View Full Version : Social Media Down.

04-10-2021, 06:22 PM
Facebook, WhatsApp and TikTok all down. Facebook shares have crashed in the last 2 hours.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.independent.co.uk/life-style/gadgets-and-tech/facebook-instagram-down-whatsapp-latest-b1932071.html%3famp

04-10-2021, 06:27 PM
Aye, my Whats-App is doon.

Just_Jimmy
04-10-2021, 06:27 PM
It's bliss.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

04-10-2021, 06:29 PM
What's Tick Tock? I heard my niece and nephew mention it at the weekend, but I've nae idea.

Renfrew_Hibby
04-10-2021, 07:23 PM
Those Russian hackers have finally done some good.

04-10-2021, 08:04 PM
What's Tick Tock? I heard my niece and nephew mention it at the weekend, but I've nae idea.

It’s a social media platform that kids use to slag off their out of touch uncles, usually through the form of dancing or lip-syncing to popular hits 😉

04-10-2021, 08:04 PM
https://twitter.com/benjaminenfield/status/1445104389014835213?s=21

04-10-2021, 08:15 PM
It’s a social media platform that kids use to slag off their out of touch uncles, usually through the form of dancing or lip-syncing to popular hits 😉

04-10-2021, 08:17 PM
https://twitter.com/benjaminenfield/status/1445104389014835213?s=21

This is a reply to the tweet you've posted which suggests it's not a permanent issue.

Way above my understanding and no idea what it means but might be back soon.

https://twitter.com/foda_se_betas/status/1445118815596163077?s=19

04-10-2021, 08:25 PM
"Someone on the Facebook recovery effort has explained that a routine BGP update went wrong, which in turn locked out those with remote access who could reverse the mistake.

Those who do have physical access do not have authorization on the servers. Catch-22."

04-10-2021, 08:27 PM
Somebody ran the following command on their server...

sudo rm -r /

McSwanky
04-10-2021, 08:36 PM
From that twitter thread :

User 1: 'Explain this in football terms'

User 2: 'It's like football, but without a football'

[emoji1787]

04-10-2021, 09:58 PM
WhatsApp seems to be back for me…

Edit.. at least it was temporarily. I got 3 messages through and now seems to be toiling again.

05-10-2021, 06:22 AM
It's back up and running, shame, I was just getting to know my family and they seemed rather nice.

05-10-2021, 07:23 AM
It's back up and running, shame, I was just getting to know my family and they seemed rather nice.[emoji16]

I'd just sharpened all my pencils and found a biro and my Kodak Brownie.

05-10-2021, 09:05 AM
Somebody ran the following command on their server...

sudo rm -r /

Hehe, that's actually not far off. They withdrew all their BGP advertisements, effectively removing all routes from elsewhere in the internet to their servers. :greengrin

05-10-2021, 09:11 AM
I quite enjoyed people tweeting how nice it was that they could take an enforced break from social media. Apparently without any sense of irony.

05-10-2021, 09:37 AM
A cynic tweets: https://twitter.com/JimMFelton/status/1445078261894164482