View Full Version : Shouldn't that hurt?

CJHibby
19-09-2021, 12:19 PM
Am I being too harsh in being gutted at yesterday's result? It's our passivity at such results that constantly gets me. We just readily brush it off and move on. Can't we be a bit more ambitious?

19-09-2021, 12:22 PM
Crying over spilt milk. Take the point and move on.

19-09-2021, 12:25 PM
It was a cracking game of football, you cant win them all, and if you dont win then make sure you dont lose.

Bring on the next game. :thumbsup:

19-09-2021, 12:28 PM
Disappointment lasted about an hour. Take the point and move on.

19-09-2021, 12:28 PM
It was a cracking game of football, you cant win them all, and if you dont win then make sure you dont lose.

Bring on the next game. :thumbsup:

You must have watched a different game to me, BH

CJHibby
19-09-2021, 12:31 PM
It was to go top of the league-properly before the pedants arrive-and a slip up in my book. I was content enough with a point the previous week, even if I wanted a win but feel deflated this week.

19-09-2021, 12:32 PM
Am I being too harsh in being gutted at yesterday's result? It's our passivity at such results that constantly gets me. We just readily brush it off and move on. Can't we be a bit more ambitious?

We didn't play well other than a 20 min spell after half time, take the positives of not losing and getting a point and move on...we ain't Real Madrid we arent gonna win every single week

19-09-2021, 12:35 PM

What do you want us to do about it?

19-09-2021, 12:43 PM
You must have watched a different game to me, BH

I thought it was a good game, St Mirren were in our face from the first minute. They did the famous Heckingbottom press, and pushed us back all over the park.

We tried to keep the ball, but at times we had to launch it because they were so good at their job. I was quite impressed with the way they went about getting at us, and it was good to watch how we tried and tried to keep playing our way.

Half time comes, and whatever Jack said it did the trick, along with Scott coming on, we seemed to be a different side, and rightly went in front, and we played some terrific football too.

Of course we lost 2 goals and only got a draw, but looking at the game as a whole, there was a few chances for both sides, the game was end to end, and i enjoyed it immensely.

19-09-2021, 12:47 PM
I thought it was a good game, St Mirren were in our face from the first minute. They did the famous Heckingbottom press, and pushed us back all over the park.

We tried to keep the ball, but at times we had to launch it because they were so good at their job. I was quite impressed with the way they went about getting at us, and it was good to watch how we tried and tried to keep playing our way.

Half time comes, and whatever Jack said it did the trick, along with Scott coming on, we seemed to be a different side, and rightly went in front, and we played some terrific football too.

Of course we lost 2 goals and only got a draw, but looking at the game as a whole, there was a few chances for both sides, the game was end to end, and i enjoyed it immensely.

Seconded.

19-09-2021, 12:47 PM
It was a poor result but I think a few of us have adjusted our expectations in line with our squad.

If we’d had a bit more depth and been able to hook Nisbet when he was having a stinker, I think we’d be more pissed off.

The players and manager are doing their best and even over a great season we’ll suffer setbacks. It was very disappointing but equally we need to be sensible.

It might have been different had a few of the teams around us not also stumbled.

19-09-2021, 12:49 PM

Of course we lost 2 goals and only got a draw, but looking at the game as a whole, there was a few chances for both sides, the game was end to end, and i enjoyed it immensely.Thirded

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

19-09-2021, 12:51 PM

Agree with most of that……I didn’t particularly enjoy the first half at the time though.

19-09-2021, 12:53 PM

Yep we’re all gutted but there is nothing we can do to change the past. Onwards and upwards

19-09-2021, 01:16 PM
No amount of wishing will change yesterday's result and it's a fact that our performance, especially in the first half, merited little more than the result we got.

But I get the OP's take on things. You can take the pragmatic view that the fact Hearts only drew and Aberdeen lost means it was a net positive day for us. But, it has to be said that Saturday was a chance to put two points between us and our nearest rival for third and open up an 8 point gap on Aberdeen against a team with a poor league record up until then and one we would hope to be beating if we are to progress.

Aye it could have been worse, but the attitude from Hibs has to be that it could have been so much better, that result was part of a recurring theme from last season where we more often than not failed to fully capitalise on our nearest rivals slipping up. If we don't view these circumstances as a disappointment perhaps its time we started, hoping the club take an attitude of 'that could have been better' rather than 'that could have been worse' isn't too much to be asking IMO.

DanishJohn
19-09-2021, 03:14 PM
No amount of wishing will change yesterday's result and it's a fact that our performance, especially in the first half, merited little more than the result we got.

