View Full Version : Regardless of their playing ability are there Hibs players you didn't much like?

He's here!
06-10-2021, 09:58 PM
He did a decent job for us, but for some reason I always found it hard to warm to Gary Caldwell.

06-10-2021, 10:03 PM
He did a decent job for us, but for some reason I always found it hard to warm to Gary Caldwell.

I certainly find him a non event on Sportscene

07-10-2021, 04:31 AM
I could never take to Tony The Hulk Higgins for some reason ?

Legs like tree trunks gangly awkward but weirdly nimble slower than a week in the jail but comes across as a really nice intelligent guy and scored a lot of goals for us

Gary Caldwell on the other hand ended up doing the dirty on Strachan and Celtic pretty sure he dyes his hair :greengrin

Was not sad to see him go even although we knew he was leaving

That was the thanks we got for progressing his career and looking after him

If he was chocolate.......?

07-10-2021, 05:18 AM
Jorge Claros. The Pitbull. Not a bad second season but will never forgive him for hiding in the cup final against them. I was done with him after that game.

07-10-2021, 05:30 AM
Owain Tudor Jones…just seemed like an arrogant person that I couldn’t take to.

07-10-2021, 05:58 AM
Jorge Claros. The Pitbull. Not a bad second season but will never forgive him for hiding in the cup final against them. I was done with him after that game.

I think, like 10 others, he just had a nightmare. No hiding. The so called Hibs fans like O'connor and Murray deserve more stick than him.

07-10-2021, 06:03 AM
I think, like 10 others, he just had a nightmare. No hiding. The so called Hibs fans like O'connor and Murray deserve more stick than him.

Murray wasn't in the squad for that final assume he was injured. Have vague recollections of him storming up to Thompson on the pitch at the end in his suit.

07-10-2021, 06:04 AM
Paul Kane.

He was a total dick with one of my mates in Gatsby's back in the day, picking a fight with him for nothing. I was there and saw it all.

Never took to him since.

His anti-STF stuff was the icing on the cake.

07-10-2021, 06:04 AM
Murray wasn't in the squad for that final assume he was injured. Have vague recollections of him storming up to Thompson on the pitch at the end in his suit.

Wasn't he involved in some arguing in the weeks before over bonuses?

07-10-2021, 06:07 AM
Wasn't he involved in some arguing in the weeks before over bonuses?

No idea sounds like we were arguing about bonuses the night before the game which probably sums up the club at that time and definitely sums up the non performance on the day.

07-10-2021, 06:10 AM
No idea sounds like we were arguing about bonuses the night before the game which probably sums up the club at that time and definitely sums up the non performance on the day.

Agreed. Shambolic stuff.

07-10-2021, 06:19 AM
I’ve met Ian Murray before. We had just beat QotS to go top of the table at around xmas when in the champ with the huns - I’m sure someone will correct that!

Anyway I said to him ‘what about the hibbys ian?’ He totally dismissed it ‘it’s only QotS’ he said. I was surprised at him for saying that to be honest. Never liked him since hahaha.

That said, I do have a very blurry photo with him in Jerimiahs on 21/05/16 so maybe he was back into hibs at that point.

OstKurve Hibs
07-10-2021, 06:49 AM
Kevin Thompson for obvious reasons

Rowan vine aswell

07-10-2021, 06:56 AM
Doherty

loanheadhibby
07-10-2021, 07:25 AM
John Rankin, never took to him at all.

07-10-2021, 07:38 AM
Liam Craig during the relegation season. Rubbish captain, moaning at refs constantly rather than actually doing anything...

07-10-2021, 07:40 AM
Joe Harper. Not his fault but replacing the great Jimmy O’Rourke was never going to cause a love fest

We had some dreadful players after Harper and if he had a younger clone I’m pretty sure we’d have had him back in a heartbeat

07-10-2021, 07:40 AM
Agreed with the Claros thing. I really didn’t see his playing ability either.

Mr. Wonderful
07-10-2021, 07:50 AM
GOC. Always thought his attitude was terrible, and I didn't like the way he treated Ivan in the hat trick game.

No surprise there was a rift in the camp in 2012 when he was around either.

07-10-2021, 07:59 AM
I’ve met Ian Murray before. We had just beat QotS to go top of the table at around xmas when in the champ with the huns - I’m sure someone will correct that!

Anyway I said to him ‘what about the hibbys ian?’ He totally dismissed it ‘it’s only QotS’ he said. I was surprised at him for saying that to be honest. Never liked him since hahaha.

That said, I do have a very blurry photo with him in Jerimiahs on 21/05/16 so maybe he was back into hibs at that point.

Me too, and how he ever received a testimonial is beyond me.

Although it hardly needed any turnstile attendants. :faf:

07-10-2021, 08:02 AM
Michael Stewart.

He used to be a Jambo, then he was alright, then he was a Jambo again, then he's supposed to be a pundit we agree with.

Jeez, you just never knew where you were with that guy!

EI255
07-10-2021, 08:06 AM
Andy Walker.

WHY did Hibs sign him????

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

07-10-2021, 08:09 AM
Michael Stewart.

He used to be a Jambo, then he was alright, then he was a Jambo again, then he's supposed to be a pundit we agree with.

probably one of the pundits I could go for a pint with.

I’ve never really had an issue with any Hibs player whilst they were here that I can recall - actually no I’ll revise that - KT. Thought he was right to be stripped of the captaincy. But I feel he redeemed himself.

players disrespecting the club post playing is my gripe. Walker for example

Crunchie
07-10-2021, 08:16 AM
Paul Kane.

He was a total dick with one of my mates in Gatsby's back in the day, picking a fight with him for nothing. I was there and saw it all.

Never took to him since.

Kano was a great player for Hibs and gave nothing but 100% when pulling on the jersey. Will never forget his goal and overhead kick to release Archie for that win at Tynie.
A dyed in the wool Hibby who the fans loved.

07-10-2021, 08:19 AM
Andy Walker.

Still cannot believe he called us a ‘provincial club’

Surprising from someone who has worn the green

Funnily enough one of his few moments of glory 2-2 at Tiny is currently on Sky Sports

07-10-2021, 08:21 AM
Kano was a great player for Hibs and gave nothing but 100% when pulling on the jersey. Will never forget his goal and overhead kick to release Archie for that win at Tynie.

I never said he was a bad player.

A dyed in the wool Hibby who the fans loved.

Except myself & a couple of mates.

07-10-2021, 08:23 AM
Andy Walker.

I’ve never really had an issue with any Hibs player whilst they were here that I can recall - actually no I’ll revise that - KT. Thought he was right to be stripped of the captaincy. But I feel he redeemed himself.

Most supporters were delighted that we managed to sign Walker (albeit on loan, which wasn't very common at the time) but my memory is of him being pretty mediocre for us.

I was surprised to see that he scored 3 goals in 9 matches which isn't all that bad, but 2 out of the 3 were in his first match, so he only managed 1 in the next 8 - albeit in a derby.

https://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_games.php?playerid=6386

Fortunately I don't see any of his media work.

DanishJohn
07-10-2021, 08:29 AM

Legs like tree trunks gangly awkward but weirdly nimble slower than a week in the jail but comes across as a really nice intelligent guy and scored a lot of goals for us

Gary Caldwell on the other hand ended up doing the dirty on Strachan and Celtic pretty sure he dyes his hair :greengrin

Billy,

I really liked Tony Higgins as a player and kind of think of him as a link between a brilliant Hibs team and a team that proved that Ned had probably lost the plot.

A lot of ours fans try to protect our young players stating "he's only a laddie"

I was at Elland Road in 1973 when Tony Higgins played and he was in a team of Hibs greats up against one of the best club sides in Europe.
Tony was lambasted for a couple of missed chances (the header over the bar when he was expected to score.)
The laddie was only 19 that night.

Finally, he will always be part of 21 May 2016.

07-10-2021, 08:37 AM
Could never take to Vine or Tudor Jones and Liam Craig is another who came as someone else's top player and was pish, finger pointing ginger twat.

07-10-2021, 08:40 AM
Billy,

I really liked Tony Higgins as a player and kind of think of him as a link between a brilliant Hibs team and a team that proved that Ned had probably lost the plot.

