View Full Version : £31-£35

ABZHFC
27-10-2021, 07:38 PM
For a ticket tonight for a Wednesday night game at home to Celtic. As much as there will rightly be focus on the manager and players after tonight, we shouldn’t let these terrible decisions from the board be forgotten about either. How are we attracting new supporters through the gate? Costs a ****ing fortune to see currently ***** football. Why would any non-season ticket holder bother attending at these prices

27-10-2021, 07:41 PM
Big screens need paid for somehow

27-10-2021, 07:44 PM
i'm still peeved that RG came up with this Zone seating crap for the east, straight out of tynecastle

no one bothered about where they managed to get a seat in the East, it was just an excuse to raise prices for the middle sections

Bronze, Silver and Gold nonsense

nickwhibs
27-10-2021, 07:47 PM
For a ticket tonight for a Wednesday night game at home to Celtic. As much as there will rightly be focus on the manager and players after tonight, we shouldn’t let these terrible decisions from the board be forgotten about either. How are we attracting new supporters through the gate? Costs a ****ing fortune to see currently ***** football. Why would any non-season ticket holder bother attending at these prices

Agreed - really poor pricing from Hibs (Ron/whoever sets the prices)

27-10-2021, 07:59 PM
This is a game on the 5 and 8 game packages right? I guess they had to price the walk-up prices absurdly to increase the value of paying for those packages up front.

Davy Mac
27-10-2021, 08:03 PM
Can't help feel Ron's commercial ambitions are beginning to show, £31? GTF

27-10-2021, 08:03 PM
Not on the 5 game one. I think it is on the 8 though.

ABZHFC
27-10-2021, 09:28 PM
Tbf to the fans who went, a decent atmosphere tonight I felt. But even so, the club seriously need to address this. And for anyone who wants to keep pretending “we need high ticket prices to challenge the Old Firm”, get a ****ing grip. We’d be better off trying to pack out the stadium week in week out by setting prices at an affordable rate

As for the announcement that 17.5k were there tonight, laughable

27-10-2021, 09:33 PM
The stadium looked pathetic tonight. The famous five must have been about a 1/3rd full.

No idea how they are going to get bums back on seats anytime soon.

loanheadhibby
27-10-2021, 09:35 PM
The stadium looked pathetic tonight. The famous five must have been about a 1/3rd full.

Not charging £31-35 for a midweek would be a start.

27-10-2021, 09:38 PM

Looked awful on TV

ABZHFC
27-10-2021, 09:43 PM
Not charging £31-35 for a midweek would be a start.

Yep. People will umm and ahh about performances, matchday entertainment etc. It is cold hard cash that matters. The club had no walk up sales for a good 18 months during COVID, we had the chance to come back from it and try to build on something. They chose to take the ****ing piss. They’ll keep on telling us that it’s important to get value for season ticket holders, or how the match packages are decent value for money. But it is all irrelevant as far as I’m concerned. A good deal for my season ticket should never come at the expense of a family from Leith who want to start taking their young kids to games on a semi-regular basis. I truly am embarrassed by the nerve of the club charging this much for games

27-10-2021, 09:52 PM

Is that not in line with what every club is charging?

27-10-2021, 09:53 PM
Worth every penny for all 24 walk ups tonight

27-10-2021, 09:55 PM
Worth every penny for all 24 walk ups tonightMore than 2k walk-ups tonight.

ABZHFC
27-10-2021, 10:02 PM
More than 2k walk-ups tonight.

You don't seriously believe the attendance figure, do you?

27-10-2021, 10:03 PM
You don't seriously believe the attendance figure, do you?17k+ announced.
11k+ STs
<4k Celtic fans

Do the arithmetic.

27-10-2021, 10:04 PM

Is the famous five lower sold out with season tickets? I went on for a browse this afternoon to have a look at how many we had sold and it was the only part of the stadium bar the south you couldn’t buy a ticket

bayhibs
27-10-2021, 10:06 PM
You don't seriously believe the attendance figure, do you?

You realise it's not attendance its tickets sold.

27-10-2021, 10:12 PM
Is the famous five lower sold out with season tickets? I went on for a browse this afternoon to have a look at how many we had sold and it was the only part of the stadium bar the south you couldn’t buy a ticket

That's bizarre mate - it surely can't be given the number of empty seats. Wonder why you can't buy tickets there?

Something needs to be done about the FF for next season - that bottom tier should be packed out every week. Its a total bug bear of mine how crap the stadium looks and feels when behind the goal is half empty. Was similar with the bench seats in the cowshed for years.

27-10-2021, 10:14 PM
Is that not in line with what every club is charging?

I think it is.

ABZHFC
27-10-2021, 10:14 PM
I hope fans just vote with their feet and fill the bottom tier of the Famous Five for a Scottish Cup game with bodies and stand and sing for 90 minutes. It worked against Caley just before COVID hit, it should come back again. And it should be nothing to do with the club either, fans have got to take things into their own hands

27-10-2021, 10:17 PM
I hope fans just vote with their feet and fill the bottom tier of the Famous Five for a Scottish Cup game with bodies and stand and sing for 90 minutes. It worked against Caley just before COVID hit, it should come back again. And it should be nothing to do with the club either, fans have got to take things into their own hands

:agree::agree::agree:

Jumbo
27-10-2021, 11:05 PM
That probably was the attendance, since there looked to be 2 to every seat in the bottom section of the south stand, it was absolutely rammed !

