View Full Version : Jason Cummings

23-10-2021, 05:20 PM
At least he cheered me up a wee bit today. Can't help thinking he would have been a decent addition to the squad this summer compared to some of the others

23-10-2021, 05:26 PM
Aye he could open a can o worms oh ah mean beans wi that left peg o his, he does like a goal against them, legend cup winning hero always.
:agree::agree:

Could have Lewandowski up top this season and he would still struggle for goals.

At least he cheered me up a wee bit today. Can't help thinking he would have been a decent addition to the squad this summer compared to some of the others

Correct although a lot of fans wouldn’t agree part of the cup winning team who got abused while John McGinn could fart and people would be tweeting well done John

23-10-2021, 05:36 PM
Correct although a lot of fans wouldn’t agree part of the cup winning team who got abused while John McGinn could fart and people would be tweeting well done John

I wanted him back, but too much of a character for Ross imo. Instead we’d rather have James Scott….

23-10-2021, 05:37 PM
Correct although a lot of fans wouldn’t agree part of the cup winning team who got abused while John McGinn could fart and people would be tweeting well done JohnI'm not quite sure comparing an ex player who got us a decent fee and is shining in the best league in the world to Jason Cummings adds anything to your argument

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

He played well against us earlier this season and has in abundance a lot of what this Hibs side lack.

Like others, I just don't see him as a Jack Ross player though, which is a shame.

Largshibby

Considering how their careers have gone since the cup final it’s probably wise not to draw comparisons between them.

23-10-2021, 05:50 PM
Please don't get me started on this again. Getting Jase back was the no brainer of no brainers.

CL0762
23-10-2021, 05:53 PM
Signing Cummings wouldn’t have made a blind bit of difference IMO, strikers can only score if they get service & we provide none of that at the moment.

RossScott1991
23-10-2021, 05:58 PM
Signing Cummings might not make a difference in games like today due to the midfield.

But my god do I miss abit of personality in the Hibs team. He’s a far better option than Scott and Gullan. And you’d actually be able to play him when Doidge is fit and drop Nisbet if he’s not contributing

23-10-2021, 06:00 PM
Signing characters just isn’t jack Ross

23-10-2021, 06:05 PM
Please don't get me started on this again. Getting Jase back was the no brainer of no brainers.

Bringing back the man with no brain was the no brainer of all no brainers.

Perfect Hatrick
23-10-2021, 06:06 PM
Should be in a Hibs strip but as others have said, signing guys with maverick personalities and playing styles is absolutely not something Ross appears to have any interest in.

One of the main reasons we are so boring to watch is the lack of personality in our squad and lack of swagger. Guys like Cummings should have been a no brainer to sign but instead we get guys like Drey Wright and James Scott who feel more like a return to having Danny Handlings and Sam Stanton’s in the side. Guys who will give the manager no grief and are just happy to be here.

23-10-2021, 06:07 PM
Bringing back the man with no brain was the no brainer of all no brainers.

Too much personality for our dour manager.

Bridge hibs
23-10-2021, 06:14 PM
Signing characters just isn’t jack RossCouldnt give a **** about characters, we need better players, Cummins may be a character but hardly banging them in is he ?

23-10-2021, 06:19 PM
Jason can barely get a start for 2nd bottom Dundee

raeburnhibs
23-10-2021, 06:23 PM
Jason can barely get a start for 2nd bottom Dundee

Likes a goal against the Hearts though right? which should be a raging pre-requisite for any Hibs player

23-10-2021, 06:23 PM
Cummings v Scott

I know who id have every day of the week

23-10-2021, 06:58 PM
Likes a goal against the Hearts though right? which should be a raging pre-requisite for any Hibs player

Don’t be daft

23-10-2021, 07:05 PM

It's about ability and Jason is lacking sufficient of it hence he struggles to start games for the team that is 2nd bottom of the league.

23-10-2021, 07:06 PM
Cummings v Scott

I know who id have every day of the week

None of them?

raeburnhibs
23-10-2021, 07:58 PM
It's about ability and Jason is lacking sufficient of it hence he struggles to start games for the team that is 2nd bottom of the league.

