View Full Version : Goodwin's comments on Porteous

He's here!
19-09-2021, 11:09 AM
Has this been mentioned elsewhere? Just reading the BBC report and he's quoted as saying "Porteous has a habit of winning cheap free kicks over the years."

I quite like Goodwin but this strikes me as another attempt by a manager to tar a player with a reputation like others have done with Boyle and John McGinn. Wholly unnecessary and inaccurate IMHO.

19-09-2021, 11:11 AM
Has this been mentioned elsewhere? Just reading the BBC report and he's quoted as saying "Porteous has a habit of winning cheap free kicks over the years."

I quite like Goodwin but this strikes me as another attempt by a manager to tar a player with a reputation like others have done with Boyle and John McGinn. Wholly unnecessary and inaccurate IMHO.

Part of the game to be honest.

Take it as a compliment or file it in the bin and move on.

19-09-2021, 11:11 AM
If he isn't absolutely slaughtering his own player for the penalty, then he wont be a manager for long. One of the stupidest things I've seen on a football pitch. Referee would 100% be watching like a hawk because of the handbags 5 seconds before.

hibby rae
19-09-2021, 11:12 AM
Devil's advocate, Porteous is good at winning free kicks. But that is because he knows to shield the ball and let the player come into the back of him.

The penalty was different.

gaz1875
19-09-2021, 11:20 AM
Wasn't aware rugby tackles were now allowed in football. Go yourself Jim :aok:

EI255
19-09-2021, 11:21 AM
Wait a minute.... Jim Goodwin? The same guy who had a habit of trying to break legs and con referees??

Hmmmm

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

19-09-2021, 11:22 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-to-appeal-ben-woodburn-decision-as-robbie-neilson-labels-booking-a-shambles-3388219

Hibs should come out and defend Porteous, Otherwise the article explains what happens....

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

19-09-2021, 11:25 AM
Is he forgetting how much of a thug he was on the park? Fud

19-09-2021, 11:25 AM
He’s in the process of perfecting the Pressley plunge - he’s just playing the game that’s been created. Get in front of the striker and fall down when they get close - win a free kick.

Having said that the penalty yesterday was stonewall - I can’t believe there’s any debate about it. Almost the exact same as the one Brentford got in the lunchtime game.

19-09-2021, 11:26 AM
If he isn't absolutely slaughtering his own player for the penalty, then he wont be a manager for long. One of the stupidest things I've seen on a football pitch. Referee would 100% be watching like a hawk because of the handbags 5 seconds before.

Yup. If Hibs gave a penalty away like that I'd be absolutely raging. The ref stops the game for a couple of minutes to tell them to stop pushing and holding in the box. And then, knowing they are being closely watched, go and do just that seconds later.

19-09-2021, 11:29 AM

I thought that at the time as well although there seemed to be a suggestion on the radio that it was very soft and even Ross seemed to be a bit embarrassed that it had been given.

I must have missed something as I thought it was a stonewaller and I said at the time that Goodwin must have been raging with his player and should be looking to take him off for being so stupid.

19-09-2021, 11:30 AM
Part of the game to be honest.

Take it as a compliment or file it in the bin and move on.
I agree. I actually thought it was a excellent piece of refereeing.

19-09-2021, 11:36 AM
Goodwin should be lambasting his player for being an idiot and giving the ref an easy decision to make.Memory loss from Goodwin considering his antics as a player

19-09-2021, 11:36 AM
If he criticised the referee he could find himself in trouble so blames the opposition player. Says it was a soft penalty and that Porteous could be described as clever, meaning he is not claiming a dive.

… as Willie Miller would say, the defender gave the referee a decision to make.

No need for any big reaction by the club

19-09-2021, 11:37 AM
I was listening to radio after game and Brian McLaughlin asked Jack Ross about the penalty. Ross sounded a bit sheepish about it which I was surprised as it looked from my seat in the West Stand as the most blatant of penalties you'll likely to see. The defender was all over Porteous and literally threw him to the ground.

19-09-2021, 11:39 AM
The penalty was an absolute stonewaller..

19-09-2021, 11:40 AM
Looked a stonewall to me in the FF Upper. I actually thought the ref may blow gain before the corner kick was taken .

19-09-2021, 11:42 AM
Ok after watching it again I’m not actually sure it was a stonewaller :greengrin

19-09-2021, 11:43 AM
Looked a stonewall to me in the FF Upper. I actually thought the ref may blow gain before the corner kick was taken .

Yes and so was the same roughhouse rugby tactics on McGennis immediately before their goal but somehow the clown of a linesman and our top referee saw nothing. No wonder players play to the averages. The beautiful game is becoming a lot like American football it seems

19-09-2021, 11:45 AM
Ok after watching it again I’m not actually sure it was a stonewaller :greengrin

Will have to watch again on TV then as it looked a blatant penalty to me at the time.

