View Full Version : Huddersfield B team vs Hibs B team
19-10-2021, 04:27 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/report-huddersfield-town-2-4-hibs-b
Never even knew about this game. Gullan with a hat-trick.
19-10-2021, 04:31 PM
Sending a wee message to management, yes only the B sides but you still have to perform, laddies never been given a chance.
19-10-2021, 04:40 PM
Sending a wee message to management, yes only the B sides but you still have to perform, laddies never been given a chance.
you'd think with doidge being out he should be getting his chance
You'd think but the fact he was almost away to Kilmarnock at the end of the window suggests Ross doesn't rate him.
19-10-2021, 04:43 PM
Why he didn’t let him go to Killie was poor from Hibs, particularly as we don’t play him, really disappointing. Poor lad just wants to play
19-10-2021, 04:44 PM
Interesting that there are a couple of trialists in there.
Also interesting that Josh Campbell often appears to be fairly prominent during pre-season then disappears completely when the competitive games come around.
Good on Gullan for staking a claim with a few goals. Not sure Jack Ross appears to the type to change his mind based on any of these games though, which makes you wonder what exactly the point in them is.
Interesting that there are a couple of trialists in there.
Also interesting that Josh Campbell often appears to be fairly prominent during pre-season then disappears completely when the competitive games come around.
Good on Gullan for staking a claim with a few goals. Not sure Jack Ross appears to the type to change his mind based on any of these games though, which makes you wonder what exactly the point in them is.
Keeping players match fit.
Why he didn’t let him go to Killie was poor from Hibs, particularly as we don’t play him, really disappointing. Poor lad just wants to play
I like Gullan, can play off the left and considering we're playing 4231 you'd think the system was perfect for him to get some game time.
19-10-2021, 04:49 PM
Does he offer less than Scott? I don’t think so
19-10-2021, 04:51 PM
Keeping players match fit.
For what?
They're never going to be used in the first team.
I only found out about the game at 11am or would have gone.
Shame as quite fancied it.
For what?
They're never going to be used in the first team.
Who knows maybe Huddersfield ask us, not that important in the grand scheme of things.
19-10-2021, 05:02 PM
If Gullan was showing enough often enough he’d be in the team. Managers need results to keep their job, they’re not going to cut their nose off to spite their face.
19-10-2021, 05:04 PM
If Gullan was showing enough often enough he’d be in the team. Managers need results to keep their job, they’re not going to cut their nose off to spite their face.
He’s not really had much game time mind you ….Ross doesn’t change his players too often ….and tbf the team has largely done well
19-10-2021, 05:05 PM
Do you think he’s making a transfer window type statement playing Scott ahead of Gullan?
CL0762
19-10-2021, 05:16 PM
I notice Innes Murray was playing, does anyone know what the club think/feel about him? 24 by the end of the season and by and large has been absolutely nowhere near our first team at all.
19-10-2021, 05:22 PM
I like Gullan, can play off the left and considering we're playing 4231 you'd think the system was perfect for him to get some game time.
He’s predominantly a CF. Cannae do any worse than Nisbet.
davhibby
19-10-2021, 05:23 PM
Does he offer less than Scott? I don’t think so
davhibby
19-10-2021, 05:25 PM
He pretty much never played as a CF at Raith and rarely has for us under Ross
19-10-2021, 05:27 PM
Do you think he’s making a transfer window type statement playing Scott ahead of Gullan?
I don’t think so, I just don’t think he sees Gullan at the level he’s wanting. I don’t think it’s any more complex than that.
19-10-2021, 05:29 PM
He can, yes.
Nisbet league goals in the last 2 weeks = 1
Gullan league goals for Hibs in 23 appearances = 0
19-10-2021, 05:46 PM
He can, yes.
Not really comparing like for like though …
19-10-2021, 05:50 PM
Not really comparing like for like though …
I know. But the idea that Gullan couldn't possibly be worse is rubbish. He could be much worse.
19-10-2021, 05:51 PM
Gullan managed 4 goals in 12 appearances for Raith last season, despite niggling injuries. Split between the wing and centre forward he managed a goal every 163 minutes.
We were clearly lacking legs on Saturday, and I was disappointed he wasn't given an opportunity to inject some energy into the team when we were chasing a goal. Overall he has 18 goals in 94 appearances on loan and at hibs.
19-10-2021, 05:52 PM
I know. But the idea that Gullan couldn't possibly be worse is rubbish. He could be much worse.