But I get the OP's take on things. You can take the pragmatic view that the fact Hearts only drew and Aberdeen lost means it was a net positive day for us. But, it has to be said that Saturday was a chance to put two points between us and our nearest rival for third and open up an 8 point gap on Aberdeen against a team with a poor league record up until then and one we would hope to be beating if we are to progress.

Aye it could have been worse, but the attitude from Hibs has to be that it could have been so much better, that result was part of a recurring theme from last season where we more often than not failed to fully capitalise on our nearest rivals slipping up. If we don't view these circumstances as a disappointment perhaps its time we started, hoping the club take an attitude of 'that could have been better' rather than 'that could have been worse' isn't too much to be asking IMO.

Totally agree.

If we want to just bob along like we did in the not too distant past then not losing might be acceptable. Will not get us relegated.
Even saying onwards and upwards is not really much good because home draws are not going to take you upwards, more likely to take you downwards.

We could all talk all day about players, formations, coaches, and even other teams but I don't think it comes down to that.

I think it's what R Gordon Esq thinks that matters. Interesting that someone has perhaps been moved on, allegedly because we as a club did not perform well in the summer transfer window. Some say harsh. I prefer to think of it as ruthless. I fear results like yesterday's will not be tolerated. It's a new mindset now.

19-09-2021, 03:30 PM

Totally agree.

If we want to just bob along like we did in the not too distant past then not losing might be acceptable. Will not get us relegated.
Even saying onwards and upwards is not really much good because home draws are not going to take you upwards, more likely to take you downwards.

We could all talk all day about players, formations, coaches, and even other teams but I don't think it comes down to that.

I think it's what R Gordon Esq thinks that matters. Interesting that someone has perhaps been moved on, allegedly because we as a club did not perform well in the summer transfer window. Some say harsh. I prefer to think of it as ruthless. I fear results like yesterday's will not be tolerated. It's a new mindset now.

Does anyone believe we just want to bob along or that just not losing was acceptable to anyone?

The club will have set targets and have ambitions and I believe they will be quite lofty ones.

The OP asked if this result should hurt more and the answer us categorically no. On the back of a good season and positioning ourselves for another one the answer just has to be no. We can't be that reactive on a single result by single result basis. The season will be made up of similar results, worse ones, and better ones.

Falling short over a season might sting. We've a long way to go but we're well placed so far.

hibbydog
19-09-2021, 03:37 PM
What do you want us to do about it?

That’s what I thought when I read the post.

My attitude or response to results means diddly squat. I want the players/ coaches - and people who cab actually do something about it - to be absolutely raging and desperate to put it right.

I mad keen on Hibs winning every single game. But how I respond to not winning means hee haw really

19-09-2021, 03:48 PM
Keeps the unbeaten run going ,but to progress as a club yesterday is the sort of Game I want us to be able to see out
for the win . With a few minutes to go ,just keep the ball even if it means it goes all the way back to keeper They can’t score if they don’t have possession
But if we beat united then St Johnstone all will be forgiven lol

CJHibby
19-09-2021, 04:01 PM
That Rangers result has just emphasised my point of needing to win v the likes of St. Mirren. I'm surprised at a lot of posters being fine with dropping points but hey ho, If we are going to accept second best..

19-09-2021, 04:05 PM
That Rangers result has just emphasised my point of needing to win v the likes of St. Mirren. I'm surprised at a lot of posters being fine with dropping points but hey ho, If we are going to accept second best..

A team with more squad depth than ours similarly failed to see out a game from a winning position - also emphasising that it isn't always that easy.

19-09-2021, 04:05 PM

Does that Rangers result today not emphasise the point that there’s no easy games and no points are guaranteed.

Also about you questioning other posters about being “fine” with dropping points, again, what do you want us to do about it?

19-09-2021, 04:07 PM
Yup, today's results just rub salt in after yesterday.

In fairness, JR seemed more hurt at the dropped points than what you're reading on here. That's what counts.

Hopefully it hurt the players too.

19-09-2021, 04:09 PM
It probably hurts more when you see Rangers and Celtic dropping as many points as they are. It was good to see the manager expressing his disappointment yesterday.

We aren't going to win the league but it would be fun to stay ahead of the pack for a bit longer. 4 of the 6 points we have dropped this year have been really frustrating coming from winning positions late in the game.

19-09-2021, 04:11 PM

I think any Hibby with a brain knows we need to beat St Mirren but hey ho CJ, hey ho.

