View Full Version : 'The kid's not learning'

He's here!
04-10-2021, 09:48 PM
I'm aware there are already umpteen threads on the Porteous incident so please feel free to merge this one.

It's just that every time I see that line from Gerrard it really, really does my head in. I didn't used to mind him as a player, but this kind of comment just fuels my ever-growing dislike of him as a manager.

Everything about it is maddening. It's condescending (Ryan is hardly a 'kid'. He's young, sure, but he's got plenty of senior experience under his belt). It's disrespectful to Jack Ross and the Hibs coaching staff who work with Porteous day in day out (who is Gerrard to say the player isn't learning?) and it strikes me as deliberately fuelling a narrative around a talented, intelligent footballer who even without my green-tinted glasses on I can see plain as day is not some sort of hatchet man. Finally, it just smacks of a deeply unpleasant arrogance from Gerrard that his big name alone is enough for us to assume his word on this is law.

Monktonhall 7
04-10-2021, 09:51 PM
I’ve been thinking exactly that since I read his quote. Condescending and patronising. He really is playing to the loyal hordes. 😡

hibbydad
04-10-2021, 09:53 PM
I'm aware there are already umpteen threads on the Porteous incident so please feel free to merge this one.

It's just that every time I see that line from Gerrard it really, really does my head in. I didn't used to mind him as a player, but this kind of comment just fuels my ever-growing dislike of him as a manager.

Everything about it is maddening. It's condescending (Ryan is hardly a 'kid'. He's young, sure, but he's got plenty of senior experience under his belt). It's disrespectful to Jack Ross and the Hibs coaching staff who work with Porteous day in day out (who is Gerrard to say the player isn't learning?) and it strikes me as deliberately fuelling a narrative around a talented, intelligent footballer who even without my green-tinted glasses on I can see plain as day is not some sort of hatchet man. Finally, it just smacks of a deeply unpleasant arrogance from Gerrard that his big name alone is enough for us to assume his word on this is law.
It is time for Hibs to make an official complaint to the SFA regarding Gerrard's behaviour towards one of our players

Allez Hibs
04-10-2021, 09:54 PM

Everything about it is maddening. It's condescending (Ryan is hardly a 'kid'. He's young, sure, but he's got plenty of senior experience under his belt). It's disrespectful to Jack Ross and the Hibs coaching staff who work with Porteous day in day out (who is Gerrard to say the player isn't learning?) and it strikes me as deliberately fuelling a narrative around a talented, intelligent footballer who even without my green-tinted glasses on I can see plain as day is not some sort of hatchet man. Finally, it just smacks of a deeply unpleasant arrogance from Gerrard that his big name alone is enough for us to assume his word on this is law.Well said.

04-10-2021, 09:54 PM
Above all is is hypocritical given SlippyG was making tackles far worse during pretty much every season of his long playing career. Did he never learn.

04-10-2021, 09:55 PM
Gerrard is a grade A ******.

04-10-2021, 09:56 PM
Slippy G was stamping on fellow professionals and picking up bookings and red cards when he was much more experienced than Ryan so I'd file this latest outburst under the thick bellend trying to play to the hordes category.

Dont think Ryan's so far put himself in situations where he's had to face any serious off field charges either.

04-10-2021, 09:57 PM
I think this “kid needs to learn” as well as the “porteous needs to change his game” narrative is actually nasty…despite the fact I think JR handled his post match interview well. I think he and Hibs need to come out and attack some of that crap that is being said….

hibbydad
04-10-2021, 10:02 PM
I think this “kid needs to learn” as well as the “porteous needs to change his game” narrative is actually nasty…despite the fact I think JR handled his post match interview well. I think he and Hibs need to come out and attack some of that crap that is being said….

Totally agree

04-10-2021, 10:02 PM
Really patronising - he’s not a boy he’s a 22/23 year old man. And the yellow/red card stats don’t back up the perception that he’s some kind of out of control animal.

04-10-2021, 10:07 PM
Really patronising - he’s not a boy he’s a 22/23 year old man. And the yellow/red card stats don’t back up the perception that he’s some kind of out of control animal.

If you want to see an out of control animal in his early twenties look here (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_r1ppTJVEI&ab_channel=AVFCClips)at around 6 mins 35 seconds

04-10-2021, 10:08 PM
For me, a head coach/manager shouldn't be able to make statements to the Press or social media about another club's playing staff. Especially when it's as contentious an issue as this one. He's done it with Ryan before, it's time he was told to shut up and confine his remarks to his own players.

04-10-2021, 10:19 PM
If you want to see an out of control animal in his early twenties look here (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_r1ppTJVEI&ab_channel=AVFCClips)at around 6 mins 35 seconds

Now, that is a shocker of a challenge by the kid.

04-10-2021, 10:31 PM
What's the betting Rangers put in a bid for Porteous before long?

04-10-2021, 10:31 PM
Now, that is a shocker of a challenge by the kid. Gerrard often went in with malice aforethought and was a real coward in so many ways. He loved a stamp and a two footed lunge and it rips ma knitting that he is allowed to go unchallenged and act like some kind of guru talking about another clubs player. I don't want Jack Ross to go all Neil Lennon but I want Gerrard told to keep his nose out and for Hibs and our manager to stand up for Ryan in the strongest terms.

Ross is clearly a clever guy and he is the perfect type of person to say very forcefully but in a controlled way what needs to be said. Putting the appeal in gives him a great opportunity to talk about it and making the appeal is a great start in supporting Porteous.

I want us to put pressure on referees for the semi too by making sure we publicly state that we have watched that game back and there is massive discrepancies in the way the game was refereed and it was all in favour of one side, and not for the first time.

