View Full Version : First Reaction

Hibees1973
16-10-2021, 05:11 PM
Know that your first reaction is not always the best reaction and it's possibly not wise posting so soon after today's performance. But this team/squad/management is on a rapid decline.

I have watched all of Hibs games either in person or on TV for the last year and performances are getting worse. I must be honest first and say I still have a fair degree of bitterness that the club missed two prime opportunities to win both cups last year. While 3rd was merited last season, I also feel that the main reasons we finished 3rd last year was that Aberdeen were poor and Hearts were not in the league. We still finished miles behind Rangers and Celtic.

This management and squad does not have the desire/drive of the teams I watched under Stubbs and Lennon. Know we did not win every game under Stubbs/Lennon, but I miss going along to Easter Road knowing beforehand that we were going to be attacking and put any team that came to our place under pressure. The atmosphere at Easter Road under Stubbs/Lennons' management was so much better..

Just now we are passive and soft. Today was shocking to watch.

I like Ross. He is a competent and progressive manager, but are we going to get any better under him?. I have watched Hibs enough under Ross to understand how he sets us up. We are a counter-attacking team with a weak underbelly (defence). He has had almost 2 years to get the defence sorted out but I have not seen any improvement. Is it his fault or the recruitment team? I'm not sure, but he must take some responsibility for it.

I'm going out on a limb here......I would love to see Lennon back at Hibs. He would shake this lot up and he would be as good as anyone available out there there to get us moving forward again.

We were nasty, hard to beat and attacked teams under him.

Anyway, these are my thoughts just now and a lot of people out there would not give Lennon house room.

16-10-2021, 05:15 PM
😂😂

16-10-2021, 05:16 PM
Not for me.

16-10-2021, 05:17 PM
Massive decline, today was bad but Jesus there arent half some over reactions on here when we get beat

16-10-2021, 05:18 PM
And how was it when good old Lenny left us?

16-10-2021, 05:20 PM
No idea but what I do know is that I dont have much faith in this Hibs team or manager, it has to get better does it not?

16-10-2021, 05:21 PM
No idea but what I do know is that I dont have much faith in this Hibs team or manager, it has to get better does it not?

Its been one bad defeat, could understand this reaction if we were in aberdeens position

16-10-2021, 05:26 PM
How many times have we had this Lennon discussion?

16-10-2021, 05:26 PM
They're back!

16-10-2021, 05:27 PM
Its been one bad defeat, could understand this reaction if we were in aberdeens position

We've had more than one bad defeat under Ross. Where would we be without Boyle's penalties? People said we had a good start to the season...since Doidge's injury have we actually been good?

We are primed to fall down the league. Nisbet is useless up front on his own. Newell and Doyle-Hayes slow the game down to a snoozefest.

We are being ruthless with other staff at the club. Only fair to do the same across the board. Ross' position needs looked at.

16-10-2021, 05:33 PM

One real bad defeat along with countless insipid displays of boring and at times very lucky results, dont give a monkee about the sheep its Hibs that could go into a tumble if we aint careful.

16-10-2021, 05:33 PM
Today's performance can be adequately summed up by three words - insipidly abysmal pish!

We had three players given a chance to shine and claim a first team jersey today in Nathan Woods, Chris Cadden and James Scott and it's fair to say that none of them grabbed that chance with any conviction. Not that any of the first team regulars put in a performance to remember.

An utterly gash performance that shows how paper thin our squad really is in certain areas.

16-10-2021, 05:34 PM
Personnally think we would be worse off if Lennon was in charge.... anyway hes been and gone and so have threads about him.

16-10-2021, 05:37 PM
We've had more than one bad defeat under Ross. Where would we be without Boyle's penalties? People said we had a good start to the season...since Doidge's injury have we actually been good?

We are primed to fall down the league. Nisbet is useless up front on his own. Newell and Doyle-Hayes slow the game down to a snoozefest.

We are being ruthless with other staff at the club. Only fair to do the same across the board. Ross' position needs looked at.

Away and dont talk rubbish, the managers position certainly doesnt need looked at, again typical over reaction from some on this board, its actually laughable sometimes reading the rubbish

16-10-2021, 05:44 PM
Know that your first reaction is not always the best reaction and it's possibly not wise posting so soon after today's performance. But this team/squad/management is on a rapid decline.

