View Full Version : VAR for or against
02-10-2021, 06:33 PM
With the news that VAR is possibly coming to Scotland what are peoples opinions on whether we should adopt it or not
02-10-2021, 06:46 PM
I voted for. It’s inevitable and if used properly is a benefit. Pleased the diddy leagues trialed it first. I’d prefer goal line technology first though if cash is an issue.
hibby rae
02-10-2021, 06:49 PM
If used the correct way. So not like Premiership last season, or women's World Cup (still raging about that).
I think those watching the game in the booth should only let the ref know there's maybe been something missed. I don't think they should ever overrule the ref with them not seeing what happened as it undermines them.
LunasBoots
02-10-2021, 06:51 PM
For, only so long I can put up with the current useless bunch of Scottish refs and there poor decisions
02-10-2021, 06:55 PM
If used correctly, I'm in favour.
If not, forget it.
02-10-2021, 06:57 PM
I’m dead against it, but I thought a poll would be good to gauge fan’s opinion. I’m sure the club keep an eye on these boards so I’d like to think they’d take the results into consideration.
02-10-2021, 06:58 PM
I'm definitely in favour.
The horrific sense of injustice I've felt on so many occasions which would have been avoided by a second look weighs much heavier than the potential for an initially muted celebration of a goal.
The cup final penalty outside the box, John Macdonald's dive, Colin Campbell's refused penalty, the Falkirk handball etc etc, all, or certainly most, of them would have been reversed.
There will always be controversy in football when an individual's opinion is required for a decision, but if I was a referee today, I'd want VAR to help me get things right.
02-10-2021, 07:02 PM
I’m for it but I do think it needs reformed in its current guise to be as close to TMO in rugby as possible.
02-10-2021, 07:05 PM
Ruins the game, breaks it up and doesn't resolve the issue it was meant to resolve.
An absolutely massive 'no' from me.
02-10-2021, 07:06 PM
For, only so long I can put up with the current useless bunch of Scottish refs and there poor decisions
Hmmmm..... Who do you think will be making the var decisions?
It'll be some of the aforementioned dud Scottish refs!!!
LunasBoots
02-10-2021, 07:14 PM
Hmmmm..... Who do you think will be making the var decisions?
It'll be some of the aforementioned dud Scottish refs!!!
Ofc but at least it would give them the opportunity to reverse the wrong calls and get the correct decision, my issue with it is a lot of leagues rules seem to differ, I watch aloft of Italian football and don't want the kind of excessive penalty giving for accidental handballs etc.
ABZHFC
02-10-2021, 07:32 PM
Will never, ever, ever be for it. I would rather suffer watching Hibs lose a cup final unjustly than have the joy of spontaneity taken away from me every time we score. Simple as that
02-10-2021, 07:42 PM
yes please
can we start with the game at Mordor tomorrow
hibbydog
02-10-2021, 07:58 PM
Absolutely not.
Takes away another variable. Dodgy referees and linesmen are all part and parcel of the game. Sometimes they go for you, sometimes against you.
It’s all part of the fun. And I’m totally against sanitising the game.
hibbydog
02-10-2021, 08:00 PM
I'm definitely in favour.
The horrific sense of injustice I've felt on so many occasions which would have been avoided by a second look weighs much heavier than the potential for an initially muted celebration of a goal.
The cup final penalty outside the box, John Macdonald's dive, Colin Campbell's refused penalty, the Falkirk handball etc etc, all, or certainly most, of them would have been reversed.
There will always be controversy in football when an individual's opinion is required for a decision, but if I was a referee today, I'd want VAR to help me get things right.
Lewis Stevenson’s two handed push on Waghorn in the cup final would have resulted in a penalty with VAR.
Some go for you, some against. I like the randomness of dodgy referring and offside goals.
02-10-2021, 08:05 PM
Against but its where top flight football across the world is going. I'd imagine far more youngsters are in favour than us old/middle aged farts are against.
You cant hold the tide back.
02-10-2021, 08:16 PM
Will never, ever, ever be for it. I would rather suffer watching Hibs lose a cup final unjustly than have the joy of spontaneity taken away from me every time we score. Simple as that
I’m the same. Maybe it won’t be as bad as I imagine it’s going to be, but at this moment in time I’m questioning whether I want to be a part of football with var. I’ve been a fan all my life going home and away, but this seems like a development to make the game more palatable for those watching on tv. Can anyone give me an example of how var improves the experience of being in the stadium?