04-10-2021, 10:33 PM
I think this is one thread where everyone will agree for once.

He’s a total bellend. Up there with the worst of old firm gaffers.

JammyDoidger
04-10-2021, 10:39 PM
His comments are a total discgrace towards a young Scottish player. Hibs need to come out and have a go about this. I honestly think I hate them more than hearts. Congratulations to Ryan for getting right under Gerrards skin.

04-10-2021, 10:54 PM
Throughout his whole career Gerrard was a nasty piece of work who quite often tried to injure players. He liked a dive too and was always the first one pointing the finger at others for the same stuff - especially foreign players. Total hypocrite and a little Ned with no personality who happened to be brilliant at football. Same guy who knocked the crap out of someone in a bar for not letting him pick the music he wanted.

04-10-2021, 11:15 PM
I notice Craig Levein is the latest one to jump on the bandwagon to have a go at Ryan. He's been given a platform by that great upholder of Hun respectability, the daily record. He predicts tackles like Ryan's could soon be referred to court with a decision made by a judge.
Thanks for your contribution ya clown,now p*ss off back to gorgie.

04-10-2021, 11:22 PM
He predicts tackles like Ryan's could soon be referred to court with a decision made by a judge.

What an absolute helmet.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

04-10-2021, 11:24 PM
I notice Craig Levein is the latest one to jump on the bandwagon to have a go at Ryan. He's been given a platform by that great upholder of Hun respectability, the daily record. He predicts tackles like Ryan's could soon be referred to court with a decision made by a judge.
Thanks for your contribution ya clown,now p*ss off back to gorgie.I remember when he was talking about restoring the "natural order"

Best ignored.

04-10-2021, 11:25 PM
If I want a lecture from a thug I’ll ask for it. I wonder does that Everton player still carry gerrards stud marks on his leg?

a prick of a man who fluffed his lines when he had the English league title in his grasp, so like Rodgers he had to come up here with all the multitude of advantages afforded to the Old Firm, to get a championship under his belt.

I hope he goes back to anfield, fails miserably, and ends up getting the boot by the club he loves most.

Mikey_1875
04-10-2021, 11:40 PM

Astounding. He will get the column inches he desires for a couple of days but it is beyond sad that he is given a voice in the Scottish game.

P.s Gerrard is a ****

04-10-2021, 11:40 PM
The guy who cant control that nasty little thug Morelos is in absolutely no position to be making comments about other clubs players, perhaps Ryan does get it wrong from time to time, but at least its in an attempt to win the ball unlike his player .... perhaps Jack Ross could remind him of that. As usual though nobody at Hibs will utter a peep, just how often will our club take this crap and do nothing?

04-10-2021, 11:54 PM
Some of Gerards tackles in his career were career ending. Perhaps he should look at himself before coming out with remarks about Ryan. He should look at some of his players tackles or were his comments about Ryan a SLIP of the tongue.
Used to think Gerard was ok as a person but he seems to have morphed into a Castle Greyskull monster.

ozwoody
05-10-2021, 01:12 AM
It's interesting that SG says "the kids not learning" when he has Morelos in his team, who, at 24, is 2 years older than Ryan, yet in 4 years at Rangers has amassed 49 yellow cards and 7 sending off's (3 straight reds)
The guy is a cockwomble

Radge70
05-10-2021, 01:41 AM

Just as well he didn't need to worry about stuff like that in his day then https://youtu.be/TPCOORatnKE

05-10-2021, 04:23 AM
I think after a personal attack on a Hibs player JR should be publicly telling Gerrard where to go.

05-10-2021, 04:31 AM
Just as well he didn't need to worry about stuff like that in his day then https://youtu.be/TPCOORatnKE
Shows how much he hates us. And Hearts fans laughing about this are missing the point that the same thing will happen to them if they lay a glove on the Huns.
Can anyone remember Levein handing himself into rage police when he punched his team mate by the way?

Dmas
05-10-2021, 04:59 AM
Totally agree with what’s being said on this thread, I’m still furious about Sundays game, listening to last nights Clyde SSB probably didn’t help matters, I really hope Hibs make a complaint, I doubt they will as it’s not what we do however this agenda against Porteous has been bubbling with them for a long time and I think it has the potential to ruin Ryan’s career or force him into thinking about leaving Hibs it’s totally unfair on the guy, I’ve not been his biggest fan but it’s as clear as the nose on your face the differnce in his game over the past 18 months at least, he’s came on massively and has saw inclusion in national team squad and mentions of another call up recently.

The difference in treatment of Porto who has a lot less red cards over his career playing as a defender than that lots thug striker Morelos is incredible, he’s being painted as a guy out to intentionally cause other players harm whilst Morelos just needs to ‘mature’ or ‘Chanel it correctly’ don’t even dare to suggest The Rangers try to take the aggression out Morelos game.

It’s a witch hunt in my opinion and a lot of people commentating on Scottish football in the MSM need to have a good long hard look at themselves.

05-10-2021, 05:16 AM
Totally agree with what’s being said on this thread, I’m still furious about Sundays game, listening to last nights Clyde SSB probably didn’t help matters, I really hope Hibs make a complaint, I doubt they will as it’s not what we do however this agenda against Porteous has been bubbling with them for a long time and I think it has the potential to ruin Ryan’s career or force him into thinking about leaving Hibs it’s totally unfair on the guy, I’ve not been his biggest fan but it’s as clear as the nose on your face the differnce in his game over the past 18 months at least, he’s came on massively and has saw inclusion in national team squad and mentions of another call up recently.