A lot of ours fans try to protect our young players stating "he's only a laddie"

I was at Elland Road in 1973 when Tony Higgins played and he was in a team of Hibs greats up against one of the best club sides in Europe.
Tony was lambasted for a couple of missed chances (the header over the bar when he was expected to score.)

I suppose my issue must be Tony Higgins after Alan Gordon and Jimmy O’Rourke ?

I was spoiled

Big Tony just didnae look like a fitba player- just a big raw laddie - then again neither did Jimmy O’Rourke :greengrin

I have never blamed him for Leeds away

Shudda scored but HIBS should have gone through over the two legs

Alan Gordon scored a perfectly good goal at Easter Road that was disallowed

DanishJohn
07-10-2021, 08:45 AM
I suppose my issue must be Tony Higgins after Alan Gordon and Jimmy O’Rourke ?

I was spoiled

Big Tony just didnae look like a fitba player- just a big raw laddie - then again neither did Jimmy O’Rourke :greengrin

I have never blamed him for Leeds away

Shudda scored but HIBS should have gone through over the two legs

Alan Gordon scored a perfectly good goal at Easter Road that was disallowed

Agree with every word you say !

07-10-2021, 09:03 AM
A lot of people posting players who were either mediocre or downright pish for Hibs. You aren't really meant to like players like Tudor Jones and Vine who showed absolutely nothing for us.

I really went off Dean Shiels. Good player but I always remember him and a couple of others sitting on the bench in a game we were toiling in and holding up the back his shirt to the old east 2 or 3 times. That got the reaction they were looking for as a sizeable number started singing his name. It was 100% deliberate too. It was at a point were it was clear John Collins had lost the dressing room and we were in a dramatic slide but publicly undermining the manager like that was petty.

07-10-2021, 09:13 AM
Paul Kane.

Never took to him since.

Agreed. Bizarre

07-10-2021, 09:14 AM
Most supporters were delighted that we managed to sign Walker (albeit on loan, which wasn't very common at the time) but my memory is of him being pretty mediocre for us.

I was surprised to see that he scored 3 goals in 9 matches which isn't all that bad, but 2 out of the 3 were in his first match, so he only managed 1 in the next 8 - albeit in a derby.

https://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_games.php?playerid=6386

Fortunately I don't see any of his media work.

I can’t stand Walker. He always gives me the impression that he has a personal grudge against football, in particular Hibs and oddly, Celtic.

OstKurve Hibs
07-10-2021, 09:28 AM
Kamberi

07-10-2021, 09:29 AM
Ryan McGivern. He represented for me the wilderness years we went through not so long ago - a clownish figure with eggshell white hair as I recall.

He was awful but amazingly he has 24 N.Irish caps and is still playing football for a living so what do I know?

07-10-2021, 09:31 AM
I could never take to Garry O’Connor for some reason.

And I really didn’t like Stuart Lovell for a while but then I changed my mind on him.

07-10-2021, 09:39 AM
Ryan McGivern. He represented for me the wilderness years we went through not so long ago - a clownish figure with eggshell white hair as I recall.

He was awful but amazingly he has 24 N.Irish caps and is still playing football for a living so what do I know?

He was here for 2 years, and for 18 months was far from awful. Only really under Butcher was he bad. Most were happy when he joined permanently.

07-10-2021, 09:47 AM
Billy,

I never saw much of him as a player but after retiring he was a speaker at many Hibs "do's". I remember him starting off one speech "Good evening Ladies and Gentlemen...and fellow athletes" while holding his big fat belly with both hands as it hung over his belt. Always good value on these occasions.

07-10-2021, 09:52 AM
He was here for 2 years, and for 18 months was far from awful. Only really under Butcher was he bad. Most were happy when he joined permanently.

:agree: Was seen as a coup when we signed him permanently.

07-10-2021, 09:53 AM
I never saw much of him as a player but after retiring he was a speaker at many Hibs "do's". I remember him starting off one speech "Good evening Ladies and Gentlemen...and fellow athletes" while holding his big fat bally with both hands. Always good value on these occasions.

When I started going to matches he was in his last season or 2 so I don't remember very much about him playing for us, however having seen him on the terracing with the Hibs support a few times and at a couple of Hibs events he's always struck me as a good bloke. He always came across well on the TV when he was doing his players' union stuff too.

07-10-2021, 09:58 AM
Like others, never took to Joe Harper. Clearly thought he was too good for us. Wasn't there a stushie when he refused to shave off his beard?
Petty, I know, but I always thought he was never a team player.

07-10-2021, 09:59 AM
Danny Swanson. Just couldn't take to him. I think the fact he is a Hibs fan got him a lot of slack. More than other players have been given.

Crunchie
07-10-2021, 10:01 AM
Danny Swanson. Just couldn't take to him. I think the fact he is a Hibs fan got him a lot of slack. More than other players have been given.
I don't think he really got a chance tbf, great talent which we sadly missed out on.

07-10-2021, 10:05 AM
Anthony Stokes. Will forever be grateful for the cup final display but on a personal level can’t take to him, and watching him getting the ball twenty yards out with options available only for him to scud a shot into the keeper arms frustrated the hell out of me in his final spell with us.

The cup final just underlined what he could have been for us on a regular basis if he buckled down all the time but always had the feeling he could do a lot more.

MagicSwirlingShip
07-10-2021, 10:08 AM
Jarkko Wiss.

Arrived under Sauzee, and I expected so much more from him, maybe unfairly.

That period from Sauzee through the early Williamson era really wasn’t that fun.

07-10-2021, 10:08 AM
James McPake as well. On loan bust a gut for us but never seemed the same when he joined us permanently.

07-10-2021, 10:33 AM
Wasn't there a stushie when he refused to shave off his beard?

There was a bigger less innocuous story behind the beard thing. As in he grew the beard whilst holed up in hotel room permenantly pished (allegedly).

For "shave your beard" read " sober up and get back to training".

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

07-10-2021, 10:52 AM
There was a bigger less innocuous story behind the beard thing. As in he grew the beard whilst holed up in hotel room permenantly pished (allegedly).

Didn't know that, interesting. I can totally believe it,
too 😡

07-10-2021, 10:56 AM

Also heard that when Eddie Turnbull was reading out the team and going through the prematch tactics while all the other players were sitting up paying attention Harper had his feet up reading the Match Day Programme

“ Do you think I left Everton for less money? “

I liked him Good player

ET’s pet

07-10-2021, 11:19 AM
And I really didn’t like Stuart Lovell for a while but then I changed my mind on him.

Met Archie at a club once in our promotion season, was a proper gentleman, happy to have a chat and offered to buy me a drink.

Quality player for us too.

Saint Hibee
07-10-2021, 11:22 AM
Going against the grain here, but I think Liam Craig was actually a better player for us than our collective memory would suggest.

07-10-2021, 11:43 AM
Anthony Stokes. Will forever be grateful for the cup final display but on a personal level can’t take to him, and watching him getting the ball twenty yards out with options available only for him to scud a shot into the keeper arms frustrated the hell out of me in his final spell with us.

The cup final just underlined what he could have been for us on a regular basis if he buckled down all the time but always had the feeling he could do a lot more.

100%

07-10-2021, 11:52 AM
Going against the grain here, but I think Liam Craig was actually a better player for us than our collective memory would suggest.

I agree.

He used to get a lot of stick for moaning at the ref all the time.

Now there are a fair number of posters who say that we don't moan at referees enough.

07-10-2021, 11:57 AM

He was fine eventually and did a decent turn in the Championship. As captain of a team that fell apart though he was god awful, and the ref moaning was more magnified as being utterly futile when the real problem was the absolute ****show going on around him.

07-10-2021, 12:15 PM
Scored a cracker at Firhill for Thrills on this day in history :greengrin

07-10-2021, 12:18 PM
Paul Kane.

Never took to him since.

Have to agree. Him and Mickey Weir were guests at a London Hibs burns night I attended. Mickey could not have been more approachable, didn't get pushed etc, basically made my night meeting him as he was one of my first Hibs' Heroes. Kane seemed to know a wee clique of people, got steaming and didn't seem when remotely approachable.

07-10-2021, 12:19 PM

In spades. He got a lot of over the top stick. Although clearly not blameless he was, in some ways, unfortunate to have been captain during the most shambolic few months I’ve ever seen at Hibs.. steered by butcher.