28-10-2021, 12:00 AM
That probably was the attendance, since there looked to be 2 to every seat in the bottom section of the south stand, it was absolutely rammed !

Happens all over Scotland. At Tynecastle I seen dozens going through the turnstiles at the same time with the same ticket.

Weegreenman
28-10-2021, 12:38 AM
I never renewed my season ticket and I have to say it’s been a great decision so far.
Haven’t been tempted to pay at the gate either, especially not at those prices.

I don’t like what I see on the park. I reckon we have about four natural footballers and the rest are just hopeless.
Our ability to out play other teams is non existent and it looks like we’ve become a team that hits on the break.
We can’t even do that very well.
A long hard season awaits I’m afraid but not for me.
Ron won’t get a penny of my hard earned cash.
Someone needs to let him know that match day experience begins with the team on the park.

28-10-2021, 05:23 AM
I never renewed my season ticket and I have to say it’s been a great decision so far.

I don’t like what I see on the park. I reckon we have about four natural footballers and the rest are just hopeless.
Our ability to out play other teams is non existent and it looks like we’ve become a team that hits on the break.
Someone needs to let him know that match day experience begins with the team on the park.

So you will only come back when we start getting better players?

28-10-2021, 05:28 AM

Usually Rangers are the worst for this, but biggest Celtic support I've seen in South Stand last night, lower was like an old fashioned terracing, packed including the aisles. Everyone knows it's going on, but there's zero effort to prevent.

28-10-2021, 05:46 AM

Thanks for sharing your great decision of not supporting your :rolleyes: club.

28-10-2021, 05:47 AM
Happens all over Scotland. At Tynecastle I seen dozens going through the turnstiles at the same time with the same ticket.

How could that happen with electronic turnstile and ticket checks?

28-10-2021, 05:57 AM

Was going to say every time I've been to Tynecastle I've had my ticket physically checked by a steward before I get to their ridiculously small turnstile.

Would be impossible for more than 1 person to get in on the same ticket.

28-10-2021, 06:10 AM

Go support Celtic or Rangers. Glory hunter.

28-10-2021, 06:26 AM
Was going to say every time I've been to Tynecastle I've had my ticket physically checked by a steward before I get to their ridiculously small turnstile.

I can assure you that 2 people were going through at once and no tickets were being checked. Seen it with my own eyes.

28-10-2021, 06:32 AM
This has been raised before about over crowding / away fans coming into stadium.

Would be interested to know if checks were taking place last night or did Celtic fans manage to double up / scan ticket and get in.

You look at the away end then compare to famous five lower and it’s embarrassing how empty it looks.

Something has needed done about the FF lower for years but too many folk scared of change and actually want to help the team. Family section could easily move to west lower / east end section or even south lower for non cat A games.

Newhaven
28-10-2021, 06:33 AM
I can assure you that 2 people were going through at once and no tickets were being checked. Seen it with my own eyes.

Back in my rock steady steward days i did the turnstiles at the away end at both ER and tynie plus the odd hampden final.

When the OF come into town it’s murder. Fake tickets, 2-3 people pushing through the turnstile once you’ve clicked to let one in, money being thrown at you to let folk in etc etc.

28-10-2021, 06:38 AM
£31-£35 for football is far to expensive but Hibs under Ron Gordon seem to be all about money. If the team keeps playing the way it is RG will be praying the Hibs tokens shoot up in value as fans will drift away in greater numbers than they are now.

Weegreenman
28-10-2021, 07:05 AM
So you will only come back when we start getting better players?

No, I never said that. You did.

Hibs tend to drain you of your enthusiasm. Sometimes you need to have a break and I’m enjoying that break.
When your not so involved it hurts less.

Weegreenman
28-10-2021, 07:10 AM
Thanks for sharing your great decision of not supporting your :rolleyes: club.

Thanks for being so understanding 👍

28-10-2021, 07:29 AM
No, I never said that. You did.

Hibs tend to drain you of your enthusiasm. Sometimes you need to have a break and I’m enjoying that break.
When your not so involved it hurts less.

What would bring you back?

PolmontHibby
28-10-2021, 07:41 AM

More Saturday games would be a start for me - not sure how many others it affects but I have a problem using season ticket midweek or Sunday’s due to work - 1 Saturday home game in October/November is dire

28-10-2021, 07:45 AM
More Saturday games would be a start for me - not sure how many others it affects but I have a problem using season ticket midweek or Sunday’s due to work - 1 Saturday home game in October/November is dire

Winning
Better consistent performances
Improved / Balanced squad
Cheaper tickets
Better atmosphere (safe standing - FF lower)
Saturday 3pm games - but we know this is all about the crap TV we have

28-10-2021, 07:46 AM
With the absolutely brutal cost of living increases recently and to come, the bodies at games will become fewer and fewer as I’d imagine most of us have got far greater priorities in our lives than our football club.

28-10-2021, 07:54 AM
I'd be curious as to how many Hibs walk ups there was last night.