The difference in treatment of Porto who has a lot less red cards over his career playing as a defender than that lots thug striker Morelos is incredible, he’s being painted as a guy out to intentionally cause other players harm whilst Morelos just needs to ‘mature’ or ‘Chanel it correctly’ don’t even dare to suggest The Rangers try to take the aggression out Morelos game.

It’s a witch hunt in my opinion and a lot of people commentating on Scottish football in the MSM need to have a good long hard look at themselves.

What can be done? We’re not represented by anyone in the media. Is JohnColins, or Yogi, or Michael Stewart, or Pat Nevin, really going to say anything to challenge the hun orthodoxy? BBC Scotland are probably worse offenders now than the Record. The SPFL and SFA aren’t interested , they’ve shown that. Rangers and that ****ing twat Gerrard are absolutely untouchable, they’ve shown that. And whether you agree with it or not, Hibs as a club walk away from these fights. It’s always been the same, anytime we get close to them the refs cheat or they buy our best players or destabilise us through their compliant media.

05-10-2021, 05:58 AM

Yep the gall for someone of his back catalogue of behaviours and horror tackles to make such comments is ridiculous. Plus just because you acknowledge said tackles again doesn't give you the right to comment on other teams players. He mentions a tackle on a Rangers player I didn't even know played for them Coulibaly?? so obviously has had his analyst going through Porto searches to highlight and drive the message. Arrogance beyond belief so fits in well at orcville.

05-10-2021, 06:05 AM
I'm looking forward to him heading to Anfield and getting sacked after a year or so.

The problem is they probably won't touch him. I mean, he's no Klopp is he? Even for such a sentimental club, Liverpool fans must be very sceptical about Gerrard's ability to compete in the top four.

Birmingham are a possibility for him, or similar.

Dmas
05-10-2021, 06:26 AM
What can be done? We’re not represented by anyone in the media. Is JohnColins, or Yogi, or Michael Stewart, or Pat Nevin, really going to say anything to challenge the hun orthodoxy? BBC Scotland are probably worse offenders now than the Record. The SPFL and SFA aren’t interested , they’ve shown that. Rangers and that ****ing twat Gerrard are absolutely untouchable, they’ve shown that. And whether you agree with it or not, Hibs as a club walk away from these fights. It’s always been the same, anytime we get close to them the refs cheat or they buy our best players or destabilise us through their compliant media.

I’ve no idea and I accept that hibs won’t make a complaint as I said it’s not what we do, I’ve normally no problems with that but for some reason this time I feel differently possibly because as you say we are close to them we more than competed 11v11 on Sunday.

Kris commons calling him a hatchet man today, Jesus wept what’s he had 3 red cards in his near 100 games there’s a buffalo out west than got 3 times that amount in one season and he’s not even a defender

big gogs
05-10-2021, 06:32 AM
It's interesting that SG says "the kids not learning" when he has Morelos in his team, who, at 24, is 2 years older than Ryan, yet in 4 years at Rangers has amassed 49 yellow cards and 7 sending off's (3 straight reds)
The guy is a cockwomble
Plus all the tackles that’s overlooked,remember when Morelos stood on Ryan porteous during a game at Easter road last season .the referee didn’t see it or didn’t want to.

05-10-2021, 06:33 AM
Everyone is jumping all over him. Commons, McCann, Gerrard, Levein. Bunch of ****ing *****.

05-10-2021, 06:34 AM
Everyone is jumping all over him. Commons, McCann, Gerrard, Levein. Bunch of ****ing *****.

That’s why Hibs need to stand up for him ..he is being targeted

05-10-2021, 06:35 AM
Plus all the tackles that’s overlooked,remember when Morelos stood on Ryan porteous during a game at Easter road last season .the referee didn’t see it or didn’t want to.

Was just a tangle of legs apparently

05-10-2021, 06:43 AM
Would love to see Ryan take legal advice re Gerald's remarks

05-10-2021, 06:48 AM
I’d expect JR to be pretty angry about these comments. Gerrard always has too much to say about everyone else but when Morelos stamps on Porteous it’s someone else’s fault or he didn’t see it.

05-10-2021, 06:49 AM

And went on to score the only goal of the game😡

05-10-2021, 06:52 AM

Levein, a man who broke the nose of his own team mate in a friendly, spouting that in future tackles like Porto's could see court action 🤣🤣🤣

05-10-2021, 06:52 AM
I think after a personal attack on a Hibs player JR should be publicly telling Gerrard where to go.

Give it time. JR is very calm and measured from the outside. While we as fans want our manager to go to war with SG, this would create more tension and possibly incentive for Rangers for cup game. I have a feeling JR will be privately plotting this as motivation in cup semi and then ram it down SG throat.

05-10-2021, 06:53 AM
Remember Scott Brown getting the same. Once he signed for Celtic it was proclaimed he had "matured" and was allowed to kick anything that moved then praised for it.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

05-10-2021, 06:58 AM
Do you mean Gerrard, the cheating, vicious thug of a player?

Or Gerrard, the anti-racism but deaf to sectarianism Manager?

05-10-2021, 06:58 AM

Everyday and twice on Sunday’s. It’s absolutely ridiculous.

05-10-2021, 07:07 AM
Other than having Hun powers of untouchability, I don't get why Gerrard isn't being cited for bringing the game into disrepute.

Why are you not allowed to criticise refs but it's open season on a rival manager crucifying a young opposition player for basically winning a brilliant tackle?

05-10-2021, 07:34 AM
Hibs should be calling a press conference this morning to put the record straight on this. Gerrard should be the first to be told to shut the **** up and then the rest of the media should follow. Ryan’s record speaks for itself, if you compare him to any other centre half who has played as many games at his age he will compare favourably. This is an outrageous witch hunt that has the potential to ruin a fine young players career and there’s no way hibs should sit back and say nothing. Ryan needs the clubs backing in public imo.
Gerrard has got some ****in cheek slating Ryan while he continues to play Morelos who is a nasty piece of work. ********.

