View Full Version : Hibs v St Johnstone
25-09-2021, 12:59 PM
So is it the same starting line up as Thursday for Hibs?
Mikey_1875
25-09-2021, 01:08 PM
JR mentioned post match there would probably be some changes for the weekend or words to that effect. Wouldn’t be surprised to see Doig come back in and possibly Cadden for Allan in a 3-5-2. I don’t think Allan deserves to lose his place but it may be a case of managing his fitness.
It’ll no doubt be a turgid game due to the opposition where a moment of quality might just be the difference so I would expect Allan to get good chunk of the game either way whether thats starting or the last half hour.
25-09-2021, 01:09 PM
JR mentioned post match there would probably be some changes for the weekend or words to that effect. Wouldn’t be surprised to see Doig come back in and possibly Cadden for Allan in a 3-5-2. I don’t think Allan deserves to lose his place but it may be a case of managing his fitness.
It’ll no doubt be a turgid game due to the opposition where a moment of quality might just be the difference so I would expect Allan to get good chunk of the game either way whether thats starting or the last half hour.
The thought of Doig defending the back post area against Rooney is enough to keep you awake tonight.
Mikey_1875
25-09-2021, 01:20 PM
The thought of Doig defending the back post area against Rooney is enough to keep you awake tonight.
Yeah been caught out a couple of times this season but he’s going to have to learn and at least he will be able to compete on height. Lewis won’t stand a chance with some of the crosses.
Hopefully 3 centre backs would give us more bodies in the box to defend the crosses as they will no doubt be targeted as a weakness for us this season.
25-09-2021, 01:20 PM
So is it the same starting line up as Thursday for Hibs?
Think Doig will come back in Billy, a wee rest for him the other night.
25-09-2021, 01:24 PM
Think Doig will come back in Billy, a wee rest for him the other night.
It was only an opening question. Hope we’ve learned from last seasons games against them. I’d have McGregor in, maybe move to a 352
See what happens tomorrow
Key West
25-09-2021, 01:26 PM
When is Wood going to get an opportunity?
25-09-2021, 01:26 PM
When is Wood going to get an opportunity?
When Ross decides to play 352
25-09-2021, 01:27 PM
When Ross decides to play 352
Does he play ahead of Daz
jingler1954
25-09-2021, 01:33 PM
For me Scotty has to start even if it's only for 45 minutes he has the ability to unlock turgid defences. It is imperative we get the first goal.
25-09-2021, 01:34 PM
Magennis was absolutely dead on his feet so wont be overly surpised if he's rested
Depends on how he recovers
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Key West
25-09-2021, 01:44 PM
Hibs are at home and need to start with a brighter tempo.
25-09-2021, 01:47 PM
Need to try something different against St Johnstone so Allan to start for me.
25-09-2021, 03:08 PM
Yes
25-09-2021, 03:46 PM
It was Wood, not McGregor, on the bench against St Mirren so I'd assume so.
25-09-2021, 03:48 PM
Hibs are at home and need to start with a brighter tempo.
We scored in the third minute on Thursday?
Highwayman
25-09-2021, 03:58 PM
As Calum, Davidson last season,seemed to have some pre match mystic knowledge of Hibs formation and tactics and dealt with it accordingly.Let the smartass work this one out.
Formation 4-4-2
Dabrowski
Cadden,McGregor,Wood.Stevenson
Henry,Gogic,Allan,Mackay,
Scott,Gullan
Not going to happen,but sometimes you have to do some “blue water thinking” (whatever that means) to come at things from a different angle.
25-09-2021, 04:03 PM
Is it a big game tomorrow?…
25-09-2021, 04:07 PM
As Calum, Davidson last season,seemed to have some pre match mystic knowledge of Hibs formation and tactics and dealt with it accordingly.Let the smartass work this one out.
Formation 4-4-2
Dabrowski
Scott,Gullan
Not going to happen,but sometimes you have to do some “blue water thinking” (whatever that means) to come at things from a different angle.
Apart from the fact that won’t be the team😂, who is Henry
25-09-2021, 04:08 PM
Only if we lose
25-09-2021, 04:25 PM
Only if we lose
Haha, true with this place.
I wonder if someone will be a long to weight how big a game it is.