He is a finisher; I don't think he lacks ability in that? The reason he doesn't start (probably) is he does less of the graft and tracking that all teams require these days.

23-10-2021, 07:59 PM
Yes please, but only for games where we require a bit of swagger, entertainment and big goals at important times.

23-10-2021, 08:01 PM
He's not a starter for Dundee 😂

23-10-2021, 08:03 PM
Signing characters just isn’t jack Ross
Alex Ferguson wouldn’t sign a joker either.

23-10-2021, 08:03 PM
JC will always split opinions. I loved his swagger and goalscoring whilst my dad said he didn't work hard enough and should have scored more. Opinions eh...

23-10-2021, 08:05 PM

He still managed to get a goal against top of the league though, something the striker who plays every minute of every game for Hibs has been struggling to even look like doing.

23-10-2021, 08:06 PM
I've never understood the criticism of Cummings' workrate. When he was with us he was extremely fit and gave his all whenever he played.

23-10-2021, 08:08 PM
He's not a starter for Dundee [emoji23]Neither was Albert Kidd[emoji6]

I've never understood the criticism of Cummings' workrate. When he was with us he was extremely fit and gave his all whenever he played.

I also thought he improved every year he was with us.

He was a bit raw and had a few flaws when he broke through, but was much better by the time he left.

I thought he played very well against us.

Perfect Hatrick

Neither did Scott Allan and he came in and turned us from a decent side into one of the best Hibs sides in the last 40 years.

raeburnhibs
23-10-2021, 08:12 PM

It was speculation only on why he doesn't start, another possibility is because most teams go with only one striker these days and he is a less good fit at that? Who typically starts for Dundee?

23-10-2021, 08:13 PM

Makes no sense whatsoever. Anyone who saw him play for Dundee against us earlier in the season will have seen that he is still a hard worker. The stuff about not starting for Dundee is irrelevant. Different teams have different needs. Unlike Griffiths he has plenty mileage in him.

23-10-2021, 08:16 PM
I’d 100% have him in our current squad.

23-10-2021, 08:19 PM
It was speculation only on why he doesn't start, another possibility is because most teams go with only one striker these days and he is a less good fit at that? Who typically starts for Dundee?

TBH it was an observation on comments that have made about Cummings over the years, including when he was still with us.

23-10-2021, 08:56 PM
Neither did Scott Allan and he came in and turned us from a decent side into one of the best Hibs sides in the last 40 years.

That was John McGinn
Allan without McGinn was exposed

Perfect Hatrick
23-10-2021, 09:13 PM
That was John McGinn
Allan without McGinn was exposed

McGinn was already there. Allan changed our season.

23-10-2021, 09:30 PM
McGinn was already there. Allan changed our season.

He only played 12 games for us the season he came from Dundee

Perfect Hatrick
23-10-2021, 09:34 PM

Yup. And those 12 games was one of the best Hibs teams most of us have ever seen. Anyway, it’s not really worth arguing about. The idea Scott Allan wasn’t anything but an exceptional signing that season is mental.

23-10-2021, 09:35 PM
We had to start Jamie Gullan today.

If it was a straight choice between him and Jason Cummings then there is no contest.

23-10-2021, 10:24 PM
Does anyone think Riordan could still do a job for us?

23-10-2021, 10:27 PM
It was madness not re-signing Jason Cummings. He puts in a shift, knows where the goals are and has something about him.

I'd say he has more about him than Nisbet.

23-10-2021, 10:29 PM
It was madness not re-signing Jason Cummings. He puts in a shift, knows where the goals are and has something about him.

I'd say you are wrong!

24-10-2021, 09:55 AM
He's not a starter for Dundee ��

Neither was Martin Boyle.:cb

Having lived through our dire derby periods of the 80s and early 90s, a guy like Cummings who banged them in regularly in a succesful period against them is a player worth having.

It wasnt just Hearts though - he scored plenty against Rangers, Aberdeen & Dundee United too when he was with us. Imagine having him as an option coming off the bench?

24-10-2021, 09:57 AM
We had to start Jamie Gullan today.

If it was a straight choice between him and Jason Cummings then there is no contest.

We didn’t have to start Jamie Gullan. Jack decided to play him. I still can’t figure out why.