02-10-2021, 08:23 PM
I’m the same. Maybe it won’t be as bad as I imagine it’s going to be, but at this moment in time I’m questioning whether I want to be a part of football with var. I’ve been a fan all my life going home and away, but this seems like a development to make the game more palatable for those watching on tv. Can anyone give me an example of how var improves the experience of being in the stadium?
No but back in the day I guess fans opposed the implenatation of cross bars and goalkeeprs not being able the handle the ball anywhere in their own half or the offside rule. As I said earlier it coming (if not already there) in all top flight leagues across major football playing nations acrsoss the world. Im old school too and would rather the ref mae the decision but its simply not where the game is going or infact is. Scotland not having it now is behind the times.
02-10-2021, 08:28 PM
Generally in favour but if we're going to get to the stage of drawing lines on a screen to determine whether or not a player's armpit was 2mm offside in the lead up to a goal then forget it.
02-10-2021, 08:29 PM
:faf::faf:
02-10-2021, 08:48 PM
Would only take goal line technology
Nothing else required
02-10-2021, 08:56 PM
Lewis Stevenson’s two handed push on Waghorn in the cup final would have resulted in a penalty with VAR.
Some go for you, some against. I like the randomness of dodgy referring and offside goals.And with VAR the wait would have been over with a penatly in 1979 without the need for two replays. Theres nothing random about decisions going the way of the The Thes
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
02-10-2021, 09:11 PM
On review Andy Halliday did actually win the cup in 2016.
02-10-2021, 09:44 PM
No but back in the day I guess fans opposed the implenatation of cross bars and goalkeeprs not being able the handle the ball anywhere in their own half or the offside rule. As I said earlier it coming (if not already there) in all top flight leagues across major football playing nations acrsoss the world. Im old school too and would rather the ref mae the decision but its simply not where the game is going or infact is. Scotland not having it now is behind the times.
All those things you list were visible to fans in the stadium, var is something that excludes the fans in the stadium, you only know what’s going on if you’re watching on tv. Maybe I’m just being old fashioned, but I still believe that football should be prioritising those who have bought tickets for the game.
02-10-2021, 09:46 PM
On review Andy Halliday did actually win the cup in 2016.
I’m referring you to the monitor. :wink:
02-10-2021, 09:48 PM
I’m dead against it, but I thought a poll would be good to gauge fan’s opinion. I’m sure the club keep an eye on these boards so I’d like to think they’d take the results into consideration.
Why would you be against it, the 2 teams that will suffer are The the,s and celtc, they get all the dodgy calls, VAR will hopefully put a stop to it, and dodgy refs will retire or leave the game before it’s introduced, it will be great for the Scottish game IMO.
hibbydog
02-10-2021, 10:03 PM
And with VAR the wait would have been over with a penatly in 1979 without the need for two replays. Theres nothing random about decisions going the way of the The Thes
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
Fair enough.
But imagine the David Gray moment with VAR? Couldn’t stand waiting to find out if someone found something wrong with it.
Stokesey gives Tavernier a wee nudge for the second, the bar stewards would have chopped that off too.
I know for every good example there’s a bad one in reply.
But the bee all and end all (for me at least) is taking away the spontaneity and some of the randomness out of the game.
02-10-2021, 10:26 PM
VAR would result in the old firm losing quite a few points each season.
The stop/start of it is pish,but anything that decreases the cheating/ineptitude of our officials is welcome imo.
02-10-2021, 10:43 PM
Why would you be against it, the 2 teams that will suffer are The the,s and celtc, they get all the dodgy calls, VAR will hopefully put a stop to it, and dodgy refs will retire or leave the game before it’s introduced, it will be great for the Scottish game IMO.
There is no competition in the world that uses VAR which has eliminated dodgy calls.
BegbieHSC
02-10-2021, 11:27 PM
Refereeing standards in Scotland are abysmal.
I don’t think VAR is the answer however. When it gets to the point of players not celebrating legitimate goals through fear of VAR chopping the goal off 5 minutes later is sucking any passion the league south of the border had left, I don’t want to see it here.
It’s time for the SFA to put their hands in their pockets, and appoint a limited number of full-time referees - not this part-time referee one minute, leader of the Scottish Conservative party the next. Have referees full time, who train during the week, and reflect on the games they’ve officiated.
The current system isn’t working - by making refereeing professional and full time we can drive up the standards, and not change the nature of the game that VAR would.
03-10-2021, 06:16 AM
You’d lose a cup final instead of seeing VAR introduced?
03-10-2021, 07:08 AM
It will still be the same dodgy refs doing the var.
