's a pretty good summary of the Danes by Martin Watt, you'll find info on their best players near the bottom of the article.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/59168351

15-11-2021, 12:00 PM
Atmosphere should be great tonight. Canni wait :hyper

15-11-2021, 12:04 PM
All of them
:cb

15-11-2021, 12:09 PM
Here's a pretty good summary of the Danes by Martin Watt, you'll find info on their best players near the bottom of the article.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/59168351

Thanks. Seems to be a team who work together and have a couple of stars. I remember us being outclassed in the first game but couldn't remember much about them.

15-11-2021, 01:28 PM
Going to Hampden tonight. Can't wait.

15-11-2021, 01:41 PM
And we're off. Bring on the Danes.:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag

15-11-2021, 07:25 PM
Thoroughly deserved lead, I think we've been immense this half and it's taken Denmark by surprise, no sitting back now, keep up this tempo.

15-11-2021, 07:31 PM
Ht 1-0

15-11-2021, 07:34 PM
HT Poland 0 Hungary 1

mon the Magyars

15-11-2021, 07:55 PM
great save Gordon, flag went up though

offside

Danes Double Sub

15-11-2021, 08:06 PM
Poland 1 Hungary 1

15-11-2021, 08:07 PM
Outtsanding display from Scotland tonight.

This is against a top team as well. We seem to be hitting our stride at a good time.

15-11-2021, 08:07 PM
Denmark unbeaten in Qualifying games since 2016

15-11-2021, 08:10 PM
Adams been superb. Same the other night, it’s just his finishing that is lacking.

15-11-2021, 08:11 PM
Adams been superb. Same the other night, it’s just his finishing that is lacking.

His best game for Scotland tonight ..link up play outstanding

15-11-2021, 08:12 PM
20 mins remaining :worried:

15-11-2021, 08:14 PM
Really love this Scotland team. Dripping with character, and vitally, plenty of quality in there too.

15-11-2021, 08:15 PM
McLean coming on for Gilmour

15-11-2021, 08:17 PM
fallen out of it a tad here

13+ mins

McKenna for....Robertson

Armstrong for...Christie

15-11-2021, 08:19 PM
Danes coming back into it. They’re getting more possession and will be dangerous for the last 15 minutes. We are definitely tiring.

15-11-2021, 08:22 PM
another Double change for the Danes

15-11-2021, 08:24 PM
i hate us defending more and more

83 mins

Poland 1 Hungary 2 ;)

draw will do us

15-11-2021, 08:26 PM
denmark coming closer

15-11-2021, 08:27 PM
yasssssssssssssssssssssss :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

15-11-2021, 08:30 PM
ooooooohh nearly a 3rd

15-11-2021, 08:32 PM
Fantastic stuff.

Surely no one can have any complaints about this. We have come back from the dead in this group, won 6 in a row and now beat a team ranked 10th in World and deservedly at that.

15-11-2021, 08:32 PM
i'm buying the DVD

15-11-2021, 08:34 PM
Fantastic stuff.

Surely no one can have any complaints about this. We have come back from the dead in this group, won 6 in a row and now beat a team ranked 10th in World and deservedly at that.

No complaints at all, but Denmark rested more than half their team and that needs to be borne in mind as well.

15-11-2021, 08:35 PM
What was it Fergie said? Fitba eh? Bloody hell...... :greengrin

15-11-2021, 08:36 PM
get in

six out of six

No complaints at all, but Denmark rested more than half their team and that needs to be borne in mind as well.
Shoosh ya miserable git.....

One of the all time great Scotland performances. Loved every minute of that. Superb tempo to our play and defended brilliantly.

What a campaign. Surely there are no more Clark doubters left after tonight?

15-11-2021, 08:37 PM
Who do we want in the play offs?

Turkey or North Macedonia?

15-11-2021, 08:37 PM
the Draw is in Zurich on the 26th this month

15-11-2021, 08:38 PM
Who do we want in the play offs?

Turkey or North Macedonia?

Deffo the latter.

15-11-2021, 08:38 PM
First time Scotland have ever won 6 games in a calendar year apparently.

Anyone who doesn't realise Clarke is a great manager is a complete mug.

15-11-2021, 08:41 PM
just four points behind Denmark

if only
if only
if only

15-11-2021, 08:43 PM
just four points behind Denmark

if only
if only
if only

I suspect they weren't in top gear tonight.

15-11-2021, 08:44 PM
As good as Scotland have played in years. Exceptional performance

15-11-2021, 08:44 PM
Fantastic stuff.

Absolutely. Might even have been that good that the odd strange person that gets kicks out of putting their country down after a Scotland game stay quiet too 😃

Absolutely brilliant to a man. Well done Steve Clarke’s Tartan Army.

That goal that almost was after fine play from McGinn sent a feeling through me that I haven’t got from watching a bit of play in a while.

Roll on the playoffs.

15-11-2021, 08:45 PM
First time Scotland have ever won 6 games in a calendar year apparently.

First time won 6 competitive games in a row since 1930s

15-11-2021, 08:47 PM
Shoosh ya miserable git.....