25-09-2021, 04:30 PM
A 1-0 win puts Hibs 2nd top again, that in my mind is a big game😀
25-09-2021, 05:46 PM
A 1-0 win puts Hibs 2nd top again, that in my mind is a big game[emoji3]
When we set our sights on Europe in a competitive league , all league games are big games [emoji106]
25-09-2021, 05:54 PM
Formation 4-4-2
Dabrowski
Scott,Gullan
When did we sign Algernon Winston Spencer Castlereagh Razzmatazz?
25-09-2021, 05:58 PM
Hibs need to win tomorrow.
Octobers games will see the 1st round of fixtures complete and our true standing revealed.
Rangers and Aberdeen away and Dundee Utd and Celtic at home is a tough run.
A draw at Aberdeen and a win at home against Dundee Utd is 4 points to add to what we have after tomorrow.
That will probably see us in 4th place behind Hearts.
Hibs are currently 4 point behind a reasonable schedule after 2 draws to bottom 6 teams.
Hearts are 1 point ahead of a reasonable schedule after 1 draw against a bottom 6 team and a win against one side of the OF.
In conclusion we need a win tomorrow given our rivals for 3rd won today.
25-09-2021, 06:25 PM
Hibs need to win tomorrow.
Octobers games will see the 1st round of fixtures complete and our true standing revealed.
Rangers and Aberdeen away and Dundee Utd and Celtic at home is a tough run.
A draw at Aberdeen and a win at home against Dundee Utd is 4 points to add to what we have after tomorrow.
That will probably see us in 4th place behind Hearts.
Hibs are currently 4 point behind a reasonable schedule after 2 draws to bottom 6 teams.
Hearts are 1 point ahead of a reasonable schedule after 1 draw against a bottom 6 team and a win against one side of the OF.
In conclusion we need a win tomorrow given our rivals for 3rd won today.
Was just about to say this
We play 4 teams from current top 7, 1 of the seven being us.
Will give us an indication where we are needing to be at come jan window.
Hibeewilly
25-09-2021, 07:28 PM
It was only an opening question. Hope we’ve learned from last seasons games against them. I’d have McGregor in, maybe move to a 352
See what happens tomorrow
That's what I would do Billy with Doig playing in the left wing back role. Stevenson doesn't deserve to dropped after Thursday night but if he goes 3 at the back it allows Doig more freedom to play to his strength which is obviously attacking. Will Ross do that.....I would doubt it as it would mean dropping McGinn IMO and he made him vice captain
25-09-2021, 07:43 PM
Stupid post, similar to the one you were replying to.
FWIW it was me who mentioned the thing about big games being weighted, it’s not a difficult concept. Some big games will mean more to some people than other big games and the idea they can all be bundled together as big games is flawed. I gave my opinion without being disrespectful or acting like a smart arse, I backed it up with my thoughts on the relevant thread, you are perfectly entitled to disagree with it, running off to other threads to try and take the piss makes you look like a prick IMO.
25-09-2021, 07:52 PM
Can we try and keep this thread civil and on topic please.
There are a few 'jokes' that are being repeated across several threads that are starting to wear thin. By all means argue your point with posters you disagree with, repeatedly mocking others on multiple threads is not something we have ever tolerated and we won't be starting now.
25-09-2021, 07:57 PM
Can we try and keep this thread civil and on topic please.
There are a few 'jokes' that are being repeated across several threads that are starting to wear thin. By all means argue your point with posters you disagree with, repeatedly mocking others on multiple threads is not something we have ever tolerated and we won't be starting now.
Thanks PB.
Apologies if my response was OTT.
25-09-2021, 08:15 PM
Stupid post, similar to the one you were replying to.
FWIW it was me who mentioned the thing about big games being weighted, it’s not a difficult concept. Some big games will mean more to some people than other big games and the idea they can all be bundled together as big games is flawed. I gave my opinion without being disrespectful or acting like a smart arse, I backed it up with my thoughts on the relevant thread, you are perfectly entitled to disagree with it, running off to other threads to try and take the piss makes you look like a prick IMO.
Grow up and less of the personal attacks. Folk have been banned for less.
25-09-2021, 08:18 PM
Need to win this. Need to break whatever hold St Johnstone have on us.