07-10-2021, 12:24 PM

Don't want to end up off topic however you could argue that Ian Murray signing a pre-contract with the huns and not telling anyone was much worse than Gary Caldwell signing one with Celtic and being open about it.:agree:

07-10-2021, 12:34 PM
Don't want to end up off topic however you could argue that Ian Murray signing a pre-contract with the huns and not telling anyone was much worse than Gary Caldwell signing one with Celtic and being open about it.:agree:

Agree but still feel that regardless Ian Murray was always a hibby at heart a bit like Kevin Thomson :rolleyes:

I always thought Murray was an open secret though maybes not quite as open or in advance as Caldwell

Caldwell was just mercenary with no allegiance

Nothing wrong with that I suppose after all to them it is just a job

07-10-2021, 12:53 PM

Nah, he liked to hide in games..

beensaidbefore
07-10-2021, 12:56 PM
Grant Brebner - Always thought he came across like he fancied himself too much and thought he was to good for Hibs.

07-10-2021, 01:21 PM
Billy,

Privileged to play a couple of bounce games with him. Good down to earth bloke.

He's here!
07-10-2021, 01:24 PM
Billy,

Higgins always looked like a veteran, even when he was young. Then again, a lot of 70s footballers/pop stars looked much older than they were due to the popularity of big hair and moustaches.

I was too young to fully appreciate the joys of watching Gordon and O'Rourke up front so Tony was one of the first Hibs strikers I remember, and I probably have a bit of a soft spot for him. I remember him scoring in a 2-1 win against Rangers just before Christmas in 1979, as a George Best-inspired Hibs gave us a rare bright moment in an otherwise awful season (highlights about 50 seconds in):

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/58819535

07-10-2021, 01:24 PM
Kamberi
Took a while for that name to crop up. Defo top of any hero-to-zero type list. I was a big fan early doors and thought he was a great signing. Then..........

He's here!
07-10-2021, 01:27 PM

He was decent when he arrived on loan and I was pleased when we signed him up, but he went downhill after that.

Andy Walker's a good shout for a player that was hard to warm to in a Hibs shirt.

07-10-2021, 01:43 PM
Ray Wilkins

07-10-2021, 01:58 PM
James McPake as well. On loan bust a gut for us but never seemed the same when he joined us permanently.

I mind getting slaughtered on here for calling him James Mistake. I never liked him either, that horrendous tackle on Paterson in the LC Derby at ER when were were 0-1 down and chasing the game and he got a straight red and completely blew our chances and we lost that against a dreadful Hearts side.

He's here!
07-10-2021, 01:59 PM
Ray Wilkins

I remember Alex Miller commenting that the type of player he'd like to sign would be 'a 10 years younger Ray Wilkins'. A few weeks later we signed him and he basically looked like a 10 years too old Ray Wilkins. No question the guy was a terrific player in his prime and to be fair I wouldn't say he played especially poorly for us.

Might be wrong but I think he might have played in a winning Hibs side v the huns. Graeme Donald scored for us and Laudrup missed two penalties.

07-10-2021, 02:00 PM
I mind getting slaughtered on here for calling him James Mistake. I never liked him either, that horrendous tackle on Paterson in the LC Derby at ER when were were 0-1 down and chasing the game and he got a straight red and completely blew our chances and we lost that against a dreadful Hearts side.

Probably because the majority thought that he didn't deserve that abuse, especially given that he was playing through injury much of the time.

07-10-2021, 02:01 PM
Grant Brebner - Always thought he came across like he fancied himself too much and thought he was to good for Hibs.

He's another one,he said he wanted to stay on with Hibs after his loan ended in 1998 then he ****ed off to Reading when they flashed a big pile of cash under his nose. He did end up coming back though to be fair.

07-10-2021, 02:04 PM
Took a while for that name to crop up. Defo top of any hero-to-zero type list. I was a big fan early doors and thought he was a great signing. Then..........

Edwin De Graaf, I was very disappointed in his performances given his background. He was actually murder.

07-10-2021, 02:05 PM
People do realise that this thread isn't about how good players were?

07-10-2021, 03:17 PM
Probably because the majority thought that he didn't deserve that abuse, especially given that he was playing through injury much of the time.

Tudor-Jones still gets pelters for signing for us when he knew about his legs but McPake doesn't. He became a different player when he got a permanent deal for us and his passion for the club somehow seemed dampened IMO.

07-10-2021, 03:19 PM
Tudor-Jones still gets pelters for signing for us when he knew about his legs but McPake doesn't. He became a different player when he got a permanent deal for us and his passion for the club somehow seemed dampened IMO.

Mcpake got a bad injury, then was fit to play when we needed him. Unfortunately Butcher kept him on the bench and played inferior players

07-10-2021, 03:39 PM
Mcpake got a bad injury, then was fit to play when we needed him. Unfortunately Butcher kept him on the bench and played inferior players

Yep that was criminal not playing him Mcpake was certainly limited but gave his all for the club imo.

Mr. Wonderful
07-10-2021, 04:00 PM
Nah, he liked to hide in games..

An expert in marking himself out for sure.

Highwayman
07-10-2021, 04:01 PM
John Rankin, never took to him at all.

Agree about John Rankin.

When he signed he was described as a dead ball specialist,dead was the only word that applied,as in dead rotten.

Remember a game against the Jambos at ER where he took a free kick that hardly reached the Jambos wall.As he apologised to his team mates a guy behind me shouted “don’t apologise Rankin just don’t take any more free kicks”.

Oddly enough he then went on to play for Dundee United where according to Arab fans I know he was well thought off.

If my battery wasn’t running out I would a start a thread about players who were gash for us but went on to have successful careers elsewhere.First nomination would Paul Hartley.

Any volunteers to start thread.

07-10-2021, 04:03 PM
Kevin Nisbet really hasn't grown on me at all. Think it's partly because of that pish in the previous transfer window, and also because I've not really seen him in the flesh enough.

07-10-2021, 04:33 PM

I don't really have any problem with the guy himself, it's the constant to-ing and fro-ing in that bl**dy song.

:singing:

"Oh, Mikey Mikey,
Used to be a Jambo,
then was alright for a while,
then he was a Jambo again,
And now he's a pundit we love"

I mean, is that a rubbish song or what?

07-10-2021, 04:46 PM

Hanlon being injured didn’t help

07-10-2021, 05:11 PM
Agree about John Rankin.

When he signed he was described as a dead ball specialist,dead was the only word that applied,as in dead rotten.

Remember a game against the Jambos at ER where he took a free kick that hardly reached the Jambos wall.As he apologised to his team mates a guy behind me shouted “don’t apologise Rankin just don’t take any more free kicks”.

Oddly enough he then went on to play for Dundee United where according to Arab fans I know he was well thought off.

If my battery wasn’t running out I would a start a thread about players who were gash for us but went on to have successful careers elsewhere.First nomination would Paul Hartley.

Any volunteers to start thread.

Hartley certainly wasn’t gash for us, he just struggled to hold down a place in a very good team, and hadn’t found his best position yet. Scored a couple of very important goals for us that season in the First.

Was sold for £200K IIRC, seemed good business at the time, but obviously he came back to bite us big time.

Billy Stark moving him to an attacking central midfielder at Saints transformed his career.

07-10-2021, 05:14 PM
Never really took to stokes, even from his first spell

Gary Caldwell

Paco Luna

Weegreenman
07-10-2021, 06:28 PM
Loved Kamberi in his first season but after that he was rotten.

07-10-2021, 06:36 PM
Hartley certainly wasn’t gash for us, he just struggled to hold down a place in a very good team, and hadn’t found his best position yet. Scored a couple of very important goals for us that season in the First.

Was sold for £200K IIRC, seemed good business at the time, but obviously he came back to bite us big time.

Billy Stark moving him to an attacking central midfielder at Saints transformed his career.
Employed mainly as a winger

I remember his debut Boxing Day 1998 in a 3-0 win over Ayr United

Came on a second half sub kicking up the slope

He brought down a ball that dropped out of the sky with snaw on it

He trapped it immediately and sped past his man as if he wisnae there

I thought “ He’ll dae!”

