View Full Version : Hib5 number plate

Alfiembra
23-09-2021, 03:55 PM
My son spotted this yesterday, anyone on here or anyone from the club?

23-09-2021, 06:06 PM

I hate the lights on these minis.

Prof. Shaggy
23-09-2021, 06:42 PM

I don't know. It's due it's mot on 23/9/23 if that helps.

23-09-2021, 07:23 PM
Thread reminded me on Saturday Iwas behind H185 SED and couldn't work out whether it was one of us or one of them...

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Green Diet
23-09-2021, 09:06 PM
Not me but I'm the proud owner of the car plate HIBS based in Dunedin New Zealand. There's also another car with the plate HIBS1 here too which i see driving around every so often; so there's at least 2 Hibbies here.

Its great when visiting Hibs fans come up to me to get their photo taken with the plate and have a quick chat!!

scm70nyd1973
23-09-2021, 10:00 PM
Not me but I'm the proud owner of the car plate HIBS based in Dunedin New Zealand. There's also another car with the plate HIBS1 here too which i see driving around every so often; so there's at least 2 Hibbies here.

Its great when visiting Hibs fans come up to me to get their photo taken with the plate and have a quick chat!!

Make that 3 - a JAFA plate I’m afraid 🤭

https://www.hibs.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=25125&stc=1&d=1632434343

23-09-2021, 10:13 PM
I’ve got Y23 HFC

Green Diet
23-09-2021, 10:23 PM
Make that 3 - a JAFA plate I’m afraid 🤭

https://www.hibs.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=25125&stc=1&d=1632434343

Nice one

23-09-2021, 10:54 PM
I have EH18 SFC

23-09-2021, 11:15 PM
I’ve got H18 SFR funnily enough.

23-09-2021, 11:16 PM
H18SGW and L666HFC for me

24-09-2021, 12:24 AM
I’ve got Y23 HFC

my son has H13(B) KGC

24-09-2021, 06:55 AM
My mate had HM 07 HFC :greengrin

expresso
24-09-2021, 08:04 AM

Smashing registration originally from Co Armagh

24-09-2021, 08:10 AM
I can never remember my registration apart from the 1st 2 letters - BJ.

Strange that.

24-09-2021, 08:14 AM
My mate had HM 07 HFC :greengrinGot our photo taken with that before 2016 cup final as guy and his family were parked at our hotel.

We've got 7-0 and wifes initials and there's an HIB 740 knocking around Lincolnshire as well.

Bangkok Hibby
24-09-2021, 08:33 AM
Sorry if this upsets anyone but I've always felt private plates look totally naff. They never spell exactly what you want them to. Some are better than others but most are cringeworthy.

Only my opinion of course.

Since I moved to Thailand and got a car I was asked what I wanted my number plate to be. Picked my year of birth and that's exactly what I got. Not something close, or using letters to mean numbers or vice versa but spot on.

Eaststand
24-09-2021, 09:15 AM
My mate had HM 07 HFC :greengrin

Your mates got good taste...
I'm PC07 HFC

😀🇳🇬

zitelli62
24-09-2021, 09:33 AM
Was behind a car the other day number plate H185 FAN it looked great.

Tarrahib
24-09-2021, 10:17 AM
SC 21 MAY. Number plate was still available on DVLA site last month

Tarrahib
24-09-2021, 10:20 AM
SC 21 MAY. Number plate was still available on DVLA site last month
Still available £699.

24-09-2021, 10:55 AM
Sorry if this upsets anyone but I've always felt private plates look totally naff. They never spell exactly what you want them to. Some are better than others but most are cringeworthy.

Since I moved to Thailand and got a car I was asked what I wanted my number plate to be. Picked my year of birth and that's exactly what I got. Not something close, or using letters to mean numbers or vice versa but spot on.

I particularly don't get why you'd want a football related one. I think it is just asking for your windows to be smashed in or your tyres to be slashed.