Hard to be miserable when the whole country is acting like we’re suddenly world beaters because we managed to beat a side missing their entire attacking front six and already qualified…

Ok then,

Yessir, I can boogie etc etc

15-11-2021, 08:52 PM
Can't wait until the next international break.

What.

15-11-2021, 08:52 PM
we owe Czech republic one :cb

or Finland
or North Macedonia
or Wales

high bee
15-11-2021, 08:53 PM

Hard to be miserable when the whole country is acting like we’re suddenly world beaters because we managed to beat a side missing their entire attacking front six and already qualified…

Ok then,

Missing half the team or not I thought our football was sublime. You can only play what’s in front of you and we’ve finished on 23 points. We wouldn’t have been anywhere near a few years ago.

Magpie
15-11-2021, 08:56 PM
we owe Czech republic one :cb

or Finland
or North Macedonia
or Wales

Could be Poland if Wales get at least a point tomorrow.

15-11-2021, 08:56 PM

Ok then,

Might be a few wives getting boogied tonight in celebration :greengrin

15-11-2021, 08:58 PM
Missing half the team or not I thought our football was sublime. You can only play what’s in front of you and we’ve finished on 23 points. We wouldn’t have been anywhere near a few years ago.

We were missing pretty much half a team ourselves which shouldn’t be overlooked. Hendry, Hanley, McTominay, Patterson and Dykes all regular starters for us.

The enforced absence of McTominay has been a blessing in disguise IMO. There is no way he can disrupt the current midfield when the playoffs come round if they’re all available.

Magpie
15-11-2021, 08:59 PM
I suspect they weren't in top gear tonight.

Qualification already wrapped up and a number of usual starters missing, especially in attack. Great performance by Scotland nevertheless. Scraped a last minute winner at home to Israel and and a late winner away to Faroe Islands. I can’t see Scotland progressing into the final if they face a Poland, Czech Republic, Wales or Turkey in the semi final, even at Hampden.

15-11-2021, 09:00 PM

Ok then,

Think you’re a decent poster HB but can’t help thinking you’re on the wrong thread if you’re not that fussed for the national team 😉

Mental that even after nights like this, without fail, people want to come and play Scotland down 😂

15-11-2021, 09:02 PM
Qualification already wrapped up and a number of usual starters missing, especially in attack. Great performance by Scotland nevertheless. Scraped a last minute winner at home to Israel and and a late winner away to Faroe Islands. I can’t see Scotland progressing into the final if they face a Poland, Czech Republic, Wales or Turkey in the semi final, even at Hampden.

If they turn up, battle, and knock the ball about like that I can see us beating any one of them (and anyone else for that matter) at Hampden.

Stairway 2 7
15-11-2021, 09:04 PM
Bunch of self hating sados if you can't be delighted after watching that. Bring on the play offs. Could be too far for us to climb but least we are in the mix again

15-11-2021, 09:05 PM

Ok then,

Get off the thread then?

15-11-2021, 09:06 PM
Think you’re a decent poster HB but can’t help thinking you’re on the wrong thread if you’re not that fussed for the national team 😉

Mental that even after nights like this, without fail, people want to come and play Scotland down 😂

I am slightly fishing I must admit. I love it when the national team does well.

15-11-2021, 09:06 PM

I'd be confident of Scotland beating Wales or Turkey at Hampden.

Poland and Czech Republic not so much.

Stairway 2 7
15-11-2021, 09:08 PM
Would love Wales at Hampden

15-11-2021, 09:08 PM
I am slightly fishing I must admit. I love it when the national team does well.

Ach keep going - happy enough mood to play along and bite tonight 😂🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

15-11-2021, 09:11 PM
John Souttar - absolutely class defender.

Magpie
15-11-2021, 09:12 PM
I'd be confident of Scotland beating Wales or Turkey at Hampden.

Poland and Czech Republic not so much.

Wales are just as good as Poland and Czech Republic. They took 4 points off the Czech’s in their qualifying group. Turkey also have been brilliant over their qualifying campaigns but had a very poor Euro’s.

No game is going to be easy, I think all the unseeded teams will be hoping for Scotland in the Semi Final.

15-11-2021, 09:15 PM
Wales are just as good as Poland and Czech Republic. They took 4 points off the Czech’s in their qualifying group. Turkey also have been brilliant over their qualifying campaigns but had a very poor Euro’s.

No game is going to be easy, I think all the unseeded teams will be hoping for Scotland in the Semi Final.

i was scratching my head at how poor the Czech's were in their two games against wales, especially at home a few weeks back

now i guess maybe wales should possibly get more credit for that, but still..

15-11-2021, 09:15 PM

Have to admit I wasn’t overly enthused at his inclusion tonight (although couldn’t complain as not a McKenna fan and there would be the same arguments if Porto had started) and not quite got the hyper over him.. but he was brilliant tonight. The whole team to a man were great but happy to have Souttar prove me very much wrong tonight.