07-10-2021, 06:37 PM
I found it really hard to like James Collins. Always felt he was never good enough to play for us.

07-10-2021, 06:49 PM
I found it really hard to like James Collins. Always felt he was never good enough to play for us.

He is probably my least favourite Hibs player ever, I thought he was absolute ***** and for whatever reason disliked him almost immediately.

Although Vine & Tudor-Jones are worthy nominees also in the absolute ***** category.

As a boy who adored the Tornadoes, I never liked Harper either but you could not question his ability or record whilst at Hibs

07-10-2021, 06:52 PM
Antoine-Curier was another.

I can tolerate pish, but attempts to disguise it with misplaced attempts at arrogance and technique will never get you anywhere.

Can probably add Felipe Morais to that list.

07-10-2021, 07:21 PM
Tin hat on. Riordan.

A special player, but from the outside seemed a bit of a ned and wasted most of his career IMO.

07-10-2021, 07:48 PM
Fraser Mullen.

He just had a really dislikable face. He looked like the type of prick who owned at least one pair of white jeans.

Bobo
07-10-2021, 08:45 PM
Andy Watson, Yannick Zambernardi and Joe McBride Jnr. All of them offered very little in a Hibs jersey and all played more times than their ability merited.

07-10-2021, 09:13 PM
Andy Watson, Yannick Zambernardi and Joe McBride Jnr. All of them offered very little in a Hibs jersey and all played more times than their ability merited.Joe McBride jnr? I thought he was a great player but never got back to full form after breaking his leg.

07-10-2021, 09:24 PM
Joe McBride jnr? I thought he was a great player but never got back to full form after breaking his leg.

Always remember him for that game at Tynecastle.

07-10-2021, 09:33 PM
John Rankin. I usually excuse technically inferior players if they put a shift in but this bloke did my tits in. Technically he was rotten and turned into a decent player for Dundee United once he recognised his vast limitations. I was pig sick of watching him duck hook a cross field pass. He must’ve had a success rate of 1 in 50. His shooting was worse. He shot from everywhere. He was awful.

Anthony Stokes. Put in the best performance I’ve ever seen from a Hibs player in the Cup Final but was dog**** for pretty much every other game he played for us that season. Wasn’t much better when he signed permanently after that.

Derek Riordan. I’ll add that this is 2nd spell only. Adored him first spell. The most talented player I’ve seen that came through our academy. Incredible in derbies. 2nd spell, I couldn’t wait for his contract to run out. His first spell was all pearlers and his second spell was about him throwing his arms about complaining about everything and pretty much no trying a leg.

07-10-2021, 10:07 PM
Kevin McAllister, happier talking about Falkirk than Hibs.

07-10-2021, 10:12 PM
Stuart Lovell
James Collins
Edwin de Graaf
Stevie Crawford
Matt Thornhill

hibeg
07-10-2021, 10:31 PM

That’s because he’s a massive Falkirk fan :greengrin

07-10-2021, 10:37 PM
That’s because he’s a massive Falkirk fan :greengrin

Doh! Who wants to hear a Hibs player going on about Falkirk? I'm sure there's plenty other players that aren't Hibbies, didnae rattle on like him though.

07-10-2021, 11:07 PM
Doh! Who wants to hear a Hibs player going on about Falkirk? I'm sure there's plenty other players that aren't Hibbies, didnae rattle on like him though.To be honest I always respected that about him. He never hid the fact that he was Falkirk daft but neither did he ever give less than 100% for us.

07-10-2021, 11:12 PM
On the field I never liked Grant Holt or James Collins. Strikers who liked the centre circle more than the penalty box. I don't rate Doidge as highly as some, my admiration has grown as time has passed though, but love the fact he keeps getting into the box and on the end of chances and crosses whether scoring regularly or on a barren streak. His finishing could maybe improve but I'll never fault him for his courage. The other two hid from the chances imo and that is why they scored so few goals for Hibs.

hibeg
08-10-2021, 02:31 AM
Doh! Who wants to hear a Hibs player going on about Falkirk? I'm sure there's plenty other players that aren't Hibbies, didnae rattle on like him though.

Didn’t bother me at all. Loved watching him at Hibs, brilliant player. I’m sure he even tried in the matches v Falkirk !

08-10-2021, 05:45 AM
Jackson Irvine

Expected more based on his Ross Co form

Headless chicken

In fairness he would make at least one good pass per game :greengrin

Expensive fish out of water

08-10-2021, 06:04 AM

I remember at the Hibs Kids days he was a miserable wee git who couldn't get away quick enough.

08-10-2021, 06:28 AM
I never warmed to Jason Cumming or John Hughes.

And Simon Brown was an arrogant tosser and a ***** keeper, such a come down from the likes of Goram and Leighton.

Crunchie
08-10-2021, 06:31 AM
Didn’t bother me at all. Loved watching him at Hibs, brilliant player. I’m sure he even tried in the matches v Falkirk !

:agree: 7th Oct 1995 scored a cracker in a 2-1 win at ER, brilliant wee player in an exciting attacking team.

08-10-2021, 07:07 AM
:agree: 7th Oct 1995 scored a cracker in a 2-1 win at ER, brilliant wee player in an exciting attacking team.

Loved Crunchie, Jim Duffy let him go way too soon. Was brilliant for Falkirk after leaving us.

Lendo
08-10-2021, 07:38 AM
Didn’t care for Dean Shiels but that’s because he tried to fire in to my bird at the time on George Street.

08-10-2021, 07:55 AM
Didn’t care for Dean Shiels but that’s because he tried to fire in to my bird at the time on George Street.

[emoji23]

08-10-2021, 08:01 AM
On the field I never liked Grant Holt or James Collins. Strikers who liked the centre circle more than the penalty box. I don't rate Doidge as highly as some, my admiration has grown as time has passed though, but love the fact he keeps getting into the box and on the end of chances and crosses whether scoring regularly or on a barren streak. His finishing could maybe improve but I'll never fault him for his courage. The other two hid from the chances imo and that is why they scored so few goals for Hibs.

Like you I never liked Doidge, technically very average but has sort of grown on me, never hides and works his socks off for the cause but always gets into positions to score, just wish he'd sort out being offside too much.

08-10-2021, 08:05 AM

I remember Jim Duffy arrived in his helicopter New Years Day 1997 :greengrin

Jim Duffy dropped Crunchie and Hearts scudded us 0-4

I met Crunchie after the game in the Hospitality and he just shook his head and looked at me as if to say ‘ this is no gonna work’

Weegreenman
08-10-2021, 09:31 AM
Matt Docherty and quite a few of our so called hero’s that played in that cup final.

Heard some truly awful stories regards players falling out over bonus payments for that particular game.

I can’t forgive any of them.

08-10-2021, 09:34 AM
Jim Blair, we paid a fair amount to St Mirren for him he had scored dozens of goals came to us and could not hit a barn door wi a banjo.

Weegreenman
08-10-2021, 09:34 AM
Loved Crunchie, Jim Duffy let him go way too soon. Was brilliant for Falkirk after leaving us.

Wee Kev was a brilliant player. Like Latapy, I think Falkirk got the best out of him.

Bobo
08-10-2021, 10:36 AM
Joe McBride jnr? I thought he was a great player but never got back to full form after breaking his leg.

I always thought he was poor and seldom performed in a Hibs jersey. Apart from his 2 goals at Tynecastle and a game v Aberdeen, he produced very little to write home about only managing a further 9 goals in his other 91 appearances for the club.

Green Badger
08-10-2021, 10:42 AM
Jim Leighton. Not sure why, just never really warmed to him however well he played for us.

08-10-2021, 10:43 AM
Jim Blair, we paid a fair amount to St Mirren for him he had scored dozens of goals came to us and could not hit a barn door wi a banjo.
:greengrinthought he done a decent job for us five goals in eighteen games . Never knew he has passed away .

08-10-2021, 04:01 PM
Wee Kev was a brilliant player. Like Latapy, I think Falkirk got the best out of him.

Latapy :confused: he was brilliant at Hibs

08-10-2021, 04:02 PM
I always thought he was poor and seldom performed in a Hibs jersey. Apart from his 2 goals at Tynecastle and a game v Aberdeen, he produced very little to write home about only managing a further 9 goals in his other 91 appearances for the club.