19-09-2021, 04:13 PM
Yup, today's results just rub salt in after yesterday.

In fairness, JR seemed more hurt at the dropped points than what you're reading on here. That's what counts.

Hopefully it hurt the players too.

Of course it will have. If they go from a goal down in to a position to win the game they would obviously want to get the win.

If we weren't in a position to win I'd be more worried. If I thought the team didn't care I'd be more worried. If I thought we'd had an especially good transfer window I'd be less understanding.

As it happens we're trying to win. We're capable. The players care.

Perhaps whinging about dropped points is not the answer. Supporting the team and hoping for better - knowing we can do better - seems like the way to go.

19-09-2021, 04:17 PM
Ah the old accepting mediocrity angle. Everyone was disappointed we didn’t win yesterday and there’s several threads on here analysing what went wrong and what should be done to fix it. I’m not sure what you’re expecting the reaction to be after a home draw with St Mirren. It’s 2 points dropped the same as it was against Dundee, do you expect calls for the managers head or a baying mob outside the West stand? No one is accepting second best.

19-09-2021, 04:21 PM
Who's whinging and not giving the manager and players support?

They got bucket loads of support from me yesterday, I was in fine voice.

19-09-2021, 04:23 PM
Ah the old accepting mediocrity angle. Everyone was disappointed we didn’t win yesterday and there’s several threads on here analysing what went wrong and what should be done to fix it. I’m not sure what you’re expecting the reaction to be after a home draw with St Mirren. It’s 2 points dropped the same as it was against Dundee, do you expect calls for the managers head or a baying mob outside the West stand? No one is accepting second best.

He's just asking for others fans' views on the result.

He's not asking anyone to hire a plane or stage a walk out!

19-09-2021, 04:27 PM

Can't change it now. Concentrate on next game

19-09-2021, 04:27 PM
He's just asking for others fans' views on the result.

He's not asking anyone to hire a plane or stage a walk out!
No he’s not. Twice he’s suggested that we’re happy to accept second best and that we should be more annoyed than we are. It’s a fair point initially, but then goes on to be completely condescending.

h18eeynick
19-09-2021, 04:30 PM
Watched the Sportscene highlights and Scott Allen was superb and what a pass for McGinn goal.We are playing some great stuff. Yeah some of the defending is poor but give the guys credit.

19-09-2021, 04:30 PM
Disappointment lasted about an hour. Take the point and move on.
And that's why rangers or Celtic will always win the league.

19-09-2021, 04:33 PM
I thought it was because they can pay their players 10 times what we can and can attract much higher quality players as a result of that.

19-09-2021, 04:33 PM

It’s not really though, is it?

19-09-2021, 04:34 PM
If ever there is a chance to challenge it has to be this year. Think Rangers will find a level of consistency but Celtic are a complete mess.

I don’t for a minute expect us to be winning the league or anything like that but there is definitely a chance to at least keep up with one of them for a fair chunk of the season IMO.

You get a decent draw (like last week) but the points dropped against Dundee and St Mirren, who haven’t won a game between them, are sickeners.

19-09-2021, 04:40 PM

I was gutted at full time but by the time i got home I was over it and looking forward to Thursday night.
As I get older there are much worse things going on than my team not winning a football match.
We are doing pretty well and I am being entertained far more often than not.
That will do for me.

19-09-2021, 04:41 PM
We are more than good enough to finish 3rd again. 2nd will be beyond us due to the finances of the Glasgow clubs. Disappointing result yesterday but we've lost no gound at all. In fact we've pulled away from Aberdeen and Celtic. We have no divine right to win games and St Mirren played well I thought. Fair point probably. Let's go and beat Dundee United and bloody St Johnstone.

19-09-2021, 04:58 PM
It’s not really though, is it?

It's not.

However I think it does exemplify the difference in mentality between the OF and the rest.

In the totally hypothetical scenario that someone won the league with say 75 points this season, which in recent years would be a distant 2nd or maybe even 3rd, the reactions would be totally different. For whichever of the OF didn't win it would be catastrophic failure whilst we would be pointing out 'it just shows hard it is to win this league'.

It's not accepting mediocrity but it is a suppression of expectation after years of not being close. It's a bit like the belief that people educated privately do better than their state counterparts because they expect to do better, there's something bordering on an arrogance drummed into them from day 1. Obviously there is more to it than that but it plays a part.