Yeah. Agree on that. I was wondering if he could add more than Scott …obviously JR doesn’t feel so.
19-10-2021, 05:58 PM
Yeah. Agree on that. I was wondering if he could add more than Scott …obviously JR doesn’t feel so. M
I think as a forward, he certainly would. Scott is out of his depth up front.
19-10-2021, 06:02 PM
He might be better though.
Nisbet had a very promising first few months but if we're being honest with ourselves he's been terrible 90+% of the time throughout 2021.
Gullan hasn't had much of an opportunity to show whether or not he'd be better or worse.
He might be pish, but for less money, which would still be an improvement.
19-10-2021, 06:32 PM
Thanks for fixing Billy also nice to see Josh score again.
Bit of a 50/50 as you don't want to rush them in at early but they also need some first team experience. Is Josh playing better than Ethan so far Billy?
19-10-2021, 06:41 PM
I notice Innes Murray was playing, does anyone know what the club think/feel about him? 24 by the end of the season and by and large has been absolutely nowhere near our first team at all.
I think this is a mental one - he must’ve been highly rated and given a fairly lengthy contract to still be here at 24 and not even have played a minute* for the first team.
*I don’t know this is definitely the case but it won’t be much more than 0.
19-10-2021, 06:49 PM
He might be better though.
Nisbet had a very promising first few months but if we're being honest with ourselves he's been terrible 90+% of the time throughout 2021.
Gullan hasn't had much of an opportunity to show whether or not he'd be better or worse.
He might be pish, but for less money, which would still be an improvement.
90% is a little bit of an exaggertion. He has been better than Gullan has ever showed even when not playing well.
Its Scott that Gullan should be getting minutes ahead of IMO. Not Kevin.
19-10-2021, 06:54 PM
Thanks for fixing Billy also nice to see Josh score again.
Bit of a 50/50 as you don't want to rush them in at early but they also need some first team experience. Is Josh playing better than Ethan so far Billy?
I’ve only been to 2/3 games, so not the best judge
Think Josh is a bit older though, surprised he’s not even made the bench yet
19-10-2021, 06:56 PM
90% is a little bit of an exaggertion. He has been better than Gullan has ever showed even when not playing well.
90% may be an exaggeration.
But I've not seen him play well in person yet and I've seen him have a few stinkers.
He had a very good first few months and has tailed off horrendously and it is criminal that we're having to rely on him so heavily right now when he's so far off form.
FifeHibs
19-10-2021, 07:18 PM
Does anyone know who the 2 Trialist were
19-10-2021, 08:34 PM
He can, yes.
Probably the worst stats comparison I’ve ever seen😂.
Gullan has only ever started 1 league game for us
19-10-2021, 08:36 PM
Scott’s not been starting either so it’s only Nisbet he can replace.
19-10-2021, 08:43 PM
Gullan should be ahead of Scott in the pecking order.
19-10-2021, 08:47 PM
Probably the worst stats comparison I’ve ever seen😂.
Gullan has only ever started 1 league game for us
Of course it is. Saying Gullan cannot possibly be worse than our Scotland international striker, who scored at Ibrox last week is just rubbish, though.
Gullan is a decent player in my mind, I think he should be involved more. But Nisbet is easily our best available striker.
19-10-2021, 08:53 PM
I'd like to see Gullan given his chance in place of Murphy who to me brings little more to a game than his reputation.
19-10-2021, 09:27 PM
I'd like to see Gullan given his chance in place of Murphy who to me brings little more to a game than his reputation.
Apart from boyle, murphy was the only one who actually tried to attack at the weekend, unfortunately his final ball let him down but no danger is gullan going to bring more to the game than murphy
19-10-2021, 09:41 PM
Apart from boyle, murphy was the only one who actually tried to attack at the weekend, unfortunately his final ball let him down but no danger is gullan going to bring more to the game than murphy
Whilst I agree that Murphy was probably our busiest player at the weekend, he ultimately created f all.
We don't know how much Gullan might create but I'd be surprised if it was less than that.
19-10-2021, 09:44 PM
I think this boy was one of the trialists. Few of the players follow him on social media. What a name 😂
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kurowskybob_Pierre
19-10-2021, 09:48 PM
I think this boy was one of the trialists. Few of the players follow him on social media. What a name [emoji23]
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kurowskybob_PierreI've always thought we should tap into the Americo-Haitian market.
19-10-2021, 10:26 PM
Whilst I agree that Murphy was probably our busiest player at the weekend, he ultimately created f all.