24-09-2021, 10:59 AM
I particularly don't get why you'd want a football related one. I think it is just asking for your windows to be smashed in or your tyres to be slashed.

This has always been my thoughts too.

vercol36
24-09-2021, 11:03 AM
sorry if this upsets anyone but i've always felt private plates look totally naff. They never spell exactly what you want them to. Some are better than others but most are cringeworthy.

Since i moved to thailand and got a car i was asked what i wanted my number plate to be. Picked my year of birth and that's exactly what i got. Not something close, or using letters to mean numbers or vice versa but spot on.

y0u mu5t b3 fun 4t p4rt135

24-09-2021, 11:30 AM

He's here!
24-09-2021, 12:56 PM

Some of them spell exactly what you want. There used to be one I saw which read HMFC 0 HFC 7 and had 'The Greatest Game in History' in wee letters underneath it.

Bangkok Hibby
24-09-2021, 01:27 PM

Yea what a laugh 😦

24-09-2021, 01:37 PM

That's awesome!

DanishJohn
24-09-2021, 03:54 PM
One of the best plates seen driving about the streets of Edinburgh years ago

50 BER

Won't say who it was but 99% sure he was/is a Hibby
And yes following the Hibs can drive you to drink.

Renton1875
24-09-2021, 03:59 PM
Followed GH18 EES up the road to the game last weekend. Have also seen H1 BHY buzzing about too.

at last 61
24-09-2021, 04:38 PM
I’ve got h18s ne and h18yye :flag::flag:

24-09-2021, 04:42 PM

50 BER

A well known lawyer

24-09-2021, 04:48 PM
I never thought I would spend money on such a thing but I felt it would be good to relive the best day in my life. I have V16 SDG.

Fratelli
24-09-2021, 05:05 PM
Couldn't resist buying C007 HBS, covering my first name, the 'greatest game in history' and mixed with a little bit of 'Bond' going on for good measure!

24-09-2021, 05:12 PM

50 BER

The car it used to be on was an orange Bond Bug. Ran about the West end, Dean Bridge area in the 1970s

24-09-2021, 05:28 PM
Some of them spell exactly what you want. There used to be one I saw which read HMFC 0 HFC 7 and had 'The Greatest Game in History' in wee letters underneath it.

Aye right!!! You obviously have no concept of how registration plates work. What were the ACTUAL letters and numbers that formed that??

24-09-2021, 05:30 PM
Aye right!!! You obviously have no concept of how registration plates work. What were the ACTUAL letters and numbers that formed that??
Might be my guy

HM 07 HFC

Pretty sure he had that legend underneath

24-09-2021, 05:45 PM
The car it used to be on was an orange Bond Bug. Ran about the West end, Dean Bridge area in the 1970s

I used to see a car with that number plate parked in that area around about 1970, but it was a wee sports car not a Bug.

Brilliant number though!

24-09-2021, 05:46 PM
Might be my guy

HM 07 HFC

Could be. A bit of a brain fart from the person I replied to I suppose, possibly. 😉

Alfiembra
24-09-2021, 06:16 PM
I used to see a car with that number plate parked in that area around about 1970, but it was a wee sports car not a Bug.

Brilliant number though!

yep it was on a yellow Lotus IIRC.

24-09-2021, 06:58 PM
Might be my guy

HM 07 HFC

Pretty sure he had that legend underneathIt's that one, it was on a toyota of some sort.

h18eeynick
24-09-2021, 07:06 PM
I have H18 EEY and suits me as always called myself a hibee !

linlithgowhibbie
24-09-2021, 07:44 PM
I've got L17HGY, don't like parking it in Bo'ness tho!:thumbsup:

Prof. Shaggy
24-09-2021, 07:56 PM
NHC, but I used to drive a wee Corsa, **** AYE, to work in West Lothian. Early one morning I pulled off the M8 and went around the roundabout below. A bit cheekily a wee car pulled onto the roundabout ahead of me. Registration **** OCH! I wanted to flash crazily and maybe get a photo, but, as it looked like a woman driver, I thought better of it.