Thought he had a very good season when Cowan and Durie scored loads

08-10-2021, 04:02 PM

08-10-2021, 04:08 PM
John Rankin. I usually excuse technically inferior players if they put a shift in but this bloke did my tits in. Technically he was rotten and turned into a decent player for Dundee United once he recognised his vast limitations. I was pig sick of watching him duck hook a cross field pass. He must’ve had a success rate of 1 in 50. His shooting was worse. He shot from everywhere. He was awful.

Anthony Stokes. Put in the best performance I’ve ever seen from a Hibs player in the Cup Final but was dog**** for pretty much every other game he played for us that season. Wasn’t much better when he signed permanently after that.

Derek Riordan. I’ll add that this is 2nd spell only. Adored him first spell. The most talented player I’ve seen that came through our academy. Incredible in derbies. 2nd spell, I couldn’t wait for his contract to run out. His first spell was all pearlers and his second spell was about him throwing his arms about complaining about everything and pretty much no trying a leg.

Now you know I’m going to defend Mr Riordan here, finished top goal scorer the season he joined, from a position out wide on the left, sure there was a couple of POTM awards as well, and I’m sure he got a call up to Scotland squad 2nd season, his then manager was full of praise for him and couldn’t believe Levein didn’t pick him for international duty, I think in the last 3 seasons he was with Hibs he was top goal scorer twice and behind Stokes the other season, plenty assists in these 3 seasons as well and was made club captain.

Yeah he threw his arm in the air at times through frustration but to say he never tried a leg is pushing it, I would go even further and say he worked harder in his 2nd spell than his 1st.

08-10-2021, 04:11 PM
I didn't like Brian Welsh much.

08-10-2021, 04:13 PM

Dyed in the wool Bairn. Used to ask for the Falkirk score at full time. They're his team. Can't really complain. Especially when he still produced the goods for us.

08-10-2021, 04:19 PM
Ross “the pointer “ Chisholm

08-10-2021, 04:20 PM
Now you know I’m going to defend Mr Riordan here, finished top goal scorer the season he joined, from a position out wide on the left, sure there was a couple of POTM awards as well, and I’m sure he got a call up to Scotland squad 2nd season, his then manager was full of praise for him and couldn’t believe Levein didn’t pick him for international duty, I think in the last 3 seasons he was with Hibs he was top goal scorer twice and behind Stokes the other season, plenty assists in these 3 seasons as well and was made club captain.

Yeah he threw his arm in the air at times through frustration but to say he never tried a leg is pushing it, I would go even further and say he worked harder in his 2nd spell than his 1st.

Scored 40 goals in 114 appearances his second spell

08-10-2021, 04:29 PM

In the 2nd game of his return, away to Hamilton, (I had missed his first game back due to holidays), he struck a beautiful curling effort right in front of us, top bin. The stand went mental and I couldn’t stop myself from crying. Mrs Iggy called me a radge. I didn’t care. Still don’t. A brilliant player that I couldn’t ever stop much liking, as it were.

Has anyone mentioned Ray Wilkins yet?

08-10-2021, 04:35 PM
In the 2nd game of his return, away to Hamilton, (I had missed his first game back due to holidays), he struck a beautiful curling effort right in front of us, top bin. The stand went mental and I couldn’t stop myself from crying. Mrs Iggy called me a radge. I didn’t care. Still don’t. A brilliant player that I couldn’t ever stop much liking, as it were.

Has anyone mentioned Ray Wilkins yet?

Loved his goal in the ‘Casper’ game when the maroon balloons gave us no chance at Tiny :greengrin

08-10-2021, 04:55 PM
Wee Kev was a brilliant player. Like Latapy, I think Falkirk got the best out of him.Strange take.

08-10-2021, 05:16 PM

biggest problem with Derek’s second spell was the poorer team around him

08-10-2021, 06:18 PM
biggest problem with Derek’s second spell was the poorer team around him

Yep his frustration was obvious. He went from one of our best teams in recent decades under Mowbray to one of our worst under Calderwood.

I've always liked DR. I'm probably in a minority but I actually don't think he was quite good enough to have made it at a higher level. He just lacked that yard of pace and was a bit too slight to have really hacked it in England imo. Technically brilliant and a fantastic player at this level, one of my all time Hibs favourites but I don't buy the wasted talent that some people trot out.

08-10-2021, 06:37 PM

Only when he was below par.

Most of the time he was better than brilliant.

08-10-2021, 06:39 PM
I'm not trying to impose any rules, but there seem to be people that haven't understood this thread.

I don't think the intention was to simply list players that were crap for us or ended up crap. We could easily run to hundreds of pages if that's the case.

There are players that are easy to like - nothing to do with how they play but how they come across in interviews. Newell, Doidge, Boyle & Stevenson immediately spring to mind for me and there are others. Chris Cadden in his interviews when coming back from injury came across as the most enthusiastic, smiliest, nicest guy on earth (after Lewis of course) which makes you really root for him. Daz is another...

Then there are players where you have no opinion of them as people and you judge them purely on their ability. Deek is one of those for me. He had well publicised trouble off the pitch but that didn't stop him being one of my favourite ever Hibs players. We don't get to see skill like that very often. Griffiths in his prime was another one. I could never see myself being his mate but I didn't dislike him either. I definitely wanted him at Hibs though.

The thread is meant to be about Hibs players that you don't or didn't take to as people, regardless of how they played.

08-10-2021, 06:47 PM
Dave Beaumont.
History will show him as a Cup winner with us. I just remember him having a face you'd never get tired of punching. He didn't play that much though when he did he was bang average I thought.

Then we have THAT game 😱.
Just foul him you Muppet!!!!

Retired early from football to join the polis. Meh.

08-10-2021, 06:53 PM
Dave Beaumont.
History will show him as a Cup winner with us. I just remember him having a face you'd never get tired of punching. He didn't play that much though when he did he was bang average I thought.

Then we have THAT game 😱.
Just foul him you Muppet!!!!

Retired early from football to join the polis. Meh.

If I seen Dave Beaumont now I think I'd struggle not to boot him from behind and scream 'that's what you should have done to Foster'.

I was 7 when that happened, I'm 35 now and it still annoys me.

08-10-2021, 07:02 PM
If I seen Dave Beaumont now I think I'd struggle not to boot him from behind and scream 'that's what you should have done to Foster'.

😡😡😡 I don't think about that non challenge much these days.... But every time i do it brings out a level of hatred for one of our own players that's probably not healthy!

08-10-2021, 07:08 PM
The sights you see when you don’t have a gun

08-10-2021, 07:12 PM
Lyndon Andrews, earl Jean, Chris Jackson

08-10-2021, 07:13 PM
Once he got past his initial early peak, Paul Cairney had some awfy irritating traits.

08-10-2021, 07:24 PM
Lyndon Andrews, earl Jean, Chris Jackson

How did those first two play anywhere near enough to be disliked?

08-10-2021, 07:55 PM
Dyed in the wool Bairn. Used to ask for the Falkirk score at full time. They're his team. Can't really complain. Especially when he still produced the goods for us.

I was just responding to the thread title.

08-10-2021, 08:46 PM
Scott Brown. Great player but don’t like the guy.

hibbydog
09-10-2021, 08:24 AM
Garry O Connor

Decent player, and should have made a much better career, but lack of effort/ decency ruined it. Countless episodes of despicable behaviour and ended up in a mess.

09-10-2021, 08:34 AM

Yep. Riordan was always one of our best players in his second spell. Scored so many vital goals.

His mate Gary was the one who desperately let us down 2nd time round.

09-10-2021, 08:46 AM
Only when he was below par.

Most of the time he was better than brilliant.

Struggling to think of any games where he failed to turn up tbh apart from the Scottish Cup Final 😃

09-10-2021, 08:54 AM
Darren Jackson, based on my age when he played for us and how good he actually was he should have been one of my heroes but I never liked him at all and can't explain why

09-10-2021, 08:54 AM

To this day that remains the derby defeat that has hurt me the most.

I still wince thinking about it,

F’ing torture.