19-09-2021, 11:54 AM

Yeah I haven't seen any replays since watching it live but Ross was definitely very sheepish about it!

19-09-2021, 12:00 PM
A soft penalty is still a penalty Jim. 😁

19-09-2021, 12:05 PM
Porteous knew what he was doing, boy had his hand all over him obviously but he did kind of throw himself to the ground

Smart move taking advantage of the defenders stupidity

19-09-2021, 12:39 PM
Goodwin just invented a reputation for Porteous. Utter crap.

The penalty, jeez, Porteous had just been booked for grappling with the defender who then decides to hold him in a rugby tackle when he’s running in the subsequent free kick. Utter stupidity from the defender who should be the subject of Goodwin’s anger if he was a manager at all.:rolleyes:

19-09-2021, 12:43 PM
You can boil an egg hard, you can boil an egg soft.

They’re both still boiled eggs.

19-09-2021, 12:43 PM

Enough!! 😉

19-09-2021, 12:48 PM
That's Goodwin's public opinion ..... I wonder what he said to his idiotic defender in the private of the dressing room, I bet it wasn't 'never mind son, that Porteous is a cad and a bounder lacking the Corinthian spirit I played the game with'

The breakaway that led to their 1st goal was accompanied by a St Mirren defender having a handful of Hanlon's shirt in the middle of their box stopping him getting to the ball, I wonder what Goodwin's opinion on that was and more pertinently why didn't Jack Ross make a big deal of it post match, because he should have. Far from St Mirren opening the scoring it should have been a penalty to Hibs.

Ross should have been far more vociferous in his defence of Porteous, saying something along the lines of how rude it would have been of him to turn down an early Christmas present. It seems we are still the club we have been for a while now with this and the Robbie Neilson pish last week provoking nothing more than a tepid response when our club and the folk who play for it are insulted.

19-09-2021, 12:58 PM
It’s a stonewaller and Porteous worked it to earn the penalty. Both things can be true at the same time. Hibs and Porteous will not be bothered one bit by the comments.
As Porteous is about to move, he cleverly throws both arms over to one side so that any arms around him is going to look a lot worse. The St. Mirren player isn’t smart enough to see what’s happening and falls right into the trap.
Well done Porto. Like McGinn with his goal, it’s cancelled out by the terrible defending to gift St. Mirren their goals.

19-09-2021, 12:59 PM
That's Goodwin's public opinion ..... I wonder what he said to his idiotic defender in the private of the dressing room, I bet it wasn't 'never mind son, that Porteous is a cad and a bounder lacking the Corinthian spirit I played the game with'

The breakaway that led to their 1st goal was accompanied by a St Mirren defender having a handful of Hanlon's shirt in the middle of their box stopping him getting to the ball, I wonder what Goodwin's opinion on that was and more pertinently why didn't Jack Ross make a big deal of it post match, because he should have. Far from St Mirren opening the scoring it should have been a penalty to Hibs.

Ross should have been far more vociferous in his defence of Porteous, saying something along the lines of how rude it would have been of him to turn down an early Christmas present. It seems we are still the club we have been for a while now with this and the Robbie Neilson pish last week provoking nothing more than a tepid response when our club and the folk who play for it are insulted.

Funny, I saw it as McGennis being fouled. Someone else said Nisbet and you say Hanlon. Just as well we were not refereeing the game 🤣

19-09-2021, 01:02 PM
Jack Ross said that trying to be as balanced as possible he still thought it was a penalty.

On Sportscene, James McFadden and Shelley both said if you put your arms round the player you’re giving the ref an easy decision.

As an aside, McFadden said we have a case for a penalty in the lead up to their first goal. That was a blatant penalty to me.

19-09-2021, 01:03 PM
Funny, I saw it as McGennis being fouled. Someone else said Nisbet and you say Hanlon. Just as well we were not refereeing the game 🤣

It was definitely Hanlon, it should’ve been a penalty to us.

19-09-2021, 01:04 PM

I’m having that.

19-09-2021, 01:13 PM

Hanlon had long words with Clancy about it after their goal.

Kavinho
19-09-2021, 01:16 PM
Jack Ross said that trying to be as balanced as possible he still thought it was a penalty.

On Sportscene, James McFadden and Shelley both said if you put your arms round the player you’re giving the ref an easy decision.

As an aside, McFadden said we have a case for a penalty in the lead up to their first goal. That was a blatant penalty to me.

And Steven Thompson in the live sportscene show said

"I think Porteous threw himself"

19-09-2021, 01:18 PM
Hanlon had long words with Clancy about it after their goal.

Rightly so, the St Mirren player was pulling his shirt in the box. The linesman was looking straight at it as well.