05-10-2021, 07:39 AM
Hibs should be calling a press conference this morning to put the record straight on this. Gerrard should be the first to be told to shut the **** up and then the rest of the media should follow. Ryan’s record speaks for itself, if you compare him to any other centre half who has played as many games at his age he will compare favourably. This is an outrageous witch hunt that has the potential to ruin a fine young players career and there’s no way hibs should sit back and say nothing. Ryan needs the clubs backing in public imo.
Gerrard has got some ****in cheek slating Ryan while he continues to play Morelos who is a nasty piece of work. ********.

Good suggestion that

05-10-2021, 07:45 AM

:agree: Jack Ross and Ben Kensell should be coming out with a joint press conference to challenge what is now fast becoming a form of bullying against one of our players, lead by Steven Gerrard and supported by various people in the media. It's completely unjustified and unacceptable.

Hibs need to stand up for Porteous here in the face of this lies. A dignified silence has its place but not when one of your own is coming under attack like this. Saying nothing isn't an option here in my opinion.

I'll be really disappointed if we don't hear anything from the club regarding this.

05-10-2021, 07:51 AM

Wow. That is horrific

05-10-2021, 07:53 AM
:agree: Jack Ross and Ben Kensell should be coming out with a joint press conference to challenge what is now fast becoming a form of bullying against one of our players, lead by Steven Gerrard and supported by various people in the media. It's completely unjustified and unacceptable.

Hibs need to stand up for Porteous here in the face of this lies. A dignified silence has its place but not when one of your own is coming under attack like this. Saying nothing isn't an option here in my opinion.

I'll be really disappointed if we don't hear anything from the club regarding this.
As will I. This is definitely not the time for a dignified silence.

05-10-2021, 07:58 AM
If you want to see an out of control animal in his early twenties look here (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_r1ppTJVEI&ab_channel=AVFCClips)at around 6 mins 35 secondsForceful and "Malice with it" Seems to be a feature of his career and character?

05-10-2021, 07:59 AM
As will I. This is definitely not the time for a dignified silence.

Hibs should be calling for Gerrard to be charged with bringing the game into disrepute.

05-10-2021, 08:03 AM
Porteous will have to leave Scotland to further his career. He reputation will never change because of the Glasgow biased media and Gerrard.

05-10-2021, 08:06 AM

awful to watch.

thing is gerrard was still hacking people like that in his mid 30s… what happened, did the kid not learn?

05-10-2021, 08:06 AM
I’m not often one for statements but this is getting ridiculous now. How can managers of other clubs be allowed to effectively launch a campaign against a particular player to defame their character and increase the amount of scrutiny they’re put under?

Hibs need to say something.

Zambernardi1875
05-10-2021, 08:11 AM
Porteous will have to leave Scotland to further his career. He reputation will never change because of the Glasgow biased media and Gerrard.

What chance has he got when his own club, manager and some fans aren’t supporting him. Of course the media and Gerrard then have carte Blanche to say anything they want.

05-10-2021, 08:13 AM
What chance has he got when his own club, manager and some fans aren’t supporting him. Of course the media and Gerrard then have carte Blanche to say anything they want.

There’s a distinct difference in the incident that led to his sending off and the ridiculous ****storm that has followed. If the manager commented on the incident tabs can see why it was a red card that’s fine. What isn’t is the fallout and the effective character assassination in the aftermath.

05-10-2021, 08:14 AM

His club has appealed the red card and his manager has backed him.

Why are you making stuff up?

05-10-2021, 08:21 AM

I'll be furious if we don't hear anything from our club.

Constructive criticism has it's place - those of us who watch Porteous every week might have an opinion on whether or not he has a rashness that he needs to curb. There's a train of thought that you'd take too much away from him if you did that. There's a lot of talk about how he "could" hurt someone. So far he hasn't, hasn't even been close to it.

It's turning into a pile on. Every time we play Rangers it's the same - an absolute pantomime of some description in the aftermath of the game. God knows what it will be like if we even manage to get a. result against them again.

Hibs need to defend their player - publicly. They have a duty of care, and he's taking a hammering. They wouldn't be performing their duty if they decided to do this behind closed doors and let the public hammering go on without a response.

Steven Gerrard is a coward and a bully and someone needs to stand up to him.

05-10-2021, 08:23 AM
We should put clips of Gerard’s awful tackles from his playing days on the big screens throughout the match next time they are at Easter Road

05-10-2021, 08:48 AM
We should put clips of Gerard’s awful tackles from his playing days on the big screens throughout the match next time they are at Easter Road

now that would be beautifully petty! I love it!!

rossevenil
05-10-2021, 09:34 AM
And how old was Gerrard when he made these challenges in 1 game??? Seems he never learned how to tackle either

https://youtu.be/j4OPgUMWpBY

Or an out of control dive in this one?
https://youtu.be/dleIp8j_Ows

05-10-2021, 09:36 AM
I agree with Gerrard. All too predictable from Porteous. Needs to learn.

BegbieHSC
05-10-2021, 09:41 AM

Whether you agree with the red card or not, surely you think it’s deeply inappropriate for Gerrard to be using his stature and influence to obsessively stick the boot into a young Hibs player?

Gerrard is acting like a ****bag, harassing one of our own, trying to damage his career. You surely see that?

05-10-2021, 09:46 AM
Didn’t gerrard get sent off for a cowardly stamp on Herrera in his last ever appearance for Liverpool?

Utter, utter **** of a man.