Hibs don't have a divine right to win any game but we should be beating Dundee and St Mirren and we should be clear at the top of the league. It might be arrogant or dismissive of the opposition to say that but it's true.

loanheadhibby
19-09-2021, 05:18 PM
Crying over spilt milk. Take the point and move on.
I agree with the opening post. That was pretty poor yesterday and we seem too happy to accept it and move on.
I suppose as fans we can't do anything else.

19-09-2021, 05:20 PM
I agree with the opening post. That was pretty poor yesterday and we seem too happy to accept it and move on.

Who says it doesn't hurt?

What are we supposed to do, complain to the fitba ombudsman and demand a replay?

Our defending of cross balls this season is Shambolic. We know it, and I'm sure JR knows it. Still won't change yesterday's result.

19-09-2021, 05:25 PM

Nonsense no one is accepting it.

19-09-2021, 05:26 PM
It's not.

However I think it does exemplify the difference in mentality between the OF and the rest.

In the totally hypothetical scenario that someone won the league with say 75 points this season, which in recent years would be a distant 2nd or maybe even 3rd, the reactions would be totally different. For whichever of the OF didn't win it would be catastrophic failure whilst we would be pointing out 'it just shows hard it is to win this league'.

It's not accepting mediocrity but it is a suppression of expectation after years of not being close. It's a bit like the belief that people educated privately do better than their state counterparts because they expect to do better, there's something bordering on an arrogance drummed into them from day 1. Obviously there is more to it than that but it plays a part.

Hibs don't have a divine right to win any game but we should be beating Dundee and St Mirren and we should be clear at the top of the league. It might be arrogant or dismissive of the opposition to say that but it's true.

It's not arrogant at all.

If we can point to the Old Firms' resources by way of explaining why they usually beat us then the same has to apply to us against teams with tiny budgets in comparison.

These 4 points matter. The early part of last season the chat on here was dominated with threads about dropping points from winning positions. We really, really need to learn to see games out.

19-09-2021, 05:29 PM
It's not.

That and the ability to pay ten times what other teams can afford.

19-09-2021, 05:31 PM
We should be top tonight. St Mirren at home is exactly the type of fixture we need to win, in order to be best of the rest. It does hurt, but we remain unbeaten and have made a start we can build from. The Old Firm both look pish, and, though they will finish in the top two places, it could be an exciting season for the rest. The big two are very beatable.

Caversham Green
19-09-2021, 05:33 PM

Are you suggesting we don't move on?

If you think there's a single Hibs fan that isn't disappointed that we failed to beat St Mirren yesterday I can guarantee that you think wrong. But here's the thing: There's nothing we can do about it now - absolutely nothing. So do we throw our toys out of the pram now or get on with our season?

I'm going for the second one.

PS I know you've said that in your last sentence, but I'm just not understanding the point that's being made in this thread.

19-09-2021, 05:45 PM
Look at the fixtures we’ve played. To only win 3 of them is very poor.

19-09-2021, 05:49 PM

I wouldn't go that far. Do remember we are unbeaten.

19-09-2021, 05:58 PM

Whilst I probably wouldn't go as far as to say it has been a "very poor" start, if you scratch the surface a bit and look underneath all the "unbeaten" and "second in the league" stuff it hasn't been as great a start as many would have you think.

We're leaking soft goals, not looking exactly deadly in front of goal and dropping points against some poor teams.

We're now relying on Jack Ross and this Hibs team to dig a few results out in a few big games over the next month or so to keep ourselves from dropping down into mid-table. In fairness, they managed to get something at Tynecastle and with all of the stronger teams in the league looking a bit short of invincible, it's not beyond the realms of possibility that we might manage to hold on at the right end through the next month or so.

It just all feels like it might be heading towards another season of missed opportunities though.

19-09-2021, 06:05 PM
It's funny that you could put money on how the more regular posters would reply to this thread - both positive & negative (for want of a better description) before reading it.

In saying that, I'm not having a go at anyone - we're all entitled to our opinions.

Like everyone else I'm disappointed that we didn't win. 2 points is a lot to drop and too many similar results could hurt us come the end of the season if we're looking to repeat (at least) last season's 3rd place.

Even though we scored 2 goals, I'm also disappointed that we didn't test their keeper more. We have enough creativity in the team to do better and we'll have to.

As for this thing with crosses from the left?... [emoji848]

Yesterday was also the first match update thread that I've started in years where we haven't won. Bummer!

In saying all that, I'm not complaining at all about our start to the season and hopefully we'll be in yet another semi final by next weekend.

We need Doidge back ASAP though.

