View Full Version : This Season

19-09-2021, 07:21 PM
Is this a rare season when someone other than Celtic or Sevco has a chance to win the title, if only they’d have the belief ? Celtic finished with 10IAR, Sevco not having to stop them ?

19-09-2021, 07:24 PM
Is this a rare season when someone other than Celtic or Sevco has a chance to win the title, if only they’d have the belief ? Celtic finished with 10IAR, Sevco not having to stop them ?

One of them will still comfortably reach 80+ points. No one else is able to have the consistency to compete with that.

19-09-2021, 07:29 PM
No chance. It’ll never happen unfortunately. If one of them is **** enough to not win it the other won’t be.

Keyser Sauzee
19-09-2021, 07:31 PM
It’s impossible to say it will never happen without knowing what the future holds but, it will never happen.

19-09-2021, 07:37 PM
I think you need to assess how many points will be required to win the title, are us Hearts or Aberdeen likely or indeed good enough to reach that tally? I dont think so. We're decent but title challengers? I'd say miles off sadly. Rangers will win the title by at least 10 points IMO.

19-09-2021, 07:39 PM
It won't happen because the likes of ourselves and Hearts will have more weekends like this one than they will. They both dropped points and so did we. Next time the Edinburgh sides drop points, they won't.

Over the course of a season all the 'it's only one game', '2 points dropped but we go again' and 'you can't expect to win every game, football doesn't work like that' adds up and you find yourself 20+ points adrift.

19-09-2021, 07:41 PM
We'll still finish about 15-20 points behind second place sadly.

We don't have the consistency to challenge over a full season.

19-09-2021, 07:44 PM
Na. Hibs have had good fixtures so far and still cant beat fodder like Dundee and St Mirren. Those 2 could win 10 games in a row, something we'll never do.

19-09-2021, 07:50 PM
We'll still finish about 15-20 points behind second place sadly.

We don't have the consistency to challenge over a full season.

If Celtic keep up their away form they won't be anywhere near second.

19-09-2021, 07:50 PM
It won't happen because the likes of ourselves and Hearts will have more weekends like this one than they will. They both dropped points and so did we. Next time the Edinburgh sides drop points, they won't.

Over the course of a season all the 'it's only one game', '2 points dropped but we go again' and 'you can't expect to win every game, football doesn't work like that' adds up and you find yourself 20+ points adrift.

Your last paragraph makes it sound like attitude is the difference when the real difference is financial.

They pay for the quality in their first team and they pay for the quality in depth. You can't hold thinner squads to the same standards. The reason nobody expects to compete is because of the significant financial gulf.

We all know if there is any sign of trouble for the OF come the next transfer window they will simply buy their way out if it.

19-09-2021, 07:51 PM
I don’t think we have a chance.

I think there is/was a genuine chance to push Celtic. They’re a mess but we would need to build up a good advantage early doors and we’ve already blown the chance to do that IMO with the late goals lost to Dundee and St Mirren. Once you can take but it happening again a few weeks later in really similar fashion shows we’re not learning quickly enough or ruthless enough.

19-09-2021, 07:52 PM
If Celtic keep up their away form they won't be anywhere near second. They will be 2nd at worse, even if they lose half their away games.

19-09-2021, 07:55 PM
Your last paragraph makes it sound like attitude is the difference when the real difference is financial.

They pay for the quality in their first team and they pay for the quality in depth. You can't hold thinner squads to the same standards. The reason nobody expects to compete is because of the significant financial gulf.

We all know if there is any sign of trouble for the OF come the next transfer window they will simply buy their way out if it.

Of course it's financial but the financial disparity has created a disparity of expectation as well.

We don't even expect to beat teams like St Mirren every time we play them despite all the obvious advantages we have. The same can't be said of Rangers and Celtic when they play us, even if it doesn't always play out that way.

It's something Hibs as a club have touched on several times in recent years. Making sure we tick every other box to negate the financial circumstance as much as possible and closing the gap. I wouldn't ever expect us to win the league but I see no reason why we couldn't be a hell of a lot closer to the top 2 than we have been for most of the last 40 years.