05-10-2021, 09:50 AM
Steven Gerrard is an utter cock of a man and is employed by the right club.

Look at him rushing to the aid of this poor woman.

https://youtu.be/OQojYgak6GQ

Actually despise the prick

05-10-2021, 10:03 AM

Hibs chief executive Ben Kensell said: “After reviewing footage of the incident, we have decided to appeal the decision.

“We believe we have enough evidence to show his challenge was not worthy of a sending off.

“We will await an answer from the SFA and stand united with Ryan, who has our absolute support.”

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/

05-10-2021, 10:10 AM
I have my own views on the red card but i'm delighted that the club are defending him publicly. Especially after that ****** Gerrard public outburst.

05-10-2021, 10:19 AM
The simple fact is that Gerard knew his team were being handed their arse on their own pitch and he desperately wants to steer the narrative away from that fact. No one is talking about how well we were playing or that the huns didn’t even have a shot on target in the first half. He’s a fraud and a complete ******.

05-10-2021, 10:19 AM
Patronising get.

Mantis Toboggan
05-10-2021, 10:25 AM
I doubt Porteous will be particularly interested in lessons on behaviour from a guy who once punched a DJ for not playing Phil Collins, or, as already pointed out, a medal free proven loser who punched his own team mate in a pre season friendly

05-10-2021, 10:31 AM
I really, really would like to shut Gerrard up at Hampden next month.

inglisavhibs
05-10-2021, 10:36 AM
He didn't get sent off all last season and has been Hibs best player this season. Without him we would be a poorer team. Yes he is very aggressive but he’s not an over the top merchant like Gerard. Some support for our players, especially the younger one might be more useful rather than “all too predictable” Did you predict Ryan being ordered off at Ibrox?

05-10-2021, 10:38 AM
I doubt Porteous will be particularly interested in lessons on behaviour from a guy who once punched a DJ for not playing Phil Collins, or, as already pointed out, a medal free proven loser who punched his own team mate in a pre season friendly

Surely not surely he punched him for playing Phil Collins :greengrin

05-10-2021, 10:43 AM

his record isn’t good in the cups. I think we’ve got a chance and you’re right, it would be incredibly sweet

05-10-2021, 11:26 AM
Boy didn't seem to be learning here. Not demanding control of the CD player would have been the grown up thing to do?https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211005/cefe7a8c3b94fa46ba1b7b7c8c23220d.jpg

05-10-2021, 11:28 AM
Wow. That is horrific

You don’t see any worse than that. ****.

05-10-2021, 11:34 AM
We've appealed. Wait and see what the outcome of that us before we go making any statements.

Win the appeal - come out demanding apologies from all who have been screaming blue murder the last few days.

Lose appeal - circle the wagons and use the whole event to give the team a siege mentality. Alongside this in the press start reminding others to keep their own houses in check before commenting on our players.

NC1875
05-10-2021, 11:50 AM
Gerrard is an absolute cock. Fits in perfectly at they tramps along the m8.

05-10-2021, 12:10 PM
His comments were completely over the top, unnecessary, and misplaced.

I would absolutely love to see Hibs come out on the front foot on this one and address the comments head on.

05-10-2021, 01:27 PM

Him & Boyle, I will say it now but watch Boyle see red for diving in a game, not the the 1st time players from Hibs are targeted by refs, I seem to recall many years ago ref Clarke I think coming on Sportscene and telling everyone how nasty Riordan was on the pitch and Brown as well, soon after there moves to celtc Brown certainly became a angel on the park but while at Hibs he was a dirty wee so and so.

Hibs need to use there contacts in the game to come out and defend Ryan in all of this , I’m sorry but Jack Ross should have gave a interview to whoever stating that Gerrard is bang out of order to come down on his player when he was no angel himself, we have to stand up on this matter or we will forever get treated like keek.

05-10-2021, 01:30 PM

05-10-2021, 01:43 PM
The moment I saw his comments after the game I thought he was monumentally out of order. He simply has no legitimate locus for commenting on or interfering in the management of another club's player. It is absolutely bringing the game into disrepute.

They're an ar5ehole of a club anyway but since we beat them in the final in 2016 they've been carrying a torch for us at every possible opportunity and frankly this is simply the latest version of that. I'd welcome something from the club firmly confronting Gerrard's comments and telling him to shove his interference into our internal business where the sun doesn't shine.

05-10-2021, 01:44 PM

Pitch invasion :confused :greengrin :wink:

sadtom
05-10-2021, 02:29 PM
Well if commenting on other teams players is acceptable.
Then it would be just fine for JR to talk about that fat, moody, tw@t Morellos.
Now there is a perfect example of someone who ‘never learns’. A prick of a laddie with a far more chequered history.
Even on Sunday his off the ball foul on Porto, putting his hands on Nisbet, and also, just before the full time whistle again raising his hands to Murphy (? I think).
I’d love us to go on the offensive on this. And tell slippy to get his own house in order and shut his yap.

05-10-2021, 02:31 PM
I really, really would like to shut Gerrard up at Hampden next month. Read that in a Kevin Keegan voice, hope that was the intention

Inconsequential
05-10-2021, 02:45 PM
Can anyone recall the goalkeeper who I believe plays for 'The Rangers' who actually assaults players with his foot up and studs showing? All conveniently forgotten about. A tackle (it happens, it's what players do) is more controversial than blatant assaults on the park. It's a very strange world.

05-10-2021, 02:52 PM
Has Ross came out and said something back to defend this outburst from slippy yet

Hibs need to do more other than appeal

05-10-2021, 03:06 PM

Predictable? How many red cards has Porto had in his career then?