19-09-2021, 06:09 PM

…because we don’t rage about the result for 4 days?

I had an uncle (RIP) who would go to his bed if Hibs got beat and barely speak for the rest of the weekend. He would perk up on the Wednesday or Thursday before the next game. Did it change anything? No. But if you want that to be your life then fine, go for it. But what a ***** way to live.

19-09-2021, 06:10 PM

Passivity? Id say alot of fans are annoyed we only drew. Thankfully we didnt lose. I have faith the management team and players will learn from the game and move forward in a professional way.
I think Hibs as well as the fans show much more ambition than what your implying in your opening post.

19-09-2021, 06:10 PM
It's funny that you could put money on how the more regular posters would reply to this thread - both positive & negative (for want of a better description) before reading it.

In saying that, I'm not having a go at anyone - we're all entitled to our opinions.

Like everyone else I'm disappointed that we didn't win. 2 points is a lot to drop and too many similar results could hurt us come the end of the season if we're looking to repeat (at least) last season's 3rd place.

Even though we scored 2 goals, I'm also disappointed that we didn't test their keeper more. We have enough creativity in the team to do better and we'll have to.

Yesterday was also the first match update thread that I've started in years where we haven't won. Bummer!

In saying all that, I'm not complaining at all about our start to the season and hopefully we'll be in yet another semi final by next weekend.

Totally agree about Doidge.

We look close to being a very good side indeed but aren't quite there. He brings an awful lot of what we're lacking right now.

19-09-2021, 06:20 PM

Always been that way with Hibs. Lack of drive and ambition was on full show in that first 45. A point dropped at home to a bottom 6 side is only a problem for the OF.

19-09-2021, 08:24 PM

There's a big difference between being fine with dropping points and getting over it and moving on to the next game.

I was disappointed yesterday as well but going in a blind huff about it isn't going to change anything.

19-09-2021, 08:28 PM
Sack the board.

20-09-2021, 05:43 AM
Every right to be disappointed. St Mirren are certainly no mugs but missed opportunity to go clear at the top.

I’m sure Jack and everyone at Hibs will feel the same way. Not losing our minds is not a sign of a lack of ambition.

The lack of another option to lead the line for us is a big miss though.

Allez Hibs
20-09-2021, 06:27 AM

We miss Doidge big time.

Important to get the win any way how on Thursday.

20-09-2021, 09:18 AM
It could have been better, but we've started well enough to give me a fair bit of optimism. All teams are dropping unexpected points just now, that's football.

20-09-2021, 01:49 PM
I was gutted we only drew, anyone able to tell me how to feel so that the result changes to a win?

20-09-2021, 02:09 PM
I was gutted we only drew, anyone able to tell me how to feel so that the result changes to a win?Not accepting it seems to improve things.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

20-09-2021, 02:29 PM
Not accepting it seems to improve things.

I don't accept that!

20-09-2021, 02:41 PM

Either that or the tens of millions in their budget we don’t have.

20-09-2021, 06:43 PM

Hi Steve - where have you been? Not seen you on here for a while.

21-09-2021, 01:57 AM
The truth is that any successful sports team HAS to move on from bad days. It’s the poor and weak ones that don’t.

To say that we can’t get ahead of the Old Firm because we don’t cry enough after not winning is taking things to new levels of bizarre.

I’m not quite sure how some fans who are currently moaning about everything and saying how terrible we are whilst unbeaten in 2nd place manage during our (too regular) terrible times.

21-09-2021, 05:24 AM
The truth is that any successful sports team HAS to move on from bad days. It’s the poor and weak ones that don’t.

To say that we can’t get ahead of the Old Firm because we don’t cry enough after not winning is taking things to new levels of bizarre.

I’m not quite sure how some fans who are currently moaning about everything and saying how terrible we are whilst unbeaten in 2nd place manage during our (too regular) terrible times.

Another bottom six finish and their heads will explode. We're going through a golden period right now if you look at our history. Currently 2nd. Top 3 finish, cup finals and Europe. We should be enjoying it. It could easily be a Calderwood, Butcher, Duffy era to name but a few.

21-09-2021, 06:16 AM
Who says it doesn't hurt?

What are we supposed to do, complain to the fitba ombudsman and demand a replay?

Our defending of cross balls this season is Shambolic. We know it, and I'm sure JR knows it. Still won't change yesterday's result.

Yes, we as fans though need it to affect future results. We don’t want to see crappy crosses from the right getting headed in with no challenge on the right or in the box.

4 points this season lost from identical goals.