View Full Version : Worst decision
CJHibby
01-11-2021, 09:12 PM
With lots of contentious decisions lately, what are the worst ones that come to mind for you? For me personally, two come instantly to mind. Leigh Griffiths disallowed free kick goal v Hearts and a shocker of a non penalty v Falkirk in the playoff for promotion a few years ago when the defender fell and pulled the ball back and no pen was awarded..absolutely astonishing decision ☹
Magpie
01-11-2021, 09:24 PM
Shaw and Forster goals disallowed at Tynie.
01-11-2021, 09:28 PM
Peter Mcloy bringing down colin Campbell in 79
01-11-2021, 09:30 PM
Making us play on Wednesday had got to be up there?
01-11-2021, 09:32 PM
I could see from Sweden that the Leigh Griffiths goal was over the line! But that handball from Falkirk... Oh my.
01-11-2021, 09:42 PM
Ones mentioned are bad but did happen quickly etc.
Worst I've seen in terms of pure decision was in a 2-0 loss to Rangers first championship season. Lee Wallace literally Rugby tackle Hanlon. Hibs players all stopped because it was a clear foul. Kenny Miller scored.
ben johnson
01-11-2021, 09:48 PM
From the Scotsman report on the game :
It was the least Hibs deserved. But Alan Stubbs will have wanted more, particularly given how the game ended. Falkirk escaped after what looked like a blatant handball by McCracken in the second half went unpunished by Muir, who awarded a disputed penalty to Hibs against Falkirk earlier this season.
If I remember correctly McCracken lost the plot and ten seconds or so after the non award then kicked one of our players to the deck and again it was in the box.
Take your pick which one should have been penalised but Muir was just Muir
01-11-2021, 09:50 PM
From the Scotsman report on the game :
It was the least Hibs deserved. But Alan Stubbs will have wanted more, particularly given how the game ended. Falkirk escaped after what looked like a blatant handball by McCracken in the second half went unpunished by Muir, who awarded a disputed penalty to Hibs against Falkirk earlier this season.
If I remember correctly McCracken lost the plot and ten seconds or so after the non award then kicked one of our players to the deck and again it was in the box.
Take your pick which one should have been penalised but Muir was just Muir
I think it was Henderson he tripped.
01-11-2021, 09:52 PM
I miss the good auld days when Willie Miller and Alex McLeish used to referee the games
https://youtu.be/1zlbrNoRrkU
ben johnson
01-11-2021, 09:58 PM
I think it was Henderson he tripped.
I can’t remember who it was.
Craigan put the controversy to bed by summing it up as “ he has to put his hand somewhere “
Houston was raging about the penalty award at the Falkirk Stadium so his rant after that game bore fruit it seems
01-11-2021, 09:58 PM
I miss the good auld days when Willie Miller and Alex McLeish used to referee the games
Roy Aitken was not bad at that gig either…..
01-11-2021, 10:05 PM
That game and the John McDonald dive, two of the worst refereeing performances ever. Leigh Griffiths free kick and the linesman telling Leigh the ball was not over the line ranks up there as well.
Cat Stanton
01-11-2021, 10:14 PM
Not Hibs, but I always remember this one. Watch from about 1 minute 15 seconds. The slow motion replay is the funniest bit.
https://youtu.be/xKuLtLXl7FI
01-11-2021, 10:15 PM
That game and the John McDonald dive, two of the worst refereeing performances ever. Leigh Griffiths free kick and the linesman telling Leigh the ball was not over the line ranks up there as well.
SV Hamburg Joe McBride scored two perfectly good goals right away both disallowed for offside by the far side Lino The Hamburg goalie was allowed to wear a green top Of course we went out not helped by the usually reliable Joe Davis missing a penalty
Carnage in the North Enclosure at the MacDonald dive
Peter Mcloy bringing down colin Campbell in 79The biggy.
