View Full Version : West Stand Upper Kiosk’s

26-09-2021, 02:59 PM
Why are the West Upper Kiosk’s still out of operation?

Adding to queue numbers and putting pressure on the limited kiosks available is falling way short of facility provision for fans. Particularly a few games now into season.

26-09-2021, 04:02 PM

Adding to queue numbers and putting pressure on the limited kiosks available is falling way short of facility provision for fans. Particularly a few games now into season.
Probably not enough staff. They are struggling to fully staff the ones that are already open.

evy
26-09-2021, 05:40 PM

Replace your question with 'why are the shelves emptier than normal', 'why are there massive queues at petrol stations', 'why is it taking longer to get drinks in a boozer' and the answer is the same.

The labour market is f*%ked.

LunasBoots
26-09-2021, 05:45 PM
Brexit.

26-09-2021, 06:13 PM
Ff upper only 1 kiosk open

26-09-2021, 06:17 PM
Probably not enough staff. They are struggling to fully staff the ones that are already open.

I can’t believe they’re struggling so much. The pay is really quite decent for a 16/17 year old.

hibstag
26-09-2021, 06:22 PM
I can’t believe they’re struggling so much. The pay is really quite decent for a 16/17 year old.

Given some of the feedback on here about the staff and kiosks why would they be keen to expose themselves to that environment?

26-09-2021, 06:27 PM
Given some of the feedback on here about the staff and kiosks why would they be keen to expose themselves to that environment?

Because it’s a job and it would give them money?

26-09-2021, 06:29 PM
Because it’s a job and it would give them money?

But is it enough money to make it worth having folks having a go at you because of a long queue because of a shortage of staff or because you've just run out of pies?

26-09-2021, 06:33 PM
But is it enough money to make it worth having folks having a go at you because of a long queue because of a shortage of staff or because you've just run out of pies?

For your first job, for a Couple of hours every other Saturday? Yes!

We’re talking about someone’s first job, most people have done a ***** job at times, particularly when just starting out.

If it was my boy and he didn’t have a job but he said he didn’t want that as it was too much hassle I’d boot him up the arse.

Kids that age used to get sent down mines 😂. Anyone who can’t handle a nippy customer needs to get a grip of themselves.

26-09-2021, 07:28 PM

We’re talking about someone’s first job, most people have done a ***** job at times, particularly when just starting out.

If it was my boy and he didn’t have a job but he said he didn’t want that as it was too much hassle I’d boot him up the arse.

Kids that age used to get sent down mines 😂. Anyone who can’t handle a nippy customer needs to get a grip of themselves.
What a load of pish. No one is going to be happy taking grief for that money. I’d be very surprised if you would want your boy working in a kiosk at Easter Road even if he didn’t have a job.
Id like to say that for all the negativity surrounding the kiosks I’ve always found the young guys working to be very polite and helpful despite the difficulties they’re facing.

26-09-2021, 07:39 PM
What a load of pish. No one is going to be happy taking grief for that money. I’d be very surprised if you would want your boy working in a kiosk at Easter Road even if he didn’t have a job.
Id like to say that for all the negativity surrounding the kiosks I’ve always found the young guys working to be very polite and helpful despite the difficulties they’re facing.

Loads of kids have to start work in retail and customer service and have to deal with ********s every day. I know I did.

This isn’t even every day, it’s once a fortnight.

I’m sorry, but if you’ve not got a job elsewhere, need a bit extra cash and you turn your nose up at a job like this as you don’t want a wee bit grief off the occasional idiot then you need you’re head read.

We’re not talking danger money here, you’re probably going to have a few people tops huffing and puffing as everyone just wants to get back to their seat.

26-09-2021, 07:43 PM
i'm sure i read an article that the club were paying living wage of £9.50/hour very decent

26-09-2021, 07:47 PM

Kids that age used to get sent down mines ��. Anyone who can’t handle a nippy customer needs to get a grip of themselves.

I briefly worked in the Wimpy Bar on Princes St when I was 18. When I got abuse from customers, I just gave them abuse back.

I don't suppose you'd get away with that nowadays :-)

26-09-2021, 07:48 PM
i'm sure i read an article that the club were paying living wage of £9.50/hour very decent

They still can’t get enough staff though, in common with the rest of the hospitality industry. The pay rate will be improved.

26-09-2021, 07:52 PM
They still can’t get enough staff though, in common with the rest of the hospitality industry. The pay rate will be improved.

i was just reading online it gets reviewed in Nov in Scotland

26-09-2021, 07:58 PM
I briefly worked in the Wimpy Bar on Princes St when I was 18. When I got abuse from customers, I just gave them abuse back.

I'd rather have abuse back than god knows what put in my burger (not that I would dish out abuse in the 1st place).

26-09-2021, 08:05 PM
Loads of kids have to start work in retail and customer service and have to deal with ********s every day. I know I did.

I’m sorry, but if you’ve not got a job elsewhere, need a bit extra cash and you turn your nose up at a job like this as you don’t want a wee bit grief off the occasional idiot then you need you’re head read.

We’re not talking danger money here, you’re probably going to have a few people tops huffing and puffing as everyone just wants to get back to their seat.

The world is a different place now. Not always for the better unfortunately. The “when I were a lad” tales don’t tend to wash with the youth of today.