25-09-2021, 08:24 PM
Grow up and less of the personal attacks. Folk have been banned for less.
I’m not going to get involved in back and forth mud slinging, all I’ll say is if you disagree with a post, debate it.
Taking the piss out of peoples opinions on different threads to the one it was made is poor IMO.
In reference to the point you were replying to, there was absolutely no need for a comment about it being a big game or not and was clearly made to troll people who have a different opinion to you and the person you quoted.
Just lastly, I’ve made it almost 40 years old without growing up so I’m not about to start now thank you very much.
25-09-2021, 08:28 PM
I’m not going to get involved in back and forth mud slinging, all I’ll say is if you disagree with a post, debate it.
Taking the piss out of peoples opinions on different threads to the one it was made is poor IMO.
In reference to the point you were replying to, there was absolutely no need for a comment about it being a big game or not and was clearly made to troll people who have a different opinion to you and the person you quoted.
Just lastly, I’ve made it almost 40 years old without growing up so I’m not about to start now thank you very much.
Take it to a PM lads, folk want to read about the game.
25-09-2021, 08:35 PM
I'm quite enjoying it. Not just me that's had a few libations. 😀
25-09-2021, 08:35 PM
Only one guy mud slinging.
Anyway, important game tomorrow, here’s hoping we’re both on here celebrating a win against our bogey team.
Tough run of games ahead after too.
25-09-2021, 08:38 PM
It’s not started yet, there’s plenty time to talk pish before the game 😉
Only joking of course.
With regards to the game, I just hope Nisbet isn’t up front himself, it doesn’t work IMO.
I’m not sure how it would work with Allan playing as a number 10, it never used to suit him as he wanted to be more involved in the play however I think his game is starting to change a bit and it could work.
Macey
McGinn
Porto
Hanlon
Doig
JDH
Magennis
Newell
Allan
Boyle
Nisbet
I think that’s the same team as Thursday apart from Doig but I wouldn’t have Allan on the left.
Boyle and Allan both would need to drift wide to provide width.
25-09-2021, 08:41 PM
Only joking of course.
With regards to the game, I just hope Nisbet isn’t up front himself, it doesn’t work IMO.
I’m not sure how it would work with Allan playing as a number 10, it never used to suit him as he wanted to be more involved in the play however I think his game is starting to changer a bit and it could work.
Macey
McGinn
Porto
Hanlon
Doig
JDH
Magennis
Newell
Allan
Boyle
Nisbet
I think that’s the same team as Thursday apart from Doig but I wouldn’t have Allan on the left.
We scored 3 goals in the first half last game with him up top on his own. So it clearly does work. It just doesn’t have to be the striker scoring the goals. He clearly likes the 4231 system.
25-09-2021, 08:46 PM
We scored 3 goals in the first half last game with him up top on his own. So it clearly does work. It just doesn’t have to be the striker scoring the goals. He clearly likes the 4231 system.
Very different game tomorrow though.
I think they’ll play with 3 at the back and they’ll swallow Nisbet up if he’s up there himself.
The first half of the game last weekend is closer to how the game is likely to be played than Thursday IMO,
Allez Hibs
25-09-2021, 08:49 PM
Very tough game tomorrow. Hopefully Boyle can have one of his better games so we can terrorise them with his pace. We need a switched on Nisbet too.
25-09-2021, 08:53 PM
Will be hard for us. They have zero intention of ever leaving their own 18 yard line, so breaking on them is very difficult. Need to get some efforts in from range, and box them in, consistently probing them. They will crack. We score first, it changes everything.
25-09-2021, 08:53 PM
We are long overdue a win against them. Going to happen sooner or later. Tomorrow please.
25-09-2021, 08:54 PM
Will be hard for us. They have zero intention of ever leaving their own 18 yard line, so breaking on them is very difficult. Need to get some efforts in from range, and box them in, consistently probing them. They will crack. We score first, it changes everything.
Aye think scoring first is the difficult thing. We got past 20mins without a goal & we’ll be struggling imo.
25-09-2021, 09:01 PM
Aye think scoring first is the difficult thing. We got past 20mins without a goal & we’ll be struggling imo.
Be interesting to see how losing McCann and Kerr has effected them.