19-09-2021, 07:58 PM

If the OF teams continue to play as they are the answer has to be yes
Teams like ourselves need to believe they can do it and go for it.
Easier said than done and we would need to be beating teams like Dundee and St Mirren to achieve this but without question if the OF continue as present there is an opportunity for someone.

19-09-2021, 08:12 PM
If Celtic keep up their away form they won't be anywhere near second.

I'm fairly certain they won't.

To get second place a team probably needs around 75-80 points - which probably equates to about 22-24 wins.

Last season we had one of our best ever seasons and we managed 18 wins.

I really don't see anything other than a Glasgow 1 and 2.

19-09-2021, 08:13 PM
1. Sevco
2. Sellick

but it could be different

1. Sellick
2. Sevco

fact and end of

19-09-2021, 08:37 PM
Unlikely but certainly wouldn't surprise me if some club split Celtic and Rangers. Killie got even more points than we did in second half of 17/18 and some club may fo so again. Sadly I don't think we'll be that club. Motherwell's results since we beat them suggest they're going to have a good season. Celtic and Rangers will always drop points after Thursday Euro matches

19-09-2021, 08:41 PM
This happens every season after the first ten games or so

Happened with the jambos a few years back they won their first six I think

Happened with Aberdeen when Rangers weren’t in the top flight

Won’t happen any time soon

Ever

19-09-2021, 08:51 PM
Nobody’s winning the league outside the old firm

second place is not impossible.

Allez Hibs
19-09-2021, 09:09 PM

It should be, but the establishment would never allow it and Mathie has squandered any shot we had.

Billy McKirdy
19-09-2021, 09:21 PM
What a depressing reality that even when we seen to be doing alright the 100% expectation is that we will never split the old firm let alone finish above them both to win the league, it makes you wonder why even show any ambitions at all?

19-09-2021, 09:34 PM
What a depressing reality that even when we seen to be doing alright the 100% expectation is that we will never split the old firm let alone finish above them both to win the league, it makes you wonder why even show any ambitions at all?

Because their is a glass ceiling between third and second that has been broken once in 30 years by a team that spent about £30million they didn’t have and that was the grand total of their league achievements. Until that ceiling is forcibly removed by the authorities or someone injects serious cash into a club it won’t make a difference how much ambition we show. It was like when the St Mirren chairmen said top six was their aim, everyone laughed at him.

19-09-2021, 09:48 PM

You nailed it with this post.

19-09-2021, 10:15 PM
No chance. Hibs along with the Hertz and Sheep don't have the strength of squad. Celtc and the Huns will easily finish top 2.

19-09-2021, 11:44 PM
I know it’s all if buts and maybes but just imagine we never chucked the lead to St Mirren and Dundee in the last few minutes.

Going to be a very tight league this season, one loss and results going against us and we’re 6th.

Allez Hibs
20-09-2021, 06:18 AM
I know it’s all if buts and maybes but just imagine we never chucked the lead to St Mirren and Dundee in the last few minutes.

Going to be a very tight league this season, one loss and results going against us and we’re 6th.

Or how about we see out wins from winning positions and be 7 points ahead of Celtic.

Is it a tougher league than last season?

hfc-1875
20-09-2021, 06:41 AM
Wonder when the last time was that Celtic, rangers, hibs, hearts and Aberdeen all failed to win on the same weekend?

20-09-2021, 06:54 AM
I’m going to say yes we can, but it would take the uglies to both have a really shocking season and us to go on a run of victories that would take us into a lead that would put pressure on the both of them. I can’t remember a season where they’ve both been as bad as this, but it’s still early days. There’s nothing wrong with dreaming.

20-09-2021, 08:01 AM
One of them will still comfortably reach 80+ points. No one else is able to have the consistency to compete with that.

Certainly not us! We drop too many points against other teams in the league to put us within touching distance.

DIXIHIBS
20-09-2021, 08:25 AM
I think if we are ever to challenge the top 2 (unlikely) then some fans need to show a bit more belief as well as the players. When st mirren equalised on saturday there was a mass exit. With injury time there was 5 minutes left at that point. That must effect the players. Consider the difference that 5 minutes roaring the team on to get a winner or 5 minutes of fans streaming to the exits. Quite noticeable that we seemed to have sorted the late goals problem last season and saw a lot of games out and now that the fans are back....