JammyDoidger
24-10-2021, 09:58 AM
Would have felt confident playing hearts with him in the side, and they'd be making a mess of their pants him lining up for us again against them. Still think they'll sign him tbh. Be so typical.

Stokesy's on fire
24-10-2021, 10:45 AM
We didn’t have to start Jamie Gullan. Jack decided to play him. I still can’t figure out why.

Because we dont have enough squad depth

24-10-2021, 10:51 AM
He might not be keen on coming back anyway after the idiots in our support singing derogatory songs about him earlier this season. It clearly stung him at the time.

Weegreenman
24-10-2021, 11:14 AM
Things must be bad when your biggest thrill of the evening is watching the highlights of a former player scoring against Hearts.

Sad times……again!

24-10-2021, 11:55 AM
Signing Cummings might not make a difference in games like today due to the midfield.

But my god do I miss abit of personality in the Hibs team. He’s a far better option than Scott and Gullan. And you’d actually be able to play him when Doidge is fit and drop Nisbet if he’s not contributing

Bingo. Sometimes a player brings more to a club than just footballing ability. Like so many Hibs teams of the past, we're short of players with self-belief and drive when times get tough.

24-10-2021, 01:54 PM

Depends what you mean by “more about him”.

I wouldn’t say he has more football ability about him. But then he does have more wacky haircuts.. about him.

24-10-2021, 02:01 PM
I spoke to him at Craigleith on Friday while waiting for the wife to finish work. He's a decent lad and seems to have screwed the nut a bit, he admits he was too daft for his own good at times. Would've jumped at the chance of a return to us but no one came in for him and happy up at Dundee, I think we missed a wee trick here.

24-10-2021, 02:08 PM
The thing for me that Nisbet and Doidge don’t have is the belief they’ll do something out of nothing.

Cummings, Griffiths and Riordan etc for me all gave me a feeling that no matter how bad we’re playing or how unlikely it is looking for us, they would pop up with a goal.

All of them scored goals it never even looked on to shoot.

Nisbet doesn’t have that effect for me. I’ve lost count the amount of times he slowly goes towards a defender inside the box to create a yard and loses it. The other mentioned would do a quick shift and smash it in the other side.

Nisbet could be better than all of them with the attributes he has and has shown when he’s on top form aswell as his physicality, but he just doesn’t show it enough.

It’s like after 4 months of playing with us the hype went to his head and he thinks he’s doing us a favour.

We saw it with Kamberi and look how that’s worked out for him.

He needs to get back to what he can do.

24-10-2021, 02:10 PM
We're able to speak to him in January, and we should try.

FRes Hibbie
24-10-2021, 02:14 PM

Because we signed him on loan on January 31st, two thirds of the season had already been played. Our form went through the roof after he arrived.

24-10-2021, 03:28 PM

To me it was the first sign of panic from JR.

Scores a hat trick through the week in a bounce game and throws him in.

A roll of the dice looking for a six and got a one.

Over the years I've noticed Hibs managers when they start to struggle seem to pick random teams which only get worse.

First sign.

24-10-2021, 03:38 PM

Over the years I've noticed Hibs managers when they start to struggle seem to pick random teams which only get worse.

First sign.

It was glaringly obvious our midfield would be over run and out battled - couldn't believe the formation and selections yesterday. Even if it was a poor Aberdeen, they played with younger players, more width, and lots of physicality in their starting line up (which was predictable).

Murphy made a difference when he came on but for me he is a senior player and should be starting these bigger games.

As for the defence Scoopy, three of the four are stalwarts and I'm not hanging them out to dry on the back of yesterday - but if we want a side that continually wants 3rd and progress, Hanlon, Lewy and Daz have to be moved on and we need younger, driven, and players who want to get to the next level in their careers and make the club some money.

24-10-2021, 04:14 PM
Jase is a legend he belongs in a green jersey, bring him back.

24-10-2021, 04:29 PM

First sign.

Agree, seen it before. What was quite telling for me was the reaction when Gullan got subbed. There were quite a few grumbles but it was more towards Nisbet staying on the park despite the fact he couldn’t even be bothered to move. We’re playing without a centre forward at the moment.

24-10-2021, 04:49 PM

First sign.