25-09-2021, 09:03 PM
The results today have shown how important it is we win our home games. Really important we get a result tomorrow and hopefully Ross has worked out how to pick the St Johnstone lock. They haven't made the best start to the season but typically we play them just when they have won their last two away games without conceding. Going to be a tough one but if we need to focus on a third place finish this year and given the way other teams have started and are playing 3pts are incredibly important.
It is a big match for me due to other results and the fact Ross hasn't been able to out think Davidson despite a team that costs far more. For clarification I'd weigh it as below a Derby or the Uglies but on a par with a run of the mill Aberdeen game or maybe even slightly above. With other teams winning most weeks every game will be a big game this year
Allez Hibs
25-09-2021, 09:05 PM
The results today have shown how important it is we win our home games. Really important we get a result tomorrow and hopefully Ross has worked out how to pick the St Johnstone lock. They haven't made the best start to the season but typically we play them just when they have won their last two away games without conceding. Going to be a tough one but if we need to focus on a third place finish this year and given the way other teams have started and are playing 3pts are incredibly important.
It is a big match for me due to other results and the fact Ross hasn't been able to out think Davidson despite a team that costs far more. For clarification I'd weigh it as below a Derby or the Uglies but on a par with a run of the mill Aberdeen game or maybe even slightly above. With other teams winning most weeks every game will be a big game this year
If we are as good as we think we are then 3pts are vital tomorrow to stay in touch.
25-09-2021, 09:10 PM
If we are as good as we think we are then 3pts are vital tomorrow to stay in touch.
I disagree.
Clearly it would be great to win tomorrow and the advantages of doing so are obvious but there’s still ages to go and all the teams we are competing with for 3rd place will drop points and go through sticky spells.
No prizes are given out in September and even if we lose we’re still well in touch with 3rd place.
25-09-2021, 09:24 PM
If we concede the first goal we’ll lose going by the pattern of games against them last season. They are without Gordon, Kerr and McCan. Also missing another couple in midfield. Hasn’t stopped them going to Aberdeen and winning 1-0, which is their usual. Soak up all the pressure and score on the break.
Two away losses in twenty two games is a good record and we’ll do well to break them down. I’d start Allan just to give us something different against them.
Allez Hibs
25-09-2021, 09:31 PM
I disagree.
Clearly it would be great to win tomorrow and the advantages of doing so are obvious but there’s still ages to go and all the teams we are competing with for 3rd place will drop points and go through sticky spells.
No prizes are given out in September and even if we lose we’re still well in touch with 3rd place.
This could be the season where there is actually a title race involving mire than the old firm going by results so far and they are both still in Europe.
25-09-2021, 09:33 PM
This could be the season where there is actually a title race involving mire than the old firm going by results so far and they are both still in Europe.
No chance IMO.
Selkirkhibs
25-09-2021, 09:35 PM
Only joking of course.
I’m not sure how it would work with Allan playing as a number 10, it never used to suit him as he wanted to be more involved in the play however I think his game is starting to change a bit and it could work.
Macey
McGinn
Porto
Hanlon
Doig
JDH
Magennis
Newell
Allan
Boyle
Nisbet
We won 3-1 just Thursday night against DUFC with Kevin the lone striker.
My preference would be for Kevin and Christian as a front two but we've won matches with Kevin as a lone striker so it does work.
Selkirkhibs
25-09-2021, 09:41 PM
If we concede the first goal we’ll lose going by the pattern of games against them last season. They are without Gordon, Kerr and McCan. Also missing another couple in midfield. Hasn’t stopped them going to Aberdeen and winning 1-0, which is their usual. Soak up all the pressure and score on the break.
Two away losses in twenty two games is a good record and we’ll do well to break them down. I’d start Allan just to give us something different against them.
The day I pish my pampers over the thought of facing St Johnstone is the day I'd give up watching Hibernian.
25-09-2021, 09:47 PM
I disagree.
There is still plenty time but there are also more teams in contention and we have a run of fixtures where picking up points will be tough. Lose tomorrow and we are likely 5th and trying to catch up with two teams with the Dons potentially snapping at our heels. From what I read 3rd place guarantees European football till Christmas so the prize is bigger than usual. Yes it isn't a must win but not taking 3 points means our climb to 3rd will become steeper
25-09-2021, 09:48 PM
The day I pish my pampers over the thought of facing St Johnstone is the day I'd give up watching Hibernian.