09-10-2021, 08:58 AM
Darren Jackson, based on my age when he played for us and how good he actually was he should have been one of my heroes but I never liked him at all and can't explain why

He was very good at hiding out wide when he couldn’t be arsed. At least that is how it looked to me. When he could be, however, he was brilliant, it seemed too often when selection for Scotland squads was on the horizon.

09-10-2021, 09:26 AM
Darren Jackson was one of those niggly players when he played against you you hated him but if he was in your team you loved him

Remember going up to Tannadice in the Scottish Cup 1990 Hibs took a huge support he scored the only goal hooking the ball over his shoulder while backing into our defenders using his elbows then he was across to us giving it large

I was delighted when he signed

09-10-2021, 11:35 AM
Michael Stewart.

Surprised it took so many posts before this to mention him. Hated him during his spell at Hibs.

09-10-2021, 11:45 AM
Craig Brewster, met him a few times and just couldn’t take to him.

09-10-2021, 02:25 PM
Yep his frustration was obvious. He went from one of our best teams in recent decades under Mowbray to one of our worst under Calderwood.

I've always liked DR. I'm probably in a minority but I actually don't think he was quite good enough to have made it at a higher level. He just lacked that yard of pace and was a bit too slight to have really hacked it in England imo. Technically brilliant and a fantastic player at this level, one of my all time Hibs favourites but I don't buy the wasted talent that some people trot out.

While it’s been done before and not a particularly important debate I definitely don’t think he had the career his ability merited. He won two titles and a Scottish Cup at Celtc, and scored over 100 goals for Hibs so had a better career than most. However he played 16 league games, scoring 4, and then 8 league games scoring 1 for those titles. He also played 3 Scottish Cup games and didn’t get in the park in the final. You can’t take the medals away from him, but he didn’t play a particularly big part in winning them IMO. He was also 28 when he left us after his second spell and was all but retired at that point.

I agree he probably wasn’t ever good enough for the biggest clubs. However I think Darren Fletcher isn’t an unfair comparison. Both similar physiques. Riordan was head and shoulders above Fletcher in terms of natural talent, and Fletcher was a talented player himself not just a workhorse/spoiler. Fletcher got every ounce out of his potential and more, Riordan didn’t look after himself and was on a downward trajectory from his mid 20s IMO.

He didn’t have a bad career, but 2 league titles, one Scottish Cup, 100 goals for Hibs and 3 Scotland caps doesn’t match his natural ability IMO.

heidtheba
09-10-2021, 08:22 PM
Anthony Stokes. Incredible player 'on his day' and was something on a different level in the final. But a guy who would fail my 'I'd happily have a pint with him' test. I'm sure he's gutted mind.
I wasn't too keen on Basher Lavety, for no discernable reason either.

Players I really liked were Crunchie, Keith, Danny Lennon, Kevin Harper and our Willie Miller.

09-10-2021, 09:48 PM

Oh, spot on. I sat not far from him when we struggled away to Stranraer in the cup, him with his arm injury. Never thought he had us at heart and **** me he proved it for just about everyone when he left us.

09-10-2021, 09:50 PM
I'm not trying to impose any rules, but there seem to be people that haven't understood this thread.

I don't think the intention was to simply list players that were crap for us or ended up crap. We could easily run to hundreds of pages if that's the case.

There are players that are easy to like - nothing to do with how they play but how they come across in interviews. Newell, Doidge, Boyle & Stevenson immediately spring to mind for me and there are others. Chris Cadden in his interviews when coming back from injury came across as the most enthusiastic, smiliest, nicest guy on earth (after Lewis of course) which makes you really root for him. Daz is another...

Then there are players where you have no opinion of them as people and you judge them purely on their ability. Deek is one of those for me. He had well publicised trouble off the pitch but that didn't stop him being one of my favourite ever Hibs players. We don't get to see skill like that very often. Griffiths in his prime was another one. I could never see myself being his mate but I didn't dislike him either. I definitely wanted him at Hibs though.

The thread is meant to be about Hibs players that you don't or didn't take to as people, regardless of how they played.

Doesn’t every thread meander about a bit? Wouldn’t be much of a forum if it didn’t.

loanheadhibby
09-10-2021, 09:52 PM

Anyway I said to him ‘what about the hibbys ian?’ He totally dismissed it ‘it’s only QotS’ he said. I was surprised at him for saying that to be honest. Never liked him since
hahaha.

Ian Murray us a huge Hibs fan.

09-10-2021, 09:54 PM
Fraser Fyvie is by all accounts a bit of a dick too.

09-10-2021, 10:26 PM
Doesn’t every thread meander about a bit? Wouldn’t be much of a forum if it didn’t.Of course, I'm just worried that if we were to list all of our crap players that we'll cause some sort of bandwidth crisis.

10-10-2021, 07:45 AM

Sat beside him on a plane once. Was a nice guy and happy to chat

10-10-2021, 08:14 AM
Never really liked

Colin Nish
John Rankin
Liam Craig
Gary Caldwell

As has been said, there’s no particular reason unlike a Doherty or KT where you can argue about their contribution, whether they were crap or not. Those four just annoyed me.

10-10-2021, 09:16 AM
Ian Murray us a huge Hibs fan.

Quite possibly. He came across as a weapon when I spoke to him though

10-10-2021, 09:21 AM
Danny Handling.

StockholmHibs
10-10-2021, 12:46 PM
When I started going to matches he was in his last season or 2 so I don't remember very much about him playing for us, however having seen him on the terracing with the Hibs support a few times and at a couple of Hibs events he's always struck me as a good bloke. He always came across well on the TV when he was doing his players' union stuff too.
I mind being right down the front of the terrace as a lad, I thought he was a brilliant player. Probably was only bang average.

10-10-2021, 04:04 PM
Andy Walker. Hated him even when he was playing for us. Saw him walking to ER the second time he played for us and said "Hiya Andy, good luck today." and he literally told me to F*** off. He seemed to hate playing for us and felt it was beneath him. to55er.

Gary Caldwell was similar..always acted like we were an annoying stop off on his career.

Believe it or not, I never really liked Arthur Duncan as a kid, My starting to go to ER (1979) coincided with his last couple of seasons and He'd lost his pace and just seemed to hit shots over the bar all the time. The fact that we was seen as a legend by older guys just made me dislike him more. In the context of his career I now like and admire him, but not at the time. I remember getting in an argument with an old guy in the west stand because I called Arthur a womble with a stupid moustache :greengrin (I was only 11). He gave me the "have a bit of respect for a proper Hibs legend" lecture. So I started shouting "good pass Uncle Bulgaria, Nice shot Uncle Bulgaria" whenever he got the ball..I thought I was hilarious :hmmm:

I'll add myself to the Paul Kane un-appreciation society...always did his best for the team on the park and was a proper Hibby, but just generally came across to me as someone I wouldn't want to live next door to.

10-10-2021, 05:08 PM
Andy Walker. Hated him even when he was playing for us. Saw him walking to ER the second time he played for us and said "Hiya Andy, good luck today." and he literally told me to F*** off. He seemed to hate playing for us and felt it was beneath him. to55er.

That is utterly shocking from Walker - he always comes across as an egotistical twat on the TV but I think we can add ignorant nasty ungrateful ******** to his personality profile on the back of that tale.

In terms of players I never took to it's usually for similar reasons - ie when a player doesn't seem to properly appreciate the honour of pulling on a Hibs jersey I tend to take an instinctive dislike to them as people.

Thankfully there are not many I can attribute that trait to but a couple that spring to mind are Ray Wilkins and Brian Hamilton. As well as being well past it when signed for Hibs by Alex Miller (one of his worst ever signings IMO) Wilkins seemed to carry the attitude that he was just about doing us a favour by pulling on the green and white jersey. To add to this piss poor attitude he then had the gall to applaud the Rangers fans at Ibrox when we had just been on the wrong end of a proper doing there - something which left me absolutely seething with rage.