See, I didn’t think it was that bad a move albeit it didn’t work (!!)

Gullan had arguably earned an opportunity with his goals for the B team.

It left Jack Ross with something to bring off the bench to turn a game in our favour for a change and Murphy caused a few problems when he went on.

We’ve also got another couple of big games this week and it’s doubtful that Murphy could start them all and play 90 minutes without breaking down at some point. Same might go for Doig, same might even be the case with Wood. They might now be able to contribute on Wednesday and at the weekend.

I have a bit of sympathy for Ross, to a point. He’s limited in what he can do and who he can use.

My bugbear is still how dreadful Nisbet has been and how much we struggle to get service and support to him. I simply don’t have much of an alternative to offer, other than a 352 with Nisbet and Boyle up front and Murphy left out for a bit.

24-10-2021, 04:58 PM
See, I didn’t think it was that bad a move albeit it didn’t work (!!)

Gullan had arguably earned an opportunity with his goals for the B team.

It left Jack Ross with something to bring off the bench to turn a game in our favour for a change and Murphy caused a few problems when he went on.

We’ve also got another couple of big games this week and it’s doubtful that Murphy could start them all and play 90 minutes without breaking down at some point. Same might go for Doig, same might even be the case with Wood. They might now be able to contribute on Wednesday and at the weekend.

I have a bit of sympathy for Ross, to a point. He’s limited in what he can do and who he can use.

My bugbear is still how dreadful Nisbet has been and how much we struggle to get service and support to him. I simply don’t have much of an alternative to offer, other than a 352 with Nisbet and Boyle up front and Murphy left out for a bit.

I’m with scoopyboy on this. Ross sees Gullan in training every day and hasn’t seen fit to bring him on in previous games, but he scores goals for the B team and all of a sudden he’s deemed worthy of a start. Definitely feels like panic to me.

24-10-2021, 05:00 PM
I’m with scoopyboy on this. Ross sees Gullan in training every day and hasn’t seen fit to bring him on in previous games, but he scores goals for the B team and all of a sudden he’s deemed worthy of a start. Definitely feels like panic to me.

Yep. Panic. The fans shouting for it and he’s fallen for it. Same with Daz.

24-10-2021, 05:02 PM

I wonder if it's less panic than demonstrating to the board how thin the squad is. Play Gullan and Daz as that's all we have.....

24-10-2021, 05:04 PM

He’s the manager though. He shouldn’t be picking a team based on what the fans are shouting for. Worrying if that’s what’s happened.

24-10-2021, 05:04 PM
He’s the manager though. He shouldn’t be picking a team based on what the fans are shouting for. Worrying if that’s what’s happened.

Correct. Maybe we should all stop listening to the folk that were desperate for these changes.

24-10-2021, 05:05 PM
I wonder if it's less panic than demonstrating to the board how thin the squad is. Play Gullan and Daz as that's all we have.....

Agreed ….Not a chance Ross did it because of fans opinion ..he is not reading social media. He did it because he has had a disturbingly poor performance last week and wanted to change it up . Gullan was one of the few options he had. And had reminded him during the week . We lost, so people now view it as panic. He simply wanted to freshen things up .

24-10-2021, 05:08 PM

Were many fans shouting for Gullan to start ? I know I wasn’t. Nothing against him but he’s never struck me as worthy of a start, though has done OK at times coming on as a sub. Daz was the right call imo based on Woods previous appearance, but it can’t be easy at his age to play rarely and be expected to be match sharp.

But if he is listening to fans please play Scott Allan in his proper position. Thanks Jack.

24-10-2021, 05:10 PM
But if he is listening to fans please play Scott Allan in his proper position. Thanks Jack.

He done that last week and had to hook him at HT.

24-10-2021, 05:14 PM
He done that last week and had to hook him at HT.

I disagree, but he’s an easy target for Ross. Newell and JDH were just as poor. Allan was dropped for the following game both of those start. When he does finally bring him on it’s initially in a too far advanced position.

24-10-2021, 05:24 PM

Picking Daz yesterday was the right decision, not a panic decision.