20-09-2021, 08:32 AM
We need a Scott Brown figure to keep everyone up to their mark.
Unfortunately, they don't grow on trees!

20-09-2021, 09:02 AM
Or how about we see out wins from winning positions and be 7 points ahead of Celtic.

Is it a tougher league than last season?

Yeah - loads of folk were saying that last season that it was going to be a tougher league this season. The promoted side going straight to top 6 backs that up.

20-09-2021, 09:03 AM

It’s working wonders up in Aberdeen.

20-09-2021, 09:03 AM
The points dropped on Saturday means we have to beat either Celtic or Rangers or not lose to both in this first round of fixtures to be on track.
Of course, that also includes winning home games against St J (when did that last happen?) and Dundee Utd. Scudding Aberdeen at Pittodrie would be very nice too.
Highly unlikely to keep up the necessary level of consistency over the season...

20-09-2021, 09:04 AM

:agree: good post

BegbieHSC
20-09-2021, 09:51 AM
The Celtic, Rangers, Sevco streak won’t go on forever. It’s been >30 years, but there will come a season where us, Aberdeen or even the **** will be in a position to end it.

Celtic had an atrocious season last, and if the Huns brought back Pedro/Murty form in the same season, surely one of the 3 bigger teams can be there to capitalise.

Granted Celtic still finished 14 points ahead of us, on what was considered a good season for us, but if we could find a level of consistency, at least winning most games outwith the Glasgow two, them taking points off each other, and a few slip ups against lower down the table, then why not?

Get the level of stability, and have a good few transfer windows, and be ready for that season where they’ll be simultaneously off it.

BegbieHSC
20-09-2021, 09:55 AM
And interestingly, both Glasgow teams have had sluggish starts. If we hadn’t chucked away points in the last few minutes against St Mirren and Dundee, from our inability to defend crosses, then we’d be 3 points clear at the top, and I’m sure there would be some interesting threads on here.

Maybe if we’d had a slightly better transfer window, this season could have raised some eyebrows.

20-09-2021, 10:22 AM
I think if we are ever to challenge the top 2 (unlikely) then some fans need to show a bit more belief as well as the players. When st mirren equalised on saturday there was a mass exit. With injury time there was 5 minutes left at that point. That must effect the players. Consider the difference that 5 minutes roaring the team on to get a winner or 5 minutes of fans streaming to the exits. Quite noticeable that we seemed to have sorted the late goals problem last season and saw a lot of games out and now that the fans are back....
That doesn’t make any sense. You suggest that we had sorted the late goals problem but now that the fans are back it’s a problem again. Earlier in your post you suggest the problem was everyone leaving after the late goal. Trying to pin late goals on the fans is preposterous, the other late goal came in an away match where the hibs fans were loud and supportive.

20-09-2021, 10:25 AM
And interestingly, both Glasgow teams have had sluggish starts. If we hadn’t chucked away points in the last few minutes against St Mirren and Dundee, from our inability to defend crosses, then we’d be 3 points clear at the top, and I’m sure there would be some interesting threads on here.

Maybe if we’d had a slightly better transfer window, this season could have raised some eyebrows.

Yeah, if we hadn’t….

We can’t work on the basis of that ever being resolved. The budgets that the Old Firm have make it more likely that they will minimise the amount of games they don’t see over the line.

It’s a worthless exercise looking at points we could have won as really if you extend that the Old Firm should win every week.

20-09-2021, 10:43 AM
For me the main thing is that Hibs seem to be making progress at being consistently one of the best four teams in the league. We haven't done that over the course of three of four season since the early 1970's. That should be the first objective..get ourselves into a position where we are in the top four every year and continue to improve the commercial income. That will allow us to build and get nearer to the Old Firm, and maybe, just maybe give them a fright one season if they slip up. Here is how I see our development moving:

Last Season: A bit boring on the park, but ground out a lot of good results and came 3rd in the league thanks to a dissapointing season from Aberdeen and brilliant away form. Two excellent cup runs, with disappointing conclusions.