Not sure anyone is “pishing their pampers” to be honest.
Allez Hibs
25-09-2021, 09:50 PM
Not sure anyone is “pishing their pampers” to be honest.
I think a few are spooked by St Johnstone.
We should never be scared of St Johnstone.
Looking at the table and run of games coming up, 3pts tomorrow are important.
25-09-2021, 09:53 PM
We won 3-1 just Thursday night against DUFC with Kevin the lone striker.
My preference would be for Kevin and Christian as a front two but we've won matches with Kevin as a lone striker so it does work.
Mentioned it in a reply to someone else who made the same point but I think tomorrow will be a very different game.
The game won’t be as open as it was on Thursday night being the main difference.
berwickhibee
25-09-2021, 11:19 PM
Macey
Mcgregor
Porto
Hanlon
Doig
Cadden
Jdh
Newell
Allan
Boyle
Nisbit
25-09-2021, 11:30 PM
I think we will win tomorrow. We are a better team than them and if we put cup games to the back of our minds, we will be too strong for them.
147lothian
25-09-2021, 11:38 PM
They play with 3 at the back and look well organized as a unit, they deal with crosses into the box clearing their line, I think Scott Allan will be the key to a Hibs victory with a killer pass.
25-09-2021, 11:38 PM
Did not know they made them in your size😁
They will set up more than likely the way they always do against us. That's why Scotty is important in games like this, we have been very predictable in previous matches against them.
25-09-2021, 11:41 PM
No idea why people want Daz in the team. Stop the crosses and all will be fine.
25-09-2021, 11:42 PM
Not a chance.
18Craig75
26-09-2021, 06:36 AM
I’m intrigued to see what approach JR goes for. I was critical of him after the SC final because I felt we didn’t plan anything to counter the threats ST J had posed us all season.
So do we play our game again, but this time aim to take our chances before they get into it? Or does he come up with something to specifically deal with the threat of Rooney at the back post?
He could bring in Wood and match them with a back 3, not sure what he’s like in the air mind. It was Rooney’s runs from deep that caused all the problems, so that would mean either Lewy/Doig would have to be on it and tasked with at the very least not letting him get a clear run into the box.
Really hope we can get the win and put this one to bed. We could really kick on after if we do IMO!
loanheadhibby
26-09-2021, 06:50 AM
Tend to agree but also, we’ve not beaten them at ER in the league for a very long time. St Johnstone deserve more respect than some given them credit for. Granted they are not a joy to watch, but they are effective.
We can all predict how it will go. They’ll defend for their lives, throw a few crosses in to our box and probably score with a header.
As someone said earlier, hopefully we start with same tempo as Thursday night rather than the sluggish start against St Mirren.
26-09-2021, 07:17 AM
Only if we loose.
Saint Hibee
26-09-2021, 07:19 AM
Defend the crosses, and we will win.
Bangkok Hibby
26-09-2021, 07:20 AM
Allan to start and get the opening goal with a moment of magic from him! Otherwise I'm concerned. Sticking with 1-0 Hibs though.
26-09-2021, 07:23 AM
Allan 26
26-09-2021, 08:00 AM
We really need a win today to get back on track in the league. Our run recently hasn’t been great and we’ve a difficult run of games to come so nothing short of 3 points today is acceptable.
26-09-2021, 08:13 AM
I want to see Jack Ross set us up for this game with a really clear plan to break them down. The last few times we played them, including the cup final, they were organised and their plan worked flawlessly meanwhile we have looked lost.
Obviously I'm no football manager but the first thing I would be saying is the keep the ball on the deck at all costs. We can play it out wide but no one crosses into the box unless it's a pass along the ground. Their centre halfs have dealt with our aimless crosses with ease in the past so I'd be telling them to do something different.
I'd also be telling the likes of Magennis and Nisbet to get early shots off centrally to test their keeper, but the most important thing would be if they press us we must keep our passing composure and not resort to hoofing it down the line. Keep the ball and don't always resort to crosses into the box and I think we stand a chance.