05-10-2021, 03:07 PM
I'd honestly rather JR said nothing until his next press conference then slip in a dig about people speaking out of turn (hopefully with Porto's red having been overturned - even though I doubt it).

Getting all excited and entering into a shouting match gives too much importance to Gerrard & his pish spouting.

05-10-2021, 03:10 PM
Steven Gerrard is an utter cock of a man and is employed by the right club.

Look at him rushing to the aid of this poor woman.

https://youtu.be/OQojYgak6GQ

Actually despise the prick

I know Liverpool fans who can’t stand him either. Off the field issues. Great player but not such a great human being.

05-10-2021, 03:24 PM
Predictable? How many red cards has Porto had in his career then? 3 reds, 35 Yellows Hanlon has 1 red, 46 yellows in over 300 more games. Mcgregor has 3 reds, 47 yellows in over 200 more games So Ryan is a pretty clearly our worst disciplined central defender.

AugustaHibs
05-10-2021, 03:26 PM
3 reds, 35 Yellows Hanlon has 1 red, 46 yellows in over 300 more games. Mcgregor has 3 reds, 47 yellows in over 200 more games So Ryan is a pretty clearly our worst disciplined central defender.

Roy Keane had 7 red cards and Patrick viera had 8.

Edit: that was just in the premier league too.

05-10-2021, 03:27 PM
3 reds, 35 Yellows Hanlon has 1 red, 46 yellows in over 300 more games. Mcgregor has 3 reds, 47 yellows in over 200 more games So Ryan is a pretty clearly our worst disciplined central defender.

Given Porto was a regular at 19 and is known as an aggressive player, it’s hardly horrendous though.

05-10-2021, 03:29 PM
Roy Keane had 7 red cards and Patrick viera had 8. Edit: that was just in the premier league too. Okay. How is that relevant exactly?

05-10-2021, 03:30 PM
Given Porto was a regular at 19 and is known as an aggressive player, it’s hardly horrendous though. Hanlon was regular at 19 too. Come on. I'm not blaming Ryan for Sunday, it was never a red card, but he clearly our most ill-disciplined central defender.

05-10-2021, 03:34 PM

Anything less would be a shocking sign of weakness, we should always defend our players from such comments (even if they were legitimate). Let this pass & its clearly soft as f***, business as usual.

05-10-2021, 03:36 PM
Hanlon was regular at 19 too. Come on. I'm not blaming Ryan for Sunday, it was never a red card, but he clearly our most ill-disciplined central defender.

I don’t mind that tbh …a bit of aggression and steel. He will learn of course , be a bit more subtle…. He will also play at a higher level than the other two did ….

05-10-2021, 03:37 PM
Roy Keane had 7 red cards and Patrick viera had 8.

Edit: that was just in the premier league too.

Sounds like he’s on track to match them then. Is that a good thing?

05-10-2021, 03:38 PM
I know Liverpool fans who can’t stand him either. Off the field issues. Great player but not such a great human being.So a perfect fit at Sevco

05-10-2021, 03:40 PM
I don’t mind that tbh …a bit of aggression and steel. He will learn of course , be a bit more subtle…. He will also play at a higher level than the other two did …. Remains to be seen what level he will play at. Some of the best defenders ever finished their careers with less red cards than that.

05-10-2021, 03:43 PM
Remains to be seen what level he will play at. Some of the best defenders ever finished their careers with less red cards than that.

It does…but I think he will play at a higher level - so do Daz and Hanlon btw

others have a different more aggressive approach and have a very successful career .

He's here!
05-10-2021, 03:44 PM
Can anyone recall the goalkeeper who I believe plays for 'The Rangers' who actually assaults players with his foot up and studs showing? All conveniently forgotten about. A tackle (it happens, it's what players do) is more controversial than blatant assaults on the park. It's a very strange world.

This? Utter nutjob.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqLz-tpYvjs

05-10-2021, 03:47 PM
This? Utter nutjob.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqLz-tpYvjsNot to mention disrespecting his country but then again, is Scotland Sevco's country?

Who else actually wants them is the issue.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/football/2009/apr/03/barry-ferguson-allan-mcgregor-banned

Fergos
05-10-2021, 04:12 PM
I know Liverpool fans who can’t stand him either. Off the field issues. Great player but not such a great human being.

Aye. Worked in the fine city that’s Liverpool and a lot of the Reds and all of the blues obviously had little time for him, as said, not a great character away from the game.

I’m sure the excellent Everton fanzine, When Skies Are Grey ran an article with pics of him being a toffee too?

A man of his experience obsessed with an up and coming young centre half. Says it all.

Halifaxhibby
05-10-2021, 04:35 PM

When it's his player, he's being picked on....anyone else is a thug.... SFA/BBC sychphants desperate to get in the Huns good books will print anything.

05-10-2021, 05:12 PM
I still think Porteous is exactly the kind of player Rangers should go all out to sign. He lives rent free in the head of a Champions League winner. Says it all. Despite my thoughts on his tackle on Sunday I think he's a tremendous player.

sadtom
05-10-2021, 05:47 PM
Ryan’s disciplinary record since 17/18.
102 Apps.
3 Red = 1 every 34 games
24 yellow = 1 every 4.25 games.

The fat chavvie Colombian hun’s disciplinary record since 17/18.
207 Apps.
7 red = 1 every 29.57 games.
54 yellow = 1 every 3.83 games.

Worth noting Ryan is a few years younger/less experienced and is a defender.
Not to mention how much fatty has got away with over the years.

Shut yer hole Slippy, you utter throbber.

05-10-2021, 06:42 PM
102 Apps.
3 Red = 1 every 34 games

207 Apps.

Excellent - love a bit of analysis like this.