Incredulous that it wasn't given. No matter what era the sport has been played in, that was a pen.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
01-11-2021, 10:44 PM
SV Hamburg Joe McBride scored two perfectly good goals right away both disallowed for offside by the far side Lino The Hamburg goalie was allowed to wear a green top Of course we went out not helped by the usually reliable Joe Davis missing a penalty
Carnage in the North Enclosure at the MacDonald dive
Was at the Hamburg game my dad who was a referee he raised this with Tom McNiven who he knew, early in the game. I think Hibs did send a letter to the powers that be but nothing came of it.
JXM73
01-11-2021, 11:39 PM
https://youtu.be/xKuLtLXl7FI?t=75
02-11-2021, 04:36 AM
Was at the Hamburg game my dad who was a referee he raised this with Tom McNiven who he knew, early in the game. I think Hibs did send a letter to the powers that be but nothing came of it.
The Ref was that incompetent that at Full Time he had them changing ends for extra time as he did not understand the ‘away goals’ rule
The HIBS fans and players knew better as they walked off in disgust
How good was Uwe Seeler ?
Sly old fox
02-11-2021, 04:40 AM
Ha Ha !
An absolute stoatir
I remember that well
Les Mottram I think?
I would be all for Goal Line Technology a wee signal to the Ref’s watch would be a start
Ultimate Lauren red card. Shocker.
02-11-2021, 05:30 AM
The penalty and sending off in that cup final was pretty bad.
02-11-2021, 05:53 AM
The penalty and sending off in that cup final was pretty bad.
You forgot this
https://youtu.be/NnyKGHNT7lE
02-11-2021, 05:55 AM
Can remember being in the enclosure that day was absolutely mental. :greengrin
02-11-2021, 05:56 AM
You forgot this
Nothing to see here says the cheat Thompson
02-11-2021, 05:59 AM
Can remember being in the enclosure that day was absolutely mental. :greengrin
Think Aberdeen won 5-1 or 5-0 that day but the Ref gave us absolutely nothing
Great footage of the HIBS fans getting right behind their team
The Enclosure was the place to be great banter
02-11-2021, 06:18 AM
Ones mentioned are bad but did happen quickly etc.
Worst I've seen in terms of pure decision was in a 2-0 loss to Rangers first championship season. Lee Wallace literally Rugby tackle Hanlon. Hibs players all stopped because it was a clear foul. Kenny Miller scored.
Clear evidence of play to the whistle. My 10 year old knows that.
Funny, the OP hits the nail on the head my two.
Two that VAR and Hawkeye would have pinged within 30 seconds.
02-11-2021, 06:23 AM
Balde's elbow on Paul Fenwick. Play on :rolleyes:
02-11-2021, 07:50 AM
Neil berry assault on Paul wright , not even a booking, and agree the Falkirk non penalty.
02-11-2021, 09:03 AM
1968 Shocking tackle by John Yogi Hughes Celtic on Bobby Duncan who was stretchered off with a broken leg
Not even booked
02-11-2021, 09:09 AM
Perfect view of it Balde already booked Hibs 1 up staggeringly corrupt decision. Pretty sure that was our friend Freeland. Was that in Sauzees time? Huge difference in confidence if we win that.
02-11-2021, 09:11 AM
Leigh’s free kick out that was a yard and over the line🤔
PolmontHibby
02-11-2021, 09:14 AM
worst decision ever has to be allowing at very short notice a newly created club to parachute in to the 3rd division in 2012.
should have started off in the juniors like anyone else.
02-11-2021, 11:32 AM
VAR will sort it all out!
The van behind the stand had a power cut?
The man in the van waited for the ref to talk to him?
Just a few excuses we are likely to hear after blatant misses by refs!!!!
That's definitely the worst series of decisions I can think of apart from the Falkirk playoff. The Falkirk one gets my vote for two reasons: 1, it was against us; 2, there were three distinct penalty offences, at least one of which should also have been a red card; 3, it massively affected the tie, and potentially our future.
