06-10-2021, 06:28 PM
A very good article in this month's Irish View about our co-founder:

https://www.theirishvoice.com/sport/fitting-tribute-to-hibernian-fc-founder/
Enjoyed reading that article.

06-10-2021, 06:30 PM
Never seen that news outlet before.

Who is it that runs it? Is it like a community thing?

Anyway, nice to see our club's founders get a bit of recognition, thanks for sharing

06-10-2021, 06:47 PM
Thanks for sharing.

06-10-2021, 06:50 PM
What a fantastic read! Cheers for posting the link :flag:

06-10-2021, 07:01 PM
Never seen that news outlet before.

Who is it that runs it? Is it like a community thing?

Anyway, nice to see our club's founders get a bit of recognition, thanks for sharing

Before the pandemic you could get a copy at the old reception at the FF stand, ie when heading up behind the goals before the game.

andudare2
06-10-2021, 07:07 PM

https://www.theirishvoice.com/sport/fitting-tribute-to-hibernian-fc-founder/Superb read,very informative. Fingers crossed fir September 2022 handover going ahead.

Stairway 2 7
06-10-2021, 07:36 PM
Great read. Well done St Patrick's branch, very impressive stuff

06-10-2021, 08:22 PM
Before the pandemic you could get a copy at the old reception at the FF stand, ie when heading up behind the goals before the game.

I need to pay more attention

06-10-2021, 08:25 PM

Aye, the printed version is distributed in pubs around Leith/Easter Road. Middleton's in Easter Road usually has copies.

06-10-2021, 08:48 PM

What a great read, thanks for posting THA.

06-10-2021, 09:06 PM
That was a good read. Thanks for posting the link :aok:

He's here!
06-10-2021, 10:04 PM
Lovely article. I wasn't aware of the recent revival of the link with Ballingarry so it was really interesting to read about that. Hats off to those involved.

06-10-2021, 10:19 PM

A good article. Well done Brian, and thanks for posting W. 👍

07-10-2021, 08:12 AM
This is brilliant.

just wondering do the St Pats Branch have any plans to commemorate our other co-founder Michael Whelahan at any point?

sometimes I feel like he gets forgotten a bit while Canon Hannan is (rightly) venerated

penihibs
07-10-2021, 09:21 AM
Great story,it's important to keep our heritage alive for future supporters.
GGTTH.

07-10-2021, 09:29 AM

Thank you for the link

If any single person in our great history deserves a stand to be named in his honour, it surely is .....

Canon Hannan --Main Stand

Might as well name the other two!!

Most successful manager

Hugh Shaw -- East Stand

Our birthplace

Saint Patrick's -- South Stand :greengrin

ChrissyG1875
07-10-2021, 10:27 AM
This is brilliant.

just wondering do the St Pats Branch have any plans to commemorate our other co-founder Michael Whelahan at any point?

sometimes I feel like he gets forgotten a bit while Canon Hannan is (rightly) venerated

Especially as, if I remember correctly, it was his idea to start the football club and brought it to Cannon Hannan.

Great article but I'm a bit disappointed the club weren't up for displaying the harp.

I know there are fans that aren't as interested in our Irish history and that's absolutely fine, it's not for me to tell anyone what the club should mean to them but it would look unbelievable outside of the main stand and I really don't think it would be very controversial given it's a big part of our history.

07-10-2021, 10:31 AM
Thank you for the link

If any single person in our great history deserves a stand to be named in his honour, it surely is .....

Canon Hannan --Main Stand

Might as well name the other two!!

Most successful manager

Hugh Shaw -- East Stand

Our birthplace

Saint Patrick's -- South Stand :greengrin

yes for the south stand but only when Sevco visit and with huge lettering on their Tickets

07-10-2021, 10:39 AM
It's a great story and good to see something being done with regards to a memorial. I have neither Irish ancestry nor am I Catholic but I do agree that we need to keep in touch with our roots as a club.well done to all involved.

07-10-2021, 10:46 AM
Especially as, if I remember correctly, it was his idea to start the football club and brought it to Cannon Hannan.

Great article but I'm a bit disappointed the club weren't up for displaying the harp.

I know there are fans that aren't as interested in our Irish history and that's absolutely fine, it's not for me to tell anyone what the club should mean to them but it would look unbelievable outside of the main stand and I really don't think it would be very controversial given it's a big part of our history.

yes, and came up with its wonderful name. Our co-founder, first captain, the man who lifted our first ever trophy after beating hearts in the Edinburgh Cup (he also scored in the final).