Bangkok Hibby
03-10-2021, 07:19 AM
Never been able to take part in a poll on my phone for some reason. Anyway a yes from me.
03-10-2021, 07:38 AM
A no from me, it will remove a lot of the joy from goal celebrations as we wait for reviews, something we will only be able to see later at home. Refereeing mistakes, for or against us , are part and parcel of the game and fuel some of the best discussions in the pub after the game.
There is no way it will punish the Old Firm more than everybody else either, the pressure on refs to chalk off any goals against them at the slightest hint of something being wrong will only increase.
03-10-2021, 07:51 AM
No
03-10-2021, 07:51 AM
Against. Ruins it for me.
Use it for semi-finals and beyond and maybe after the split.
Gonna take the fun right out of it.
03-10-2021, 09:00 AM
Against. Ruins it for me.
Use it for semi-finals and beyond and maybe after the split.
Gonna take the fun right out of it.
I understand what that compromise should achieve, but for the reasons you state in paragraph 1 it would be a shame to specifically target the important games.
I always find polls interesting as a way to benchmark my thoughts, I'm in a minority it seems as being "against". That did surprise me a little.
Goal line technology I'm fine with. That should be a pretty instant decision that doesn't ruin any flow and will be obvious at the time when it's likely to be used.
VAR has a way to go yet before I'd be happy with it being introduced.
Plus there's something nice about being able to accuse refs of bias as a general excuse every time we lose, it'd be a shame to have to acknowledge we're just not that good. :greengrin
03-10-2021, 09:08 AM
Will never, ever, ever be for it. I would rather suffer watching Hibs lose a cup final unjustly than have the joy of spontaneity taken away from me every time we score. Simple as that You'll be on your own then. I'd rather we won or lost matches based on our performance, not the referees.
03-10-2021, 11:18 AM
Against. I'd rather see goal line technology in Scotland.
03-10-2021, 11:43 AM
I voted for it but if it doesn't come in then so be it. It won't just effect the OF, it'll effect Hearts at Tynecastle, and that can only be positive as far as I'm concerned. Just my opinion.
03-10-2021, 11:45 AM
Definitely for it means the majority of shocking decisions are reduced which can only be a good thing imo.
03-10-2021, 11:53 AM
I am agin
Totally agin
I'm sure that most will understand
From what I've seen so far
I'm not impressed by VAR
I am totally agin.
Hibs07p
03-10-2021, 11:58 AM
All for it but my only fears are that the same biased / incompetent officials will still make the same biased / incompetent decisions, supported by the same biased BBC anylists agreeing with them, instead of calling them out.
Scottish Cup Winners 2016
03-10-2021, 02:37 PM
And there's a case in point.
Silky
03-10-2021, 02:44 PM
100%. How any hibby can't want it after this is beyond me.
03-10-2021, 02:44 PM
Yep though depends who the video ref is. If it’s Kris Boyd or Stephen Craigan we’re knackered!
03-10-2021, 02:47 PM
You can’t honestly believe that whichever hun is doing the var is going to overturn that decision. He’d be cold shouldered at the lodge.
03-10-2021, 02:55 PM
VAR wouldn’t overturn that decision.
ABZHFC
03-10-2021, 03:02 PM
Again, people miss the point. The issue is Nick Walsh being swayed by 50,000 Huns, he didn’t give it for 2-3 seconds, then blew because they were screaming for it. There’s no way it would have been overturned by VAR
03-10-2021, 04:04 PM
VAR wouldn’t overturn that decision.
I disagree.
Porteous won the ball fairly and didn't touch the player. VAR would confirm that.
03-10-2021, 04:19 PM
Does anyone think that Bobby Madden or Willie Collum sitting in the var studio are overturning any decision made by a ref against the hun? Beaton will probably do his var shift in the Louden Tavern.
03-10-2021, 04:36 PM
I don't think it will ever happen as the Ugly Sisters will be the only real losers from more accurate decision making. And, as we know, only changes that primarily benefit them are ever made.
03-10-2021, 04:37 PM
I disagree.
Porteous won the ball fairly and didn't touch the player. VAR would confirm that.
It doesn’t matter if he won the ball and he didn’t touch the player if the referee deems that excessive force was used. Whether excessive force was used is an entirely subjective opinion and therefore very unlikely to be overturned as a clear and obvious error by VAR.
03-10-2021, 04:48 PM
It doesn’t matter if he won the ball and he didn’t touch the player if the referee deems that excessive force was used. Whether excessive force was used is an entirely subjective opinion and therefore very unlikely to be overturned as a clear and obvious error by VAR.