Oh, and you can’t boot your boy up the arse now either 😉

26-09-2021, 08:22 PM

The kids working in the kiosks aren’t starting out, they’re students. I had to wait today after there was a problem with the juice. I listened to them talking and all they spoke about was what course they were doing. You’re laddie won’t be working behind the counter and it’s disingenuous to say you’d be happy for him to do so.

Paul1642
26-09-2021, 08:32 PM
Furlough ending in a few days won’t do any harm. No more getting paid to sit at home for folk (or as a few I know are doing, get paid Furlough for one job whilst getting paid cash in had at another)

26-09-2021, 08:38 PM
Furlough ending in a few days won’t do any harm. No more getting paid to sit at home for folk (or as a few I know are doing, get paid Furlough for one job whilst getting paid cash in had at another)

A lot of people making a pretty penny the last year and a half doing this.

26-09-2021, 09:00 PM

Fairly sure you were allowed a second job while getting paid furlough unless it changed? Was never furloughed so not looked into it that much but sure I heard them discussing this at their many briefings.

26-09-2021, 09:10 PM

I thought they were getting 80% of their salary? With the adddd worry there might not be a job to go back to.

26-09-2021, 09:31 PM

Worked there for a few years from age 16 and customer abuse was almost daily. Brilliant job as a teenager, £1.56 p/hr.

Guildford arms or Penny Black after every shift, 92p per pint. Loved it.

26-09-2021, 09:37 PM

Assume they were making 125% of a pretty penny beforehand.

Jay
26-09-2021, 09:52 PM

It's not a couple of hours every other Saturday though. Unless you think the pies cook themselves and the elves come in to clean? It also means they cant take other work as they have to be free for home games which can get switched at fairly short notice. The rest of the time they are earning nothing.

As for the abuse, try working in the away stand when the huns are in town. My boy had to close down the whole thing at his place as they were kicking off big time and stealing what they could. They couldn't staff it for Rangers games after that.

26-09-2021, 09:53 PM
Have to say, I fair enjoyed my tea and Hibs doughnut from the East kiosk today.

26-09-2021, 09:53 PM
Fairly sure you were allowed a second job while getting paid furlough unless it changed? Was never furloughed so not looked into it that much but sure I heard them discussing this at their many briefings.

You couldn't do any work for your own employer when on furlough (although you could do training) but there was nothing to stop you taking another job whilst on furlough.

evy
27-09-2021, 01:20 PM
You couldn't do any work for your own employer when on furlough (although you could do training) but there was nothing to stop you taking another job whilst on furlough.

There wasn't but it'd be taxed as a second job.

27-09-2021, 01:51 PM
Worked there for a few years from age 16 and customer abuse was almost daily. Brilliant job as a teenager, £1.56 p/hr.

Guildford arms or Penny Black after every shift, 92p per pint. Loved it.

Did they ever make you dress up in the Mr Wimpy costume for a kids party?

I only had to do it once and the wee buggers kicked my legs black and blue!

27-09-2021, 02:05 PM
Did they ever make you dress up in the Mr Wimpy costume for a kids party?

I only had to do it once and the wee buggers kicked my legs black and blue!

Never had to make me, I'd happily volunteer!!

Kids parties and wandering along Princes St on a sweltering hot summers day!!

At 16 years old thee kinda jobs taught me so much though, had some great times working with a bunch of folk my own age and earning actual money instead of getting pocket money. It was fantastic.

27-09-2021, 05:45 PM
I had my daughter(8) with me yesterday and asked for a kids meal to be told they didn't do them, then told she didn't know what they do, then told they did have them.

I worked in that environment for a number of years and I expect the real challenge is training the team up to operate for 3/4 hours every couple of weeks.

My bigger issue was the sheer amount of packaging that was served with the various items. Trying to unwrap my 6 pies and my plastic juice while squeezed into my wee seat was a bit difficult :greengrin

29-09-2021, 08:09 PM
Any improvement tonight?

29-09-2021, 08:14 PM
Never had to make me, I'd happily volunteer!!

Kids parties and wandering along Princes St on a sweltering hot summers day!!

At 16 years old thee kinda jobs taught me so much though, had some great times working with a bunch of folk my own age and earning actual money instead of getting pocket money. It was fantastic.

Oh so that was you then?

I always wondered who wandered round the streets in that outfit

29-09-2021, 10:17 PM
Any improvement tonight?

Not in west lower…

Something needs changed.

30-09-2021, 04:52 AM

And to there was some numpty on Twitter calling the club an f Disgrace for charging fior the beam back as we could easily make the money back from the kiosks… numpty who actually lived in Canada so no firsthand experience…

berwickhibee
30-09-2021, 05:15 AM
Wasn't too bad at West Upper, 5 minute wait at 6 45.
Kiosk looked good and some hibs branding on the walls.

30-09-2021, 05:45 AM
Wasn't too bad at West Upper, 5 minute wait at 6 45.
Kiosk looked good and some hibs branding on the walls.
Did they have chips and hot running water in the bogs?

( Serious question)

30-09-2021, 07:06 AM

( Serious question)

No chips in the upper (very little other than pies and two hamburgers) - had to go downstairs for the chips.

30-09-2021, 07:08 AM
No chips in the upper (very little other than pies and two hamburgers) - had to go downstairs for the chips.

BS44
30-09-2021, 07:41 AM

( Serious question)

I'm no expert, but food dispensing from a lavvy is a health and safety no-no.

30-09-2021, 08:07 AM
I'm no expert, but food dispensing from a lavvy is a health and safety no-no.