02-11-2021, 11:55 AM
The hun player, Bates? Handled a goal bound shot on the line at the FF end. Play on said the ref. That was a bad one.
loanheadhibby
02-11-2021, 11:56 AM
Basil Bole punching the ball out of his own box thru at Ipox.
It was boxing day maybe mid 90's. We were 2 down after getting a real doing in the 1st half. Cross comes in to the box from Hibs attack and I kid you not, instead of heading it, Bole inexplicably punches it out the box. Ref waves play on!
I'm pretty sure we were 2nd top that day.
02-11-2021, 11:59 AM
We lost 2-3 at home to Falkirk a few years ago and we had a free kick and someone in the wall literally caught the ball. No penalty and play on was the decision. Clear as day it was hand ball.
Match against St Johnstone(?) About 8-10 years ago and Hibs get a free kick about 15 yards outside the box. Opposition players line up a wall about 7 yards from the ball and the Hibs point it out to the ref. The ref's solution? He moves the ball back three yards. Never seen that one before or since in any match in any league ever.
Posh Swanny
02-11-2021, 12:14 PM
You forgot this
I'd never actually seen TV footage of that since seeing it live at the game! I wonder what Thompson thinks about it compared to the two soft yellows he ended up giving to Kujabi. Probably just gives a Ronaldo-esque wink at the Rudi Skacel picture on his bedroom wall.
Anyway, I'd like to nominate the "ghost" goal given to Reading away at Watford a few years back. Referee Stuart Attwell got promoted to the Premier League shortly after this one!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O0YiuSbBdaQ
02-11-2021, 01:02 PM
Maybe not the worst but I remember being at a game away at St Johnstone. We got a free kick within shooting range. Freddie Arpinon steps up to take it and it hits off the head of a St Johnstone player and he goes down, out cold. Arpinon got booked!
02-11-2021, 01:02 PM
Turnbull breaking up the tornadoes way too early was not a good decision, on the park, way to many to pick from, but Shaw's goal against the manky broon ones from gorgy was hard to take.
02-11-2021, 01:51 PM
Outwith the ones already mentioned a couple stick out for me
Against Falkirk the player getting 2 yellows and not sent off
Then against Celtc John O'Neil ran past a player from the halfway line, then ran into the box and got brought down for a pen, Martin O'Neil ran up the touchline and basically raised the linesman's flag for him and it got classed as offside and no penalty
02-11-2021, 01:52 PM
Willie Miller away at Dunfermline on a midweek night under Duffy. Miller catches the ball to save time with the ball potentially going into an empty stand. Gets a second booking and is sent off!
John O'Neil's lace getting trapped under his foot making it look like he folded some sticky. Red card. Appeal rejected.
02-11-2021, 02:44 PM
Match against St Johnstone(?) About 8-10 years ago and Hibs get a free kick about 15 yards outside the box. Opposition players line up a wall about 7 yards from the ball and the Hibs point it out to the ref. The ref's solution? He moves the ball back three yards. Never seen that one before or since in any match in any league ever.
Was that the one a Hibs player walked out the yards and got booked? Scott Robertson and pretty sure our friend Muir was ref may be completely wrong with that one.
Yes, forgot that aspect. Booked for dissent.
02-11-2021, 02:57 PM
Surprised the Tennents Sixes haven't been mentioned yet.
Hibs in the lead, playing keep ball. The ref blows up, creates a rule on the spot that it isn't acceptable for Hibs not to be giving the ball back to Celtic, gives Celtic a foul and the ball back. Celtic go on to score, Hibs knocked out.
I used to love the Tennents Sixes but they died for me at that moment.
02-11-2021, 03:00 PM
Surprised the Tennents Sixes haven't been mentioned yet.