The East looked comparable to usual, West maybe a wee bit busier and the FF was even sparser than usual, particularly the lower tier. There are a few seats near me in the FF upper that have different people in them every week which suggests walk ups and they were all empty.

I'm a dream fan for Hibs really when it comes to parting with money, I'll renew without thinking and buy or subscribe to any old crap (Hib$ tokens excepted) but I'd have been loathe to have parted with £30+ last night, even without the benefit of hindsight. My sister is a semi regular attendee because of her work patterns and she paid £33 last night, I didn't get the impression she'll be in a hurry to go back.

28-10-2021, 08:00 AM
I'd be curious as to how many Hibs walk ups there was last night.

The East looked comparable to usual, West maybe a wee bit busier and the FF was even sparser than usual, particularly the lower tier. There are a few seats near me in the FF upper that have different people in them every week which suggests walk ups and they were all empty.

I'm a dream fan for Hibs really when it comes to parting with money, I'll renew without thinking and buy or subscribe to any old crap (Hib$ tokens excepted) but I'd have been loathe to have parted with £30+ last night, even without the benefit of hindsight. My sister is a semi regular attendee because of her work patterns and she paid £33 last night, I didn't get the impression she'll be in a hurry to go back.

17,580 announced.

11,200 ST holders (IIRC)
3,800 Celtic supporters (again IIRC)

Roughly 2.5k walk-ups.

28-10-2021, 08:01 AM
Maybe the ticket checks are non existent like last nights covid passport checks

28-10-2021, 08:02 AM
You'd be lucky if there were 9000 Hibs fans at that game last night.

The fact we are getting that number of fans for one of our most high profile fixtures is worrying.

28-10-2021, 08:06 AM
I am happy to pay £400 for a Season Ticket but no way would I pay £33 walk up to watch that pish :confused:

ABZHFC
28-10-2021, 08:50 AM
I remember around 7 or 8 years ago, it cost very near the exact same to buy a season ticket as it did to be a walk-up for every single home game. That system has to brought back. Like I say, I am lucky enough to have the time/money to commit to a season ticket, and in doing so I have (relatively-speaking) decent value for money. But that should never come at the expense of others, and I cringe at the idea of our club (founded to alleviate Edinburgh's impoverished immigrant population) now charging a minimum of £31 for games like last night

And they can ram their 'ambition' and 'competitiveness' shouts. I'd rather Hibs remained affordable for generations to come than chasing this nonsense dream of breaking the Old Firm through astronomical price increases across the board (which has never, ever been shown to work)

28-10-2021, 08:59 AM
Big screens need paid for somehow

I thought the Big Screens were going to pay for themselves, with all the advertising revenue?

28-10-2021, 08:59 AM
You'd be lucky if there were 9000 Hibs fans at that game last night.

The fact we are getting that number of fans for one of our most high profile fixtures is worrying.

Are you being serious? I'd happily bet any amount of money that there was way more than 9k.

28-10-2021, 09:10 AM
Are you being serious? I'd happily bet any amount of money that there was way more than 9k.

Quick fag packet calculation:

FF capacity 3800 - about 35% full = 1330
East Stand capacity - 6600 - about 75% full - 4950
West stand capacity - 5500 - about 60% full - 3300

Actually doing the sums IMO there was somewhere around 9000 Hibs fans there last night.

That's a worryingly low number for a category A game.

28-10-2021, 09:16 AM
Quick fag packet calculation:

FF capacity 3800 - about 35% full = 1330
East Stand capacity - 6600 - about 75% full - 4950
West stand capacity - 5500 - about 60% full - 3300

Actually doing the sums IMO there was somewhere around 9000 Hibs fans there last night.

That's a worryingly low number for a category A game.

I'd maybe bump the percentages for the FF and West up slightly but I broadly agree with your point.

There were huge swathes of empty seats in the Hibs end last night, easily a few thousand, and we have become accustomed to that not being the case in Cat A games in recent seasons.

HibsGW
28-10-2021, 09:17 AM
The thing i don’t get is that even if it’s being money grabbing when they charge 35 pound is that if you look how bad the attendance was yesterday theres clearly hardly any walk ups. Make it 20 or 25 and sell a load more tickets and make more money surely, or is that too simple? Nobody is paying 35 pound for a league game against Celtic when we’re in rubbish form.

28-10-2021, 09:20 AM
We never got asked for vaccine passports and when we got to the turnstiles in the East were waved through with no ticket checks as they weren't scanning, I've no idea how long that was ongoing or if they had a similar issue in the south

Chorley Hibee
28-10-2021, 09:21 AM

There were actually a few empty seats near the East Stand in both the upper and lower South last night.

I think the overcrowding is more a result of the ultra groups of both OF wanting to all congregate together.

ABZHFC
28-10-2021, 09:25 AM
The thing i don’t get is that even if it’s being money grabbing when they charge 35 pound is that if you look how bad the attendance was yesterday theres clearly hardly any walk ups. Make it 20 or 25 and sell a load more tickets and make more money surely, or is that too simple? Nobody is paying 35 pound for a league game against Celtic when we’re in rubbish form.

Yep, but the problem is they are desperate to give season ticket holders 'value'. Rather than decreasing prices across the board (as they should), they instead increase prices for walk-ups astronomically and then tell us season ticket holders that we should be grateful for our comparatively cheaper ticket prices.