Brian Hamilton, if I'm being fair, contributed quite significantly to a decent Cup winning Hbs side. However, upon eventually leaving Hibs for our arch-rivals Hearts, he then commited the unpardonable sin of parading his disrespect for the club in gutter rag The Daily Record in which he stated that he would have rather been a postman than carry on playing for Hibs! My immediate response to this outrage was to rush home, tear his picture out of my Hibs calendar and ceremonially burn it in an ashtray - much to the astonishment of a mate of mine who was in attendance :greengrin

vercol36
10-10-2021, 06:11 PM
O'Connor. Met him in a M&S once and he was a prick. And Kevin Thompson, though for no particular reason - just never took to him

10-10-2021, 08:47 PM
Brian Hamilton, if I'm being fair, contributed quite significantly to a decent Cup winning Hbs side. However, upon eventually leaving Hibs for our arch-rivals Hearts, he then commited the unpardonable sin of parading his disrespect for the club in gutter rag The Daily Record in which he stated that he would have rather been a postman than carry on playing for Hibs! My immediate response to this outrage was to rush home, tear his picture out of my Hibs calendar and ceremonially burn it in an ashtray - much to the astonishment of a mate of mine who was in attendance :greengrin

Superb 😀

10-10-2021, 08:49 PM
I’ll add myself to the Paul Kane quota - I recall some drunken in-your-face bad chat from him in the Phoenix one night after I dared to play Devil’s advocate over his narrative concerning STF’s stewardship of the club. Couldn’t take to Doherty either for obvious reasons already stated above.

Wasn’t a big fan of Andy McNeil - I recall one Saturday evening in Shanghai on George Street when he was playing the well-oiled Big Man and trying to chat up a barmaid whilst I chatted to one of his teammates, who was sipping water and had his alarm set for 07:00 on the Sunday morning to go for a run round Arthur’s Seat with his then manager. John Collins. It’s fitting that for such a level of commitment and dedication, said team mate has now been rewarded with both League Cup and Scottish Cup winners’ medals whilst at Easter Road! :thumbsup:

If we’re talking managers, Calderwell and Butcher are stand outs in this category for me. Some might say Miller as well given, I understand, he has come across as extremely rude at times whilst engaging with fans. I never experienced that myself from him and I gather from others that I’ve spoken with that any aloofness was unintentional!

10-10-2021, 08:50 PM
How did those first two play anywhere near enough to be disliked?

Because I was expecting Russel latapy standard and was bitterly disappointed

10-10-2021, 08:51 PM
Quite possibly. He came across as a weapon when I spoke to him though

I dated a good friend of Murray’s wife for a spell when we were all about 30 so I was in his company on a number of occasions. Very shy when in social situations.

10-10-2021, 08:52 PM
I never said he was a bad player.

Except myself & a couple of mates.

Add me to the list. Never liked Kano. And his rantings about Hibs since he stopped playing certainly haven’t changed my mind.

10-10-2021, 09:13 PM
Took a dislike to Gerry O'Brien when I saw how much bevvy he was chucking down his throat in the pub after training. Ralph Callachan said it helped Gerry's arthritis!

11-10-2021, 11:52 AM
I dated a good friend of Murray’s wife for a spell when we were all about 30 so I was in his company on a number of occasions. Very shy when in social situations.

Nid is someone you want on your side on the pitch, will give his all, away from it, cap on, head down and I don’t think he likes chatting to folks, and I will leave it at that.

11-10-2021, 02:36 PM
Tam McManus…met him in espionage the same night we had been pumped out a cup, I think by Dundee united. Spoke to him and he was an arrogant rude little erse.

11-10-2021, 02:42 PM
I’ll add myself to the Paul Kane quota - I recall some drunken in-your-face bad chat from him in the Phoenix one night after I dared to play Devil’s advocate over his narrative concerning STF’s stewardship of the club. Couldn’t take to Doherty either for obvious reasons already stated above.

Wasn’t a big fan of Andy McNeil - I recall one Saturday evening in Shanghai on George Street when he was playing the well-oiled Big Man and trying to chat up a barmaid whilst I chatted to one of his teammates, who was sipping water and had his alarm set for 07:00 on the Sunday morning to go for a run round Arthur’s Seat with his then manager. John Collins. It’s fitting that for such a level of commitment and dedication, said team mate has now been rewarded with both League Cup and Scottish Cup winners’ medals whilst at Easter Road! :thumbsup:

If we’re talking managers, Calderwell and Butcher are stand outs in this category for me. Some might say Miller as well given, I understand, he has come across as extremely rude at times whilst engaging with fans. I never experienced that myself from him and I gather from others that I’ve spoken with that any aloofness was unintentional!

I'm surprised he could see over the bar to chat to her :greengrin

Orchard_Hibs
11-10-2021, 03:20 PM

I never knew Andy as a hibs player but got to know him quite well when he was coaching/PT through a mutual friend. He was a nice guy and was quite humble about winning a cup for the team he supported. Gave him some advice before his move to China and he actually sent quite a nice thank you gift to myself after it all came off for him.

11-10-2021, 04:03 PM
Jim McArthur. I was stood outside the main stand long after a game collecting autographs as a young laddie, all the players were happy to oblige and even exchanged a few words or ruffled my hair. Not McArthur, he just barged past me and jumped into his Ford Capri without a word. Was chuffed to **** when we signed Mike McDonald.

Paul Kane's face just used to annoy me, Riordan was similar.

Stokes was just a complete chopper off the field and Yogi just oozed Gob***** qualities.

Surprised nobody has mentioned Griffiths yet, absolute tool.

mal
11-10-2021, 04:43 PM
That is utterly shocking from Walker - he always comes across as an egotistical twat on the TV but I think we can add ignorant nasty ungrateful ******** to his personality profile on the back of that tale.

In terms of players I never took to it's usually for similar reasons - ie when a player doesn't seem to properly appreciate the honour of pulling on a Hibs jersey I tend to take an instinctive dislike to them as people.

Thankfully there are not many I can attribute that trait to but a couple that spring to mind are Ray Wilkins and Brian Hamilton. As well as being well past it when signed for Hibs by Alex Miller (one of his worst ever signings IMO) Wilkins seemed to carry the attitude that he was just about doing us a favour by pulling on the green and white jersey. To add to this piss poor attitude he then had the gall to applaud the Rangers fans at Ibrox when we had just been on the wrong end of a proper doing there - something which left me absolutely seething with rage.

Wilkins turned in the single worst performance I have ever seen in a Hibs jersey, and I'm including fat, old guys having a kickabout in a park. This was a home defeat by Killie where Wilkins was hooked at half-time, having shown an inability to find a team mate from about three yards away. In view of his well publicised alcoholism, I would not be surprised if he was actually the worse for wear on the pitch.

11-10-2021, 06:56 PM
Jim McArthur. I was stood outside the main stand long after a game collecting autographs as a young laddie, all the players were happy to oblige and even exchanged a few words or ruffled my hair. Not McArthur, he just barged past me and jumped into his Ford Capri without a word. Was chuffed to **** when we signed Mike McDonald.

I'll stick up for Jim McArthur. My granddad used to see him through his work and was able to get me a team photo signed by the entire squad thanks to McArthur.

He's here!
11-10-2021, 07:30 PM

I never met him while he was Hibs manager but he used to pick up his grandsons at my nephew's school and I'd sometimes run into him there. He was always pleasant to speak to, quite humble I'd say.

He's here!
11-10-2021, 07:39 PM

Gary Caldwell was similar..always acted like we were an annoying stop off on his career.

Believe it or not, I never really liked Arthur Duncan as a kid, My starting to go to ER (1979) coincided with his last couple of seasons and He'd lost his pace and just seemed to hit shots over the bar all the time. The fact that we was seen as a legend by older guys just made me dislike him more. In the context of his career I now like and admire him, but not at the time. I remember getting in an argument with an old guy in the west stand because I called Arthur a womble with a stupid moustache :greengrin (I was only 11). He gave me the "have a bit of respect for a proper Hibs legend" lecture. So I started shouting "good pass Uncle Bulgaria, Nice shot Uncle Bulgaria" whenever he got the ball..I thought I was hilarious :hmmm:

I'll add myself to the Paul Kane un-appreciation society...always did his best for the team on the park and was a proper Hibby, but just generally came across to me as someone I wouldn't want to live next door to.

Sure it wasn't some punter who looked like him and was getting fed up being mistaken for Andy Walker? :wink: Seems a bit unusual that he'd be walking to the ground on a match day.