Hibs in the lead, playing keep ball. The ref blows up, creates a rule on the spot that it isn't acceptable for Hibs not to be giving the ball back to Celtic, gives Celtic a foul and the ball back. Celtic go on to score, Hibs knocked out.
I used to love the Tennents Sixes but they died for me at that moment.
That genuinely was hysterical Celtic fans booing because they couldn't get the ball and the ref gives them it.
CJHibby
02-11-2021, 03:37 PM
I've remembered another bad one..at Ibrox-quel surprise! ..with a few minutes to go we crossed into the box and Bert Konterman punched the ball away, his arm fully extended in doing so...the ref deemed it accidental. :confused:
There's an interesting one at 2:52 here: Hibernian 1-1 Celtic | The Celts Were Held by Hibs After Six Straight Wins | Ladbrokes Premiership - YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5SDwQC69RaU). Ntcham commits 3 bookable offences against our player. Ref's decision: a booking each, despite our player having done nothing apart from being assaulted. This in a game where Celtic's equaliser stemmed from a controversial free kick, his reaction to which resulted in Hecky being red-carded.
Mikey_1875
02-11-2021, 04:16 PM
Probably doesn’t feel as bad because we won but I am still baffled by Maddens decision this season in the Killie cup tie. Took it upon himself to stop the game when the killie defender pulled up and Magennis was through.
02-11-2021, 04:27 PM
Probably doesn’t feel as bad because we won but I am still baffled by Maddens decision this season in the Killie cup tie. Took it upon himself to stop the game when the killie defender pulled up and Magennis was through.
Honestly a staggering decision on so many levels. Imagine him doing that at any of the old firm grounds forget that he wouldn't have the balls to do it. A Hearts Aberdeen game not long after it an Aberdeen player clearly pulled his hamstring when on the ball guess what Madden waves play on.
02-11-2021, 04:37 PM
Honestly a staggering decision on so many levels. Imagine him doing that at any of the old firm grounds forget that he wouldn't have the balls to do it. A Hearts Aberdeen game not long after it an Aberdeen player clearly pulled his hamstring when on the ball guess what Madden waves play on.
The week after. Couldn’t believe my eyes.
Aye, Les Mottram was a cracker! That has to be the worst, he misses that it's a goal, misses the defender catching the ball and holding it for an eternity. He then misses the defender handing the ball to the goalie, all the time he's about 10 yards away! Top ref!!
02-11-2021, 06:25 PM
Remember that. I saw Balde a few days later in Livingston centre. I saw him from mikes away. The big mans napped above everyone elses. Still raging I decided to chin him about it. He was walking towards me and was getting bigger and bigger and BIGGER. I’ll not lie I shat it.
02-11-2021, 06:28 PM
Remember that. I saw Balde a few days later in Livingston centre. I saw him from miles away. The big baller above e dry one else. Still raging I decided to chin him about it. He was walking towards me and was getting bigger and bigger and BIGGER. I’ll not lie I shat it.
heid the baw
03-11-2021, 01:08 AM
1991 Skol cup semi at Tynecastle. Airdrie 1 up with 2 minutes to go. Jimmy Sandison standing in his own box clears a Dunfermline goal kick which had gone the length of the park. No-one is near Sandison, he has all the time in the world to clear the ball. Somehow the ref who's on the half way line decides it's a handball and gives a penalty. Dunfermline score, win the tie in a penalty shootout and we get an easier game in the final ,:wink:
Irvine Welsh later weaves it into Maribou Stork Nightmares
Definitely the dodgiest decision I've ever seen
03-11-2021, 07:04 AM
Netherlands v Scotland, Villa Park 1996
Scotland players standing on goal line saves shot at goal with his hand. Nothing given, finishes 0-0
mdhfc
03-11-2021, 07:54 AM
1991 Skol cup semi at Tynecastle. Airdrie 1 up with 2 minutes to go. Jimmy Sandison standing in his own box clears a Dunfermline goal kick which had gone the length of the park. No-one is near Sandison, he has all the time in the world to clear the ball. Somehow the ref who's on the half way line decides it's a handball and gives a penalty. Dunfermline score, win the tie in a penalty shootout and we get an easier game in the final ,:wink:
Irvine Welsh later weaves it into Maribou Stork Nightmares
Definitely the dodgiest decision I've ever seen
Happy memories of Sandison's bewildered expression at that decision.