It's an absolute shambles. And again, for anyone who genuinely believes that higher ticket prices will make us a better team, there is simply no correlation between the two whatsoever

To give an example of this, Motherwell have some of the most affordable prices in the league, and have not been relegated since 1984. In that period us and Hearts have both been relegated twice apiece. We have also had 4 top three finishes in that same period, compared to Motherwell's 7. If this doesn't lay bare what an absolute nonsense the 'higher prices means more success' mantra is, nothing will

We could easily be run as a more community-minded club and it most likely wouldn't be at the cost to any success whatsoever (here's a hint why, we're not generally very successful to begin with)

jakedance
28-10-2021, 09:43 AM
I pretty consistently go to a little more than three quarters of home games a season. For my circumstances it just doesn't make much sense to buy a season ticket, and I quite like moving around the ground for different games. I bought the eight game package because the walk up prices are getting to the point where they are just too expensive and not value for money. I'll still go to most games this season but the way things are going with cost of living increases and tax increases something will have to give for a lot of people.

I think the club are making a mistake by pricing out more casual fans. I've taken people along to games before that probably wouldn't pay those prices when they're not as committed (mental) as the rest of us. My dad was always more of a rugby man but he took me along to a couple of games when I was wee because I loved football so much. I just don't think he would have paid these kind of prices.

I think the club are taking season ticket holders for granted and. as we've seen for a few years now, loads of them are just not turning up for games. Try and buy a ticket online and you'll see that those empty seats we are seeing every week are paid for by someone. At what point do they decide not to renew?

Weegreenman
28-10-2021, 09:58 AM
What would bring you back?

Great question and one that I’ll have to seriously think about.

Going to Easter Road lately has become something that I dread. There’s little in the way of excitement.

I’ve been a regular for the last fifty years.
I don’t feel that same buzz anymore and I feel Somethings not quite right and I can’t put my finger on it.
You only have to look around at all the empty seats, it tells you that something is a miss.

I’ve often thought what if we had built a smaller stadium, say 15k. The demand for a season ticket would be through the roof and I think the need for a waiting list would have been requirement.
I also think we need to accommodate the guys who go that extra mile to create an atmosphere.
This might upset a few people but for the greater good we need to get some life back into the stadium.

Obviously it would be great to get a winning team on the park but experience tells me that’s not always possible.

You need to get fans exited about going to the football, it’s kinda just expected that you buy your season ticket every year and just turn up.

I’d love us to make Easter Road a real fortress but for the life of me I just don’t see it happening.

28-10-2021, 10:15 AM
Be interesting to see how many tickets we sell for the semi.

I have a feeling it could be a very low number. Probably about 8k.

The Captain....
28-10-2021, 10:17 AM
Can't remember the last time I saw the stadium looking so sparsely populated. Fair play to those who stayed to the end.

Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk

28-10-2021, 10:25 AM
Can't remember the last time I saw the stadium looking so sparsely populated. Fair play to those who stayed to the end.

Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk

I stayed to the end of the United game, largely because I never usually leave early, and you were lucky if the Hibs fans left troubled 4 figures. I left after 80 minutes last night and thought it was a decent number who had hung about. A few stormed out when the 3rd went in but not all that many. The booing that was evident throughout the United game was also largely absent.

I didn't have the bairn so the temptation of a pint before the bus was too much. It was great tbh, bus was quiet, pub was quiet and I was home about 40 minutes earlier than usual because of the lack of traffic. I might start doing it more often:greengrin

28-10-2021, 10:29 AM

Going to Easter Road lately has become something that I dread. There’s little in the way of excitement.

I don’t feel that same buzz anymore and I feel Somethings not quite right and I can’t put my finger on it.
You only have to look around at all the empty seats, it tells you that something is a miss.

I’ve often thought what if we had built a smaller stadium, say 15k. The demand for a season ticket would be through the roof and I think the need for a waiting list would have been requirement.
I also think we need to accommodate the guys who go that extra mile to create an atmosphere.
This might upset a few people but for the greater good we need to get some life back into the stadium.

Obviously it would be great to get a winning team on the park but experience tells me that’s not always possible.

You need to get fans exited about going to the football, it’s kinda just expected that you buy your season ticket every year and just turn up.

I’d love us to make Easter Road a real fortress but for the life of me I just don’t see it happening.

I was the same for a wee while which is why i asked, a lot of folk will likely be the same now after lockdown, wasnt because of results when i stopped but just wasnt interested any longer, this year for some reason i just really fancied going again so decided to get a season ticket, hopefully you get the buzz again

28-10-2021, 10:30 AM
Maybe the ticket checks are non existent like last nights covid passport checks

Probably right certainly never got asked last night re Covid vacc. I seem to remember being kettled in a crowd trying to get into Tynecastle at the last game and stewards asking for a show of the ticket on the street prior to the turnstiles.

28-10-2021, 10:32 AM
Be interesting to see how many tickets we sell for the semi.

I have a feeling it could be a very low number. Probably about 8k.

We have two games before the semi final, both away against teams who are currently below us in the league.