I have watched all of Hibs games either in person or on TV for the last year and performances are getting worse. I must be honest first and say I still have a fair degree of bitterness that the club missed two prime opportunities to win both cups last year. While 3rd was merited last season, I also feel that the main reasons we finished 3rd last year was that Aberdeen were poor and Hearts were not in the league. We still finished miles behind Rangers and Celtic.

This management and squad does not have the desire/drive of the teams I watched under Stubbs and Lennon. Know we did not win every game under Stubbs/Lennon, but I miss going along to Easter Road knowing beforehand that we were going to be attacking and put any team that came to our place under pressure. The atmosphere at Easter Road under Stubbs/Lennons' management was so much better..

I like Ross. He is a competent and progressive manager, but are we going to get any better under him?. I have watched Hibs enough under Ross to understand how he sets us up. We are a counter-attacking team with a weak underbelly (defence). He has had almost 2 years to get the defence sorted out but I have not seen any improvement. Is it his fault or the recruitment team? I'm not sure, but he must take some responsibility for it.

I'm going out on a limb here......I would love to see Lennon back at Hibs. He would shake this lot up and he would be as good as anyone available out there there to get us moving forward again.

Anyway, these are my thoughts just now and a lot of people out there would not give Lennon house room.

I agree with much of your post to be honest.

I suspect this team is on the decline a bit from last season, I do think we’re soft and I would like us to have more fire in the belly.

You lost me with the chat of Lennon coming back though.

at last 61
16-10-2021, 05:44 PM
No lennon but we are desperate for a born leader on the pitch, and why when edwards and mulgrew were winning every ball into the penalty box we still punt the ball into that area, schoolboy stuff

16-10-2021, 05:53 PM
Away and dont talk rubbish, the managers position certainly doesnt need looked at, again typical over reaction from some on this board, its actually laughable sometimes reading the rubbish

Graeme Mathie's position needed looked but Jack Ross' doesn't. If we are talking rubbish...the notion of your leader not being questioned when your team underperforms is rubbish. What is over reaction?

Why does our managers position certainly not need looked at? Why certainly?

16-10-2021, 05:55 PM
Graeme Mathie's position needed looked but Jack Ross' doesn't. If we are talking rubbish...the notion of your leader not being questioned when your team underperforms is rubbish. What is over reaction?

Why does our managers position certainly not need looked at? Why certainly?

Of course question his performance but to suggest his position should be looked at is laughable

16-10-2021, 06:01 PM
Of course question his performance but to suggest his position should be looked at is laughable

Is it? Why wasn't it laughable for Graeme Mathie?

Are we on an upward trajectory with Jack Ross? Maybe I'm missing it. We were largely poor at home last season under Ross, that is looking like continuing. We are still a counterattacking team with a shoddy defence and a lacklustre midfield that sprints at the same speed opponents jog at. Without Boyle's penalties we would be in a very poor place this season.

Gloucester Hibs
16-10-2021, 06:18 PM
Ross needs a marquee result - beat either of the old firm (which we’ve not done for donkeys, and never under Ross) would be a start? Pumping Hesrts would be nice too but we don’t play them again.until the next year.

mcohibs
16-10-2021, 06:43 PM
Agreed with a lot of this post until Lennon. No thanks.

16-10-2021, 07:15 PM
We’re not a good team.

Four points behind Hearts shows that.
Draw away to Dundee shows that.
Draw at home to St Mirren shows that.
Pumped 3-0 at home to Dundee Utd shows that.

Poor start to the season. Anyone that says otherwise is a twit.

16-10-2021, 07:28 PM
Its been quite sone time since we’ve had such a poor dissapointing result like today.
It used to happen alot.
We’re still in a far better place than we’ve been in the not too distant past.

16-10-2021, 07:38 PM
We’re not a good team.

It’s been an average start to the season. We’re only 5 points off the top.

As soon as the transfer window closed though, it was clear that we were in trouble.

We need to scrape what we can between now and January and have options in place to hit the ground running as soon as the window opens.

This squad simply isn’t good enough and tbf Ross has probably done well to get the results with it that he has.

Today - a hiding from someone - was coming.

16-10-2021, 07:42 PM
We’re not a good team.

We’re not morally 4 points behind them though.

Oh and hi Steve - good to see you back on here. See you next time we lose no doubt.

