PDA

View Full Version : We've not become a bad team overnight, but..................

theonlywayisup
16-10-2021, 07:42 PM
.....we are so predictable to play against.

I'm no football expert, but it's pretty obvious that if you stop the supply to Boyle then you've done pretty well to nullify Hibs. The best way to stop the supply is to win the midfield battle, which DU did pretty effectively today, and to pressurise our centre-backs, which again DU did today. Same with other teams in recent seasons, especially St Johnstone. Both centre-backs had no time on the ball and no option other to launch aimless punts forward, which was so easy for the DU defenders, especially as they don't have to worry about Doidge.

Today, we lost the midfield, but it's no surprise to me that we lost the game. We can't play compete with a midfield consisting of an out-of-sorts Scott Allan, a workmanlike Doyle-Hayes and a lazy Joe Newell. The linkage between midfield & attack and midfield & defence was non-existent today and is often the case when we play teams that 'win' the midfield.

As I've said, I'm no expert, but we can't play competitive teams with a front three of Murphy, Nisbet and Boyle. We need four or even five players in midfield to win the battle and get Boyle and Nisbet moving forward as a front two, supported by midfield.

As a slight aside, even when Boyle did get the ball today, it was pretty obvious that the message to the opposition players is take him down early, as a free-kick to Hibs 35 yards from goal a much more attractive option than facing a Boyle running at you at full speed. Which takes me back to my main point, nullify Boyle and Hibs become a poor and predictable team to play against.

Waxy
16-10-2021, 08:05 PM
We still have Boyle though and it’ll take a fair effort to nulify him which opens other doors for us.

Steve20
16-10-2021, 08:33 PM
It’s not overnight, you’re right.

Dundee away
Hearts away
St Mirren home
Dundee Utd home.