Does his 7 reds include the retrospective cards he’s had?

05-10-2021, 06:44 PM
102 Apps.
3 Red = 1 every 34 games

207 Apps.

Post of the season so far [emoji119][emoji122][emoji122][emoji106]

05-10-2021, 07:05 PM
102 Apps.
3 Red = 1 every 34 games

207 Apps.

:not worth

05-10-2021, 07:18 PM
102 Apps.
3 Red = 1 every 34 games

207 Apps.

And the many , MANY red cards Morelos has got away with ! Including his stamp on Porteous last season at ER right in front of the referee !!!! Then bagged the winner , ******g scandelous

As for Gerrard , What a complete bellend , The leg breakers he put in as a Liverpool player , Complete bellend and a two faced **** !

sadtom
05-10-2021, 07:27 PM
Excellent - love a bit of analysis like this.

Does his 7 reds include the retrospective cards he’s had?

Not sure tbh.

05-10-2021, 08:13 PM
**** Steven Gerrard. **** him right in the ear.

05-10-2021, 08:18 PM

**** him in the other ear

The Captain....
05-10-2021, 08:58 PM
Only the eight red cards, mixed up with murdering gangsters and a cowardly assault trial for Gerrard...king of hypocrisy.

He is absolute ****.

Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk

05-10-2021, 09:13 PM

I get the feeling it would come right out the other side, like a throbbing veiny cotton bud.

05-10-2021, 11:18 PM
And the many , MANY red cards Morelos has got away with ! Including his stamp on Porteous last season at ER right in front of the referee !!!! Then bagged the winner , ******g scandelous

As for Gerrard , What a complete bellend , The leg breakers he put in as a Liverpool player , Complete bellend and a two faced **** !

id completely forgotten about that stamp on Ryan last year, so just rewatched it on youtube.

Unbelievable. Just when my seething over Sunday was starting to pass.

we have to beat them at Hampden.

06-10-2021, 11:01 AM
I have to be honest, as much as I can’t stand the prick.. having watched his comments in full, rather than just read a couple of quotes on here, I’m struggling to be that upset about it now.

Gerrard actually acknowledges that he was a bit of a dirty bastart (twice) and basically makes the same points some of us are about the challenge.. after being asked. Aye there was no need for “the kid’s not learning” but he also goes on to say its Jack Ross’ business (after correctly pointing out Porto let his teammates and manager down).

Aye he’s a hun welt.. but I think this is just another thing getting blown out of proportion because of us losing what could have been a brilliant 3 points. Plenty managers make wee comments like this, deliberately or otherwise. Definitely no need for our supporters demanding that JR comes out blasting Gerrard.

Don’t get me wrong - he’s still a complete and utter to55er.

06-10-2021, 11:14 AM
I have to be honest, as much as I can’t stand the prick.. having watched his comments in full, rather than just read a couple of quotes on here, I’m struggling to be that upset about it now.

Gerrard actually acknowledges that he was a bit of a dirty bastart (twice) and basically makes the same points some of us are about the challenge.. after being asked. Aye there was no need for “the kid’s not learning” but he also goes on to say its Jack Ross’ business (after correctly pointing out Porto let his teammates and manager down).

Aye he’s a hun welt.. but I think this is just another thing getting blown out of proportion because of us losing what could have been a brilliant 3 points. Plenty managers make wee comments like this, deliberately or otherwise. Definitely no need for our supporters demanding that JR comes out blasting Gerrard.

“I had to learn”. Did he? At 35yrs old he was still getting sent off for needless challenges.
All we need to remember is, if another manager was saying the same about Morelos, he wouldn’t be happy.
Gerrard knows what he’s doing. It’s been around 2 years since Rangers have had a red card in the league - ever since Gerrard asked for “fairness”.

Fuzzywuzzy
06-10-2021, 11:14 AM
Can pretty much guarantee that he'll be targeted early doors in the semi.

06-10-2021, 11:18 AM

I agree with a lot of this. His comments do contradict Godwin’s comments from a few weeks ago when he commented on RP (to less outrage) about him being too soft.

06-10-2021, 11:21 AM
“I had to learn”. Did he? At 35yrs old he was still getting sent off for needless challenges.
All we need to remember is, if another manager was saying the same about Morelos, he wouldn’t be happy.
Gerrard knows what he’s doing. It’s been around 2 years since Rangers have had a red card in the league - ever since Gerrard asked for “fairness”.

Absolutely - which is why Hibs can't let this lie with regards to his scandalous comments.

06-10-2021, 11:30 AM

A lot of people being slightly over-offended in my opinion.

06-10-2021, 12:02 PM
Re Gerrard - the fact that he put in the odd horror tackle and the fact that he wasn't universally popular didn't take away from the fact that he was a superb player.

Porteous needs to be very careful who he listens to here and how much he chooses to adapt his game accordingly. There is definitely room for improvement in some areas but f*** taking advice from someone who doesn't have your interests at heart in any way.

06-10-2021, 12:30 PM
Hope we see Gerrard in tears the next time we play them after beating them. :agree:

06-10-2021, 01:12 PM
Least when the time comes for Porteous to move on and progress his career he’ll no have local gangsters telling him he can’t.

Gerrard is pondlife and a total hypocrite. Well suited to Rangers. I cannot wait to scud him and that fat wee welt Morelos next month.

06-10-2021, 01:17 PM

I don't necessarily disagree with one word of that Callum. But was what he said really that bad or different from what gets said every week by one manager or another?

"Scandalous" is completely over the top in my opinion.

I hate the huns more than hearts - so I'm not entirely comfortable arguing against this I can assure you :greengrin I just think the fallout of Sunday is making a few of us sound very 'Celticy' in our reaction and analysis... another uncomfortable position.