15-11-2021, 09:16 PM
Have to admit I wasn’t overly enthused at his inclusion tonight (although couldn’t complain as not a McKenna fan and there would be the same arguments if Porto had started) and not quite got the hyper over him.. but he was brilliant tonight. The whole team to a man were great but happy to have Souttar prove me very much wrong tonight.

Deserves to keep his place in the starting 11 from now 👍

15-11-2021, 09:18 PM
Deserves to keep his place in the starting 11 from mow. 👍

Obviously it’ll depend very much on fitness and form come the spring for a number of positions, but the lad has to now be in the conversation aye!

Magpie
15-11-2021, 09:19 PM
i was scratching my head at how poor the Czech's were in their two games against wales, especially at home a few weeks back

now i guess maybe wales should possibly get more credit for that, but still..

Got to the semi final of Euro 2016 and the knockouts of Euro 2020. With players like Bale and Ramsey in your team you are always going to be a threat.

15-11-2021, 09:20 PM
I am Hibs through and through. Its in my DNA. But, I wish we could go back to the days we supported Scotland no matter which club teams the players played for. I mind the days we moaned too many English based players in team.
🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

15-11-2021, 09:23 PM
interesting that in 18 games v Denmark going back to 1951 there's never been a draw

Scotland W--11
Denmark W--7

15-11-2021, 09:23 PM
I am Hibs through and through. Its in my DNA. But, I wish we could go back to the days we supported Scotland no matter which club teams the players played for. I mind the days we moaned too many English based players in team.
🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Most of us still do mate. In the olden days there were less ways for people to broadcast that they don’t care about the national team or were a bit upset when they do well 👍

15-11-2021, 09:32 PM
Over the moon with the performance tonight and especially for the foot soldiers who have followed the National team through thick and thin all over the world without any joy for decades. Magical :saltireflag

15-11-2021, 09:34 PM

You can only play what’s in front of you. Also half our team was out.

I’m enjoying tonight. It’s the closest seven been to a World Cup since 1998.

15-11-2021, 09:37 PM
Will we move up a pot into pot 2 for the Euro 2024 qualifiers?

15-11-2021, 09:37 PM
So good to be enjoying watching Scotland again. The boys were brilliant tonight and only dropping 7 points in a 10 game group is a great return. Hopefully we play like that in the next game or hopefully two.

15-11-2021, 09:38 PM
Remember some people on here not wanting us to pick Che Adams.

15-11-2021, 09:40 PM

Of course it won't be easy, this is the play offs for the World Cup after all. However I reckon Wales' style would suit Scotland especially at Hampden.

I agree all the unseeded teams will want us, we're the weakest seeded team to qualify. I still think Scotland should be confident of beating a couple of the unseeded teams though, at least in the home semi final.

15-11-2021, 09:48 PM
Will we move up a pot into pot 2 for the Euro 2024 qualifiers?

It's too difficult to tell right now, we're currently ranked 24th in Europe and would need to be in the top 20 when the draw is made in October next year.

Abbey Hill 03
15-11-2021, 09:56 PM
I don’t think Souter is any good. Always looks slow to me and not great with the ball at his feet. Sure looked out of place today didnt he.

15-11-2021, 09:59 PM
Remember some people on here not wanting us to pick Che Adams.

I didn’t want us to pick him.

Doesn’t mean I didn’t want him to do well tonight though.

15-11-2021, 10:26 PM
Scotland were very good tonight, regardless of who was missing where. There was an intensity about the desire to compete against a strong side. Gilmour stepped up a gear or two tonight, Mc Ginn was driven and so classy, Adams looked sharp.....everyone of them played their part and Clark got tactics and team selection just right.

, .

15-11-2021, 10:26 PM
So good to be enjoying watching Scotland again. The boys were brilliant tonight and only dropping 7 points in a 10 game group is a great return. Hopefully we play like that in the next game or hopefully two.

When you think how p1sh we were 3 or 4 years back the improvement is immense. Flower of Scotland from the fans in injury time was jaw dropping.

15-11-2021, 11:23 PM
Just back, and what a fantastic night. Che Adams was immense up front as the lone striker, ran his socks off, held the ball well, and scored a cracker. McGinn was a beast, and the defence were up for the battle. More young families up in the top section tonight. Brilliant to see.

15-11-2021, 11:48 PM
Would love Wales at Hampden

Would love to see us beat Portugal at Hampden in the final with Ronaldo tears at the end please.

16-11-2021, 05:23 AM
I have been saying this for donkeys now, we have the makings of a great team here, there are alot of good Scottish players out there, too many folk put our game down, imagine if we had a fraction of the money coming into the game that england or other countries do?
Its great to know when players like McTominay are injured we can uncover gems like Souttar, Paterson and Gilmour, we have quality in this squad.
Great result, well done lads.

patlowe
16-11-2021, 06:18 AM

100%. West Brom's record league finish, two frankly ridiculous years with Killie and now transformed the fortunes of a nation that was almost resigned to failure. Unbelievable stuff.

Yorkshire HFC
16-11-2021, 06:28 AM
Most of us still do mate. In the olden days there were less ways for people to broadcast that they don’t care about the national team or were a bit upset when they do well 👍

I remember Kenny Dalgleish getting slated by Scotland fans - everyone loves him now, but people pick and choose what they remember from the past. The English based players don't care...........