The Pointer
26-09-2021, 11:11 AM

I remember seeing that in the West End approx. '75-'78 on a Jag.

EI255
26-09-2021, 02:42 PM
I hate the lights on these minis.I know of someone who wanted a Mini, without those horrible rear lights. Mini salesman said it was impossible to sell without them. So she pulled the plug and bought a different car. Just WHY would you want to advertise the 'Union'?!

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Hector Mudflap
26-09-2021, 04:55 PM
My wife has G6TTH- she bought it and calls her car Gloria.

Im not jealous much.

26-09-2021, 05:09 PM
Still available £699.

Not for long 😜

26-09-2021, 05:10 PM
Passed a car today with the hibs badge and hibs tartan all over, just down from the stadium, pretty cool

27-09-2021, 09:17 AM
Not Hibs plate but a neighbour of my daughter has the plate GIRUY.

27-09-2021, 09:32 AM
Saw V16 SDG yesterday. Very subtle.

28-09-2021, 12:05 PM
Saw V16 SDG yesterday. Very subtle.

That’s mine. I have to explain it to a lot of Hibby friends.

28-09-2021, 12:16 PM
That’s mine. I have to explain it to a lot of Hibby friends.

I like it.

hibeenicol
28-09-2021, 12:22 PM
My wife has G6TTH- she bought it and calls her car Gloria.

Im not jealous much.

I see it pass now and again, I have G9TTH :flag:

adam middlemass
28-09-2021, 12:39 PM
Best number plate I’ve seen belongs to a guy called Jim, a Hawick man who now lives in Earlston- it’s AH11 BBY. I spotted it a few years ago in Hawick and went over and had a good blether with him, top bloke too and a proud hibby . Didn’t ask how much he paid for it though! :thumbsup:

28-09-2021, 12:40 PM

Unfortunately, I agree, it would be okay down here or somewhere abroad, but if I moved back to Musselburgh it would be a magnet for the local puddle drinkers...

pity cos I really fancy one!

Jay
28-09-2021, 01:01 PM
Unfortunately, I agree, it would be okay down here or somewhere abroad, but if I moved back to Musselburgh it would be a magnet for the local puddle drinkers...

pity cos I really fancy one!

My son used to park his on Gorgie Road when he worked in the bookies and never got any bother even on match days.

28-09-2021, 01:19 PM
Not Hibs but I think one of the most expensive plates ever was AR53NAL.

28-09-2021, 01:20 PM
Not for long 😜

Can only go on a 21 plate car but if you have 👍

28-09-2021, 02:03 PM
I’ve got H18EEA on retention.

Alfiembra
28-09-2021, 04:35 PM
One I haven’t seen for many years used to be on an old Citroen up in Cameron Toll area was H188EES.
Doing an MOT history check it doesn’t recognise the plate but searching the DVLA registrations it comes up as unavailable so it must be out there somewhere would be worth a fair bit I guess.

at last 61
28-09-2021, 04:35 PM
I have H18 EEY and suits me as always called myself a hibee !

I was told about the number plates for sale but missed out on a few but still got H18YYE

Eaststand
28-09-2021, 06:00 PM
I was told about the number plates for sale but missed out on a few but still got H18YYE

After our Scottish Cup win I looked online for SC16 HFC to buy that but it was taken by some lucky person.