Fuzzywuzzy
19-09-2021, 01:25 PM
Stick on penalty. They were spoken to about holding before the incident happened

19-09-2021, 01:27 PM

Ahem! Now I’ve had to go dig out the Sportscene coverage to settle my own thoughts and lo and behold, it was McGennis. But watching it again, it is really annoying how he and others in the box just give up the ball and St Mirren get an easy break up the park to score. I like McGennis a lot but think he let the moment get to him.

19-09-2021, 01:27 PM
Rightly so, the St Mirren player was pulling his shirt in the box. The linesman was looking straight at it as well.
Was right behind the lino I saw it clear as day.

19-09-2021, 01:31 PM

I didn't see the incident at the time from the other end of the pitch, but the Sportscene highlights clearly show their defender with a big chunk of Hanlon's shirt and he held into it for a bit, certainly long enough for the ref and standside linesman to see it.

19-09-2021, 01:44 PM
I didn't see the incident at the time from the other end of the pitch, but the Sportscene highlights clearly show their defender with a big chunk of Hanlon's shirt and he held into it for a bit, certainly long enough for the ref and standside linesman to see it.

Is it me? You need to look again. I can only remember one St Mirren goal following a foul in their own box. Sportscene pictured clearly and unambiguously show it was McGennis who was the victim of all in wrestling in their box. Minds you there was and always is a lot of it from St Mirren

19-09-2021, 01:52 PM

It was Magennis.

19-09-2021, 01:52 PM
And Steven Thompson in the live sportscene show said

"I think Porteous threw himself"

In that case it was definitely a penalty.

19-09-2021, 02:33 PM
It was Magennis.

Fair enough, auld age doesn't come itself :greengrin Anyway, whoever it was it should have been a bloody penalty.

19-09-2021, 02:50 PM
I was listening to radio after game and Brian McLaughlin asked Jack Ross about the penalty. Ross sounded a bit sheepish about it which I was surprised as it looked from my seat in the West Stand as the most blatant of penalties you'll likely to see. The defender was all over Porteous and literally threw him to the ground.

I had the perfect view of the incident from the FF Lower and that's exactly what happened.

I'm not sure where he's blaming Porteous in this as this was 100% down to his own player throwing Porteous to the ground. There was no simulation required, and none happened.

Surely, if anything, the St Mirren Player that tried to put Boyle off taking the penalty by spending five minutes tying his shoelaces in the penalty box was the player that was 'at it'. I still don't understand why he wasn't booked.

19-09-2021, 02:58 PM

I had the perfect view of the incident from the FF Lower and that's exactly what happened.

I'm not sure where he's blaming Porteous in this as this was 100% down to his own player throwing Porteous to the ground. There was no simulation required, and none happened.

Surely, if anything, the St Mirren Player that tried to put Boyle off taking the penalty by spending five minutes tying his shoelaces in the penalty box was the player that was 'at it'. I still don't understand why he wasn't booked.

I thought I had the perfect view from the west lower and thought i seen the exact same.

Having seen the replay id still say it’s a pen but it’s softer than I initially thought. Porteous plays for it I reckon.

19-09-2021, 03:02 PM
I thought I had the perfect view from the west lower and thought i seen the exact same.

Having seen the replay id still say it’s a pen but it’s softer than I initially thought. Porteous plays for it I reckon.

It seems Goodwin think as it was all good because his player did all his fouling before the ball was in play. Now there is a high risk strategy that’s going to come up and bite you is it not?

19-09-2021, 03:02 PM

Definitely wasnt hanlon

19-09-2021, 03:03 PM
From the FF Upper front row and right above the front post I had a better view than Goodwin or Jack Ross and it was a stick on penalty.

19-09-2021, 03:07 PM

confident it was Magennis

19-09-2021, 03:34 PM
Porteous makes things happen - not all of them good!

19-09-2021, 03:37 PM
Stick on penalty. If that was one of our centre halfs after the ref talking to them all just seconds before that if be raging. Rank stupidity and he had both arms round Ryan as he ran for the cross. Penalty very day of the week.

19-09-2021, 03:59 PM
Nothing dodgy about the penalty because their player had his arm hooked round Porteous.

I was surprised Goodwin disputed it and very disappointed that Ross didn't dismiss the question out of hand.

EI255
19-09-2021, 04:55 PM
Goodwin simply jealous he doesn't have a Porto in his team.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

19-09-2021, 05:03 PM

Agree listened also was absolutely bizarre the question and also Jack not saying it was an absolutely stonewall pen. Perfect view from ff upper penalty all day long. Goodwin can gtf

19-09-2021, 05:07 PM

I'm not sure where he's blaming Porteous in this as this was 100% down to his own player throwing Porteous to the ground. There was no simulation required, none happened.

Fraser wasn't booked because Clancy is an awful referee. It was honestly like watching a toddler tie their laces for the first time. Ridiculous.