On a slightly different note, with the death of Bertie Auld, it brings home to me how much times have changed. My dad is a Hibs man, but he was always so proud that a team of Scotsmen from Glasgow became the best in Europe - that Ken Buchanan, from just down the road, became World Champion - that Liz McColgan became World Champion etc.

I don't think that nowadays there would be such universal support for someone from Scotlands achievements - look at the critisism Andy Murray has received over the years - well, I suppose he's okay at tennis, but he doesn't smile much does he?

The internet has done many great things, but it's also given a voice to the whinging and negative.

16-11-2021, 06:36 AM

Taking my Green-tinted specs off, both he and Craig Gordon had stellar games. Souttar looked to be struggling after his injuries, but the boy is definitely a player and good to see him bouncing back strongly (even if he is of the maroon persuasion).

16-11-2021, 07:27 AM
Taking my Green-tinted specs off, both he and Craig Gordon had stellar games. Souttar looked to be struggling after his injuries, but the boy is definitely a player and good to see him bouncing back strongly (even if he is of the maroon persuasion).

Be all the sweeter when he leaves on a free at the end of the season.

16-11-2021, 07:37 AM

Agreed 100% - the guy has had some terrible injuries so fair play.

And allowing Gordon to leave must rank as one of the worst decisions ever by Celtic :greengrin

16-11-2021, 07:50 AM
It's too difficult to tell right now, we're currently ranked 24th in Europe and would need to be in the top 20 when the draw is made in October next year.

I think the euros qualifiers are based on nations league placings not world rankings.

Which is why it was so important to win that nations league group last time

16-11-2021, 08:07 AM
Decent game last night.

patlowe
16-11-2021, 08:21 AM
SJM was unbelievable last night - about as good an individual performance as I can remember for Scotland. Even as a biased Hibs fan I have to admit he's surpassing what I thought he was capable of in a national jersey. Think the addition of Gilmour to this team has taken him (and McGregor TBF) to new levels.

16-11-2021, 08:30 AM
SJM was unbelievable last night - about as good an individual performance as I can remember for Scotland. Even as a biased Hibs fan I have to admit he's surpassing what I thought he was capable of in a national jersey. Think the addition of Gilmour to this team has taken him (and McGregor TBF) to new levels.

McGinn and Gilmour are as good a CM pairing as we've had in decades.

16-11-2021, 08:47 AM
McGinn and Gilmour are as good a CM pairing as we've had in decades.

I’d say it’s more McGregor and Gilmour that are the pairing with McGinn just allowed to go and do his thing further up the pitch.

McGregor has been outstanding since Gilmour came in to the team (I thought he was rotten for Scotland prior to that).

Balance between them all is perfect.

16-11-2021, 09:27 AM
I’d say it’s more McGregor and Gilmour that are the pairing with McGinn just allowed to go and do his thing further up the pitch.

McGregor has been outstanding since Gilmour came in to the team (I thought he was rotten for Scotland prior to that).

Balance between them all is perfect.

16-11-2021, 09:45 AM
Can see Souttar and Hanley being our regular partnership going forward. Hanley has proved he's the best centre half we have and Souttar stepped up last night against by far the best team in the group.

16-11-2021, 09:46 AM
I'd say Billy Gilmour is the most naturally talented player I can remember Scotland having. You'd have to go back to James McFadden before him and Gilmour is technically a good bit better IMO.

16-11-2021, 09:48 AM
Can see Souttar and Hanley being our regular partnership going forward. Hanley has proved he's the best centre half we have and Souttar stepped up last night against by far the best team in the group.

Think Hendry will be back in for Souttar in the semi final.

Caveat could be if he decides to accommodate McTominay in the back three as there’s no way he can disrupt the midfield.

16-11-2021, 10:13 AM

Gordon was decent, he took a few catches which is unlike him, and made that outstanding save which he never knew was offside. His kicking though is absolutely dreadful. The one side of his game that really brings him down.

16-11-2021, 10:35 AM

Hopefully both of them move on to other clubs soon.

patlowe
16-11-2021, 10:50 AM
Hopefully both of them move on to other clubs soon.

Imagine Gordon will finish his career there but Hearts will be doing well to get Souttar signed up on a new deal beyond this season. The jambos would be entitled to think another year staying fit for them (and a transfer fee) would suit all parties but given his injury history you couldn't blame him for wanting to start pushing on career wise ASAP.

16-11-2021, 11:07 AM
Be brilliant to see the seethe if Souttar joins Celtic on a pre contract.

16-11-2021, 11:18 AM
Be brilliant to see the seethe if Souttar joins Celtic on a pre contract.

Football fans are fickle. Souttar is 25 and one bad injury away from enforced retirement.

If Celtic (or any other team) can quadruple what he earns at Hearts, he would be insane not to leave - and I would say the same if he was at Hibs.

There are plenty of good footballers (Lewis Vaughan at Raith?) who are ruined by injury. Its a short career in which to make some cash to do you for years.