29-09-2021, 11:14 AM
I lease my car so just get whatever reg plate they send and I usually have a mental block about remembering them, but currently I have BL68 DVO which I've decided stands for "Born Leith 1968"...I was struggling to work out what the DVO could be, then it struck me...Denise Van Outen :greengrin I never forget my reg number now :thumbsup:

Bangkok Hibby
29-09-2021, 01:45 PM
I lease my car so just get whatever reg plate they send and I usually have a mental block about remembering them, but currently I have BL68 DVO which I've decided stands for "Born Leith 1968"...I was struggling to work out what the DVO could be, then it struck me...Denise Van Outen :greengrin I never forget my reg number now :thumbsup:

Much better than the nearly but not quite, personalised nonsense 😀👍🏻

29-09-2021, 02:15 PM
I lease my car so just get whatever reg plate they send and I usually have a mental block about remembering them, but currently I have BL68 DVO which I've decided stands for "Born Leith 1968"...I was struggling to work out what the DVO could be, then it struck me...Denise Van Outen :greengrin I never forget my reg number now [emoji106]Got me thinking about an old works motor I used to have, green Vauxhall cavalier, BLO 3Y.

We used to call it Blobby, not one for the purists I know but there you go.

Someone's still got the plate. Maybe it's Noel Edmunds[emoji16]

GTMRossaK3
29-09-2021, 07:16 PM
Jimmy Tarbuck had COM1C. There was an elderly guy in Stonehaven who had ORG1E on his Jaguar. Must have had a great memory!

Hector Mudflap
19-10-2021, 10:46 PM
I see it pass now and again, I have G9TTH :flag:

That would be a good photo- both together ! Wave the next time !

19-10-2021, 11:12 PM
Seriously thinking about suggesting to the wife that she get me HIBEES plates for my car for Christmas. No one here will know what it means but who cares.....:greengrin

ozhibs
20-10-2021, 02:52 AM
Seriously thinking about suggesting to the wife that she get me HIBEES plates for my car for Christmas. No one here will know what it means but who cares.....:greengrin

That’s my number plate in Oz

CA Hibby
20-10-2021, 05:34 AM

I have HIBS here in California, when I first ordered it had to explain to the DMV wasn't some kind of derogatory slang

Orourke73
20-10-2021, 06:40 AM
Best one I've seen was a jambo. H20 KYD.
Guess who?

Tarrahib
20-10-2021, 06:43 AM
Best one I've seen was a jambo. H20 KYD.
Guess who?
Water kyd

NthCarolinaHibs
20-10-2021, 06:54 AM

Wouldn't be too sure..I had Hibs Fan and Hibs1 when I lived in NC,and often got a beep and the vickie's,from passing cars..🙄

20-10-2021, 07:14 AM
When we moved to Munich, my Missus went to re-register the car and, because German number plates have to have the correct regional prefix, it has to start with the letter 'M'... she chose MCN1875 (MCN being the first three letters of my 2nd name).

Not that exciting to anybody else but It cheered me up :-)

20-10-2021, 07:46 AM
Theres a guy who drives around Airdrie/Chapelhall with the plate HIB 5777. I seen him in the petrol station one day and asked him if he was a Hibby and he said no. I told him he'd get a fortune for that plate and he said "Do you think so"? :confused:

20-10-2021, 10:39 AM
Always fancied getting one but what puts me off you get one idiot who takes offence and damages your car.

20-10-2021, 11:18 AM
Always fancied getting one but what puts me off you get one idiot who takes offence and damages your car.
I'd be more likely to get an invite to join the Knights of St Columbus :greengrin

20-10-2021, 01:29 PM

I’ve had a ‘Hibs’ plate for about 20 years and never had any damage done. Hopefully not just jinxed it 🤣

coldingham hibs
23-10-2021, 01:29 PM
Might be my guy

HM 07 HFC

Seen this in Dunfermline recently, a number of Hibs plates in this area.

23-10-2021, 01:52 PM
Seen this in Dunfermline recently, a number of Hibs plates in this area.

Surprisingly there’s quite a number in Livingston area!

23-10-2021, 04:17 PM
I’ve got H18 SBH on retention. Basically HIBS & my initials. Owned the number for 25 years now.
Have a PCP car just now and didn’t bother doing the transfer but when that contract expires next year, the Hibby plate will be back on the road.