I feel we're already in danger of having a really poor turnout at Hampden which is a shame but anything less than 6 points from Ross County and Livingston and I think a poor turnout is a certainty.

I'd be shocked if we got as many as 10,000.

28-10-2021, 11:03 AM
We have two games before the semi final, both away against teams who are currently below us in the league.

I feel we're already in danger of having a really poor turnout at Hampden which is a shame but anything less than 6 points from Ross County and Livingston and I think a poor turnout is a certainty.

I'd be shocked if we got as many as 10,000.
Even though we’re pish and loads of us want Ross out, I just don’t get not going to a semi final because of that. Not going isn’t an option for me. We support Hibs, who’ll be around a lot longer than Jack Ross and his no hopers will be.

28-10-2021, 11:13 AM
Even though we’re pish and loads of us want Ross out, I just don’t get not going to a semi final because of that. Not going isn’t an option for me. We support Hibs, who’ll be around a lot longer than Jack Ross and his no hopers will be.

I agree, I'll be going to the semi final but we have struggled to attract large numbers to semi finals in recent years and I just don't see this one being any different particularly when we're in such poor form.

Last night is the last opportunity that the majority of our support will have had to see us in the flesh before the semi final and it won't have done much to encourage anyone who is currently on the fence to purchase a ticket.

28-10-2021, 11:17 AM

Correct in all you write.

28-10-2021, 11:25 AM

I agree but I think we just have to accept there are people who's commitment to Hibs is different from others.

We have a hardcore of about 8 or 9K who tough it out regardless, that's arguably an improvement on the 80s and 90s. We have another 2 or 3K who pitch up at derbies or OF games, that probably grows a bit when we are good. Then we have another few thousand who only go when it's good, turn up at finals and disappear when it's tough.

Most of that latter few thousand will be nowhere to be see at Hampden, it will be largely the 1st group and a few of the second. I know that a bigger Hibs support is desirable but to be totally honest I'm quite glad it will only be those who really want to be there that turn up. One of my favourite trips there was with about 9K Hibs fans on a pishing wet midweek night v the huns. We outsang them for 120 minutes and it was absolutely mental when we won the shoot out.

28-10-2021, 11:40 AM
Probably right certainly never got asked last night re Covid vacc. I seem to remember being kettled in a crowd trying to get into Tynecastle at the last game and stewards asking for a show of the ticket on the street prior to the turnstiles.
Me and the Mrs got asked for our vaccine passports in the west last night. I came round from sainsburys car park and they had a cordon set up at the gate asking for our passports. After half an hour I was wishing they’d refused to let me in. :greengrin

28-10-2021, 12:03 PM
Me and the Mrs got asked for our vaccine passports in the west last night. I came round from sainsburys car park and they had a cordon set up at the gate asking for our passports. After half an hour I was wishing they’d refused to let me in. :greengrin

Definitely asked folk in the east as myself and a few others were asked, although mines could have been anyones as they didnt really look at it

28-10-2021, 12:07 PM
Definitely asked folk in the east as myself and a few others were asked, although mines could have been anyones as they didnt really look at it
Aye they didn’t look that closely at ours either, it was chucking it down at the time so I was quite happy with the quick look.

28-10-2021, 04:21 PM

Arrived during the monsoon about 20 mins to kick off and no check at Ff upper turnstile. Were they scanning the code or just looking at your screen?

28-10-2021, 04:25 PM
Arrived during the monsoon about 20 mins to kick off and no check at Ff upper turnstile. Were they scanning the code or just looking at your screen?

I came the same way as Lord B and there was no queue but they wanted to see my barcode - didn't scan it or anything.

percy veer
28-10-2021, 04:39 PM
I think the tickets were priced like this so they could charge the Celtic fans this much . Is there not a rule with regards to prices for away fans . Quite right hibs I'd charge more tbh

28-10-2021, 05:19 PM
I came the same way as Lord B and there was no queue but they wanted to see my barcode - didn't scan it or anything.
I was the same, but I did notice the guy was looking at my phone to see if I was accessing the passport via the app, he actually said “aye it’s that app there” to my mrs.

28-10-2021, 05:22 PM
I think the tickets were priced like this so they could charge the Celtic fans this much . Is there not a rule with regards to prices for away fans . Quite right hibs I'd charge more tbh

Similar accommodatiin charged ar same rate is a rule.

4000 at £31 a pop is £120k drop the price to meet the perpetual moaners demand for loss leading £20 walk up would have cost us c£40k last night and add a handful of additional home fans to the crowd.

With the 6 Cat a games alone that costs the club a quarter of a million a season.

There is no magic money tree. You want a decent team we the fans need to pony up not just the owner or you get an even more mediocrity than we currently witness.

28-10-2021, 05:23 PM
That attendance was no where near 17k last night

13.5k tops

28-10-2021, 05:25 PM
That attendance was no where near 17k last night

13.5k tops

Surely by now folk understand that they announce ticket sales not actual attendance and you realise that being a schiol night the kiddies were in bed and tge weather put thousands off, especially whe your ST lets you watch it at home?

Logie Green
28-10-2021, 05:29 PM

You are correct that clubs have to charge the same for similar stands but I think you’re wrong to say Hibs should charge more, unless you’re joking of course?