I know it’s the 170th anniversary of his birth in 2024, and the 100th anniversary of his passing in 2026. Maybe something could be planned and organised

Callyballybe
07-10-2021, 12:07 PM

I was thinking the same. It's a shame we haven't kept the harp on display permanently - If we don't win the Scottish cup for another 100 years then we've only got ourselves to blame!

07-10-2021, 12:23 PM
I’m afraid there’s a chance of the harp falling off our stadium once again.

The other day when I was down at the stadium I notice parts of the left hand crest on the main stand coming off the wall. Looks like water penetration causing panels to warp.

Not something our volunteer force can fix either.

07-10-2021, 06:52 PM
Off topic slightly but it does mention the founding of Hibernian FC

https://www.leithermagazine.com/issue-141/sandy

07-10-2021, 08:45 PM
Very interesting read . Thanks for posting .

The Count
07-10-2021, 09:02 PM
Great read and proud to be a descendant of "Little Ireland".But I do think its a shame the the displaced Catholic Highlanders that also lived in the Cowgate area and faced the same intolerance seem to be totally ignored from our history.

08-10-2021, 06:48 AM
yes for the south stand but only when Sevco visit and with huge lettering on their Tickets
The SFA's new text reporting service would go into meltdown..........
Mind you, it probably will regardless.

08-10-2021, 07:11 AM
I was thinking the same. It's a shame we haven't kept the harp on display permanently - If we don't win the Scottish cup for another 100 years then we've only got ourselves to blame!

We definitely need wee dancing leprechauns leading the team out every game as well, or we'll never win that damn cup again.

EI255
08-10-2021, 09:45 AM
Well done St Patricks Branch.

Excellent story and a good friendship now formed with Ballingarry.

Good to hear the mosaic is going to a home who will cherish it.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

08-10-2021, 11:45 AM
Great story rich in history. Thanks for posting.

BegbieHSC
08-10-2021, 05:14 PM
Wonderful read! Thanks for posting.

Love the sound of the ‘St Patrick’s South Stand’ - given that part of the ground is closest to the church itself.

09-10-2021, 12:20 AM

Thanks for that. I was aware of John Cormack and Protestant action from Alan Lugton's books, but that was an interesting slant. I didn't know he remained a Councillor until the 60s.

Thankfully Edinburgh has changed a lot in more recent decades and is far more cosmopolitan now.

eaststandJJ
09-10-2021, 06:56 AM
Nice article. Thanks for sharing. I visited Ballingarry and it's church. Hope his part in HFC will be remembered there somehow in the future. No shortage of good will there to our club.

09-10-2021, 07:27 AM
Thanks for that. I was aware of John Cormack and Protestant action from Alan Lugton's books, but that was an interesting slant. I didn't know he remained a Councillor until the 60s.

Thankfully Edinburgh has changed a lot in more recent decades and is far more cosmopolitan now.

There's a cracking book 'Edinburgh Divided' by Tom Gallagher goes into it in some detail. Very hard to get hold of these days.

09-10-2021, 08:57 AM

cormack was a fascist and a bigot.
He was campaigning for Edinburgh and Leith's Irish Catholics to be "sent home" way back pre WW2
Caused a famous riot iin Morningside!!

I had relatives who chased this lowlife out the Grassmarket when he would get on his soapbox.

I know another member here who could tell personal stories about this guy.
I could tell a few eye opening tales about him.
But maybe not on this forum.

09-10-2021, 09:10 AM
He was campaigning for Edinburgh and Leith's Irish Catholics to be "sent home" way back pre WW2

I had relatives who chased this lowlife out the Grassmarket when he would get on his soapbox.

Would you share some of this history in the holy ground Mick ? Sounds like an important part of leith and Edinburgh’s story ..

09-10-2021, 01:09 PM

Growing up in Edinburgh in the 70s/80s there was definitely underlying anti-catholic bigotry around. Nowhere near as bad as in West Lothian/the West of Scotland, but I did experience it from time to time.

I've often wondered whether there was less bigotry around because folk in the East of Scotland were less prejudiced, or due to the fact there is much less of a Catholic population in the East of Scotland, e.g., there are only 3 Catholic high schools in Edinburgh. Perhaps a bit of both.

09-10-2021, 01:58 PM

Another good article, only slight issue I'd take with it is the line ''Catholic Coatbridge and Protestant Govan'' Govan may be where the Huns stadium is, but isn't an otherwise loyalist area.