16-11-2021, 11:37 AM

Cooper deserves to keep his place.

green with envy
16-11-2021, 11:40 AM
Gordon was decent, he took a few catches which is unlike him, and made that outstanding save which he never knew was offside. His kicking though is absolutely dreadful. The one side of his game that really brings him down.

Some undeserved criticism right there. All i've ever seen from Gordon, is making great save after great save. Don't ever remember him conceding a goal due to his kicking.

16-11-2021, 11:44 AM
Have said for a while the importance of Gordon and Souttar for Hearts.

No co-incidence Hearts don't lose many goals.

Souttar has done remarkable to get through 3 achilles snaps to get back to the levels he played last night. Have a feeling he will move on to try get more ££ but would expect Gordon to retire at Hearts. He's 39 years old in December - He could easily play another few seasons for Hearts.

16-11-2021, 11:48 AM
Some undeserved criticism right there. All i've ever seen from Gordon, is making great save after great save. Don't ever remember him conceding a goal due to his kicking.

Undeserved? His distribution is woeful and that’s not something anyone can argue. Keepers generally don’t concede direct from their kicks so that’s a bit daft to say, it does pile pressure on though, and while not kicking, his distribution led to one of his most humiliating moments in a Celtic jersey when he chucked the ball straight to an opposing player in Europe who scored.

16-11-2021, 11:52 AM
Undeserved? His distribution is woeful and that’s not something anyone can argue. Keepers generally don’t concede direct from their kicks so that’s a bit daft to say, it does pile pressure on though, and while not kicking, his distribution led to one of his most humiliating moments in a Celtic jersey when he chucked the ball straight to an opposing player in Europe who scored.

It doesn’t significantly reduce his contribution though..he’s not the best with the ball at his feet, but his goalkeeping skills are so good at the moment, that he is well worth his place in the team. One of our top players at the moment .

16-11-2021, 12:01 PM
It doesn’t significantly reduce his contribution though..he’s not the best with the ball at his feet, but his goalkeeping skills are so good at the moment, that he is well worth his place in the team. One of our top players at the moment .

Again, not said that he isn’t worth his place in the team, there was a point made asking why Celtic let him go though and that’s why. He wouldn’t be at hearts if his distribution was better.

16-11-2021, 12:02 PM
Again, not said that he isn’t worth his place in the team, there was a point made asking why Celtic let him go though and that’s why. He wouldn’t be at hearts if his distribution was better.

I bet they would have wished they could have changed that decision last season ! :).

16-11-2021, 01:42 PM
I bet they would have wished they could have changed that decision last season ! :).

Possibly, but let’s not rewrite history, Gordon made more than his fair share of big errors for Celtic when he was there, probably lucky not to be sent off multiple times for rash decisions.

green with envy
16-11-2021, 01:50 PM
Possibly, but let’s not rewrite history, Gordon made more than his fair share of big errors for Celtic when he was there, probably lucky not to be sent off multiple times for rash decisions.

Deary me, you must be a right bundle eh? Enjoy the present and give past history a rest.

16-11-2021, 02:01 PM
Deary me, you must be a right bundle eh? Enjoy the present and give past history a rest.

Debate happens on online forum shocker!

16-11-2021, 02:15 PM
According to Tom English, the bookings in the group matches carry forward so any of the 8 players getting booked in the playoff semi would (if we won it) miss the final.

Plus bookings against Moldova still count, even though the points against them were discounted when working out the playoff qualifiers/seedings (as I think someone pointed out earlier in the thread). An unfair advantage to the teams who were in a group with 5 teams.

16-11-2021, 02:16 PM
According to Tom English, the bookings in the group matches carry forward so any of the 8 players getting booked in the playoff semi would (if we won it) miss the final.

Plus bookings against Moldova still count, even though the points against them were discounted when working out the playoff qualifiers/seedings (as I think someone pointed out earlier in the thread). An unfair advantage to the teams who were in a group with 5 teams.

Seems rather mental that 2 bookings in 11 games gets a suspension. The teams that qualified through the nations league, is it the nations league bookings or the group stage bookings that carry over?

16-11-2021, 02:17 PM

His performance last night shows why Dean Smith got the heave. Instead of playing to his strengths he's been using him to play much deeper and shore up a terrible defence.

16-11-2021, 02:26 PM
https://editorial.uefa.com/resources/0263-10f46ad3158d-d735f61afd27-1000/fifa_world_cup_2022_preliminary_competition_regula tions-covid19_1_.pdf

FIFA rule

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211116/e3b8049d6bcf4cfe33f22979d71a1695.png

16-11-2021, 04:02 PM
When you think how p1sh we were 3 or 4 years back the improvement is immense. Flower of Scotland from the fans in injury time was jaw dropping.