26-09-2021, 08:15 AM
Haven’t beaten them at ER since January 2016.
We haven’t beaten them in the last 5 games.
26-09-2021, 08:20 AM
We haven’t beaten them in the last 5 games.We'll still make chances though. Similar luck to Thursday night could see us 3-0 up at half time.
26-09-2021, 08:20 AM
I'm not feeling confident about today's game.
St J have quite clearly worked out how to play us and our obvious problem with crosses into the box from the left is one they'd worked out quite a while back.
We need to improve a lot from our last home display against St Mirren.
Souter96Mac
26-09-2021, 08:24 AM
Buzzing for this. My first Hibs match since Caley in the Scottish cup Feb 20.
St J are the pinnacle of a bogey team however. Hopefully we can get 3 points
No idea why people want Daz in the team. Stop the crosses and all will be fine.
Possibly because they’ve bullied us at times
Is our record at ER v them not worse than that? Thought it went back to 2012 or something daft.
26-09-2021, 08:25 AM
Haven’t beaten them at ER since January 2016. We haven’t beaten them in the last 5 games. Pretty sure we didn't beat them in January 2016, we were in the championship.
26-09-2021, 08:30 AM
That game was at swiney, League Cup semi.
As far as I can see our last home win against them was 25 August 2012 although hopefully someone will correct that if I'm wrong.
26-09-2021, 08:38 AM
There was a good article in the paper about Thomas Tuchels coaching. When he was preparing to play a team that attacked from the flanks and did most of their damage out wide, he would cone off the wide areas at training so when his team (Mainz I think) had the ball, they would get used to funneling it through the middle with short passes which made it harder for Stuttgart to counter attack from wide positions, his team won easily. That’s St Johnstones strength as well.
Curried
26-09-2021, 08:44 AM
Doig has started the last 4 matches against St Johnstone and we’ve lost every one of them. Why not try something different at left back and start a bonafide defender like Steveson? Just an idea Jack.
Allez Hibs
26-09-2021, 08:47 AM
Doig has started the last 4 matches against St Johnstone and we’ve lost every one of them. Why not try something different at left back and start a bonafide defender like Steveson? Just an idea Jack.
That is a good idea after Thursday.
26-09-2021, 08:49 AM
Yip id play stevenson, doig for me hasnt done enough defensively this season to warrant a start today, but he probably will
26-09-2021, 08:55 AM
Macey
McGinn Porto Hanlon Stevenson
JDH Newell Magennis
Boyle Nisbet Allan
26-09-2021, 08:59 AM
I'm not feeling confident about today's game.
St J have quite clearly worked out how to play us and our obvious problem with crosses into the box from the left is one they'd worked out quite a while back.
We need to improve a lot from our last home display against St Mirren.
I'm the opposite. I think we'll win today. In saying that, I wasn't confident about Thursday night and the game was won by half time. Clearly know nothing.
26-09-2021, 09:04 AM
We really need a win today to get back on track in the league. Our run recently hasn’t been great and we’ve a difficult run of games to come so nothing short of 3 points today is acceptable.
Need to be careful with phrases like this. Folk will take it literally and next thing you know they will be asking what you gonna do if we don't win!
I'm tipping us for a comfortable win in what is a really, really big game for us today.
Nisbet playing up front on his own to score at least 2, neither of them penalties.
No chance anyone is calling me a yam today.
26-09-2021, 09:07 AM
I think it's a fair shout.
It's going to be a tight game today and we can't afford to ship any easy goals.
26-09-2021, 09:08 AM
I'm the opposite. I think we'll win today. In saying that, I wasn't confident about Thursday night and the game was won by half time. Clear know nothing.
You and me both, mate
26-09-2021, 09:11 AM
I’m intrigued to see what approach JR goes for. I was critical of him after the SC final because I felt we didn’t plan anything to counter the threats ST J had posed us all season.
So do we play our game again, but this time aim to take our chances before they get into it? Or does he come up with something to specifically deal with the threat of Rooney at the back post?
He could bring in Wood and match them with a back 3, not sure what he’s like in the air mind. It was Rooney’s runs from deep that caused all the problems, so that would mean either Lewy/Doig would have to be on it and tasked with at the very least not letting him get a clear run into the box.