09-10-2021, 02:49 PM

That's another excellent read, thanks for posting the link.
I can remember Cormack and his Protestant Action followers spouting their poison at the Mound years ago.

I was born in '47 and was subjected to a fair bit of anti-Catholic verbals when I started work, particularly when I was employed in the printing trade. But my experience was nothing in comparison to what my grandparents were faced with in Edinburgh in the late 19th/early 20th centuries.

Thank God, with a few exceptions, things have improved dramatically, even since my younger days.

09-10-2021, 03:23 PM
Would you share some of this history in the holy ground Mick ? Sounds like an important part of leith and Edinburgh’s story ..

fine,see how this thread pans out with cormack comments, tho a wee bit off topic

cormack represented a Leith ward on the old Edinburgh Corporation(cooncil)

I use the word "represented"
If you were a Catholic in his ward forget about seeking his help on issues like housing, etc.

Most Leith Hibs fans here will come from families affected by cormack and his mission to divide families and communities (which he did ) and do his version of the famine is over.

He was a dangerous man.WW2 in effect stemmed him
Support waned some after the war for his party, but he still had his loyal band of supporters.
Mostly Edinburgh and Leith orangeman/women

09-10-2021, 03:39 PM
The SFA's new text reporting service would go into meltdown..........
Mind you, it probably will regardless.

but on the flip side....they'd maybe Boycott ER :greengrin

09-10-2021, 04:55 PM
Great read and proud to be a descendant of "Little Ireland".But I do think its a shame the the displaced Catholic Highlanders that also lived in the Cowgate area and faced the same intolerance seem to be totally ignored from our history.

I’m not so sure many highlanders were Catholic. Apart from enclaves like Barra and South Uist, they were firmly protestant by the mid 19th century.

Great article and nice to hear about positive connection to the Irish side mentioned.

10-10-2021, 08:17 AM
fine,see how this thread pans out with cormack comments, tho a wee bit off topic

If you were a Catholic in his ward forget about seeking his help on issues like housing, etc.

Most Leith Hibs fans here will come from families affected by cormack and his mission to divide families and communities (which he did ) and do his version of the famine is over.

Support waned some after the war for his party, but he still had his loyal band of supporters.

I remember them disrupting Mass at St Mary's Star of the Sea in the mid 1960's. Just verbal no physical. they were escorted from the Church. Also remember getting abuse waking home from primary school because of badge on my blazer.

10-10-2021, 03:50 PM
Brings to mind a wee thread of mine from a couple of years back. Plenty will have similar stories.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?329936-A-Young-Hibernian-and-The-Tail-End-of-The-Irish-Diaspora-Keen-To-Know-More

10-10-2021, 04:37 PM
Brilliant read that thread Iggy

Well worth a visit

Well done

10-10-2021, 10:28 PM
Brings to mind a wee thread of mine from a couple of years back. Plenty will have similar stories.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?329936-A-Young-Hibernian-and-The-Tail-End-of-The-Irish-Diaspora-Keen-To-Know-More

remember reading that the first time round, and enjoyed reading it again.

11-10-2021, 05:58 AM

Was there not a bar in Coburg Street with an orange mural?

11-10-2021, 08:12 AM
Was there not a bar in Coburg Street with an orange mural?

The Coburg Bar.owned for a number of years by an Orangeman /sympathiser.
rAngers bus used to leave that pub on matchdays.

Wrought iron feature on windowsills depicted the red hand of Ulster.

Security services most definately had a file on this place during The Troubles.

Frequented by a UDA man who also ran the bus!!!

I know this,as i once worked alongside him !

The period between the world wars saw mass unemployment and poverty .
when that happens there is always someone to blame.

In Edinburgh and Leith during this period, sadly, catholics got a lot of the blame.
Housing ,jobs,education,etc.

cormack's party at one time had 32% of the popular vote in Edinburgh and Leith
And iirc 7 councillors at our City Chambers.
Scary times for us Papes!!

Strangely, cormack's mob were never as successful through the West .

Iggy, very interesting read is your link

11-10-2021, 12:40 PM
The thread has fast forwarded a wee bit in history with the mention of cormack and his bigotry.
However,our founders of course endured such animosity.
We older guys can mind gaun doon the local park on a Sunday looking for a wee game of football

"any chance eh a coke or a hen ,mate"

Our Hibernian founders were shunned because of their nationality/religion.
No chance of getting a game in many instances.