I'm probably still traumatised by Argentina 1978 but I do think we need a bit of perspective here. Firstly without doubt last night was the finest display by Scotland for very many years & I was delighted with the result. I thought everyone played well with SJM again the standout & I thought Liam Cooper had by far his best game for us. I also believe qualifying now is much harder than in our glory days of the 70's to 90's so again great credit to all concerned. However we don't have to go back 3 or 4 years to remember how pish we were. We were at best decidedly average this summer IMO and we were also dreadful recently in The Faroes & for 45 minutes versus Israel. Having the last 2 winners of the euros in the ballot is also a tad chastening. To give an idea of the challenge ahead, some bookies are offering much longer odds on us winning the WC than they are on several teams who are already out, including NI!! :greengrin
For those who believe we will qualify, decent odds are available, I'll be cheering us on from behind the couch as usual!

PS, for those who believe in omens, last time we qualified we finished 2nd in a 6 team group with 23 points!!

16-11-2021, 04:16 PM

Do you not suspect even slightly that you've put on the green-tinted specs that The Spaceman took off?

Everyone played really well last night, including the two jambos, and I don't think there's any way you'd be finding faults in Gordon's performance if he played for anyone else.

16-11-2021, 04:40 PM
Do you not suspect even slightly that you've put on the green-tinted specs that The Spaceman took off?

Everyone played really well last night, including the two jambos, and I don't think there's any way you'd be finding faults in Gordon's performance if he played for anyone else.

Not at all, his distribution has always been the worst part of his game and played a part in us being under pressure for the last 20 minutes. He was good otherwise, that’s not up for debate. Fairly sure it’s the same reason the Hibs goalkeepers have been slated on here for long enough.

16-11-2021, 05:48 PM
His performance last night shows why Dean Smith got the heave. Instead of playing to his strengths he's been using him to play much deeper and shore up a terrible defence.

16-11-2021, 08:41 PM
Seeded
Portugal
Scotland
Italy
Russia
Sweden
Wales

Unseeded
Poland
Turkey
North Macedonia
Ukraine
Czech Republic
Austria

16-11-2021, 08:44 PM
Seeded
Portugal
Scotland
Italy
Russia
Sweden
Wales

Unseeded
Poland
Turkey
North Macedonia
Ukraine
Czech Republic
Austria

Are the venues for the finals based on seeding/ranking, or the luck of the draw?

16-11-2021, 08:48 PM
Are the venues for the finals based on seeding/ranking, or the luck of the draw?

Seeded at home in the semi, luck of the draw for the finals

16-11-2021, 10:18 PM
There is definitely a chance for the Finals in those teams. I'd fancy us to have a chance against most of the teams we would face in the semi. If we win we could have Wales or an unseeded team in the Final. We need some luck with the draw and then to play like we did last night but it is getting more possible if still a wee bit unlikely

16-11-2021, 10:21 PM
Fifa won’t have Italy and Portugal drawn in the same four. Maybe get in touch with sfa on best methods to warm the balls up

17-11-2021, 04:03 AM
Seeded at home in the semi, luck of the draw for the finals

Seriously, I'm struggling to follow this qualification process. Do we have to win two more games to qualify?

17-11-2021, 05:49 AM

All keepers will have those. They are humans after all. Your tone re Gordon is way too negative. That’s why some are pushing back on you. In last two seasons, with MacGregor playing less, it is inarguable he is the top keeper in our league bar none. His Scotland performances have been nothing short of outstanding too. Critical to our results. It feels like for some reason you are trying hard to prove this is not true - and you are failing at it…

17-11-2021, 05:58 AM
Seriously, I'm struggling to follow this qualification process. Do we have to win two more games to qualify?

Yes there are twelve teams left 6 seeded six unseeded. Three places at World Cup up for grabs. 12 teams split into three groups of 4 made up of two seeded and two unseeded teams. Two semi finals made up of the seeded team being at home to an unseeded team played to a finish. Both winners then play in a final which is drawn to decide the home team.

17-11-2021, 05:59 AM
Fifa won’t have Italy and Portugal drawn in the same four. Maybe get in touch with sfa on best methods to warm the balls up

My thoughts exactly.

17-11-2021, 06:33 AM
Given that it's only 4 days between semi and final I assume the draw for the home team (final) will be done before the semis.

17-11-2021, 06:40 AM
Given that it's only 4 days between semi and final I assume the draw for the home team (final) will be done before the semis.

They are drawn at the same time. We'll know our potential opponents.

17-11-2021, 07:42 AM
Seeded
Portugal
Scotland
Italy
Russia
Sweden
Wales

Unseeded
Poland
Turkey
North Macedonia
Ukraine
Czech Republic
Austria

Apparently Russia and Ukraine can’t be drawn together.

17-11-2021, 07:59 AM
Apparently Russia and Ukraine can’t be drawn together.

And Kosovo and Russia apparently, which surprised me. I believe they have a gripe linked to the #FreeBritney campaign.

I still think Turkey and Poland are the two to avoid from the unseeded pool, I get that recent tournament performances have been disappointing, but just so much quality in both teams.

17-11-2021, 08:45 AM
They are drawn at the same time. We'll know our potential opponents.