Really hope we can get the win and put this one to bed. We could really kick on after if we do IMO!
We need some height at the back. Play Woods in back 3.
26-09-2021, 09:16 AM
Not sure who to come in, but need to freshen things up IMO. Few of them looked absolutely knackered towards the end of the game the other night.
26-09-2021, 09:40 AM
Absolutely massive game especially with going to Ibrox next week. We need these 3 points or we could easily find ourselves 6 behind the pink freaks.
expresso
26-09-2021, 09:42 AM
Time we hammered SJ they’ve had it their own way with us for too long.
I’m going to embrace the spirit of one of my early Hibs games, over on holiday from Ireland in 1976? we hammered them 9-2!
26-09-2021, 09:47 AM
Be interesting to see how losing McCann and Kerr has effected them.
Two important players that is for sure. Didn't think defensively they were as good against Rangers but they have signed reasonably well in midfield with Ali Crawford and Cammy McPherson. They are a very decent side and a strong squad and as always will be a tough game. Would be good to get a break against them and get ahead in the game.
26-09-2021, 09:59 AM
Need to be careful with phrases like this. Folk will take it literally and next thing you know they will be asking what you gonna do if we don't win!
It’s funny cause it’s true :agree:
26-09-2021, 10:17 AM
That game was at swiney, League Cup semi.
As far as I can see our last home win against them was 25 August 2012 although hopefully someone will correct that if I'm wrong.
Unfortunately you're not wrong.
As you say the game in 2016 was at Tynecastle.
We've played them 7 times at Easter Road since our last victory - 3 draws and 4 defeats.
26-09-2021, 11:13 AM
What time do turnstiles open again? Come all the way up from england and don't want any issues scanning my ticket.
Thanks.
Shanksaidno
26-09-2021, 11:17 AM
You and me both, mate
Agree ... play Lewis today
26-09-2021, 11:25 AM
Lewis has played very well indeed when called upon this season, better than Doig imo.
Obviously 2 different sets of strengths and weaknesses but I would have no issues whatsoever with Lewis starting this game.
26-09-2021, 12:28 PM
30% of StJohnstone's starters who gave us trouble last season have moved on so not the same team.
Saying that Davidson will try to play in the same way to get the same result but it all depends if his replacements can play to the same level.
Their best two players, Kerr and McCann are gone and been replaced by Ambrose and Crawford. Their free kick specialist Tanser is gone and replaced by Brown.
Efe was their MOTM last week but he doesn't have the discipline of Kerr. Crawford is a good replacement for McCann but isn't on the same level. Brown is a bog standard player and Tansers loss makes them less effectual from free kicks although Middleton shoots well from them.
Would like to see us try to blow them away in the 1st 45 minutes.
A back 3 with Wood getting his 1st game. A holding mid to take the ball from the CH's and who can switch in if Porteous has a chance to amble forward with the ball. Attack hard from the start with the other six outfield players including Allan who is good for 55 minutes.
Absolutely no point in having Allan on the pitch if you are not on the front foot.
Hopefully we would be 2-0 up when Allan departs to be replaced by Gogic. Then closing the game out with the 3 centre half's in position to defend any high balls into our box and Gogic clamping down on their midfielders.
26-09-2021, 12:49 PM
Barrels dropped to the bench. That’s worrying.
26-09-2021, 12:51 PM
Personally wouldnt have dropped doyle hayes but looks like its been done to get allan back into centre midfieldwhich is where he should be
Weegreenman
26-09-2021, 12:52 PM
A real test for us today regards making a statement that we can challenge for top spot.
C’mon the Hibees! 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬💚
26-09-2021, 12:53 PM
Few issues with the turnstiles in the east and cold food I'm back at Easter Road.
Mon the Hibs.
Tarrahib
26-09-2021, 01:31 PM
Time we hammered SJ they’ve had it their own way with us for too long.
I’m going to embrace the spirit of one of my early Hibs games, over on holiday from Ireland in 1976? we hammered them 9-2!
Went down to Edinburgh for the game. Decided it wouldn’t be much of a game,stayed in pub missed match. I was gutted.
26-09-2021, 01:38 PM
Doig needs to step up today against Rooney.
We can’t lose a back post headed goal to Rooney again.