I've vague, and obviously green-tinted, memories of standing in the Gorgie road end late 80s/early 90s and seeing them get a penalty for their own player standing on the ball with nobody anywhere near him.
mdhfc
03-11-2021, 07:57 AM
And another. Ibrox. 90s. Hateley is chasing down Geebsie. Hateley hauls him to ground by the shoulders, falls over his prostrate body. Geebsie gets sent off.
03-11-2021, 07:58 AM
Netherlands v Scotland, Villa Park 1996
Scotland players standing on goal line saves shot at goal with his hand. Nothing given, finishes 0-0
Sure it was John Collins that did it
03-11-2021, 08:37 AM
You forgot this
Yes that was a close second and should have been red. Still Karma.
TelaStella
03-11-2021, 08:53 AM
That Ryan Stevenson tackle on Mcpake. Was he even booked?
Hillsidehibby
03-11-2021, 10:47 AM
Ibrox. Alex Rae on the deck inside the box clearly scoops the ball over the bye line with his arm to stop Hibs player getting it. Corner to Hibs.
03-11-2021, 12:13 PM
Sure it was John Collins that did it
You could be right.
03-11-2021, 12:14 PM
You could be right.
He is - definitely JC.
03-11-2021, 12:20 PM
He is - definitely JC.
It's funny how do you don't mind the dodgy decisions that go in your favour
😏
03-11-2021, 12:24 PM
It's funny how do you don't mind the dodgy decisions that go in your favour
😏
Just an honest mistake. Could happen to anyone.
Dr What If?
03-11-2021, 12:44 PM
I'd completely forgotten about the Tennent's sixes.....I believe the excuse was that keeping the ball wasn't in the spirit of the game.
Not Hibs but the ones I always remember....
Tiery Henry's basketball impression v Ireland that led to his goal, knocking the Irish out of the world cup play-offs
England's free kick in the world cup v Germany with the score at 2-1.....foot over the line, not given
.....and how could no one mention the majestic 'Hand of God' that sent England home from Mexico.
Hibs wise and like so many have mentioned, the handball v Falkirk....it was so deliberate, so blatant, so clear....I still can't get my head around that.
03-11-2021, 01:36 PM
A wee bit before my time but no paying for the required operation for Gordon Smith was a poor decision from Hibs. Although has to be offset by the many good decisions that have been carried out by the mighty Hi-Bees over the years.
03-11-2021, 11:01 PM
A game against Motherwell at fir Park, I think it was Mickey Weir and can't remember the other player. Both of them through on goal Motherwell players about 15 yards away from both Hibs players and the other player in possession plays the ball accross the box to Mickey Weir who is behind the ball when the ball was played Mickey scores. Ruled out for offside. Sportscene or Scotsport have a ref in the studio to ask why it was disallowed when the Hibs player was well behind the when the ball was played,the ex ref in the studio says it was because the ball was passed forward.
Watching Man City's 3rd goal tonight was very almost the same thing that happened at Fir Park but the Motherwell defenders were at the edge of the box
AZhibee
04-11-2021, 02:39 AM
That's definitely the worst series of decisions I can think of apart from the Falkirk playoff. The Falkirk one gets my vote for two reasons: 1, it was against us; 2, there were three distinct penalty offences, at least one of which should also have been a red card; 3, it massively affected the tie, and potentially our future.
Yes, this one, still baffling
04-11-2021, 05:24 AM
Willie Miller away at Dunfermline on a midweek night under Duffy. Miller catches the ball to save time with the ball potentially going into an empty stand. Gets a second booking and is sent off!