I assume therefore the first pairing drawn will have home advantage in the final (regardless of whether the winner is the seeded team or not)

patlowe
17-11-2021, 09:09 AM
If (big if accepted) we play with the intensity of Monday night and our key players are all fit, I'm convinced we should fancy our chances against any of the unseeded teams at a full Hampden - no world beaters in there by any means but also acknowledge that tight games against decent opposition can get away from you if you don't quite hit the levels required or take your chances when they arrive (see the Czech game at the Euros).

I suspect though that we'll know by next Friday if we stand a chance of making it. For example, if we're drawn in Italy or Portugal's path then it becomes nigh on impossible to qualify, not to mention the prospect of an away draw. Fingers crossed.

17-11-2021, 12:44 PM
I assume therefore the first pairing drawn will have home advantage in the final (regardless of whether the winner is the seeded team or not)

I think it’s a random draw after the initial one, as opposed to predetermined, but I could be mistaken.

17-11-2021, 01:22 PM
If (big if accepted) we play with the intensity of Monday night and our key players are all fit, I'm convinced we should fancy our chances against any of the unseeded teams at a full Hampden - no world beaters in there by any means but also acknowledge that tight games against decent opposition can get away from you if you don't quite hit the levels required or take your chances when they arrive (see the Czech game at the Euros).

I suspect though that we'll know by next Friday if we stand a chance of making it. For example, if we're drawn in Italy or Portugal's path then it becomes nigh on impossible to qualify, not to mention the prospect of an away draw. Fingers crossed.

To an extent you are right, but if we get a decent draw in the first round (North Macedonia or Austria for instance) we have a very good chance of progressing to the final game. Then it's a one off, a cup final, we have a well bonded group, who if they get there will have won 7 matches in a row. We would need to play at our very best and have luck on our side, but I believe we could beat any team in a one off match. Maybe only one time in ten goes, but there is always a chance.

17-11-2021, 01:26 PM
I think it’s a random draw after the initial one, as opposed to predetermined, but I could be mistaken.

It's similar to the nations league draw when we knew we'd play Serbia or Norway if we won the semi. We'll know our semi and potential final opponents on the same day.

17-11-2021, 01:28 PM
It's similar to the nations league draw when we knew we'd play Serbia or Norway if we won the semi. We'll know our semi and potential final opponents on the same day.
I must admit I expected us to play Norway rather than Serbia. Shows how anything can happen.

17-11-2021, 01:45 PM

And I would guess we'd know which of the finalists would be at home i.e. the winner of the semi which is drawn out 1st is at home for the final.

17-11-2021, 02:03 PM

I just assumed that the first seeded team out of the hat has the home advantage all the way through in their bracket of four.

Like in the Euro playoffs, we knew that after Israel at Hampden we were travelling to Oslo or Belgrade.

17-11-2021, 02:04 PM
To an extent you are right, but if we get a decent draw in the first round (North Macedonia or Austria for instance) we have a very good chance of progressing to the final game. Then it's a one off, a cup final, we have a well bonded group, who if they get there will have won 7 matches in a row. We would need to play at our very best and have luck on our side, but I believe we could beat any team in a one off match. Maybe only one time in ten goes, but there is always a chance.

See Holland in 2003.

17-11-2021, 02:05 PM
I just assumed that the first seeded team out of the hat has the home advantage all the way through in their bracket of four.

Like in the Euro playoffs, we knew that after Israel at Hampden we were travelling to Oslo or Belgrade.

Yes will definitely know if home or away in the final.

17-11-2021, 02:05 PM
See Holland in 2003.

The first game or second game. :greengrin

17-11-2021, 02:06 PM
I must admit I expected us to play Norway rather than Serbia. Shows how anything can happen.

I had a flight booked to Oslo, before COVID hit.

I paid the Princely sum of £12 return from Stanstead, so it was always worth the punt. Was going to travel with a man bag with a toothbrush in it to save on Ryanair bag fees. Fly out on match day.

As it was I got my money back for a game that never happened.

18-11-2021, 08:54 PM
I was just looking at the players not in the most recent squad, not a terrible team:

Marshall/Kelly

Patterson Hanley Gallagher Considine Taylor

McTominay Jack Fleck

Fraser/Forrest McBurnie

18-11-2021, 09:12 PM
I was just looking at the players not in the most recent squad, not a terrible team:

Marshall/Kelly

Patterson Hanley Gallagher Considine Taylor

McTominay Jack Fleck

Fraser/Forrest McBurnie

Don’t think we will see most of them back in the squad again.

18-11-2021, 11:52 PM
All keepers will have those. They are humans after all. Your tone re Gordon is way too negative. That’s why some are pushing back on you. In last two seasons, with MacGregor playing less, it is inarguable he is the top keeper in our league bar none. His Scotland performances have been nothing short of outstanding too. Critical to our results. It feels like for some reason you are trying hard to prove this is not true - and you are failing at it…

Not at all, huge mistake of Clarke’s not to play his best keeper in the summer. No doubt Gordon is that.

I’m not trying hard at anything, just pointing out he’s not flawless, he was half decent for Celtic, and his distribution is atrocious. The rest of his game is outstanding. His distribution definitely contributed to us being under a lot of pressure second half and we were fortunate that they created very little from that pressure.