I would, though, agree that based on my own experience of meeting him that he was not the most fan-friendly. I was at an event that he was attending and when I got introduced to him I made mention of a goal he scored for us in a new year derby at Tynecastle when we came back from 2-0 down to draw (think he got the equaliser). He just said 'great days' and moved on. A bit later in the evening I heard somebody else reminding him of another goal he'd scored and it was the same 'great days' and move on response. Sure, footballers probably get a bit bored reliving this sort of stuff on a regular basis, but it was the condescending manner that grated a bit.

11-10-2021, 07:56 PM
Fraser Fyvie is by all accounts a bit of a dick too.

Fraser for me, cooly shepherded the ball out for that crucial corner that led to Stokes 2nd goal and riveting,nailbiting finale.

So hats off to Dick Fyvie!!
Although he should not have dithered on contract extension deal(if that is what he did)

I did not like Joe Harper very much... but for the life of me, i cannot think why !!!:greengrin:wink:
Al get back to you on that one !!

11-10-2021, 08:12 PM
Don’t really like these threads but seeing as it is here - Ian Murray.

loanheadhibby
11-10-2021, 08:22 PM
Don’t really like these threads but seeing as it is here - Ian Murray.
Really surprised at this but respect your opinion.
I know Ian and he is a 100% per cent Hibs guy who has absolutely no time for our city rivals.

Gregor
11-10-2021, 09:51 PM
I’ll add myself to the Paul Kane quota - I recall some drunken in-your-face bad chat from him in the Phoenix one night after I dared to play Devil’s advocate over his narrative concerning STF’s stewardship of the club.

That doesn't surprise me in the slightest. I would also suggest that on another day the two of you would be hard at it for hours on the same topic. It really just depends on the circumstances.

My only interactions with professional footballers has led me to check how I form my opinions of people based on how I see them react in specific circumstances.

I thought Riordan would be a knob. He wasn't. He was shy, well mannered, polite, and well spoken. I thought Russell Latapy would be dismissive ; he wasn't, he was fully engaged, completely aware that I had been on the Guinness but discussed at length about just why he was the best player in the world. I thought Rob Jones was just some bloke who I said hello to for 6 months while picking up the laddie from nursery until I finally did a double take and embarrassed both himself and myself for that cup final.

Outwith the Hibs, I spotted Sean Maloney and his relief at having to knod his head in recognition of my recognition of him was quite measurable.

It must be weird in their shoes because they get that nonsense daily.

Great to see you're still around James. The List of still active if you want to post and say Hello. Andrea (aye, really), is still kicking around!

12-10-2021, 06:09 AM
Nid is someone you want on your side on the pitch, will give his all, away from it, cap on, head down and I don’t think he likes chatting to folks, and I will leave it at that.

Maybe just a private guy nothing wrong with that. Not everyone is the life and soul. Also need to give players a wee bit of leeway some will like going out and being recognised while others will hate it especially when you are probably having to deal with very rude and or drunk fans of all teams when out and about. Also given the age of players they will still be very young and forming their own adult personalities at the same time.

12-10-2021, 07:01 AM
They say never meet your heroes but on the flip side of this I have met a few HIBS players who have exceeded expectations everyone an absolute gem and a gentleman :

Take a bow Erich Schaedler Pat Stanton Eric Stevenson Alan Gordon Jimmy O’Rourke Willie Wilson George Stewart and Chris Shevlane

12-10-2021, 07:31 AM
Maybe just a private guy nothing wrong with that. Not everyone is the life and soul. Also need to give players a wee bit of leeway some will like going out and being recognised while others will hate it especially when you are probably having to deal with very rude and or drunk fans of all teams when out and about. Also given the age of players they will still be very young and forming their own adult personalities at the same time.

I personally was just put off by his dismissal. I left him immediately tbf

hibbie02
12-10-2021, 09:18 AM
I have had the pleasure of meeting many of my heroes at London Hibs nights and almost without exception they have been a joy to talk to. However that one exception is Micky Weir. He was down for a Burns Night one year with a mate and as I always loved him as a player I was keen to have a wee chat. I sort of loitered at a polite distance and waited for him to finish speaking to his mate. After a couple of minutes, I just left it. About an later I tried again, trying to catch his eye, but he remained in conversation with his mate. He saw me, ignored me and carried on chatting to his mate for the rest of the night. I gave up and went to listen to Kano lead the group in some traditional Hibs singing.

Others there may have had a different view of him that night, but it was a bit poor coming to a Supporters Event and ignoring supporters (it wasn't just me!). Even know when he does is column in the News I think to myself that I don't care what he thinks, most of it is bl**dy obvious and it is badly written. SOrt of knee jerk, but still loved him as a player.

12-10-2021, 01:03 PM
They say never meet your heroes but on the flip side of this I have met a few HIBS players who have exceeded expectations everyone an absolute gem and a gentleman :

Take a bow Erich Schaedler Pat Stanton Eric Stevenson Alan Gordon Jimmy O’Rourke Willie Wilson George Stewart and Chris Shevlane

There's a few of them not able to take a bow 😥

He's here!
12-10-2021, 01:14 PM
I have had the pleasure of meeting many of my heroes at London Hibs nights and almost without exception they have been a joy to talk to. However that one exception is Micky Weir. He was down for a Burns Night one year with a mate and as I always loved him as a player I was keen to have a wee chat. I sort of loitered at a polite distance and waited for him to finish speaking to his mate. After a couple of minutes, I just left it. About an later I tried again, trying to catch his eye, but he remained in conversation with his mate. He saw me, ignored me and carried on chatting to his mate for the rest of the night. I gave up and went to listen to Kano lead the group in some traditional Hibs singing.

Others there may have had a different view of him that night, but it was a bit poor coming to a Supporters Event and ignoring supporters (it wasn't just me!). Even know when he does is column in the News I think to myself that I don't care what he thinks, most of it is bl**dy obvious and it is badly written. SOrt of knee jerk, but still loved him as a player.

Always loved Mickey Weir too (obviously!). I haven't read the Evening News in years but I'd be surprised if he actually writes his column. Most likely a reporter gives him a call, gets a bit of feedback then pulls it together. As you say, these sort of columns rarely tell you much you didn't know, but then I don't imagine the Evening News pay anything like enough to bring somebody with a bit more clout on board.

12-10-2021, 01:17 PM
there's a few of them not able to take a bow 😥
rip

12-10-2021, 02:25 PM
Never really took to Pat Stanton, Frank Sauzee or David Gray.:Ummm:

12-10-2021, 02:43 PM
I personally was just put off by his dismissal. I left him immediately tbf

I was just saying some players will be more comfortable than others. Absolutely no excuse for being rude if someone is being polite to them imo.

14-10-2021, 05:13 PM
Kevin Thomson, Leigh Griffiths, both decent players that I never took to, never got the regard Marciano seemed to be held in either.

KingPat4
14-10-2021, 06:55 PM
Roy Barry.
Ray Wilkins
Bertie Auld.
Gordon Durie.
Benji.
Joe Baker.
Colin Stein.
Andy Watson.
Matt Doherty.
Billy Kirkwood.
Johnny Hamilton

14-10-2021, 07:33 PM
Roy Barry.
Ray Wilkins
Bertie Auld.
Gordon Durie.
Benji.
Joe Baker.
Colin Stein.
Andy Watson.
Matt Doherty.
Billy Kirkwood.
Johnny Hamilton

Got to ask as there were plenty at it I think but why on earth couldn’t you like Joe Baker? Please explain.

KingPat4
14-10-2021, 09:54 PM
Got to ask as there were plenty at it I think but why on earth couldn’t you like Joe Baker? Please explain.

Very sad. Met him at tne Usher Hall at the HOH gig. He was obnixious, no idea why.

Met alot of stars that night, still hurts to think about Joe.

14-10-2021, 10:30 PM
Very sad. Met him at tne Usher Hall at the HOH gig. He was obnixious, no idea why.

Met alot of stars that night, still hurts to think about Joe.

That’s hellish and honestly the first time I’ve heard of anything like it. Maybe he was having a bad night. I was at the Usher Hall that night too but had a bit to drink myself.
Sorry I asked now.

14-10-2021, 10:33 PM
Strange one

Joe Baker always seemed to have that Sid James crinkly smile and always seemed to be in a good mood

Must have been having a bad night

The Veteran
15-10-2021, 08:27 AM
‘Butch’ Wilkins for me.