24-10-2021, 05:28 PM

Agreed. Just shows how bad our recruitment was when we're having to put a 36 year old in ahead of a loan player who isn't good enough at this level. I actually feel sorry for Ross. He's been badly let down.

24-10-2021, 05:31 PM
I disagree, but he’s an easy target for Ross. Newell and JDH were just as poor. Allan was dropped for the following game both of those start. When he does finally bring him on it’s initially in a too far advanced position.

What’s his best position?

24-10-2021, 05:33 PM

Bench

24-10-2021, 05:38 PM
Was playing Gullan a sign of "panic", or was it just a case of trying something different with the players at his disposal, especially given Nisbet's current form? Damned if he did, damned if he didn't it would seem.

24-10-2021, 05:40 PM

It clearly wasn’t the right decision. Woods made a couple of errors. Daz made a few in the first 20 mins.

24-10-2021, 05:41 PM

Middle of the park, facing the goals, not just behind the striker with his back to goals. And not on the left of midfield.

24-10-2021, 06:09 PM
It clearly wasn’t the right decision. Woods made a couple of errors. Daz made a few in the first 20 mins.

Daz played a nervy passback but was otherwise solid. There is no way he could have played Wood after last week. I'd be amazed if we see Wood picked again unless there is an emergency.

Mikey_1875
24-10-2021, 06:25 PM
Daz played a nervy passback but was otherwise solid. There is no way he could have played Wood after last week. I'd be amazed if we see Wood picked again unless there is an emergency.

I felt for McGregor yesterday and i’m sorry to say it as he has been a great servant but both our back up centre halves don’t look good enough at the moment. If Ross thought Wood was worth another chance he would have played I think. We are paying the price for putting all our eggs in the McCart basket and then not finding a credible replacement when that fell through.

Daz will be hurting today but like you say for Wood that might also be the last time we see Daz play for us. He lost the rag yesterday and was in flare ups before the sending off and then after with the Aberdeen supporters. He wasn’t solely responsible for costing us the game by any stretch but coupled with the Rijeka red he is showing himself as unreliable this season.

24-10-2021, 06:39 PM
I felt for McGregor yesterday and i’m sorry to say it as he has been a great servant but both our back up centre halves don’t look good enough at the moment. If Ross thought Wood was worth another chance he would have played I think. We are paying the price for putting all our eggs in the McCart basket and then not finding a credible replacement when that fell through.

Daz will be hurting today but like you say for Wood that might also be the last time we see Daz play for us. He lost the rag yesterday and was in flare ups before the sending off and then after with the Aberdeen supporters. He wasn’t solely responsible for costing us the game by any stretch but coupled with the Rijeka red he is showing himself as unreliable this season.

We never got anything out of the game yesterday because we created absolutely nothing. Darren being sent off in the 97th minute had no impact on the result, he done about as well as you could reasonably ask a 36 year old center half who's hardly played would do.

Mikey_1875
24-10-2021, 06:49 PM
We never got anything out of the game yesterday because we created absolutely nothing. Darren being sent off in the 97th minute had no impact on the result, he done about as well as you could reasonably ask a 36 year old center half who's hardly played would do.

I’m not saying the sending off did impact the result but it still wasn’t great to see in someone who is normally very cool. Im not doubting his commitment either and that very well may be the best he has to offer.

Unfortunately I don’t think it’s good enough and to me there has been a noticeable drop off in his abilities when called upon even compared to last season. We should have had a proper replacement in and unless we really have to I’m not sure he will play again. Which is a sad thing to say.

24-10-2021, 06:59 PM
McGregor was quite low down the list of people I felt let down by yesterday.

If we score a couple at the other end he's got a couple of shaky moments out his system before going on to have a decent game then been a bit unlucky to fall foul of the ref at the death following a tangle.

24-10-2021, 07:06 PM
Daz done remarkably well when he was brought in for a few games last season given that he hadn't had any matches. However it's to be expected that, as he gets older, it's going to become more difficult to just slot in like he's never been away - match fitness & match sharpness are hugely important.

He's obviously not what we need as a regular CH, but I wouldn't write him off as back up quite yet.