We don't know how much Gullan might create but I'd be surprised if it was less than that.
Thought his shot in the second half was goal bound until defender headed away.
19-10-2021, 10:58 PM
I’ve heard it all now, replace one of our most creative players with someone who can’t get a sniff but scored against a Huddersfield young team where the keeper should have probably saved 2/3 goals. Bring him on off the bench instead of Scott aye as hopefully this will improve his confidence but starting ahead of Murphy Na not in a million years for me
tmb1875
20-10-2021, 12:20 AM
Murphy flatters to deceive for me, combined 8 goals and assists in 36 games for us is not great. Think it’s only fair we give Gullane 3/4 starts on the bounce if he does something great if not at least he’s been given a fair crack. Imagine your a youngster at hibs and your watching how we’ve treated Gullane, Murray, Campbell, brydon. All should be given time ahead of Wright, Scott, woods. Gonna lose boys who see no pathway into 1st team.
ozhibs
20-10-2021, 02:59 AM
Imagine your a youngster at hibs and your watching how we’ve treated Gullane, Murray, Campbell, brydon. All should be given time ahead of Wright, Scott, woods. Gonna lose boys who see no pathway into 1st team.
I agree with this especially in the case of Scott and Woods, nothing against Woods but I can’t see him getting much game time, so maybe Brydon should be on the bench. He should know the system JR wants to play and He would probably get more leaway from the fans.
20-10-2021, 06:46 AM
Seen absolutely nothing from Gullan to suggest he's better than Murphy. Murphy is a very good player at this level on his day.
Pretty Green
20-10-2021, 07:15 AM
I personally would like Jack Ross to consider all of his options including dropping Nisbet. He has hardy shown any interest in his appearances.i know a lot of people will disagree but it is my opinion he should be dropped until he sorts out his attitude issue.
Seen absolutely nothing from Gullan to suggest he's better than Murphy. Murphy is a very good player at this level on his day.
On his day! Those days are gone and few and far between in my opinion.
Murphy flatters to deceive for me, combined 8 goals and assists in 36 games for us is not great. Think it’s only fair we give Gullane 3/4 starts on the bounce if he does something great if not at least he’s been given a fair crack. Imagine your a youngster at hibs and your watching how we’ve treated Gullane, Murray, Campbell, brydon. All should be given time ahead of Wright, Scott, woods. Gonna lose boys who see no pathway into 1st team.
There is a pathway into the first team. That pathway is called "being good enough". It is the pathway that was followed by Ryan Porteous and by Josh Doig. Given that they make up 20% of our first choice outfield players, I'm surprised that you are unaware of them. If we lose players who are not good enough then that is absolutely fine by me.
And you would seriously field Innes Murray (24 in February, out of contract in the summer, and currently on loan to League 2 Edinburgh City) ...?
20-10-2021, 08:39 AM
Unfortunately the jump from a B Team to the Prem team is huge. If it wasn't you'd see a lot more getting game time. If the coaches saw anything to suggest these boys could make a difference they would be playing. There is very little chance of anyone past 21 suddenly making the jump up between the levels. The younger ones still have a chance and thats why Hibs continue to stick with them and give them other options to develop. A player like James Scott clearly shows more in training than any of the reserve players. It may be hard to believe but no one on here knows mores about these players abilities than the coaches that work with them every day
tmb1875
20-10-2021, 08:48 AM
Fair enough but I don’t think you can judge a player until they’ve had a few starts on the bounce. Plenty players are poor in training but turn it on when it comes to games. Need to try different things when plan a doesn’t work.
20-10-2021, 09:08 AM
On his day! Those days are gone and few and far between in my opinion.
Don't think they are gone however his issue is staying fit. Does flatter to deceive however is still capable of producing quality imo. Personally would go back to 352 and leave him out Saturday as long as McGinn is fit.
20-10-2021, 09:09 AM
Unfortunately the jump from a B Team to the Prem team is huge. If it wasn't you'd see a lot more getting game time. If the coaches saw anything to suggest these boys could make a difference they would be playing. There is very little chance of anyone past 21 suddenly making the jump up between the levels. The younger ones still have a chance and thats why Hibs continue to stick with them and give them other options to develop. A player like James Scott clearly shows more in training than any of the reserve players. It may be hard to believe but no one on here knows mores about these players abilities than the coaches that work with them every day
Good point.
He can, yes.
IIRC Jamie has started 1 league game for Hibs and coincidentally that was at Aberdeen in last pre shutdown game. Even in that game, where we were in charge and leading, he was sacrificed after Whitty was sent off. I'd like to know the average time of Jamie's 23 "appearances".