This Season: Stronger team and best players retained, football is better to watch and still undefeated. On course to be fighting for 3rd place again and this despite key injuries. January transfer window will be interesting. Good Cup runs will be key to maintaining momentum. Commercial income rising.

Next Season: Better run in Europe as squad continues to be improved, media favourites for top four finish and increased squad depth paid for by increased commercial income. First time since 1976 that we have been in the top four for three consecutive seasons. Commercial income now passes that of both Aberdeen and Hearts, giving us the 3rd biggest budget in Scotland

20-09-2021, 10:44 AM

He's doing a cracking job of that at Aberdeen....

LeithMike
20-09-2021, 10:45 AM
Leicester showed that it's possible for an upset (albeit they still had a mukti-million pound team) and I don't see why it can't happen in Scotland. However, while the old firm look vulnerable this year, none of the other teams are good enough to take advantage and that's probably already proven with the amount of points dropped by Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen so far.

To beat the old firm over the season you would need them to be fairly weak while one of the challengers was particularly strong (and was able to remain so through the winter transfer window).

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

DIXIHIBS
20-09-2021, 11:09 AM
That doesn’t make any sense. You suggest that we had sorted the late goals problem but now that the fans are back it’s a problem again. Earlier in your post you suggest the problem was everyone leaving after the late goal. Trying to pin late goals on the fans is preposterous, the other late goal came in an away match where the hibs fans were loud and supportive.
Im not blaming fans but are you saying that thousands leaving early as soon the opposition scores doesnt effect the players? You might not agree but fans reaction/nerves transfers to the players. When no fans were there, that impact was clearly less.

20-09-2021, 11:26 AM
Im not blaming fans but are you saying that thousands leaving early as soon the opposition scores doesnt effect the players? You might not agree but fans reaction/nerves transfers to the players. When no fans were there, that impact was clearly less.

They shouldn't be playing for Hibs if they can't cope with the fans expectations. I've said in the past that the fans don't necessarily help the players when the score is tight late in games and it's nervy but if you pull on a Hibs shirt you should have big enough shoulders to deal with it. Easter Road can be an unforgiving place but that isn't unusual for the home support at a big club. Man up, see the game out and get the points or go and play for Livingston. Fans leaving after losing a late goal would happen at Ibrox and Celtic Park too.

20-09-2021, 11:30 AM
Yeah - loads of folk were saying that last season that it was going to be a tougher league this season. The promoted side going straight to top 6 backs that up.

It’s definitely a tougher league this season. Hearts have come up, beat Celtic at home, ran them close away and remain unbeaten in the league. Essentially, we’ve replaced the ***** that got relegated last season with a team that look semi decent.

20-09-2021, 11:38 AM
They’re professionals they shouldn’t be affected by that sort of thing. The best way to stop fans walking out early is not to concede sloppy late goals. I stayed to the end and I’d prefer if everyone did, but either way it shouldn’t have an effect on the players.

20-09-2021, 11:42 AM
Celtic blew it at Livi, Rangers get a draw with Motherwell with an offside goal!
Then the rest of the challengers draw?
It just another season of highlights and broken dreams!
But, I remember when we dreamt of winning the Scottish Cup, "Dream big you never know it might just happen"!!!!

20-09-2021, 08:02 PM

True but I meant a Broony figure. Not himself. Ah ye ken whit ah mean!

He's here!
20-09-2021, 08:39 PM

Of course the ultimate difference is financial. Hibs and Hearts haven't won a title since the 1950s but back then the likes of the Famous Five were earning as much (if not more) than Old Firm players due to the fact we could pay huge win bonuses thanks to the flood of cash coming through the turnstiles.

However, attitude does make a difference. By that I mean there simply isn't the same pressure playing for Hibs and Hearts as there is playing for Celtic or Rangers. There's pressure, yes, but it's a different sort of pressure to being expected to win the league every year and that plays its part when it comes to lacking the mental strength to see out games we really should be winning. And of course that brings us back to the financial difference. Players with a big-time mentality tend to end up at big-time clubs.

20-09-2021, 10:41 PM
Leicester showed that it's possible for an upset (albeit they still had a mukti-million pound team) and I don't see why it can't happen in Scotland. However, while the old firm look vulnerable this year, none of the other teams are good enough to take advantage and that's probably already proven with the amount of points dropped by Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen so far.