Hibette Seven
16-10-2021, 07:56 PM

Lennon’s team were better to watch than what we’ve got just now, but Stubbs sent out a green team that were easy on the eye and EXCITING to watch.
Jack Ross is a limited manager, obsessed by mediocre midfielders.
He hasn’t a clue about defence or attack, and I fear we’ll be found out this season.
His recruitment, last transfer window was diabolical. I see Leigh scored for Dundee tonight. If only. Watch him go now. Who will score more goals this season? Overrated Kevin Nisbet, or OUR man Griffiths. Time will tell......
Jack Ross is NOT what we need. I will never forgive him for the cup final performance against St Johnstone. The man is a big snore, not what is needed at Easter Road.

Hulk1875
16-10-2021, 08:27 PM
Massive decline, today was bad but Jesus there arent half some over reactions on here when we get beat

Yeah was probs worst hibs performance I’ve saw for good while but we’ll bounce back

17-10-2021, 01:41 AM
52 points from 99 - Won 14 games out of 33 under Jack Ross at home in league

17-10-2021, 01:48 AM
I'm not sure what is more flat theses days at Easter Road the performances or the crowd.

17-10-2021, 01:50 AM
Lennon’s team were better to watch than what we’ve got just now, but Stubbs sent out a green team that were easy on the eye and EXCITING to watch.
He hasn’t a clue about defence or attack, and I fear we’ll be found out this season.
His recruitment, last transfer window was diabolical. I see Leigh scored for Dundee tonight. If only. Watch him go now. Who will score more goals this season? Overrated Kevin Nisbet, or OUR man Griffiths. Time will tell......
Jack Ross is NOT what we need. I will never forgive him for the cup final performance against St Johnstone. The man is a big snore, not what is needed at Easter Road.

Please don't call Griffiths our man. Hibs don't employ nonces.

17-10-2021, 02:08 AM
Same old softness about us.

17-10-2021, 02:10 AM
Same old softness about us.

It's not softness. Maybe if we played well and buggered it.. We literally just played football much worse than the other team. 11 players were terrible really. Well, 12 and the boss.

high bee
17-10-2021, 03:17 AM
I think this summers recruitment was the main issue highlighted yesterday. It was no secret that we didn’t get bodies in the door but we’ve been getting away with it while the majority of the squad was fit.

Once we get the majority of Porto, McGinn, Doidge and Magennis back then we should be fine and hopefully limo through to the January transfer window.

JimboHibs
17-10-2021, 06:11 AM
One real bad defeat along with countless insipid displays of boring and at times very lucky results, dont give a monkee about the sheep its Hibs that could go into a tumble if we aint careful.

A tumble lol,what dizzy heights were we at that ?

17-10-2021, 06:25 AM
A tumble lol,what dizzy heights were we at that ?

1-0 up at Ibrox in the game before yesterday's were we not looking at going top if the score stayed the same?

I agree we've not been all that impressive this season but results had been decent enough and we were unbeaten in the league until that game.

It would definitely be a tumble if we keep the pattern of poor results up.

17-10-2021, 06:46 AM

Our man griffiths…deary me.

GoalsMcGinley
17-10-2021, 07:18 AM
There is a real possibility that we will lose our next 2 games. Our record at pittodrie is abysmal and we’ve not beaten Celtic for god knows how long.

4 league defeats on the spin and a trip to Dingwall to come.

I’ve said it since day 1. JR is a decent manager but he’s not what we need if we want to be consistently challenging at the top end of the league and winning cups.

If we finish higher than 5th it’ll be a miracle.

17-10-2021, 07:56 AM
There is a real possibility that we will lose our next 2 games. Our record at pittodrie is abysmal and we’ve not beaten Celtic for god knows how long.

I’ve said it since day 1. JR is a decent manager but he’s not what we need if we want to be consistently challenging at the top end of the league and winning cups.

Won our last one at Pittodrie though.

GoalsMcGinley
17-10-2021, 08:04 AM
Our 1st there in about 10 years

Hibette Seven
17-10-2021, 08:47 AM
Our man griffiths…deary me.

Bet you weren’t saying deary me when he was knocking goals in for fun at ER ....???
Im not interested in what he does off the park. But I really would like to see some SPARKS on it.
Getting hammered at home by Dundee United is just the start. We’ve been found out and our lack of depth, squad wise, is down to our snore of a manager.
Couldn’t motivate his own players for a Scottish Cup final, against a so called lesser team.
I rest my case.