06-10-2021, 01:33 PM
I don't necessarily disagree with one word of that Callum. But was what he said really that bad or different from what gets said every week by one manager or another?

"Scandalous" is completely over the top in my opinion.

I hate the huns more than hearts - so I'm not entirely comfortable arguing against this I can assure you :greengrin I just think the fallout of Sunday is making a few of us sound very 'Celticy' in our reaction and analysis... another uncomfortable position.

I get your point here and I don't disagree with it but I do have sympathy for folk who may be losing patience and starting to act a bit unreasonable.

At what point do you cry foul? If it's not after 4 consecutive games decided by the odd goal in games against Rangers with the game decided by a significant game-changing decision in Rangers' favour, then I don't know when it is.

The decision and the game the other day is one thing, it can happen. It's starting to fit a pattern though, and that's where the conspiracy theories and Celticy nonsense can take hold.

06-10-2021, 01:36 PM
I get your point here and I don't disagree with it but I do have sympathy for folk who may be losing patience and starting to act a bit unreasonable.

At what point do you cry foul? If it's not after 4 consecutive games decided by the odd goal in games against Rangers with the game decided by a significant game-changing decision in Rangers' favour, then I don't know when it is.

The decision and the game the other day is one thing, it can happen. It's starting to fit a pattern though, and that's where the conspiracy theories and Celticy nonsense can take hold.

Yep - fully accepted, Smartie :aok:

06-10-2021, 01:42 PM

It's not 4 games in a row for me though, add on numerous other cheating moments from Sunday all the way back to McCloy bringing down Colin Campbell for a stick on penalty that was ignored over 40 years ago.

The referee's are corrupt.

06-10-2021, 01:43 PM
Hope we see Gerrard in tears the next time we play them after beating them. :agree:

I would absolutely love to see that happen next month at Hampden.

There's very little that would make me happier.

**** Steven Gerrard.

06-10-2021, 02:18 PM

Porto header last minute winner. FWIW I think we'll win the semi.

06-10-2021, 03:22 PM
Can you imagine any manager or commentator saying what slippy said about one of his players, he'd go mental and they would be barred from their cesspit.

06-10-2021, 03:23 PM
Can you imagine any manager or commentator saying what slippy said about one of his players, he'd go mental and they would be barred from their cesspit.

Yep totally agree.

06-10-2021, 04:34 PM
As must as I agree Gerrard needs to mind his own business. There is still some truth in his comment. Porto is improving but he’s still putting in tackles like that when he doesn’t have to. A slide tackle is the last form of defending.

06-10-2021, 04:40 PM
Now that the appeal has been rejected it’s time to focus on the semi final and do our talking on the pitch.

06-10-2021, 04:58 PM

Correct. And neither should managers be saying these things about the employees of other clubs. I'm astonished that more isn't being made of this completely out of order intervention in the affairs of another club by the media, our club or indeed the football authorities.

Or is it just open season now for employees of one club to start publicly assessing and criticising the internal workings of other clubs?

07-10-2021, 06:18 AM
Correct. And neither should managers be saying these things about the employees of other clubs. I'm astonished that more isn't being made of this completely out of order intervention in the affairs of another club by the media, our club or indeed the football authorities.

Or is it just open season now for employees of one club to start publicly assessing and criticising the internal workings of other clubs?

Agree totally Rangers appear to be able to say anything they want about other players other clubs referees Covid commercial deals etc without any apparent recourse or investigation. There used to be a regular bringing the game into disrepute charge which never seems to be used now. SFA seem to be incredibly passive and lacking in the will to get involved not sure to what extent that reflects Rods position as he was never one for taking them on when at our club. Whole game needs a shake governance wise.

07-10-2021, 07:05 AM

With the ref from Govan and a pattern of decisions clearly happening the normal mantra of these decisions levelling out over a season looks redundant. When supporters of other clubs see this too then clearly there is a massive issue. Sevco know they are at risk of losing games against us and however honest refs are if you live in Govan and had they lost on Sunday Walsh would have been remembered as the guy who reffed the game. The more you look at it the more it seems may 2016 has made their bias worse. The fact the media never focused on their shocking tackle on doig shows they are complicit in allowing this trend to continue. Porteous may or may not deserved to be sent off but morelos staying on at Easter Road then scoring the winner and many many other game changing decisions in their favour shows a massive trend. Same as always been back to John Mcdonald diving.

07-10-2021, 07:07 AM

Up there there with souness top ten assaults. Utterly farcical that spineless Gerrard is lecturing anybody on tackling.

Percy Vere
07-10-2021, 09:21 AM

Gerard is an arrogant man with a massively inflated view of his own importance. His comments are unwanted and as you point out not his to assess the progress or otherwise of another teams player.
Ryan's stats this season show that in fact he is learning!
He's staying on his feet more, he's being more selective about when to tackle, intercepts are up, his distribution is up, passing accuracy, shots on goal improved. He's being considered for Scotland and rightly so.
He's a very good passionate player, its all a learning curve and i for one believe he is learning.

07-10-2021, 12:51 PM
Gerard is an arrogant man with a massively inflated view of his own importance. His comments are unwanted and as you point out not his to assess the progress or otherwise of another teams player.
Ryan's stats this season show that in fact he is learning!
He's staying on his feet more, he's being more selective about when to tackle, intercepts are up, his distribution is up, passing accuracy, shots on goal improved. He's being considered for Scotland and rightly so.
He's a very good passionate player, its all a learning curve and i for one believe he is learning.

Gerrard is a nasty piece of work, was as a player and carried into his managerial role. He and Rangers deserve each other.