I wonder how many Hibs fans will pay these prices (assuming there’s no reduction) if we’re drawn at home in the Cup against a ‘Category A’’ team?

28-10-2021, 05:30 PM
I thought the Big Screens were going to pay for themselves, with all the advertising revenue?

They are but it’s more hilarious to use it as a dig or (even funnier) ask if they can play centre half.

percy veer
28-10-2021, 05:43 PM
You are correct that clubs have to charge the same for similar stands but I think you’re wrong to say Hibs should charge more, unless you’re joking of course?

I wonder how many Hibs fans will pay these prices (assuming there’s no reduction) if we’re drawn at home in the Cup against a ‘Category A’’ team?
Not joking I would bump up the prices for the away fans. Not to many walk ups last night, cup games are a different kettle of fish.

28-10-2021, 05:54 PM
Surely by now folk understand that they announce ticket sales not actual attendance and you realise that being a schiol night the kiddies were in bed and tge weather put thousands off, especially whe your ST lets you watch it at home?

Some on here hand counted last night clearly and agree with hibs

Logie Green
28-10-2021, 05:56 PM
Not joking I would bump up the prices for the away fans. Not to many walk ups last night, cup games are a different kettle of fish.

Do you not think that part of the reason there wasn’t many ‘walk ups’ last night is because the prices are too high?

I accept that cup ties are different but we’re all effectively ‘walk ups’ for them and given some of the comments already I think a fair number of ST holders wouldn’t pay those prices.

28-10-2021, 06:00 PM
Do you not think that part of the reason there wasn’t many ‘walk ups’ last night is because the prices are too high?

I accept that cup ties are different but we’re all effectively ‘walk ups’ for them and given some of the comments already I think a fair number of ST holders wouldn’t pay those prices.

Me for one. If we draw Celtic, Rangers or Hearts at home in the early rounds of the Scottish Cup I wouldn't be paying over £30 for a ticket, especially with what we're watching at the moment.

28-10-2021, 06:18 PM
Some on here hand counted last night clearly and agree with hibsDid they aye?

percy veer
28-10-2021, 07:45 PM

I think the weather was a bigger factor than the price £5 extra wont sway me either way tbh .

28-10-2021, 08:05 PM
Did they aye?

Your obsessed with my posts

I’m loving it

28-10-2021, 08:13 PM
£30 odd for watching hibs is way too much, it should be £25 at the very most, they kept it at £28 for a long time which was pushing it. I remember hearts tried similar pricing and got pelters for it.

It will be interesting to see if the St go up next year, they have been around the same price for a while now.

28-10-2021, 08:32 PM
Your obsessed with my posts

I’m loving itWe only see you after a bad result so I'm making the most of your presence while I can.

Logie Green
28-10-2021, 08:40 PM
I think the weather was a bigger factor than the price £5 extra wont sway me either way tbh .

I disagree about the weather being a bigger factor but if the prices won’t sway you then fair enough.

I think Hibs should’ve taken the hint when the Arsenal friendly, the first match back at ER after Covid, was overpriced which resulted in unsold tickets when the capacity was only 2,000.

I hope I’m wrong but Scottish football is in danger of discouraging people from attending due to the ridiculous prices being charged.

28-10-2021, 08:54 PM
We only see you after a bad result so I'm making the most of your presence while I can.

It’s playground stuff your coming up with peevemor and your defence of Ross is admirable if anything

But I’m entitled to my thoughts so just deal with it

28-10-2021, 08:57 PM
It’s playground stuff your coming up with peevemor and your defence of Ross is admirable if anything

But I’m entitled to my thoughts so just deal with it"Some on here hand counted last night clearly and agree with hibs"

You post that then accuse me of playground stuff? Yeah, crack on!

28-10-2021, 09:14 PM

28-10-2021, 09:54 PM
"Some on here hand counted last night clearly and agree with hibs"

You post that then accuse me of playground stuff? Yeah, crack on!

Get a grip I noticed your references to a number of ‘posters’.

It’s a forum if you don’t like opinions don’t post.

28-10-2021, 09:55 PM
Get a grip I noticed your references to a number of ‘posters’.

It’s a forum if you don’t like opinions don’t post.Your post wasn't an opinion though, you were just making stuff up.

28-10-2021, 09:59 PM
Making stuff up?

There was never 17k there last night.

If you believe there was I’d strongly disagree with you.

29-10-2021, 05:20 AM
Making stuff up?

There was never 17k there last night.

If you believe there was I’d strongly disagree with you.Has anyone tried to say there was? Has anyone posted that they estimated the number at the match and came up with 17k+. That's what you said happened, something you just made up just to continue in criticise everything mode.

Opinions I can handle but falsehoods get my back up.

29-10-2021, 05:31 AM
Has anyone tried to say there was? Has anyone posted that they estimated the number at the match and came up with 17k+. That's what you said happened, something you just made up just to continue in criticise everything mode.

Opinions I can handle but falsehoods get my back up.

You gave a breakdown of the figures I’m sure with 2.5k walk ups

Posted by you

‘ 17k+ announced.
11k+ STs
<4k Celtic fans’

Plus 2k walk ups replied, shock to me

There’s a fact for you

I’ve not made anything up and the fact your even saying I only come on here when we lose your just making this up as you go along. Last time replying to you sir.