20-10-2021, 09:21 AM
I’ve heard it all now, replace one of our most creative players with someone who can’t get a sniff but scored against a Huddersfield young team where the keeper should have probably saved 2/3 goals. Bring him on off the bench instead of Scott aye as hopefully this will improve his confidence but starting ahead of Murphy Na not in a million years for me
It's the same slack from some fans that the likes of Shaw, Stanton and Handling got. Gullan isn't good enough to be a regular in our first team and never will be. That's the harsh reality of it.
King conrad
20-10-2021, 10:43 AM
He'll be considered an experienced player in the next three years but still nowhere near the first team! If he had any ambition he would have left Hibs a few year back and tried his luck elsewhere.
I don't get why Hibs keep them for so long when they have no no intention of playing these laddies.
20-10-2021, 11:05 AM
I think this boy was one of the trialists. Few of the players follow him on social media. What a name
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kurowskybob_Pierre
That's the guy in the photograph in the match report.
Good call.
20-10-2021, 11:26 AM
He'll be considered an experienced player in the next three years but still nowhere near the first team! If he had any ambition he would have left Hibs a few year back and tried his luck elsewhere.
I don't get why Hibs keep them for so long when they have no no intention of playing these laddies.
All I can think is he was highly promising at 19 and got a 5 year deal handed to him.
20-10-2021, 11:32 AM
Nothing against Innes Murray but the fact that he's still kicking around at that age without ever having threatened to make a first team breakthrough is surely a symptom of failure within the academy.
Relative to clubs of similar size we do seem to hang onto players to a fairly late age without either giving them anything resembling a chance or binning them.
20-10-2021, 11:55 AM
Nothing against Innes Murray but the fact that he's still kicking around at that age without ever having threatened to make a first team breakthrough is surely a symptom of failure within the academy.
Relative to clubs of similar size we do seem to hang onto players to a fairly late age without either giving them anything resembling a chance or binning them.
Hearts as we know binned Doig and Cummings early so it can go wrong.
As for Innes Murray, he won't have cost Hibs much.
The guy will undergo a tough life change when his contract ends in the summer and he becomes a part time player who needs to find a new career.
Can't blame him for keeping out of the rat race for as long as possible.
While I agree your general point, our coaches and managers are not infallible. Nor do we know if they're all in agreement over the respective merits of individual players. At the end of the day Ross will decide who makes the team. I freely admit I'm a fan of Jamie and I believe there are many other teams out there watching his situation with interest. One thing is for certain, no player can demonstrate their ability if they don't get an opportunity to play.
22-10-2021, 08:32 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-jack-ross-admits-jamie-gullan-mistake-3428162
Jack says he made a mistake not bringing Jamie on last Saturday.
22-10-2021, 08:35 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-jack-ross-admits-jamie-gullan-mistake-3428162
Hopefully he gets game time and starts scoring.
Really want him to do well. He scored a great goal against ICT at ER.
Also good to see JR admitting mistakes
Good to see Ross admit his mistakes and that Gullan is showing signs in training that Ross can't ignore, could be like a new signing.
22-10-2021, 10:08 AM
Good to see Ross admit his mistakes and that Gullan is showing signs in training that Ross can't ignore, could be like a new signing.
Hopefully but i've heard all this before. Ross said not long after he came in that he was really impressed with Gullan and he was going to make him a member of the first team squad. At his age, i'd have expected him to have pushed on and either be a first team regular or at the very least make more sub appearances. Especially with Doidge out long term. I just don't think he's at the level we need. I hope i'm wrong as would love to see him come good but i just can't see it happening for him.
Good to see JR acknowledge that. Hopefully that means he gets some proper game time on Saturday. He's a different type of forward to Doidge but still think we get the best out of Nissy when Ross plays two up front.
I'm a bit confused by JR's comment TBH. To my knowledge this is at least the 2nd time he's praised Jamie for what he's showing in training, the official site even concurs, and yet he's hardly been used. In theory, signing Scott seemed like a bit of a scoop, in reality he's shown little and I would rather we developed our own player than a loanee.
My only thought is that JR is inherently a fairly cautious manager who wants to stick with his trusted formation. I hope Jamie gets meaningful game time on Saturday but unfortunately I suspect if he does it may be because we're chasing the game.
Jamie can okay up top or off the left, he has a good work ethic so will stop back to help out, he needs more than the odd 5 mins here and there.