TBH I always saw that as dumb by Miller.
Balls was in play, he has no business hand balling it.
I was raging at his stupidity.
04-11-2021, 07:18 AM
I wonder what VAR would make of the 1979 Colin Campbell Scottish Cup Final incident?
Thoughts?
https://youtu.be/5GNIcayXleU
hibstag
04-11-2021, 07:27 AM
This and a lot more overturned offside goals for the old firm, similar to the Rangers one in Europe even macmoist thought it was offside
04-11-2021, 07:42 AM
This is a bit of a wow for me. I could have sworn I was at the match where this happened, I even remember thinking "what are you doing, Willie?". But if it was away at Dunfermline in the Duffy era, I couldn't have been there. That is amazing, and a bit unnerving. What a complete false memory!
hibstag
04-11-2021, 07:43 AM
This and a lot more overturned offside goals for the old firm, similar to the Rangers one in Europe even macmoist thought it was offside
04-11-2021, 12:16 PM
A few mentioned on here that brings back some unfortunate memories - particularly against Old firm and Hearts :rolleyes:
Didn't Paco Luna get sent-off for scoring against Rangers?
A few mentioned on here that brings back some unfortunate memories - particularly against Old firm and Hearts :rolleyes:
Didn't Paco Luna get sent-off for scoring against Rangers?Ball came of his head and onto his hand with a diving header. Red card from Dallas who was famously caught using his SFA email account to send sectarian jokes.
Argylehibby
04-11-2021, 02:24 PM
This is a bit of a wow for me. I could have sworn I was at the match where this happened, I even remember thinking "what are you doing, Willie?". But if it was away at Dunfermline in the Duffy era, I couldn't have been there. That is amazing, and a bit unnerving. What a complete false memory!
I did a bit of digging as I was sure it wasn’t midweek (it was a Saturday) but it was in the Duffy era (1997) at East End Park.
https://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=6334
04-11-2021, 05:10 PM
I wonder what VAR would make of the 1979 Colin Campbell Scottish Cup Final incident?
Thoughts?
https://youtu.be/5GNIcayXleU
A 2 handed shove by Stevenson in 2016 final levels that up. Only about 300 more in our favour to even it up.
The Baldmans Comb
04-11-2021, 05:26 PM
Willie Miller was still on the pitch when he deliberately caught the ball so it was an obvious and blatant handball.
The talk post match was not of refereeing incompetence but why did Hibs have right back who seemed to think he was playing in a kick about with his mates in Bingham Park.
Willie himself had no idea what went through his heid and just let his schoolboy instinct take over.
drummondst34
04-11-2021, 08:29 PM
Definitely , of recent wrong uns . was the Falkirk handball , non penalty , absolutely appalling.
Was it not sweet when Keating scored his worldy to make up for it though. Brilliant
I was right behind that one as it went curling away into the top corner . Everyone hugging one
another , knowing the significance of that goal.
Drummond St 34
04-11-2021, 09:31 PM
Definitely , of recent wrong uns . was the Falkirk handball , non penalty , absolutely appalling.
Was it not sweet when Keating scored his worldy to make up for it though. Brilliant
I was right behind that one as it went curling away into the top corner . Everyone hugging one
another , knowing the significance of that goal.
Drummond St 34
Messiesque !
05-11-2021, 07:42 PM
Was playing for Royston at Saughton spring 77. A few of us got into the Derby at Tynie for the last 5 mins to see one of the worst offside decisions for Hearts imaginable. They got the equaliser in a 2-2 draw.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
I'm Spartacus
09-11-2021, 10:34 AM
Roy Aitken was not bad at that gig either…..
The more recent 'referees' have been Davy Weir and Steven Naismith, totally controlling the decisions. If i saw a player act like that to me I would do the opposite and show them who was in charge!