Gordon also never played in our league last year, while McGregor played majority of games and was frightening. McGregor has been poor this season and Gordon has been a level above.

19-11-2021, 12:20 AM
Don’t think we will see most of them back in the squad again.
I sincerely hope not with Fleck and even more so with McBurnie. The term donkey was made for him.....

19-11-2021, 12:22 AM
I sincerely hope not with Fleck and even more so with McBurnie. The term donkey was made for him.....

Don't see the likes of Patterson, Gallagher, Considine and Taylor back in again.

19-11-2021, 01:56 AM
Don't see the likes of Patterson, Gallagher, Considine and Taylor back in again.

You are probably correct but in fairness to those four they at least gave their all. McBurnie is one of those players that make me think that whoever gave him a lucrative contract must have been high on drugs. Absolute huddy.....

19-11-2021, 04:32 AM
The only thing stopping Patterson now is lack of game time at club level

Will be interesting to see what GVB makes of him if indeed he is the new Hun Messiah?

19-11-2021, 05:01 AM

I’d agree with this apart from Patterson. We aren’t exactly blessed with RB’s.

19-11-2021, 05:09 AM
The only thing stopping Patterson now is lack of game time at club level

Will be interesting to see what GVB makes of him if indeed he is the new Hun Messiah?

Is he not talking about Calum Patterson?

Nathan Patterson will definitely be back in the squad. He's likely to be Scotland's right back for about the next 10 years.

19-11-2021, 05:29 AM
Is he not talking about Calum Patterson?

Nathan Patterson will definitely be back in the squad. He's likely to be Scotland's right back for about the next 10 years.
My bad

I hate folk that read half a thread :greengrin

Besides Callum Paterson has one t

Nathan Patterson won’t be in any squads anytime soon if he is not playing regular

The same for everyone but the man in possession just now

19-11-2021, 05:31 AM
My bad

I hate folk that read half a thread :greengrin

Besides Callum Paterson has one t

Nathan Patterson won’t be in any squads anytime soon if he is not playing regular

The same for everyone but the man in possession just now

Nathan Patterson will 100% be in the next squad. You can take that to the bank as they say.

19-11-2021, 05:42 AM
Nathan Patterson will 100% be in the next squad. You can take that to the bank as they say.
So you have Nathan Patterson not playing for five months and then you have say Ralston of Celtic playing every week performing well attacking and defending and probably winning the title I know who I would have in my team every day of the week when the chips are down in March

Yes Nathan Patterson should make the next squad

Let’s see what happens ?

As I said it all depends on GVB he might have his own RB and what about Tav ?

19-11-2021, 05:43 AM
Mibbe put a real cheeky wee bid in for him since his contract is coming to an end and hes not a huns regular?

19-11-2021, 06:08 AM
So you have Nathan Patterson not playing for five months and then you have say Ralston of Celtic playing every week performing well attacking and defending and probably winning the title I know who I would have in my team every day of the week when the chips are down in March

Let’s see what happens ?

Patterson every day for me in that comparison

19-11-2021, 06:16 AM

Patterson is a different level entirely to Ralston.

19-11-2021, 07:17 AM
Mibbe put a real cheeky wee bid in for him since his contract is coming to an end and hes not a huns regular?

Everton were considering a bid, I think he’s going to be out of our budget.

19-11-2021, 08:48 PM

Let’s see what happens ?

Ralston can’t defend, as shown when his team play against sides that attack them. Patterson also struggles defensively but is a far better all round player and as has been said, will be our right wing back for years, probably with RamsY as backup.

I’d like to see Patterson go out on loan if he can’t get game time regularly, but he seems to be involved enough not to be sent on loan, but not quite enough to take himself to the top level.

19-11-2021, 10:14 PM
Ralston can’t defend, as shown when his team play against sides that attack them. Patterson also struggles defensively but is a far better all round player and as has been said, will be our right wing back for years, probably with RamsY as backup.

I’d like to see Patterson go out on loan if he can’t get game time regularly, but he seems to be involved enough not to be sent on loan, but not quite enough to take himself to the top level.

I prefer Calvin Ramsay, 2 years younger than Patterson and great at crossing and set pieces.
Good going forward, not so good at defending so similar to Patterson.

20-11-2021, 01:26 AM

I personally think Ramsey will be a back up to no one, he'll make the position is own on merit.

20-11-2021, 07:14 AM
I personally think Ramsey will be a back up to no one, he'll make the position is own on merit.

Certainly huge potential but still very much early days and he will need to go some to be better than Patterson. Hugely promising we are developing a number of young players at present.

20-11-2021, 10:37 AM

Potentially so, Patterson has a head start in that regard and it’s up to Ramsey to move up through the levels but it’ll be a great problem to have. Two outstanding prospects at right back, two outstanding left backs, a midfield a lot of countries could only dream about. Next problem will be finding the next goalkeeper and also finding a natural goal scorer to complement Adams.

20-11-2021, 11:53 AM
Everton were considering a bid, I think he’s going to be out of our budget.

But if you don’t ask you don’t get . He might think regular football & not having to uproot a plus point