29-10-2021, 05:32 AM
The prices of everything is on the rise. Was looking to come up for the Motherwell game but how on earth can Camerontoll Travelodge justify charging £322 for two nights??

29-10-2021, 06:03 AM
Our prices are generally in line with all clubs in the league are they not hence the encouragement to get season tickets, provide payment plans and provide 8 and 5 game packages. Bottom line is old firm and derbies will be very good income for the club.

29-10-2021, 06:11 AM

Posted by you

‘ 17k+ announced.
11k+ STs
<4k Celtic fans’

There’s a fact for you

I’ve not made anything up and the fact your even saying I only come on here when we lose your just making this up as you go along. Last time replying to you sir.

What are you on about?

You've just quoted my fag packet calculation of the number of walk ups. I referred to the 17k+ figure "announced". You're trying to say that I (or someone else) was insisting that there were more than 17k in attendance. That's not the case. If you can't be honest or keep track of what you post you should maybe be more careful.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211029/78d791dc19ac106dc3a50aba1d861d11.jpg

29-10-2021, 06:12 AM
The prices of everything is on the rise. Was looking to come up for the Motherwell game but how on earth can Camerontoll Travelodge justify charging £322 for two nights??

I booked village hotel as a member 140 quid for 2 nights, 40 quid to spend in bar and breakfast each morning.

Included parking and access to pool and gym.

29-10-2021, 07:51 AM

Ironically, Celtic fans had the cheapest seats in the house. The prices would have to mirror the North Stand.

Also as someone who gets to 99.9% of away games I don't get the bit in bold, but guessing you don't go every week. We can't complain that Dundee bump their prices up for us then do the same to the OF at Easter Road. Away games are getting to expensive across the board for everyone whether you support the weegies or someone else.

29-10-2021, 07:56 AM
Ironically, Celtic fans had the cheapest seats in the house. The prices would have to mirror the North Stand.

Also as someone who gets to 99.9% of away games I don't get the bit in bold, but guessing you don't go every week. We can't complain that Dundee bump their prices up for us then do the same to the OF at Easter Road. Away games are getting to expensive across the board for everyone whether you support the weegies or someone else.

I think there's a rule that visiting supporters can't be charged more than a certain percentage of the home support.

29-10-2021, 07:57 AM
What are you on about?

You've just quoted my fag packet calculation of the number of walk ups. I referred to the 17k+ figure "announced". You're trying to say that I (or someone else) were insisting that there were more than 17k in attendance. That's not the case. If you can't be honest or keep track of what you post you should maybe be more careful.

He's slandering you or libelling you (or something). :greengrin

Wee Mickey
29-10-2021, 08:28 AM
The only reason match day prices/season tickets needs to be so high is the lack of a decent sponsorship package for the clubs. If the SPFL hierarchy could deliver a decent sponsorship deal, match day costs could and should be lower.

29-10-2021, 11:22 AM

Posted by you

‘ 17k+ announced.
11k+ STs
<4k Celtic fans’

There’s a fact for you

That’s how the official capacity figure was obtained. No one suggested that’s how many were there.

29-10-2021, 12:31 PM
What are you on about?

You've just quoted my fag packet calculation of the number of walk ups. I referred to the 17k+ figure "announced". You're trying to say that I (or someone else) was insisting that there were more than 17k in attendance. That's not the case. If you can't be honest or keep track of what you post you should maybe be more careful.

Careful?

Listen to yourself

Get back to school

ABZHFC
29-10-2021, 12:39 PM
Since1875 now disbanding, according to their Twitter. The slow and painful demise of the match-going experience at Easter Road continues

29-10-2021, 12:42 PM
Since1875 now disbanding, according to their Twitter. The slow and painful demise of the match-going experience at Easter Road continues

We really need the FF lower converted to safe standing to allow a genuine singing section to grow and thrive.

If that means some folk get a bit annoyed that they need to move seat then so be it. The overall good of the club comes first.

29-10-2021, 12:46 PM

Just read this on Twitter.

Not good news.

Felt the atmosphere had changed this since and lack of drum at times too.

The FF lower middle 3 sections minimum need to be converted to safe standing ASAP.

Keep the end 2 for folk who want to stay in FF lower and open new family section elsewhere.

Otherwise ER fan experience is going to get worse.

29-10-2021, 12:47 PM
Careful?

Listen to yourself

Get back to school

Yes, careful.

Nobody likes liars.

29-10-2021, 12:48 PM

I'm not all that surprised.

A lot of the guys who were involved the formation of the group will be in their 30s now. Kids, wives, more demanding jobs, worse hangovers etc etc will all play a part in their thinking. I certainly behave differently at the football now compared to my early 20s.

I think their statement on Twitter says it all. It's a young lads game and I'm sure someone will be only too keen to fill the void.

29-10-2021, 12:54 PM
I'm not all that surprised.

A lot of the guys who were involved the formation of the group will be in their 30s now. Kids, wives, more demanding jobs, worse hangovers etc etc will all play a part in their thinking. I certainly behave differently at the football now compared to my early 20s.

I think their statemtm on Twitter says it all. It's a young lads game and I'm sure someone will be only too keen to fill the void.