17-10-2021, 08:50 AM

There is also a real possibility that we will win, funny that

17-10-2021, 08:51 AM
Bet you weren’t saying deary me when he was knocking goals in for fun at ER ....???
Im not interested in what he does off the park. But I really would like to see some SPARKS on it.
Getting hammered at home by Dundee United is just the start. We’ve been found out and our lack of depth, squad wise, is down to our snore of a manager.
Couldn’t motivate his own players for a Scottish Cup final, against a so called lesser team.
I rest my case.

I see you are doing your best to up your annual post

I rest my case

Hibette Seven
17-10-2021, 08:55 AM
I see you are doing your best to up your annual post

I rest my case

I’ll be catching you up before you know it.
Watch out.:na na:

17-10-2021, 08:57 AM
I rest my case.

Do you know the lack of depth is down to our manager? Do you know he couldnt motivate the players, must be quite interesting working at the club like you clearly do

17-10-2021, 09:03 AM
The lunatic fringe is strong on this one. Keep it up, it brightens up my morning after such a shoddy Saturday.

raeburnhibs
17-10-2021, 09:07 AM
Do you know the lack of depth is down to our manager? Do you know he couldnt motivate the players, must be quite interesting working at the club like you clearly do

The evidence suggests that (every so often at least) he can't motivate the players and the lack of urgency at home is troubling. In the dim and distant past I remember Yogis teams blasting out the traps and literally forcing teams back; I know it all went wrong quickly enough. We are far too measured, but maybe the game has changed.........

17-10-2021, 09:09 AM

Think he’s been let down by the club on the squad front.

But there is pretty clear evidence, in the way that we’re starting games at ER, that he’s not getting them particularly motivated before kick off. The last two were dreadful first halves with a bit of improvement second half. Yesterday just remained dreadful and the showed a total lack of appetite for the game, which was more of a concern than being dreadful for me.

Hibette Seven
17-10-2021, 09:11 AM

Erm.....is that not his job ???
To assemble a squad, and to put a team out on the park that’s maybe a wee bit fired up, with the Scottish Cup 90 mins away ?
You could have a point though, as perhaps he organises the half time refreshments and the laundry.
And someone else organises the actual football.
Nice that they allow him to strut about in the dug out area though, as if he IS in charge of the first team.

17-10-2021, 09:15 AM
Think he’s been let down by the club on the squad front.

But there is pretty clear evidence, in the way that we’re starting games at ER, that he’s not getting them particularly motivated before kick off. The last two were dreadful first halves with a bit of improvement second half. Yesterday just remained dreadful and the showed a total lack of appetite for the game, which was more of a concern than being dreadful for me.

None of us know what goes on before a game and if players cant get motivated for a game there are bigger issues i think, yesterday was a big let down and feel that JR was responsible for bits as his game management was poor but some of the reactions have been mental

17-10-2021, 09:16 AM
Erm.....is that not his job ???
To assemble a squad, and to put a team out on the park that’s maybe a wee bit fired up, with the Scottish Cup 90 mins away ?
You could have a point though, as perhaps he organises the half time refreshments and the laundry.
And someone else organises the actual football.
Nice that they allow him to strut about in the dug out area though, as if he IS in charge of the first team.

Its like having a conversation with a child, ill stick you on ignore now i think to stop my brain from hurting

17-10-2021, 09:26 AM
Definitely questions to be asked of Ross and most of the players after yesterday.

But some of the chat on this thread is ridiculous.

We've got a terrible defence that conceded by far and away the least goals outside of the old firm last season - much less than st Johnstone who many posters would have had us sign their whole back 5 in the summer.

Will be a miracle if we finish top 5? Which 5 clubs are coming ahead of us like? Will quite clearly be us and hearts in a fight for third, which they have the edge in just now. Similar hyperbole was spouted after the Livingston and county games last season, with posters saying we'd be lucky to finish top 6, could get sucked into relegation battle, etc. And we ended up comfortably third.

Anyone saying this side under Lennon would be better clearly forgot about the days pre hecky in 18/19. That was a team that was never going to come top 6.

Hibette Seven
17-10-2021, 09:28 AM
Its like having a conversation with a child, ill stick you on ignore now i think to stop my brain from hurting

Is that really the best you can do ?
Looks like you can’t motivate yourself either.
Or perhaps my job description of a football manager is in actual fact a correct one.

JimboHibs
17-10-2021, 09:30 AM
1-0 up at Ibrox in the game before yesterday's were we not looking at going top if the score stayed the same?

I agree we've not been all that impressive this season but results had been decent enough and we were unbeaten in the league until that game.

It would definitely be a tumble if we keep the pattern of poor results up.

All if's ..... we've hardly been blazing a trail.

Mikey_1875
17-10-2021, 09:58 AM
I don’t think there is any way we can say we are in a decline, never mind a rapid one. The improvement since Ross came in from Hecky is obvious. For me the improvement in our best XI compared to last season has also improved, JDH in for Gogic and a fit Magennis/Allan ahead of Irvine make us a better side. It’s a hard thing to say after yesterday but our style has improved this season. At periods in games this season we have played some great football, better than last season

I get the point on first half displays at home not being great but I think we have still not been in much danger in these games while being poor in attack. It has been rectified in the second half as well with one sub or a tactical switch. Yesterday was an aberration, I didn’t see any similarities to that than in previous games this season. It was exceptionally poor.

I think there are a lot of factors in why we are sitting outside the top 4 for the first time in however long. The quality of the league has went up, we have been fairly unlucky with injuries and our recruitment in terms of depth hasn’t been able to stand up to it.

We were lucky January onwards last season that we didn’t have too many injuries and when we were short the quality of opposition wasn’t able to capitalise (although no striker on the bench at the cup final was terrible). JR is not immune to criticism for yesterday as we were outworked by Utd and that is never acceptable, but when he looked to his bench their would have been an element of wtf am I supposed to do with that I reckon. We need to have a strong January window and hope in the short term we get players like Magennis and McGinn back in asap.

I can still see progress being made in this team which is why I really like JR but we need to make sure our recruitment is in line with the rest of the league who are also making good progress so that last seasons gap from the majority remains.

17-10-2021, 10:20 AM
Our 1st there in about 10 years

And its 7 since Celtic won at ER in the league.

17-10-2021, 10:27 PM
We were poor and punchless. Took me back to the St Johnstone cup games last season.

17-10-2021, 10:34 PM
We were poor and punchless. Took me back to the St Johnstone cup games last season.

Do you think we’ll win another game this season? :greengrin

18-10-2021, 05:38 AM
I rest my case.

No I wasn’t believe it or not. Of course this was years before some very very questionable off the park behaviour.

Griffiths could have come back in the summer IMO, if he hadn’t signed a new deal a Celtic. He had his chance, he is not interested in playing for us. End of story.

He's here!
18-10-2021, 06:50 AM
It's not softness. Maybe if we played well and buggered it.. We literally just played football much worse than the other team. 11 players were terrible really. Well, 12 and the boss.

How is it possible for an entire team to play c**p? I never get why this can be the case. Sure, a couple of players mught have a stinker but that's surely when you rely on the others to dig deeper. It must come down to collective attitude, which on Saturday appeared to be shockingly poor.

BlackSheep
18-10-2021, 08:08 AM
Its been quite sone time since we’ve had such a poor dissapointing result like today.
It used to happen alot.
We’re still in a far better place than we’ve been in the not too distant past.

These points are why we are seeing such a poor reaction to the result at the weekend.

WestStandWillie
18-10-2021, 08:27 AM
First reactions are almost always knee jerk.

The football might no be as fluid as under Stubbs/Lennon but we're grinding out results that under those two widnae have happened.

Rangers was always gonnae be tricky and we got severely shafted by the ref. Saturday was one of those games where we didnae turn up.

Next two games are winnable and we should be coming oot of them with 4 points minimum.

18-10-2021, 10:11 AM
How is it possible for an entire team to play c""p? I never get why this can be the case. Sure, a couple of players mught have a stinker but that's surely when you rely on the others to dig deeper. It must come down to collective attitude, which on Saturday appeared to be shockingly poor.

It did come across that way.

Having had a bit of time to think about Saturday I think it comes down to a few points.

1 As mentioned the attitude of the players did not come across as anything other than uncaring with the exception of Boyle and Murphy who I felt continually tried to make things happen.

2 Our final ball was very very poor, I don't remember a game where so many balls in to the box didn't clear the first defender, or passes misplaced or straight out the park.

3 Our formation did us no favours, Nisbet up front on his own is not a winner.

4 Our midfield had a stinker, Newall tried but JDH may still be suffering from COVID. Gogic is a much better option if it comes to pure fitness. If we are going to play a back 4 I don't see any problem with having Gogic in the side as our midfield anchor, and allow Newall and Allan to go and do what they do.