To beat the old firm over the season you would need them to be fairly weak while one of the challengers was particularly strong (and was able to remain so through the winter transfer window).

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

It can be done. You don’t need to match the OF budgets to beat them. That’s why it’s called sport… the most fancied competitors usually come good, but not always.

21-09-2021, 08:49 AM

I dont think they got him in early enough,:greengrin probably 4 years too late. :wink:

GRA
21-09-2021, 09:09 AM

All about the perspective you look at recent results. In three games this season we've gone a goal down. From those we got a win and two draws. 5 points gained...

That said given the set of fixtures to start the season its been a golden opportunity to put some proper points on the board before a tough fixture list in October.

Allez Hibs
21-09-2021, 12:22 PM
All about the perspective you look at recent results. In three games this season we've gone a goal down. From those we got a win and two draws. 5 points gained...

That said given the set of fixtures to start the season its been a golden opportunity to put some proper points on the board before a tough fixture list in October.

Not sure I'd look at it as 5 points gained for a club like ours, a team like St Mirren yes but we have bigger fish to fry. Being sensible, we dropped 4 points in the games away at Dundee and at home to St Mirren. Jack Ross rightly furious about the result on Saturday.

21-09-2021, 12:26 PM

We should be better than st mirren at home, we should be beating dundee as well especially when you miss a golden opportunity to go 3-1 up.

Perhaps the problem in these games is going a goal down in the first place?

Defensively we’ve been poor since the start of the season bar a couple games. Especially at cross balls, to point out the obvious.

21-09-2021, 12:55 PM
No chance.

We've only won 3 out of our 6 league games and we've had possible the easiest start in terms of fixtures. We'd need to improve when we play the tougher fixtures if we're going to challenge for 3rd again, never mind the league.

21-09-2021, 01:13 PM
Just out of interest, I compared our corresponding results from last season (ie. 1st time we played Motherwell away, Ross County at home, etc.) I substituted Hamilton for Dundee & Killie for Hearts

Motherwell A
21/22 W3-2
20/21 W3-0

Ross County H
W3-0
L0-2

Dundee A
D2-2
W4-0 (Hamilton)

Livi H
W2-0
L0-3

Hearts A
D0-0
W1-0 (Killie)

St Mirren H
D2-2
W1-0

Comparison

2021/22 - 3 wins, 3 draws = 12 points, F12 A6 GD +6
2020/21 - 4 wins, 2 losses = 12 points, F9 A5 GD +4

I've no idea what use that is, apart from maybe showing that it looks like we're continuing our form from last season in like-for-like matches.

21-09-2021, 01:13 PM
No chance.

We've only won 3 out of our 6 league games and we've had possible the easiest start in terms of fixtures. We'd need to improve when we play the tougher fixtures if we're going to challenge for 3rd again, never mind the league.

Hi Steve - quick question. Has your glass ever been half full?

21-09-2021, 02:00 PM
It’s definitely a tougher league this season. Hearts have come up, beat Celtic at home, ran them close away and remain unbeaten in the league. Essentially, we’ve replaced the ***** that got relegated last season with a team that look semi decent.

Score wise they may have ran them close however that game could easily have been 6 1. A late goal flattered then big time.

21-09-2021, 02:09 PM
Yeah, if we hadn’t….

We can’t work on the basis of that ever being resolved. The budgets that the Old Firm have make it more likely that they will minimise the amount of games they don’t see over the line.

It’s a worthless exercise looking at points we could have won as really if you extend that the Old Firm should win every week.

And St Mirren and Dundee both think they should have won the games against us!

And nobody ever seems to recognise the games we did win that we maybe wouldn’t have automatically expected to win but did. Even last year when we had one of our best point tallies overall we still had folk lamenting specific dropped points to the point we’d have been more or less winning every game.

No Hibs fan would accept us losing to the Old Firm every time like it’s their right to beat us so we shouldn’t be arrogant enough to assume we have a right to beat everyone “smaller” than us.

For anyone to say we’ve not had a very good start to the season is absolutely mental.