True, and if that's why he was sent off, Hibs won't even appeal.
03-10-2021, 04:54 PM
VAR would have confirmed a red card today
06-10-2021, 09:14 AM
Porteous red card upheld.
Anyone still thinking VAR would eradicate controversial decisions we get against us versus the old firm?
Bangkok Hibby
06-10-2021, 09:16 AM
Anyone still thinking VAR would eradicate controversial decisions we get against us versus the old firm?
That's a battle which needs to be won. Not a reason to not get VAR in our game.
06-10-2021, 09:21 AM
Morelos retrospective red last season shows it would be useful.
Was against it before last week & then once i saw the social media clips of various ibrox games & what they’ve got away with.
Might be awful the 1st season while we get used to it .
Stonewall
06-10-2021, 01:54 PM
Morelos retrospective red last season shows it would be useful.
it didn’t matter though. He scored the wining goal.
06-10-2021, 02:09 PM
Unreservedly in favour.
If only because it would highlight, focus and expose the kind of bent/poor decision making we see routinely taking place in favour of the Ugly Sisters.
Unreservedly in favour.
If only because it would highlight, focus and expose the kind of bent/poor decision making we see routinely taking place in favour of the Ugly Sisters.Same here. More for the comedy value when the convoluted excuses are summoned up from their weak imaginations in allowing some guilty OF player off the hook.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
06-10-2021, 02:45 PM
it didn’t matter though. He scored the wining goal.
VAR would’ve sent him off though so no winning goal?
06-10-2021, 09:02 PM
VAR would’ve sent him off though so no winning goal?
VAR depends on the referee watching the screen referring decisions. It’s the same biased refs. They just won’t refer the decisions. They will continue to ignore Rangers sins and it will be used to chalk off any goals that Hibs score on any excuse…it’s a very expensive way of rigging thing even more in favour of the Glasgow clubs.
06-10-2021, 09:27 PM
Would everyone have been happy/satisfied if the VAR had confirmed Porto's red card last week during the game?
If yes, then great, it puts an end to controversy and accusations of conspiracies.
If no, then why even bother?
Callyballybe
08-10-2021, 11:18 AM
I'm in favour
Weegreenman
08-10-2021, 02:20 PM
I’m against it. I’ve watched football for many a year and you learn to accept the referee’s decision as final.
Sometimes it goes for you, sometimes against.
The game has been spoiled by having to wait on VAR making a decision. Especially when it comes to a goal being scored or not. The spontaneous celebration of scoring a goal is what attracts many people to the game.
Football is not what it used to be.
08-10-2021, 02:24 PM
Despite Sunday i'm against. Ruins football. Imagine if a winning goal in a cup final or derby and the celebrations that followed were stopped so someone could check a screen? Not for me.
08-10-2021, 02:31 PM
Despite Sunday i'm against. Ruins football. Imagine if a winning goal in a cup final or derby and the celebrations that followed were stopped so someone could check a screen? Not for me.
If we had just lost a goal proven to be offside I would be delighted they were getting the decision correct.
08-10-2021, 02:59 PM
Probably needed in Scotland more than most football nations as it should in theory lay bear the blatant cheating and incompetence of the officials. I say should as it still relies on some other biggot or mouse to make decisions which may be unpopular in the West.
The GFA must be wetting themselves at the prospect of having to explain the unexplainable.
08-10-2021, 04:55 PM
A step closer. To be voted on, bbc suggests most for it. £1m a year picked up by the clubs
08-10-2021, 06:31 PM
A step closer. To be voted on, bbc suggests most for it. £1m a year picked up by the clubs
I'm not sure that's fair on clubs like Livingston or Ross County.
Let's just deduct £600k from the prize money for first and £400k from the prize money for second.
08-10-2021, 07:37 PM
I'm not sure that's fair on clubs like Livingston or Ross County.
Let's just deduct £600k from the prize money for first and £400k from the prize money for second.
A mature, sensible suggestion, well-made & free from bias or hidden agenda....
Entirely in favour of VAR, cannot be worse than the current state of affairs.
08-10-2021, 09:02 PM
The £1m was what I heard just as the news was breaking, looks like around £80k per club per season.
08-10-2021, 09:16 PM
Anything which helps the referees get the major decisions right and reduces the amount of post match greetin' on here will be very welcome
1875Sean
09-10-2021, 11:50 AM
Is there any word if Hawkeye will be introduced along with var for goal line calls?