Strange thing is ,had they not been refused a game and get to play for local clubs, or even a Sunday "kickaboot",there may not have been a Hibernian FC

Bridge hibs
11-10-2021, 04:17 PM
The Coburg Bar.owned for a number of years by an Orangeman /sympathiser.
rAngers bus used to leave that pub on matchdays.

Wrought iron feature on windowsills depicted the red hand of Ulster.

Security services most definately had a file on this place during The Troubles.

Frequented by a UDA man who also ran the bus!!!

I know this,as i once worked alongside him !

The period between the world wars saw mass unemployment and poverty .
when that happens there is always someone to blame.

In Edinburgh and Leith during this period, sadly, catholics got a lot of the blame.
Housing ,jobs,education,etc.

cormack's party at one time had 32% of the popular vote in Edinburgh and Leith
And iirc 7 councillors at our City Chambers.
Scary times for us Papes!!

Strangely, cormack's mob were never as successful through the West .

Iggy, very interesting read is your linkAlex Laidlaw was the Proprietor of the Coburg bar for many years 70s onwards, his late Son Calvin ran the Volunteer in Leith for many years

The Count
11-10-2021, 10:44 PM
I’m not so sure many highlanders were Catholic. Apart from enclaves like Barra and South Uist, they were firmly protestant by the mid 19th century.

Great article and nice to hear about positive connection to the Irish side mentioned.
Think i should of said the West Highlands around Morar area that was untouched by the Reformation.Did we not once at the start of the club have a President from Morar???

12-10-2021, 08:39 AM
Think i should of said the West Highlands around Morar area that was untouched by the Reformation.Did we not once at the start of the club have a President from Morar???

Yes, the districts of Morar, Knoydart, Arisaig and Moidart, collectively known as the Rough Bounds, escaped much of the effects of the Reformation.

Hibs certainly have historical connections to the Rough Bounds and I know regular attendees at Easter Road today who are from the area.

For those interested, there's a good book by Alasdair Roberts named The Chapels of the Rough Bounds which tells the story of how the old religion survived the Reformation in these parts.

scousecousin
15-10-2021, 08:37 AM

i dont think i ever posted the article from the limerick leader in june. now showing on the archdiocese website. views his career froom a different angle. help with the research still welcome https://archedinburgh.org/canon-hannan-the-priest-who-helped-found-hibs/

15-10-2021, 09:49 AM
i dont think i ever posted the article from the limerick leader in june. now showing on the archdiocese website. views his career froom a different angle. help with the research still welcome https://archedinburgh.org/canon-hannan-the-priest-who-helped-found-hibs/

Brilliant

Thanks for posting

15-10-2021, 09:28 PM

Thanks for posting. Interesting paragraph:

At a talk at Parkhead given by Jim Craig on the 50th*Anniversary of the Lisbon Lions great success, he admitted in my presence that a shameful part of Celtic’s history, that is not publicised for obvious reasons, was the way they poached more than half of the Hibs team and a couple more from Renton in 1888; and sent both those clubs to the brink.

Hadn't heard that before. Celtic fans are always in denial of their Club's behaviour in biting the hand that fed them. Well said Jim Craig.

16-10-2021, 06:30 AM

At a talk at Parkhead given by Jim Craig on the 50th*Anniversary of the Lisbon Lions great success, he admitted in my presence that a shameful part of Celtic’s history, that is not publicised for obvious reasons, was the way they poached more than half of the Hibs team and a couple more from Renton in 1888; and sent both those clubs to the brink.

Hadn't heard that before. Celtic fans are always in denial of their Club's behaviour in biting the hand that fed them. Well said Jim Craig.

The great betrayal of 1888.

I hate that lot.

16-10-2021, 08:26 AM

I was watching the Glasgow edition of Britain's Most Historic Towns on All4 or similar recently.

There was a feature on Celtic and the Celtic historian who was featured droned on about them being a set up as a charitable enterprise to help the Irish Catholic poor, them being unique, them drawing support from displaced people all over Scotland and so on.

I think they actually believe a lot of that stuff themselves. It's spoon fed to them from a young age and the grubbier parts of their founding are glossed over.

17-10-2021, 12:24 AM
I was watching the Glasgow edition of Britain's Most Historic Towns on All4 or similar recently.

There was a feature on Celtic and the Celtic historian who was featured droned on about them being a set up as a charitable enterprise to help the Irish Catholic poor, them being unique, them drawing support from displaced people all over Scotland and so on.

I think they actually believe a lot of that stuff themselves. It's spoon fed to them from a young age and the grubbier parts of their founding are glossed over.

Indeed. They believe their own hype.