I'm not really sure it is just a young lads game.

Look at the Green Brigade or the Holmesdale Fanatics, admittedly I don't know any of them but from the pictures I see of them I'd say a good proportion are folk in their 30s and 40s.

Going futher and looking into the ultras scenes in Europe a lot of the guys are not exactly young.

29-10-2021, 12:56 PM
Just read this on Twitter.

Not good news.

Felt the atmosphere had changed this since and lack of drum at times too.

The FF lower middle 3 sections minimum need to be converted to safe standing ASAP.

Keep the end 2 for folk who want to stay in FF lower and open new family section elsewhere.

Otherwise ER fan experience is going to get worse.

Still think the East would be better, as you get a better view of the game and some who tend to sing will want to stay put.

29-10-2021, 01:01 PM
I'm not really sure it is just a young lads game.

Look at the Green Brigade or the Holmesdale Fanatics, admittedly I don't know any of them but from the pictures I see of them I'd say a good proportion are folk in their 30s and 40s.

Going futher and looking into the ultras scenes in Europe a lot of the guys are not exactly young.

i'll be the first to ask.... who ? :dunno:

29-10-2021, 01:07 PM
i'll be the first to ask.... who ? :dunno:

Palace ultras. Probably the best in the UK imo.

29-10-2021, 01:09 PM
Yes, it's very expensive, especially for families, but that's the way the game has been heading for decades now. There are plenty of people who would love to support their team, but who have been priced out of the game. It's a real shame. Aren't tickets for Old Firm games, upwards of fifty quid, for example?

29-10-2021, 01:27 PM
Palace ultras. Probably the best in the UK imo.

ok ta :greengrin saved me googling

29-10-2021, 01:36 PM
Yes, careful.

Nobody likes liars.Ironic coming from you.

29-10-2021, 01:38 PM
Yes, careful.

Nobody likes liars.

Admin have a word with this guy

Planet Mars comes to mind

29-10-2021, 01:49 PM
Ironic coming from you.

Sent from my SM-G935F using TapatalkGive me an example of where I've lied?

29-10-2021, 01:50 PM
Admin have a word with this guy

Planet Mars comes to mindSo if you didn't make this up, give me an example.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211029/2d1ad6eed83f1879691d89c2148932c0.jpg

29-10-2021, 01:51 PM
And the thread veers off into a predictable tangent again.

29-10-2021, 01:55 PM
To put things in perspective we went to see Bromley in the National League a few weeks ago. It was £20 for adults. I never quite understand why every Hibs fan wants us to splash cash on new players but a sizeable minority continually complain about ticket prices. Drinks prices have risen by considerably more than admission to football in recent years. To put it into perspective, paying £30 at ER every 2 weeks costs roughly the same as having 1 pint every 2nd day in that time. Football in Scotland remains reasonably priced IMO.

29-10-2021, 01:55 PM
And the thread veers off into a predictable tangent again.

The vocal minority are really making their voices heard and disrupting threads where anyone dares to disagree with them. It’d be great if we could all get behind the team and support them in a time of need - like fan(atics) do.

29-10-2021, 01:58 PM
The vocal minority are really making their voices heard and disrupting threads where anyone dares to disagree with them. It’d be great if we could all get behind the team and support them in a time of need - like fan(atics) do.

Tbh it’s very much both sides of the debate that are hijacking threads

29-10-2021, 02:04 PM
Tbh it’s very much both sides of the debate that are hijacking threads

Yeah probably - I just notice more from the OUT side because I want to support the team.

29-10-2021, 02:06 PM
Tbh it’s very much both sides of the debate that are hijacking threadsSo people can make stuff up but we're not allowed to mention it? Somebody infers that I'm a liar (I have many faults but that isn't one of them) but I shouldn't defend myself?

Have I got that right?

29-10-2021, 02:08 PM
So people can make stuff up but we're not allowed to mention it? Somebody infers that I'm a liar (I have many faults but that isn't one of them) but I shouldn't defend myself?

Have I got that right?

No sure about the liar bit, but definite slaver springs to mind.

29-10-2021, 02:10 PM
No sure about the liar bit, but definite slaver springs to mind.Brilliant, a pile-on!

Luckily it's not only one side hijacking the thread!

29-10-2021, 02:10 PM
To put things in perspective we went to see Bromley in the National League a few weeks ago. It was £20 for adults. I never quite understand why every Hibs fan wants us to splash cash on new players but a sizeable minority continually complain about ticket prices. Drinks prices have risen by considerably more than admission to football in recent years. To put it into perspective, paying £30 at ER every 2 weeks costs roughly the same as having 1 pint every 2nd day in that time. Football in Scotland remains reasonably priced IMO.

I suppose it's all relative, depending upon how much disposable income each fan has. £30 might be a bottle of wine to one fan, but a week's food to another. For a family with kids, walk ups is an expensive business. Scottish football is much cheaper than much of England, but it still quickly adds up, and many just can't afford to go.

HNA11
29-10-2021, 02:13 PM
I debated trying to tidy this thread up. I can't be bothered though so I'm just going to close it instead. It's a million miles removed from anything resembling the original conversation.

Complaints can be directed straight to my deleted folder.