24-10-2021, 08:20 PM
Cummings has scored 6 goals this season. Ross’ comment about ‘role models’ was a red flag for me. We’ve already got McGregor and Hanlon for two who are great examples on and off the field. It’s the ‘characters’ like Boyle who get the fans on their feet and create chances and score goals. We should have signed Cummings rather than nobody in the summer window.

Hulk1875
24-10-2021, 08:23 PM
Daz has been a legend and I’ll be honest didn’t see second half of game, but our problem yesterday was in attacking sense it needs sorted

24-10-2021, 08:31 PM
We should have signed Cummings rather than nobody in the summer window.

Yes we should have.

HibsGW
25-10-2021, 08:25 AM
Gullan just isn’t good enough, he’s 23 now, of course he scores against 17 year olds. He’s contributed nothing in the first team for the last 2 seasons.

25-10-2021, 08:47 AM
Gullan just isn’t good enough, he’s 23 now, of course he scores against 17 year olds. He’s contributed nothing in the first team for the last 2 seasons.

That's why he was at Kilmarnock on deadline day ready to sign a permanent deal with them. Scarf above the head photos done but deal fell through because Hibs missed out on targets and pulled the deal at last minute.

He knows hes not wanted here, the manager does not have him in his plans, and he could have substantially increased his wage going to Killie - not great for anyone really that we messed up deadline day so badly.

25-10-2021, 10:49 AM
That's why he was at Kilmarnock on deadline day ready to sign a permanent deal with them. Scarf above the head photos done but deal fell through because Hibs missed out on targets and pulled the deal at last minute.

He knows hes not wanted here, the manager does not have him in his plans, and he could have substantially increased his wage going to Killie - not great for anyone really that we messed up deadline day so badly.

The manager put him in the starting line up at the weekend. We do seem to be a bit all over the place right now.

25-10-2021, 11:20 AM

You have to feel for him after the deadline day shambles.

25-10-2021, 11:47 AM
Agreed ….Not a chance Ross did it because of fans opinion ..he is not reading social media. He did it because he has had a disturbingly poor performance last week and wanted to change it up . Gullan was one of the few options he had. And had reminded him during the week . We lost, so people now view it as panic. He simply wanted to freshen things up .

If that’s the case then he had to drop Nisbet and start Gullan on Saturday, Gullan will be lucky to be on the bench on Wednesday and maybe O’Connor comes on to the bench with Nisbet having to start the game, but I reckon there will be more changes to the team on Wednesday night, Gogic will come in, Alan will be on bench.

And with celtc starting to find some form it could be another bad day at the office for Jack.

25-10-2021, 12:08 PM
The manager put him in the starting line up at the weekend. We do seem to be a bit all over the place right now.

Yeah, but obviously Ross would have wanted a new signing there instead. All over the place as you say.

You have to feel for him after the deadline day shambles.

:agree: Gullan was gutted it fell through I believe.

25-10-2021, 12:16 PM
Yeah, but obviously Ross would have wanted a new signing there instead. All over the place as you say.

:agree: Gullan was gutted it fell through I believe.

Playing Gullan was probably a message to the board to get the players in needed for January. I feel sorry for Jamie, he needs to be playing and Killie are a good club for him right now, been treated shabbily.

25-10-2021, 02:32 PM
Playing Gullan was probably a message to the board to get the players in needed for January. I feel sorry for Jamie, he needs to be playing and Killie are a good club for him right now, been treated shabbily.

:agree: add in the chance to make more money as well.

25-10-2021, 02:40 PM
Playing Gullan was probably a message to the board to get the players in needed for January. I feel sorry for Jamie, he needs to be playing and Killie are a good club for him right now, been treated shabbily.[emoji106]This.

25-10-2021, 02:50 PM

I think its because he scored 3 in a bounce game and was doing well in training. Why would Ross need to send some statement like that when we have already overhauled our recruitment team? Like, we clearly know there is a problem.

25-10-2021, 09:53 PM

Or maybe the manager decided he was worth the start? He needs a run of games though but expect him to be back out the team again for the Celtic game.

shetlandhibee
25-10-2021, 10:03 PM
I think its because he scored 3 in a bounce game and was doing well in training. Why would Ross need to send some statement like that when we have already overhauled our recruitment team? Like, we clearly know there is a problem.:top marksabsolutely this :agree: