View Full Version : Nathan Wood

Hillsidehibby
15-10-2021, 02:59 PM
Surely must get a start tomorrow? If he doesn’t he may as well go back down to Middlesbrough.

15-10-2021, 03:02 PM
Depends. If he hasn't shown the level required in training JR is correct not to play him.

15-10-2021, 03:07 PM
Depends. If he hasn't shown the level required in training JR is correct not to play him.

Took the words out my mouth. If he's earned it in training then fair enough. If not, I'm comfortable with Daz.

15-10-2021, 03:11 PM
I'd like to get a proper look at this boy. But at the end of the day we have Daz and him available to us and I trust Jack Ross to pick the right option based on who we're playing and how we want to play against them.

15-10-2021, 03:30 PM
Surely must get a start tomorrow? If he doesn’t he may as well go back down to Middlesbrough.

I think he’ll be thinking the same

15-10-2021, 04:14 PM
Their new striker is a big lump so I'd be inclined to play Daz.

BlackSheep
15-10-2021, 04:19 PM
I’d be surprised if he isn’t doing well in training, he is the captain of the England under 20s and hasn’t dropped that role since coming here. Tomorrow is the perfect opportunity for him and he and Neil Warnock will be keen to get his season at Hibs jump started.

Warnock has long been an admirer of the Edinburgh clubs so he wouldn’t have sent Wood here for a jolly or not to play.

15-10-2021, 05:41 PM
Give him a go, according to what I read he is very quick.

15-10-2021, 06:24 PM
I would be very surprised if Nathan didn’t get a full game tomorrow, especially if he was targeted by JR. I can’t see Middlesbrough agreeing to allow him to come to ER as cover for cover ( DM). Then again, we don’t know the circumstances.

15-10-2021, 06:38 PM

Who’s their new striker?

w pilton hibby
15-10-2021, 08:42 PM
Who’s their new striker?

Max Biamou, 30, arrived at United last week after being released by Sky Blues in the summer and is set to face Hibs on Saturday.

From the Courier

15-10-2021, 08:43 PM

He’s showing plenty in training. I will be massively surprised if he doesn’t start.

16-10-2021, 03:17 AM

I am sure this guy will be decent for them, but Wood is taller than Biamou, who hasnt been playing since (at least) May. No idea if he has been training with anyone either.

Even if their striker is more muscular, he wont be as fast or match fit as Wood.

16-10-2021, 04:20 AM
Jack Ross indicated he would get his chance while Porto is out according to the pre match comments in the media.

16-10-2021, 07:04 AM
Max Biamou, 30, arrived at United last week after being released by Sky Blues in the summer and is set to face Hibs on Saturday.

From the Courier

Pardon my ignorance, but who are the Sky Blues.

16-10-2021, 07:22 AM
Pardon my ignorance, but who are the Sky Blues.

Coventry City ?

hibbie02
16-10-2021, 07:28 AM
I am sure this guy will be decent for them, but Wood is taller than Biamou, who hasnt been playing since (at least) May. No idea if he has been training with anyone either.

Even if their striker is more muscular, he wont be as fast or match fit as Wood.

How will Wood be more match fit?

16-10-2021, 07:44 AM
How will Wood be more match fit?

He has played - at least - in England U20 matches this month, whereas their guy has not had a club since May.

hibbydog
16-10-2021, 07:53 AM
Looking forward to seeing this lad playing today.

16-10-2021, 07:59 AM
I would only play him if he is currently better than Daz. Happy for the coaching staff to make that call.

Bangkok Hibby
16-10-2021, 10:52 AM
I've a feeling Wood will be a revelation. If that is the case there doesn't seem to be any chance we'll hold on to him.

16-10-2021, 10:54 AM
He has played - at least - in England U20 matches this month, whereas their guy has not had a club since May.

He's a nap to score against us in that case!

I'm raging already...

16-10-2021, 11:08 AM
I've a feeling Wood will be a revelation. If that is the case there doesn't seem to be any chance we'll hold on to him.

I think it’s one of those things that needs to be spun as a win/win/win.

We get a good player for a while. The player gets good experience. Middlesbrough get a player back stronger for the experience.

I don’t think we should get hung up on the idea of keeping him long term - as realistically, that’s only going to be a possibility if he turns out not to be good enough. Although I guess that depends on one’s opinion on the difference in quality between the centre backs at Hibs and Boro (in my opinion, not as much as most people would think).

He might also be a useful “promising young CB” yardstick for what we have with Porteous. Maybe he’ll make more mistakes? Maybe he’ll be even better on the ball? Maybe we’ve found a player who actually puts in bad tackles?

16-10-2021, 12:53 PM
Starts today :aok:

Ray Donovan
16-10-2021, 12:57 PM
Looking forward to seeing what he is like.

Good luck to him today!

16-10-2021, 01:12 PM
High hopes for the guy , clean sheet and a win today

16-10-2021, 01:15 PM
He is more than 3 years younger than Ryan so will be more like the Ryan of 3 years ago than the mature player he is now.
Hope he does well and folk cut him a little slack.
Given his background I think he will do well.
Game on.

16-10-2021, 05:00 PM

Not the kind of revelation you had in mind, I guess.

Bangkok Hibby
16-10-2021, 05:13 PM
Not the kind of revelation you had in mind, I guess.

Certainly not no. Difficult game for him, had to go long a lot as our midfield were marked tight. Like to give him another chance but we may not see him start again.

16-10-2021, 05:20 PM
Im all for giving younger players a chance but he isnt any better than mcgregor which makes me wonder why he started today, hopefully he improves now he has had his debut

16-10-2021, 05:21 PM
Certainly not no. Difficult game for him, had to go long a lot as our midfield were marked tight. Like to give him another chance but we may not see him start again.

Awful today, can't remember a worse debut from a player. He really looked out his depth.

16-10-2021, 05:23 PM
I don't think we'll be seeing him again.

16-10-2021, 05:25 PM
Im all for giving younger players a chance but he isnt any better than mcgregor which makes me wonder why he started today, hopefully he improves now he has had his debut

McGregor will play next week. Wood is only here because we messed up in the window.

16-10-2021, 05:25 PM
It is a wee bit over the top to be blaming that terrible display on the young guy who was alright, he done most things o.k. but was let down by some very poor so called professional players around him.

16-10-2021, 05:26 PM
McGregor will play next week. Wood is only here because we messed up in the window.

Hopefully, not sure about others but just feel a bit more confident when mcgregor plays

16-10-2021, 05:27 PM
It is a wee bit over the top to be blaming that terrible display on the young guy who was alright, he done most things o.k. but was let down by some very poor so called professional players around him.

I think that’s being generous. Looked panicked and unsure everytime he got the ball and gave it away needlessly several times.

16-10-2021, 05:28 PM

No creativity or fight in midfield today exposed the young lad on his debut. He wasn't great but sadly let down by others around him. The blame lies elsewhere.

16-10-2021, 05:28 PM
I think that’s being generous. Looked panicked and unsure everytime he got the ball and gave it away needlessly several times.

16-10-2021, 05:32 PM
No creativity or fight in midfield today exposed the young lad on his debut. He wasn't great but sadly let down by others around him. The blame lies elsewhere.

Nobody blaming him solely for the defeat, just commenting how poor he was.

16-10-2021, 05:42 PM
Perhaps would have played better if McGregor played beside him and talked him through the game. Another reason why Hanlon isnt captain material.

16-10-2021, 05:47 PM
Nobody blaming him solely for the defeat, just commenting how poor he was.

Why no spread the comments around then! as every one of them was pisch poor today, not one got pass marks in my book, Murphy tried more than Boyle but the two of them played crap as well. He was not the reason why we got gubbed today he just makes for an easy target.

at last 61
16-10-2021, 05:48 PM
Yet again why we need a leader on the pitch, hopefully see one coming in next year

16-10-2021, 05:51 PM
Struggling to think of a worse debut in 30 years of watching Hibs.

Looks way below the standard required, hopefully just a one off shocker and he improves dramatically but he was truly louping.

16-10-2021, 05:51 PM
Why no spread the comments around then! as every one of them was pisch poor today, not one got pass marks in my book, Murphy tried more than Boyle but the two of them played crap as well. He was not the reason why we got gubbed today he just makes for an easy target.

It's a thread about Wood, hence we are talking about his performance.:wink:

There are other threads criticising others. And you are entitled to start your own of you like.

He was part of the reason we got gubbed today. Why would he be an easy target? Everyone had high hopes for him and wanted him to do well:confused:

16-10-2021, 05:54 PM
He's a 19 year old boy who's played a handful of first team games and it showed. I'm not going to judge him on that one performance though. He was just as bad as about nine other regular first team players today.

16-10-2021, 05:55 PM
I didn't think he was utterly terrible as some people would have you think. His passing was terrible but as others have said the midfield was non existent at times and his only options were Cadden and cross field balls to Murphy and he never looked like pulling off the latter.

Definitely an improvement needed in him but not really the time to make snap judgements about a young laddie who played in a team full of poor performers. If he starts next week I certainly won't be offended. Although I would consider a back 3 with Daz in it for Celtic.

16-10-2021, 05:56 PM
Wasn't helped by the guys on either side of him that's for sure.

16-10-2021, 06:00 PM
Didn’t ever think a 19 year old on loan was what we needed. Was clear we left ourselves short of quality at the back and up front. Today was a good example of not getting the positions covered in the window that we needed.

I_Love_Latapy
16-10-2021, 06:04 PM

Agree with this. Looked like could be a decent player. Distribution was poor and a bit nervous at times but played the percentages correctly. Our issue today was in midfield.

Bukta#8
16-10-2021, 06:11 PM
Look at Mulgrew today and that is the type of defender we have missed since Effe left us , could have played with his pipe and slippers on

16-10-2021, 06:16 PM
Thought he had a very bad debut there unfortunately. Only 19 though and must have something about him if he’s what, England U21 captain?

16-10-2021, 06:20 PM
Managers always say they will only sign players if they are better than what we have, not just for the sake of it.

Clearly didn't apply here.

How on earth did we screw up the transfer window so badly?

Looking at our squad right now, it's hard to say that many / any of our signings from the last 2 years have been a success.

Can't blame Wood for today. He's not a first team player but is being asked to play top flight football when he's nowhere near up for it.

16-10-2021, 06:21 PM
Look at Mulgrew today and that is the type of defender we have missed since Effe left us , could have played with his pipe and slippers on

Yup, he strolled it today.

Sae old story that we don't have leaders on the pitch. Maybe one day....

Ron D Hibbie
16-10-2021, 06:22 PM
Thought he had a very bad debut there unfortunately. Only 19 though and must have something about him if he’s what, England U21 captain?

Under 20 captain not under 21.

Fuzzywuzzy
16-10-2021, 06:23 PM
Never known Hanlon to be very vociferous. Today was dreadful and can't decide whether I feel like a **** dad for taking the kids in the first place or making them stay until the whistle 🤣

16-10-2021, 06:25 PM
Yet again why we need a leader on the pitch, hopefully see one coming in next year

Or the year after that, or even the year after that.

16-10-2021, 06:32 PM

Mulgrew probably still has Nisbet in his pocket

16-10-2021, 06:35 PM
Awful today, can't remember a worse debut from a player. He really looked out his depth.

Take it you missed Drey Wright's performance then.😉

16-10-2021, 06:38 PM

Daniel Boateng was the captain of Arsenal u21s. Didn’t make him a good player.

Davy Mac
16-10-2021, 06:45 PM
Or the year after that, or even the year after that.

Get the impression that JR maybe doesn't want a leader on the park that might perhaps eventually question his decision making/tactics etc, so it might be a control thing.

It just seems strange we have such a passive bunch, there all so samey apart from Porto.

16-10-2021, 06:49 PM
I thought he had a very assured and controlled first half. I like him and think he’ll do well for us.

16-10-2021, 06:56 PM
He was dreadful, a panic signing if ever I have seen one. Absolutely not what we needed. We were crying out for an experienced defender to challenge Hanlon and Porteous.

16-10-2021, 06:59 PM
We have played with a 3 at the back most of the season, we change to a 4 today to accommodate Murphy imo and it all goes to pot.

Too many changes for Woods to get any blame today.

Today’s performance lies with Ross.

Perfect Hatrick
16-10-2021, 07:01 PM

He’s u20 captain which is essentially a team for all the guys that’ll never play u21s.

Doesn’t make you a bad player but it’s a totally different level from their u21 team. Guys like Foden for example would have went 19s to 21s.

I_Love_Latapy
16-10-2021, 07:14 PM
I thought he had a very assured and controlled first half. I like him and think he’ll do well for us.

+1

16-10-2021, 07:15 PM
We have played with a 3 at the back most of the season, we change to a 4 today to accommodate Murphy imo and it all goes to pot.

We have played 4231 almost all season.

16-10-2021, 07:16 PM
He’s u20 captain which is essentially a team for all the guys that’ll never play u21s.

Doesn’t make you a bad player but it’s a totally different level from their u21 team. Guys like Foden for example would have went 19s to 21s.

He’s on the standby for the 21s squad. Make no mistake the boy is talented.

16-10-2021, 07:25 PM
I'd gie Wood the benefit of the doubt. As much as I love Daza, but James Scott though has had numerous chances to impress, punt his ass. Stick one of the young forwards like Josh O’Connor or Ethan Laidlaw in. Couldn't do any worse.

16-10-2021, 07:27 PM

completely agree

16-10-2021, 07:30 PM

He just punted the ball away every time he had it. There was. Itching controlled about his performance.

16-10-2021, 07:30 PM

He’ll need to be miles better than today to prove it.

Perfect Hatrick
16-10-2021, 07:34 PM

He’ll need to perform a hell of a lot better than he did today if he’s to convince anyone of that.

16-10-2021, 07:41 PM
Take it you missed Drey Wright's performance then.😉

I didn't miss it and he didn't have a dreadful debut. :wink:

16-10-2021, 07:46 PM

+1

completely agree

Absolutely astonishing takes on Wood's performance.

He played a horrific pass back early on then fouled the attacker and got away with it. Was lucky to escape a booking later on for a late challenge. Stumbled on the ball at least twice. Shanked the ball out the pitch with world cup willy balls three times. Gave the ball away a number of other times.

I have no idea how anyone can seriously think that was an assured performance But each to their own.

16-10-2021, 07:47 PM

Who cares. He was crap today and I don’t think we’ll see him again.

McGregor in next week and he’ll be away in Jan.

Standby for the 21s? Stop trying to sound knowledgable.

16-10-2021, 07:49 PM
Who cares. He was crap today and I don’t think we’ll see him again.

McGregor in next week and he’ll be away in Jan.

Standby for the 21s? Stop trying to sound knowledgable.

Was the same when he signed. Any criticism was met with “aye but he’s the England u20 captain”.

16-10-2021, 07:49 PM
He’s on the standby for the 21s squad.

No he isn’t

16-10-2021, 07:50 PM

Is it not a team for those who’ll play for the under 21s next season?

16-10-2021, 07:50 PM

Colin Murdoch and Danny Galbraith played for Man Utd. Slivka played for Juventus. Make no mistake about it, none of them were quality players for Hibs.

16-10-2021, 07:51 PM

100% - I've been very supportive of JR and will continue to do so, but today's loss was all about how we were set-up. Our midfield was the reason we lost, not a young lad making his debut.

1875Sean
16-10-2021, 07:55 PM
I'd gie Wood the benefit of the doubt. As much as I love Daza, but James Scott though has had numerous chances to impress, punt his ass. Stick one of the young forwards like Josh O’Connor or Ethan Laidlaw in. Couldn't do any worse.

Agree with this, no point in putting Gullan on the bench, get these young lads some experience

1875Sean
16-10-2021, 08:01 PM
Colin Murdoch and Danny Galbraith played for Man Utd. Slivka played for Juventus. Make no mistake about it, none of them were quality players for Hibs.

Not one of these players played a first team game in the league for Man U or juvie

16-10-2021, 08:09 PM
Not one of these players played a first team game in the league for Man U or juvie

Exactly. And Nathan Wood has never played for the England U21's. If he does I'll be amazed.

16-10-2021, 08:15 PM

We needed an experienced centre half and today has shown brining in a youngster with little experience has backfired

16-10-2021, 08:18 PM
We needed an experienced centre half and today has shown brining in a youngster with little experience has backfired

Hmm. Had we played McGregor and he'd made a mistake people would be saying we should have played Wood. To be fair to Ross he probably made the right call.

16-10-2021, 08:19 PM

Hulk1875
16-10-2021, 08:25 PM
100% - I've been very supportive of JR and will continue to do so, but today's loss was all about how we were set-up. Our midfield was the reason we lost, not a young lad making his debut.

Yeah the whole team looked like weren’t up for it. Dundee United we’re pressing a lot of the game hibs passes going knowhere even in final third the few times we got there hit first man putting it into the box

16-10-2021, 08:36 PM
Hmm. Had we played McGregor and he'd made a mistake people would be saying we should have played Wood. To be fair to Ross he probably made the right call.

True but we have lost heavily to a team we beat on one half not so long ago Huge turnaround
Didn’t see game but reading this thread is a bit depressing given hearts remain unbeaten

Perfect Hatrick
16-10-2021, 09:02 PM
Is it not a team for those who’ll play for the under 21s next season?

Na not really. There’ll be some players who move between squads but generally speaking it’s really just a team that’s for the guys that aren’t good enough for the England U21s.

Most of the proper elite players jump from u19 to u21 - and by elite I’m talking Phil Foden etc elite and bypass the 20s. As I said, that doesn’t mean they’re bad players by any means but Wood won’t be captaining guys that will end up playing at the top end of world football most likely.

16-10-2021, 09:06 PM
Na not really. There’ll be some players who move between squads but generally speaking it’s really just a team that’s for the guys that aren’t good enough for the England U21s.

Most of the proper elite players jump from u19 to u21 - and by elite I’m talking Phil Foden etc elite and bypass the 20s.

Fair enough - I hadn’t heard of the under 20s so assumed it’s where you went after 19s. The true elite skip all of that - Owen, Rooney etc.

I think it’s harsh to be writing him off after 1 game. Was he even at fault for any of the goals?

16-10-2021, 09:10 PM
It’s as if we almost missed out on our number one target and panic loaned some under 19 kid.

16-10-2021, 09:14 PM
It’s as if we almost missed out on our number one target and panic loaned some under 19 kid.

Did you see the McCart error today? Him and Xander Clark made a right mess of it.

Maybe should’ve went for our 3rd choice.

16-10-2021, 09:18 PM

To be fair he is 19 but I can't see him celebrating his 20th at Hibs. Possibly unfair to judge him on one game but he looked a complete bundle of nerves, not confident enough to get stuck in and nowhere near the pace that some had described as being his big attribute. He looks like a all we could get signing and Daz should have started

gaz1875
16-10-2021, 09:26 PM
He was a bag of nerves from the start I thought, not helped by our captain fantastic who seemed to keep as far away from him as possible. I would bet if McGregor was partnering him today he would have looked a better player. As far as Scott goes, how can he possible justify a game with his previous performances more than one of our younger players? Even watching him for the Scotland under 21's had me wondering why we had signed him.

16-10-2021, 09:39 PM
He was a bag of nerves from the start I thought, not helped by our captain fantastic who seemed to keep as far away from him as possible. I would bet if McGregor was partnering him today he would have looked a better player. As far as Scott goes, how can he possible justify a game with his previous performances more than one of our younger players? Even watching him for the Scotland under 21's had me wondering why we had signed him.

We have seen absolutely nothing from Scott to suggest there is a player there who can offer a thing to this side. Surely Gullan has to get a chance. Can’t be any worse.

gaz1875
16-10-2021, 09:49 PM
We have seen absolutely nothing from Scott to suggest there is a player there who can offer a thing to this side. Surely Gullan has to get a chance. Can’t be any worse.

It sends a shiver down my spine to say it but Drey Wright would have been a better option to throw on.

16-10-2021, 09:55 PM
It sends a shiver down my spine to say it but Drey Wright would have been a better option to throw on.

Wright was fine in his last subs appearance. Hard to know why he never got any time today

JDT
16-10-2021, 10:05 PM
Jack Ross or whoever was in charge of signings has made a hash of it with Wood and Scott. Panic loan signings from England when there's better in Scotland or worse yet better players at the club who don't get picked.

16-10-2021, 10:05 PM
Wright definitely should have been on.

17-10-2021, 01:24 AM
England U20 captain? Surely a good player? Think the poster who said that’s currently hiding.

Means absolutely **** all. He’s rank.

17-10-2021, 06:58 AM
No consolation to us, but games like yesterday's will be the making of Wood.

A very tough game and a reminder of how far he has to go to reach a level of performance that is acceptable to us, let alone a decent-sized English club who probably have ideas about getting into the Premier League.

I'm not sure I saw too much wrong with his attitude, and if there was any sort of Billy Big Baws "I'm going to piss it up here" expectation from him then that will be gone already after Saturday.

He'll have had a lot of people telling him how good he is at this point in his career, and the United game will likely have been a bit of a shock to the system. To stop it happening again he needs to train hard, work on his weaknesses and hope he gets another chance to impress soon.

It's a shame he didn't get a chance to break in with a relatively straightforward LC cup tie or the like.

17-10-2021, 07:20 AM
England U20 captain? Surely a good player? Think the poster who said that’s currently hiding.

Means absolutely **** all. He’s rank.

I think that’s really harsh.

He looked nervous yesterday and I don’t think he played well, doesn’t mean he’s a bad footballer though, it just means he had a bad game. Actually think the criticism on this thread is way over the top and unnecessary.

My main gripe with him yesterday was he kept giving the ball away but while he’s not immune from criticism, where was his help from midfield? Joe Newell and JDH had to be demanding the ball far more from him so he didn’t have to keep going long.

I hope he plays in the next game and he settles down a lot, I also hope the midfield and experienced players offer him much more support than he got today.

17-10-2021, 07:27 AM
This in spades. The same Billy big baws attitude that we’ve seen countless times from English players who come up here, think it’ll be a total stroll and get found out.

In fairness to Wood, it was his home debut and other than Boyle and Murphy nobody had a particularly good game.

Nonsense. The attitudes of some posters is a damn sight worse than any of the players.

Percy Vere
17-10-2021, 07:33 AM
Usual Hibs fans deciding about a player weve seen in one game. You've all decided he's pish.
Remember Doidge
Remember Newell
Same with them, they were deemed unfit to play for Hibs as well.
The lads first game and unfortunately none of his team mates showed up today either. Not going to fill you with confidence is it?
But everyone decided he's rank **** sake.
Thank god none of you have any actual say or young players careers would be over in 90 mins.

17-10-2021, 08:51 AM
This in spades. The same Billy big baws attitude that we’ve seen countless times from English players who come up here, think it’ll be a total stroll and get found out.

In fairness to Wood, it was his home debut and other than Boyle and Murphy nobody had a particularly good game.

That’s exceptionally harsh. This was a young lad making his debut on a day when most of his experienced team mates who should have been guiding him had a total stinker. I won’t be judging him on yesterday alone or questioning his attitude in any way. Let’s at least give him a decent chance.

17-10-2021, 09:05 AM
That’s exceptionally harsh. This was a young lad making his debut on a day when most of his experienced team mates who should have been guiding him had a total stinker. I won’t be judging him on yesterday alone or questioning his attitude in any way. Let’s at least give him a decent chance.

Ah some balance amongst the criticism…..you can’t judge a player on one game, particularly when he wasn’t helped by those around him …after our journey with a Newell and Doidge, we should all know that.

17-10-2021, 09:18 AM
Ah some balance amongst the criticism…..you can’t judge a player on one game, particularly when he wasn’t helped by those around him …after our journey with a Newell and Doidge, we should all know that.

This is the main issue - Hanlon and Cadden started off the game so poorly and set the tone. No excuses for 2 international players. No wonder the guy looked a bit shellshocked.

17-10-2021, 09:22 AM
Is it ok to criticise Hanlon? I don't think he's as strong as he was.

gorgie greens
17-10-2021, 09:32 AM
Got to agree , knee jerk reaction to blame a young guy on his debut , he had no out ball , midfield was non-existent, not been one to blame Ross but he has no plan B when plan A clearly is not working.

17-10-2021, 09:33 AM

I find the usual criticism of Hanlon to be ott but he was as bad as anyone yesterday and you could argue that his way below par performance set the tone for the afternoon.

17-10-2021, 09:41 AM

I would get Mccart in January

17-10-2021, 09:44 AM
I find the usual criticism of Hanlon to be ott but he was as bad as anyone yesterday and you could argue that his way below par performance set the tone for the afternoon.

Especially with the players next to him. Two 19 year olds and a wide mid playing right back. To be fair midfield offered zero protection. Amazed Gogic didn't come on. Think that would have been my change at half time.

17-10-2021, 10:40 AM
Wood was a bag of nerves yesterday and quite obviously suffering from lack of game time . He didn’t look great but he was not the reason we were hammered.

17-10-2021, 11:20 AM

Have you met Nathan Wood and spoken to him? How would you know what his attitude to the Scottish game is? What a poor, poor comment.

17-10-2021, 11:23 AM
Wood was a bag of nerves yesterday and quite obviously suffering from lack of game time . He didn’t look great but he was not the reason we were hammered.

Possibly culpable for the first two goals (not sure who was supposed to pick up Edwards).

His endless long balls just resulted in us losing possession, time after time.

Don’t want to do the lad down but he was poor yesterday imo.

17-10-2021, 11:26 AM
Especially with the players next to him. Two 19 year olds and a wide mid playing right back. To be fair midfield offered zero protection. Amazed Gogic didn't come on. Think that would have been my change at half time.

For me, Cadden compromised his natural game too much. In the first half in particular he had space to surge forward but never took it. That would have taken the pressure off our defence and given them another problem to deal with.

turn and burn
17-10-2021, 11:38 AM

He looked nervous yesterday and I don’t think he played well, doesn’t mean he’s a bad footballer though, it just means he had a bad game. Actually think the criticism on this thread is way over the top and unnecessary.

My main gripe with him yesterday was he kept giving the ball away but while he’s not immune from criticism, where was his help from midfield? Joe Newell and JDH had to be demanding the ball far more from him so he didn’t have to keep going long.

I hope he plays in the next game and he settles down a lot, I also hope the midfield and experienced players offer him much more support than he got today.

Totally agree and you’ve saved me trying to express this point myself. Let’s be honest, he’s not a long term solution and we need him to be comfortable enough to provide cover. It was his home debut in a totally different game. Settle down folks.

17-10-2021, 11:59 AM
I would get Mccart in January

Watch his mistake in his teams 3-0 loss yesterday- think he can safely be written off as well.

Stonewall
17-10-2021, 01:31 PM

I’m confused. Wood has been accused of having a Billy Big Baws attitude and being a bag of nerves. I don’t think both can be true.

Personally I thought he looked nervous and whilst I saw Hanlon talking to him on a fair few occasions the fact pretty much the whole team had a collective stinker won’t have helped him at all.

17-10-2021, 01:33 PM
Watch his mistake in his teams 3-0 loss yesterday- think he can safely be written off as well.

No the players we didn't sign are always much better than the ones we did, it's a hibs.net rule I think!

17-10-2021, 01:37 PM
Incredible how psychology has become so advanced and easy than any old punter can know that a guy has a ''billy big baws'' attitude based on 1 match.

Or maybe it is just a very lazy, ignorant judgement, based on nothing at all.

17-10-2021, 01:58 PM
My comments on Wood were a bit harsh with some reflection, I still think he underestimated the pace of the game and was trying World Cup passes that never came off.

17-10-2021, 02:03 PM
My comments on Wood were a bit harsh with some reflection, I still think he underestimated the pace of the game and was trying World Cup passes that never came off.

I think I'd rather he was trying some passes. Our absolutely woeful plan of passing to the fullbacks who were usually facing their own goal was causing us problems. Honestly think that is the most useless pass in football. Centre back to fullback who is facing his own goal, there is nothing he can do other than give it straight back. Our midfield we never making themselves available or really looking for it.

17-10-2021, 02:05 PM
I think I'd rather he was trying some passes. Our absolutely woeful plan of passing to the fullbacks who were usually facing their own goal was causing us problems. Honestly think that is the most useless pass in football. Centre back to fullback who is facing his own goal, there is nothing he can do other than give it straight back. Our midfield we never making themselves available or really looking for it.

I don’t mind trying these things but to hoof 2 or 3 passes straight out the park was poor imo.

Wood wasn’t the worst on the park yesterday by any stretch but nobody had a good game.

Mikey_1875
17-10-2021, 02:07 PM

I agree and made similar comments on another thread. It didn’t fall on the side of nerves for me as he didn’t seem frantic as you would if nervous. He dwelled on the ball a lot and took plenty of time to play the diagonals which didn’t work.

At the end of the day he played a part in what was a collective shocker where plenty of others were culpable. He seems highly rated and I don’t think anyone is completely writing him off but we can’t really view him with the same sympathy as we would with one of our own youth projects. He is here to do a job for us and on the evidence of yesterday he needs to buck up his ideas. If he starts against Aberdeen he will of course have my full support and hopefully he will have learned a great deal from his first taste of the league.

Stonewall
17-10-2021, 02:09 PM
Incredible how psychology has become so advanced and easy than any old punter can know that a guy has a ''billy big baws'' attitude based on 1 match.

Or maybe it is just a very lazy, ignorant judgement, based on nothing at all.

My rule of thumb is when someone uses a phrase like Billy Big Baws or Wage Thief what they are saying is guff for the reasons stated in you last sentence.

17-10-2021, 02:24 PM
Okay, if anyone that watched yesterday’s game wanted to see how a top quality, seasoned pro, centre half should perform, all they had to do was watch Mulgrew. He oozed class and controlled everything that happened in the DU defence. I’m fact he controlled much of what happened across the pitch. He is the kind of leader we are crying out for.
Instead, we have a 19 year old making his debut in enforced circumstances. He started really well and had a very assured first half. Made a couple of slips that he recovered from quickly and read the game well. They guy was playing alongside our own seasoned pro’s who were hardly setting the heather on fire and his game suffered in the second half.
What then happens on here is an incredible assassination of the boy as a player with hardly a nod to the failures round about him.
I liked what I saw of Woods yesterday and I firmly believe he will do a job for us. People need to get off his back, he made far fewer mistakes than his piers around him and actually looked like a player in that first half.

17-10-2021, 02:25 PM

While I was disappointed at times in his decision making, and thought his passing was very poor, I agree with this.

It was his first game for us, he looked nervous and that was compounded by the performance of his team-mates.

17-10-2021, 02:40 PM

Thought Cadden’s lack of movement when Wood was looking to pass to him was dreadful. He made no effort to move to the ball and as a result a United player was usually arriving at the same time as the ball. The midfield of course just hid. Nobody made angles or attempted to create space for a player to come forward with the ball.

17-10-2021, 03:37 PM

Some of the posts on here are reactionary drivel.

He didn’t have a great game yesterday but it’s hard to shine when everyone in front of you is hiding. There was rarely a pass on for him or an out ball, he was seriously let down by the team.

17-10-2021, 03:47 PM
Thought Cadden’s lack of movement when Wood was looking to pass to him was dreadful. He made no effort to move to the ball and as a result a United player was usually arriving at the same time as the ball. The midfield of course just hid. Nobody made angles or attempted to create space for a player to come forward with the ball.

Both Cadden and Murphy to a lesser extent were very poor at making any forward movement.

17-10-2021, 04:16 PM
Both Cadden and Murphy to a lesser extent were very poor at making any forward movement.

Cadden looked like he had never played with his team mates before yesterday and maybe is better as a wing back and not as a traditional fullback?

17-10-2021, 06:59 PM
It’s a bit self-important to make an announcement like this but I’ve deleted my previous, very ott and out of character comment.

17-10-2021, 07:28 PM
First game in Scotland and has to adjust to the pace up here, and you can tell he is a bit short of match experience and got caught out a couple of times but recovered fairly well. He will be a good player one day, just not at us.

17-10-2021, 08:16 PM
It’s a bit self-important to make an announcement like this but I’ve deleted my previous, very ott and out of character comment.

I wouldn’t worry about it. We are all passionate football fans here and we all go a bit OTT at times.

17-10-2021, 08:19 PM
My rule of thumb is when someone uses a phrase like Billy Big Baws or Wage Thief what they are saying is guff for the reasons stated in you last sentence.

:faf: Very true. Two expressions that need a banning order.

18-10-2021, 06:26 AM
First game in Scotland and has to adjust to the pace up here, and you can tell he is a bit short of match experience and got caught out a couple of times but recovered fairly well. He will be a good player one day, just not at us.

That being the case, then he shouldnt be anywhere near Hibs.

I have to say our record of employing players who are not match fit, visibly not good enough, carrying injuries or with a history of spending considerable time on the treatment table is getting irritating.

Our subs bench (and arguably a couple of the starters on Saturday) are demonstrable evidence of this poor recruitment.

Exasperating.............

Bangkok Hibby
18-10-2021, 06:33 AM

Admin are fond of deleting comments. If they didn't then it must have been fine.

18-10-2021, 06:37 AM

18-10-2021, 07:01 AM
That being the case, then he shouldnt be anywhere near Hibs.

I have to say our record of employing players who are not match fit, visibly not good enough, carrying injuries or with a history of spending considerable time on the treatment table is getting irritating.

Our subs bench (and arguably a couple of the starters on Saturday) are demonstrable evidence of this poor recruitment.

Exasperating.............

Whilst I acknowledge that this is partly true, we’ve just dropped out of the top 4 for the first time in yonks.

Given we were in the Championship for 3 years not that long ago, we must have also got a few right along the way too.

Upon signing, are the credentials for the failures obviously poorer than those for the likes of Martin Boyle?

18-10-2021, 07:05 AM
Whilst I acknowledge that this is partly true, we’ve just dropped out of the top 4 for the first time in yonks.

Given we were in the Championship for 3 years not that long ago, we must have also got a few right along the way too.

Upon signing, are the credentials for the failures obviously poorer than those for the likes of Martin Boyle?

When MB was signed, we were running with a larger squad (iirc) and I dont think any of us had any expectation of him doing anything immediately.

Now, our thin squad means that any player arriving now needs to hit the ground running.............not hit the ground, hold their ankle and go straight to the treatment table :greengrin

18-10-2021, 08:21 AM

Agree, and the two issues are connected. Cadden should have been much more proactive, driving forward into right midfield. This would have given Dundee Utd something else to think about and our midfielders another option.

As it was they were outnumbered and under the cosh.

18-10-2021, 08:30 AM

He didn’t have a great game yesterday but it’s hard to shine when everyone in front of you is hiding. There was rarely a pass on for him or an out ball, he was seriously let down by the team.

Agree with that. While he didn't have the best game himself and was lucky he wasn't caught on the ball he was significantly let down by team mates.

Key West
18-10-2021, 09:52 AM
Agree with that. While he didn't have the best game himself and was lucky he wasn't caught on the ball he was significantly let down by team mates.

Unfortunately for the lad it looks like Porteous and Hanlon are automatic picks and I don't think he's going to get many opportunities to prove himself.

18-10-2021, 10:13 AM
Admin are fond of deleting comments. If they didn't then it must have been fine.

It was entirely up to me, I'm not one for defending points that I write and later change my mind on.

18-10-2021, 02:22 PM

There's some truth in that Jim but I think its equally fair to say Wood let his teammates down and the manager who placed trust in him over McGregor.

I think McGregor will play alongside Hanlon this Saturday. If Wood does get another chance then fingers crossed for a massive improvement.

18-10-2021, 02:46 PM

Agree Matty. There was a lack of movement in general by more experienced players who made it easy to be closed down. Easy to make him a scapegoat but there was 6 or 7 who were worse than he was.

18-10-2021, 02:50 PM
Warnock isn’t pleased

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-middlesbrough-manager-makes-nathan-wood-recall-claim-as-he-hits-out-at-players-agent-3423557

18-10-2021, 02:59 PM
Warnock isn’t pleased

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-middlesbrough-manager-makes-nathan-wood-recall-claim-as-he-hits-out-at-players-agent-3423557

That doesn’t reflect well on any party, really.

18-10-2021, 03:36 PM
Warnock isn’t pleased

Another game like Dundee United, and I'm sure we will come to an arrangement.

18-10-2021, 04:13 PM
I'd be astonished if any move would have been completed without Warnock's blessing.

He'd have known that we had a very stable first choice CH pairing with a cup winning legend in reserve so Wood was never just going to come up and stroll into the first team.

Also - if he was to be recalled from Scotland, surely there's no way this could be done outside a transfer window? I think within a nation players can be recalled outside windows and be able to play.

I have no idea how the player or his representative could be in any way the most culpable party here - it will be either Hibs saying we'd play him then not, or Warnock for sanctioning a move he later went on to regret then trying to blame everyone other than himself.

18-10-2021, 04:19 PM
I'd be astonished if any move would have been completed without Warnock's blessing.

He'd have known that we had a very stable first choice CH pairing with a cup winning legend in reserve so Wood was never just going to come up and stroll into the first team.

Also - if he was to be recalled from Scotland, surely there's no way this could be done outside a transfer window? I think within a nation players can be recalled outside windows and be able to play.

I have no idea how the player or his representative could be in any way the most culpable party here - it will be either Hibs saying we'd play him then not, or Warnock for sanctioning a move he later went on to regret then trying to blame everyone other than himself.

He’s only bleating because he’s got an injury crisis. He didn’t play him at Boro

19-10-2021, 12:22 PM
Middlesbrough manager Neil Warnock says Wood's agent gave him the wrong advice to go to Hibs, looks like he's looking for a way out.

19-10-2021, 01:48 PM
He's not played for us because he isn't as good as Porteous or Hanlon. That's not our fault. Middlesbrough didn't have to loan him to us. Tough **** for them. My biggest concern is that he isn't good enough to step in when required at this level. That is our fault and would be another black mark against Mathies name.

19-10-2021, 01:57 PM
Looks like he's one of those guys who thought Scottish football was a joke and now, at risk of being found out, wants to return to Middlesbrough.

19-10-2021, 02:02 PM
Looks like he's one of those guys who thought Scottish football was a joke and now, at risk of being found out, wants to return to Middlesbrough.

Oh yeah, Neil Warnock having a go at Woods agent gave you all of that?

I remember when similar things were said about Newall and Doidge.

19-10-2021, 02:03 PM

The players not said a single word …there’s nothing to draw that conclusion …

19-10-2021, 02:05 PM

I think you're being a bit harsh, even if he didn't have a great game.

It all smacks to me of Warnock being at it. He's got an injury crisis and will probably be under pressure for having no fit centre halves and one of their promising youngsters is out on loan. He's deflecting, making out like it's somebody else's fault. Without that injury crisis I can only imagine that Wood would have been a mile from the first team picture at Boro.

Wood is as likely to be distraught about Saturday and determined to get another chance to put it right as he is to be keen to scuttle back to Middlesborough. A failure in Scotland isn't good on anyone's cv.

He looked for all the world to me like he needed more than anything to be in somebody's first team, playing every week. There are a few attributes in there and physically he's up to it. He just needs to learn the game by playing it.