09-10-2021, 03:18 PM
I voted for as it has to be an improvement on current referees on and around the pitch!
Given only a second to make up their minds, it seems to make them side with the bigger teams?
Given the amount of wrongly given or chalked off goals already this season, at least there is a chance VAR will correct these mistakes?
As for off the ball incidents, it will again depend on the leanings of the ref in the studio!
I think it can only help get rid of all the apparent biased decisions brought on by big crowds baying for blood at every foul!!!
09-10-2021, 05:16 PM
For!!!! Get to celebrate twice.:thumbsup::thumbsup:
09-10-2021, 06:06 PM
After tonight... not a doubt in my mind.
10-10-2021, 08:11 AM
So for the guys at the game last night, did VAR take anything away from the Dykes goal?
10-10-2021, 08:19 AM
So for the guys at the game last night, did VAR take anything away from the Dykes goal?
It certainly takes away from the spontaneity of the moment…which is part of the magic of football. I guess the outcome softened any blow…but going from celebrating, to then stopping and waiting and then celebrating again…is definitely a different fan experience.
10-10-2021, 08:24 AM
So for the guys at the game last night, did VAR take anything away from the Dykes goal? It added to it for me. Huge but interrupted celebration, quick chat asking if VAR was in play and then another huge celebration.
10-10-2021, 08:31 AM
Definitely a loaded question :greengrin Obviously you’re going to enjoy it when it goes in your favour.
10-10-2021, 08:58 AM
I didn’t think so.
In real time it was hard to see much wrong with the goal and it felt straight away like an injustice had been made by ruling it out.
If after checking VAR the decision to rule the goal out was confirmed, I’d find it much easier to accept the decision.
The ref had one look, at speed, and there was a high boot and a low head. There is still, like the tackles, room for a bit of interpretation.
I think controversial decisions are much easier to accept when they’ve been looked at, even if you ultimately disagree with them.
It just felt like another mini stoppage, of which there are plenty during a game.
10-10-2021, 03:53 PM
Absolutely not. Important thing was the correct decision
10-10-2021, 05:01 PM
Definitely a loaded question :greengrin Obviously you’re going to enjoy it when it goes in your favour.
Honestly wasn’t my intention HB, it was more to gauge whether or not people actually felt it detracted from the celebrations or not. Because I only see it on tv and don’t know anyone that goes to English matches and is exposed to VAR it was more curiosity than anything.
10-10-2021, 05:10 PM
It certainly takes away from the spontaneity of the moment…which is part of the magic of football. I guess the outcome softened any blow…but going from celebrating, to then stopping and waiting and then celebrating again…is definitely a different fan experience.
We stopped celebrating as the ref had called it as a foul. VAR made him aware of a possible wrong decision, and along with the fake injury to the defender, we had to wait on all that getting mopped up before he could take a look. The celebrations were like a double hit.
I think VAR should be used in the background in games.
Play the game VAR watches it as normal and any errors he has word with ref live.
Ref give a corner and it's a goal kick he just says it and decision changed. Quick, easy and no need for stopping and wait until it is borderline where several angles need to be used.
9 times out of 10 offsides can be given straight away I think.
10-10-2021, 05:30 PM
perhaps the Dykes goal last night is a case in point, immediate gloom As the goal was disallowed, followed by a huge roar and sense of relief when the goal was given.
The going from celebrating to stopping would have happened without any VAR due to the ref disallowing it. The difference due to VAR was the waiting with anticipation to celebrating again. Of course, you could be on the other end of it like the Israel fans were.
10-10-2021, 06:55 PM
VAR would have confirmed a red card todayIt would have also confirmed a red card for Lundstrom as well, who knows how the game would have planned out after that.
10-10-2021, 07:21 PM
The going from celebrating to stopping would have happened without any VAR due to the ref disallowing it. The difference due to VAR was the waiting with anticipation to celebrating again. Of course, you could be on the other end of it like the Israel fans were.
True. Without VAR would have been a foul …good point . It was my first VAR live experience , so was different to have the double celebration.
Tbh, even at the game I was surprised (but delighted) the VAR review ended in a goal. Even though I knew the defender didn’t get hit in the head, I was still expecting the ref to stand by the high feet decision ….not sure what the laws of the game say about it but foot looked high to me .
10-10-2021, 08:51 PM
Pointless (I think). France goal there should be offside. Not sure if it is or isn't lol.
11-10-2021, 05:13 AM
Pointless (I think). France goal there should be offside. Not sure if it is or isn't lol.
Not a var mistake, just a rubbish rule.